Buy the DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: Sony
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H9 Digital Camera packs in an amazing array of hi-tech features, including 15X Optical Zoom, 3.0-inch LCD Screen with tilt-up design, Advanced Sports Mode (1/4000 sec.), and the Sony NightShot; system for shooting in darkness by Infrared light, and Face Detection to bring out the best in faces. Super SteadyShot; image stabilization and high Sensitivity (ISO 3200) mode allow low-light shots without flash to preserve the mood - and HD Output2 lets you share memories in spectacular High Definition clarity and detail on compatible HDTV screens.
  • 8.1 MP Resolution, black stylish finish
  • Powerful Carl Zeiss 15X Optical Zoom Lens
  • Tilt-up 3.0-inch screen for low-angle shooting
  • Advanced Sports Mode for fast-action subjects
  • NightShot Infrared System for shooting in darkness
  • Super SteadyShot Optical Image Stabilization
  • Face Detection to make faces look their best
  • HD Output to compatible HDTV for spectacular photo viewing
  • 31 MB Internal Memory
  • Stamina battery power: up to 250 shots
  • Manual Exposure Control and Manual Focus

High-Power Carl Zeiss 15X Optical Zoom - A superb lens for bringing long-distance subjects up close, the pro-quality Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar lens design of the DSC-H9 provides 15X Optical Zoom design - with 25X HD Digital Zoom to enlarge the center portion of the picture so you see even more detail.

8.1 MP Super HAD CCD - More megapixels give you more detail and definition for editing, cropping, and making large Digital prints. Sony''s advanced Super HAD (Hole Accumulated Diode) CCD design allows more light to pass to each Pixel, increasing Sensitivity and reducing noise.

3.0-inch Tilt-up Screen, Simple Controls - The DSC-H9 provides a huge, bright 3.0-inch Clear Photo LCD Plus screen that tilts up for comfortable low-angle shooting - plus simple camera menus, a new GUI Home button, and Function Guide Display that makes it easier to learn camera setup operations.

NightShot Infrared System - Sony''s NightShot system provides Infrared illumination for shooting in near-dark or totally dark conditions without using a flash - so you can capture sleeping children, nocturnal animals and creative night scenes that lie beyond the power of conventional cameras.

Advanced Sports Mode - To capture fast-moving subjects in split-second detail, this innovative DSC-H9 shooting mode combines high Shutter Speed (1/4000 sec.) with Intelligent Continuous AF that responds more quickly to rapid motion - a great way to catch the perfect moment in sports, children''s games, pet tricks and more.

Long-Distance Flash - A powerful flash provides extra illumination to light up subjects farther from your camera, with precise light control and the ability to adjust flash for both front and rear Sync when shooting at low-speed Sync setting.

Super SteadyShot Optical Image Stabilization - Other image stabilization systems crop in to compensate for camera shake - but with the Super SteadyShot system, optical sensors detect camera movement and send correcting signals to a stabilization lens that allows even ultra-long-distance Digital photos to capture more detail with less camera shake distortion.

High Sensitivity Mode - With Super SteadyShot image stabilization to minimize blur, High Sensitivity Mode (ISO 3200) lets the DSC-H9 shoot effectively in low light without flash to preserve the mood - and Sony''s original Clear RAW NR (Noise Reduction) image processing technology helps suppress the color noise that can accompany high-Sensitivity shooting.

Face Detection - By automatically controlling focus, exposure, color and flash, this new Sony feature reveals faces in shadow, makes skin tones look more natural and eliminates harsh facial glare - to help bring out every expression on every face in every shot, so you''ll capture the personalities and emotions that make memories come alive.

HD Output - Thanks to Sony, your photo album can go high-def - with direct HD output to your compatible HDTV screen, so you can view DSC-H9 still photos in spectacular High Definition clarity and detail. Your life never looked so exciting!
HD Output requires an optional Sony HD connector cable; HDTV sold separately

HD Slide Show with Music - It''s the high-definition viewing experience that makes photos come alive on compatible HDTV screens, accompanied by your choice of visual effects and any of four preset musical selections stored in memory or your favorite MP3 tunes downloaded from PC to your camera for use as background music.

9-Point Auto Focus - Because an off-center subject can make your shot more interesting, the DSC-H9 can measure auto-focus precision at 9 points on your screen - giving you greater creative freedom to compose your image.

D-Range Optimization - Powered by the exclusive Sony Bionz high-speed processing engine, D-Range Optimization preserves image data in bright highlights and reveals more detail in shadows or backlit areas - for great results even in difficult lighting conditions.

In-Camera Retouching - The DSC-H9 lets you add creative effects to photos after you shoot - including soft edge filter to soften backgrounds, cross filter to place starry dazzles at highlight points, partial color filter to mute surrounding colors, even fish-eye filter to create interesting fish-eye lens effects.

In-Camera Red-Eye Reduction - In-Camera Red-Eye Reduction. Irritating glowing eyes can ruin even the most creative photos - so the DSC-H9 gives you in-camera correction at the touch of a button to reduce lingering red-eye effect that other systems might miss.

