Buy the Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black) image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Olympus
Located in: Featured Digital Cameras and Electronics
Powerfully Simple:
The new Olympus PEN E-PL1 is truly greater than the sum of its parts, with a surprisingly small camera body packed with technology normally found in bigger, bulkier and heavier professional Digital Single Lens Reflex (DSLR) cameras and High-Definition (HD) camcorders. This third-generation PEN is built for shutterbugs who always wanted better pictures and considered a DSLR, but were intimidated by the bulky size and complex interface. The new camera's simple design and easy interface enable photographers to easily create amazing images never dreamt possible.

The E-PL1 equals an affordable and powerfully simple all-in-one package that travels with you to capture life in the high quality that your memories deserve.

NEW DIRECT BUTTON FOR HD MOVIES
Recording HD movies with the E-PL1 is simple thanks to an easy-to-reach red ?direct button? (red record button) on the back of the camera body. If you're about to snap a photo and you realize a video would capture the spirit of the scene even better, simply press the record button and instantly you're capturing videos! Easily toggle back and forth between capturing stills and video by using your index finger to press the shutter button or your thumb to press the red record button. Having the ability to shoot still images and videos opens up a world of imaging possibilities.

NEW easy-to-use LIVE GUIDE SETS THE SCENE BEFORE YOU SHOOT
The E-PL1's Live Guide simplifies great photography and gets the results you desire at the touch of a button. Want a brighter or darker subject, or a sharper or softer background? Want more vivid or muted color in your shot? Want warmer or cooler tones? Simply press ok while in iAuto, select Live Guide and press up or down arrows on the back of the camera to slide through all these photographic effects on the LCD and make adjustments before snapping the shot. Forget about learning technical things like f-stops, shutter speed and white balance, and jump right in by composing, adjusting exposure and more within your scene before the shot is taken. Helpful tips for photographing children, pets, flowers and more are also available.

EXPAND YOUR CREATIVE HORIZONS WITH BUILT-IN EFFECTS
Olympus appreciates that you may not have hours to spend retouching your images on the computer. The E-PL1 has six in-camera Art Filters, including a new filter called Gentle Sepia. This filter gives your images and videos a soft warm sepia cast similar to historical images from the early days of photography, and joins Pop Art, Soft Focus, Pin Hole, Grainy Film and Diorama (the filter that makes everything look as small as the E-PL1). With the E-PL1's Multiple Exposure function available for still image capture, you are free to tell a visual story your way. The image capture options enable you to shoot one shot, then another and combine them in real time, or capture both shots separately and combine them within the camera later.

STABILIZE ALL OF YOUR LENSES
Instead of selling more expensive lenses that have image stabilization inside them, Olympus takes a different approach by having image stabilization built right into the body of the E-PL1. That means that any lens attached to the E-PL1 will deliver blur-free images thanks to three modes of In-body Image Stabilization that automatically compensate for camera shake in low light or when shooting without a tripod. Since the PEN cameras are the world's smallest interchangeable lens cameras with In-body Image Stabilization, you'll feel comfortable taking the E-PL1 on the road with you to capture the action.

BIG SENSOR, NOT A BIG BODY
At the heart of the E-PL1 is a large-size image sensor that's the same sensor as the one inside the Olympus E-30 and E-620 Digital SLR models. The only difference between this sensor and what the pros use is that this big sensor is inside the much smaller body of the E-PL1. This high-performance 12.3-megapixel Live MOS image sensor (8 times larger than the average point-and-shoot camera sensor) delivers excellent dynamic range, accurate color fidelity, and state-of-the-art technology to reduce noise and capture fine image details in both highlight and shadow areas.

NEW POP-UP FLASH
The E-PL1 is the first camera in the Olympus PEN series with a built-in pop-up flash that makes it easy to illuminate low-light subjects, reduce red eye, and fill in dark areas. The camera is also compatible with a range of optional external flashes including the Olympus FL-36R and FL-50R that can be controlled wirelessly by the E-PL1, so you can dynamically control lighting.

