Buy the Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Flashes
Further development of Canon's flagship Speedlite has led to the production of the 580 EX II. This is the premier Speedlite for all photographers, including professionals. Newly designed to match with the EOS-1D Mark III in terms of improved dust- and water-resistance, body strength, and the ability to control flash functions and settings from the camera menu (EOS-1D Mark III only). Other features include improved communication reliability through its direct contacts, and recycling time is both 20% shorter than the 580EX and is completely inaudible.

Canon Speedlite 580EX II Features

  • Approx. 20% faster recycling time compared to 580EX
  • Superior build quality, including a metal foot for higher rigidity
  • Max. Guide No. 58 at 105mm setting (GN 190, feet)
  • Auto conversion of flash coverage with compatible digital SLR cameras
  • White Balance info communicated instantly to compatible digital SLR cameras
  • Full swivel, 180-degrees in either direction
  • AF-assist beam, compatible with all AiAF points on every EOS SLR
  • Dust- and water- resistance to match the EOS-1D Mark III
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(12), Durable(9), Easily interchangeable(4), Easy to clean(3), Easy to use(4)
Cons:
Heavy(6)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(4), General purpose(12), Night photography(7), Photojournalism(6), Portraits(9)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Semi-professional(7)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash
By Jackley17Verified Purchaser from Washington state on 3/23/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

I use this flash for shooting weddings. It's great.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Another great product by Canon
By LauraVerified Purchaser from Butler, PA on 1/29/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

I have never had a flash like this one and it's great! Great product!

 
Powerful, Fantastic Flash!
By CarlVerified Purchaser from Williamsburg on 1/22/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

This professional level flash is the finest I've ever used from Canon. It is a little on the heavy side, but nothing that you shouldn't expect in a flash of this quality and functionality.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE IT!!!
By NicoleVerified Purchaser from Rogers, MN on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Fast Recycling, Powerful Output
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

This flash was a must for the very contemporary wedding I just shot! The photos turned out terrific, and it was held in a very very low light building. Kept it on the auto setting almost the entire time, and it did a fantastic job!

Images shared by: Nicole

groom

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

bride

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A clear choice for many photographers
By greenlightstreet[@]Verified Reviewer from Silicon Valley, CA on 10/28/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast Recycling, Quiet
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

The Canon Speedlite 580EX II flashgun is a professional quality device. It is solid and sturdy. Quality of the materials is very good. The unit is weather sealed, which adds to the appeal as well.

The unit is huge. It's quite of a load in one's gear bag and it does take space. It weights over a pound with the "AA" batteries installed. But that is probably well worth the performance Canon 580EX II provides.

All-in-all the Canon Speedlite 580EX II is a very well designed unit and is a flagship of Canon's flash line. The unit provides good and reliable exposure. It has a very good set of features, including master/slave functionality, external metering sensor (though not the very best one), PC terminal, etc. This flashgun is a clear choice for many professionals, semi-pros and, with the prices going down, even some amateurs.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great addition to your camera.
By KathyVerified Purchaser from Lake Villa, IL on 10/28/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy to use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoor animal photos, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

This flash is great for all uses. The quiet recycle is especially helpful when photographing animals as the noise of recycling can spook animals. Does a great job of filling and highlighting the subject.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow - best Flash EVER OWNED or USED!!!
By JFScheckVerified Purchaser from San Diego, CA - SteamBoat Springs, CO on 10/14/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Environmental Sealing, Fast Recycling, Quiet
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

Wow - just when you thought the 580EX was about as good as it gets - add Environmental Sealing - faster refresh yet quieter - great distance and for all this power it doesn't suck too much juice!

The only down side - this guy is big and works best with the latest EOS based cameras for full communications between flash and camera.

Love setting synch rate at 1/2000 on flash and camera and overcoming the flash synch limitations on a few of the EOS cameras...

Works GREAT as a Master and Slave...

