Buy the PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom image
 
(based on 30 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Featured Digital Cameras and Electronics
The Ultimate Zoom and a Whole Lot More. The ultra-powerful 12x optical zoom on the PowerShot S5 IS means you''ll get the shot you want with no compromise, yet that''s only the beginning of what makes this camera so exciting. The S5 IS is loaded with many of Canon''s latest advanced technologies including the DIGIC III Image Processor, so both still images and movies are rendered with fine detail and luminous clarity. And now ambitious photographers have even greater creative latitude thanks to an included hot shoe adapter that allows you to attach Canon Speedlite EX Series external flashes.

Full-featured, compact 8.0 Megapixel digital camera with a 12x Optical Zoom

Big Impact in a Compact Package - Full-featured, compact 8.0 Megapixel digital camera with a 12x Optical Zoom. PowerShot S5 IS is compact and portable, with streamlined controls and a sure, steady grip. And you''ll want to take it everywhere, because inside is a level of photographic power that''s truly impressive. 8.0 megapixels ensure deeply detailed images - giving you complete freedom to enlarge an image or any section of an image and crop to your exact specifications. The 12x optical zoom brings this compact digital camera into the realm of serious photography. It has the power to take you right up onto the stage and into the end zone for the shot you really want. Zooming is fast and silent thanks to the ultrasonic motor drive.

Catch Them in Motion: Canon Optical Image Stabilizer Technology and ISO 1600 for steady shooting. Life doesn''t give you second chances to capture special times. That''s why the elegant PowerShot S5 IS is equipped with Canon''s acclaimed Optical Image Stabilizer Technology that automatically detects and corrects camera shake - one of the leading causes of fuzzy or blurred shots. So now even when you''re zooming in tight, you can get the steady, crisp, brilliant images you''ll be proud to shoot and share. And Canon''s Optical Image Stabilizer Technology is so convenient to use. It functions perfectly with or without a flash.

The PowerShot S5 IS features new ISO 1600 and High ISO Auto settings that reduce the effects of camera shake and sharpen subjects in low-light situations, giving you greater flexibility for shooting.

DIGIC III Image Processor with improved Face Detection Technology and Red-eye Correction for even better image quality and functionality. Canon Technology Maximizes Quality and Performance.

With DIGIC III, you get images of superior quality, the camera functions at top efficiency and battery life is significantly enhanced. What''s more, DIGIC III enables Canon''s newly-improved Face Detection Technology and Red-eye Correction to give you better, more true-to-life people shots. Simply press the shutter button halfway down and the PowerShot S5 IS automatically pinpoints the faces in the scene and chooses the ideal focus point. To keep every face looking bright and natural - without scary red eyes - the camera controls exposure settings and flash, so every shot is just what you were shooting for.

DIGIC III features Face Detection AF/AE, which finds multiple faces in the frame and sets the most suitable focus point when the shutter button is pressed halfway. And an additional new feature, Face Detection FE adjusts the flash based on a person''s face on the screen. Exposure and flash are controlled to ensure proper illumination of both the faces and the overall scene, eliminating the common problem of darkened or overexposed faces.

Red-eye Correction detects and automatically corrects red-eye during playback for both regular and flash photography. In unusual cases where red-eye is not automatically detected, it can easily be corrected manually during playback mode.

iSAPS Technology is an entirely original scene-recognition technology developed for digital cameras by Canon. Using an internal database of thousands of different photos, iSAPS works with the fast DIGIC III Image Processor to improve focus speed and accuracy, as well as exposure and white balance.

High-resolution 2.5-inch vari-angle LCD for easy shooting at any angle - The camera''s 2.5-inch LCD screen gives you the big picture, whether you''re shooting, reviewing or showing off your images. This high-resolution screen offers a crisp, clear picture to make shooting, playback and using the camera''s menu functions especially convenient. Clear and bright, it also features Night Display for easy viewing in low light.

The Creative Freedom You''ve Wanted - Hot shoe adapter for the Speedlite EX Series external flashes. Advanced users and anyone looking to expand their photographic repertoire will be excited to find that Canon has integrated the PowerShot S5 IS with a hot shoe adapter. The adapter lets you quickly and easily add one of several high-quality Canon Speedlite EX Series external flashes, including 220EX, 430EX, 580EX and 580EX II. Adding an external flash allows for advanced creative effects and greatly enhances your ability to achieve professional-quality results in many more situations. Flash intensity and other settings are easily accessed and controlled from the camera''s LCD screen.

