Buy the Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens image
 
(based on 76 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Featured Digital Cameras and Electronics
A remarkable blend of simplicity and highly advanced D-SLR capabilities, the compact and powerful D5000 offers breathtaking 12.3-megapixel image quality, along with a flexible, Vari-angle, Live View monitor for fresh picture-taking perspectives. Nikon's EXPEED image processing further enhances performance, contributing to split-second shutter response and continuous shooting at up to 4 frames-per-second to capture fast action and precise moments perfectly. The D5000's 24-fps HD D-Movie mode with sound captures video clips with amazing clarity-offering new and exciting creative opportunities. Fast, accurate 11-point autofocus with 3D Tracking, teamed with famous NIKKOR optics, assures incredible image sharpness, while active image sensor cleaning combats annoying dust automatically. Featuring a convenient built-in flash, 19 automatic exposure Scene Modes to make the impossible easy and 23 Custom Setting options to fit your preferences, as well as 14 in-camera image retouching functions, the D5000 is the perfect D-SLR, beginning with performance to meet your picture-taking tomorrows.

This D5000 DSLR Outfit includes the 3x AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens with image stabilization and legendary NIKKOR optical quality.

Nikon Digital SLR Image Quality
High resolution, low-noise image quality is inherited from the D90's 12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor. From there, NIKKOR optics and a host of Nikon technologies are brought together to deliver an experience that has made Nikon D-SLRs first in customer satisfaction*, two years running.

D-Movie Mode Features 720p HD Quality
The D5000's creative potential explodes with the capability to record smooth, 24 fps motion JPEG sound movie clips. Leveraging a 12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor, legendary NIKKOR optical quality and the one-button Live View function, the D-Movie Mode expands creative possibilities in 720p HD.

Comprehensive Feature Set
Leading the D5000's rich feature set is the versatility of a new 2.7-inch Vari-angle LCD monitor that offers up new shooting perspectives. The screen can even be reversed when not in use, providing the utmost in LCD protection.

Fast and accurate 11-point autofocus is teamed with continuous shooting at up to 4 frames per second. 19 automatic Scene Modes are aided by Nikon's 420-pixel 3D Color Matrix II Metering system, linked to EXPEED image processing and Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System for exceptional exposure accuracy.

The D5000 offers a unique combination of simplicity and performance to excite and satisfy today's D-SLR customers.

Nikon D5000 DSLR Key Features

  • 12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS image sensor
    Coupled with Nikon's EXPEED image processing and NIKKOR optics, breathtaking picture quality is assured
  • 3x Zoom AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens included
    Legendary NIKKOR optical quality features Nikon VR image stabilization for added sharpness
  • D-Movie Mode with sound
    Record 720p HD movie clips enhanced by NIKKOR interchangeable lens quality and versatility
  • Vari-angle color LCD monitor
    Position the 2.7-inch monitor freely for fresh shooting perspectives. Screen flips inward for safe keeping
  • 19 Auto-exposure Scene Modes
    Capture stunning photos in challenging picture-taking situations including Sunsets, Candlelight, Silhouette, Portrait, Landscape, Beach/Snow, and more
  • One-button Live View
    Easy Live View access offers 4 autofocus modes, including Face Priority AF
  • Continuous shooting as fast as 4 frames-per-second
    Combined with fast power-up and split-second shutter response, decisive moments are captured easily without annoying shooting lag
  • Low noise ISO sensitivity from 200 to 3200
    Engineered for exceptional low-light shooting
  • Built-in image sensor cleaning
    Effective 4-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning keeps images spot free
  • 11-point autofocus system with 3D Focus Tracking
    Fast and accurate autofocus delivers razor sharpness
  • Auto Active D-Lighting
    Restores lost shadow and highlight detail in high contrast exposures-Selectable and Auto modes available
  • In-camera Retouch image editing
    Creative in-camera image editing, featuring Soft Filter, Straighten, Color Outline Effect, Perspective Control, Red-eye Correction, Image Overlay, Monochrome and more-all without a PC
  • Picture Control Settings for personal image control
    Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, Landscape and 9 customizable settings
  • Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II
    Nikon's renowned 420-pixel RGB 3D Color Matrix Metering II, teamed with the exclusive Scene Recognition System, evaluates each scene for unmatched exposure accuracy
  • Durable, high precision shutter
    Testing to over 100,000 cycles assures precision and long shutter life
  • GPS geo-tagging
    GP-1 GPS unit (optional) automatically identifies and records every image's latitude, longitude and altitude, with satellite time-of-day

Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55MM F/3.5-5.6G VR Lens
Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55MM F/3.5-5.6G VR Lens offers Nikon's proprietary Vibration Reduction (VR) technology to help consumers snap sharper photos than ever before, even while shooting handheld. Compact and lightweight, this affordable lens is an optimum lens to use with Nikon DX-format digital SLR cameras and is the ideal focal length as a first lens to faithfully capture life's day-to-day moments, or a welcome addition to a Nikon D-SLR photographer's already-established lens assortment.

