Buy the Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Featured Digital Cameras and Electronics
Nikon Fall 2010 New Product Line-up!

Nikon D3100 DSLR DX-Format Camera Features

The D3000 promised and delivered incredible pictures, incredibly easily. This winning combination resulted in amazing sales and a high level of customer satisfaction. Expanding and adding to this promise is the all-new Nikon D3100 D-SLR. It adds powerful new features including a 14.2-Megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor, Full 1080p HD Movie capture and is powered by the new EXPEED 2 Image Processor, all packed into an even more compact and lightweight body. The Guide Mode has been enhanced further, as well as the built-in help and automatic functions, all of which will satisfy your customers’ desire to take better pictures and will help them grow, leading to repeat business. The D3100 includes the venerable 18-55mm VR Image Stabilized NIKKOR Lens.

  • 14.2 Megapixel DX-format CMOS Image Sensor delivers beautiful photographs and prints well beyond 20 x 30 inches

  • Includes 3x 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Image Stabilization Lens with legendary NIKKOR optical quality and fast, accurate autofocus for vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail and VR imagestabilization to ensure the sharpest hand-held pictures and movies

  • Full 1080p HD Cinematic Video with full-time autofocus and sound lets you record cinematic-quality movies in Full 1080p HD format (1920 x 1080 pixels)

  • Compact and Lightweight Design Beautifully styled—Ready to go wherever life takes you

  • Easy-To-Use—Featuring Nikon’s Guide Mode with intuitive controls and on-board assistance helping you take better pictures every step of the way

  • Split-second Shutter Response eliminates the frustration of shutter delay, capturing moments that other cameras miss

  • Fast 11-point Autofocus System delivers razor-sharp pictures

  • ISO sensitivity 100-3200, expandable to ISO 12800 equivalent delivers exceptional results, even in the most challenging low-light situations

  • 3-in. monitor with One-Touch Live View shooting and movie capture

  • Scene Auto Selector lets the D3100 decide the best mode to match the shooting situation when using Live View

  • EXPEED 2 Nikon’s new image processing engine assures breathtakingly rich image quality, managing color, contrast, exposure, noise and speed

  • Scene Recognition System in Live View automatically optimizes exposure, autofocus, and white balance, allowing you to obtain beautiful photos without the hassle of making complicated cameraadjustments yourself

  • 6 Automatic Exposure Scene Modes - Just set the Mode dial to Portrait, Landscape, Child, Sports, Close-up or Night Portrait for stunning results in otherwise challenging conditions

  • Active D-Lighting restores picture-enhancing detail in shadows and highlights.

  • Picture Control lets you choose from Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, or Landscape to apply a personal look and feel to your pictures.

  • Automatic Image Sensor Cleaning uses an ultrasonic process and exclusive Airflow Control combats the accumulation of dust in front of the image sensor, safeguarding image quality shot after shot.

  • Built-in pop-up flash for those times when there isn’t enough light

  • In-camera Image Editing allows creative freedom, without the need for a computer, offering easy editing functions

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to set up(5), Easy to use(12), Energy efficient(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(5), Fast shutter speed(5)
Best Uses:
Family photos(7), Landscape/scenery(7), Low light(7), Sports/action(6), Travel(4)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(3), Photo enthusiast(5)
Primary use:
Personal(6)
Was this a gift?:
No(11), Yes(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent
By Stephanie, Photo EnthusiastVerified Reviewer from Athens, GA on 5/15/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality
Best Uses:
Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

This camera is very affordable and produces high quality photographs. I love using it for portraiture and up-close shots of plants and wildlife. To enhance my photos even more, I plan to purchase a few attachments...hood, lens filters, macro lens, fish-eye lens, larger flash etc. But overall, it's definitely a great camera for the casual photographer, as well as photo enthusiasts!