A Variety of Movie-Making Options - Shoot easy movies with movies capable of 30 fps VGA or 60 fps QVGA. Also a convenient to use Movie Button, never having to switch to a shooting mode

With a highly flexible movie mode, you can create the movie that''s perfect for any application. Select from VGA (640 x 480 pixels) with frame rates of 30 fps and 30 fps LP, also QVGA (320 x 240 pixels) with frame rates of 60 fps and 30 fps for recording up to 1 hour or 4GB. With the S5 IS, seamless movie shooting is easy ? just by pressing the Movie Button without switching to shooting mode. The PowerShot S5 IS supports the USB 2.0 Hi-Speed standard, so you''ll enjoy the fastest possible data transfer speeds when using a USB 2.0 Hi-Speed compatible computer.

With 22 Shooting Modes including 9 Special Scene Modes, you''re ready for whatever shot comes your way.

Shooting Modes - Advanced presets for the best possible photos under certain conditions

  • Auto: The camera chooses all the settings so you can concentrate on your subject.
  • P Program: Access advanced exposure compensation features while shooting mostly automatically.
  • Av Aperture-priority: You define the aperture to either isolate your subject or have clarity throughout the entire picture, and the camera will choose the corresponding shutter speed.
  • Tv Shutter-priority: You select the shutter speed to stop or blur action, and the camera finds the appropriate aperture. With slow exposure times, Canon''s noise reduction system activates to ensure low image noise.
  • Manual: The ultimate in creative control, you set ISO speed, exposure compensation and white balance.
  • C Custom: Define and store your own settings to achieve the effects you prefer.
  • Portrait: The camera sets a large aperture, focusing the subject and artistically blurring the background to make your subject pop.
  • Landscape: For front to back sharpness, the camera sets a small aperture.
  • Sports: Ensure highly accurate autofocusing when shooting fast-moving subjects.
  • Night Snapshot: Get natural-looking pictures with brighter backgrounds and subjects lit by flash.
  • Super Macro: Close to almost touching distance to capture the subject detail.
  • Stitch Assist: Build awe-inspiring panoramas by neatly aligning sequential images.
  • Movie: Shoot in VGA (30 fps/30 fps LP) and QVGA (60 fps/30 fps) for up to 1 hour or 4GB).
Special Scene Mode
  • Night Scene: For impressive sunset or nightlife shots, the camera properly exposes the background and uses slow-sync flash for the subject.
  • Foliage: Capture brilliant shots of autumn foliage, greenery and blossoms.
  • Snow: Shoot clear snow scenes without darkened subjects or an unnatural bluish tint.
  • Beach: Get clear shots of people at a sunny beach without darkened faces.
  • Fireworks: Grab brilliant images of skyrocketing fireworks.
  • Aquarium: Achieve proper flash-free exposure and natural hues at indoor aquariums.
  • Indoor: Reduce blur and improve color accuracy when shooting handheld indoors.
  • Color Accent: Choose to retain a single color in your image while other colors turn monochrome.
  • Color Swap: Select a color and replace it with a color you specify for special effects.

Print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloading, plus ID Photo Print and Movie Print with select PIXMA Photo Printers, CP and SELPHY Compact Photo Printers

The Complete Print Solution - Print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloading, plus ID Photo Print and Movie Print with select PIXMA Photo Printers, CP and SELPHY Compact Photo Printers.

The PowerShot S5 IS''s Print/Share button makes direct printing easier than ever. Simply connect the S5 IS to a Canon CP, SELPHY or PIXMA Photo Printer or any PictBridge compatible photo printer, press the lighted Print/Share button and print! Also use the Print/Share button to transfer images to a computer (Windows and Macintosh).

Direct Photo Printers - For desktop large-format printing, try one of the Direct Photo Printers that allow you to print without a computer in one of two ways: plug your compatible PowerShot camera into the Direct Photo Printer using the supplied USB interface cable, or simply insert a memory card into the supplied adapter. You can also connect the printer to your computer for more options. Print high-resolution, borderless images as postcards or 8.5 x 11 in. sheets within minutes.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 30 reviews)
93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(6), Easy to setup(6), Large clear LCD(25), Quiet(14), Short lag time(12)
Best Uses:
Art(11), Documentary(5), Family photos(3), Fun(24), Outdoors(3)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(4), Enthusiast(22)
 
has great potential
By AshleyVerified Purchaser from Arlington, VA on 10/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Plastic body
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

After four years, a dozen countries, thousands of photos and a few tumbles, it was time to replace my trusty Canon PowerShot S50. I needed a new compact digital camera with the S50’s versatility. I shoot mainly on auto, but occasionally like to get creative with manual functions.