Electronic Color Viewfinder - In addition to its bright 3.0-inch LCD Screen, the DSC-H9 has a built-in electronic color viewfinder that lets you shoot in traditional camera style and save battery power by turning your LCD Screen off.

Remote Control Function - Remote Control Function. In both shooting and play mode, you can use a supplied Remote Control unit to control basic camera functions - including Zoom, menu settings, etc. - so you can put yourself in the picture when shooting with a tripod or sit back and enjoy the show when you share images on your home TV screen.

Wheel Dial for Manual Exposure Modes - For more creative freedom, a simple wheel-dial control lets you quickly change camera settings in manual modes (Shutter Speed priority, Aperture priority, manual exposure) and also control ISO Sensitivity, focus area, and Exposure Value. In play mode, the wheel dial provides a quick way to view your next or previous shot.

31 MB Internal Memory - The DSC-H9 allows you to capture shots in-camera for later transfer to PC or Memory Stick Duo media - so even if you forget your Flash Memory card, you can always get the shot.

Memory Stick Duo Media - The DSC-H9 has a built-in slot for optional Memory Stick Duo media or higher-capacity Memory Stick PRO Duo Media - the ultra-compact media for shooting, storing and sharing your photo images.

76X Smart Zoom Feature* - Sony''s Smart Zoom feature gives you an amazing ultra-close crop on the central portion of interest in your photo while avoiding the image degradation of other Digital zooms.
*Smart Zoom feature will not work at highest Resolution setting

MPEG Movie VX Fine Mode - The DSC-H9 can capture VGA (640 x 480) audio/video clips at high frame rate (up to 30 frames per second) - with Optical Zoom in movie mode to let you Zoom in or pull back while taking action shots.
Shooting at high frame rate of up to 30 frames per second requires Memory Stick PRO Duo Media.

Stamina Battery Power - The DSC-H9 provides up to 250* shots with a fully charged NP-BG1 Lithium Ion battery - enough shooting capacity to cover a long weekend or a whole vacation.
*Actual results may vary based on product settings, usage patterns, battery and environmental conditions.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Beginner(3), Casual user(7), Enthusiast(8), Professional(4)
Pros:
Accurate colors(8), Great resolution(9), Large clear LCD(11), Nice features and settings(9), Quiet(8)
Cons:
Complicated controls(5)
Best Uses:
Art(7), Documentary(5), Everyday(7), Fun(9), Low light(6)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sony Hits A Home Run!
By Bob W. 706Verified Reviewer from Rolling Meadows, IL on 2/25/2008
Pros:
Adjustable LCD, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Macro, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Bulky hood
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

This is one great camera! Sony has really hit a home run with this one! I've owned numerous digital cameras, both DSLR and point and shoot, and this one is such a wonderful all around camera. It has 15X ZOOM LENS with MACRO works down to several inches away from your subject. The focal length of the Zeiss lens goes over 460mm!
No worries about changing lenses and getting dust on the sensor as with DSLRs. The LCD screen is also a winner! You can pull it out and move it up and down, which is great for taking pictures down low and above your head. No more laying down on the ground to take a picture of a flower or small children. Just flip the screen! Works great in cold climates too.
Buy this camera! You won't be disappointed!

Images shared by: Bob W. 706

South Haven Lighthouse - Michigan

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Macro shot! Milwaukee, WI Domes

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Shots
By MelindaVerified Reviewer from Alabama on 12/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

I love this camera. I like the easy to use switches. The camera controls are really easy to use and it tells you across the screen what the function is for. We ordered one for my mother in law who is challenged when it comes to technology. She loves this camera and uses it all the time. The ability to use the lcd screen or regular eye hole when taking pictures is a plus for those who would like to have both as an option. Zoom is great! And I love how the flash comes up when needed.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to use and takes great pictures
By campgrl9282Verified Reviewer from Lincoln, NE on 12/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Simple to use, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens hood shadows pics
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

I used my camera for Christmas pictures and really like the way they turned out. I only had about 3 days to get acquainted with it beforehand but it was simple enough. With enough knowledge of 35mm cameras, you can get the hang of this one quickly! I love that I can buy a tele and wide lens for this as well-unlike most point and shoot models. When taking pictures in macro you'll want to remove the hood because it shadows the image, other than that, it has been great.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
BAD CAMERA
By MEEEEEEE from GA on 12/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD
Cons:
Shaky Operation, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

SO SLOW CAMERA TO TAKE PICTURE, NOT EASY USE AND I DON'T FIND WHAT I'M LOOKING FOR, MY EXPERIENCE OUT OF THIS ONE

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
THE DSC/H9 IS 5 STAR INTELLIGENCE
By clover345Verified Reviewer from lawrenceville, GA on 11/8/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
No case
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

I haven't had the DSCH9 long but at this moment
there just isn't anything I have found to equal
the color, the ease of use and the awesome pictures on PC or TV. We will enjoy it at the
beach soon and at sea world. So far there is nothing overwhelming about functions. With little
time in using the camera, everything was routine.
I would have liked a professional case with it
for the accessories and extra GB'S and batteries
etc,etc. Overall 5 star's. Recommned to anyone

