Buy the DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit image
 
(based on 19 ratings)
Brand: Sony
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
As the complete gift for someone else, or as the bonus photography outfit for yourself, this two-zoom-lens outfit from Sony can''t be beat.

Enjoy the all-new Sony Alpha DSLR-A100K camera with an amazing all-around lens to get you started. The first lens included in this kit is the versatile new SAL-18-70 lens. This standard lens easily handles the full range of shots you''ll take most often - but there''s nothing standard about its advanced optical design. In 35mm equivalent, it covers wide-angle 27mm to 105mm midrange telephoto for snapshots, portraits, interiors and more - an excellent all-around lens to travel with.

Your second included lens is the 4X SAL-75-300 f/4.5-5.6 Compact Telephoto Zoom. Get extremely close to your subjects from a relaxing distance. The SAL-75-300 zoom lens lets you take incredible close-up portraits without making your subject nervous.

A compact zoom lens that brings you closer to action and portrait subjects. This compact, lightweight 4X zoom lens is a great value and an ideal choice for covering outdoor activities and sports action, even in large stadium locations. Its wide zoom range of 112.5mm to 450mm (35mm equivalent) handles both middle-ground subjects and portraits shot from a relaxing distance, so people won?t be nervous -- even captures intimate details and natural wonders close at hand.

Compact Lightweight Design - Gives you a super telephoto lens you can shoot with comfortably all day.

Long 4X Zoom Capability - One lens takes you from close-ups, to portraits, to super telephoto zooms -- covering a 35mm-equivalent range from 112.5mm to 450mm.

Close Shooting - You can capture wildlife, faces and architectural details about as close as five feet to the camera.

DSLR and 35mm Performance - Designed for superior performance with both DSLR APS-size CCD sensors and 35mm format cameras.

Circular Aperture - Gives light sources a pleasing circular defocused effect in backgrounds.

The Sony Alpha DSLR-A100 camera is an instant classic: the top-quality 10 MP DSLR system camera that builds on a two-decade legacy of Minolta photographic leadership, accepts 20 years of A-mount lenses sold worldwide - and introduces Sony imaging innovations like high-sensitivity shooting with Super SteadyShot in-camera image stabilization, Dynamic Range Optimizer to automatically increase detail in bright and dark picture areas, new Anti-Dust technology to keep the CCD imager clean for better pictures, and Eye-Start Autofocus system for faster camera response.

The Rebirth of a Legend.
In the revolutionary new Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera, Sony''s mastery of digital technology combines with Minolta''s legendary SLR technology -- including autofocus and anti-shake compatibility with over 20 years of A-mount lenses sold worldwide.

Advanced Lenses and Accessories.
The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera is your gateway to one of the world''s most sophisticated camera systems, including precision Sony standard and zoom lenses, Sony "G" Series lenses with advanced motorized autofocusing, amazingly bright Carl Zeiss T* coated lenses, professional-quality flash units and more.

10.2 MP CCD.
A large, 23.6 x 15.8 mm APS-C-size CCD imager with Sony''s advanced design allows more light to pass to each pixel, increasing sensitivity and reducing noise -- and providing greater detail when you make big prints or crop in close on your subject.

Super SteadyShot
When you shoot in low light, the shutter remains open longer -- so to compensate for shaky hands or fast-moving subjects, the Sony Super SteadyShot system automatically reduces image blur. And because it works in-camera, you''ll get the benefit of Super SteadyShot stabilization with every lens you use.

Sharp, Clear Photos The Preserve the Mood.
With high-sensitivity (ISO 1600) shooting, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera captures great photos without flash even in low light -- which makes it an ideal system camera for shooting without a tripod or in locations (like museums and churches) where flash is prohibited.

Anti-Dust Technology.
Changing lenses in a DSLR can allow dust to enter the camera -- so to keep the CCD imager clean for better pictures, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera utilizes both static-free anti-dust coating on the CCD filter and anti-dust vibration that automatically shakes the CCD to dislodge dust each time the camera is shut off.

Dynamic Range Optimizer.
To recover details in dark or bright areas of the picture, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera provides two levels of Dynamic Range Optimization: Normal DRO, to improve shadow detail using standard gamma curves for fast shot-to-shot response time, or Advanced DRO, to adjust dynamic range area-by-area for the greatest precision.

Bionz Image Processor.
At the heart of the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera is the advanced Bionz Image Processor, using hardware-based Large Scale Integrated (LSI) circuitry that responds ten times faster than software image processors -- improving camera response time, handling Dynamic Range Optimization processing and extending Stamina battery life.

Eye-Start Autofocus System.
Some DSLR systems don''t start focusing until the shutter button is half-pressed -- but that can slow down camera response. The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera begins its precision autofocus adjustments the moment you bring your eye to the viewfinder, to capture fast-action subjects other cameras might blur.