LENSES AND ACCESSORIES
Get more out of the E-L1 with an expanded line of exclusive Micro Four Thirds lenses that deliver uncompromising image quality and brightness in a compact package. A variety of cases and accessories are available, and an adapter lets you use standard Four Thirds lenses.

IN-CAMERA SLIDESHOW WITH SOUND
Slideshows have never been easier or more fun to create. The E-PL1's enhanced playback functions allow you to employ effective fade-in/fade-out techniques, control the movie/still mix and speed, add captivating musical soundtracks, and much more.

IAUTO AND IENHANCE
The iAuto mode automatically identifies what you're shooting and adjusts settings for you to capture the best result depending on the situation. With iEnhance the warm yellow and orange colors of a sunset are heightened to a dramatically lifelike color that's truer to what you see with the naked eye. iEnhance can be used in any mode, and automatically engages when in iAuto to enrich color in any subject.

TruePic V IMAGE PROCESSOR
In addition to more detail, the image sensor, combined with the next-generation TruePic V Image Processor, delivers excellent dynamic range, accurate color fidelity and reduced noise, all the way up to 3200 ISO.

19 SCENE-SELECT MODES
From portraits to sunset shots, the E-PL1 is equipped with 19 Scene-Select modes for effortless picture taking, including Fireworks, Sunset, Children, Macro and Panorama, to name a few. Capturing beautiful portraits is easy with the ePortrait Mode that enables you to smooth your subject's complexion.

Olympus PEN E-PL1 Camera Features

HD MOVIE WITH MANUAL CONTROL, ART FILTER MOVIE, AND NEW DIRECT MOVIE BUTTON
Shoot movies at 30 frames per second, with high-quality sound, in 720p with available manual control over aperture and shutter speed. This new level of control allows you to express your vision exactly how you want in your HD videos. A Direct HD Movie Button switches you from still to movie mode with the press of a button. You can also capture HD video (720p) using one of the six Art Filters for more creative shooting options.

NEW EASY-TO USE-LIVE GUIDE CONTROL
Seeing the results before you shoot can change the way you take a picture. Want more vivid or muted color in your shot? Want warmer or cooler hues? Want a brighter or darker subject, or a sharper or softer background? Or maybe you want to capture the fast-moving action of your subject with a little artistic blur, or perhaps freeze the action? Simply set the camera to iAuto, press OK to engage Live Guide, then press the up and down arrows on the back of the E-PL1 to easily slide through numerous photographic effects. Make adjustments and watch the LCD as the effects are made live -- before the image is captured! Live Guide also features a Tips section on how to compose a shot or shoot kids, pets, flowers and more.

BUILT-IN FLASH
Use the pop-up flash to easily illuminate low-light subjects. The camera is also compatible with a range of optional external flashes including the Olympus FL-14, -- and the E-PL1 has wireless flash control using the FL-36R and FL-50R -- for dynamic lighting control.

IN-CAMERA ART FILTERS
With six in-camera Art Filters (Pop Art, Soft Focus, Grainy Film, Pin Hole, Diorama and our new Gentle Sepia filter) you can explore your artistic side while taking both still shots and HD video. The Art Filters can be applied as you shoot, no additional software required.

12.3 MEGAPIXEL
The E-PL1's powerful 12.3 megapixel Live-MOS sensor packs a powerful high-quality imaging punch for such a compact camera, allowing you to capture more detail than ever before. The Live MOS image sensor delivers excellent dynamic range, accurate color fidelity and fine image details in both highlight and shadow areas.

IN-BODY IMAGE STABILIZATION
Say goodbye to blurry images. In both still and movie modes - the E-PL1 Image Stabilization excels. The E-PL1's three-mode In-body Image Stabilization system compensates for up to three shutter speed steps in the still shooting modes with any of its interchangeable lenses: Mode 1 for general shooting, Mode 2 for creative high-speed horizontal capture, and Mode 3 for high-speed vertical capture. The camera's Mechanical Image Stabilization automatically compensates for camera shake in low-light situations or when using a telephoto lens. In the Movie Modes the advanced Electronic Image Stabilization tracts the images both vertically and horizontally to achieve clear sharp movies, matching the performance of the in body IS.

