Buy the Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red image
 
(based on 20 ratings)
Brand: Spellbinders
Located in: Dry Embossing
The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System is revolutionary in its design and function! Designed for use with Spellbinders Shapeabilities, Nestabilities, Edgeabilities, Embossing, and Cutting Dies (sold separately), this machine allows you to emboss any brass stencil. This machine includes 2 white master mats, a white spacer plate, a tan embossing pad, and a universal cutting mat. Maximum paper size is 5.75" wide.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.4 stars
(based on 20 reviews)
60% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(11), Easy to use(9), Good design(8), Long lasting(4), Quality materials(9)
Cons:
Cheap materials(3), Difficult to use(3), Poor design(4)
Best Uses:
Inside(5), Small jobs(8)
Describe Yourself:
Avid do-it-yourselfer(10), Budget shopper(3)
Primary use:
Personal(7)
 
Recommended for beautiful, quick cards
By Lynn the crafterVerified Purchaser from Livingston, WI on 11/7/2010
Pros:
Easy to Use
Cons:
Broke within a month
Best Uses:
Creative Projects, Embossing cards, Older Children
Describe Yourself:
Parent
Primary use:
Personal
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I bought two of these. Mine works great. My daughter's broke within a month. Spellbinders sent a replacement handle for free. The Wizard makes beautiful cards. Especially love the embossing. Folders are relatively inexpensive to buy. One drawback is you have to replace the magnetic sheet and the white "sandwich" boards almost yearly if you do a lot of die cutting. These can get expensive. But I love all the things a Wizard can do, so I highly recommend this machine.

 
Best purchase I made in a long time!
By Hoosier Card AngelVerified Purchaser from Bedford, IN on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Easy Storage, Easy to Use, Great Value, Sturdy, Versatile
Best Uses:
Arts and Crafts, Creative Projects, Die cutting and embossing, Older Children, Quilting, School, Young Children
Describe Yourself:
Parent
Primary use:
Personal
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I replaced my other die cutting machines with the Wizard. I am able to use all the dies of other machines without needing multiple machines to get the same beautiful designs.

 
Too loud and hard to crank
By Nana at homeVerified Reviewer from Sterling Heights, Michigan on 2/14/2010
Pros:
Durable, Lots of pressure, Quality Materials
Cons:
Poor Design, You need nerves of steel
Best Uses:
I am trying to sell mine
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

This product uses all of the dies from every other manufacturer and it's so easy to use. I just push and hold the toggle switch down to pull the whole works through and the machine does the work for me. The Spellbinders dies and the Nestabilities came out fantastic.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The wizard
By Yun Er Duo from China on 10/31/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Good Design, Quality Materials, Safety Features
Cons:
Cheap Materials
Best Uses:
Small Jobs
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

[...]

 
Great die machine
By LindaVerified Reviewer from Honey Brook, PA on 10/9/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Design, Quality Materials
Cons:
Has a learning curve
Best Uses:
Small Jobs
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I love my Wizard. I have had it for three years now, and it is a very well made machine. I have never had a problem with anything breaking. There is a learning curve to using this machine. With a little patience, you will be rewarded. This machine can cut, emboss, set eyelets, and works with all dies out there. It's really worth the money.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Have had a lot of problems with mine
By AngVerified Reviewer from California on 9/4/2009
Pros:
Durable, Quality Materials
Cons:
Difficult To Use, Poor Design
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I bought this product mid may and have not used it very often. My sandwich gets stuck all the time and the new dies do not cut all the way through. Even after rotating and passing through up to 6 times, this machine just does not do its job. I asked Spellbinders if there is a solution, and was told to place a light shim in with the die, which has caused the machine to get stuck on countless occasions. The reverse switch/lever is very difficult to switch over and the handle feels lose. Given that the product has a life time warranty I really feel that the company should be offering to replace this product. After many attempts to contact their Customer Service Dept I was merely told to spritz the paper/card stock and to rotate my dies.

i am still trying to get the designers to replace the product given that it has only been used 3 months and it has a life time warranty. Maybe I just have a one off faulty machine. I am more than happy to give it another go if the company will replace my product. The mats have roller indentations from getting stuck and I was only doing exactly what the manufacturer has advised me to do... and if can add .. very gently in doing so as I (unfortunately) paid a much higher price than Cameraworld is offering

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this machine!!
By Ali ScrapsVerified Reviewer from Chillicothe, Ohio on 7/17/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Good Design, Quality Materials
Best Uses:
Great for adding detail, Inside, Small Jobs
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

If you have trouble using the Wizard, please read the directions carefully. Use the correct sandwich "recipe" for the type die you are using. Spellbinders has a lot of good information and videos on their website. Check it out.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't bother
By DMVerified Reviewer from Dayton, OH on 6/2/2009
Cons:
Cheap Materials, Difficult To Use, Poor Design, Wears Out Quickly
Best Uses:
Embossing
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I found this machine very hard to use and the instructions useless. I think I got it working three times, then the reverse button broke. The few things I did turned out nicely but I definitely wouldn't recommend buying it.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE THIS PRODUCT!
By The Crafty EmbellisherVerified Purchaser from Hendersonville, NC on 5/12/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Good Design, Quality Materials
Best Uses:
Inside, Small Jobs
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I am new to the craft and investigated many similar machines but ultimately decided on the Wizard for it's versatility, beautiful die cuts and flexibility in using other brands of die cuts. The Wizard definitely delivers! I would recommend viewing the latest instructional video on the manufacturer's website before using the Raspberry Wizard. It only requires the white magnetic spacer plate.

