Buy the DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens image
 
(based on 48 ratings)
Brand: Sony
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Enjoy Sony Alpha DSLR-A100 camera with an amazing all-around lens to get you started. Included in this kit is the versatile new SAL-18-70 lens. This standard lens easily handles the full range of shots you''ll take most often - but there''s nothing "standard" about its advanced optical design. In 35mm equivalent, it covers wide-angle 27mm to 105mm midrange telephoto for snapshots, portraits, interiors and more - an excellent all-around lens to travel with.

The Sony A100K DSLR camera is an instant classic: the top-quality 10 MP DSLR system camera that builds on a two-decade legacy of Minolta photographic leadership, accepts 20 years of A-mount lenses sold worldwide - and introduces Sony imaging innovations like high-sensitivity shooting with Super SteadyShot in-camera image stabilization, Dynamic Range Optimizer to automatically increase detail in bright and dark picture areas, new Anti-Dust technology to keep the CCD imager clean for better pictures, and Eye-Start Autofocus system for faster camera response.

The Rebirth of a Legend.
In the revolutionary new Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera, Sony''s mastery of digital technology combines with Minolta''s legendary SLR technology -- including autofocus and anti-shake compatibility with over 20 years of A-mount lenses sold worldwide.

Advanced Lenses and Accessories.
The Sony Alpha A100K DSLR camera is your gateway to one of the world''s most sophisticated camera systems, including precision Sony standard and zoom lenses, Sony "G" Series lenses with advanced motorized autofocusing, amazingly bright Carl Zeiss T* coated lenses, professional-quality flash units and more.

10.2 MP CCD.
A large, 23.6 x 15.8 mm APS-C-size CCD imager with Sony''s advanced design allows more light to pass to each pixel, increasing sensitivity and reducing noise -- and providing greater detail when you make big prints or crop in close on your subject.

Super SteadyShot
When you shoot in low light, the shutter remains open longer -- so to compensate for shaky hands or fast-moving subjects, the Sony Super SteadyShot system automatically reduces image blur. And because it works in-camera, you''ll get the benefit of Super SteadyShot stabilization with every lens you use.

Sharp, Clear Photos The Preserve the Mood.
With high-sensitivity (ISO 1600) shooting, the Sony a100k digital SLR camera captures great photos without flash even in low light -- which makes it an ideal system camera for shooting without a tripod or in locations (like museums and churches) where flash is prohibited.

Anti-Dust Technology.
Changing lenses in a DSLR can allow dust to enter the camera -- so to keep the CCD imager clean for better pictures, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera utilizes both static-free anti-dust coating on the CCD filter and anti-dust vibration that automatically shakes the CCD to dislodge dust each time the camera is shut off.

Dynamic Range Optimizer.
To recover details in dark or bright areas of the picture, the Sony alpha DSLR-A100K camera provides two levels of Dynamic Range Optimization: Normal DRO, to improve shadow detail using standard gamma curves for fast shot-to-shot response time, or Advanced DRO, to adjust dynamic range area-by-area for the greatest precision.

Bionz Image Processor.
At the heart of the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera is the advanced Bionz Image Processor, using hardware-based Large Scale Integrated (LSI) circuitry that responds ten times faster than software image processors -- improving camera response time, handling Dynamic Range Optimization processing and extending Stamina battery life.

Eye-Start Autofocus System.
Some DSLR systems don''t start focusing until the shutter button is half-pressed -- but that can slow down camera response. The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera begins its precision autofocus adjustments the moment you bring your eye to the viewfinder, to capture fast-action subjects other cameras might blur.

2.5" 1 Clear Photo LCD Plus Screen.
The Clear Photo LCD Plus design of the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera''s built-in screen makes it easy to read camera setup menus even in bright sunlight -- and gives you a better picture when you use your screen to set up shots and check results.

Continuous Burst Mode at 3 Frames Per Second.
To catch fast action more effectively, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera offers continuous JPEG image capture up to the limit of your flash memory card -- plus RAW Burst Mode (up to 6 shots) with intelligent buffer management to allow more shots to be captured without waiting for the buffer to clear.

Super-Accurate Exposure Control.
A 40-segment honeycomb sensing system provides multi-pattern measuring for superior exposure control accuracy.