From family gatherings to sunny vacation beaches, the NIKKOR 18-55mm VR lens produces stunning results with vivid color and incredible sharpness. The 3x optical zoom offers users of Nikon DX-format D-SLR cameras including the D40, D40x, D80 and new D300 with a versatile picture angle perspective ranging from wide angle for dramatic landscapes and interiors, to moderate telephoto that is ideal for flattering portraits.

Beyond the lens' incredible optical versatility is the amazing benefit of Nikon's VR technology, which enables photographers to take substantially sharper handheld pictures at slower shutter speeds than would otherwise be possible. This provides the distinct advantage of being able to shoot more effectively in a much broader variety of challenging conditions. Nikon's VR system affords users the ability to take pictures at shutter speeds up to three stops slower* than they ordinarily could shoot without the image-degrading blur caused by camera shake at slow shutter speeds.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 76 reviews)
99% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(65), Fast / accurate auto-focus(21), Fast shutter speed(56), Good image quality(26), Great picture quality(42)
Cons:
Poor in low light(4), Slow focus(6)
Best Uses:
Art(20), Family photos(11), Fun(33), Landscape/scenery(56), Low light(16)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(21), Photo enthusiast(41), Pro photographer(3), Semi-pro photographer(9)
Was this a gift?:
No(13), Yes(4)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Camera
By Luis from Miami,Fl on 12/9/2010
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, Digital zoom, Fast Auto focus, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Night shooting mode, Waterproof
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Display on digital picture frame, Email to friends and family, Print using a home printer, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
9
Ease of Operation:
9
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
9
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
9
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
9
Overall Experience:
9
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Family Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This camera is awesome it takes great pictures of my family i would reccomended it to anyone who likes clear pictures even at night this camera takes pictures clearly and not blury

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a serious entry level DSLR
By CatVerified Purchaser from Lake Zurich,IL on 10/26/2010
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Programmed scene shooting modes
What do you do with your digital images?:
Print using an in-store photo service via online upload, Save to disk
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
9
Ease of Operation:
9
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
10
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
9
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
9
Overall Experience:
9
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Cons:
AF in live view is slow
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

So far the only thing between me and consistently great shots is the user. The camera is capable of producing remarcable photos in challenging conditions. I previously owned a Sony A330 that I returned and I can say that this is a more expensive camera for a good reason. The Canon T1i,T2i are perhaps the only serious contenders in the same category. I bought the 55-200mm VR lenses, the bag and the DVD as part of the package for [$] and I'm still happy with this deal. The VR works great with the zoom lenses. The high ISO pictures are excellent. If you are looking for an entry level DSLR consider this camera because you will not outgrow it for a while.

 
I love it!!!!!!
By JenVerified Purchaser from Covington, GA on 10/21/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Cons:
Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I am just a Mom that loves to take pictures. My family is so excited when I walk in the door with my D5000, they all put their cameras down. They say my pictures look like a professional took them. I have NO training, I just read parts of the manuel and watched the DVD. I researched this camera for months, Wolf was the best deal around!! The only think I have trouble with is at night the flash is not as bright as I would like it.

 
Great camera.
By Photo geniusVerified Purchaser from Kansas City, MO on 10/18/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Sports/Action, Video
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I've only had this camera for a short period of time, but so far I absolutely love it. I haven't come near to playing with all the functions yet, but he ones I have used are really easy. So far I would highly recommend the Nikon D5000.

 
excellent choice
By lightofthetreeVerified Purchaser from Texas on 10/10/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Easy to use, and not too heavy to lug around. Pictures are crisp and the color is great.

 
best DSLR for the price
By leiVerified Purchaser from WA on 10/6/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality
Cons:
Noisy At High ISO
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I wanted to capture better pictures of my kids and I am able to do so with this camera. Good bye blurry pics and missed shots due to slow shutter speed. It is easy to use for a novice like me. Great buy for the price.

 
Love this camera!
By NatureloverVerified Purchaser from northern Illinois on 9/30/2010
Pros:
Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Large Clear LCD
Cons:
Can't c LCD in brightlite, Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Had to study the manual to use, photos sharp, LCD screen hard to see in bright light, lots of settings to guarantee a decent pic.

 
great camera for the price
By bradVerified Purchaser from tampa on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Cons:
No Viewfinder, Slightly slower in rapid
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Fantastic camera. Was given the D-90 as a gift and traded down to this one. The ability to dampen the shutter release sound is critical for theatrical photography and was unavailable on the much more expensive D-90. I was worried about the trade down. While I miss the viewfinder, more complete on body control panel and the larger screen, I appreciate the value and love the tilt-swivel LCD.

