Buy the Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras

A remarkable blend of simplicity and highly advanced D-SLR capabilities, the compact and powerful D5000 offers breathtaking 12.3-megapixel image quality, along with a flexible, Vari-angle, Live View monitor for fresh picture-taking perspectives. Nikon's EXPEED image processing further enhances performance, contributing to split-second shutter response and continuous shooting at up to 4 frames-per-second to capture fast action and precise moments perfectly. The D5000's 24-fps HD D-Movie mode with sound captures video clips with amazing clarity-offering new and exciting creative opportunities. Fast, accurate 11-point autofocus with 3D Tracking, teamed with famous NIKKOR optics, assures incredible image sharpness, while active image sensor cleaning combats annoying dust automatically. Featuring a convenient built-in flash, 19 automatic exposure Scene Modes to make the impossible easy and 23 Custom Setting options to fit your preferences, as well as 14 in-camera image retouching functions, the D5000 is the perfect D-SLR, beginning with performance to meet your picture-taking tomorrows.

Nikon Digital SLR Image Quality
High resolution, low-noise image quality is inherited from the D90's 12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor. From there, NIKKOR optics and a host of Nikon technologies are brought together to deliver an experience that has made Nikon D-SLRs first in customer satisfaction*, two years running.

D-Movie Mode Features 720p HD Quality
The D5000's creative potential explodes with the capability to record smooth, 24 fps motion JPEG sound movie clips. Leveraging a 12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor, legendary NIKKOR optical quality and the one-button Live View function, the D-Movie Mode expands creative possibilities in 720p HD.

Comprehensive Feature Set
Leading the D5000's rich feature set is the versatility of a new 2.7-inch Vari-angle LCD monitor that offers up new shooting perspectives. The screen can even be reversed when not in use, providing the utmost in LCD protection.

Fast and accurate 11-point autofocus is teamed with continuous shooting at up to 4 frames per second. 19 automatic Scene Modes are aided by Nikon's 420-pixel 3D Color Matrix II Metering system, linked to EXPEED image processing and Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System for exceptional exposure accuracy.

The D5000 offers a unique combination of simplicity and performance to excite and satisfy today's D-SLR customers.

Nikon D5000 DSLR Key Features

  • 12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS image sensor
    Coupled with Nikon's EXPEED image processing and NIKKOR optics, breathtaking picture quality is assured
  • D-Movie Mode with sound
    Record 720p HD movie clips enhanced by NIKKOR interchangeable lens quality and versatility
  • Vari-angle color LCD monitor
    Position the 2.7-inch monitor freely for fresh shooting perspectives. Screen flips inward for safe keeping
  • 19 Auto-exposure Scene Modes
    Capture stunning photos in challenging picture-taking situations including Sunsets, Candlelight, Silhouette, Portrait, Landscape, Beach/Snow, and more
  • One-button Live View
    Easy Live View access offers 4 autofocus modes, including Face Priority AF
  • Continuous shooting as fast as 4 frames-per-second
    Combined with fast power-up and split-second shutter response, decisive moments are captured easily without annoying shooting lag
  • Low noise ISO sensitivity from 200 to 3200
    Engineered for exceptional low-light shooting
  • Built-in image sensor cleaning
    Effective 4-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning keeps images spot free
  • 11-point autofocus system with 3D Focus Tracking
    Fast and accurate autofocus delivers razor sharpness
  • Auto Active D-Lighting
    Restores lost shadow and highlight detail in high contrast exposures-Selectable and Auto modes available
  • In-camera Retouch image editing
    Creative in-camera image editing, featuring Soft Filter, Straighten, Color Outline Effect, Perspective Control, Red-eye Correction, Image Overlay, Monochrome and more-all without a PC
  • Picture Control Settings for personal image control
    Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, Landscape and 9 customizable settings
  • Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II
    Nikon's renowned 420-pixel RGB 3D Color Matrix Metering II, teamed with the exclusive Scene Recognition System, evaluates each scene for unmatched exposure accuracy
  • Durable, high precision shutter
    Testing to over 100,000 cycles assures precision and long shutter life
  • GPS geo-tagging
    GP-1 GPS unit (optional) automatically identifies and records every image's latitude, longitude and altitude, with satellite time-of-day

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(8), Fast / accurate auto-focus(5), Fast shutter speed(6), Good image quality(4), Great picture quality(4)
Best Uses:
Landscape/scenery(7), Low light(3), Sports/action(4), Travel(7), Weddings(4)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(3), Semi-pro photographer(3)
 
Great Camera
By BrysonVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Large Clear LCD, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Cons:
Noisy At High ISO
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

An insanely good camera for the price! Use it all the time for all types of photography. The only place it lacks at all is in low light but depending on the lens you get it can be compensated for.