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Too much whiz and not enough bang
By GeneVerified Purchaser from Michigan on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Looks, Quiet
Cons:
Heavy, Pricey
Best Uses:
Easy to use, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

I thought it was a good flash but i thought it was a little pricey, the flash cost just as much as the camera.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great flash...
By MaddogVerified Reviewer from Wisconsin on 2/15/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Cons:
Not Interchangeable
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

I use this for everyday as well as freelance weddings and I find it much better then the previous. Great recycle time.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Addition, But!
By SteviewonderVerified Reviewer from Alpharetta Ga. on 1/24/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Battery Life Issue
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

General use over the built in flash in my Canon XTI. Great ability to control flash output and remote use. BUT, there is a battery drainage issue if you leave batteries in the flash more than 25-30 days fully charged with the unit turned off, they will be dead the next time you turn it on. I have 5 sets of AA NiMH batteries and the one's left in the flash go dead, the spares are all still charged. I do not know what this issue is, but it is repeatable. If not for this, 5 Stars. I now leave all batteries out of the unit when not in use.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice speedlite
By BPVerified Reviewer from Vacaville, Ca on 1/24/2008
Pros:
Fast Recycling
Cons:
Clamp problem, Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

flash works great. But..there seems to be a defect in the clamping mechanism. The flash can slighty twist from side to side while clamped in the 40D's camera's hotshoe. I RMA'd the first unit, only to have the second replacement do the same thing.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Addition
By fire-eyesVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas, NV on 11/2/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet, Weather Sealed Foot
Cons:
Slightly Weak Constrctn, Sltly Noisy Zoom
Best Uses:
All-Around Filling, Flying Bird Photog, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

I paired this up with an EOS-1D Mark III and a weather resistant lens. This flash is weather resistant too, obviously shown by it's very healthy and tough weather seal at the shoe.It's obvious the other components have been weatherpoofed pretty well, also.This great flash has taken my options to another new level. I really enjoy the new options I have. Even using it in broad daylight, it's great to use for filling those little darkish nooks and crannies.The AF assisting is phenomenal. I can set my cameras AF points to something specific, and the AF beams concentrate on that area. Instead of wasting time and energy throwing them everywhere. It's a little creepy to watch, but highly accurate.The flash comes with a somewhat cheapish feeling pull out diffuser ("wide-panel") and catchlight panel. I am seriously worried that I will eventually snap the catchlight panel off. At the same time, I'm not sure what Canon could have done about this.Perhaps it's because my unit is new, however, at times it's a REAL annoyance pulling those out. If you have short fingernails, watch out...The overall construction on this unit feels sub-par compared to my Mark III. However I understand the Mark III is way beyond par, so maybe it's a perspective issue.In my unit the top cover piece on top of the flash isn't totally lined up properly. It's minor but annoying.This flash is surprisingly light; [...]The unit is VERY light. But I think that comes with a bit of a price: Overall the unit feels like it could be constructed a lot better. However, I would take the weight drop over more solid construction.This light weight is a huge plus when you stick it on top of an already heavy Mark III. The camera feels just as balanced with it, as it does without it. Even when rotated 90 degrees. At least on this Mark III, the foot attaches VERY securely. The flash doesn't budge at all on top of this camera, and feels totally in balance. It's easy to forget it's there, believe it or not.Operation is a breeze. E-TTL / E-TTL II means that you can be braindead if you want, and still get good results. I'm a huge fan of the "wide-panel" (pull-out diffuser), as it generates much more even light. The result is much more pleasing.The flash light itself along with the reflector travel back and forth in the body of the flash, in reaction to whatever you're zoomed in at. This works well, however it is somewhat slow, and certainly noisy.However, this flash has NO recharge hiss/whine from the capacitors; Which is a little freaky. So the noise from the flash/reflector travelling is more than made up for.This flash uses four AA batteries. I actually wish it used a battery pack, however, AA's work fine. Do yourself a favor: Get NiMH batteries and a charger. There is less internal resistance than other battery types, and this means even faster recharge times for the flash.NiMH batteries are also a little lighter than Alkalines, so, you save a bit of weight there.Overall I'm thrilled with this product.[$]

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this Flash again and again
By HCantuVerified Reviewer from Hidalgo, TX on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Perfect item, Quiet, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Family travel, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Family travel, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

is a perfect item for my camera

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Work Horse of a Flash
By Douglasphoto.netVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 5/7/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Limited accessories
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Photography, Photojournalism, Wedding and events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Speedlite 580 EX II Flash:

Loyal Canon Fan! 580 Ex is a workhorse

Images shared by: Douglasphoto.net

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product, Shot with 20D and 580ex

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.