I choose this camera over the Canon PowerShot G9 because the G9 wasn’t hands friendly. The S5IS has a much better grip, although its bulk makes dropping it in my purse or camelbak difficult. The lens cap also falls off easily.

The most frustrating thing about the S5IS is that the focus is locked to center making it harder to manipulate the depth of field. Too many photos come out blurry. The camera focuses on the background when I’m trying to take a foreground shot, or vice versa. Even with a center only focus, I should be able to put the focus box on my subject, hold the shutter button half way and then move the camera to frame the shot I want. . . . but that doesn’t work very well with this camera!

Sometimes I feel like I’m fighting with the camera. For example, last week I was taking birthday photos on auto with plenty of natural light in the room. Just as the wrapping paper started to fly, the camera “froze up”. I kept pushing the shutter button, but it wouldn’t take a photo. It took several attempts before the green focusing box showed up on the screen and the camera took the picture.

When reviewing your photos, it’s important to remember that once you’ve zoomed in, the view stays zoomed even when you toggle to another photo. The first time I used the S5IS, I took about 10 shots of a male cardinal on a white picket fence and only one focused correctly on the bird. While editing on the camera, I zoomed in on one of the bad shots, then flipped to another photo. Because the view stayed zoomed, I deleted my perfect shot. Lesson learned!

This camera has several great features: hot shoe on top, swivel LCD to make better Hail Mary shots and high optical zoom. Plus I’m looking forward to experimenting with the special scene settings. It runs on four AA batteries and has a decent battery life. You can turn off the digital zoom to prevent accidental use. The timer is customizable up to 30 seconds and will take up to 10 shots about a second apart. You can even use the custom timer on zero seconds to take multiple shots quickly. If I hadn’t been spoiled with the S50’s amazing focus abilities, I’d probably think this was a great compact digital.

Overall this is not the best camera for me, but it has potential. Keep in mind, that if you’re not trying to shoot a butterfly with blurred foliage in the background, you probably won’t have all the focus issues I’ve experienced. So, if you’re looking for an everyday versatile point and shoot that you can pretty much operate with one hand, I recommend taking a look at the S5IS.

Images shared by: Ashley

buzz buzz

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using optical zoom, Made with Product

A snacking squirrel.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using optical zoom, Made with Product

 
Great camera
By Doyle FarmVerified Purchaser from Kentucky on 8/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

I use this camera to capture movement of my sale horses and also still shots to show their conformation and color. It seems to be the choice of cameras among the equine sales world. Most breeders I know use this model and get great results. Perfect for quick movement shots. This model was recomended highly to me and I would recomend it as well.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Still using S2 IS...
By Paparazzi Grandma StarVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 8/10/2008
Pros:
Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
All around, Art, Family Photos, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

Based on my nearly three years with the PowerShot S2 IS, and given all the additional bells & whistles added to this version, combined with price per feature/quality, it would be extremely difficult to see how you could go wrong with this camera. I'm drooling!

I use mine for people & pet shots, landscape shots, flora/fauna shots, weather shots, art-type shots... everything. Earned the moniker "Paparazzi Grandma" with my S2!

The only thing I've ever complained about with the camera is the lens cap. HOWEVER, after using it for this long and seeing how frequently I turn the camera on without taking the cap off first, I am SO glad it pops off so easily!!! I would have ruined the zooming lens by now if it didn't release so easily. I keep the original cap tethered to my neck strap for use when storing the camera where it stays on just fine.

When actually using the camera I've invested in the LA-DC58E Conversion Lens Adapter, a 58mm circular polarizer filter, a generic snap-on lens cap over that with a second cap leash. I get even better photos with the polarizer and it protects both my lens and the zoom action in use. The Canon Adapter pops off easily for storage in my rather small camera bag and then I pop on the original cap to protect the main lens.