COMPACT SIZE, INTERCHANGEABLE LENSES
We've packed a big sensor into a small camera. The stylish design of the Olympus PEN E-PL1 is much more compact than a traditional DSLR, but it still provides the option of interchangeable lenses -- giving you the freedom to take great pictures wherever you go. Whether it's around the block or around the world.

IN-CAMERA SLIDESHOW WITH SOUND
Slideshows have never been easier or more fun to create. The E-PL1's enhanced playback functions allow you to employ effective fade-in/fade-out techniques, control the movie/still mix and speed, add captivating musical soundtracks, and much more.

MULTIPLE EXPOSURE
Multiple Exposure makes heightened creativity an easily-obtained objective. Two frames can be combined to create an image uniquely yours. Images can be combined in playback mode or directly on the LCD

iAUTO WITH iENHANCE
iAuto automatically identifies the scene you're shooting ? portrait, landscape, night portrait, macro, or sport ? and adjusts the settings to optimize results. iEnhance can be used in any mode, and automatically engages when using iAuto to enrich color in any subject, just as the human eye sees it.

TRUEPIC V IMAGE PROCESSOR
In addition to more detail, the image sensor, combined with the next-generation TruePic V Image Processor, delivers excellent dynamic range, accurate color fidelity and reduced noise, all the way up to 3200 ISO.

19 AUTOMATIC SCENE-SELECT MODES
The E-PL1 is equipped with 19 scene-select modes for effortless picture taking. Standard scene modes like Night-Scene, Portrait and Landscape are easy-to-use solutions for everyday shooting.

DUST REDUCTION SYSTEM
A Dust Reduction System assures spot-free images. Every time you turn on the camera, the patented Supersonic Wave Filter silently vibrates, flinging and collecting dust so that it cannot interfere with the picture imaging at any time.

AF LIVE VIEW WITH AF TRACKING
AF Live View works as seamlessly as a point-and-shoot to display subjects, in focus, on the LCD the instant the shutter is pressed half way. AF Tracking locks your subject into focus right on the LCD, and constantly adjusts focus and brightness whether you or your subject is moving. With this mode, a simple push of the AF button and shutter release enables you to keep fast-moving and unpredictable subjects in focus

IN-CAMERA EDITING
Make changes to your image after the shot, right in the camera. Adjust for red eye, crop an image, change the aspect ratio or saturation, change your image to black and white -- and much more! In-Camera jpeg edit functions allow you to quickly tweak your images right in the camera so you can easily upload them to your favorite web site and share them with friends and family. (perfect!)

FACE DETECTION
A Face Detection function reduces the chance of blurry faces when shooting groups of people-up to eight subjects at once-even if they're moving while you're pressing the shutter button.

SHADOW ADJUSTMENT TECHNOLOGY
Shadow Adjustment Technology corrects for extreme light variations with high-tech efficiency. It can also be used in post-editing.

ePORTRAIT
The ePortrait Scene-Select mode is useful for smoothing out the facial features of your subjects, which is a tremendous plus for High Definition video playback, or apply ePortrait post shot via .jpeg edit.

MULTIPLE ASPECT RATIO SHOOTING
The E-PL1 lets you select one of four Aspect Ratios (4:3, 3.2, 16.9 and 6.6) that help frame your images to whatever proportions you'd like. Aspect ratios are available for still photo and HD movie capture, for everything from conventional enlargements to viewing on widescreen monitors.

ACCESSORY PORT
The E-PL1 includes a port for new accessories including the SEMA-1 Microphone adapter set and the VF-2 live-finder, a detachable electronic viewfinder. The viewfinder easily slides onto the camera's accessory port and hot shoe to provide 1.15x magnification for a 100% field of view. The VF-2 rotates up 90 degrees which is useful when shooting subjects from challenging angles. The external accessory port also allows for connection with the new EMA-1 external microphone adapter for enhanced audio capture.

