Buy the DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only) image
 
(based on 13 ratings)
Brand: Sony
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The Sony Alpha DSLR-A100 camera is an instant classic: the top-quality 10 MP DSLR system camera that builds on a two-decade legacy of Minolta photographic leadership, accepts 20 years of A-mount lenses sold worldwide - and introduces Sony imaging innovations like high-sensitivity shooting with Super SteadyShot in-camera image stabilization, Dynamic Range Optimizer to automatically increase detail in bright and dark picture areas, new Anti-Dust technology to keep the CCD imager clean for better pictures, and Eye-Start Autofocus system for faster camera response.

The Rebirth of a Legend.
In the revolutionary new Sony A100K digital camera, Sony''s mastery of digital technology combines with Minolta''s legendary SLR technology -- including autofocus and anti-shake compatibility with over 20 years of A-mount lenses sold worldwide.

Advanced Lenses and Accessories.
The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera is your gateway to one of the world''s most sophisticated camera systems, including precision Sony standard and zoom lenses, Sony "G" Series lenses with advanced motorized autofocusing, amazingly bright Carl Zeiss T* coated lenses, professional-quality flash units and more.

10.2 MP CCD.
A large, 23.6 x 15.8 mm APS-C-size CCD imager with Sony''s advanced design allows more light to pass to each pixel, increasing sensitivity and reducing noise -- and providing greater detail when you make big prints or crop in close on your subject.

Super SteadyShot
When you shoot in low light, the shutter remains open longer -- so to compensate for shaky hands or fast-moving subjects, the Sony Super SteadyShot system automatically reduces image blur. And because it works in-camera, you''ll get the benefit of Super SteadyShot stabilization with every lens you use.

Sharp, Clear Photos The Preserve the Mood.
With high-sensitivity (ISO 1600) shooting, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera captures great photos without flash even in low light -- which makes it an ideal system camera for shooting without a tripod or in locations (like museums and churches) where flash is prohibited.

Anti-Dust Technology.
Changing lenses in a DSLR can allow dust to enter the camera -- so to keep the CCD imager clean for better pictures, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera utilizes both static-free anti-dust coating on the CCD filter and anti-dust vibration that automatically shakes the CCD to dislodge dust each time the camera is shut off.

Dynamic Range Optimizer.
To recover details in dark or bright areas of the picture, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera provides two levels of Dynamic Range Optimization: Normal DRO, to improve shadow detail using standard gamma curves for fast shot-to-shot response time, or Advanced DRO, to adjust dynamic range area-by-area for the greatest precision.

Bionz Image Processor.
At the heart of the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera is the advanced Bionz Image Processor, using hardware-based Large Scale Integrated (LSI) circuitry that responds ten times faster than software image processors -- improving camera response time, handling Dynamic Range Optimization processing and extending Stamina battery life.

Eye-Start Autofocus System.
Some DSLR systems don''t start focusing until the shutter button is half-pressed -- but that can slow down camera response. The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera begins its precision autofocus adjustments the moment you bring your eye to the viewfinder, to capture fast-action subjects other cameras might blur.

2.5" 1 Clear Photo LCD Plus Screen.
The Clear Photo LCD Plus design of the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera''s built-in screen makes it easy to read camera setup menus even in bright sunlight -- and gives you a better picture when you use your screen to set up shots and check results.

Continuous Burst Mode at 3 Frames Per Second.
To catch fast action more effectively, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera offers continuous JPEG image capture up to the limit of your flash memory card -- plus RAW Burst Mode (up to 6 shots) with intelligent buffer management to allow more shots to be captured without waiting for the buffer to clear.

Super-Accurate Exposure Control.
A 40-segment honeycomb sensing system provides multi-pattern measuring for superior exposure control accuracy.

Flexible Exposure Modes.
For greater creative freedom in a wide range of shooting conditions, the Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera provides full manual exposure control as well as Program Auto, Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority, and Exposure Compensation modes.

9-Point Auto Focus Selection.
The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera gives you all the focusing options you need for composing your shot with foreground, background or off-center subjects -- including manual focus point selection, Spot AF, Continuous AF and AF Lock.

Lithium Ion Battery with Stamina Power.
Based on CIPA standard, a supplied NP-FM55H Lithium Ion rechargeable battery lets you take up to 700 shots2on a full charge, recharges quickly with supplied battery charger.