If the comments about the loose lens cap concerns you, I would ask you to consider this solution unless you use your camera very casually and infrequently. I lived with the cap that came with mine for about a year before it made me crazy. About that time I started using the camera a lot more and have been even more pleased with the quality of my shots with this work around... it actually improved my photos. The only reason I would part with my S2 is to upgrade to a newer version of this camera, but I can't justify a new camera when my S2 still takes such phenomenal photos, [sniff-cry].

As for batteries, I use rechargeable 2500 NiMH. I normally do not need to change batteries during a day of shooting if I begin with fresh batteries. I've rarely changed fully-charged batteries more than twice per-long-session (2G card +) session.

If you are at all intimidated by all the features of this camera, I strongly suggest that you:

1. Read the included book that comes with your camera and really PLAY with the camera and its features. Its digital... it costs nothing to toss shots that didn't work as you'd like and you'll learn so much just messing with the features.
2. Invest in "PC Photo Digital Zoom Camera Handbook" by Rob Sheppard, ISBN 1579906532. Its a fast read, extremely useful, and minimizes or eliminates the overwhelmed feeling you might feel when moving up from a point-shoot camera.

I've considered investing in a D-SLR. I simply cannot justify the expense when this gives me so much for such a reasonable cost and is so much easier to use while providing plenty of creative options and controls. IF I went pro, I MIGHT consider a D-SLR... but I've talked to so many pros that are using a version of this camera for precisely the same reasons I bought and use mine: No heavier than an SLR, (yes, it IS bigger than a point-shoot), I need very few "toys" to get maximum mileage... for AT LEAST 80% of the population and uses, this camera gets the job done in spades.

I also invested in a good tripod, Canon's telephoto and wide angle, a neutral density filter, and a bag to hold it all. I use Apple's Aperture 2 software for photo management and correction. At some point I'll add a graduated neutral density rectangular mount, a larger camera bag, and maybe a table top tripod of some sort. Other than upgrading to a newer version of this camera, I've got the best of all photography worlds.

If you can afford this camera, don't hesitate to buy it. If you are considering a D-SLR but are not a professional full-time photographer, (and maybe even if you are), I would strongly encourage you to consider this camera instead.

With all the added features Canon includes, save your money to buy a good tripod, the Canon Lens Adapter and Canon telephoto and wide angle adapters, a circular polarizer, a good high capacity NiMH battery recharger, 3 or 4 sets of rechargeable batteries, and a well padded bag to store it all for travel. I sincerely doubt you'll be disappointed once you master all the features this camera provides.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
SLR features without the lenses
By NancyVerified Purchaser from Bensalem, PA on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

I bought this camera to go along with my Rebel SLR. I also have a G3. This camera is all I use right now. I love my SLR, but don't always want to worry about which lens I need to bring with me. This gives me the optical zoom comparison to my 300 mm lens. I took both this and my SLR to baseball spring traing. No one could tell which pictures came from which camera. Doesn't get any better than that.

Images shared by: Nancy

Phillies Spring Training

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Incredible Zoom Effects
By DunBlakVerified Purchaser from San Cristobal de Las Casas, Mexico on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

Excellent capability but flash eats up batteries, worst lens cap design ever seen, a little bulky but assume zoom requires that...full zoom requires a tripod for focused photos...a good camera at a fair price that needs some more design work.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Packed with Features
By Travelin' 'roundVerified Reviewer from Colorado Springs, CO on 7/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Location of Memory Card
Best Uses:
Art, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

We were in the market for something beyond the average point and shoot cameras. This camera caught our attention because of its DSLR appearance and the solid feel it has in hand. We were immediately impressed by the crisp and clear pictures that the S5 took right out of the box on auto. If you are shooting a lot of pictures of people you won't be disappointed here. It has a special focus feature that finds humans faces that makes taking those kinds of shots a breeze. The Macro and Super Macro mode take phenomenal photos that will make any ametuer proud. We have enjoyed this S5 so much that it has drawn us into the world of digital photography to the point we are pursuing it as a hobby now. There are too many positive features to name here in this review but some you will like in addition to those mentioned are the Image Stabilization Lens, Color Accent Mode, Video Mode that allows you to take pictures, Button Placement, movable LCD and much more.
The things I don't like are the amount of noise above 200 ISO, the battery compartment and the location of the memory card. These are such minor things though that don't even matter to me.
You won't go wrong with the S5.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice step up from my older Lumix FZ1
By WimbearlyVerified Reviewer from Red Lion, PA on 7/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Hefty feellike pro equip, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
A lot of buttons to learn, Battery indicator should
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Super movie mode, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