 
I would definitely buy this camera.
By Grandma MoeVerified Purchaser from Millbury MA on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Camera is lighter than some other models so easier for me to handle.

 
Great camera for the price
By StanVerified Purchaser from Arvada, CO on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, High ISO Performance
Best Uses:
Family Photos, General purpose, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I like this camera. It is especially nice, and easy to assimilate if you are already familiar with Nikon camera. I didn't have any of the problems listed by other users under "cons." This is a versatile, and relatively inexpensive camera. I recommend it to any camera enthusiast.

 
No Fireworks setting
By GauravVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Large Clear LCD
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Overall good camera. I think not having settings for fireworks is big drawback

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth every penny...
By JohnVerified Purchaser from Baldwinsville, NY on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Quiet
Cons:
Noisy At High ISO
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

After using this camera, you will never go back to a point and shoot digital camera again. I was a film guy for years and was discouraged by point and shoot digital cameras. I want to take pictures when I click the shutter, not seconds later. This has 4 frames per second and the lens is auto focus along with vibration reduction, sweet... Stop action sports, flower gardens, pet portraits, you name it this camera is perfect. Fully manual settings for us old timers and a wide range of automatic or canned settings for the inexperienced photographer and it takes great pictures. It even takes my older Nikon lenses from my film camera (no auto focus). So if you're not a portrait professional and you can get away with a non full frame camera, then why spend the money. This camera is loaded with upgrades and features from two of Nikon's other lines. Spend the money you won't be disappointed!

 
Actually, I did buy this product again!
By RussVerified Purchaser from Joplin, MO on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

An accident in the Idaho wilderness resulted in the loss of my original D5000. I was so pleased with this camera that I purchased another to replace it.

 
NIKON D5000 DSLR CAMERA W/18-55 VR LENS
By Photo Hobby OneVerified Purchaser from Georgia USA on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Great camera all around!

 
This camera is great!
By Out Doorsey GirlVerified Purchaser from Divide, Montana on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I am constantly out doors I take my camera everywhere. It is easy!It practically does the work for you!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera with professional results
By AndyVerified Reviewer from Cape Cod,Ma on 9/5/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Cons:
No auto focus wvideo
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I use a Nikon D200 and purchased the D5000 for a quick and easy to use extra camera. I found myself using the D5000 more than the D200 for the candid and "quick grab the camera shots". I would recomend it for video with outside shots but extra lighting is needed for inside video. The only drawback is the focus cannot be changed while using the video. Just set the zoom and focus then start the video.

Images shared by: Andy

Guest in flower garden

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
LOVE IT
By PhotoMomVerified Reviewer from North of Boston, MA on 8/29/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Cons:
Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I used this for the 1st time for a wedding and it took great pictures inside and outside of the church. We were not allowed to use a flash during the Mass, so I assumed I wouldn't get any good pictures, but I was amazed at the shots I was able to get. My only regret was that the camera was borrowed and I had to return it already. I am saving up my money to buy myself one soon though. It is much better than my Sony or my Fuji.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Loving it
By RetiredAirmanVerified Reviewer from Charleston, SC on 8/1/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I've had the camera a few months now and learning new things with it all the time. I'm learning to use auto settings before moving onto the manual settings but it's easy and the pictures have been great. You have so many options packed into this camera that it takes a little time to get the hang of it. The swivel LCD was a big plus for me when searching for a new camera and it's come in handy several times. My son is looking to upgrade from the point and shoot cameras so I've recommended the D5000 to him.

Images shared by: RetiredAirman

Docks at Cypress

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Sunrise on the Battery

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to use, would buy again
By mdsnurse from Washington, WV on 7/17/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I had never owned a Nikon before today, I was able to follow the easy to read instruction, installed the software without a hitch. I was able to assemble the lens to the camera easily. I ran outside to take some pictures and was amazed at how good they came out. Love this camera, it was a birthday present to me. My birthday is on 7/22.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Absolutely Love this Camera!
By JudeVerified Reviewer from Pennsylvania on 7/13/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Cons:
Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I bought the Nikon D5000 two-lens package about 1 month ago, and I haven't been able to put it down. It takes very high-quality pictures in seconds. Just took a slew of photos while on vacation. Incredible! The camera takes great action shots, great sunsets, great sunrises, great portraits and landscape photos. It's worth the investment. Even if you're a novice digital photographer like me, you can learn how to use the camera and have lots of fun very quickly. I didn't know anything about digital photography, and I was very nervous about purchasing such a sophisticated SLR without even knowing how to operate a tiny point-and-shoot. But now I'm a pro! And it didn't take long. Only a month. :-)

My recommendation is that you read the manual for all it's worth, and watch the DVD it comes with. The camera is an incredible piece of technology that will blow your mind! I can't wait to purchase the 70-300 mm VR zoom lens!