Flexible Exposure Modes.
For greater creative freedom in a wide range of shooting conditions, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera provides full manual exposure control as well as Program Auto, Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority, and Exposure Compensation modes.

9-Point Auto Focus Selection.
The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera gives you all the focusing options you need for composing your shot with foreground, background or off-center subjects -- including manual focus point selection, Spot AF, Continuous AF and AF Lock.

Lithium Ion Battery with Stamina Power.
Based on CIPA standard, a supplied NP-FM55H Lithium Ion rechargeable battery lets you take up to 700 shots2on a full charge, recharges quickly with supplied battery charger.

Dual Media Options.
The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera accepts both CompactFlash Type I/II media and optional Memory Stick Duo media (with supplied adaptor).

SAL1870 DT18-70mm F3.5-5.6
Lens Features:

DT Lens Design:A more compact, lightweight lens designed specifically for the APS-size CCD imager used in the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera.

Aspherical Lens Elements: To correct visual aberrations at wide-angle setting, enabling a lightweight lens to capture more visually accurate wide-angle shots.

ED (Extra-low Dispersion) Glass:To reduce chromatic aberration at telephoto extension, correcting certain wavelengths of light for sharp, clear images with well defined colors.

Circular Aperture: Because aperture blades form a near circle at the wide openings used for low-light shots, spot-light sources have a pleasing circular defocused effect.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 48 reviews)
98% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Beginner(8), Casual user(5), Enthusiast(34), Professional(8)
Pros:
Accurate colors(18), Fast / accurate auto-focus(3), Great resolution(20), Large clear LCD(26), Long battery life(4)
Cons:
Not good in low light(4), Poor in low light(3)
Best Uses:
Art(18), Documentary(11), Everyday(17), Fun(25), Low light(11)
 
Easy to use
By Picture Taking MAMA from Pittsburgh, PA on 12/11/2007
Pros:
Auto focus is a bonus, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not great in low light, Shaky Operation
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Takes good kid pics
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I bought this camera because I already had great lenses from an older broken camera body that I just couldn't throw away. I like the camera because it's easy to use with the auto focus, but I am looking forward to learning about and using all of this camera's features.

 
Great Camera!
By Florida GirlVerified Reviewer from Orlando Florida on 12/4/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Too Many Steps
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Great Camera. Only fault is it takes to many steps to access some controls to adjust camera. This takes too much time.

The covered LCD screen is nice as you use it when you want but it is not exposed nor does it take up room.

Flash needs a simple on off button as it flashes when not necessary and it takes too long to adjust.

 
LOVE IT!!!!
By Ninette from Tempe, AZ on 12/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

So far, I love this camera. I'm not a professional but I almost feel like one with this piece of equipment. I love all the action shots I was not able to get before with my cybershot( slow processing) and how brighter my pictures are indoors. I take hundreds if not thousands of pictures of my baby and I'm so pleased at how my pictures have improved 100%.

 
The last camera you'll EVER need
By Little Country PumpkinVerified Reviewer from Hinesville, GA 31313 on 11/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, this is the one to get
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

This camera is not only easy to use but is even well equipped enough for the serious photojournalist. The fact that it has so many accessories makes it the one camera that can be changed to personal tastes. It's wide variety of lenses allow any shot to be captured perfectly. Combined with the portability of the media storage makes it perfect for tourists. The many different types of setting and an excellent zooming even with the basic lens makes documentaries and school work a breeze.

After buying this camera from your company I have used it on my honeymoon as well as two small vacations. To my delight every shot came out wonderfully even the distance shots. I took the most breathtaking shots of the USS Missouri in Hawaii. I find this camera so perfect I am even contemplating opening a photographers business! I look froward to many years of crystal clear photography.

 
Professional pictures from an amateur
By DanVerified Reviewer from Columbia, SC on 11/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Camera Stabalization, Comfortable Controls, Good features, Great resolution
Cons:
Low light Characteristics
Best Uses:
Family Pictures, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I bought this camera before a trip to Hawaii and took over 900 pictures that are absolutely beautiful. The colors are perfect and the resolution allows excellent prints even when I crop the picture. All of my friends have said my pictures look like they were taken by a professional. This is a great camera and the best I have ever owned.

