Buy the D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens image
 
(based on 59 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Featured Digital Cameras and Electronics
Building on the extraordinary success of the D70 and D70s, Nikon introduces the new D80 Digital SLR camera -- an impressively featured, high performance camera that incorporates Nikon's latest digital and photographic technologies, and offers advanced features as well as automated operation to satisfy any photographer with the passion to create beautiful photographs and preserve special moments. With a new 10.2 effective megapixel DX Format CCD image sensor and an exclusive high-resolution color processing engine inherited from Nikon's latest professional digital SLR cameras, the D80 can render images with incredible resolution, sharp detail and vibrant color that is unmatched in this class of cameras. And it can shoot these images fast - at speeds of up to 3 frames per second, for up to 100 consecutive shots (in JPEG Normal mode), ensuring that the camera's always ready for the next fleeting moment. Paired with the 18-55MM f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor Lens providing an 18-55mm focal length range, the lens can be conveniently used to photograph everything from wide angle landscapes to portraits and is well suited for use at parties, on vacation, and other occasions.
  • 10.2 Megapixel Nikon DX Format CCD Imaging Sensor
  • New High-resolution Nikon image-processing engine
  • Instant 0.18 sec. start-up with fast 80ms shutter response
  • Continuous shooting at up to 3 frames per second and up to 100 consecutive JPEG images
  • Up to 2,700 images per battery charge
  • Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II, plus Variable Center-Weighted and Spot Metering
  • In-Camera Image Retouching
  • Built-in Speedlight with Nikon i-TTL flash metering and two-group Wireless Commander
  • 2.5-inch LCD color monitor with 170 degree wide-angle viewing
  • 11-area AF system with Wide-area Center Segment and Auto-area AF functions
  • Seven Digital Vari-Programs plus Programmed Auto with Flexible Program, Shutter-Priority Auto, Shutter-Priority Auto and Manual
  • Image Optimization Functions
  • Large, bright 0.94x viewfinder
  • Built-in Slideshow function with Pictmotion
The D80 works with the efficiency and grace of a fine-tuned instrument, powering up in only 0.18 seconds and capturing a picture with an imperceptible shutter lag time of just 80 milliseconds (0.08 seconds). A new 11-area auto- focus system detects focus with superb precision and can even track a moving subject across the frame, shifting focus instantly and automatically to any of the 11 auto-focus points that detect the subject. The D80's large, bright 0.94x viewfinder affords a remarkable view not found in many digital SLRs, making critical composition easier and more pleasing. The camera's rechargeable battery can last up to 2700 shots on a single charge, while also providing a real-time Fuel Gauge of the percentage of charge remaining in the battery at all times. And like all Nikon digital SLR cameras, the D80 feels solid and substantial while being both compact and comfortable. But more experienced photo enthusiasts will admire the D80 most for its bevy of creative controls and features that make photography with the camera so much more enjoyable and rewarding. Its new Optimize image menu, for instance, offers complete control over the look and feel of your pictures, allowing you to boost saturation and create pictures with vivid color, or shoot black-and- white pictures with a choice of four filtration effects, or even create your own custom look that expresses personal style and creativity. Other creative tools include an all-new image Retouch menu for in-camera image editing, built-in i-TTL flash control with the ability to control up to two remote groups of Speedlights, as well as over 32 Custom settings to customize several attributes of the camera's performance.

Unrivaled Image Quality - At the heart of any digital camera lies its image processing engine - a sophisticated processor that determines, among other things, the overall color rendering and image quality of pictures taken with the camera. One of the key advances developed for the D80 is Nikon's own high-resolution image processing engine that inherits best-of-breed technologies from Nikon's latest professional digital SLR cameras, including color independent analog pre- conditioning and high-precision 12-bit digital image processing algorithms, which combine to produce natural-looking images that benefit from faithful color and tone reproduction. A new dedicated high-performance processing chip greatly accelerates performance on all levels, while also achieving lower power consumption, assuring more pictures per battery charge.

The D80 also benefits from Nikon's exclusive 3D Color Matrix Metering II, to ensure accurate exposures, even in the most challenging lighting conditions. Evaluating, rather than merely measuring or averaging the true content of each scene, input from the system's frame-wide 420-pixel sensor is automatically referenced against an onboard database of over 30,000 scenes from actual photography to calculate final exposure value. Variable Center- Weighted metering and Spot metering centered on the active focus area are also available, as are exposure compensation and auto exposure bracketing. Sophisticated exposure automation combined with options for complete user control help to make the D80 an ideal high-performance digital SLR for passionate photography enthusiasts.