Images shared by: Jude

Virginia Beach

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Sunset

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
brilliant!
By nate the greatVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 6/14/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

this camera is small and lightweight but still takes amazing pics and has many useful features

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Product!
By ChickenNoodoVerified Reviewer from Calgary, AB, Canada on 3/17/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt / swivel lcd
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Before I made a decision, I did some pretty intense research about entry level to mid ranged cameras. Out of all the models out there, the D5000 seemed to outshine all others.

Dubbed as the D90's little brother, it boasts the same 12.3 megapixel sensor as it's more expensive counter part, huge iso range, and plenty of features (including in camera after effects). I asked a friend of mine to compare the photo quality of my camera with his D90 and he remarked that they were almost bang on.

The picture quality is outstanding. With the 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lense, beginner to novice photographers will be very pleased.

The d5000's HD 720 resolution video is great, although a little lacking compared to the D90 or Canon equivalent, but this should not be the deciding factor. The video quality is still great and in my eyes should simply be seen as a bonus.

If you're looking to upgrade from your entry level slr but still don't want to break the bank, the D5000 is hands down your best bet.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would definetly buy another one
By VonVon from Atlanta, GA on 1/26/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt / swivel lcd
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

some ppl think its not that good but i would totally buy this for everybody as an christmas present

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera..... Not So Good Price
By Camerdude from Baltimore, MD on 1/15/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Great for Begginers
Cons:
Small LCD Screen
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Pretty much anything, Sports/Action, Video
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This a great camera and I picked it over the Canon T1i/500DIt's a great entry level DSLR [...]

[11 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Everything I Expected
By The Madd_0xVerified Reviewer from Columbus, OH on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, LIghtweight, Long battery life
Cons:
Spotty Auto-Focus
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I like to refer to this as my Christmas blessing. I received this camera for Christmas and I have absolutely enjoyed it! It is a wonderful upgrade from my Kodak Z1012! I've taken a variety of photographs for the sake of practice to get accustomed to the interface of this camera and I am satisfied with the capabilities of the camera.

The camera itself is lightweight in its build, but feels very solid - at least as far as I can tell. I have some pretty long fingers but the grip is still comfortable to use. Now I've always been one to believe that the camera doesn't make the picture, but rather the person who handles the camera. I still hold this belief, but I also believe that this camera does a heck of a job to help you in this. The image quality is superb for the price, and combined with the knowledge of how to use the custom white balance, the picture controls, etc., one can take some exponentially lovely pictures. I took this camera with me on a vacation to Orlando Florida with my family. I hope that these photos do a decent job of complementing these...well, complements.

There is only one con I could find with this camera as I used it, and it's that the autofocus can have trouble finding the subject sometimes. This primarily happens in low light with the AF-Illuminator Light turned off.

Furthermore, I should drop this hint of advice: pay attention to the minimum focusing distance of the camera. I have tried to take a picture of something many times while using the 18-55, for example, at a very close distance, only to finally get the focus in after backing up about three inches. Remember that focusing distance, and you'll save yourself a lot of time and anguish.

Images shared by: The Madd_0x

The Grande Vista

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Lighthouse

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW is all I can say!!!!!!
By Bunny PhotographerVerified Reviewer from Laurel Md on 12/28/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fabulous, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I looked at the Nikon D300 and for Christmas was given the Nikon D500 and I am loving it!!!!! I can't say enough good things about this camera.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I LOVE IT!!
By Ashley from San Jose, CA on 12/12/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

It takes great pictures and the video quality is amazing! Great camera for the price!

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A good camera
By Krish from Cleveland, OH on 11/24/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance
Best Uses:
Landscape, Macro Photography, Sports, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

A good easy to use camera. Worth the money. Check out the pics I took using this instrument.

Images shared by: Krish

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
BEST CAMERA
By LULU from Austin, Texas on 11/24/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Macro Photography, Portraits, Sports, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

AMAZING PRODUCT

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply perfect.
By Jake from Plainfield, IL on 10/8/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Cons:
Slow Focus, Small LCD
Best Uses:
Everything
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

All around great starter..no, great DSLR for any type of photographer.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Washington Nation Zoo
By BlemleyVerified Reviewer from Washington DC on 9/26/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

THERES NOTHING TO SAY ABOUT THIS NIKON CAMERIA.ITS ALSOME.