 
I Just Love IT!
By BaggieVerified Reviewer from Sanibel, FLorida and Barbados on 4/12/2011
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, Digital zoom, Face detection software, Fast Auto focus, HDMI or component video output, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Manual focus, Night shooting mode
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Display on digital picture frame, Display on television, Email to friends and family, Print using a home printer, Print using an in-store photo service via online upload, Save to disk, Upload to online photo sharing sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
10
Ease of Operation:
10
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
10
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
10
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
10
Overall Experience:
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

I love this for taking pictures of my grandchildren ( from 6mos to 15 years - set for fast shots)and the wild life in the back yard (gators, bob cats, hawks, herons, Rosietta Spoonbills etc). I am buying more lenses and lights to have more fun!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE IT~
By DGJP from Chatt TN on 1/22/2011
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Digital zoom, Face detection software, Fast Auto focus, Touchscreen
What do you do with your digital images?:
Display on digital picture frame
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
8
Ease of Operation:
8
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
8
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
8
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
8
Overall Experience:
8
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

this is the BEST Camera on the market~ if your looking for quaility get this camera

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE THE CAMERA, EASY, GREAT PICTURES
By JUDY, THE SPORTS PHOTOGRAPHERVerified Reviewer from KINGMAN, AZ on 12/28/2010
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, Digital zoom, Face detection software, Fast Auto focus, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Shockproof
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Email to friends and family, Upload to online photo sharing sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
9
Ease of Operation:
9
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
10
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
8
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
9
Overall Experience:
9
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

I TAKE ALOT OF SPORTS PHOTOS. GREAT ACTION PICTURES. COLOR GOOD. EASY TO OPERATE

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
love love love it!
By ArynjoyVerified Reviewer from Columbia, MD on 12/15/2010
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, Fast Auto focus, HD Video recording, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Manual focus
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Display on digital picture frame, Email to friends and family, Print using a home printer, Print using an in-store photo service via kiosk or live person, Print using an in-store photo service via online upload, Save to disk, Sell – professional photographer, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
10
Ease of Operation:
10
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
10
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
10
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
10
Overall Experience:
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

This camera is awesome! I upgraded from the d3000 because i was getting grainy photos if the light was even remotely low. but this one, amazing, every photo has been crystal clear! It is an awesome camera, the HD video is an added bonus, and has come in handy quite a few times for me!

[4 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it!
By KayVerified Reviewer from Annapolis, MD on 12/4/2010
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, Digital zoom, Face detection software, Fast Auto focus, HD Video recording, High-speed shooting, Hi-resolution display / AMOLED display, Interchangeable lenses, Manual focus, Night shooting mode, Programmed scene shooting modes
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Display on digital picture frame, Email to friends and family, Print using a home printer, Print using an in-store photo service via online upload, Save to disk, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
10
Ease of Operation:
10
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
9
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
9
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
9
Overall Experience:
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Large Clear LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

As my first DSLR, I am thrilled with the photos is produces and te ease of use as I am learning in all of the manual modes as well! I come from a line of photographers and photo-enthusiasts, and Nikon continues to impress and put out wonderful cameras our whole family can enjoy, from film to digital to video!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
it's my first DSLR and I love it!!!
By kt from Skokie,IL on 11/28/2010
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Built-in GPS, Built-in photo editing software, Continuous shooting, Face detection software, Fast Auto focus, HDMI or component video output, HD Video recording, High-speed shooting, Hi-resolution display / AMOLED display, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Manual focus, Night shooting mode, Programmed scene shooting modes
What do you do with your digital images?:
Email to friends and family, Save to disk, Upload to online photo sharing sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
10
Ease of Operation:
10
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
10
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
10
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
10
Overall Experience:
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

for travel,landscapes,wildlife,family and friends....

[20 of 22 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great, Love it!
By Chase from seattle/ Paris France on 11/27/2010
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Built-in GPS, Built-in photo editing software, Continuous shooting, Face detection software, Fast Auto focus, HDMI or component video output, HD Video recording, High-speed shooting, Hi-resolution display / AMOLED display, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Manual focus, Night shooting mode, Programmed scene shooting modes, Webcam capabilities
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Display on digital picture frame, Display on television, Email to friends and family, Print using an in-store photo service via kiosk or live person, Print using an in-store photo service via online upload, Save to disk, Sell – professional photographer, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites, Use in professional publications
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
10
Ease of Operation:
10
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
10
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
10
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
6
Overall Experience:
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Great for close up's, High ISO Performance, Landscapes, Large Clear LCD, Portrats, Quiet, Scenerary
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

