Buy the Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: Sony
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A300: the camera that links you and your subject. For first-time DSLR users, Sony combines superb 10.2 MP quality, a high quality DT 18-70mm f3.5-5.6 standard zoom lens, and Live Preview in a large tilting 2.7-inch LCD monitor for point-and-shoot simplicity. You'll have super-quick AF response, 3 fps continuous shooting while you see your subject in the viewfinder, and high sensitivity (ISO 3200) for great low-light shots. What's more, you get simple controls, Creative Style settings and in-camera Super SteadyShot image stabilization that work with every Sony, Carl Zeiss and legacy Minolta a-mount lens. Stamina power for up to 740 shots, Auto Pop-up Flash and many more features make DSLR model an excellent choice for your favorite new hobby.

10.2 MP Super HAD CCD - Superb image quality gives you great DSLR shots right from the start, with a large APS-size CCD imager developed by Sony to expand dynamic range, and minimize noise more effectively for clear, sharp photos even at high sensitivity setting (up to ISO 3200).

Live Preview of Your Subject - The DSLR-A300's Live Preview mode links you and your subject on a large 2.7-inch LCD screen, for a familiar point-and-shoot style - with super-quick AF response and accurate exposure control to help you catch the perfect moment. In Live Preview mode, the camera bypasses the optical pentaprism mirror to create a live "eye-to-eye" view of loved ones, children, pets and fast-changing scenes.

Tiltable 2.7-inch Clear Photo LCD Plus Screen - A large built-in screen with 2-way angle tilt provides a sharp, clear view of your subject and tilts up or down for low-angle or high-angle monitoring in situations where you want a child-level or overhead shot.

Continuous Shooting While Viewing - The DSLR-A300 lets you shoot continuously at up to 3 frames per second while you see your subject in the viewfinder, so you never lose track of the action. In JPEG mode, you can shoot up to the limit of your flash memory card; in RAW Burst Mode you can capture up to 6 shots, with intelligent buffer management to allow more shots to be captured without waiting for the buffer to clear.

Smart Teleconverter 2X Zoom - At the touch of a button you can zoom in electronically on your subject, reproducing pixels on a 1:1 basis with no degradation in picture quality. One touch zooms in at 1.4X, the second touch advances to 2X zoom - creating the 35mm equivalent of a 200mm telephoto effect with the DSLR-A300's standard 18-70mm zoom lens.

Expanded ISO Sensitivity - A broad sensitivity range from ISO 100 to ISO 3200 enables the DSLR-A300 to capture beautiful color images even in very dim light - with High ISO Noise Reduction technology that reduces picture noise artifacts at high-sensitivity ISO 1600 and ISO 3200 settings by eliminating noise from RAW data after analog-to-digital conversion.

Super SteadyShot In-Camera Image Stabilization - Because image stabilization is built into the DSLR-A300, every lens benefits by an advantage of from 2.5 to 3.5 exposure steps. This allows you to shoot effectively with minimum blur even in low light without flash - or adjust exposure control for smaller lens aperture, to increase depth of field and bring both foreground and background into sharp focus.

Bionz Image Processor - The "brain" of the a (alpha) DSLR-A300 is the advanced Sony Bionz Image Processor, using hardware-based Large Scale Integrated (LSI) circuitry to enhance images with rich tonal reproduction, improved white balance and exposure control, and expanded D-Range Optimizer capabilities. With 2-channel data transfer from CCD to processor, your camera can also respond faster.

1200-zone Evaluative Metering5 - Exposure information from the image sensor dedicated to Live View is divided into 1200 zones of luminance and RGB color information. In addition D-Range Optimizer technology contributes to judge the scene and then determine the optimum exposure to reproduce images with a more natural look.

Dynamic Range Optimizer - To improve results with backlit subjects and recover details hidden in shadows or lost in glare, the DSLR-A300 provides Dynamic Range Optimizer at two levels: Normal DRO, to improve detail using standard gamma curves for fast shot-to-shot response time, or Advanced DRO, to adjust dynamic range area-by-area for the greatest precision.

Anti-Dust Technology - Changing lenses in a DSLR can allow dust to enter the camera - so to keep the CCD imager cleaner for better pictures, the DSLR-A300 utilizes both static-free anti-dust coating on the CCD filter and anti-dust vibration that automatically shakes the CCD to dislodge dust each time the camera is shut off.

Auto Pop-Up Flash - The camera flash automatically pops up and fires when needed, to help first-time DSLR photographers shoot more effectively. Auto Pop-up works in Auto mode and some scene selection modes; Flash is cancelled in Landscape, Sport or Sunset modes and in "Flash Off" position on the Exposure Mode dial.

Eye-Start Autofocus System - It begins precision autofocus adjustments the moment you raise the camera to your eye - so unlike some DSLR cameras that don't start focusing until the shutter button is half-pressed, the Sony DSLR-A300 never slows down your ability to catch fast action.

9-Point Center Cross AF Sensor - A fast focus motor and improved focus control help bring images into sharp definition more quickly, with predictive focus control that automatically calculates the position of a fast-moving subject.