Speed to Burn - One of the hallmarks of Nikon's digital SLR cameras is how fast they operate, not only when capturing images, but also when processing them. The D80 proudly carries this tradition forward. Not only is the camera powered up and ready to shoot in only 0.18 seconds, it also reacts at blazing speeds when the shutter button is pressed. With a minimal shutter lag time of just 80 milliseconds (0.08 seconds), and the ability to shoot 3 frames per second up to 100 consecutive shots (in JPEG Normal mode), the camera is ready to shoot whenever that priceless expression or special moment presents itself. Images shot are processed instantly and recorded rapidly to the inserted SD memory card. Preview images are also displayed near instantly.

The D80's new 11-area auto-focus system also fulfills its role in the overall speed of the camera, delivering fast and precise focus under varying shooting conditions. Adopting a refined version of Nikon's advanced Multi-CAM 1000 AF Sensor Module, this new 11-area AF system with center area wide-frame operation adds effective new focusing options that will instill greater confidence in getting the desired shot. An all-new Auto-Area AF mode measures all eleven focus areas and automatically determines which of them are on the primary subject.

Creativity Comes Standard - The Nikon D80 is designed to inspire creativity at every level. For this reason, the camera includes a wide assortment of features and tools to empower all kinds of users, ranging from the novice to the seasoned pro, to pursue their creative vision, instantly and right from within the camera.

D80 photographers will enjoy the camera's built-in Multiple Exposure mode for unique composite image effects, or the Optimize menu options that closely tailor results to the scene at hand or the intended use of an image or to a custom preference of the photographer. Optimization of sharpening, tone (contrast), color, saturation and hue is controlled by the user-selected choice of Normal, Softer, Vivid, More Vivid, Portrait, Custom and Black-and- White. The black-and-white mode can be customized using red, green, yellow and orange filter effects as well as image sharpening and tone compensation.

The D80 also features an all-new image Retouch menu, with exclusive in- camera editing functions that will certainly keep D80 users engaged when they're not busy shooting. Options within the Retouch menu include:
- D-Lighting: Automatically balances underexposed portions of an image to enhance detail in these areas, without affecting the highlights of the picture.
- In-camera Red-eye Correction: Automatically removes the annoying red-eye effect sometimes caused by flash.
- Trim: Images can be trimmed within the camera to produce smaller files with reduced display sizes for easy sharing or greater efficiency for specific end purposes.
- Image Overlay: Merges a pair of selected RAW files taken with the D80 to create a composite image within the camera as a RAW or JPEG file. This feature is especially useful when trying to create a soft-focus effect with two similar images.
- Monochrome settings: Monochrome settings can be applied to any color image in the camera, to convert it to a pleasing monochromatic picture, either in black-and-white, sepia or cyanotype.
- Filter Effects: Can be used to emulate and apply the effects of a Skylight filter or a Warming filter to any image stored on the inserted SD card. A Customized Color menu within filter effects can also be used to make subtle shifts in color to any image in the camera.

For anyone just beginning to enjoy the added performance and versatility of digital SLR photography, creative shooting is as simple as rotating the Digital Vari-Program mode dial on the camera. The D80 has seven preconfigured program modes to optimize the camera for specific shooting conditions and greatly increase the chances of taking a great photograph. In Portrait Mode, for example, the camera automatically optimizes the color, hue, and saturation levels to capture the most flattering skin tones, softens the focus of the background images to emphasize the face and applies a milder form of in-camera sharpening. Users can choose from Auto, Portrait, Landscape, Close- Up, Sports, Night Landscape or Night Portrait.

The D80 also offers creative ways to share pictures, with its built-in Pictmotion slideshow feature, which includes style selections that control transitions and background music. Shows can be enjoyed on the 2.5-inch LCD, or complete with audio on a television when connected via the supplied AV cable.

Creature Comfort - The D80 features refined ergonomics and design, borne from Nikon's extensive experience designing successful SLR cameras for over 50 years. As a result, the camera is incredibly comfortable to use and handle, and incorporates several new features that enhance its usability. The D80 features a large and bright viewfinder with large 0.94x magnification to ensure the clearest view possible for precise composition. Included is a built-in diopter adjustment control knob that also makes it easier to fine- tune the view to match eyesight. The viewfinder's integrated grid display can also be turned on to assist with composition.

A large new 2.5-inch 230,000-dot high-resolution LCD provides an ultra- wide 170-degree viewing angle from all directions. Navigating the spacious preview of your images is easy with a new dedicated Zoom button, magnifying images on screen up to 25 times their original size. A new RGB histogram display aids in evaluating exposures with greater precision. Other playback options include single frame, 4 or 9-image thumbnail display, an improved histogram display and highlight point display. A new menu interface featuring refinements to the carefully chosen color scheme and increased font size makes navigation easier on the eye, easier to understand and easier to use. Menus can be customized to display only selected items using the new My Menu set.