 
Great Value!
By "Jim the Runner" from Atlanta, GA on 11/20/2007
Pros:
9pt focus, Image Stabilization, Manual flash, Price, Quality, Size- great grip
Cons:
Compact flash card, Memory card-compact flash, Too automatic
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Excellent camera for any level of use in a budget. There are always "better" cameras but for under 1000, this is a great deal compared to others! Features are what you get for the money, although they aren't bad, and better than most. Downsides include it's size (Nikons and others are smaller), and that i'd like to have more manual features but that's about it! I don't mind the size because I love the grip, and it does have 9pt focus. The flash doesnt pop up so its very unlikey to break like others. It also has a built in image stabilization, so I never have to spend extra money on lense to capture that characteristic. Without a doubt, it beats it's competitors anyday! Terrific value for its price!!

 
I LOVE THIS CAMERA!
By W PVerified Reviewer from Puyallup, WA on 10/11/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I used to work as a professional photographer. When I left the company I worked for I wanted to continue on my own. I found this camera while on my honeymoon in Hawaii and I got some fabulous pictures. I have friends and my daughters soccer team asking me to do their photos. The pictures turn out great whenever I use it!

 
You got to have one
By TommyARRVerified Reviewer from Norwood, NC on 9/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Best for the money in DSLR's.

Images shared by: TommyARR

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Best Investment I have ever Made!
By Vanessa the Professional in TrainingVerified Reviewer from KELLER, TX on 9/17/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Features, Quick Focus, Quick response
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, I, Outdoors, Photojournalism, Sporting events, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional in trianing
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I ABSOLUTELY love this camera. What is better that built in Vibration reduction/Image Stabilization. I can't wait for the many years of memories I will capture with this "Bad Boy"!!! I definitely recommend this to anyone. I was actually recommended this camera by a Wolf Camera Associate. She actually had this camera herself and inspired me to purchase it. I was debating between the Nikon D40X and this one, and I am so glad I chose this one.

 
my best camera ever
By jolli olly manVerified Reviewer from medfield,ma on 7/7/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

i love the ease of use and controll you have over your shot when you use it. i love it and it is the best camera i'v ever owned.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital Camera W/18-7
By BrooksVerified Reviewer from Portland, Oregon on 6/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Should come in two packs
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Entry level professional, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Have used it for weddings and artwork. I love the versatility.

Images shared by: Brooks

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
"I would buy this product again!
By C-DaleVerified Reviewer from Chicago on 6/25/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Ive had it for aweek and I think its a great unit. It came with and extra lense and the deal was great.

 
Most favorite camera ever~
By Crista from Chester, VA on 6/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I started with the classic Pentax K1000 over 20 years ago, and would have never imagined the advances that have been made since then. Four cameras later, this is my all time favorite. This camera is a pleasure to use, and I get all the bells and whistles without having to give up the creativity and control that the old Pentax offered.

Images shared by: Crista

sun and shadows

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just completed a tour in Italy -
By JEVerified Reviewer from Atlanta on 6/10/2007
Pros:
Anti-shake really works, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great in low light, Long battery life, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Six Month User
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

On a recent tour in Italy I shot 250+ Pictures before the battery needed to be charged. Many of the pictures were in low light conditions in ancient churches, where I was able to push the light speed to create fantastic photos of 1500 year old mosaics without the flash. The anti-shake feature really came in handy. No one else on the tour was able to create photos like mine.

 
Love it
By Hondo from W Sacramento CA. on 6/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great balance, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Haven't found any yet
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

So far it has met all my expectations which were high since my previous camera was a Sony.

 
Sony over Cannon
By CEO HobbyistVerified Reviewer from Boca Raton, FL on 6/6/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fantastic Detail, Steady Shot Incredible, Strong Construction, Very easy to use, Vibrant Color
Cons:
No complaints
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Leaves nothing desired, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I tried the Canon XTi which is an excellent SLR. However, the [...] told me that the Image Stablizer was built into the lens and failed to tell me that I would have to spend another [$] to purchase one.So, I took back the Canon and switched to the Sony because it had all of the features I wanted. Image Stablizer (which works wonders) and dust removal (another great feature). I also purchased an excellent high quality Sony zoom lens for only another [$]. I am totally impressed with the camera. Shots from micro to zoom are simply stunning. The detail and color are amazing. So far I've yet to discover any down side to Sony's new entry into the SLR market. You can use Auto focus and look like a pro or explore the options and become a pro! I am also impressed with the simplicity and ease of use. Yes, there are many great products on the market but for the price and features, you can't beat the A100K by Sony.