Dual Media Options.
The Sony a (alpha) DSLR-A100 camera accepts both CompactFlash Type I/II media and optional Memory Stick Duo media (with supplied adaptor).

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 13 reviews)
85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Large clear LCD(8), Short lag time(6), Simple controls(12), Strong construction(6)
Cons:
Loud(3)
Best Uses:
Art(6), Documentary(4), Fun(9), Photojournalism(5), Portraits(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(10), Professional(4)
 
love hate relationship!
By picture this DaeVerified Reviewer from Upstate NY on 2/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Crisp image, Small Lag Time, Steady feature, Strong Construction
Cons:
No sync contector, No universal acessories
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

I was really excited about this camera when I bought it. I liked alot of the features, the steady feature, the crisp picture. I had it for about a month when I took some pictures and went to download them and it came up with a "end of file error" on about every 4-5 pictures. I could not recover them. This really sucked. Then I started taking a photo class were we used studio lighting. I found that I had to buy an expencive sony sync shoe to use this camera for studio shoots. I have sent the camera in to be fixed and will be selling it when i get it back! What a disapointment!

 
Great Minolta replacement
By Sonic MomVerified Reviewer from Florida on 2/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Takes Minolta A-type lens
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

I bought the Sony A100 because my other digital camera (point & shot) died after 4 years of solid use. I was looking to upgrade to a DSLR, and wanted something that would take all of the lenses I had to my Minolta Maxxum. For any Minolta fans, this is a great camera! I didn't think I would find any I would love as much as my Minolta, but Sony does a nice job of replicating all the features and functionality of the Minoltas. It came with the 18-200 mm/f 3.5-6.3 lens which is a good all purpose lens. I also bought the 75-300mm lens to go with it, and it is a good macro lens. The pictures are crystal clear. I also love working with the RAW files.

Images shared by: Sonic Mom

Extreme close up of new computer taken from 8 feet

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
A great camera an instant classic.
By Jim from Bremerton, Wa on 1/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, I like the sound solid, Looks neat classy look, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

My only dissapointment is that it is being replaced by the A-200.

 
Great 1st SLR
By KentVerified Reviewer from Kingwood, TX on 1/13/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

Great 1st SLR for the price and ease of use.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Loud shutter, [...]
By WendyVerified Reviewer from Tinley Park, IL on 11/23/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

I bought the A100 rather than Nikon because I had a variety of Minolta Lenses. From day one I wish I had gone with the Nikon, primarily due to the noise. After just about a year, a freshly charged battery would not supply any sort of power. The camera has been in for reapirs for 6 weeks with no knowledge of the problem or when to expect it back.

 
Excellent price, excellent performance
By Chauncey from Rex, GA on 10/23/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Weddingevents
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

The A100 has performed well above my expectations. Sony has done well by the Minolta name. It is very similar to the Maxxum which is fine by me. The construction is excellent for its price range. Its size fits comfortably in large hands. It works well with my Minolta lenses and I look forward to producing some pics using the Carl Zeiss lenses.

 
maxxum squared?
By draper from sonoran desert usa on 10/15/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Ergonomic, Functional presets, Jitter control, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Action photography, Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

although a bit intimidating in its complexity, a careful review of the operations manual soon replaces uncertainty with confidence. run through each setting at least once before putting into service and examine the results of each, will help to define the settings that best suit your style or assignment. the camera is virtually a clone of the maxxum, and peering through the viewfinder, nearly impossible to tell the difference. i recommend this camera for any pro application, and for ambitious intermediate shooters but not for hobbyist/enthusiast, due to its complexities.

 
Better than a regular SLR
By DavePhDone from Albany, NY on 6/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Nothing it's all great
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

I had given up on the SLR experience several years ago, first for point and shoot 35mm and then for entry-level digital cameras. When I decided I wanted something special for my 50th birthday, I went to the A1000 digital as a long-time Minolta SRT-101 user. I love the ease of use, the auto drive--to catch every one smiling at once in group photos--plus the auto focus, exposure control and the ability to download and edit high quality pictures immediately. I can take a shot of my son pitching on the baseball field and crop it and send to a one-hour printer and get a cropped, upclose look at minimal expense and effort...it sure beats the hours in the darkroom. I LOVE MY NEW SONY!!! Thank you very much!!! It's nice to find that, as I get older, some things get better!!!!