Scene Selection Modes - Along with auto exposure, the DSLR-A300 gives you scene selection modes to optimize camera performance for Portrait, Landscape, Macro, Sports, Sunset and Night Portrait/Night View situations.

Creative Style Settings - To express your creativity and personal taste, you can adjust contrast, saturation and sharpness settings for any of 8 finishing styles - including Standard, Vivid, Portrait, Landscape, Night View, Sunset, B&W and Adobe RGB modes.

Index and Slide Show Display - To quickly review your photos, the DSLR-A300 can display 4, 9 or 25-frame index views - or present automatic slide shows with fade-in/fade-out effect.

High-Resolution Thumbnails for PhotoTV HD Viewing - The DSLR-A300 automatically creates high-resolution thumbnail images for viewing on Sony's BRAVIA HDTV in optimized PhotoTV HD mode, with image format adjustable for standard 3:2 or widescreen 16:9 display.

Function Guide Display - On-screen menus are intuitive and easy to use - and a simple Camera Function Display can be activated and operated with one hand using the "Fn" (Function) button and controller button to adjust Flash mode, Autofocus mode, White Balance, Metering mode, AF area and D-Range Optimizer.

Stamina Battery Power - In optical viewfinder mode, you can take up to 750 shots on a fully charged NP-FM500H InfoLITHIUM battery - and you'll be able to see about how much power remains in percentage increments, so you can keep shooting in confidence.

High-Capacity Media Options - For conveniently storing and sharing your images, the DSLR-A300 accepts CompactFlash Type I/II media and optional Memory Stick PRO Duo media.

Advanced Lenses and System Accessories - Sony's a (alpha) system gives you everything you need to expand your creativity in DSLR photography: precision Sony DT zoom lenses and specialty lenses, Sony "G" Series lenses with advanced motorized autofocusing, amazingly bright Carl Zeiss lens designs, professional-quality flash units, and over 16 million Minolta a-mount lenses sold worldwide.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(6), Fast shutter speed(3), Great picture quality(4), Image stabilization(3), Large clear LCD(13)
Cons:
Loud(3)
Best Uses:
Art(9), Fun(14), Portraits(5), Sports(3), Travel(12)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(5), Casual user(3), Enthusiast(3), Photo enthusiast(4)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Off tha chain
By Photographer in trainingVerified Reviewer from Greenbelt, MD on 4/4/2009
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

Test drove it after messing with Nikon and Canon, this Sony A300 impressed me from the time i hit the live view feature. I had to make sure to run it past the wife first before the purchase. After raving about what the camera offered she was sold on my enthusiasm. I am Very satisfied.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Surpised by Sony
By Kim from Canada on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

Never used a DSLR before, good starter camera

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Camera
By PaulVerified Purchaser from Tulsa, OK on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Live view
Cons:
Slow flash on continuous
Best Uses:
Fun, My kids, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

This is an awesome camera. The live view is an outstanding feature - The extra few $ for the a300 over the a200 is definitely a wise investment. The image stabilization being in the camera not the lense is also a big plus in my opinion. I've had the camera for several weeks and really like it.The built in flash is a little slow when doing continuous shots and causes the pictures to be dark. I'm an amerature, but I think this is the nature of the beast when it comes to built in flashes.I also found [...]very pleasing to deal with.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT CAMERA!!!
By CarlyVerified Reviewer from Norfolk, Va on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

Love this camera. Trying to get away from my Minlota SRT 201 film camera. And came across the A300. Great all around camera. Good for first time DSLR users. One bad thing...no pc cord comections to add a different flash source. Flash mount is nothing like I've ever seen. Over all. GET THIS CAMERA!!!

Images shared by: Carly

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Value
By Jeff-PhotogVerified Reviewer from So Cal on 12/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

I am a returning enthusiast from the SLR "film" days. While things have changed considerably with the digital age, I am hard-pressed to find criticism with this camera.
Earlier point-and-shoot Sony models (and others) are more complicated than this "easy-to-get-acquainted-with" DSLR.
I'm very happy with the price, the ease of use, the versatility, and the quality of the photos.
I recommend it to anyone looking for great quality with an affordable price tag.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great First Dslr
By Drew from Sarasota, FL on 11/10/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Landscape, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

Great camera just moved to this dslr form a point and shoot. easy to use and takes great wild life pics

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera, Great price
By funVerified Purchaser from Wisconsin on 10/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

The auto Live View function is why I bought this camera and it has been great. This is my first SLR an I think it is a great introductory camera. We were headed on a camping trip the day it arrived and I was able to quickly get it together so I could use it on our trip. It is easy and fun to use.