MICRO FOUR THIRDS MOUNT
The Micro Four Thirds Mount on the E-PL1 provides many key benefits, including the effectiveness of a digitally designed image sensor, an ultra-compact design, and expandability and compatibility with all Micro Four Thirds Lenses and Four Thirds System Lens via the MMF-2 Adapter.

SDHC MEDIA CARDS (*Optional Accessory)
The E-PL1 is capable of recording video to SDHC media cards to accommodate large files. (SDHC Class 6 cards are recommended.) Videos, stills and high-fidelity audio can also be output via HDMI cable-direct to any HD television.

Underwater Housing (*Optional Accessory)
The new camera's compact design makes it the perfect companion for all of your dive trips. The PT-EP01 underwater housing has been specially customized for the Olympus E-PL1 and is waterproof to a depth of 40 meters (approximately 130 feet). With its durable, high-quality polycarbonate construction, this Olympus housing protects the camera from water while also cushioning it from knocks and bumps on land.

Olympus PEN E-PL1 Tutorial Videos

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(12), Fast / accurate auto-focus(6), Fast shutter speed(3), Good image quality(12), High ISO performance(4)
Cons:
No viewfinder(4)
Best Uses:
Family photos(7), Landscape/scenery(13), Low light(5), Sports/action(3), Travel(14)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(4), Photo enthusiast(9)
Was this a gift?:
No(5)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better than an SLR!
By AGVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 4/18/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality
Cons:
Noisy At High ISO
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

Image quality is incredibly sharp, sharper than many of the high end DSLRs when I compared them side by side, though slightly higher noise may be the tradeoff.

Controls are easy to use once past the learning curve, even without the control wheel available on the E-PL2.

Camera is small and lightweight compared the a DSLR.

Cons:
Even though this has a "macro" mode there is no easy access to this feature and is only available as a SCN setting so can't be used in combination with any other modes. Even with it on, macro shooting is difficult and blurry at close range.

Also sometimes the camera won't let you take the shot if it's not within a certain focus threshold. You can press the button all you want and it will just sit there. You have to put it in manual focus mode to force it to save what the camera thinks is a blurry pic.

Video is limited to 2GB or 7 minutes in HD mode. I can't think of a good reason in this day and age why that should be a limitation when other cameras can record through all the available space on the SD card.

 
Olympus Pen is Great!
By RachaelVerified Purchaser from New Hampshire on 1/17/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Cons:
No Viewfinder
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

I just got my Olympus E-PL1 and it is awesome! It is easy to use and has many settings and functions based on how much you know about photography. I would recommend this camera to anyone who wants to learn how to use a digital SLR.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The "BIG" SLR in a small package
By MomVerified Reviewer from Hilton Head Island, SC on 12/12/2010
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Built-in photo editing software, Continuous shooting, Face detection software, Fast Auto focus, HDMI or component video output, HD Video recording, Hi-resolution display / AMOLED display, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Night shooting mode, Programmed scene shooting modes
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Display on digital picture frame, Display on television, Email to friends and family, Print using a home printer, Print using an in-store photo service via kiosk or live person, Print using an in-store photo service via online upload, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
10
Ease of Operation:
10
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
10
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
10
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
10
Overall Experience:
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

WOW!
GREAT!
WHAT CAMERA SHOT THAT?
These are the comments of anyone who sees my photography and sees how small this camera is!!!
We Love This for Our Family's REAL Camera!