I am an artist, traveler, and person who finds great relaxation in picture taking. I mostly Store the Images on my computer but the composition, especially in nature is something that speaks to my soul. Playing texture and color off each other and the abilty to zoom in and crop out unwanted element are all important to me. This camera has great scene options to help create beautiful pictures but a decent Auto mode as well. I love the movable LCD for assisting in awkward picture taking locations like over your head! The movie mode with zoom is awesome for catching action on the fly especially with the dedicated red button on the back which avoids using the the selection wheel in times of quick need. I found the wealth of buttons a bit daunting at first.... and reading the books a necessity.....like when face detection was coming and going and needed to be selected by the "set" button to switch focusing modes. I found the review display time a bit long after pictures were taken so I turned that off in favor of manually reviewing the shots so I do not miss action, rather than depressing the shutter halfway to eliminate the image. Yes, the lense cap comes off easily.... but I have already started the camera three times and forgotten to remove it... so I have not hurt my camera :) So will deal with that annoyance. I adore the vari angle LCD and after holding a few of the similar cameras the heft this one makes me feel like I am NOT holding a toy! All in all after searching the web for reviews, this camera got thumbs up from most every source on the majority of fronts, with the exception of RAW, which I would not use and the lense cap, which I can deal with. As far as ISO distortion, every camera I read about seemed to have the same issues at higher ISO levels and some of them can provide double what this one does. So I figure If I want a memory shot I will deal with the distortion and use the higher levels, and even my digital zoom...... I went to Alaska a few years back with a 3X optical camera and had pin dots for memories of even large wildlife.... no more!!!!!!! Came home and bought the Panasonic. Now I have zoom pictures even of birds and butterflies and if they occasionally pixelated... I still KNEW I was there and can see something. My Panasonic got to 36x with the digital and this to 48x. Cannot wait for another chance to play in the wild and see what this new camera will do! Did a zoo the other day with some great results! My only complaint is the lack of a constant view of battery consumption. I use the viewfinder and seeing the little flasher toward the end of the battery life is a problem for me. I have run out twice...It tells you then..... in big letters REPLACE BATTERY!!!!!! It is I am sure easier for LCD users.... but if you are snapping away and looking at the composition that little symbol is HARD to see.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just a Fantastic Camera for the money.
By SharkflossVerified Reviewer from S.W. Florida on 6/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fun to use, Strong Construction
Cons:
Easily overcome see notes
Best Uses:
Fun, NATURE, Pets, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

This camera is a tough one to knock in any way. Right out of the box it is a pleasure to use. The photos are sharp if taken properly. Now for those who have knocked the fact that the lens cap comes off easily. First of all that is to protect the zoom mechanism. This can be eliminated by purchasing a LA-DC58E Conversion Lens Adapter for the camera. Not only does it allow a better hold on the camera for zooming it also lets you put on a haze or UV filter to protect your lens. A secure 58mm lens cap would then be used to protect the filter and lens. Not much of a big deal for such a fine camera. You would have to pay a great deal more and probably not ever use all the extras that a SLR might have over this camera. Great deal for the money!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera: Spectacular Image Quality
By PC CameraVerified Reviewer from Connecticut on 5/10/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Great image quality, Image Stabilization, Mega zoom, Movie mode, Point and shoot ease, Useful features
Cons:
Electronic viewfinder, No battery pack, Raise flash manually
Best Uses:
Animals, Fun, Nature, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

I would suggest this camera to any point and shoot enthusiast looking to expand to something a little more serious. This camera has a good amount of zoom and the image results highly exceeded my expectations.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ideal choice
By Mom on the runVerified Reviewer from Parkton, Maryland on 4/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Protected LCD, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

I've been researching this product for months and using my father's identicle camera for weeks now, in order to make a final decision. I'm thrilled to say [after what I thought was a good selection 1 1/2 years ago of a different product] that this camera is by far the best out there for families on the move with vacations, sports and rapidly growing kids. It cradles comfortably in my hand and I don't feel like I could drop it if one of my kids startled or bumped into me. The rotational LCD is an excellent great protective design where kids are concerned. My kids cannot scratch the LCD if its folded closed, versus other exposed LCD's. The S5 IS operates so smoothly its remarkable. Thanks Canon, I just bought my very own and don't have to share anymore!!!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
WONDERFUL CAMERA
By Katie from Fort Atkinson, WI on 4/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

I use the camera to take pictures of my family! I bought the camera for the purpose of saving money from going to places like Sears to get my kids pictures done! It has done the job so far, I have not been to Sears in over a year and my kids have professional looking pictures!