The D80 is slimmer and more compact than its predecessors, and remains true to Nikon's commitment to intuitive operation. The size, layout and operation of all buttons and controls are designed for maximum ease of use.

System Strength - With the D80, users also have complete and seamless compatibility with Nikon's extensive Total Digital Imaging System, and the camera is designed to take advantage of many of the technologies built into Nikon accessories. The D80's powerful built-in Speedlight is compatible with Nikon's Creative Lighting System, and can wirelessly control up to two groups of Speedlights in full TTL mode, taking the guesswork out of multiple flash photography. Compatible Speedlights within the Creative Lighting System include the SB-800, SB-600 and Nikon's Wireless Close-up Speedlight Systems, featuring the SB- R200.

The D80 also offers unprecedented compatibility with Nikon's extensive selection of AF Nikkor lenses as well as new DX Nikkor lenses, which are designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX format digital SLR cameras. Nikkor lenses, famous for optical superiority, add to the D80's ability to deliver outstanding images.

The D80 will also have an optional MB-D80 battery pack available, extending the shooting capability in an ergonomic design that adds shooting stability. Able to run on either one or two EN-EL3e rechargeable batteries or six AA-size batteries, the pack also features an additional command dial and alternative buttons for shutter release and AE-Lock/AF-Lock that make vertical shooting more comfortable.

The D80 is also fully compatible with Capture NX software (available for purchase separately), Nikon's highly versatile and elegantly simple new photo editing solution designed to help photographers tap the full potential of NEF (RAW) images. Featuring an innovative user interface that provides easier access to powerful and visually intuitive enhancement tools, Capture NX's powerful photo image processing and editing tools can also be applied to JPEG and TIFF files to satisfy a broader range of photofinishing needs and applications.

AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED

The AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED is a versatile zoom lens created for a broad range of consumers ranging from occasional weekend snap-shooters to the avid photo enthusiast. It is an ultra-compact, lightweight standard zoom lens with a 3x zoom range that is ideal for everyday photography. With a popular 18-55mm focal length range, the lens can be conveniently used to photograph everything from wide angle landscapes to portraits and is well suited for use at parties, on vacation, and other occasions.

  • Ideal as a normal lens designed exclusively for Nikon DX format SLRs, this ultra-compact 18-55mm 3X zoom provides superb versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.
  • New compact rod-type Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-high speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and super-quiet operation.
  • ED glass element achieves minimized chromatic aberration and superior optical performance.
  • Hybrid aspherical element ensures high resolution and contrast.
  • Focus Mode switch enables quick-switching between A (Autofocus) and M (Manual Focus).
  • 7-blade rounded diaphragm for more natural out-of-focus highlights.
  • Nikon Super Integrated Coating minimizes ghosting and flare to provide even higher contrast and more vivid images, even in challenging light conditions.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 59 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate colors(27), Easy to use(8), Great picture quality(4), Great resolution(30), Large clear LCD(26)
Cons:
None i can find(4)
Best Uses:
Art(19), Documentary(10), Everyday(27), Fun(25), Low light(17)
Describe Yourself:
Beginner(7), Casual user(10), Enthusiast(42), Professional(8)
 
great for general purpose
By doedaysVerified Purchaser from Carrollton, GA on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Great general purpose lens

 
Awesome!
By obi1jacobiVerified Reviewer from Watauga, TN. on 12/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I have been saving for a year for a digital SLR and I am exteremely satisfied with my purchase of the D80. This camera is easy to use and the functions are easy to understand. In auto mode it is hard to take a poor photo. With all of its settingsa and versitility, you can be as creative as you like. I have used it indoors for family portraits, outdoors for landscapes and artistic macro shots, as well as action shots from my dogs. It captures moving subjects as clear as a bell and has very fast processor allowing for that perfect action shot. Its menu and features are easy to understand and navigate allowing you to capture the moment as crisply and creatively as you please. It is very comfortable to hold and has a sturdy feel to it. The lenses work quietly, smoothly, and quickly allowing you to zoom in or pan out effortlessly and produce beatiful photos. Battery life is excellent so you can click away capturing over 500 shots on one battery, I took it out all day and was playing with all of the functions and there was still battery life remaining when I was done. It's color exposure is phenominal producing beautiful warm landscape photos whether it be suuny or cloudy. I like to use the SB-600 flash for cleaner more filling flash. It si an outstanding piece of equipment.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The D-80 is one of my Best Friends!
By Sandy from the mountainsVerified Reviewer from Drake, Colorado on 4/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Focus, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Very Fast Shutter, Very Little Camera Shake
Cons:
Shutter sound
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

The D-80 has become my best friend! I live in the mountains of Colorado and photograph wildlife everyday. It's just my hobby, but since using the D-80, I've won two local photo contest. Its fast focus is great as wild animals don't stay still very long. Add a zoom and it the best ever. My only complaint is that I wish the shutter click was just a little quieter, because the animals can hear it, but I'm not sure that request would be possible with any camera. I would recommend this camera to anyone. . . beginners, hobbyist, professionals or my best friend. Thanks Nikon for this awesome product.