I take this camera everywhere, the Nikon D3x with my main lens is about 4 or 5 pounds. So now i take the D3100 which shoots better than the D7000, the D3100 is lighter and more portable. I live in Madrid Spain and as most people know it is alittle smaller than NYC and i took it out and got great pictures of bus's and just random people. I will recomend this to every profeshional photographer weather it is for a secondary camera or just as a main. I got to say i love it and i believe everyone else would. Me and My friend, who is a pro photographer and he loves it too. Great job Nikon for creating a Good cheap camera that shots like my thriteen thousand dollar camera. Please check my work out at [@] for pictures taken with this camera and videos with the Nikon D7000!

[4 of 31 customers found this review helpful]

 
No, no , no,
By Mjet from Fredrick, MD on 10/31/2010
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Built-in photo editing software, Continuous shooting, Digital zoom, Fast Auto focus, HD Video recording, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Night shooting mode
What do you do with your digital images?:
Print using a home printer, Save to disk, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in professional publications
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
8
Ease of Operation:
8
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
8
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
8
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
8
Overall Experience:
8
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Probably will not
Cons:
Poor Image Quality, Poor Image Stabilization, Poor In Low Light
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

Never, never, never, buy a Nikon unless you want to spend $100's to maintain and repair some thing that will not last the test of time. Buy a Canon and get your money's worth. I am just a amature joe who got dupped by Nikon junk!

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
super cool, easy hands on and shoot
By Jim the golferVerified Reviewer from dublin, ca on 10/14/2010
Pros:
Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use, Low Power Consumption, Quality Construction
Best Uses:
Replacement
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Primary use:
Personal
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

Love it, first I tried d3000 then exchanged for the d3100 2 days later and can't keep my hands off the camera. Very easy to learn as I'm new to digital cameras (old camera is a Nikon FE w/35-105 zoom). Only one thing I'm concerned about is inside my house, using the lcd screen at 55mm AF won't focus on the subject but at 22mm AF will focus on the subject. If I look through the eye peice at the same spot and distance at 55mm AF focuses and I get a great shot. I need to look into this further. Other then that I'm having fun

[13 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Too bad Rebel
By John KVerified Reviewer from Nashville, North Carolina on 10/9/2010
Pros:
Awesome, Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use, Lens Compatible, Light Weight, Quality Construction
Best Uses:
Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Primary use:
Personal
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

I am totally experiencing complete awesomeness with my D3100. absoluetly satified beyond 100%. I love the range of pictures I'm capturing with the better than surprising effects. I enjoy the N2 software that comes with the camera

Images shared by: John K

My 1st shot: Nashville NC Sunrise

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[7 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera!
By HeathVerified Reviewer from Cincinnati, OH on 10/8/2010
Pros:
Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use, Quality Construction
Best Uses:
Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Primary use:
Personal
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

This camera takes amazing pictures with true, vivid color. It reduces the amount of red eye as well, which is needed when taking pictures of infants. The only thing so far that I don't like is the zoom lens that comes with it does not go nearly as far as I thought it would/should.

[21 of 21 customers found this review helpful]

 
Loving my new Nikon D3100
By Team Mom from Woodstock, GA on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use, Excellent Value, Low Power Consumption, Quality Construction
Best Uses:
Sports photography, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Primary use:
Personal
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

I received this camera as an Anniversary gift from my husband and my parents. I had considered a Digital SLR for months, spent volumes of time reading reviews, consulting current owners and checking websites for pricing and availability. I bought the D3100 as an alternative to the D90. This camera is easy to handle and a sheer joy to use. It was exhilarating to capture my son and his teammates as bodies were flying through the air during football games and I wasn't missing a single detail. I had the entire stadium gathered around me waiting to view all the shots I was catching. I am so pleased to own such a high quality camera at such an incredible cost.

