Buy the VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera image
 
(based on 29 ratings)
Brand: VuPoint
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.1 stars
(based on 29 reviews)
73% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(18), Functional(17), Good depth range(8), Weather proof(18)
Cons:
Blurry photos(8), Leaks(5)
Best Uses:
Diving(7), Lake(5), Snorkeling(15), Swimming pool(7)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(4), Casual user(6), Enthusiast(15)
 
To Good To Be True
By Beach_BumVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 3/11/2009
Pros:
Compact, Easy To Use
Cons:
Leaks
Best Uses:
None
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I bought this camera to take underwater snorkeling and snuba pictures. I played with it before our trip and it seemed very easy to use. Practice shots on land seemed OK, but not at high res. I wished I had thought to submerge the case before our trip. The first time I took it snorkeling the case leaked. I was very dissappointed. Because of the salt water, the lithium batteries and my card were ruined too. Should have known this was to cheap to be any good. But, since it was cheaper than the case for my camera I had to give it a shot. I hope I can get my money back. Don't waste your time!

 
What a great little buy !!!!
By Builder LenVerified Purchaser from Ellicott City, MD on 1/26/2009
Pros:
Functional, Water-tight Seals
Cons:
Blurry Photos, Difficult controls
Best Uses:
Lake, Snorkeling
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

Great little camera, worked well in and out of the case. Case was hard to open but was water tight.
Works on the same SD card as my other cameras.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
underwater camera- not so good
By BobbieVerified Purchaser from Revere, ma on 12/26/2008
Cons:
Very poor quality
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I bought 2 cameras as gifts to be taken to Mexico for vacation and the cameras didn't work. they were a christmas gift and I was very embarassed.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Poor picture quality
By MickeyjcVerified Purchaser from Wayne, NJ on 11/10/2008
Pros:
Water-tight Seals
Cons:
Blurry Photos, Not Versatile
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

The idea is great, however, it does not take clear pictures in or out of water. The buttons must be pressed hard enought to press the camera button inside therefore creating too much distortion. Also, no instructions on outside buttons so you must memorize function. Also taking through the plastic lens creates even further distortion. Nice Idea but doesnt work well at all!!! Returning item!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice little camera
By ham4fun from Maryland on 9/17/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Water-tight Seals
Best Uses:
Snorkeling
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I go snorkeling about once a year, so I wasn't interested in a[$] camera and underwater case. The price is now [$] less than when I bought it so I am thinking of some for my grand kids. This little camera takes great shots in the bright light and with flash. Not so good in marginal lighting areas. Maybe with a tripod.CAUTION.... sandy water makes it almost impossible to open as the sand gets into the latch release and keeps it from opening. So when a hurricane whips up the sand and water, keep it out of the water

 
not great photos
By Papa MonzanoVerified Purchaser from San Diego Ca on 9/4/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Good Depth Range, Water-tight Seals
Cons:
Blurry Photos
Best Uses:
Snorkeling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I bought this for my wife. The camera is just okay. The 35mm I had before was just as good. I also bought a Minolta 6mp underwater camera. It works much better but also cost twice as much. You get wat you pay for. However wolfcamera had by far the best price.
Wolfcamera is great. I would order from them again in a heartbeat.

 
Love it! Lots of fun
By Island GirlVerified Reviewer from Wahiawa, Hawaii on 8/29/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Water-tight Seals
Cons:
Diff to see display
Best Uses:
Beach, Snorkeling, Swimming Pool, Waterpark
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

We have had great luck with this camera in the pool, at the beach and in the ocean. Just make sure you seat the camera correctly and that there is not sand or other object in the way of the seal and you should be good.

Images shared by: Island Girl

underwater in the swimming pool

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

at Waikiki beach with Diamond Head in background

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Good quality pictures
By KimberlyVerified Purchaser from Dallas, Texas on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Water-tight Seals
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

We took this camera on a trip to Mexico and it was great to go into the jungle and on boats and not worry about our camera getting wet. We took over 800 pictures with it and were pleased with the results.

Images shared by: Kimberly

Dolphin Swim

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
GOOD FOR THE PRICE
By CHUCKVerified Purchaser from REDDING CA on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional
Cons:
LOW BATTERY LIFE, VERY SLOW
Best Uses:
FISHING
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I DROPED A VERY EXPENSIVE CAMERA IN THE WATER IT WAS RUINED,SO IM TRYING THIS ONE OUT,FOR THE PRICE IT TAKES GOOD PHOTOS, GREAT FOR FISHING, DONT KNOW HOW GOOD IT WORKS UNDER THE WATER. ITS SHUTTER SPEED IS SLOWWW AND BATTERY LIFE NOT GREAT. IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A CAMERA TO THROW IN THE BOAT AND NOT WORRY ABOUT GETTING WET THIS IS IT

 
Spare
By DebVerified Purchaser from Louisiana on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Water-tight Seals
Best Uses:
Diving, Lake, Snorkeling, Swimming Pool
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I have a very high tech underwater camera that I utilize when I dive. All my sisters and brothers want photos of the kids at the pool or water parks. It gets a little ruff for very expensive equipment. I tooks it several times to water parks and in the pool. It goes under waterfalls, gets bumped a lot but took good photos and kept the seal. I am used to a much larger camera so I almost lost it a few times. It is very important to learn how to take care of the underwater seal.