Images shared by: Sandy from the mountains

Big Horn Ram-Colorado

Image Thumbnail

Tags: D-80-Nikkor 70-300 zoom, Made with Product, Using Product

Dancing in the snow

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really awesome & really sharp photos
By Bobby Wolf from Pottstown PA on 3/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Resolution, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism, Professional work, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I love it. The ones that I work with all have D70s soon as the saw my D80 they got hooked on it that's. Really sharp for Jpg with a D70s you would have to shoot raw to get the photos that sharp. If you saw how sharp your photos come out with a 6.1MP D70s in raw. Wait until you see how you photos come out in raw with a 10.2MP D80 & it's really good for shooting photos to sale at a show. That's how everyone says how I really improved alot because I sell my work at shows that I do.

Images shared by: Bobby Wolf

one of my good flower shots

Image Thumbnail

what I call picture perfect

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product
By crystal from Rhode Island on 2/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Great color and quality. Keeps it color and details even with enlargements.

 
Love at First Photo!!!
By Abby S~Verified Reviewer from Des Moines, Iowa on 2/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I upgraded from the Nikon D50 and I absolutely love this camera. I am going to school for Photography and another student has the camera and I fell in LOVE with it after I used it once!!! It is a must have especially for the price!! It's a professional camera and the novice price!! I would recommend this to a friend a hundred times over!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for beginners into Digital SLR
By DivemanVerified Reviewer from Joliet, IL on 2/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

This camera takes beautiful pictures. I am just relearning how to use aperature, film speed(ISO), and shutter speed, all over again. This camera does it all. There are so many features it is going to be fun trying combinations of these features to get a variety of pics. For beginners its great because the AUTO features allow me to take great pics on the fly without knowing how to use aperture, shutter speed, and ISO properly at a moments notice for that great shot. I'm looking forward to experimenting. I plan on using this camera to take great photos and portraits of my son who is now 7 mths old. If I can take great portraits it will pay for itself by not going to professionals and I'll hopefully learn better lighting techniques and become a proficient photographer.
If your new or looking to upgrade from lower end cameras, this is the perfect camera. From other reviews I've read, even some pros carry this camera.

 
D80 is just a solid all around wonder.
By BJVerified Reviewer from Texas on 1/23/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Use the camera for weddings, sporting events, nature shoots, and portraits. Auto pilot works great, and the intuitive mode dials cover most situations.

Images shared by: BJ

Sample photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT
By Camera Bug from Edwardsville, IL on 12/29/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Love the large screen, Quiet
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Fun, High School Sports
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I use the camera to take photos for friends and family....fantastic photos. Proud to be able to take such great photos to share.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By BrettVerified Reviewer from Yucca Valley, CA on 12/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Just about anything
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I have used almost every major brand of 35mm camera and several digital ones. The D80 is stable as a hand held, easy to configure in manual mode, and the point and shoot feature makes this a good camera no matter what your experience level. [...]

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Check it out for yourself
By T Shea from Houston, TX on 12/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

If you are an amature photographer or a well seasoned one, this camera is a must either as the main camera or a back-up.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best camera ever!!
By Shutterbug from Oak View, CA on 12/3/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Perfect right out of box
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I've received nothing but compliments on my photographs taken with my D80. My wife use to be intimidated by these "big" cameras, but now I can't take it away from her.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
wow was I impressed
By milkVerified Reviewer from Charleston Sc on 11/24/2007
Pros:
you name it,it has it
Cons:
I found none
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I wanted great photos of my grands, however I also take lots of wildllife photos, sometimes point and shoot just didn't do what I wanted. But my expectations were not let down with the D80. Fun to use and quality photos. Everyone in my family loves to use it.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
awsome
By Bobby from Chino, California on 11/15/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Sportsaction, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

three months since I bought the D80 and have not put it down...I am having the time of my life taking incredible pictures. I have been taking pictures at my sons football games after other parents have seen my shoots they are asking me to please take pictures of their kids....great camera

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
great starter camera for the enthusiast!
By Curt the Clicker from Cedar City, UT on 11/7/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use and learn, Quick lens change, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, SD Media instead of CF
Best Uses:
Architectural, Art, Fun, People, Scenic, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Amature, First-time DSLR Owner, First time nikon buyer, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Traveler
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I have been very impressed with the camera from day one (about a year ago). I have taken everything from great action shots to wedding photos to the more artistic end of the spectrum. My wife and I took it on our trip to Europe and all of my pictures have made my friends very jealous. I attribute at least 75% of the photos to the camera since I still have a lot to learn about photography. Just because you buy a great camera doesn't mean you'll take great pictures, but it does help when the camera is easy to use and learn. Nikon did a great job with this one. It is affordable and a great way to start out.