Images shared by: CEO Hobbyist

taken with built in flash at night

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

early morning across the lake

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
wonderful canon and nikon look out.
By teeman mr. photo from chicago illinois on 6/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

The camera handels well light for a slr it's meets my every expectations, wonderful camera and i woluld like to get my wife one.

 
smooth spirit
By Spirit1stVerified Reviewer from orlando florida on 6/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Hands, Quiet, Small and light for small
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fine photography
Describe Yourself:
Fine artist, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I love the small and lightweiht design making it easy to handel for long periods of time.

 
Makes my pictures look professional!
By Gym MomVerified Reviewer from Birmingham, AL on 5/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Not good in low light
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I haved loved this camera since I received it in Dec. The only issue i am having is getting a good stop action picture in average lighting conditions for a gym. This is a problem with lots of cameras though. I would buy this camera again even with the price tag! It makes taking pictures FUN!

Images shared by: Gym Mom

Snap shot in full auto

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Made with no flash and no indoor lighting

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great Camera
By Heather the MomVerified Reviewer from Rosenberg, TX on 5/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Haven't found any yet
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

This is a great camera for a person like me who is just starting to use an SLR- It is so user friendly and really easy to figure out. I love that it has the shake stabalizer. It takes great pictures of my kids even when they are running. Have yet to find anything bad about this camera although I am just learning about SLRs and how to use them.

 
No regrets!
By BeckVerified Reviewer from Manassas, VA on 5/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I have used DSLRs from 3-4 manufacturers in this price range and nothing comes close to the Sony. The ease, speed, and unlimited potential all work together to make this a super camera whether you're just getting started in the SLR realm or if you're working as a professional. I take all types of pictures in many different settings, and in the 10 months I've owned this camera, I've never been disappointed.

 
"Don't knock it before you try it"
By Button from Memphis, TN on 5/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
low lighting
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

At first I was a little apprehensive about this being Sony's 1st SLR. Once I bought it and tried it out, it turned out to be a wonderful camera. I would definitley recommend it to others.

 
Outstanding
By SteveVerified Reviewer from Greenville on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Another Sony Triumph, cannot wait for more Ziess lenses

 
BestCamera for the money
By moorsVerified Reviewer from Stokesdale,nc on 4/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Low Light Issue
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Great Camera

 
Excellent all around camera
By ScottVerified Reviewer from Kansas city on 4/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
The manual is not helpful
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I bought the camera with the basic lens and a 75-300 mm lens. It covers most of what I do. However, if you plan on a lot of inside activity photos, definately get the external flash and a more appropriate lens.

 
Great
By JulieVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 4/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
All around photography
Describe Yourself:
Going Pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Amazing. No complaints here.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Im flabbergasted
By JulieVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 4/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Super steady shot
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscapes, Macro photography, Outdoors, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Trying to go professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Amazing. I got this camera for my daughter who loves doing photography. She is trying to go proffesional. With the great features that this camera has, it will make the job much easier.

Thank you Sony!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW!
By sonyfanVerified Reviewer from Lehi, Ut. on 4/9/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Unbelievable camera! Tons of great, easy to use features. It has very intuitive controls, I have only had to break out the manual a couple of times for complicated settings. The super steady shot built into the camera body is the only way to go! My sister bought the canon rebel with image stabilizers in the lens and there is no comparison, the sony is better!

 
Look out Nkon and Canon!
By Frisco from Stafford, Texas on 4/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Controls well laid out, Long battery life, Quiet
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Nature, Travel
Describe Yourself:
AmaPro, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

This camera has it all - except the high price of the others (Nikon, Canon). Sony offers a good lineup of lenses and more are on the way along with two new models to be released later this year or early next year.

The battery life is incredible. Since I have had the camera I have shot weddings and birthdays with a minimum of 300 pictures each with flash and have yet to run the battery out.

