Buy the MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Flashes
The Quantaray MS-1 is a pocket sized flash that works without a net! This wireless booster flash does not need to connect to your camera or main flash in any way. It comes equipped with an electronic slave trigger that discharges the flash when it sees the main flash go off. That makes it a very handy piece for filling in shadows, increasing the output of your main flash or for special effects. It comes equipped with a tilting, table-top stand or it can be put into a regular flash shoe or it can be attached to any tripod. Anyway you cut it, it is a highly flexible addition to your existing flash system and, at this price, why not get a couple of them?
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(11), Durable(4), Easily interchangeable(8), Easy to clean(7), Fast recycling(9)
Best Uses:
Back-up(9), General purpose(11), Night photography(7), Photojournalism(3), Portraits(11)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Professional(3), Semi-professional(7)
 
i just love it
By jayrizeeVerified Purchaser from detroit michigan on 12/22/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Wedding/Event Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

it's is so easy to use!!!!

Images shared by: jayrizee

tvj photos

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome, quality accessory
By DaniVerified Purchaser from Ellicott City, MD on 11/3/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

I bought 2 of these little guys recently to brighten up my photos a bit more and boy, do they ever pack a punch. I photographed a wedding just recently and had them set up on tripods in the corners of the room and it really made a difference. Only downside in that situation was that anytime one of the guests took a photo they would go off as well. They don't take too long to re-charge, but it is obvious which shots it is working for and which they are not.

Overall, a great product, I can't wait to use it for portrait work, I think my results will be a lot better.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT BOOSTER FLASH
By Dana TVerified Purchaser from Livonia Michigan on 10/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

Great remote flash. Use several at a time for great results. Inexpensive and usefull.

 
WOW!
By CamVerified Purchaser from Richmond, VA on 10/20/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

I love this Slave Flash! Its very consistent; i have had very few no fires, because i didn't place them right. Another thing I love about this flash is the many flash modes! These are also great for portraits! if your thinking about buying one, go for it, and while you at it buy a couple more!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simple and effective
By ShadowmanVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles on 9/8/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

Great for portraits, effects, photos for [...]. Does exactly what it says it will do. Simple, uncomplicated device that works.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This tiny light packs a lot of punch!
By NanettelheaVerified Purchaser from Columbia, MO on 9/2/2008
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

I needed a small light to be used as a background light. The price, size and functionality of this little light was so perfect that I purchased 2; one for a background light and one for a hairlight!

Also, the light is so small that it takes up no room in your camera bag. It is great to carry along as additional lighting.

 
I liked this so much I bought two!
By tedmanVerified Purchaser from Nashville, TN on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons:
Not Very Durable
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

I photograph products some large and some small. I use these flash units to back light and as fill flash for the large products that are hard to light otherwise. I like that they can be intricately aimed.

 
this flash unit is worth the money
By pedronibblesVerified Purchaser from san antonio,tx on 8/4/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, I use everyday, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

we do a lot of ebay sales, i built a mini stage and use the four flash units plus the one on the camera, great great pics. good product and the price is great keep em in stock

 
a lot of light for a little cash
By commanderVerified Purchaser from Cincinnati on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

You get a lot of light for a little money. I bought 2 one for either side of my subject. for digital check exposure first for film,,,stop down

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Handy Inexpensive Slave Flash
By MyStudio76Verified Purchaser from Hartford, CT on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Portable, Quiet
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

Handy inexpensive way to get sophisticated lighting looks. I use 2 or 3 of these in photo shoots and product shots for dramatic lighting effects.

Images shared by: MyStudio76

Slave used overhead

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Far exceeded my expectations
By PhotoguyRyanVerified Reviewer from Inland Empire, Southern California on 1/9/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

I get very few no fires, and when I do, its cuz I know I didnt set it up right. They are great for any indoor work, and and shaded outdoor work. They are easily modified with homemade snoots, diffusers, color gels, to give your work a great look.

 
They are more than worth the money
By SAOphotoVerified Reviewer from Boston, Massachusetts on 11/27/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits, Still Life
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

I have been using these slaves for over 5 years. The first one I bought, I still use, I like to use a few of them to model the light more specifically than I can do with just the on camera flash, I have been using them with all my digital cameras as well as my old film nikon.
At times I use up to 7 of them and at this price, I say, buy a bunch of them!
The color is clean, they can be mounted on a tripod, hung from the wall, stuck in the pocket for traveling or even hidden right in the image for truly spectacular results!

Images shared by: SAOphoto

slave placed on table behind laptop, facing wall

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
I agree! They are awesome!
By Peanut the Cat from West Columbia, SC on 7/28/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons:
none, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

They really are awesome! They make a nice hairlight in my portrait studio! Great if you need a light to light up a bride's veil in the studio or on location!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
These little things are AWESOME!
By edgewood from Omaha, NE on 7/9/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy to use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray MS-1 Wireless Flash Booster / Slave:

I use these things with my Nikon D70s, I put my on camera flash at 1/8 and as back flash and they look just great. I use 2 of them with umbrellas for studio work and on locatioin. Their so easy to use and set up and for the price, everyone should have one for their kit.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.