[21 of 21 customers found this review helpful]

 
Go for it!
By GeoJoeVerified Reviewer from Arvada, CO on 9/6/2009
Pros:
All good
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Save up and buy lenses
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This is my first DSLR. I casually used my parents SLR camera's when I was younger but went digital with various fujifilm fixed lense. My S5200 has lasted for years and served me well. But the step up to D5000 has been great. I haven't put it down for three weeks. I didn't bring it to a dinner the other night and my friends asked where I was hiding the camera. I compared this with Canon's on par with features. Live view focus was the most noticable difference, however I noticed the Canon would say it was focused and still take a blurred picture. So I feel more confident in the autofocus quality on the D5000. The D5000 is much easier to use in all ways. The rotatable and hidable LCD on the D5000 is really awesome. The 18-55 and 55-200 lenses that basically come with the camera are great. But I highly recommend picking up a few other lenses too. I picked up the 60mm micro right away while still blind with lust about my new camera. In hind sight it was a budget cruncher but I am using the extra lens constantly. I've been messing with the 50mm and a 28mm at the store and will probably pick one or the other up today. I'm aiming for a teleconverter next to widen my 18-200 lens range. This is after all why I'm upgrading to DSLR is lens selection. Don't expect the lens that came with the camera to suit all your needs. Oh and when they recommend the filters on the cheap when you buy the camera, get them. Don't hesitate. Saving a $200 lens with a $10 filter is a great idea. I am especially hard on camera's. I hike the mountains of Colorado and travel A LOT. I've already dropped my camera and replaced a UV filter. I'm positive turning the LCD inward has saved it's life. I'm a little worried that the power on defect might get me in a remote location, but I've registered the product and from what I hear Nikon and Wolf are making quick work of the repair when the failure does occur.

Images shared by: GeoJoe

Lake

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Photo Tool
By CecilBVerified Reviewer from Cincinnati OH on 7/24/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Tough to navigate setting
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This camera takes amazing photo's, the image quality is out of this world! My only frustration coming from having learned on a full manual body (Nikon FG) I am used to having easy control over light and this camera is not as intuitive as the controls on the D90, however for $250 less its worth the extra learning curve to navigate the options and its easy to shoot on aperature priority and make exposure adjustments quickly. the metering is excellent

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I will buy another Nikon in the future
By Camera friendlyVerified Reviewer from Washington on 7/7/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I use this for travel and family events. I been a owner of Sony products for more than 10 years and had many compact cameras.I like my camera and enjoys how useful the swivel feature is. When my kid is in school performances I use the swivel feature because I am short so I have to hold it above my head most of the time.I wish it was a little cheaper, but was a customer that took advantage of the 0% offer with a[...] store in Seattle.

[1 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon D5000 Less Than 1 month BROKEN
By C.B.M.Verified Purchaser from VALLEJO, CA on 7/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I am deeply disappointed with the NIKON D5000 that I've purchased because after using in less than a month it stop working completely.[...]Thanks for reading my comment.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Pictures
By Misterbigman from Scottsdale, Arizona on 6/25/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction, Well balanced
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

By far, my favorite slr camera over 40 years of experience. Better and more versatile than 35mm even at enlargements of 8 x 10. The camera has more useful features than any other I experienced and the video feature is suprisingly good. CAmera is sturdy and well balanced. Choices of auto/manual picture give this camera outstanding methods to capture a perfect exposure.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Quantum Leap - Point and Shoot to D5000
By Spectacular V from Fort Lauderdale, Florida on 6/19/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Protected LCD
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

We got this camera because our two year old son wont stand still for too long, so we upgraded from our Point and Shoot to the D5000. The 11 point auto focus and 4 frames per second gets the perfect picture while he haves fun. We got the 8GB 30mbs SDHC card with it so depending upon your settings the buffer in JPEG can get you as many as 30 pictures if you hold the shutter button. I have the camera set to High Fine JPEG quality and medium file size and the average picture size is at 3.5mb which will net me close to 1800 pictures on this card, Also the buffer reads about 19 at this setting. The heart of the camera gets you close to D90 performance and that is what makes this great. The pre-programmed shooting modes helps make the transition easier for the point and shoot folks who upgrade. You will find yourself quickly exploring the more advanced modes the camera has to offer. Still learning to use it but the camera only has a 24 hour clock format and the internal flash cannot keep up in continuous shooting mode. Great Camera!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
excellent quality, easy to use
By RockyVerified Purchaser from RI on 6/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I use this camera for photographing children in motion or quiet play; it generally gives a very sharp image and catches motion well.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
wow.
By nick from florida on 6/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

this is such an amazingly all around camera! if your a beginner or pro, i just bought it yesterday and it is just incredible :)
i 100% reccomend this to anyone!