2.5" 1 Clear Photo LCD Plus Screen.
The Clear Photo LCD Plus design of the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera''s built-in screen makes it easy to read camera setup menus even in bright sunlight -- and gives you a better picture when you use your screen to set up shots and check results.

Continuous Burst Mode at 3 Frames Per Second.
To catch fast action more effectively, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera offers continuous JPEG image capture up to the limit of your flash memory card -- plus RAW Burst Mode (up to 6 shots) with intelligent buffer management to allow more shots to be captured without waiting for the buffer to clear.

Super-Accurate Exposure Control.
A 40-segment honeycomb sensing system provides multi-pattern measuring for superior exposure control accuracy.

Flexible Exposure Modes.
For greater creative freedom in a wide range of shooting conditions, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera provides full manual exposure control as well as Program Auto, Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority, and Exposure Compensation modes.

9-Point Auto Focus Selection.
The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera gives you all the focusing options you need for composing your shot with foreground, background or off-center subjects -- including manual focus point selection, Spot AF, Continuous AF and AF Lock.

Lithium Ion Battery with Stamina Power.
Based on CIPA standard, a supplied NP-FM55H Lithium Ion rechargeable battery lets you take up to 700 shots2on a full charge, recharges quickly with supplied battery charger.

Dual Media Options.
The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera accepts both CompactFlash Type I/II media and optional Memory Stick Duo media (with supplied adaptor).

SAL1870 DT18-70mm F3.5-5.6
Lens Features:

DT Lens Design:A more compact, lightweight lens designed specifically for the APS-size CCD imager used in the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera.

Aspherical Lens Elements: To correct visual aberrations at wide-angle setting, enabling a lightweight lens to capture more visually accurate wide-angle shots.

ED (Extra-low Dispersion) Glass:To reduce chromatic aberration at telephoto extension, correcting certain wavelengths of light for sharp, clear images with well defined colors.

Circular Aperture: Because aperture blades form a near circle at the wide openings used for low-light shots, spot-light sources have a pleasing circular defocused effect.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 19 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate colors(3), Easy to use(4), Great resolution(3), Large clear LCD(15), Nice features and settings(3)
Cons:
Loud(3)
Best Uses:
Art(8), Documentary(7), Everyday(3), Fun(14), Low light(3)
Describe Yourself:
Beginner(4), Casual user(4), Enthusiast(16), Professional(3)
 
Great Camera
By fromtheheartVerified Reviewer from Riverton, UT on 11/12/2007
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

I just got this camera a few days ago and took it on a photoshoot to Moab. Fantastic colors and the ease of use. I love the feel of this camera in the hand. Caught some great shots of a family in the red rocks

 
Great Camera
By JoeVerified Reviewer from L.A, CA on 11/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Live Music, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

This camera is easy to use and give me great results. With the 75-300 mm lens, I am able to get great live shots of concerts. I read the book, purchased a video, and I was on my way. For me, it does not get much better than this!

Images shared by: Joe

Taken from balcony using 75-300 mm zoom

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Wonderful Camera
By crhVerified Reviewer from Nashville, TN on 8/29/2007
Pros:
Affordable quality acceso, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Vibration dapening
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

Super camera. Light weight for waiting for the perfect shot. Anti-shake is terrific, just turn it off when using a tripod. Fast focus. Excellent clarity.

Images shared by: crh

Horned Owl

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Ruby Throated Hummingbird

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Supreme Value!
By Joe from Dallas, TX on 8/17/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Feature rich price, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

I find myself taking pictures I never thought I could. Do a little studying and this camera will do everything you want.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
An excellent choice in digital SLR
By Shooting StarrVerified Reviewer from Grove City, PA on 8/7/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Catches lazy eye, Loud
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

I was really invested in Minolta lenses and equipment and this camera was an easy transition from my Maxuum 7. I was really hesitant about going digital, but I have not been disappointed. I have taken 4000 picturesin 4 months and they are gorgeous!!! Don't hesitate to buy this camera! I love it!

Images shared by: Shooting Starr

summer 2007

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

capturing the summer

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this camera
By StanVerified Reviewer from Berlin, Vermont on 8/6/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

Before I bought this camera, I was using a 60s Pentax that I still love. I fell in love with this camera the first time I used it. It takes amazing pics. The depth of field is almost as good as 35mm. I compaired a pic taken with my Pentax with my Sony and its difficult to tell them apart.

The only down side is the learning curve. If you plan on really using all the features, their is a learning curve. Once you learn the camera, you will be very happy with it.

Images shared by: Stan

I shot thiswith all the controls in manual

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Again, Everything was in manual

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
so simple, so great!
By Cassaloo11827 from Vail, Co. on 8/1/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to charge, Great for football games, Quiet, Simple to use, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Sports, Travel, Yearbook
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

this is such a great camera!!!! I wish i could get all of my family and friends one!!!