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera
By ghostrider 6Verified Reviewer from FOB Mehtar Lam, Afghanistan on 9/17/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Night shot very poor
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

I purchased this camera about a month ago. I am in Afghanistan and didn't want to bring my SLR but still wanted decent pics at a good price. The zoom is amazing and with the resolution you can really crop in close. It's a bit bulky so I don't bring it with me as much as Sony DSC S500 that I keep in my pocket. It's been bumped around a bit in my cargo pocket but no issues so far. I still haven't explored all the features, but everything so far has been positive.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A lot of fun to be had
By Rhyen aka CMSVerified Reviewer from Taos, New Mexico on 9/14/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

For the price of the camera it should come with a Memory Card.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it
By ErineVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas NV on 8/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, I like it all, Loud, Shaky Operation, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel, Wedding
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Pro, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

i shot wedding i use canon 5D & 20D this sony is one of better camer i use from sony just got it to day ind ilove it

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love it!
By NAGVerified Reviewer from INDIA on 7/16/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Control by remote, Crystal clear images, Manual and Auto Control, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Can't see own image, Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel, Video
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

Very nice to have one. Everybody staring at it(wherever I go)! Cool look;I love it!

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Winner
By Judy - Grandma & Traveler!Verified Reviewer from Waterloo, Iowa on 6/30/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Retired teacher, Traveler
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

I can't believe that one camera could have all these outstanding features. My husband and I are anxious to take this to Nova Scotia. I can also sit at the top back row of the bleachers for my granddchildren's performances and zoom right in on them. I don't have to stand over the crowds. I just raise my camera high, tip the viewing screen downward and I can see everything from a sitting position. With the continuous capture of shots, I can capture the quick movements of my grandson hitting the ball at his game and zooming in as he runs to the bases.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW.....
By Woo Hoo.....Verified Reviewer from MA on 6/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, NOT good but look
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Perfection, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

Sony Cybershot H9 ROCKS....
the 3" screen that tilts, is AWESOME, the clarity, color, EVERYTHING....playing it back on a t.v. is breathtaking...
I am NOT a photographer, I'm lucky to take a decent pic, but THESE are amazing.......
Highly recommended....you WON'T be disappointed...

Images shared by: Woo Hoo.....

My first round of pictures with the Sony Cybershot

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW....Highly Recommended....
By Proud Navy MomVerified Reviewer from MASS on 6/14/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

I got the Olympus S550, but Cybershot H9 was my 1st choice, thought the other was a "better deal" NOT...Cybershot is easy to get around, AND has a QUICK BURST for rapid shots....And the zoom is great....The tilt screen is VERY USEFUL in all conditions..this comes with the batterpack AND charger, SAVINGS PLUS....don't think twice....it is a fun camera and TONS of features......the auto focus is FAST

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Camera
By PikesPeakBBQ from Falcon, Colorado on 6/10/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, A ton of features, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Superb LCD
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

The camera takes great pictures, and the flash
has a nice long range. There are so many modes
that it takes some use before everything can get
figured out. Sometime I take pictures in two
or more modes to compare, and the colors are not
the same in the different modes.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Light weight easy to use.
By Bonnie on the GOVerified Reviewer from Spencer , Mass on 6/10/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

I will be going to Peru in June. I can already tell I will bring home some incredible pictures of the Andes and the people.
WOW!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Pictures!
By ameteurVerified Reviewer from Missouri on 6/10/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

This takes the best pictures I have ever taken. It is a little complicated at first, but even not using all the bells and whistles, you can't beat the images. Beautiful. Highly recommended.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A bit pricey, but a very good camera!
By sincere from The Wood, Indiana on 6/2/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
3" tilting lcd, Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Night shot
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

night shot is one of the best features I have ever seen on a camera. Controls are a bit complicated, but once you have used it for a while it gets easier. Absolutly beautiful pictures. 3" lcd actually pulls out and then can tilt 180 degrees up and down. Great camera.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Forget DSLR's lense changing annoyance
By nightrover from Ahmedabad, India on 5/24/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Crystal clear LCD, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

This is the perfect camera for them who really don't like the hustling of lense changing in DSLRs. OR for them who can not afford DSLRs but always wanted to have one.
Great features. Great look. Almost perfect grip.
Very impressive top of the line 3-inch, very bright, LCD display. Anybody can envy your camera.
Always worried about shaken hands when taking pictures, never mind, DSC-H9 is capable enough to measure auto-focus precision at 9 points and therefore it allows anybody to take a perfect picture.
It has good battery life as well.
The zoom range is a bit wider and a bit longer than most ultra-zoom cameras, thus covering most common focal-lengths up to super-telephoto.
The camera is ideally suited for wildlife photography and is an asset for macro and street photography.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect Match
By Gerry from Arizona High Country on 5/16/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSC-H9 Digital Camera (Black) - 15X Optical Zoom:

This is the perfect digital for people who want full control. The extensive color controls and enlarged focus area is superb. The 3" LCD is unlike any I have used, bright and resolute. Of course the lens is phenominal. A wide optical zoom range and unmatched clarity. The controls are a bit tricky if you have larger hands but do seem ease up with use.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.