 
Great Camera
By dreamer from Wake Forest, NC on 11/7/2010
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

Great camera, especially for taking pictures on the go. I take a lot of pictures on the back of the motorcycle going down the road.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Light and compact
By DennisdVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality
Cons:
Lcd in bright light, No Viewfinder
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

Manual is poorly written and needs to be more clear on the many functions the camera offers. Camera is my second for the times where I want to carry a high quality lightweight and compact camera - this fits the bill.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent little SLR camera
By sonyhomeVerified Purchaser from san jose, ca on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Quiet
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

This is a great camera at a very good price point. I use it travelling, climbing, hiking, etc.I was raised with a Canon AE1, and own Olympus DSLRs with high-grade lenses. The EPL1 works for all applications except where speed/reaction is important, like sports photo. For that, in the price range I recommend a cheap E-620, with a [$] fast lens, like the 12-60swd or 50-200swd depending on how far is the action. The new Panasonic GH2 might change this equation though, it claims faster AF than even DSLRs.Think of the EPL1 as a DSLR without an optical viewfinder (that makes the body much smaller and lighter). As a DSLR it performs like a very good entry level body, with all the features. The only limitations vs semi-pro bodies are it's missing the extra fps or stop range, waterproofing, etc.It's greatest benefit is it's one of the most compact and lightest interchangeable lens cameras. It is about the size of a bridge camera, and lighter. This makes it ideal for reporter style photography, backpacking, travelling, etc. without sacrificing image quality. Look in the weaknesses below for what you give up. You can use any of the tiny micro four-thirs (mFT) lenses and any four-thirds (FT) lens with an adapter, plus all the legacy manual focus lenses of almost all other brands.What you get over Canon/Nikon DSLRs: Image stabilisation of all lenses (2 to 3 stops). Great colors and resolution even without retouching the photos. Great lenses, lighter, better build, resolution and faster than Canon/Nikon counterparts of the same price. Lightweight lenses of good quality in the entry level. This benefit came because Olympus didn't have the legacy AF lenses to support when they invented the FT system. So with 2 zooms you can cover all your basic needs.For beginners: Can be used as a point and shoot using the "Auto" mode with great results. The SLR grade sensor makes the photos much better than a point and shoot in terms of dynamic range, much less likely to have irreparably washed out sky or underexposed foregrounds.For serious photographers:All the DSLR functionalities are there and accessible, exposure control, manual focus, A/S/P/ISO control, re-programmable buttons, AEL, etc. I've used it with all my four-thirds semi-pro lenses successfully. That includes the 12-60mm f2/3.5 50-200 f2.8/3.5 with 1.4x teleconverter. We're talking 24mm to 600mm equivalent zooming.The kit lens is very good, I see no flaw with it, it's extremely light, and the most compact zoom in its class when folded. You won't get the bokkeh of a semi-pro lens, mostly because of the depth of field because it is slower than heavy semi-pro glass.Serious photographers can attach all the legacy lenses they can think of. The focus plane is very close, so almost any lens can be fitted on with the proper mount adapter.I do night photos, and I appreciate the 60s timer (before you have to go to bulb mode). It allows me to take landscape full moon photos.Weaknesses:- Autofocus is slower than a SLR, especially, an E620+12-60mm SWD lens is blazing fast. It's about the speed of a point and shoot, with the kit lens. About the speed of drive by wire focus with the bigger 4/3 lenses, even the SWD lenses which are supposed to be the fastest in the world.- LCD screen: You have to compose with it. You can buy a digital viewfinder to compose like you do with DSLRs, however it's [$], so consider the EP2 instead then. In bright california sunlight, the LCD gets washed out, making composing much harder. Same issue as with point and shoot cameras.- LCD screen doesn't tilt. That makes the camera much lighter, but still I use that feature sometimes.- No wheel buttons. This means it's harder to adjust settings, like speed or aperture in A/S or M mode. To do that instead you need to press the +/- button first, then the keypad turns into an arrows pad. Again if you want easier access to that, look at the EP2.- High-ISO noise. The EPL1 behaves like a decent entry level DSLR there. Image quality is good to ISO 800, at which point noise becomes very visible. However the photos are still of good quality, in fact even at ISO 3200 grain is better than the old 35mm film camera photos. FT/mFT cameras will lag here behind Canon/Nikon because the FT sensor is about 20% smaller than APSC. However the resolution of the photos is very competitive.- No full frame high-end body in your future: If you invest in the FT or mFT lenses, you will never be able to use them on a full frame SLR body like the 5D or D700. The Olympus system sacrificed this avenue. That said, Panasonic is innovating in lenses (new 3D lens is out), so we can expect interesting things in the mFT future.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Olympus E-PL1 Micro 4/3 w/ 14-42MM Lens
By HKSSupra91Verified Reviewer from New York City on 9/12/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Quiet
Cons:
Low Light AF Performance, Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Video
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