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good camera
By Ram ChandraVerified Reviewer from Kathmandu, Nepal on 6/17/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Landscape, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

[...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT PRODUCT!!
By EB41Verified Purchaser from TAMPA,FLA on 6/16/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

THIS PRODUCT WAS PURCHASED AS GIFT TO WIFE -SHE HAS HAD SOME PHOTO SCHOOL TRAINNING -AND IS EXTREMLY SATISFIED WITH THIS CAMERA-MAINLY USED FOR PORTRAITS,LANDSCAPES,VACATION,&FUN!
GREAT PRODUCT........

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
what a birthday gift!!
By DebVerified Purchaser from Warwick, RI on 6/16/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This camera is a dream!! Going to get another soon!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By pictureladyVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 6/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I love this camera! I just picked one up yesterday after reading review after review. It was between this one and a Cannon.

After playing with both I decided that this was the most user friendly. I have always wanted a SRL camera but have no idea how to work it and this was a perfect camera to help me learn and assist me.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Quality photos
By bernieVerified Purchaser from florida on 6/13/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This is a fun photography tool and easy to use, yet delivers quality photos

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a champion of a camera
By DrewMVerified Purchaser from Sacramento, CA on 6/10/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I had been ready to buy the D90 when the D5000 came out. It is a champion of a camera with most of what the D90 does plus a bunch of preprogrammed scene modes. I'm still learning all the features. But I'm already very happy I bought it.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
A really terrific product
By Rollee the photog.Verified Purchaser from Memphis,TN on 6/9/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Nothing
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Portraits, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This is a great camera. It produces very clear and crisp photos. It is very simple to use and the LCD is big and moves to several different positions for photographing ease. I would recommend this camera to pros and amateurs alike.
This is one of Nikons finest products.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This product is AMAZING!!!
By brittaniclesVerified Purchaser from texas on 6/8/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This cam is great for professional looking photos for a beginner.... it is VERY easy to use! I LOVE playing around with it. I have already done so pretty amazing shots with it and have been very impressed!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow What a Camera!
By Flying EagleVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 6/7/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I plan on going on vacation to the Northwest including,Oregon,Cascades,Montana & Yellowstone Park. Wanted a really good camera to take wildlife & scenic pictures. I just love the LCD that swivels for video or picture mode.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really GREAT Camera!!
By ThumperVerified Reviewer from Salida, CO. on 6/7/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This is finally a SLR that does it all. Great image quality, quick shutter response, and it takes HD movie clips. Wow, it really does it all!!!

 
A whole lot of snap
By Q2infocusVerified Purchaser from Ft. Lauderdale, Florida on 6/4/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction, Sweet LCD functionality
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I use it for wildlife and landscape photography

Really like the way the LCD screen moves and let's me hold the camera in diferent positions to shoot..Great ability to compose all kinds of shots and get some wildlife while I'm hidden behind objects outside.

Still exploring at this point

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By CLVerified Purchaser from Chicago, Il on 6/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Great overall camera. Would definitely purchase again!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
point and shoot or experiment
By MikeVerified Purchaser from Florida on 6/1/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Great camera. Fun for me to experiment. My wife loves the ease and point and shoot.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon D5000 quality
By emeroidVerified Purchaser from Atlanta on 6/1/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Bracketing for HDR is great

[30 of 30 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent pictures, great camera for all
By asnpcwizVerified Reviewer from NOVA on 5/29/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I bought this camera after spending some time with both this and the Canon T1i. I had originally anticipated on buying the T1i, but fell in love with the D5000 when I got my hands on both. I'm hoping my unbias review will help someone in the same position as me. I own both Nikon and Canon cameras and love both brands. Both the D5000 and T1i are beautiful cameras, but for me, it came down to a few things.

1. The feel of the camera. The D5000 felt a bit more solid to me. Perhaps it is the additional pound of weight, but the T1i felt a bit more "plasticy".
2. The differences in photo comparisons. Shooting with the same ISO, aperture, shutter, etc. settings, I felt that the D5000 produced more vivid pictures...pictures more to my liking. I felt the Canon was a bit softer and didn't produce as vivid pictures.
3. I also felt that the D5000 produced less noise at the higher ISO levels...anything above 800.
4. Articulating LCD, I saw the many awesome uses for it. I love taking pictures and different angles, including high and low and felt that I could do so easier with the D5000. Although, the T1i's LCD is simply GORGEOUS in person.
5. GUI, I simply didn't like the T1i's user interface.
6. The D5000 seems to be more geared towards helping the casual/new photographers, such as more built-in scenes, and more focal points. My wife finds the scenes EXTREMELY useful because she simply doesn't care to learn about learning photography.