 
Great for Crops
By AlismyhartVerified Purchaser from Bakersfield, CA on 4/15/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Good Design, Great for travel, Lightweight, Quality Materials
Best Uses:
Big Jobs, Inside, Small Jobs
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I love the compact size and ease of use. It took a couple of tries to get the hang of it. I haven't used my zip e'mate or big shot since I received my Wizard. It's compact and doesn't take up prime real estate on my craft table. That is a BIG PLUS for me. Other dies work easily with the Wizard allowing me a LOT of versatility at crops. Something every cardmaker/scrapbooker needs. I HIGHLY recommend this product.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wizard Die cutter
By LindaDFVerified Purchaser from Willow Spring, NC on 3/31/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Good Design, Quality Materials
Cons:
Tricky to learn at first
Best Uses:
Big Jobs, Inside, Small Jobs
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

The Wizard is a nice machine to use your nestabilities with. Its a little tricky at first to get the idea of use but once you get it, you will flow much faster.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this machine!
By DeniseVerified Purchaser from TX on 3/7/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Design
Cons:
Cheap Materials
Best Uses:
Small Jobs
Describe Yourself:
Novice
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

It works like a charm, and I've used it with Cuttlebug dies and embossing folders. One caveat: 2 days after I bought it, the ratchet in the arm broke. I removed the arm and the ratchet would not work. I called the company and they sent out a replacement arm, [...]. I don't know but think that the screw holding the arm might have been loose, thus causing the ratchet to break. But so far after using the new arm for a couple of days (and with it screwed on tightly), it seems to be working well. The Spellbinder dies work the best in my experience, I bought some Cuttlekids animal dies and they do not cut in some places, not sure if that's the dies or the machine. But all in all, I think it was a great purchase and I will use it a lot!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not satisfied!
By Lady DiVerified Purchaser from Lawrenceville, GA on 2/19/2009
Pros:
None of the above
Cons:
Broken handle
Best Uses:
Not at all
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I was very disappointed. On first use the handle broke and I contacted Ritz and got no response.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Do not like The Wizard
By SuzanneVerified Purchaser from Georgia on 1/17/2009
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Difficult To Use, Poor Design
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I bought the Wizard because of its steel construction which meant it would be more durable, but I find that it is very difficult to use. The instructions that came with the machine were awful. I thought that I would be able to use it with various company's dies, but it is too difficult to work. I have ruined a brand new die using The Wizard. I am returning it [...] instead of keeping a machine I won't use.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great machine at a great price
By Creating4u56 from Huntington Beach on 1/17/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Good Design, Quality Materials, Safety Features, Versatile
Best Uses:
Inside, Small Jobs
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

This is a great die cutting machine that you can emboss and use as a stencil as well. I have also found that I can place a nice clean stamp while the paper is still in the die as well as stenciling leaving a very clean professional look when die is removed.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
New User...New information to me.
By Redanne from Apollo Beach, Fla. on 1/1/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Grip, Long Lasting, Stores Easily
Cons:
Recalled rollers tight
Best Uses:
Mine not rolling through
Describe Yourself:
Quality Oriented
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I was excited to get my new Wizard as a gift & thought at first that it was me not knowing how to roll a sandwich for embossing through. Then I went online and see in two blogs that it may be recalled for this very problem. I may have to ask for a refund from where it was purchased on line. Bummer!

 
Tricky to learn to operate
By Deb - value hunterVerified Purchaser from Missouri on 12/24/2008
Pros:
Long Lasting
Describe Yourself:
Value Oriented
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

This is my second die cut machine. I own a Cricut and will continue to use it for day to day die cutting and embossing because it is so easy! My wizard will be used for experimenting. I was disappointed by how difficult it was to use Sizzix Originals with shaped backs! I couldn't get most of those to engage in the rollers. If you're buying your first die cut machine I'd definitely recommend the Cricut. I adore Wizard die cuts! Buy those and use them in a Cricut.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
good buy BUT button Pops out every time
By Wish it worked betterVerified Purchaser from Kansas on 12/23/2008
Pros:
Price was great
Cons:
Not right
Best Uses:
CuttingEmbossing
Describe Yourself:
Value Oriented
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

Price was great but does NOT work Right I am gonna contact Spellbinders to see if it can be fixed. The reverse button pops out and has to be reset every time it is moved.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I don't see any improvement, in fact...
By JanetVerified Purchaser from Chico CA on 11/18/2008
Pros:
All required mats incl, Great bargain, Great Machine, Long Lasting, Stores Easily
Cons:
Difficult to reverse, Not an improvement
Best Uses:
Art, Crafting, Long Term Use, School
Describe Yourself:
Value Oriented
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

I had to replace my purple Wizard due to an accident and thought this would be an improvement, but the reverse switch is not as good as the the old reverse button. Other than that, the wizard is very sturdy, versatile and fairly lightweight.

If you have never had a die cut machine, this wouldn't bother you, but the purple machine had a button on the handle to set it to reverse (if you put in a material that was too thick). The current model has a small plastic switch that is hard to grab onto.

Other than that, this is a versatile machine, using every die cut from every machine I had owned. In addition, it does a terrific job of dry embossing. I use this machine all the time, I just need to learn to only cut two or three sheets of fun foam at a time, not four or more!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great machine, this tool won't break
By stampencamperVerified Purchaser from MN on 10/29/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Grip, Glides Smoothly, Long Lasting
Best Uses:
Art
Describe Yourself:
Quality Oriented
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spellbinders Spellbinders The Wizard Embossing & Die Cutting System: Red:

used for scrapbooking and card making. this is a great product and it won't break like the plastic
embosser/die cutters on market

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.