Images shared by: Curt the Clicker

lil' cowgirl

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

california beach

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this
By AmandaVerified Reviewer from Wasilla, AK on 9/24/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy to use, Strong Construction
Cons:
Cant view through LCD, Heavy, Loud, Need software for RAW
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits, Professional work
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Even though it has a few mishaps, I LOVE this camera and plan on using it for my future studio work.

Images shared by: Amanda

Mountain

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Takes it as you see it, Made with Product

Sunset

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Exact color, Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love the D80
By Nick from Richmond, VA on 9/17/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

This is a great camera for all types of pohotographers. I have taken so many great pictures with this camera and once you've learned how to better use it, it offers alot more than a D40, 50 or 70 will allow.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera!
By KevinVerified Reviewer from Ft.Worth Texas on 8/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, USER FRIENDLY
Cons:
Complex user manual
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I bought this camera to take pictures of Pebble Beach....I couldn't have made a better decision.

Images shared by: Kevin

The Harley

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By bp37naVerified Reviewer from columbiana,oh on 7/29/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

A very good camera for the price wether your a pro or a normal joe.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I did the research for you, get a D80!
By Steve-O-rino from Rancho Cucamonga, CA on 7/18/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I just got my D80...after many days of stressful research it came down to the D40, D40x and D80...I played with all 3 at a local [...] and I quickly realized if you want a TRUE DSLR camera that you can grow with and has ALL the features for someone exploring photography than a D80 has the goods...I'm hoping I can begin learning more and start a collection of lenses that I can one day move to a more advanced camera...but with a D80 an advanced camera with my experience level will be in the distant future...nevertheless this camera is small, light and quick enough to always deem its use! Best decision I made with ANY electronics in a long time!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
DAY ONE and Loving it!!
By AmiSueVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 7/11/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I just pulled it out of the box, charged the battery (which took about an hour 1/2), and I LOVE IT. I gave it a 5 because so far I have found no issues. IT does want I want and that is speed.
I was using the Nikon 5700, and the menus and buttons are similar. So far it is very fast and the pictures I took were great. I upgraded the camera for speed so I could capture all the smiles my newborn makes!
I do recommend a fast memory card. It helps the camera, and makes it soooo much faster to download or view on the computer.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
D80 is an excellent digital SLR
By PhotographybuffVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 7/8/2007
Pros:
Excellent image quality, Fast shot to shot time, Great battery life, Great Ergonomics, Nikon Lenses, Quick start up, Strong Construction
Cons:
3 fps limit, 6 shot RAW limit
Best Uses:
Aviation, Event, Family, Fun, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Enthusiast, Semi-professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Great upgrade from a D50 or D70/D70s. Cost effective alternative to a D200 for beginning pros who need to save money in order to purchase lenses and flash as well.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't Settle For Less!
By Tigress0350Verified Reviewer from Pittsburgh on 6/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

If you want to take good Photos...you need this camera...I got mine as a gift and haven't put it down yet. It is easy to understand and use...produces great quality photos...the display is the best I've seen...you can tell if you have the shot! Great camera...for beginner to expert!

Images shared by: Tigress0350

Check out the detail!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By ClickyVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia, PA on 6/16/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Cons:
Settings complex
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Well made and a great buy for the price. Better for a person who wants to take the time to learn about slr cameras and photography rather than easy point and shoot snap shot use. Lots of versiltility in the settings and great control of the exposure. A top buy.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Camera
By Jami the JokerVerified Reviewer from Van Buren, AR on 6/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I love it. I would recommend it to everyone!

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
The D80 is the cream of the crop
By LennyVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 5/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to learn, Easy to use, Great instruction book, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Dust is a major problem
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Nature, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, prosumer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

With the exception of the nagging dust problem, this camera is perfect. The controls are not just in the 'right' places; you can move them around as needed! My hands hurt from gripping objects too long but the D80 makes handling itself so easy there's no issues for me at all. The camera literally fits well in my large hands. For the money, there's NOTHING better. Period.

Images shared by: Lenny

Caples Lake, 8500+ feet in the Sierra Nevadas

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

a dragonfly WITHOUT macro!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Could Not Ask For Anything Better
By SunnyVerified Reviewer from Guntersville, Al on 5/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I recently changed from a Sony to the D80 and I could not be anymore happier

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Falling in Love with pictures
By RaeVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City on 5/20/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quick Focus, Quiet, Very user friendly, Zoom
Best Uses:
Art, Family Photos, Fun, Gifts, Scrapbooking, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I have a son who is 18 months and I want to capture his numerous expressions from whiny to a simple smile and all that's in between. I have been able to just point and shoot; the best part is I have the controls to change each picture as I wish. I'd say if this camera was not easy to use, I wouldn't go near it. Simply a beautiful Mother's Day gift!

