Buy the Optio E40 Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Optio E40 Digital Camera image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Pentax
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Compact digital - 8.1 megapixels and affordable!

The affordable, easy-to-use Optio E40 offers 8.1 megapixels, a 3X optical lens, Face Recognition technology and Digital Shake Reduction functions for high-resolution photography. Even novice digital photographers will enjoy the slim, lightweight body and the Simple mode selection dial.

With a high resolution 2.4 inch LCD, travel-compatible AA battery power, high quality AVI Movie capture, the Optio E40 makes a perfect digital choice for newcomers.

  • 8.1 megapixel CCD for beautiful high resolution images
  • 3x zoom lens brings the action closer
  • 2.4-inch LCD monitor
  • Auto Face Recognition takes the guesswork out of portraits
  • AA battery compatibility provides camera power anywhere in the world
  • Easy shooting with the Green Mode
  • Mode pallet with Auto Picture mode provides the same ease of use as in any Pentax compact digital camera
  • Movie capture options include VGA & QVGA
  • Sound recording ? voice memo, movie
  • Compact design is convenient and comfortable to use
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.3 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
71% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(4), Easy to setup(5), Easy to use(3), Large clear LCD(6), Short lag time(3)
Best Uses:
Fun(5), Travel(5)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(5)
 
Great Camera!
By Camera Cat from Omaha, NE on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Optio E40 Digital Camera:

I love this little camera! It came with a memory card & batteries, so since I bought in in the fall of 2008, they must of changed a few things. It also has a very long battery life which really impressed me. I have quite a few cameras and this one has been very impressive...especially for the price. Great camera for point and shoot.

 
Great camera for the price
By BKVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 10/31/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Optio E40 Digital Camera:

I bought this one for work to document various parts of equipment that I service. This camera has been severely abused by the amount of travel and the machines that I work on. I have not had a single issue and I have had it for over a year now.
The camera does use batteries pretty quick but I bought rechargeables. I carry two sets and I have never needed more and I use the camera a lot. I have an 8Gb HDSC card in it and it works great. Holds more pictures than I will ever take and even the videos I have taken have turned out well.

You wont beat this camera for the money.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
GOOD
By moxetteVerified Reviewer from Oak Harbor, WA on 5/21/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user

Comments about Pentax Optio E40 Digital Camera:

The camera takes good pictures at night and sunset. It has different settings for flowers, people, and panorama. I have had no problem with the battery life. I am happy with the camera I received as a present.

Images shared by: moxette

flowers from Langley, WA

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Nifty Little Camera!
By Bob's in the RainVerified Reviewer from Seattle on 5/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Eats batteries
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Optio E40 Digital Camera:

This is my second Pentax,(I gave a similiar model to my daughter last year)and I've had good performance from both of them. Sure, it's not a high end machine, but it is easily worth it's cost. It is easy to use, reliable and small enough to carry with ease. Only one big negative is the battery life. It really goes through the batteries and with no other way to sight the camera but the LCD, you can't save any juice at all. They could have made it easier to input voltage from an external power source, but I bought a hundred batteries for [$]; no problem there, really.On balance, I'm satisfied.

 
I love my camera!
By LansingAnnVerified Reviewer from Lansing, Michigan on 3/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Optio E40 Digital Camera:

I really enjoy this camera. Some don't like it because it didn't come with a card but I thought that was fine because I was able to go out and get the size memory I wanted and the card I bought only cost me [$] and holds more than 200 pictures and 15 minutes of video. Great for us since we have a preschooler always doing funny things. The battery life could be a little better but if I use digital camera batteries they last a little longer. I enjoyed this camera so much I'm buying one for my parents.The pictures aren't the greatest in low light say in a restaurant unless you're up close so getting group shots is tricky but I'm not trying to take professional picture or anything serious. Just fun family photos. I would definitly keep looking for something a little better if I wanted to take professional pictures in any light setting. Great for outdoor pictures though!

 
very nice!!!!
By Soz from Dallas, TX on 12/27/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Optio E40 Digital Camera:

I got this camera for Christmas and it works great! The picture quality is amazing and it is very user friendly. Great buy!!!!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
comes with batteries but NO CARD
By california girlVerified Reviewer from San Jose CA on 12/4/2007
Pros:
Good sized screen
Cons:
Bad Battery Life, Complicated Controls, Low-Quality Pictures, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Home
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Optio E40 Digital Camera:

This is the only camera I've ever bought that did NOT come with a memory card- which you need to take pictures! It comes with batteries but no card, crazy. My husband had to run to [...]buy a card for the camera before we could use it and that made me want to return it. I have a pentax camera from 3 years ago (3.2 mega pixel) and it came with a card. I don't get it. The camera is ok but I honestly think my old camera is better.

Images shared by: california girl

Christmas card 2007

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not Sure ABout this One
By HeatherVerified Reviewer from San Antonio, TX on 11/27/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Good sized screen
Cons:
Bad Battery Life, Complicated Controls, Low-Quality Pictures, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Home
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Optio E40 Digital Camera:

This camera is good for it's price and for amateur use only. Didn't come with a card as stated, battery life is extremely POOR!!! You get what you get.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.