The above comments are my own feelings on why I bought the D5000. The T1i definitely had it's advantages as well, higher resolution LCD, 1080p, lighter, etc. Believe me, I thought about both camera's for a long time, but finally decided on the D5000. You really can't go wrong with either.

In addition, for those who are fanatics about photography you will be happy to know that my brother in law is a professional photographer, and has raved about the D5000. He has spent some time with the D5000 and loves the capabilities of this "beginner camera" (as he calls it). He uses multiple DSLR's including a Nikon D3x, and has told me the D5000 is a great camera to add to your collection.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent All in One SLR Camera
By SaraVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 5/29/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Wonderful camera. I love the fact that I can now take video on top of pictures with the same great quality! I love the handling of the camera. The VR lens it comes with is great! Options are easy.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Times!!
By DarkStar 619Verified Purchaser from San Diego CA on 5/28/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Landscape, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Before making this purchase I did a lot of research. A friend that worked in the photo department at Sea World told me about this new model. I am very happy with the functionaliy of this camera. It takes great pictures. I was told that this camera will take the ugly people out of the pictures and replace them with good looking people... LOL.I am very pleased with this camera so far. I am not sure yet how I feel about the arm that allows for movement of the LCD screen. The design is unique. I understand that it could come in handy if I was trying to take pictures at strange differnet angles. However, I am not sure that this specific feature is all that importatnt for me specifically. However, I think I am just nervous that I may do something dumb and damage this. Luckilly this issue is easily remedied by simply using it as normal and leaving it spun around and displayed the "normal" way. Bottom line, it takes great photos with all settings. The manual is simple to understand and I really would reccomend this camera to anyone.

 
Considerable improvement from D40x
By JcandanVerified Purchaser from Monterrey, Mexico on 5/27/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Video Quality
Best Uses:
Landscape, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Powerful camera at an affortable price.
Video capabilities are ok for basic recordings.

 
Simply Brilliant
By Leah from Oxon Hill, MD on 5/27/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Nothing
Best Uses:
Art, Dance Competition, Fun, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

For fun, sports and family time.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent camera
By EriccioVerified Purchaser from Pasadena, MD on 5/27/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This is my first DSLR and I am completely satisfied with this camera. Since I am new to the DSLR world the on camera information makes this camera easy to understand and use without having to break out the manual. I am still exploring and learning all the great features of this camera.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Camera, still like the D80 better
By dolphink13Verified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PA on 5/26/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Great Image Quality, Like the live view, Like the swivel LCD, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I own Minolta, Olympus and Nikon both digital and film. I have also tried a friends Canon. I do like the camera, it is smaller than my D80 and therefore easier to travel with. I purchased it for the smaller footprint and the higher MP but I find the shutter is louder and not as smooth as the D80. It does take good photos and the video capability is nice. When using the auto focus it is a bit slower than my D80 but manual focus works well. The D80 is also better in lower light situations. I do like the camera and will use it for specific situations but I have to say I still like my D80 better, planning to buy the D3 before the end of the year to use as my main camera with the other 2 for more casual uses. I think it is a good camera for those who want the good quality photo's in a camera with less fuss - good for someeone starting out with DSLRs.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Camera for All Trips
By Alan the Nature WalkerVerified Reviewer from Stuart, Virginia on 5/26/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Reliable and Affordable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Nature and Wildlife Shoot, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I have won local and state awards with the D5000 and have been accused of being a Semi-pro Photographer. I have borrowed this camera from a friend and I must have one now for myself. Did you ever go to a part of the world you may never see again in your lifetime? The D5000 insures that you can capture all the personality and memories in picture and movies without worry.

Images shared by: Alan the Nature Walker

Peggy's Cove

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Test Run Memorial Day '09
By lmillertVerified Reviewer from Flint, Michigan on 5/26/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I gave this camera a trial run in Eaton Rapids, Michigan on Memoial Day. They have a long parade each year. Last year I used my Sony which is a great camera; but this D5000 realy outpaced. I used mainly Auto and with the parade moving pretty fast at times, the D5000 kept up. I only have the original battery and left with a full charge. I took about 225 pictures and the battery still shows full bars. I mainly used the view finder because of the sunlight and wanted to conserve the battery. When I uploded the SD to Picasa 3 was I suprised. The detail on the Auto shots were great. I can't wait to use depth of field and all the built in funcitons.