 
Great camera!
By Vic007Verified Reviewer from Upstate New-York on 3/25/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family/Hobby
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Great camera! Picture quality outstanding. Easy to use controls, long batterie life, large bright LCD.... Very happy!

Images shared by: Vic007

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Expensive but WELL worth it!
By MarVerified Reviewer from Bakersfield, Ca. on 3/23/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Great resolution, Professional quality, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Wonderful color
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

This camera has been the best digital I have ever used. Besides the comfort of the camera itself, the colors are fantastic. The resolution is so very clear even when editing pictures from across the field. I couldn't have asked for anything better in a digital. I LOVE THIS CAMERA!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
POWERFUL
By vonchuckVerified Reviewer from brick NJ on 3/15/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

recently upgraded from a Nikon D70 to the D80 and I am very very happy with it.You get much more camera for the money The Nikon D80 is perfect for those wanting a more advanced camera then the D70 or D70s you get alot of the same features as the D200 for less.

Images shared by: vonchuck

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Beautiful photos.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
! Best Nikon Yet (non-professional) !
By jackVerified Reviewer from Central Point, OR 97502 on 3/4/2007
Describe Yourself:
40 years of it, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Contiguous learning curve, Do things you cant do bef, Great Resolution, Lights where its focusing, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Nice to have GPS capabili, Water proof or resistance
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Low price, excellent everything, amazing internal editing, as a computer programmer & photog I keep finding things I couldn't do before (especially with the sb800) I believe you are limited only by your mind (which is quite limiting to some!) I love it, incredible stepup from the D70

 
Great DSLR
By WynnVerified Reviewer from New York on 2/20/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Nikon hit a home run with the D80. Excellent value and great features. The D80 is the camera that got me to switch to digital from silver based photography. It's features and 10mp capture make it the right choice for almost every assignment. Although I still shoot film, occasionally, most of my work is now exclusively digital.

 
Easy to use accurate color!
By GP Cameraguy from SLC, UT on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Light weight, Gasy to use, good value!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to use, versitile and great battery
By JoeVerified Reviewer from Douglassville Pa on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls, Simple to get started, Time to master everything
Cons:
Need additional software, To use raw images
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Very Nice Camera, IT took a lot to replace my old friend, Cannon AE-1 programable, that I have had with me since bootcamp in 1983, but this camera did the trick. Only draw back is the need to buy additional software to minipulate raw images.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ultra Fast and Easy to Use
By Democrat Dave from Bushnell, IL on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Flash Sync
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Far exceeded my expectations on picture quality and clarity. Love the feel of the camera in hand. Ultra fast memory storage. Extra long battery usage. Flash sync at 1/200 is ample but, 1/500 like the D70 would have been much better. Don't let "too many menu's" scare you, it's wonderful to have all the options. Only draw back (and NOT specific to the D80)is I would like to see someone come out with an secondary hotshoe on the side for vertical shots. As a professional user, I love the camera in the "all manual" mode, but my wife loves it too in full auto, as a point-n-shoot. You gotta have one!

 
Believe what you read
By horsemamaVerified Reviewer from houston, tx on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

It does so much more than I yet know how to use! Very comfortable and great quality photo.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great camera...well worth the money!
By Big CountryVerified Reviewer from East Anglia UK on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, IntuitiveUseful Menus, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

This is our first DSLR, but we've had several P&S as well as a Nikon N80 FSLR. With a little research and self education we have been able to capture some great family and travel photos. This camera will certainly work great if just leave it on the auto setting, but its worth the time and effort to use the camera as the semi-pro tool it is. We already had the SB800 from our FSLR and it works brilliantly with the D80. We plan to get the 18-200 and possibly a super wide angle to complete the kit. We could not be happier with this purchase. Thanks Nikon and Wolf Camera!

Images shared by: Big Country

Pisa Italy 07

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Florence, Italy 2007

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great photos, thanks

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beautiful piece of technology
By The WhipVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Fast on fast to click, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Slow to focus
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I have had the D80 for two months and have taken over 5000 pix. I bought this camera to replace both a digital Point&Shoot and a film SLR. It does both very well. It is so much faster to take a pic than the P&S that I once again no longer miss important shots. My only gripe is that the camera is slow to focus on featureless objects.

 
Magnificent camera
By JSVerified Reviewer from Longview, Texas on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Lens change quick easy, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Large camera
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Superb product and one more reason I have become a Nikon enthusiast in the past 10 years. In camera conversion to B&W and sepia is simple and beautiful

Images shared by: JS

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the photo. Very nice!
 