It accepts the old Minolta lenses and flash units and that increases the options. The big two need to start looking over their shoulder. They won't be the only choices on the block!

Images shared by: Frisco

Tastes Just Like Chicken

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
I love it!
By JIngram from Anchorage, AK on 3/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I love taking pictures with this camera. I love continuous shots feature - Great for taking pictures of children.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW!!!
By K the sports guy from Raleigh, NC on 3/16/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I would recomend the Sony A100 over the Nikon D80 and the Canon Rebel XTi.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
film down the drain
By JC loves AnabelaVerified Reviewer from san leandro, ca on 3/14/2007
Describe Yourself:
family of four, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls, Super fast shutter speed
Cons:
Need to learn controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I told myself i would never buy anything but film due to the clarity and quality. I was totally wrong, this camera is worth the cost of film just alone, plus the quality is far greater than my old slr film camera in terms of good pictures per roll of film. the battery life is awesome. pictures are super clear!!!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera
By Tony from St. Paul, MN on 3/14/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Cheap sounding shutter, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

this is a great camera, but of course, like any, there are always a few little things wrong with it. The shutter is fairly loud in this camera. Also the signal to noise ratio at high ISO is kind of low. Takes great pictures, and works for infrared with a filter. my next camera will probably be a canon, but i would still recommend this one

 
Don't let the snobs change your mind.
By Frisco from Stafford, Texas on 3/8/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Long time photographer, WeddingsBirthdays
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Long battery life, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls, Very clear display
Best Uses:
Close-up pictures, Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

For a first entry into the DSLR arena, Sony has done a great job. Based on Minolta technology, this camera has some very unique features like how the display changes so you can see it if you turn the camera sideways. The controls are easy to use and very well laid out. There is a little extra shutter noise but I find it a pleasure compared to non-DSLR cameras and it takes me back to my film days. All in all, for a $[...] less than the Nikon D200 it is a great camera for the price and usability. I haven't been disappointed yet!

Images shared by: Frisco

First night shot.

Image Thumbnail

First signs of spring

Image Thumbnail
RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the photo. Very nice!
 
An absolutly great buy!
By AlpaeyeVerified Reviewer from Portsmouth VA on 3/7/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls, Steady at slow speeds
Cons:
Noisy at high ASAs
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I was happy to buy this camera[...].This is my first digital SLR and it took a good camera to move me away from my Minolta 5si with my collection of lenses. I have only one complaint...the camera is a bit noisy shooting at 400 ASA or highter..but then film at those speeds was a bit grainy. However the built in stablalization allows for some really low light hand holding without a tripod, and also for slow shutter speeds in day light, when you want to capture movement, like a waterfall for example. I find the controls to be easy to use, well placed and the camera is plenty rugged for the experienced photographer. I mountain hike and the camera has meet all my needs on the trail. My Minolta and Sigma lenses work just great on the Alpha body. The sensor ratio takes a little getting used to, but with long lenses the 1.5 multiplyer has been a plus. I purchased a Sony 11-18 mm lens to replace my Quantaray 24 mm lens. I wanted that really wide angle of view. I am totaly pleased with the camera so far.

Images shared by: Alpaeye

Fantasmic

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Shinning Sea

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
A Pure Photographic Instrument.
By L.J.Verified Reviewer from Willingboro, New Jersey on 2/28/2007
Describe Yourself:
Photographic Artist
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I purchased the Sony Alpha-100 camera with the 18-70 kit lens. I liked the way the camera felt in my hands, light but solid. The Sony Alpha-100 has the ability to give a beginner great photos without a lot of study or practice and it can give a professional or advanced amateur great creative freedom and results.

The 10 megapixel censor is capable of fine detail and color reproduction. It has Super Steady shot in the camera so it will work with any lens that you can mount. Also, the Sony Alpha-100 has extensive menus that allow you to customize the features of the camera to your needs.

If you are used to a traditional SLR, the direct-through-the-lens viewing feels right. It only shows 95% of the final composition but it is clear with the camera settings in an easy to see green characters. The 2.5” viewing screen on the back of the camera is large and can be used to view pictures or switched to one of two information screens. One has all the necessary information, ISO, F-Stop, Shutter Speed, White Balance, EV compensation, shots left, etc. and the second in a much larger type with only the basics. Too much information? Just press the monitor button again and the display turns off.

