Buy the Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Pentax
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Affordable, yet technologically advanced - The Pentax K200D, perfect for developing digital SLR users, offers an easy-to-use interface and incorporates award winning Pentax imaging technology. With 10.2 megapixels, this DSLR features many of the advancements that are incorporated in the Pentax K20D, including a 2.7 inch LCD monitor, Custom Image functions for perfect control over how images are developed, and the Expanded Dynamic Range function. Compatible with any Pentax lens ever produced and featuring Shake Reduction, the Pentax K200D offers a high quality image sensor with the sophisticated PRIME (Pentax Real Image Engine), a user-friendly Dust Removal system including the new Dust Alert feature, 11-point SAFOX VIII auto focus system, sophisticated 16-segment multi-pattern metering and auto sensitivity control up to ISO 1600, all in a weather and dust resistant body.
  • Shake Reduction feature incorporating a 10.2 megapixel CCD is compatible with ANY Pentax lens ever produced, including SDM lenses, minimizes the effect of camera shake
  • Auto Picture and Scene modes offer shooting ease, while advanced modes, such as the Sv mode, allow photographers to grow with the camera
  • 2.7-inch high resolution, wide view LCD panel allows easy review of pictures, while including enlarged menu lettering
  • Weather and dust resistant body allows you to keep shooting even in harsh conditions
  • Includes long life Energizer AA Lithium batteries for the perfect combination of long life and easy to find replacements
  • Advanced 16-segment metering and 11-point AF, with 9 cross sensors, ensure perfectly exposed and focused images
  • PRIME image processing engine maximizes image properties and allows custom adjustment of image parameters
  • Custom Image modes, with six preset options, offer superior control of how the PRIME processor develops images
  • Enhanced Dynamic Range mode gives 200% more dynamic range
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(4), Fast shutter speed(3), Great picture quality(4), Image stabilization(5), Large clear LCD(12)
Best Uses:
Art(9), Documentary(3), Fun(12), Landscape/scenery(3), Photojournalism(6)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Photo enthusiast(8)
 
So good ,I bought another!
By Carpetguy from Mt. Clemens,MI on 2/24/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
No second control dial, Top LCD doesn't light up
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

Bought a k10 in '08 and just loved it.Was asked to shoot a neighbors wedding in Aug '08 and needed a second-shooter, so I picked up a K200. It was everything I expected and more.I'm really impressed by the quality of both cameras.I literally don't leave home in the morning without at least one of them.

Images shared by: Carpetguy

Kirk in the Hills,Bloomfield,MI

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Pentax K200D
By Kinnick HawkVerified Purchaser from Waukee, IA on 2/12/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

Still learning a lot with this camera and I am very happy with it. The weight of the camera might bother some people but I do not have a problem with it myself. Previously, I used a Pentax 7Z SLR film camera for the past 8 years and enjoyed the quality of work. Looking forward to how the product will be with my new camera. Highly recommended for those going from file to digital with a smaller budget.

 
Great cam
By SeldomSmithVerified Purchaser from Bakersfield, CA on 2/9/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

Love the weather seals.
Couldn't be better, got it for my wife.
Only gripe is it's better than my istDs.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pentax k200D Digital SLR
By McGyverVerified Purchaser from Lapeer, Michigan on 11/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Small Lag Time, Stainless steel frame, Strong Construction, Weather seals
Cons:
Exposures a little dark
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fire service, Fun, Macro Photography, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

A good camera for fire sevice photography.
weather seals and stainless frame work well on an emergency scenes.
I have had the camera for about 3 month and shot a lot emergency scenes.
one bad thing is the auto focus will not work when emergency lights are on the fire apparatus.

Images shared by: McGyver

Open house 2008

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Love this camera!
By Debbie the Caps Fan from Washington, DC on 10/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
a little heavy
Best Uses:
Fun, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

Clear pictures with beautiful colors. I use this camera mostly to photograph my roses. I also use it to take landscape pictures and at various sporting events. The only downside I have with the camera is that it's a little on the heavy side compared to some other camera's I've purchased. But still would highly recommend this camera.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful upgrade to the historic K1000
By John5100 from Renton, WA on 10/27/2008
Pros:
Bright viewfinder, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
5 Continuous shots
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

I will start by saying that I love this camera. It is with me most of the time. I was a huge fan of my old K1000 film camera because it was easy to use, tough as nails, and takes great pictures. The K200D continues this legacy perfectly. The chasis is weather and dust sealed and very easy to handle. The K200D takes beautiful pictures (select "Natural" for best results).[@]

Images shared by: John5100

Unphotoshopped Colors, just slightly cropped

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product, Sigma 24-60mm F28

Just turned to Monochrome

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product, Pentax 18-250 Lens

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very satisfied
By tpVerified Purchaser from Detroit, MI on 9/29/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

Takes great photos! & is very easy to use. I love the scene settings - allows me to take better pictures.