This is a great camera, picture quality is incredible for such a small camera. AF (in good light) is slower than a DSLR, but it's not a deal breaker. AF in very low light (bars and really dark rooms) AF is useless. You can't even manually focus in low light b/c you're focusing with the LCD which sees nothing but black. Other than really low light scenes nothing stops this camera. It can hold it's own with all the SLR's I own.

I highly recommend this camera, the photos come out perfect, low light ISO noise is kept minimal (usable up to 3200).

[3 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love This Camera!!
By Mom2twinsVerified Reviewer from Nashville,TN on 5/6/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance
Cons:
Lag / Shutter Delay
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

I just got this camera yesterday so I haven't even discovered all the cool features of this baby.
Wow I also own a DSLR and this camera has all the features in a smaller package. I love the fact that it allows me to not only capture those special moments on digital it also has great HD video too. For the money I think this is a great purchase for the person looking for all the complex features of a DSLR bundled into a easier point and shoot casual photographer like myself.
Also love the cool art feature mode. Way to go Olympus, love this camera.

Images shared by: Mom2twins

Birds

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Cool Art Feature

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Digital Rangefinder Arrives
By tedolph from Seattle, WA on 5/5/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Use with M-mount Lenses
Cons:
Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Travel, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

Bought this camera two months ago at Camera's West (a Ritz store) here in Seattle. The kit lense is OK, a little large but will work well for casual photography. No shutter lag, fast start up time, etc. Camera never feels sluggish. Rare autofocus issues in very low light and then just use the manual focus ring with manual focus assist, works great. The camera is amazing for use with legacy M-mount lenses (with a cheap M to micro 4/3 adaptor). They are small and compact and complement the e-pl1 ergonomically. I have a 40mm F2 and 90mm F4 Rokkor M mount lenses from my rangefinder days(lots of screw mount Leica and clones still avialable at reasonable prices). This is where the camera really shines. Maunal focusing is very fast and easy with the LCD (imapges pop in and out of focus quickly with lens wide open, then stop down to shooting aperatre)or optional EVF-faster than with the old incidence rangefinders. Or just use zone focusing for grab shots. Did a track meet with the 90mm and a monopod, a theater event in the foyer with the 40mm (difficult mixed low light/natural/tungsten- used manual white balance setting)and the results are very proffesional. The action photos just pop! JPEG output from the camera is very good-little post processing needed. For outdoor photos, i-image will give no post processing JPEGS. Shoot neuteral if you want to fine tune in post processing. Hopefully, someone will come out with fast manual prime lenses in native micro 4/3 mount. Put the camera on i-Auto and hand it to your non-photographer family member and they can take great photo's. I thought the ART filters were a gimick but my daughter loves them and has gotten some surprisingly good results (especially the soft focus effect). i expect you would also have very good results with the old Olympus half frame lenses. What a joy-the digital rangefinder is finaly here!

Images shared by: tedolph

High contrast setting

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

90mm F4 M mount Rokkor

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic!
By ottobrothersVerified Reviewer from Levittown, NY on 4/25/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Video
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

easy to use and carry!
It is so compact and powerful.
same image quality and function as heavy DSLR!
E-PL1 gave me desire to own on first sight.
It was the very camera that I've been waiting for
long.
E-PL1 made me look at Olympus anew and recognize
it same level as Nicon and Canon.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Hi-tech camera comes in small size
By FranklinVerified Reviewer from Cayman Island on 4/1/2010
Pros:
Art Filter, Easy To Use, Good Image Quality
Cons:
No Viewfinder, Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