 
OK for the Price
By BobigatorVerified Purchaser from Tallahassee,FL on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Water-tight Seals
Cons:
Not Versatile
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

This product is OK for someone wanting to get used to underwater photography. It takes pretty good straight on shots, but not much from the periphery. It is durable and uses a standard flash card, which is more thatN I can say for the underwater Olympus I moved up to?

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for the price.
By Snorkel Photo BugVerified Purchaser from Thousand Oaks, CA on 8/19/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Good Depth Range, Water-tight Seals
Cons:
Hard to see display
Best Uses:
Diving, Snorkeling, Swimming Pool
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

Bought this camera for a trip to Hawaii. Tired of spending $15 for a disposable that only takes 24 pix and then paying for the developing. Already have digital cameras that use the same SD card so I was able to to take lots of photos. Pays for itself.

It was hard to see the display in the back so you just had to point and guess. Since you could not see there was no way to review your shots underwater to see if you got it or not. Also, the camera has an auto shutoff, there may be a way to cancel it but you have to be careful that you aren't thinking you are getting shots when the unit is actually off.

Images shared by: Snorkel Photo Bug

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Awesome little camera
By CJVerified Purchaser from MN on 8/17/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Good Depth Range, Water-tight Seals
Best Uses:
Snorkeling
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

This is a great little camera for the price. It took great pics snorkeling in the Carribbean. I have now bought it for both of our adult kids and would definately recommend it to others.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Much better than expected!
By picture crazy momVerified Purchaser from Dallas, Texas on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Functional, Good Depth Range
Best Uses:
Diving, Snorkeling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I got this camera to take on my first diving trip. I did not want to spend alot, and was not expexcting great quality. I though this camera took great pictures. The colors came out great, even underwater. In the pool the sun made the LCD hard to see what you are shooting, but that is the same with most cameras. If taking it in salt water, be sure to rinse it off and open the latch before the salt dries in it.

Images shared by: picture crazy mom

Jamaican reef

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Pictures, a snap to use!
By DuffyVerified Purchaser from Houston on 8/9/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Good Depth Range, Water-tight Seals
Best Uses:
Diving, Snorkeling, Swimming Pool
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

This camera gave true results. It did not leak at all and was EZ 2 use. The colors U C thru the viewfinder were exactly what U got. I even let my 5 year old niece take some pictures and they came out pretty good. I got some video of my son surfing, and even used zoom. The only problem that I saw was that it was difficult for me to get open, but I have very long nails.

Images shared by: Duffy

Underwater

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

From boat

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bad Quality
By YakkerVerified Purchaser from Thousand Oaks on 8/8/2008
Cons:
Blurry Photos, Poor picture Quality
Best Uses:
Kayaking
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I tried the camera for the picture quality, before even getting it wet - I stopped there. The images looked like they were taken from an old cell phone at best. The picture quality was really bad - not acceptable on any level.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for what it's made for
By KyleVerified Purchaser from Spokane, WA on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Depth Range, Water-tight Seals
Cons:
Bad Battery Life
Best Uses:
Snorkeling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I used the camera on a honeymoon in Hawaii for snorkeling. The battery life is very very short if the back LCD is left on, so I ended up guessing and just holding the camera out. With the LCD screen off the battery lasts much better, but it is hard to catch the fish.

It takes fairly clear pictures in bright, sunny water. In murky water the quality is less, but what do you expect. I wouldn't try using it if it was dark. The quality of pictures without the case on land is marginal. I would suggest buying this for underwater, but bringing a different camera for on land (Then again, I'm used to a Canon D60).

Images shared by: Kyle

One of my best shots with the camera

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Another shot

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Leaked
By pddamkpymomVerified Reviewer from Kingman, Az on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Leaks
Describe Yourself:
Casual user

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

My daughter asked for this camera for her birthday and boy was she upset. She took it out to the pool to take pictures and it leaked. We will take it back tomorrow and exchange it and I pray we have better luck. I am still undecided if we will recommend this camera. We are just waiting to see how the second one fairs

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works great underwater and on dry land
By Young GrandpaVerified Purchaser from Syracuse, New York on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Good Depth Range, Very durable, Water-tight Seals
Best Uses:
Diving, Lake, Snorkeling, Swimming Pool
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