Images shared by: Katie

The Sunset of Family Silhouette

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
What a Great Camera!
By Tad from Utah on 4/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to hold, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

My primary camera is a 20D which I love! I bought the S5 as a portable camera to use for travel and work (Engineering). The S5 has surprised me with its power and flexibility. It offers a whole lot of features with an easy to justify cost. Perfect for a Varity of needs in a not to small body!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Camera
By Resha from TN on 3/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Lens cap falls of easily
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

I love this camera. I am so glad that I chose to purchase this one. This camera produces professional pictures at a fraction of the price.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice camera for the money
By KimVerified Reviewer from CA on 3/23/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great zoom, Quiet
Cons:
Lens cap comes off, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

Nice picture quality, had [...] focusing problems in two cameras!

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Vacation Camera
By TrumpVerified Reviewer from Upstate New York on 2/19/2008
Pros:
Great Images
Cons:
To Many Directions
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

This camera has everything you need to take great photos. I upgraded from the S2 and find the photos to be excellent

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT CAMERA BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
By mr.man camera man from vermont on 2/17/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, LIghtweight, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Family friends, Fun, Skatevideos
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

i use it for skate videos and its fast and easy to handle the best camera ever but its hard to find lenses but its great currently i dont have any lenses/flashes or anyother ascesoriys

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Pleased with this Cam
By Dave the GeoCache SeekerVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 2/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Excellent IS, Flip LCD, Menu Structure is Fast, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens Cap downer, No S-video plug on cable
Best Uses:
Events, Family, Fun, Geo Caching, Kids Programs, Kids Sports, Skiing, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

I've owned the Canon S5-IS for a month now. I've used it in Snow, Fog at the ocean, swimming events, programs, sunny & overcast days. I am very pleased and satisfied with my choice.

The day time images are outstanding and this camera works great in Auto mode, but I far prefer the control I have in Manual modes. The flexibility is great. It's not quit up to DSLR like my DSLR, but its not nearly as bulky, and its quick to turn on and shoot.

In darker rooms it does get noisy at 400+. I do get very usable and great pictures with flash. Overriding Auto helps tremendously as well and rewards me with brighter/cleaner images. On the other hand in a gym for my sons Speed Stacking event I shot in Manual mode (400, florescent, wide Pic mode) and the close ups and 80' away zoom shots turned out absolutely outstanding. I shot video as well in video mode and it to turned out as good as my camcorder!

I like to use the Wide Pic mode at high resolution as the pics look super good and they look really nice on my HD tv and provides a nicer non-boxy look providing a little more width but is not as tall, kinda like a 16x9 aspect ratio (it may be that I haven't look closely at the pixel count in this mode yet). Canon really needs to add a S-video plug to the Video/TV cable.

My criteria in my camera search was two fold; Quality Pics and Usable Video. I did a lot of internet and in store research comparing features and pricing. For under $400 I think this is the best all around camera currently available.

* Pics - to get bright,crisp photos of nature, family, the great outdoor in a quick responding smaller body camera, with a crisp LCD. Lots of features so I (we) can continue to learn. The S5-IS meets these needs easily, and the easy access buttons manually tweak is awesome - I hate menu driven features that are hard to find.

* Video - I wanted clean, AVI or MPEG4 video that would fill in for those times I don't want to haul around my camcorder with a zoomable lens while shooting. Canon wins this category hands down and with the stereo audio - it is a total winner in this category. Next model Canon needs to make the video MPEG4 and HD compliant specs.

I also personally like the non auto flash pop up - where it makes you the user pull it up. To me it helps keep it a more user driven camera, allowing to quickly determine if you want to pop it up or go deeper in manual user overrides to get the effects you want. Hey, isn't it telling you in Big Green Letter to raise the flash enough! - I think so.

All and all I (we) are very happy and satisfied with our purchase. I feel I got my moneys worth of value from this camera, but a larger chip and a 10MP with a wider angle and slightly tighter zoom lens will help a lot.