 
Sony a100
By sportsnutVerified Reviewer from Tennessee on 6/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

Great camera, great pictures and easy to use.

 
Good take picture; color, sharp...
By Minh Nguyen from Houston Texas on 6/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD
Cons:
Lense 70-300 have noise, Loud
Best Uses:
Art
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

very good when use it

Images shared by: Minh Nguyen

Image Thumbnail
 
SONY A100 REVIEW
By STUDIO56Verified Reviewer from BEAUTIFUL ROCKY MOUNTAIN HIGH COLORADO. on 4/15/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

Well!, i have just purchased this Sony A100 body only [...] no kit lens for me. I bought the Sigma 28-105mm f2.8 AF for it. Reason i bought this A100 is because i got the Sony R1 a few months back, R1 really impressed me with its results images with Zeiss lens, thats motivated me to buy Sony DSLR too, Sony got great colors balance, contrasty, sharp, and good dynamic range, Not like other brands while colors are off and have yellow cast.A100 is a small and light compare to other DSLRs, it made in Malasia with light plastic, not a real pro body, but more like consumer camera, its good for me cuz i need a light DSLR, A100 is a fast camera in many ways, fast buffer for refreshing time, review, delete, start up, AF is fast too. Images are stunning sharp with the help from its in body Super steady shot. Colors are well balance, bright, and neutral. The LCD on backside has 2 neat features: If you turn the camera vertical the LCD turns vertical too, so you can see the info before shooting. When you put your eyes to the eye piece to look thru view finder, it got smart sensor to turn off LCD on backside to save batt life.The Super steady shot in body is really helps, now i can buy any lenses and sure will have all image stabilizer shots.A small thing that bother me in A100 is the shutter slap noise when shoot, it has a clumsy ( clunk)sound to it.For the price i paid, its the best DSLR in its range.The advantage about A100 is that you can buy many other lenses for it like: Minoltas, Zeiss , Sonys, Sigmas, Tamrons, Tokinas, Vivitars, and Quantaray.im happy with mine, highly recommended to whom who wants a fast , light , small, good colors DSLR. Not to mention good price too.im watching the new coming of Sony pro DSLRs coming in june 07.I use my A100 with OPTEKA battery grip[...]

Images shared by: STUDIO56

Image Thumbnail
 
Sony A100
By JamieVerified Reviewer from Palm Beach, Florida on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

Its a wonderful camera. FAST shot to shot times in continuous mode. The image stabilization works great. I hand hold my 500mm lens with fantastic results. I never use a tripod. Easy to learn, especially if you had the 5D or 7D. Many new and advanced features found in only much more expensive cameras. Self cleaning. Big LCD screen. It can use a huge array of old Minolta and new Sony lenses. Two issues that do not take away from my love for this camera.... Its quite noisy in the shadows at ISO 800 and above. But that can be worked around. Secondly, I did have a problem with my first copy of this camera. It arrived with a shutter that malfunctioned first day out of the box and then once every 500-600 pics or so. Since my Minolta 5D had started out almost the same way and became gradually worse over a years time until it finally became stuck permanently. I sent the A100 back for a replacement right away and the second camera works fine. I wonder if others have had the same problem.

Images shared by: Jamie

Wild iguana by the lake croped and resized smaller

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 500mm, 1/400 sec iso 400, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Awesome shot...thanks.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent detail, SSS really works!
By RichVVerified Reviewer from Monmouth Junction, NJ on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony DSLR-A100 K (alpha) Digital SLR Camera (body only):

Although I'm at a good experience level, I'd recommend this camera to a beginner. It's got a lot of features you can grow into, but it's pretty easy to use out of the box. Two areas where it really shines are with image stabilization and fine detail (there isn't a camera within $1000 that provides more detail than this one). With any camera there are downsides, but it's true that with any camera there are ways to compensate. I've gotten some extremely good results from this camera. I'd recomment also getting a guide book and slowly working your way into using the features - although it's possible to use any dSLR in a "point & shoot" fashion, if that's all you plan to do, you're better off just getting a P&S camera.

Images shared by: RichV

Autumn in NJ

Image Thumbnail
RitzCamera.com Response: Beautiful photo
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.