The available lenses are very good and the prospect of more professional Zeiss lenses on the horizon make the Sony Apha-100 a strong contender in the DSLR arena - now and for the future.

 
Good easy to use camera
By TimVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 2/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, realy good battery life, Simple Controls
Cons:
camera shake
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

This is a really good camera the only problem I have had with is camera shake. The camera is very senstive to movement just make sure you always lock the image before you take the picture.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Sony SLR Debut, but...
By JammerVerified Reviewer from Chicago on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Lower Build Quality, Mediocre Lens Selection, Not Enough Features, Not Enough Manual Control, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

This camera is an impressive debut from Sony. Their first effort into the SLR market, and it truly is a nice little camera. Nice features, robust 10.2 megapixel performance. Actually, this is just an overhaul of an old Minolta DSLR which sold so poorly that they went out of business! Haven't had the chance to use any additional lenses, but for a starter camera, it's a nice debut. I especially like the idea of placing the image stabilization into the camera body as opposed to the lens. I'm still waiting for the jury report on whether or not this form of stabilization is as good as Canon's IS or Nikon's VR, but it's a step in the right direction. And the price is not too shabby.

However, I wouldn't start placing it on a par with Canon or Nikon by any stretch. Sony color and sharpness has been notoriously overzealous and this camera, though much better than its consumer models, is no exception. It clips the high and low ends of the range a bit and shoots for saturated rather than natural colors. Sony often makes choices for the consumer, and that's not something I want, but it must be okay for most people, because Sony moves merchandise! I'd like to see more manual control in this camera. Also, the proprietary Sony memory stick is one of the flimsiest forms of media capture out there. Further, Nikons have a much more balanced and ergonomic feel in my hands.

I'd spend my money on a cheaper D50 or Canon Rebel as an entry level SLR. Sony basically bought Minolta at a bargain and is now repackaging their old lines. So this is really a Minolta with Minolta lenses. Minolta was a great little camera company, but it ain't Nikon or Canon. So just make certain you're buying the camera, not the brand behind the camera. Would you buy this if it were called the Minolta A100? Maybe you would. Then follow your heart.

 
Sony DSLR
By StephVerified Reviewer from Irwin, PA on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Cannot compose with LCD
Best Uses:
Everyday, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I love my camera. I never expected to put that much money into something but I am so glad that I did. The only thing I wish is that I could use the LCD screen to compose the picture. Other than that, I still have a lot to learn about it but I love it!

 
I love this camera!
By GrammyVerified Reviewer from Tulsa, OK on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, It's so easy, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I just love taking pictures wth this camera.

Images shared by: Grammy

smile for mom

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thanks for the photo
 
Simply the best!
By Kattack from Miami, Florida on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

This is my first personal DSLR camera, however I have used others. It was a gift and I fell in love with it. It's very easy to use and the different fuctions are a dream. The different color settings are very helpful when needing a different tint. The colors come out vibrant and the resolution is crisp. I give this camera an overall 9.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Can't wait for a pro version!
By HPVerified Reviewer from Texas on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Noise at high ISO
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

The Alpha is a great beginner's camera, and once Sony comes out with a pro model they will be competing with Canon and Nikon for the top slots. The Super Steady Shot is revolutionary. Instead of spending several hundred PER LENS to get VR or IS, you basically get it with every lens. I have taken pictures at 1/15 of a second - previously unheard of - with the kit lens. You can see the example below. Keep in mind that the minimum speed for the focal length I was using should have been 1/90.

I wouldn't use above 400 ISO because it's so noisy, but the Steady Shake kind of compensates for that in low light. Coupled with a prime 1.4 lens, you'll be able to practically shoot in the dark!

I love the controls and the in-camera customization features, including detailed contrast, saturation, and sharpness options. The wireless flash capabilites are also very handy. In-camera black and white is better than anything I've ever seen channel converted to B&W from Photoshop. I would definitely recommend this camera to someone starting out, as it is very easy to use and has great image quality, and if they come out with a pro version with a softer shutter sound, better high-ISO noise, tougher body build, and higher FPS, I would recommend it for everything else.