Its a great camera that bring all the Hi Technology in small package.. I been using for two weeks now and I thinks it was the best Camera I ever had so far.. It comes with great picture quality, and I having fun play with art filter so I make my picture looks like taken by the pro without even edit in computer.. take great HD video even it sometimes takes some moment to focus, but it just a bonus anyway..
My cons is this camera is little bit difficult to use in low light and comes with no viewfinder, but the size and the prize beat all that cons..
so over all I am really2 "WOW!!!" by this camera

Images shared by: Franklin

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

take with gentle sepia art filter

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Art Filter

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
The running around camera!!
By Shoturtle from NYC on 3/31/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Quiet
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Travel, Video
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

This is the perfect run around and travel camera for the photographer that wants all the advantages of a dslr with lenses and manual control, but still want a light weight easy to travel and run around camera.

This camera will not replace the my DSLR, but for most of my travel and running around needs it does a great job. And after a month with this camera, I am even more impress with it's abilities.

The camera has a pretty easy to learn set up. The main dial puts it in to the mode you want. And the button placement or the back of the camera is easy to use. And you can program 2 button for as hotkeys if you like. For the dslr user, it does not have dial controls, but if you are using the EPL1 with the VF2. You quickly get the muscle memory in you thumb to use the A, S, and M modes like second nature. Also with the VF2 you can see everything you can on the lcd and have a much higher resolution.

Coming form a dslr background. I love that fact that I have complete manual control. I can choose the shoot in Aperture, Shutter or complete M. And that I can set EV for different brightness when shooting in bright backgrounds. Also I have the option of doing a custom white balance, and that with the lcd or VF2, if I do not have a white balance card, you can see a live preview of when setting it with the scale. What every you do, you can do a live preview before you take the shot. That is a big plus.

There are some very nice option built into the camera, you can not only do a 3 shot bracket in exposure, but also in white balance, iso and flash. Very useful at times. I can also set up for a 2 shot multi-exposure. It is neat to play around with. And you can set up for a panorama stitching on the computer, as there is a nice panoramic function that helps you set up the multiple shot that you want to stitch together for a panorama. It help you line up the different shot, so it is easier to process and stitch.

For someone that is looking to move up form a pure point and shoot and thinking about a bridge camera. The EPL-1 would be a great camera to consider. It will actually give you more control and growth then any bridge camera, and still have an excellent menu system and 6 art filters that allow you to set up your shots if you are unsure of the setting. When you feel more comfortable but still do not want to go to full control, the iauto mode gives you a visual scale slider with different aspects that you may want to change. It works pretty nicely. And you get a live preview before shooting agin.

With the lens, the kit 14-42 is very quite, and compact. It does not have a metal mounting plate like the one that is on the ep-1 and ep-2 but it is optically identical, and saves some weigh. And since you can lock the lens down, you make it more compact when not in uses. It is simple to operated. And if you use MF, the focus ring is easy to use. Olympus correct for lens distortion in the body, so your end product out the camera is excellent with.

I added some additional items to my kit. First was the olympus mmf1 adapter so that I could add a macro lens form olympus's 4/3 dslr. The 35mm 3.5 macro. I also wanted to add a bit more reach for the camera, so I went with the panasonic 45-200mm, as the new 42-150mm would be just a bet to short for my taste, and the micro 4/3 version is not out yet. And the final item I added was the VF2, a must have when using a longer zoom. It makes composing photos allot easier.

I tested out the macro first as I enjoy macro photography. The MMF1 adapter with the 35mm macro is a nice compact setup that keeps the camera compact. It is also a fantastic macro lens, letting you get true 1:1 macro when using a tripod.

The panasonic lens with the epl-1 works great. Instead of 3 IS modes, now I have 4 with the lens IS system. The lenses focus very fast and quietly on the epl1 and acutely. But you will really want to use the VF2, as it is a bit hard to compose the photo at the longer zoom range having you arms in front of you and keeping the camera steady.