 
Great product
By KatieVerified Purchaser from Selinsgrove, Pa. on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Great camera for our office's use--simple enough that anyone can use it but produces quality photos.

 
Nice SLR camera,at a great price.
By harleybabe from Paintedpost,N.Y. on 1/17/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

How the Nikon 5000 is used in the video.The close up caption on the camera.Also the public opinion on the Nikon.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This NikonD5000 is a great eye catcher.
By harleybabe from Paintedpost,N.Y. on 1/17/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Lot's of avalible attachment's ,very good brand at a great price.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A few compromises, geat for beginners
By athomVerified Reviewer from Cambridge, MA on 12/31/2009
Pros:
Articulating lcd, Easy To Use, Excellent image quality, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Quiet
Cons:
AF-S and AF-I only, LCD bottom-hinged, Low-res LCD, Small viewfinder
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Really excellent for beginners-this is my first dSLR and it is keeping up with me very well as my skills improve and I keep discovering the even greater capabilities the camera has. Nice and compact (actually is a bit TOO small) but this also means a small viewfinder, and although the LCD articulates it is low-res. The one huge issue I keep coming across is the fact that there is no internal AF motor, unlike the D90, etc, so that it requires more expensive AF-S and AF-I lenses. People say it's not a problem if you don't have any lenses yet and will have to buy them, but it'd be nice to be able to buy more affordable lenses without AF motors in them, and use older lenses as well.

So many reviews I've read say the articulating lcd is not useful, but I've found that I used it quite a bit, and if you're comfortable manually focusing there is no problem with shutter lag. Really though it's nice not having to bend over o crouch down, or being able to raise it over your head in a crowd and still frame it exactly as you'd like (it is true you could still kind of see the lcd in live view even if you weren't articulating it, but it's much better to have it articulating). In the past 8 or so years, I've gone from the S200 Elph to this. Only 3 of my 6 cameras have not had articulating screens, and those were the ultracompacts. I have been a Canon loyalist until now. Canon's compacts are the best in the business, but I'm now a Nikon fan for dSLRs.

PS if you have the cash you will not want a dSLR exclusively and will still want a pocket cam. While the photo quality is horrible on water proof models, I'd recommend one of those as a complimentary camera so that you're ready to shoot in any condition.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not happy with product
By Unhappy from colorado on 12/18/2009
Pros:
Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Cons:
Lag / Shutter Delay, Poor Image Quality, Short Battery Life
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Pictures just not clear and sharp. my canon s5is 100% better. And my Konica T3n can't be beat!!!!!!
If someone can tell me how to set it To give me the great photos they say it can give I would be very happy. Thank you

[3 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Quality
By SandyVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, Ga. on 8/8/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Great Resolution

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Bang for your Buck
By ShimmariaVerified Reviewer from Wheeling, IL on 7/5/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I've been shooting weddings for about 2 years now. I first used the D5000 for a Quincenera. I originally planned to use it as a back-up to my D200, incase I couldn't capture the right look. It turned out that I was using the D5000 more than my D200. The pictures were turning out just as good as the D200, just easier to get the right setting and exposure. I couln't be happier with my purchase. It's worth every penny.

[10 of 25 customers found this review helpful]

 
good produc.
By azboyloveVerified Reviewer from malden.mass on 5/24/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Landscape, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

i been use this one for the most of wedding event.party.and els

[6 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesomeness
By Mikal from San Jose, CA on 4/21/2009
Best Uses:
Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Power User
Primary use:
Business
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is great for action sports and other stuff :)

[7 of 21 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Cam
By TestmasterGerVerified Reviewer from Berlin, Germany on 4/20/2009
Pros:
Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use
Cons:
Flimsy Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D5000 12.3-MP DX-Format Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I use this cam for snaping landscapes and animals i.e. birds

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.