Buy the Pharos Trips & Pics with GPS Receiver on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Pharos Trips & Pics with GPS Receiver image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Pharos
Located in: GPS Maps / Data Cards
The Pharos Trips and Pics is a trip recorder combined with photo journal. It allows you to track your trips along with trip photos, and share the trip experience using Google Earth or Microsoft Streets and Trips.

Make and log any journey! Pharos Trips and Pics captures your location and time automatically at any interval you set. Time your training runs. Record your child's athletic event. Show that great bicycle trip with times and photos. Save the memories from a great vacation. Send the files to friends and family so they can see your photos and where and when you took the pictures. Add text to share even more information. Display your trips with photos on Google Earth or Microsoft Streets & Trips. Pharos Trips and Pics automatically compensates for any difference between your cameras time and true GPS time, so the information is precise. Depending on the rate you set, the Pharos GPS logger can store from 1.5 to 45 days of times and locations. The rechargeable battery will run the unit for 24 hours. An AC adapter is included in the package.

  • Record trips
  • Geotag photos
  • Works with any digital camera
  • Results can be presented in both Google Earth and Microsoft Streets & Trips
  • Support KMZ format for easy archiving, transporting, and sharing
  • Take input from multiple sources, including data from portable GPS devices of other companies (GPX format)
  • Support GeoRSS for easy online sharing of your trips and geotagged photos
  • Support both Express and Classic user interfaces. Trips & Pics Express allows a non-tech savvy user to accomplish many tasks in one click, from connecting the receiver, getting the log data from it, generating trips, to launching and viewing the result in Google Earth and Microsoft Streets & Trips.
  • Integrated with Pharos Ostia
  • Home area shielding feature for added security when results are shared online
  • Sophisticated trip statistics.
  • Non-dedicated hardware. The receiver and dock can be used for other GPS applications.
  • Light-weight, portable and long-lasting battery time (24 hours between charges).

  • Review Snapshot®
    Avg. Customer Rating:
     
    3.3 stars
    (based on 8 reviews)
    75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

    Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

    Pros:
    Compact(7), Durable(3)
    Best Uses:
    Camping(3), Hiking(4)
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual/ recreational(3)
     
    WORKS AS ADVERTISED
    By AYDEEVerified Purchaser from MOUNT LAUREL, NJ on 11/24/2008
    Pros:
    Acquires Satellites Quickly, Compact, Easy To Set Up, Reliable Performance
    Cons:
    CAN TURN OFF ACCIDENTLY
    Best Uses:
    GEOTAGGING
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual User
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Pharos Pharos Trips & Pics with GPS Receiver:

    This device works quite well for adding GPS position information to digital photographs. Once I downloaded the latest software version, the Trips and Pics worked exactly as advertised. The instructions are pretty straightforward. I used a rubber band to protect the on-off switch so that it doesn't get switched off by accident. Like most GPS devices it doesn't work well indoors or in the "shadows" of large buildings.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Will not work w/Windows Vista 64-bit
    By BobbyVerified Purchaser from Mocksville, NC on 9/9/2008
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Pharos Pharos Trips & Pics with GPS Receiver:

    The software would not load on my vista 64-bit computer. I downloading 3 other drivers no help.

     
    Good GPS logger
    By Don JefeVerified Purchaser from Palm Beach County Florida on 8/26/2008
    Pros:
    Compact, Compatable wbluetooth, Fast acquisition time, Good setup options, Programmable parameters, Respectable battery life
    Cons:
    Sloppy slide-in mount
    Best Uses:
    Track ur dog or cat, Work location logging
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual/ Recreational
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Pharos Pharos Trips & Pics with GPS Receiver:

    I use the Pharos GPS on a daily basis in my work to log work sites and times along with tagging digital photos for work and recreation. The software is quite flexible and is at a K I S S level or advanced depending on your preferences.

    The only CON is that when the GPS unit slides into the battery mount the GPS can be unplugged accidently but a rubber band solved the problem.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Device Delivers - Software not so much
    By FredVerified Purchaser from Sandy, UT on 8/25/2008
    Pros:
    Compact, Durable, Long battery life
    Cons:
    Software could be better
    Best Uses:
    Camping, Hiking
    Describe Yourself:
    Avid Adventurer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Pharos Pharos Trips & Pics with GPS Receiver:

    I bought this to keep in my pocket or my camera bag. The device works very well but I don't like the software very much. It is not intuitive or even easy to work with. By using a combination of GPSBable, Garmin Mapsource and GeoSetter, I am getting the results I had hoped for. After a bit of data massaging every thing works great.

    I would recommend this without reservation considering my above comments. Small enough to forget you have it with you, sensitive enough to be used indoors or at least in canyons with tree cover. Long enough battery life to take on a trip.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Trips and Pics
    By KevdogVerified Purchaser from Alexandria, VA on 8/19/2008
    Pros:
    Compact, Fun toy
    Cons:
    Software lacking
    Best Uses:
    Hiking
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual/ Recreational
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Pharos Pharos Trips & Pics with GPS Receiver:

    I bought the Trips and Pics for both myself and my Dad. It is a fun toy. It is a riot to tie GPS coordinates to your pictures. I found the software disappointing, but overall have enjoyed it.

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Pharos GPS Receiver w/trips&Pics softwar
    By RichVerified Purchaser from Albany, NY on 8/17/2008
    Pros:
    Compact, Durable
    Cons:
    Gps falls out
    Best Uses:
    Camping, Hiking, Photographing
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual/ Recreational
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Pharos Pharos Trips & Pics with GPS Receiver:

    Nice product but it has two caveats that need remedy:
    1. the gps falls out of the cradle - it needs to have a clip to hold it when slide in to connect it to the battery cradle. I dropped mine three times but was luck to have heard it but almost lost it in the sand at Cape Cod.
    2. the software is tricky - there is help but it needs a manual in pdf to print and read - I only found a pdf for the gps and not how to use it. The big caveat for a photographer is that I thought, from the words, that geotag my photographs meant it would change the exif data and add the lat and long data. Instead it means that it tags the photo to a lat and long on a map. The phome tech helper told me that there is a newer version coming shortly that does the exif data changes. That is why I bought the Pharos. I already have a handheld old Magellan with a screen.
    If they coming out with the software at now further cost, that would cause me to rate it a 95.

    [6 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

     
    NOT OSX Compatable
    By thaiwest from TX on 6/25/2008
    Pros:
    Compact
    Cons:
    NO OSX Support
    Best Uses:
    Returned for credit
    Describe Yourself:
    Professional Guide
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Pharos Pharos Trips & Pics with GPS Receiver:

    When asked about OSX compatibility, the support staff suggested installing the buggy and virus prone Windoz OS... No more need be written!

    [4 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Recommended by Forbes
    By Kady @ PharosVerified Reviewer from USA on 6/12/2008
    Pros:
    Compact, Durable, Easy to read
    Best Uses:
    Camping, Flying, Hiking
    Describe Yourself:
    Avid Adventurer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Pharos Pharos Trips & Pics with GPS Receiver:

    [...]

    Powered by PowerReviews
    Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.