Like others though, I must admit the lens cap is a bummer. I understand making it easier for the lens to pop it off upon power up, but its just to loose - yet this is a super minor challenge that shouldn't prevent you from buying this camera.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
this camrea rawks
By mr.man from somewere on 2/9/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Very fast
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun, Skateboard videos, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

its easy to use and great quality and very easy to use i use it for skate videos

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fun Camera
By rbakerVerified Reviewer from Salisbury, NC on 1/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Lots of features, Quiet, Strong Construction, Zoom
Cons:
Noisy at above ISO 100, Slow autofocus indoors
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

This is a good looking, fun, well built camera with lots of features. However, it often times hunts too long to find focus indoors and has noisier images than my Rebel XT. Overall, outdoor photos are nearly perfect. I would use my Rebel indoors.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By Budding PhotagrapherVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia, PA on 1/7/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, USER FRIENDLY
Cons:
Not easy to change lenses
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscapes, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

The camera is all around great. It feels great in the hands and is quite varistile. I like the several different ways to view the picture before you take it. It is also easy to switch between features with just a press of a button. I would like to have a faster shutter speed, but that is not very important.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Grandson was 7 in Dec & uses my Canon!
By "Starr ~~ The Dreamer "Verified Reviewer from Jonesboro,Georgia on 12/25/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

After purchasing an expensive DSLR camera, I decided that I wanted another one that would be similar yet less complicated to use. After many trips to "play with the various cameras" and decide on what "feels right in my hands, this camera has the features I wanted that are closest to the DSLR at a much more reasonable price.
I was amazed at the Canon S5IS and purchased it in November just in time for Thanksgiving Family photos. I made a GREAT choice in my purchase as it has the most features of the DSLR. It is a nice size,great feel and the photos are the quality of the more expensive DSLR which I enjoy as well.
After reading the book and actually taking photos with all the settings that are available, this is an awesome camera! The posibilities are nearly endless with each setting. With several 2 GB memory cards, I've yet to fill up 1 memory card, however I change the card to save my pictures until I get back home to save them to CD & add them to my computer & print the ones I choose to frame or share.
"Christmas 2007 and my grandson's 7th birthday" He was interested in taking photos so we read the book while using each feature and he took some awesome photos all by himself.
The movie feature is excellent quality & sound. The zoom is great just as the macro feature.
The selection of the "face" is very clear & the "boxes" around the subjects face are an asset because you're sure to capture perfect photos of each person in the picture.
This is the best quality camera with the most features that I've found yet!
Photos taken with the Canon S5IS compared to the DSLR have been taken and laid side by side ~~ no one can see the difference between the 2!

I think the persons patience, knowledge and experimenting with all of the features will enhance their use of this camera. If a 7 yr. old can read the book,understand the features and take quality photos, I think anyone can!
This is a complicated camera ONLY if you don't take the time to read,experiment and learn ALL of the features and how to correctly use them.
I would recommend this camera to everyone and I'm happy to say that I use it 99% of the time over all other cameras I have!
The lens cap ~~ if you simply squeeze the 2 sides as you are attaching it to the lens, it will stay on!
I have used both re-chargable batteries and the "AA" batteries which are an asset to have as a back-up and find that they last as long as my 2GB memory card that's had at least 350 photo's on it so far with room for more!
I rate this camera a 10+ on a scale of 1-10 ... BUY IT and enjoy the beauty of your photos!
~~ I will be purchasing this camera for my grandson for his 1st grade graduation in June 2008!~~~
The use of this camera is as easy as you want it to be ~~ read the instruction booklet and experiment a lot and you'll be amazed at the great photos!

My ONLY dissapointment: There isn't a backpack camera bag that is made especially for this camera however, you CAN find one that fits and has room for any additional accessories you may buy for this camera.
Happy Photo's To All!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great System Powerful Pictures!
By BartskiVerified Reviewer from San Francisco CA on 12/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, No interchangeable lenses
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

When I became disabled 15 years ago, I had to give up photography as I just couldn't afford the film and developing. At the time I owned a Rebel. I just now got back into photography and can't believe the advances in the technology. The S5 IS is far more advanced than my old Rebel. I wanted a Rebel, but didn't want to lug around lenses and accessories any more. I bought the S5 IS reluctantly thinking I would be sorry. It far exceeded my expectations!

