Buy the K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Pentax
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
User-friendly DSLR - full-featured, yet affordable!

Now Pentax brings the advanced innovation of higher-end digital SLRs to the affordable K100D Super. Building on Pentax developed Shake Reduction, Pentax adds an original Dust Removal system to help keep the CCD surface dust-free and full compatibility with SDM lenses. With the arrival of the K100D Super, Pentax raises the bar and delivers a full-featured and technologically advanced SLR at a very reasonable price.

  • Shake Reduction
  • 6.1 megapixel APS-C size CCD
  • 11-point auto focus (9 cross-type sensors)
  • Dust Removal system to help keep the CCD surface dust-free
  • Compatibility with SDM lenses
  • Auto Sensitivity equivalent to ISO 200 to 3200
  • Auto Picture Mode and Scene Modes
  • 2.5 inch LCD monitor viewable from a wide angle
  • 16-segment multi-pattern metering
  • Ultra-compact stainless-steel chassis and fiber reinforced polycarbonate housing
  • Penta-mirror viewfinder with 0.85X magnification and 96 percent field of view
  • Top shutter speed of 1/4000, 1/180 second flash sync. and bulb setting
  • 2.8 frames/sec capture rate

Pentax smc P-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 Lens

The Pentax smc P-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 is recommended for use with digital cameras. Ideal for beginners, it provides a focal length covering a wide to moderate wide-angle range. Like all Pentax lenses, the smc P-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 zoom lens is treated with Pentax''s acclaimed smc coating for maximum light transmission, sharp definition, and high contrast while minimizing flare and ghost imaging.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(6), Excellent in low light(3), Fast shutter speed(3), Good battery life(3), Great resolution(3)
Best Uses:
Art(4), Fun(7), Outdoors(3), Photojournalism(3), Portraits(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7)
 
Outstanding value
By Gentleman JimVerified Reviewer from West Palm Beach, FL on 2/19/2008
Pros:
AA alkalines, Comfortable Controls, Ease of use, Excellent image quality, Great Price, In-Body Shake Reduction, Light compact, Strong Construction, Versitile, Very good kit lens
Cons:
Low Pixel Count
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

Finally taking the plunge into digital after using a K1000 manual film camera for 28 years. The K100D compatibility with my lens collection and great starting price finally caught my interest.

Very happy with the equipment. It is TOUGH, lightweight, feels very good in the hand, and takes excellent pictures. I've been heavy into the manual modes that I'm so accustomed to and the results have been STELLAR! Can't believe I didn't make the move sooner. The instant feedback on the screen and wide array of both auto and manual modes make great pictures in any situation a SNAP! This camera was going to be a training platform for me, but I'm already using it for work.

First use was on vacation with the kit lens to learn the controls & tendencies of the camera. I packed a few old lenses as I expected the kit lens to be lacking. Turns out I didn't need any other lenses as the kit lens pictures were colorful & sharp. Very surprised how well the built in flash worked. Subjects were well lit and the color & background depth were WONDERFUL when I slowed the shutter.

My only gripe as a pro would be the pixel count. 10MP would have been ideal, but the image quality and detail is still excellent at 6MP - even with 8x10 prints.

 
Best Quality for the Money
By Nico CorvetteVerified Reviewer from Saint Paul, MN on 2/15/2008
Pros:
Great Product
Cons:
None (for the price)
Best Uses:
Great All-Around Camera
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

After testing and using all the digital SLRs in this price and MP range, this camera takes the prize. It has the best features and kit lens available for its class. Also, great auto feature for beginners who still want great pictures. Would recommend!

 
Great 1st Time D-SLR Camera!
By sayitisntsoyVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 2/7/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

This is the first SLR camera I have ever owned and it was easy to figure out. It is a great starter camera.

 
Can't Beat This For The Price
By BradVerified Reviewer from Wilmington, DE on 2/7/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

I made the jump into digital SLR with this camera because of the price and the fact that I could use my old Pentax PK mount lenses. LOVE this camera. I've owned numerous film SLR's including Nikon and this quite honestly blows them away. Loaded with features and my only complaint is that some of them are hard to remember where I find them again without referring back to the manual. Friends have borrowed it and were impressed as well. I do a lot of close-up orchid photography and the result have been excellent.

 
Wonderful Product
By MistyLeeVerified Reviewer from Washington State on 1/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
My nose smears LCD displa
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Scrapbooking, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

I use the camera to take pics of my projects for use on the web and my inventory.
I take pics of family, pets, & nature.
So far, I really love the camera. This was an upgrade from a SLR to DSLR. Have been using digital cameras for a while and finally was able to get a DSLR.
The only thing that I don't like about this camera is the LCD display gets smeared from my nose when looking through the viewfinder.
The controls are easy to use, the display shows all that I need to see (both before and after taking a pic), & I like the handholds. They are comfortable to grip.

 
great camera!
By ErikVerified Reviewer from San Diego, Ca on 12/31/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Nice features and settings, Quiet, Shake Reduction, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, KIDS, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

I bought this camera a year ago and know very little about photography. This camera is very easy to use but can be as complicated as you want to make it. I have learned some tricks of the trade from my local Ritz store and have learned to take some pretty good photos of my friends and family. I also like the fact that it is a 6.1 mega pixel file size because it takes as much detail as you need but doesn't fill up all your memory on your SD card or computer. In addition, the photo screen is larger than most camera's in this price range which gives you the ability to touch up photos on the go. This is the perfect DSLR to get started with and begin your new Journey in Digital Photography.

Images shared by: Erik

B&W Photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Picture of Product, Made with Product

 
great SLR - love it
By George from Danville, CA on 12/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Comp with old lenses, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

I bought this camera for my Meade telescope. It came in great shape. Worked wonderfully with the Pentax lenses bought 14 years ago. Very intuitive design and smooth operation. Tried taking some pictures of the moon using manual mode - loved the redult. Seemed to be a versatile SLR. Great value if you consider the price...

 
Great camera, easy to use
By Kelly the photo nutVerified Reviewer from Kennesaw GA on 12/15/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Clarity, Comfortable Controls, Quality pictures, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

I use this camera for everything. The shake reduction built into the body is a great feature. I have all the lenses and do not have to worry about this feature. I have ordered the new lens 18-250, can't wait to get it and not have to swap out lenses. Would definately buy Pentax again. I have taken great pictures of the moon with the 50-200 lense and it is truly amazing.

 
Use of legacy Pentax lenses
By JoselVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 12/1/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Very nice viewfinder
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

You can use virtually all existing Pentax lenses, even those decades back, although some don't work with the Auto-Focus but still incredible. They are in fact better built than contemporary lenses. Pentax has most of the best lenses there is, only Nikon can compare. Your Pentax of course can't cope with all situations, you need a specific lens for that matter but you better hurry as the sea of legacy Pentax lenses will soon be fished out.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great replacement for my 35mm Pentax
By RonVerified Reviewer from Chicago on 11/24/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Uses old Pentax 35 lens
Cons:
Complex
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

I have several digital cameras, but this is my first digital SLR. After using a Pentax 35mm for years, it is so nice to get "depth of field" back again. This camera puts you back in control of taking your pictures again.

 
Great Product at Great Price
By AbryshaStaff Reviewer from Irvine, CA on 11/21/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Super Digital SLR Camera w/DA 18-55mm Lens:

This is a great DSLR for the serious photographer.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.