[59 of 67 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Good and The Bad (versus a D40)
By BrianVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 9/26/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Quality Construction
Cons:
Hard To Set Up, No ML-L3 Remote
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Primary use:
Personal
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

There are several good things about this camera and a couple major annoyances. I'll compare it to my old D40, which broke with about 35,000 shots on it. By broke I mean it gives an error when the shutter goes off and the images are very dark. Maybe 4-5 stops dark. I read about it online and apparently it's caused by a ribbon cable the rubs with every shutter action, and some of them wear through causing this failure. So much for "tested to 100,000 cycles". Repair estimate from Nikon was $250, so I decided to put that towards a new camera.

1)Hallelujah, the auto Video Auto Focus works! I bought D90 in 2008 and returned it because AF didn't work in video mode. The D3100 is much better. I used my 35 f1.8 in low light and it worked acceptably well. The auto focus was clearly active and noticeable due to the low depth of field of the f1.8. Now I don't have to carry a separate video camera or settle for the quality of an iPhone.

2)The microphone can hear the lens autofocus during video, it gets recorded, and you hear it on play back. Unlike point and shoots, these DX lenses move a lot of glass to autofocus, and those AF-S motors do make noise. The microphone is on the front, by the D3100 logo, which is about 2 inches (5cm) from the AF-S motor... too close.

3)Frame rate is better. The D3100 shoots about 3 frames per second versus the D40 at 2.5. That doesn't sound like much, but it's definitely faster. The D40 always made me feel like something was lagging, but the D3100 with only 0.5 frames per second more just feels faster.

4)They traded ISO for pixels (and selecting "S" image size doesn't get it back). The sensor size is the same between the D40 (6MP) and the D3100(14MP), more pixels means less sensor area per pixel. So the D3100 needs more time to collect light to avoid noisy pictures. I really loved the D40 for producing good pictures at ISO 1600, The D3100 isn't as good. I view my pictures on a 27" iMac and NEVER had a resolution problem at 6MP, so I don't need all those extra pixels. They just use up my memory card and hard drive. So, to try to make my D3100 like my D40 I set the D3100 at "S" and "L" image sizes (S is exactly 1/2 linear pixels, which means 1/4 total pixels) Put the camera in P mode, and took the exact same picture in low light. What I thought would happen is the D3100 would average all those "unused" pixels with their "used" neighbors to collect more light and reduce ISO or exposure time, but it did not. S and L image sizes took exactly the same photo with exactly the same ISO (I used Auto-ISO), same F stop and same exposure time. Drats. For someone else ISO for Pixels may be a good tradeoff, just not for me.

5)No face detect. Point and shoots still have the lead here.

6)No support for ML-L3 IR Remote. Why Nikon, WHY? This is a huge problem for me. I use that little remote at every family function when I don't want to be left out of the photo. I turn off the AF Assist light, put the camera on a bench, fence, rock, or whatever and grab that tiny remote. Then I start snapping pictures. It works great, and you can get so many candid shots while they get in position and when they think the picture is done. I always end up catching some sillyness that makes good memories.

7) 3" LCD. Rockwell is right. 3" doesn't seem big, just makes 2.5" seem small. The screen is a little grainy, clearly a difference from better 3" nikons. But I like this 3", very usable.

The ML-L3 remote is the biggest problem for me, I've already boxed up the D3100 for return.

For reference, I shoot with Ken Rockwell's "DX Dream Team"
10-24 AF-S
35 F1.8 AF-S
55-200 VR AF-S
And the 18-55 AF-S that comes with a D40.

[18 of 21 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent all around - compact size
By JAFProductionVerified Reviewer from New York on 9/25/2010
Pros:
Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use, Low Power Consumption, Quality Construction, small size
Cons:
Built for small hands, Mono mic onboard
Describe Yourself:
Power User
Primary use:
Personal
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3100 DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm DX VR Zoom Lens:

This new edition to the Nikon line is recommended for all enthusiasts who are ready to step up to some big time photography in an easy to carry package. Quick to setup and no real learning curve. How-to built in. This model shoots HD video with continuous auto-focus. Mono microphone only -which can be easily remedied with attachments. Small size does not add any weight to your bag - making it great to tag along everywhere. Ready to shoot out of the box. Good steady shot after shot. Works for eight to eighty. Everyone should enjoy photography with the built in composures.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.