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic camera for a great deal!
By Hiking and Biking from Allentown, PA on 11/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Focus, Fast Zoom, Many features, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Outdoors, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

We hike a lot and it took better pictures than our trusty expensive 35mm that I would not have traded for the world before this one. It took a bit of reading to learn all of the functions, but it was definitely worth the buy! And DEFINITELY get the wide angle!

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great features! Very expandble too!
By dankarVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, PA on 11/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, External Flash capable, FilterLens add-ons, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

I bought this camera as a compromise between a DSLR and a digital point & shoot - as I was looking for a DSLR with similar features to my old Powershot-G2 (frame a live shot with multi-angle LCD, be able to use existing filters/lenses).
None of the "affordable" DSLR candidates had "live view" via LCD and none had a multi-angle LCD (for shooting over crowds/fences/etc).
My typical use is for zoos, museums, family events, etc. This camera is appealing because it allows an external Canon EX-series (E-TTL) flash to be mounted on it and I've also coupled the S5-IS with LensMateOnline .com's excellent 52mm/58mm adapters [which incidentally resolve the lenscap fall-off issue be replacing with a new cap]
FYI: my understanding of the "loose lenscap" issue is that Canon didn't want to force users to remember to remove it when powering the camera 'on' since the zoom lens extends - causing cap to pop off instead of mucking-up the zoom gears...
I've used the S5 at the beach and at indoor museums as well - definitely in the market for an external flash - NOTE: Ritz DOES sell a EX-compatible flash in the form of QB6550DCN (Quantaray) - will be taking my S5 to store this weekend and testing with it.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice camera for outdoor use
By Kim BradfordVerified Reviewer from Temecula, CA on 11/6/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
macro no good
Best Uses:
Fun, Outdoors, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

Nice camera for outside use, not great for indoor use, macro mode did not work well for me at all, very disappointing in that respect. Good otherwise.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent camera!!!
By JenVerified Reviewer from Santa Maria, CA on 10/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

This is by far the best camera I have ever owned! The quality of the photos are great and the camera is very user friendly. I showed this camera to my photojournalism instructor and even he was impressed with it - saying that this is a great camera to use when you don't want to lug around all your bulky and expensive equipment.

I disagree with the person that complained about the battery life - I use rechargable NiMi batteries and they last a long time between re-charges. I would absolutly recommend this camera to a friend!

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Photos for Non-Pro
By MelissaVerified Reviewer from Richmond, VA on 10/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Cons:
Lens Cap Falls Off
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

I have enjoyed learning to use this camera. In my opinion, it takes excellent photos. I t is also easy to use, but allows for creativity if you so desire. However, the lens cap does fall off and I have had a problem with memory card errors . . .but I hope that was a faulty memory card, not the camera. I bought it at full price and now the price has dropped [$] Bummer for me.

[9 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon improves on a good product.
By Jokers10Verified Reviewer from Altus, OK on 10/4/2007
Pros:
Entry level Prosumer, Just below Digital SLR
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
When in need of detail
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

This is not an attack on a fellow reviewer, but misinformation should be stopped. Review stated cons were "Poor Battery Life" and "Bulky". If you are still using alkalines in anything other than toys you need to read. Just because it fits a "doubleA" doesn't mean you should put in [$] worth of batteries and expect to get more than a memory cards worth of pictures. Lithium seems to be the way to go for long life, but I still use NiMH and get great results. It is bulky because of the features it supports. Namely the 12x optical zoom, and the flip out LCD. It was built to perform similar to an SLR without draining your wallet. Therefore making it slightly harder to use than your 1988 Poloroid. If you want simple and light, Canon makes those too, and they don't charge [$] for them. I am just surprised you knew how to use a computer enough to write a poor review on something you were so ill-informed about. That is all. Buy it [...]

[3 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
All show and no go!
By GramaNanaVerified Reviewer from Scottsdale, Arizona on 8/30/2007
Pros:
Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen
Cons:
Bad Battery Life, Heavy
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

This camera was a disappointment. Even the lens cap kept falling off! The doubleA batteries ~ NOT the way to go; this camera is bulky and it is definitely not user-friendly. I will return this one since it is in no way a "keeper".

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow The best camera Canon has made
By qnmamaVerified Reviewer from Winthrop, MA on 8/7/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
no cons
Best Uses:
Action sports, Night Time Photos, Panoramic
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera - 12X Optical Zoom:

This camera by far is the best one Canon has ever made. I would have paid double for camera from any other maker in order to even come close to the quality you will get with this camera.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.