Buy the Quantaray QMS-D1 Wireless Digital Camera Flash Booster / Slave on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray QMS-D1 Wireless Digital Camera Flash Booster / Slave image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Flashes
Quantaray QMS-D1 Digital Slave Flash Booster with auto slave and delay time function

The Quantaray QMS-D1 is a pocket sized flash optimized for use with digital cameras. This wireless booster flash does not need to connect to your camera or main flash in any way. It comes equipped with an electronic slave trigger that discharges the flash when it sees the main flash go off. That makes it a very handy piece for filling in shadows, increasing the output of your main flash or for special effects. It comes equipped with a tilting, table-top stand or it can be put into a regular flash shoe or it can be attached to any tripod.

A digital camera or a digital flash unit fires pre-flashes to obtain necessary information on the subject to be photographed and evaluate the required lighting output or to reduce red-eye effect. The QMS-D1 slave flash can automatically detect the different pulses (i.e. pre-flashes) and fires in synchronization with your camera's main flash. As different digital cameras' built-in flash or external flash unit has different pre-flash delay time before actual activation of the main flash, the QMS-D1 has three slave settings that should be selected and tested before actually taking your photos to ensure that the correct slave flash synchronization is selected.

S: The QMS-D1 will be activated instantly when it detects a flash light which could be a pre-flash from the camera's built-in flash or external flash. ( The activation at this setting is exactly the same as that of the QMS-1 slave flash unit (53-166-0769)) . This slave setting is to be selected for traditional cameras or flash units that do not fire any pre-flash.

S1: At this setting, the QMS-D1 can detect the pre-flash light of the digital camera's built-in flash or external flash unit with single pre-flash function and delays the activation and synchronizes with the actual main flash light emitted after the pre-flash.
(e.g. Synchronizes with the built-in flash or main flash of most Canon, Olympus, Nikon and Sony digital cameras)

S2: At this setting, the QMS-D1 can detect the pre-flashes light of the digital camera's built-in flash or external flash unit with double pre-flashes function and delays the activation and synchronizes with the actual main flash light emitted after the pre-flashes.
(e.g. Synchronizes with the built-in flash or main flash of most Nikon digital cameras)

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.8 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(4), Fast recycling(4), Lightweight(5), Quiet(3)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(4)
Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional(4)
 
QUANTARAY QMS-D1 DIGITAL SLAVE FLASH
By handyandy.50megs[@]Verified Purchaser from new britain, CT on 2/2/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QMS-D1 Wireless Digital Camera Flash Booster / Slave:

This flash worked the first time I used it. The expectations were exactly what I needed. I probably will purchase another for more effects as far as side lighting and backround.

 
Fill Flash works GreaT!
By Sprint46Verified Purchaser from Womelsdorf, PA on 1/18/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QMS-D1 Wireless Digital Camera Flash Booster / Slave:

I use this product to fill in the dark places that the constant light does not cover

 
Good product
By Cameron Digital MediaVerified Purchaser from Rancho Viejo, TX on 8/28/2008
Pros:
Durable, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Cons:
No camera attachment
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Night Photography, Portraits

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QMS-D1 Wireless Digital Camera Flash Booster / Slave:

Flash works great. Perfect for fill flash. No bracket to attach to camera, however.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Does not work with Nikon D300 dSLR
By JohnVerified Purchaser from Winter Haven, FL on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Cons:
Circuitry not modern
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QMS-D1 Wireless Digital Camera Flash Booster / Slave:

This was purchased to be a slave strobe for my new Nikon D300 digital SLR. There is a three position switch on the back of the flash that is supposed to be able to configure the strobe's sensor to deal with the digital pre-flash for just about any camera. It works fine with my Nikon D70s but no combination of settings on the Nikon D300 would work with any of the switch positions on the QMS-D1 flash unit. I tried many combinations over a variety of lighting conditions and distances. All of them triggered the QMS-D1 to fire during the camera's pre-flash but not during the main flash. This strobe is useless with this camera.[...] Anybody need an unused slave strobe? Probably works great with other cameras.

 
Great Additional Flash
By JohnVerified Purchaser from Cincinnati on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QMS-D1 Wireless Digital Camera Flash Booster / Slave:

The flash on my S3 IS was just not strong enough when shooting across a room for inside shots with little natural light. By using this supplemental flash, the pictures from my daughters birthday party were exceptional. I would recommend this to anyone. With the switch set for digital cameras, it worked perfect right out of the box.

 
Great option for the price!
By SeanVerified Purchaser from St Johns, AZ on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast Recycling, Great price, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QMS-D1 Wireless Digital Camera Flash Booster / Slave:

This is a small, light-weight, great option for fill lighting. Has a strap to mount on irregulars like a post, also a mount for tripod or monopod. Seems to recycle pretty quickly and is a snap to use.

 
Great flash for product photography
By John KayeVerified Reviewer from South Carolina on 6/10/2008
Pros:
Fills a niche
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QMS-D1 Wireless Digital Camera Flash Booster / Slave:

I am a Commercial Photographer specializing in lighting (Table lamps, Chandeliers etc) many with chrome surfaces. This is a great little unit for adding just the right highlights or bringing out the detail in a dark lamp base. I started photography in 1970 and still shoot studio photos totally manual so this unit fits my lighting style. (Hasselblad with a digital back) I am fully used to moving flash units closer or further away to control exposure. I also use a Nikon D50 with an SB600 flash for event photography. Full flash automation since there is less control compared to my studio. Slave flash works well as a fill flash with the SB600.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Decent compact camera slave
By WilliamVerified Reviewer from Dublin, IRELAND on 1/3/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Very compact, Works with any camera
Cons:
Not for NiMh Batteries, Single power only
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QMS-D1 Wireless Digital Camera Flash Booster / Slave:

This is a nice compact unit. Works as an optical-only slave to any camera. Has none, single and double pre flash slave settings. Only a single power so you need to adjust f/stop, ISO or position to get the best result. Practically doubles the flash reach of an on camera flash, I've even used it with a home made snoot to give 'hair-light' for a home portrait.
An auto or f/stop setting would boost ease of use. Hot shoe mount needs some type of adjuster to improve build quality otherwise fine. Style- its a flash!!! Twice the price of a non-digital flash slave!!!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.