Buy the Speedlite 430EX on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Speedlite 430EX image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Flashes
This exciting new addition to the EOS System combines compact size and affordability with an added dose of features and sophistication. Improving on the previous model, Speedlite 420EX, the new 430EX can now be set into manual flash mode (full power~1/64). Flash compensation can be set on the flash unit, and manual control of the flash zoom head is now possible. Improvements in its circuitry make recycle time 40-percent faster, and since it is compatible with Canon''s wireless E-TTL, it can be used as an affordable slave unit.
  • Significantly greater user control via new LCD panel on rear of flash
  • Wide-angle pull-down panel covers 14mm lens (on a full-frame camera)
  • Slightly higher max. guide number at 105mm setting (GN 141-feet, at ISO 100)
  • Auto conversion of flash zoom coverage with compatible digital SLRs
  • White balance info communicated instantly to compatible digital SLRs
  • Bounce upward to 90-degrees; swivel right (to 90-degrees) and left (to 180-degrees)
  • 14-percent lighter and approx. 25-percent smaller in overall volume than top-of-the-line 580EX
  • Six flash custom functions built into the 430EX (set on rear LCD panel)
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(8), Easy to clean(3), Fast recycling(8), Lightweight(3), Quiet(3)
Best Uses:
General purpose(5), Lighting(3), Night photography(5), Photojournalism(5), Portraits(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(6)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
CANON'S AWESOME MIDRANGE FLASH SYSTEM
By FIJIMANVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON, NEVADA on 4/25/2008
Pros:
Compact and lightweight, Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet, Semi pro flash
Cons:
None that I can find
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports Photography, Whatever
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Speedlite 430EX:

CANON'S MID-RANGE, SEMI-PRO PHOTO DIGITAL FLASHGUN GREAT FOR ALL PURPOSES.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love it
By powdingVerified Reviewer from The Colony, TX on 4/2/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Speedlite 430EX:

As an amateur I was uncertain about spending this kind of money. Looking at the indoor shots I'm now getting, It's worth it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Glad I had paid more.
By UnderMyKiltVerified Reviewer from McDonough, GA on 2/17/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast Recycling, Flexable, Versatile
Cons:
None at this time
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoor Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Speedlite 430EX:

My wife and I bought this flash to use at a wedding. The flash worked flawlessly and the pictures turned out great. I'm glad I had paid the extra amount to buy Canon. We were going to buy a cheaper off brand, but decided to stay brand consistant.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I recommend it!!!
By Green GiantVerified Reviewer from West Palm Beach, FL on 2/5/2008
Pros:
Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Nothing yet
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Speedlite 430EX:

I'm just a casual user, like to take pics and this is my first flash and it work great!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Help.
By FunkeychickenVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City, Utah on 7/17/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Speedlite 430EX:

Helps with the poor flash of the Canon XTi.

Images shared by: Funkeychicken

Camping

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome flash!
By Brian from Alhambra, CA on 5/26/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Bounce flash, Fill Flash, Lighting, Wireless Slave Flash
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Speedlite 430EX:

This is a great flash unit. It performs extremely well indoors and out.

The recycle rate is quick, depending on your flash output but over it it performs amazingly.

I highly recommend this flash to anyone who is planning on entering the world of flash photography.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice flash for your Canon needs
By EsqetteVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 2/20/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Photography, Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Speedlite 430EX:

The right flash can make or break any photo, and this one allows you to use it both automatically and manually.
Its features may be a little overwhelming for a person who is new to photography, but you can always use it on the automatic mode and it will do well.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Workhorse
By MannyVerified Reviewer from Rhode Island on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Moderate weight
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Speedlite 430EX:

Works well. Batteries last a long time

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My first flash...it's awesome!
By SnapshotVerified Reviewer from Riverside County, CA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Lighting, Night Photography, Photography, Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Speedlite 430EX:

This was the first flash I have purchased and for the money it is great! I would recommend this to any photographer who can't afford the big guns.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.