My 13-year-old grandson uses it for SCUBA and snorkeling with very good results. Priced right.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent underwater results with video
By Island GirlVerified Purchaser from Kent Island, Maryland on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Water-tight Seals
Cons:
Blurry Photos
Best Uses:
Snorkeling
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

Takes awesome underwater video - just remember to try to take at least a minute or two, so it doesn't appear so jumpy. The still pics aren't that great - better to use an underwater throwaway for that.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good little camera
By Wolfpack Man from Raleigh, NC on 7/21/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Water-tight Seals
Cons:
Waterproof latch
Best Uses:
Ocean beach
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I use this camera while kayaking in the North Carolina sound, and swimming in the ocean. It is difficult to see the screen in the sun light, but that is common with digital cameras. The only problem I found was unlatching the waterproof case after using it in the ocean. I had to rinse the salt out of the latch before it would open.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better to order two, nice pictures
By WaterbucketVerified Reviewer from Tavernier,Florida on 7/4/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Water-tight Seals
Best Uses:
Snorkeling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

Snorkeling the Keys, fish pictures and video.The picture quality is great once you get the focus distance down. The video is supprisingly good.The video is always focused,even when alittle jerky.It would be nice if you could change the focus to macro while its in the case.I will probably get another camera and keep one in each mode.The batteries did seem to go dead fast but you can turn it off underwater.I still get about an hour of pictues.

Images shared by: Waterbucket

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Totally a junk!
By nickname from Madison, WI on 7/2/2008
Cons:
Blurry Photos, Leaks
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

It leaks the first time we go snorkeling. Totally a trash. I would never recommend to my friends!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera!
By Becky at the Beach from Florida on 5/25/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional, Water-tight Seals
Best Uses:
Diving, Lake, Snorkeling, Swimming Pool
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

Just went diving w/ it in the Bahamas. Nice, clear pictures and easy to use. No leaks or anything. I will definitely be using it on my next dive trip. :)

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Junk camera
By Sly Cat from Central Valley, CAL on 4/27/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Nothing to it
Cons:
Blurry Photos, Leaks
Best Uses:
Dry
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I bought this camera for fishing because it was cheap and I would not have to worry so much about it. Well the pictures are so bad I don’t have to worry about it because I don’t use it anymore. This camera also eats batteries at a rate like nothing I have ever seen, not to mention the fact it will run brand new, never used batteries down to ZERO even in the off setting. This camera sucks something awful your better off buying an underwater disposable camera, film or digital, you will get better pics and then who cares if you loose it.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Think about it
By Don Roko fishing teamVerified Reviewer from San Juan, Puerto Rico on 2/13/2008
Pros:
Water-tight Seals
Cons:
Blurry Photos
Best Uses:
Out on the boat
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I got it because it said it was a 5 mega pixel but the pictures look like a half a mega pixel. My 3 mega pixel camera takes better pictures. you must have a stady hand to take a decent picture. If you are looking for a good picture you will not get it. I wil use it to take pictures when I go fishing and I don't want my good camera to get wet.

Images shared by: Don Roko fishing team

5mp camera

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great little camera
By TravelerVerified Reviewer from Freeport Maine on 11/1/2007
Pros:
Functional, Good Depth Range
Cons:
Leaks
Best Uses:
Diving, Lake, Snorkeling, Swimming Pool
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I purchased two for a trip to Bermuda. We took them snorkeling. One leaked immediately. [...]..the case is difficult to open, the little lever you have to pull before opening doesn't work right on either. The camera works great out of the case (in our case on the cruiseship) but leave it in and pictures are still good. Our water was not clear and pictures were so so, but I think in crystal water, it would be fantastic. Use the flash. We didn't (mistake). I am still very pleased with the camera and think once we use it more, we'll get to know how to get perfect pictures! Nice camera for the money! [...]

Images shared by: Traveler

Amazing shot out of water

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Underwater

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
best camera for beginners
By BILLVerified Reviewer from Panama City Beach, Florida on 7/22/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
videos under water
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

I got it for my birthaday, and since then I am more under water then above. it takes a short while to get adjust to it. it takes the best underwtare videos . I live on the golf of mexico and now i don't need to worry anymore bringing my exspensive Canon to the beach. this cam I throw in the sand or in the water it stands all of it. still pictures under water take some experience, but hell, I take now videos only. The batteries last a long time if you gt the good ones. I bought a 2 mb card for it and thats all you need for a weekend under water. I am an experiencend photographer above water and this Camera will show me now all the good stuff under water. Go for it folks, it does not get any better for this price

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Unbelieveable Digital Camera Quality
By Camera Junkie from Florida on 5/27/2007
Pros:
Awesome Camera, Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
8 x zoom, Flash, Playback underwater
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about VuPoint VuPoint DC-WPC-ST531T-VP 5MP Underwater Digital Camera:

recommend to anyone looking for a quality camera for [$]

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.