 
Great camera with awesome results
By Dr. DVerified Reviewer from Tampa, Florida on 7/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

A picture is worth a thousand words .. please see below photos :-)

Images shared by: Dr. D

Blk and Wht w/o computer digital enhancement!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera
By Shutterbug--Verified Reviewer from Wood-Ridge, NJ on 7/29/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun, Sports & Landscapes, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, I love taking pictures...
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

I bought this camera to take pics for vacation in Aruba with my family and also for my children playing sports. I'm on the sidelines alot for action photo's. I already have the 300mm lens from my old Minolta camera, so it great to use with my new Sony.

Images shared by: Shutterbug--

Leah in Aruba using the 18-70 lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Jesse making a touchdown-Used 300MM lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Diana
By DianaVerified Reviewer from Galt Ca on 7/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

Easy to Use, great color, great resolution

Images shared by: Diana

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love my new camera
By shutterbeezVerified Reviewer from Seattle, washington on 7/24/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

I love how similar it was to my maxxuim 5 camera. The only differance is that it has digital controls. I love that it was so compatable with my little 4x6 printer. It was very easy to convert to digital. Way to go sony for keeping all the minolta settings almost the same. The color the clarity are awsome.

 
Great camera, highly recommended!!
By JRVerified Reviewer from Fairfield, CA on 7/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Old Sigmalnz did not work
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

Awesome camera, could not find other D-SLR with same features or price point. I was also glad that I could utilize my Minolta Maxum lenses. Also like the fact that you can use CF or Pro-duo memory cards. Camera feels solid and above all takes high quality pictures.

 
Got kids? Get this DSLR!
By KimberliVerified Reviewer from Utah on 7/18/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

This camera has been great! I also own a Minolta Maxum 5D, but wanted to up my pixels. I chose the Sony Alpha because my lenses are interchangeable. The image stabilizer makes it so easy to take great shots at lower shutter speeds. I have a hand-held portrait of my son at 1/15 that is very sharp. It really helps me out when I am using a heavier lens (70-200 2.8) at my son's soccer games to keep the pictures sharp.

 
Great camera and lens combination
By BrianVerified Reviewer from Cary, NC on 6/22/2007
Pros:
Accurate af, Battery Life, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Controls well laid out, Easy to use and learn, FAST AF, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Nature, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

I bought the 75-300mm separately, but it was well worth the price. Image stabilization is reliable down to 1/30th at 300mm and gets better better with shorter focal lengths. The 18-70mm works well for macro photos and landscapes. Don't let your 14 y.o. use it! Mine wants one of his own now :)

Long-range, short-range, any-range... This is a great package.

Images shared by: Brian

75-300mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

18-70mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
2ND SONY DSLR IN 6 MOS
By Big Jim PaglioneVerified Reviewer from Centennial , Colorado 80122 on 6/6/2007
Pros:
2 CAMERAS 5 LENSES, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, FORMER MINOLTAS WORK GREA, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, CATALOG PIX OF CONSTRUCTI, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional, PROFESSIONAL RESULTS FROM
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

BOUGHT 2 0THER SLR'S RETURNED BOTH OF THEM. VERY DIFFICULT TO USE AND BOOKS WITH POOR HELP.
SONY IS PRECISE, UNDERSTANDABLE, EXTREMELY DURABLE AND THE VERY BEST DOLLAR VALUE. HENCEFORTH THE PURCHASE OF THE SECOND SONY. WE HAVE YET TO FIND ANY FAULTS WITH EITHER ONE OF THESE. ONE IS PROFESSIONAL CATALOG USAGE. THE OTHER IS LOCATED ON MY HEW 30'MAXUM POWER CRUISER AND IT WILL STAY ON THR BOAT FOR COMPUTER WORK ON A SONY LAPTOP.IE WIRELESS

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This camera is amazing
By Hever from Portland, OR on 5/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Concert Photographer, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

Since i've had this camera getting good shots of our band on the road has been a blast
it's good that this camera gives me the quality and definition i look for in a camera

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome buy
By Bill P.Verified Reviewer from Ayden,North carolina on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Easy to Use, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
You have to put flash up
Best Uses:
Everyday, kids and pets, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

even though you have to put flash up manually it will automatically flash only when needed

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best bang for the buck
By pdr from South Carolina on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
haven't found any yet
Best Uses:
Everyday, Everything I've tried, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

Best all around camera I've ever used. Macro to tele-photo. Good weight and balance. Easy to learn programs or just using Auto.

Images shared by: pdr

Sea Shells in Wine Glass

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Sunset at Waikiki

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thanks for the great photos.

[13 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best sub-$[...]D-SLR yet!
By Brad from Murray, UT on 12/9/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 (alpha) Digital SLRCamera with 18-70 mm & 75-300 mm Two Zoom Lens Outfit:

The only D-SLR that performs close to the Sony Alpha is the Nikon D80, but that doesn't even have built-in image stabilization.

I LOVE my Sony Alpha!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.