[5 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very disappointing once you get into it
By User 1952Verified Reviewer from Enfield, NH on 10/2/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Zoom is blurred
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

I was very disappointed with the lack of sharp pictures. I currently have a Nikon 5700 p&s 5 MP that can outperform the Sony 300. I tried to tweak it in every way including tripod with timer. As soon as you begin to crop beyond 6X the picture degrades considerably. Not on my 5700. I even tried another 300 with the same results. I don't know if it is in the processor or in the lens kit. I bought a Canon xsi in its place and there is no comparison. If you are a serious photo enthusiast, stay away from the Sony A-300

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Product
By Pop-PopVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PA on 9/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

I bought this camera to take pictures of our grand sons who never stay still. I am very pleased with this camera.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Almost there
By JumferVerified Reviewer from Stockholm, Sweden on 9/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Loud, Shaky Operation
Best Uses:
Art, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

Most things are great. The LCD screen is great, the stabilisation is great. The sensor gives nice pics, I switched over from Canon (400D, 5D) and no big difference for me at least. The AF hunts a lot in low light and sometimes the camera seems to be doing something of its own instead of letting me take pictures. Feels a little shaky, not professional grade but still a capable camera and fantastic value for the price.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom
By Sherwood StudiosVerified Purchaser from Eureka, MO on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

Easy to use camera. Easy to download pictures. Picture quality is very good. Don't use the viewer very much, but it does come in handy when in crowds and I want to take a picture of my kids or something.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love the Camera
By Catlover2122Verified Purchaser from Fresno, CA on 8/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy buttons, LIghtweight, Moveable LCD, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, KIDS, Parties, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

I love the camera, the best DSLR camera that I have touched.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
A very good DSLR starter camera
By Mario ex FisicaVerified Purchaser from Cedar Rapids, IA on 8/18/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

I bought the Sony Alpha300 as my first DSLR after reading a good review of it in the NYTimes. I have now used it for about four months, mainly in trips, family events, and for a few artistic shots. In general, I love the quality of the pictures I can generate with little effort, especially for someone like me who is just getting started.

The camera has a true LiveView mode on the LCD, but I find myself using it only sporadically. The controls and functions are well-laid out and the body grip is good. The lens that ships with the camera (18-70mm) is a good starter and allows for a variety of shots. As with all DSLR cameras, I would recommend buying at least one introductory book to understand the multiple parameters that affect pictures---exposure, focus, f-number, white balance, shutter speed, etc. Ultimately it is all about getting the right amount of light onto the sensor. On the other hand, the Auto mode can help you get started and removes much of the hassle of taking a simple picture---you can then begin to experiment from there.

The resolution (10 megapixels) is good enough for just about anything. After a trip to the Desert Museum in Arizona I had two pictures printed out poster size (12" x 24" and 24" x 30", I think) and they came out incredibly well. In my opinion there is no need for larger resolution.

Negatives are few. The optical viewfinder could be larger. There is an autofocus features that works by sensing when your eye gets close to the optical viewfinder. When the camera hand around your neck the sensor keeps adjusting the focus, so I am forced to hang it with the lends pointing down to avoid this (or turn off the feature). The glossy nature of the LCD can make it hard to see at times, but this is a somewhat common problem.

Battery life is quite good, and the display in % charge remaining is a nice addition, but I bought a second battery just in case. Make sure you buy a good bag the that fits the camera--with lens mounted--comfortably.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Camera for Beginning User!
By ShariVerified Purchaser from Johns Creek, Ga on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

Love this camera, had to buy Sony in order to use my Minolta lens, but not disappointed, I use the camera to take pictures of my children, sports (my son plays baseball) its easy to use and I am getting ready to take a class to learn how to use more options.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera! cant stop snapping away!
By josekroqVerified Reviewer from South Gate, Ca on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Professional work, Wedding
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

Great camera, i started shooting and love every moment! great camera speed, no lag. clear settings. kit lens feels alittle plasticy but you realy cant beat the price! i also have the sigma70-300mm lens. alittle loud but not to bad. moving up from fujifilm s9100. if your considering Sony i would take a chance you wont regret!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this camera!
By BosteveVerified Reviewer from Boston on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

I had Alpha 100 last year, upgraded to 300 this year. Love the live screen and the lightweight body. This camera takes all Minolta lenses!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera for the Price!
By LuvsDaThicknessVerified Reviewer from ATL on 7/9/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Live View System, Strong Construction
Cons:
Kit lens just OK, Terrible pop-up flash
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

This is my first dslr and only my second slr (my first was a Nikon FG). I have to say that I've gotten some pretty cool pics with this camera in the few short weeks that I've owned it. I really like the layout of the camera and Live View system is excellent.

There are only a couple of things that I don't like about this camera. For instance, the pop-up flash will create a shadow at the bottom of your image even with the kit lens on because it just doesn't pop-up high enough to clear the lens. Next the kit lens is just okay. Several reviewers have stated that this lens actual limits the picture quality of this camera's big brother, the A350, which is 14.2 megapixels (four more than the A300). Although the flash thing is minor (you could always buy a shoe flash), the lens is a drawback. Lucky for me, I got the 75-200mm lens with mine.

Images shared by: LuvsDaThickness

Sky's the Limit 3

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
all around camera
By bambam from near texas on 5/10/2008
Pros:
Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Complicated Controls, Not an expert but still, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Sony Alpha DSLR-A300 K Camera w/18-70 Zoom Lens:

To many functions not needed.. but takes great pics.. outside. indoors with the flash are good pics too.. it could come with a better lense.
I also purchased the sony HDC SR42 at the same time.. both worth the money.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.