I love this camera
By Big BobVerified Reviewer from Lake Oswego, OR on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, A great value, Ease of handling, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls, Speed of operation
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I upgraded from the D50 because I needed higher resulotion for stock photography. Battery life is great too. I was going to buy the D200 but I am glad I waited because I could now afford the SB800 and a wide angle (11-18mm) zoom too. I have been using this camera since late August and have no complaints

Images shared by: Big Bob

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Nice photos

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Camera
By TJ from Colwater, Michigan on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I've owned many 35mm SLR's, this is by far the best I've ever used.

 
Great Camera to own!!!
By adanceteachVerified Reviewer from Port Allen, LA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I bought this camera in November. I absolutely LOVE it!!! It's my first DSLR and it is easy to use, great images, perfect for what I need it for!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Anyone can be a pro
By PBoVerified Reviewer from Georgia on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

This camera takes the work out of great pictures. I get stunning results with little effort.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very impressed
By rbhickson99Verified Reviewer from Bonney lake, WA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

We found this camera to be very easy to use. It takes excellent pictures, even for a novice. We used it on our cruise and took amazing pictures. THe only drawback is that you can take to many! We took over 800 pictures without realizing it. I would recommend upgrading to the 2GB memory card so you don't have to download as often. The files are large, so a small card will not be usefull.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera with only a few drawbacks
By JackVerified Reviewer from Northern Virginia on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Incompatable with D70
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

This camera is a great camera. The screens and options allow you to be as complex or simple as you want to be. It is lightweight but not cheaply made. I recommend this camera for those folks who want a bit more control and flexibility than you get with the point and click cameras.

The only issue I have is that Nikon decided to use a different flash memory than the D70 and different battery than D70 so that I can not share these items that frankly, should be interchangeable.

Images shared by: Jack

Racing sailboat on the Potomac River

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great Photo.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product!!!
By jmcginnisVerified Reviewer from Burbank, CA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I love this camera. It takes great pictures and I love the in camera editing controls. It is a lot lighter than the D70 and has a bigger LCD screen. It is just great!!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon D80 SLR Digital Camera
By Pablo the LionVerified Reviewer from Texas on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Ease of use, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Shutter Lag, Value
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Nikon has done an excellent job with this camera which is good for the professional or the advanced amateur. The Nikon D80 is the perfect camera for capturing all those important moments in life. At a price tag of over a grand, this camera is worth every penny. images are very sharp. response speed was good. loved the colours it produces. big and sharp LCD screen helps a lot. I didn't regret it a moment. a great bargain for the money paid. basically got most of the high end features of a D200 at half (?) the price. D50 didn't cut it for me because I wanted a camera that will last me at least 4-5 years, with enough features for me to explore and grow with. Now if I can just afford some more lens like maybe something around the 2000mm size, life would be good.

Images shared by: Pablo the Lion

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thansk for the images.
 
Great camera, great images!
By JWVerified Reviewer from South Dakota on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

You can try, but it will be hard to get a bad image. The D80 is feature packed. More than I'll use. Exposures are super. A hard camera to fool while in an auto exposure mode. Does a good job of knowing what you want properly exposed and in focus. 18-55 lense gives good images but not handy in manual focus. Focus ring is out front and too narrow. A good get-by lense till you can find or afford better. Certainly a good lense for the money though. 5 stars for the body, 3 for the lense.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
D80 is awesome
By JT from Lenox, MA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Bright LCD Screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I got this camera as a surprise gift. It has lived up completely to my expectations. I cannot seem to make a mistake. The camera is superior to anything I have ever had. I have another Nikon SLR 35mm and this is much better. The LCD screen is bright, the cycle time is great, autofocus is quick and the built-in speedlight is super. I wish they would have included the wireless remote in the package as I like that for family photos. It was a little pricey, but I am so happy with it. My friends are envious.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By Suzanne's PortraitsVerified Reviewer from Austin, Texas on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Transfers a little dark
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

This is by far the best digital SLR I have owned. It's still not quite as fast as my film SLR when shooting single frame setting but they are getting better with every camera. Some of my indoor portraits seem a little dark and I had to lighten them somewhat when I used the auto setting. But overall it is an awsome camera for the price compared to the D200. The only difference I could find was the D200 took more frames per second when shooting multiples at once. It's easy to navigate the controls which I appreciate. You don't need a course to use it.