The IS system works great on the EPL-1, you have 3 modes to choose from. Two axis mode that works horizontally and vertically, then just vertical, and horizontal. It help allot is lower light condition with the kit lens when you are at a slower shutter speed. It greatly increase of photo worth keeping vs no IS at all. Also on the longer zoom lens, IS will really help steady the shot. The inbody IS that olympus has in the EPL-1 is very good, and it give you IS no matter what lens you have. It is just a step behind a lens base IS system, maybe 1/3 stop of performance between the inbody and the lens IS of the panasonic lens. So it a wonder feature, that works great.

The low light of the EPL-1 is really great for a mirco 4/3 camera. It has a usable ISO of up to 3200. Yes there is some noise at 3200, but not as bad as older 4/3 format cameras. Since Olympus soften the AA filter level, you can control the noise allot better with the noise filter and still have good detail without having your details clip by the noise filter. For me, when using 2500 and 3200 iso, using a standard noise filter still gives a decent image. At 800-1600iso, the low noise filter setting works really well. Below 800 low or off gives you the best results. But if you really want to get rid of the noise, you can use high, but it does clip out details. The EPL-1 will have better low light then any bridge camera, but do not expect it to perform line a dslr with 12800iso.

For a non DSLR, the AF system is quite good, and no shutter lag issue like a point and shoot. The C-AF works well but not at DSLR level. If you are shooting action, the continuous tracking feature is nice. And it will give you some nice action shot results. The burst rate is quite good on the epl-1 match with a class 6 sdhc card. You can go about 5 second at 3 fps before running into buffer lag.

The EPL1 takes very nice 720 HD video, it image is clear and crisp. The internal mic is ok, but it would be worth getting the external mic if you do more HD video. It was nice that you can shoot the video with the different art filters giving you a different twist to shooting video. The instant video mode by press the orange button will make it easy so you will not miss those surprise moments.

The cons of the epl-1. The lcd is not as good as the one on the ep1 and ep2. When shooting indoor and low light and higher iso, the image show yellow distortion, but when you transfer the photo to the computer, there is no evident of this. The 2.7 lcd could be better.

My biggest complaint is olympus should have included the VF2 in a kit. DSLR user preference I guess.

Conclusion and verdict of the EPL-1 is that is is a very capable camera. That has appeal for everyone form the dslr user looking for a compact solution. Or the point and shoot user looking to move up with more control. For the DSLR user, just remember that this is not a DSLR and you will not be disappointed.

Image quality is great, as the jpeg are excellent coming out of the camera, need next to no editing afterward. The jpeg processing in the camera does a fantastic job. It also gives you raw also is you are a RAW shooter.

So if you are looking for great travel camera, the EPL1 should be on your short list. It is really worth giving it a serious look at your camera shop.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW! BEST OF BOTH WORLDS...GREAT IDEA!
By SIXVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 3/26/2010
Pros:
AWESOME QUALITY, Good Image Stabilization, Great Zoom, Perfect size, Short Lag Time
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

This is the best of SLR quality AND HIGH DEF Video!
Carry this with me everywhere I go and I get asked "WHAT IS THAT" about 5 times a week it seems.
GREAT form factor and the quality is better than my Canon G series BY FAR! I really think this is the wave of the future - wish Olympus has better marketing - NO ONE KNOWS ABOUT THIS PRODUCT!

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
e-pl1 rocks! \m/
By pixelocoVerified Reviewer from irvine, ca on 3/26/2010
Pros:
Good Image Stabilization, Good in Low Light, Great Zoom, Nice Body Color, Short Lag Time
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

lovin' my e-pl1. it's very hi-tech yet so easy to use. what a wonderful piece of technology.

Images shared by: pixeloco

taken with e-pl1, 14-42mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
awesome camera
By atlpitchVerified Reviewer from atlanta, ga on 3/21/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Large Clear LCD, Nice Body Color, Small / Compact
Cons:
No Viewfinder
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus Olympus E-PL1 PEN Digital Camera w/14-42mm Lens (Black):

Really the best of everything for someone who doesn't want to lug around a big camera and lots of accessories. It's an incredibly powerful camera in a manageable size.

The image quality is great, it's compact and comfortable and the hd video is a great bonus.

For the money, I don't think anything out there can compete.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.