Images shared by: tp

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
K200D Digital SLR Camera
By Crystal19711972Verified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 9/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Loud, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

I like that this camera seems to be sturdy and weather resistant. I want a really good digital camera and am willing to spend a lot of money for a good one. I need one like this one because it's simple and for a person like me who is beginning to get into photography.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
A "Step-Up" Camera
By Captm19Verified Reviewer from Portland, Oregon on 9/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

The camera is rugged and tough. It can be used outdoors in inclement weather without fear of damage but you must also have a weatherproofed lens. The kits lens is NOT one.

The camera feels strong and it is heavier than the rest but you get great value for you money. However there are some limitations. To get the most out of the camera I recommend you shoot in the RAW format and not JPEG. The default JPEG settings are too vivid. They have a nice wow factor but you'll quickly tire of them. Shooting in RAW means computer work so in effect the more effort you put in to your photography, the more this camera will give you. I would say that this is a camera for someone who has a 35mm SLR and is looking to replace it with a digital. This type of person may not be a professional photographer but they at least know their way around an SLR. Do not get this camera for your mom - get it for yourself. Get her a Nikon D40 instead and you'll both be happy!

Pentax has some of the best prime lenses around. (Prime meaning it's not a zoom) So if you're into macro (extreme closeups of flowers or bugs) or into portraits, you will be hard pressed to buy better glass than Pentax.

Lastly one final caveat - always handle and look through each of the cameras you are considering to buy. Some fit peoples hands better than others. Also the view finders are different. In some you may feel as if you're looking through a pinhole while others not. The fact is that the more you pay, the better the viewfinder and to me that's 90% of photography. If you can't see it, you can't shoot it!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A lot of camera for a reasonable price
By CipVerified Purchaser from Lafayette, CO on 8/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

Very easy to use, durable & compact

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I like all Pentax lenses.
By Photograph Andrew from Budapest, Hungary on 8/17/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

I like to use it the old Pentax film SLR lenses !

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Pictures
By Eye4LifeVerified Purchaser from St. Petersburg, FL on 8/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Ergonomic fit, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

I bought my Pentax for several reasons, mainly as a backup camera for my work. I use it for travel and some event work. I love the results I get from this camera, the pictures are clear and the colors match like they should. I did purchase two prime lenses and the results are excellent! Although this camera is a step above mid-range, it still produces quality work! The best part is I can still use my K-mount lenses from my film days!

Images shared by: Eye4Life

Fruit Stand

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Everything and more
By AlekVerified Purchaser from Miami, FL on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

I took an intro to Digital photography course with this camera and it was impressive. Very user friendly and definitely great value. Has every otion you could need and then some. It is a heavy camera though compared to the others due to solid construction, but small price to pay for durability.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic camera
By cebarchitectVerified Purchaser from Santa Clara, CA on 8/11/2008
Pros:
Anti-shake in the body, Anti-shake NOT in lenses, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Dustmoisture seals, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

I bought the Pentax K200D to replace my old Pentax ZX-10 35mm (film) SLR, and to get better low-light performance than I could get with my pocket digital (a Canon, which I really like). This camera is simply outstanding - I am SO glad I stayed with Pentax, rather than the other models I was looking at. The Pentax allows me to use all my old Pentax lenses with the camera's built-in shake reduction. Competitors offer this feature via shake reduction lenses, which are costly.

After 4 months of use, I'm still getting used-to some of the more advanced features, like shutter priority, apperature priority, etc., as well as the selectable "scenes" (used to help with difficult lighting conditions). It has worked-out very well for me in this time, and has helped me take some really great photos. The automatic modes are a breeze to use - so easy that my 9-year-old has even taken some great photos with it.

One thing I'm having trouble with, is that digital SLR's "see" through lenses differently. By this, I mean they magnify images more than standard SLR's through the same lens. For example - I have an older 28-200 pentax lens, which works fine on the K200D. However, it does not give me the full 28mm wide-angle that I get from my film SLR. Instead, it magnifies the image a bit (or so I've been told by the folks at my local Ritz Camera). Therefore, the K200D "sees" through my old 28-200 as if it were something like a 35-250. The bundled lens (18-55) is more like the old-school 28-70 lens. Over time, I might have to invest in a new digital-compatible lens (or two) to compensate for the lack of wide-zoom capability I used to get with my ZX-10 and my 28-200 lens.

All in all, I really love this camera. I only wish I could get all these features in a camera body the size and weight of my old ZX-10, which seems tiny compared to the K200D (hhmmm...maybe someday...).

=)

[0 of 25 customers found this review helpful]

 
very good
By Camera from USA on 4/15/2008

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

The style is very good!

[22 of 27 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ease and flexability all in one
By PtsmilesVerified Reviewer from Springfield, VT on 3/18/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax K200D Digital SLR Camera w/18-55mm Lens:

I purchased the K200D to upgrade from my older 5mp digital that had limited options for lenses. I like the fact that there is a wide variety of lenses available. I'm looking forward to using this on my vacation to Colorado this spring. One of the things I really enjoy is that I can use the auto settings(scene selection, shooting modes, etc.) and also practice using the manual settings. So far only downside is finding a photo editing software that will support RAW files.

Images shared by: Ptsmiles

Blaze

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.