Buy the Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Sony
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)

Get closer than ever with the Cyber-shot DSC-H5 digital camera from Sony. It offers a spectacular array of advantages for creative expression, including 7.2 megapixel performance for editing, cropping and making big prints, top-quality Carl Zeiss 12X Optical zoom lens and Super SteadyShot stabilization system for rock-steady long-distance photos.

7.2 Megapixel Super HAD CCD - Higher megapixels gives you more detail and definition for large prints and cropping in on your subject. Sony?s advanced Super HAD (Hole Accumulated Diode) CCD design allows more light to pass to each pixel, increasing sensitivity and reducing noise.

Carl Zeiss 12X Optical/2X Digital Zoom/24X Total Zoom - 12X Optical Zoom helps the DSC-H5 bring distant subjects closer and lets you frame shots for better composition; Sony?s precision 2X Digital Zoom provides an additional 2X magnification to zoom in close without jagged edges.

57X Smart Zoom Feature - Sony''s Smart Zoom feature lets you magnify your subject beyond the 12x optical zoom - to 16x (5MP), 18x (3MP), even 57x (VGA). By intelligently cropping into the central portion of the scene, it avoids the image distortion of other digital zooms.

Super SteadyShot Optical Image Stabilization - Super SteadyShot Optical Image Stabilization fights motion blur, even during longer exposures at full zoom.

Flexible Exposure Modes - Choose Auto or Program Auto for convenience, or get creative with Aperture Priority or Shutter Priority modes. Manual Exposure Mode provides extended control with 46-step adjustable Shutter speed (30 - 1/1000 sec.), and Aperture control (F2.8 - F8.0).

Large 3.0-inch 2 LCD Screen - The DSC-H5 has a bright 3.0-inch LCD screen for setting up and viewing images -- with a one touch Play button that makes it quick and easy to view your photos.

Simple Controls, Function Guide - User-friendly controls and simple on-screen Function Guide text/icon display help you set up camera functions -- and you? ll have greater creative freedom to adjust color mode (including Natural for subtle colors and Rich for more intense colors), sensitivity, brightness and image size.

High Sensitivity Mode - A new High Sensitivity Mode (ISO 1000) allows you to shoot with great results in low-light conditions -- and Sony?s original Clear RAW NR (Noise Reduction) image processing technology helps suppress the color noise that can accompany high-sensitivity shooting.

Stamina Battery Power - With its powerful Nickel Metal Hydride (NiMH) rechargeable batteries, the DSC-H5 can capture up to 3403 images per charge -- enough for a week of shooting. The compact BC-CS2 Battery Charger is also supplied for battery recharging on the go.

Capture Images In-Camera - With 32 MB4 Internal Memory, the DSC-H5 allows you to shoot without a flash memory card --then transfer your images to optional Memory Stick Duo media, upload to your computer or make prints on your digital printer.

Memory Stick Duo Media - The DSC-H5 has a built-in slot for optional Memory Stick Duo or higher-capacity Memory Stick PRO Duo media -- the ultra compact media for shooting, storing and sharing your photo images.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(5), Easy to setup(12), Large clear LCD(14), Short lag time(6), Simple controls(15)
Best Uses:
Art(6), Documentary(4), Fun(12), Photojournalism(5), Portraits(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(11)
 
Great Value for the dollar!
By EVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 4/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

The camera does a great job. I think it can do a better job in lower light, but it could be the user as well! A huge upgrade over the camera I purchased at about the same price.

 
Great Camera!
By Kayaking AnnVerified Reviewer from Fort Myers Florida on 11/24/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

I love the zoom on this camera! The pictures are clear, great quality for printing. I take a lot of bird pictures and with this camera I can get great results even from a distance. It's easy to use, very versatile for all situations.

 
nice camera
By GrahamVerified Reviewer from MD on 11/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

This product is easy to use with many features and brilliant quality

 
Awecome camera!
By Chef Sue from Pensacola, FL on 11/12/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

This camera is great for a novice! I enjoy it and friends/family are surprised that I can take such nice pics!

 
Great little camera
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Central PA. on 10/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

This is the second Sony digital camera that I have bought, and love it. It is great for the beginner to intermediate user, and has a lot of features that other brands only put on their high end stuff. I use it mainly to take photos of my pet cat and sporting events. It is also a great little camera for taking pnotos of scenery. I live in Central PA, and the leaves are about to change, and I can't wait to use it for taking phots of the fall foliage. The only thing I'm not thrilled about is the short battery life, but I have plenty of rechargeable batteries, so that is just a minor detail. Other than that, it is an great camera for the price.

Images shared by: Mike

My new best buddie Tobi

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
another excellent product from sony
By yankeeno7Verified Reviewer from South Carolina on 10/21/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time
Cons:
None that really matter
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

this is an outstanding camera,when you compare price, quality and performance. I have used this model for 8 or 9 months and have no performance or quality issues with this model.I am a firm beleiver in sony's products and I own many of their products.
This camera just fits right in line with other sony products. Solid performance and excellent value for your money.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Disregard that 1* rating
By Stoked!Verified Reviewer from South Carolina on 9/11/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

I prematurely gave that last review. There is a non-conspicuos viewfinder adjustor that I finally discovered was the "reason" the image was "blurry". It was only upon packing it back up for the return that I saw it. Stupid I know...so now I'm really glad it's not bad. It is an AWESOME camera and I guess a bit too advanced for this user! =)
I tried to remove the review but they don't let you so I wrote another one. Sorry 'bout that!