 
Easy to use
By Lori from St. Louis, MO on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I love this camera. Even though I am fairly new at the DSL camera, I find that this one is easy to use. When it is set on AUTO you really can't take a bad picture.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Professional Qualit at a novice price
By BJDigiPhoto.comVerified Reviewer from Lake Stevens WA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

This is by far one of the best cameras I've owned. As you may read from other reviews here (or anywhere for that matter) you'd be hard pressed to find much of anything bad to say about this camera.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding DSLR
By ncnikonguy from Wilmington NC on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Fast start up, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
No negatives at all
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Superb camera for all use, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

If I could compare the Nikon D80 to a musical group, the D80 is the Beatles, superb DSLR in every aspect, easy to learn and use, gives crystal clear images, packed with features, Nikon has hit a home run with the D80

Images shared by: ncnikonguy

carolina sunset--

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

US Airways jet landing

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Excellent photos...thank you.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Midrange DSLR
By StuartVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 12/23/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I've owned quite a few film SLRs and finally decided to get a DSLR. After alot of research I chose the D80.

I've had the camera for about a month and have found it very easy to use. Excellent image quality in every situation. Extremely fast, just turn it on and it's ready to go, no lag. I purchased the D80 with both the Nikkor 18-55mm DX & 55-200mm DX lenses and am very pleased with the quality of images taken with both.

I use Photoshop CS2 and they support the Nikon RAW "NEF" file format, with the latest Camera Raw 3.6 plugin. The bundled Picture Project software is sufficient for viewing, but I'd recommend Photoshop or Nikon's Capture NX for real image editing/processing.

The built in PictBridge support is nice, as you can edit the image in camera and print directly to supported printers. No need for a PC if you just want to get some prints fast.

Overall, I'm very happy with the camera and lenses. For less than the cost of the Pro series (D200 & D2) you can have a very competent camera and accessories. I do plan on picking up a couple more lenses and SB800 flash.

Images shared by: Stuart

Snowdrifts

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Sunset

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Tremendous images...thank you.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great buy
By The ProfVerified Reviewer from Paris, France on 12/21/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Complex but functional, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

It is a great camera, with some previous experience with digital photo. Highly functional, many possibilities. One can master it through trial and error (and reading the manual), and it is worth the effort. Really needs a superior lens — such as the 18-200mm — to exploit its qualities. [...]

Images shared by: The Prof

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

St Germain des Pres, Paris

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[35 of 38 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good, light, fast and fun!
By tony the tiger from New York on 11/27/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I think it is a great camera, but it is not for beginners, or at least I feel that it would be overkill for beginners. (Perhaps this is obvious. What beginner needs 10.2 megapixels?)

Furthermore, point and shooters might be frustrated by the limitations of the built-in flash since the length of most zoom lenses can block the flash in certain settings.

Realize that this is an SLR and is not designed to do certain "taken for granted" things - specifically film videos - that consumer digital cameras do. I kind of miss that. The view screen cannot be used to take the pictures either, it's only there to review the pics once taken. This doesn't bother me one bit, but it seems to confuse some people who are not familiar with the SLR concept. (I know I should assume the buyer is familiar with the Digi SLR concept, but perhaps someone reading this isn't).

But if you want to use the camera to use as a pro or semi-pro digital photographer, this one certainly works. I have nothing to compare it to but hey, it's a Nikon!

The camera feels great in the hands, the viewscreen is fantastic, maybe the greatest single feature of the camera, the detail is excellent and colors accurate and bright, with good contrast. The features are really cool. To be honest I haven't figured the damn thing out completely, there is still a bit of mystery to certain aspects of it for me. But since having it and going through the manual I have come a long way. Spot metering is a great feature, the bracketing settings are a big plus, the speed (3 pics per second) is very good (although faster, like the D200's 5 per sec would be a very significant improvement).

The RAW format NEF files have still got me hung up . . . I haven't been able to open them on my computer although given time I'll figure that out I'm sure. The protective cover for the viewfinder is a little plastic thingy that broke (it's replacable, although I haven't been able to locate one) without undue abuse.

I wouldn't go as far as to say it's 'RUGGED' as some have suggested, but it has held up so far. Of course I haven't dropped it off a 50 cliff either, so I can't report on that.

Most of all it is a fun camera but I would suggest that you get an accessory flash for it at the very least. I think you will find that if anything the lenses are the limitation and not the camera, so prepare to eventually spend big on some peices of glass.

Which brings up a final caveat; many of the best lenses for this camera are sold out and hard to come by. Which is partly why I chose a less expensive lens, since the 18-200mm has been on a "Ships when received from manufacturer" basis . . . yeah, right . . .

[6 of 20 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Good Images
By TommyStaff Reviewer from Simi Valley, CA on 11/23/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Love my new camera. Easy to use, results are excellent.

[29 of 42 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product
By Nature Girl from Florida on 11/15/2006
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Expereinced beginner, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, DIrections are clear, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Everyday, Nature photography, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel

Comments about Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Like the feel...allows for a steady hand when shooting. The picture quality is amazing....have used for two days and love it already!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.