Images shared by: HP

Av, B&W Contrast +2, 60mm, f/5.6, 1/15

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Well done photo.
 
Great Camera
By Tom NVerified Reviewer from Steeler's Country - Pittsburgh, PA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Pictures of grand-kids
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Auto dust removal, Easy to handle, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls, Super Steady Shot
Cons:
A bit large for travel
Best Uses:
Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

This camera is great for taking "special" keepsake pictures. I purchased it with the Quantaray 18-200mm F3.5-6.3 lens. Can use the auto adjust for great pictures, or create special effects with manual adjustments (which are easy to do), the controls are intuitive. Like the way it handles, it is not a small camera, but is well balanced and comfortable to hold. When taking a picture, the sound of the shutter is as comforting, as the sound of shutting the door of an expensive and well made automobile. Highly recommend the camera. [...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Picture quality
By PatepatVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Family outings, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Easy to Use, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Didn't see any cons yet
Best Uses:
Everyday, Family pictures, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Great camera - easy to use. Love the continuous shot feature. Take time to learn the camera - it's comparable to a non-digital SLR camera.

 
Simply the best !
By Kattack from Miami, FL on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

This is my first personal DSLR, given to me as a gift, and I fell in love at once. Its not extremely heavy like others, and the controls are easy to find and simply written out.The different color settings are my favorite, they help give that extra vibrance, or simply monocrome. If you are just starting out it will help give that professional look, and if you're a professional it's ideal for everything. I love everything about this camera and urge anyone who loves photography to get it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
great camera for everything!!!!!!!!!!!!
By NewtotheSLRworld from Sacramento,CA on 1/25/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Easy To Learn And Use, Fast AF, Great price, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
ISO to high
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Nature photography, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

This is the perfect camera for anyone starting any type of photography. Advanced users will love the res on this 10.2 megapixel camera. Like the review before me I too thought it was easy to swhich from the canon powershot series. I was going for the Pentax K10 or Nikon D70s but the sony was the best deal for the price. Here are some features and thoughts I had about this camera:Super Steady shot:I really dont know is this feature is worth it. It works but i wish it could be more powerful.Clean CCD: This, I have no idea how this works but, it works.Lenses and stuff: This is not a problem sony lenses are really really nice, but they are soooooo expensive and i really don't want to buy Quantary lenses, so minolta has very nice lenses that work on the sony. Sigma and Tamaron also make nice lenses but if I personall would go with the expensive sony lenses. Accessories are not a problem with the sony. An extra battery wasn't hard to find even though I didn't buy one. Sony flashes ans shutter cables are not hard to find either. Great focus system: The Eye-start Autofocus system, i didn't know about this untill I read about it on www.RitzCamera.com. Instead of pressing the shutter button halfway it automaticly will focus when you bring your eye to the viewfinder. I havent fully tried this feature yet, but it sounds good.[...] RAW+JPEG and RAW: I love shooting in RAW+JPEG I think the quality is higher.This a fantastic camera for all types of photography. I reccomend it. It man not be a Nikon or Cannon but it shure is better!

Images shared by: NewtotheSLRworld

Sacramento at sundown

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[19 of 22 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Camera Yet
By ajmiller from San Jose, CA on 12/29/2006
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

I have fairly minimal experience with more professional grade cameras like this, I upgraded from a Canon PowerShot series, but I found the transition with this camera to be very easy. I completely agree with the last review stating that if you have little to no experience that this camera that it will make your photos look remarkable. I bought mine and tested it the next day in San Francisco and came out with some amazing photos from the day. I also highly recommend the 75mm-300mm lens for greater detailed landscapes.

[54 of 58 customers found this review helpful]

 
This camera is Sony's Best yet. AAAA++++
By BadappleVerified Reviewer from Portland Oregon on 12/16/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
None that I have found
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera W/18-70MM F/3.5-5.6 Lens:

Sony's best yet, This ranks among the best right along with Nikon and Cannon. I'am glad I traded in my Nikon for this. Unbelievable... Shot my first wedding the weekend I bought it and have had remarkable results in any and every situation that I have put it through. Family portraits turned out fantastic. Very easy to use even if you are just starting out this camera will make your pictures look as if you had a professional there.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.