Buy the K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Pentax
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
An All New Digital SLR for 2008!

Pentax K20D Digital SLR With 14.6 Mega Pixels

Improving on the technology of the award winning K10D, the flagship Pentax K20D is the highest resolution camera in the advanced photo enthusiast category and allows more experienced photographers, who demand complete control, to fully customize the camera. The most significant features in the K20D include:

  • A newly developed CMOS image sensor to bring out the optimum performance of Pentax interchangeable lenses. Featuring 14.6 effective megapixels and the latest noise-reduction technology, the sensor assures superb image quality.
  • Custom Image functions that allow users to select between six preset options and further adjust image processing, including saturation, hue, contrast and sharpness. The K20D also offers an Expanded Dynamic Range function that allows users to gain more contrast and detail in bright settings.
  • A Live View that allows users to see the full image area to confirm composition, focus status and lighting on the large 2.7 inch LCD monitor. A grid display may be engaged to help assure the perfect arrangement of an image and Auto Focus may be activated by simply pressing the AF button on the back of the camera. Further fine tuning of the image can be confirmed with the 4X or 8X zoom option.
  • An improved Dust Reduction system that features the new Dust Alert function to pinpoint the exact location of dust particles for the photographer to remove.
  • A weather and dust resistant body that allows photographers to keep shooting even in harsh conditions.
  • A PC sync socket for more advanced photographers who use studio lighting.
Pentax K20D Digital SLR Key Features
  • 14.6 megapixel CMOS sensor offers superior image resolution with the maximum control over noise
  • Shake Reduction compatible with any Pentax lens ever produced, including new SDM lenses, minimizes the effect of camera shake
  • 2.7 inch high resolution, wide view LCD monitor gives a live view of your subject for more precise composition
  • PRIME image processing engine maximizes image properties and allows custom adjustment of image parameters
  • Custom Image modes, with six preset options, offer superior control of how the PRIME processor develops images
  • Enhanced Dynamic Range mode gives 200-percent more dynamic range
  • Weather and dust resistant body allows you to keep shooting even in harsh conditions
  • Dust Reduction and Dust Alert features eliminate the need of time consuming retouching
  • Advanced 16-segment metering and 11-point AF, with 9 cross sensors, ensure perfectly exposed and focused images
  • Unique exposure modes, such as hyper-program, Sv and TAv, offer shooting versatility
  • Fully customizable features and advanced functions for advanced photographers
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Large clear LCD(9), Quiet(8), Short lag time(8), Simple controls(10), Strong construction(8)
Best Uses:
Art(8), Documentary(5), Fun(7), Photojournalism(7), Travel(8)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7), Professional(4)
 
If I'd only known I wouldn't have waited
By CGVerified Reviewer from Orlando, Fl on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I upgraded from a very good camera, and I never knew how much better it could be without having to spend a small fortune.I don't know how to use all the features yet, but so far, with the few I know how to use, I can't believe my photographs look so professional.If you are looking for a high quality camera spend the extra dollar and get this one.I'll never go back to another brand.

Images shared by: CG

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product, Picture of Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply put, an amazing camera
By Realms of RealityVerified Reviewer from Huntsville, AL on 8/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Burst mode is really nice, Comfortable Controls, Multi image exposure, PC flash connecton, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Very rugged
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Cave Photography, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I recently purchased the K20D to replace an istD (also a great camera) The camera is so simple to use yet offers so much control that the final product is pretty much done the moment it is written to memory. For the money you can't go wrong. The quality of the K20D is that typically found in camera costing twice as much. If your just getting started or already a strong photographer the K20D is for you. As a cave photographer working in some of the harshest conditions on Earth I couldn't recommend it more.

Images shared by: Realms of Reality

Stephens Gap in Alabama

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Waterfall in Scotto Hollow Cave in West Virgina

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great camera
By Fashion photoVerified Purchaser from los angeles, ca on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Great resolution, White balance control
Cons:
Outside focusing
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, FASHION, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

i use this camera for fashion photography. the custom white balance allows you to match color to what you see. i have used a wide range of lens with it. this one has most of the bells and whistles that the 3k+ cameras have. the only complaint i have is in the auto focus around the edges can be a little out of focus sometimes.

 
Can't wait to buy another!
By KeriVerified Purchaser from San Antonio, TX on 8/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I use the camera in my business. It continues the great the line. The only con would be that it is so powerful that the recall can take a long time and it eats thru the battery and memory cards faster. Not a bad trade off for the quality!

 
Spectacular
By Scott B from Albertville, AL on 7/22/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I just purchased my K20D and could not wait to write the review. I have never used a DSLR with this much muscle and ease of controls. The subjects jump off of the finished product. I have been asked if my pics are Photoshoped and I'm glad to say "NO". If you do not own one of these monsters then shame on you.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
love it!
By ang the camera chickVerified Reviewer from annabella,ut on 5/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraiture
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

i have used it for my portraits- great images!
i have always had a pentax and will continue to use them in my professional work!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
the perfect sports camera
By route66 from Irvine, CA on 5/1/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Shaky Operation
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I use this camera to catch the kids sports and weekend activities. It is easy to use and perfect for our needs.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Another award winning Pentax!!!
By mdc6969Verified Reviewer from Decatur, Alabama on 4/28/2008
Pros:
Best Pentax on the market, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Excellent image quality, Functional, Live view, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Landscapes, Photojournalism, Portrait, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I thought the multi award winning K10 had it all until the K20! What a wonderful camera!! Pentax has never ceased to amaze me. From my first Pentax SLR almost 15 years ago until now I have found Pentax to be the perfect choice!!!!

Images shared by: mdc6969

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great new camera
By Mike the DesignerVerified Reviewer from Stilwell, KS on 4/10/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Versatility
Cons:
Nothing
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

A great step up from my Pentax istD S. Even though I like my old Pentax, I love the increase in file size.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By brunoVerified Reviewer from knoxville,tn on 4/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The pictures taken with this camera is just awe inspiring. I am not a pro but with this camera the photos come out better than seeing them in real life.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I Love It
By Judy the PhotographerVerified Reviewer from San Jose, CA on 4/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Flexibility in settings, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K20D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I purchased this camera as an upgrade for an older digital Pentax SLR. I love the fact that the lenses I already have work in the new camera, that the controls are very similar to the older SLR, and the flexibility to adjust how I want to shoot. This camera even adjusts the ISO setting in one of the automatic modes. Switching between manual and autofocus is easy. It has a raw button on the side for immediate raw photos. It did a great job.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.