 
A Lot Of Camera For Not a Lot Of Money
By Gadgetgeek5Verified Reviewer from Cambridge, MN on 8/10/2007
Pros:
169 HDTV Shooting Mode, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, GREAT Photos
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Good for most uses, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

This is a GREAT camera,Bottom line! It offers a 16:9 HDTV shooting mode that look absolutely fantastic on a widescreen television. Anyone with a widescreen computer monitor or 16:9 television will DEFINATELY appreciate this feature as these photos are Fullscreen without being stretched!Set your computer monitor settings appropriately(mine is set to 1440X900) so that widescreen shots are fullscreen unstretched and traditional aspect ratio photos are cropped on the sides so everything is proportioned correctly. Another HUGE bonus on the 16:9 shooting mode is that the file size is under 1MB. I can get close to 2000 widescreen photos on my 2GB memory stick pro duo card! They look great, they print great. Honestly, of course when you shoot with the full 7.2 MP this camera offers your quality will be better, your cropping/resizing and your prints as well will be at their best. But give the 16:9 mode a try and I think you'll agree, ITS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!
This camera just makes taking great photos easy,
great zoom, image stabilization, scene modes. I've accomplished taking beautiful night time cityscape photos WITHOUT using a tripod(thank you super-steady shot*) something that I was unable to do with my Canon powershot A620 unless I used a tripod and its advanced features. And the sony photo still outshines the canon. This is my 4th Digital camera, usually when I buy one 6 months later I'm itching to buy the next model (it's a weakness I have LOL) I've had the DSC-H5 for over a year now and its all around impressive quality is the first camera to not make me want another. Sony knocked it out of the ballpark with this little Beauty!

Images shared by: Gadgetgeek5

16:9 Widescreen Tiger photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Sony has a winner here
By Digital Photography InstructorVerified Reviewer from Simi Valley, California on 7/12/2007
Pros:
Awsome night shots, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Digital Photography Instr, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

Excellent camera with great features, easy to use with lot's of manual settings. Great results with low light, high speed shutter, flash, macro, portrait, landscape etc.....

Images shared by: Digital Photography Instructor

Las Vegas Night show (Sony DSC-H5)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
PERFECT LITTLE CAMERA
By KAT from OSHKOSH, WISCONSIN on 6/2/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, FLAWLESS IMAGES, LARGE LCD, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction, SUPER ZOOM
Cons:
SHORT BATTERY LIFE
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Family Photos, Fun, NATURE, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

I LOVE THIS CAMERA. I WISH THE BATTERIES WOULD LAST A BIT LONGER BUT THE CAMERA DOES COME WITH RECHARGABLE BATTERIES AND A CHARGER SO THAT'S NOT A BIG DEAL. THE CAMERA TAKES GREAT PHOTOS AND IS EASY TO USE. AT TIMES I WISH I WOULD HAVE WAITED TO BUY THE 8.1MP 15 ZOOM SONY BECAUSE THIS ONE IS SO GOOD THE NEWER ONE I'M SURE IS EXCELLENT TOO. TECHNOLOGY IS ALWAYS CHANGING THOUGH SO YOU'LL NEVER HAVE THE NEWEST.

I RECOMMEND THIS CAMERA. IT'S EXCELLENT AND IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A CAMERA WITH A GREAT ZOOM BUT DON'T WANT THE HASTLE OF ATTACHABLE LENSES THIS IS A PERFECT CAMERA.

THE ONLY REASON I DIDN'T GIVE IT A 5 STAR RATING IS BECAUSE OF THE BATTERY LIFE.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Camera !!!!!
By Dave from Hollis, NH on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Great Viewfinder, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Longtime Digital User
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

Have had camera for 8 months - no complaints at all. Did all the research and glad I ended up with this - should last years+.

Images shared by: Dave

April Snow Duck

Image Thumbnail

April Morning Ride

Image Thumbnail
RitzCamera.com Response: Very nice photos! Thank you.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great everyday alternative to bulky SLR
By Mr T from Redwood City, CA on 4/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Powerful
Cons:
Awkward focus, Long Lag Time, Slow flash recharge
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

Great all rounder giving better pics that a pocket point and shoot, especiallty outdoors. Only cons are that the flash takes a while to recharge and the shuuer speed could be a bit faster. Highly recommended as a practical alternative to an SLR.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Camera Bar None!!
By Twisted IncVerified Reviewer from Irving,TX on 4/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

Probably the best camera that sony has ever made. I'm a professional photographer and own www.TwistedIncorporated.com and I have used the Canon Rebel XT SLR camera and this sony DSC- H5 Blows the Canon Rebel XT away. It takes Clearer more colorful pics then the slr cameras. Seriously this is a professional camera in my book. And it has so many acessories you can buy for it. This camera lacks nothing!

Images shared by: Twisted Inc

Image Thumbnail

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent
By Jo ann from Indian Trail NC on 3/20/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

This is a great camera. I just got it a few days ago and love it.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Quality and Easy to Use
By Karen from West Hartford, Connecticut on 12/27/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

This is my first digital camera and I bought it because of my infant daughter and the ability to review pictures prior to printing them. I love this camera and have not picked up my SLR since July! I use it practically every day and have had photos enlarged with exceptional quality. I am still learning about it because it has so many features but, I have yet to be disappointed. It is definitely worth the price. The movie feature is wonderful also and is great for situations with optimal light, not so good in low light. Sony always puts out a quality product.

[28 of 30 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome!!
By JERRI from HUNTINGTON, CONNECTICUT on 11/19/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel

Comments about Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5 Digital Camera- 3'' LCD:

THE SONY H5 IS AN AWESOME CAMERA! THIS IS MY 4TH DIGITAL CAMEREA. OVER THE LAST 8 YEARS I'VE MOVED UP IN FEATURES. THIS CAMERA GIVES ME ALL THE FEATURES AND FLEXABILITY I WANT. THE 3" SCREEN MAKES REVIEWING SHOTS SO GREAT! THANKS SONY FOR A GREAT CAMERA..

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.