Images shared by: lmillert

VMW Memorial

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Look South on Saginaw St. Flint, Mi

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
This camera works Great.
By The DJVerified Purchaser from Minnesota on 5/26/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I use this product for all types of photos at my DJing service, travel, kids sports.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Happy
By Outback from Vancouver, WA on 5/25/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Primary uses are portrait and nature photography.

Great Scene Modes (by far more than most). I particularly like Nikon's Raw mode (NEF) when combined with JPEG. You get the best of both worlds.

Only complaints are
1)when shooting in Live View the focus is very slow - but its still a nice feature when needed.
2)If you shoot from a shaded position into bright sunlight using the auto mode your photos will consistently be over exposed.
3)Unlike a lot of cameras in this class / price range it does not provide a control for a slave /off camera flash.

Images shared by: Outback

BattleGround Lake Trail 5/24/09

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for novices who want to be experts
By the birthday girl from chattanooga, tennessee on 5/24/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I got this camera for my birthday after years of complaining about my point-and-shoot. I wanted a camera that took better quality pictures and had a faster shutter speed. This camera does it all and more! Not to mention we don't need a camcorder now (it truly does it all)! I am a beginner photographer using all auto settings who wants to learn how to shoot manually and this is the perfect camera to do just that! Thanks sweetie!

[3 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best small Shot.
By AudiVerified Reviewer from Villa Rica ,GA on 5/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

For more flex & lite the power you get for such a little price low noise the you get with the nikon and the pictures are out standing" this is one of the best and i should know i was shoting with a Alpha 100k by (S) you know.

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
d5000 the best
By lourdesVerified Purchaser from toa alta PR on 5/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

i use this one for all now, fast and photos are clear

[6 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to use and takes great pictures
By DavidVerified Reviewer from Mountain View, CA on 5/12/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality
Cons:
Poor In Low Light, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I've been shooting with this camera for a little over a week now. This is my first DSLR and I've found using this camera and navigating the menu very easy. I enjoy shooting with this camera but have found it takes a long time snapping pictures in low-light. You also must hold the camera very still even after you hear the shutter click or you will get some blurry low-light images. Additionally, I'm finding that my pictures on auto with this camera as compared to the new Canon T1i come out darker and that the colors seem sharper in the Canon.

Images shared by: David

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Camera
By Mad HadderVerified Purchaser from Gilbert, AZ on 5/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I have only begun to tap into what this camera can do and so far I have been amazed. It is easy to use and is perfect for just about anyone. The only downfall is that the auto focus takes some time in lower light situations as would be expected so if you are planning on taking lots of shots in a short time, might want to throw it in manual focus.

[4 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon D5000 is the best!
By HollowVerified Purchaser from Tallahassee on 5/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Couldn't have asked for a better product. Its simply THE BEST!

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this camera!
By KarenRVerified Purchaser from Naples, FL on 5/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I have only had this camera for 2 weeks but truly love it! My daughter and I have been having fun with it. So easy to learn with GREAT results!

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Novice Camera
By GerardVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 5/11/2009
Pros:
180-degree swivel screen, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, HD Video, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
No internal AF motor, Plastic body, Poor Camera Strap
Best Uses:
Art, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I use the D5000 as an everyday camera as well as for art photos. I shoot outdoors a lot here in NYC, and this camera is small and lightweight enough that it isn't too hard to carry.
It's not as feature-packed as the D90, but its a solid camera for the $$.
I would recommend really paying attention to the strap. It's not very good quality and has a tendency to slip off if you are not careful. I managed to fix mines so that it's basically locked into place.

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great I love it
By MassVerified Purchaser from New York on 5/10/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Very Good Beginner Camera

[2 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Camera I've ever had
By Mia MendozaVerified Reviewer from Miami, FL on 4/26/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Zoom, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday Photos, Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

Great Camera

[4 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome features!
By AllisonVerified Reviewer from Fort Myers, FL on 4/25/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use, Flexible screen, Nice Features and Settings
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

This camera looks like it is a good combination of easy to use and semi-professional. I love the new flip screen, great feature! And the auto-modes are great, easy to use for quick pictures!

[4 of 36 customers found this review helpful]

 
How Wonderful!!!!!
By jVerified Reviewer from Florida on 4/14/2009
Pros:
Quality Construction
Best Uses:
Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Power User
Primary use:
Business
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX NIKKOR Lens:

I have been waiting Nikon!!! Sony has one out already but it has more 14.2mp. I love Nikon. I will get one when they are released. I love all the features and is easy to find lenses.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.