Buy the K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Pentax
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)

Full-featured, user-friendly - The affordable Pentax K100D Digital SLR

Compatible with any Pentax K-mount lens ever produced and any Pentax screw-mount lens with optional adapters, The K100D features Shake Reduction, and perhaps one of the most important features, like the Pentax family of SLR cameras that made history before, it's completely affordable!

Picture a large 2.5 inch LCD monitor with 210,000 pixel resolution and a friendly Mode Dial offering Auto Picture and Picture modes as well as new Scene modes for even simpler photography. The 6.1 megapixel APS-C size CCD and sophisticated 16-segment multi-pattern metering delivers outstanding image reproduction, while the bright, high-precision Pentax mirror viewfinder features with 0.85X magnification. All these features combine in a compact design with high-rigidity stainless-steel chassis that is built to last.

  • 6.1 MP APS-C size CCD with high-performance imaging engine and advanced image-processing technologies
  • High-precision SAFOX VIII 11-point auto focus (9 cross-type sensors) system with single and continuous AF
  • Sensitivity equivalent to ISO 200 to 3200 with an auto mode that takes advantage of the entire range
  • Mode Dial includes the standard Exposure Modes, Auto Picture Mode, Picture Modes, and now Scene Modes
  • Large 2.5-inch LCD monitor with 210,000 pixel resolution, wide viewing angle and 12 time zoom
  • Sophisticated 16-segment multi-pattern metering determines the optimal exposure settings
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(9)
Pros:
Accurate colors(10), Great resolution(10), Nice features and settings(9), Rugged(7), Simple controls(11)
Best Uses:
Everyday(10), Low light(4), Outdoors(8), Portraits(10), Sports/action(7)
 
I love my Pentax!!!!
By Jen in GeorgiaVerified Reviewer from Atlanta on 4/21/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Picture Quality, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Use of AA batteries, Uses most Pentax lenses, Weight
Cons:
Have not found one yet
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Everyday, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel, Weddingsevents
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

I absolutely love my K100. I have always loved photography but never had a "real" camera. I used to steal my dad's old Pentax from the 70's as a kid. Since purchasing my own Pentax in September I have not stopped taking photos. I keep it with me all the time. It's easy to use and get comfortable with, the controls are clear and concise. I know some people find the shutter too loud, but I love it! I has a great sound and is like music to my ears.

I looked at the other big brands but they just didn't compare to the value and the feel of the Pentax. Get one and you'll love it. I have not met anyone who would disagree.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great choice for the amatuer enthusiast!
By CarlVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/16/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

The only shortcoming is a lack of buffer space when taking continuous shots. It will only shoot three to five shots before pausing. This is my first DSLR. Finally replaced my Minolta X-700. Make sure you get a high speed SD memory card. 6.1 Megapixels in good for an 11 X 19 photo. I rarely get anything bigger than an 8 X 10. Feature for $$$ value is unmatched.

Images shared by: Carl

Spring Crocus's

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Worth Every Penny!"
By DeefillyVerified Reviewer from Esko, Mn on 3/15/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Antishake Function, Changeable Lenses, Easy Learning Curve, Great Resolution, Light weight, Nice Features and Settings, Price, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Difficult Conditions, Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

I acquired the Pentax K100D in August and since that time I have taken over 3000 photos in every possible condition. It far exceeded my hopes in action shots. The antishake feature and the ligthness of the camera is a godsend espically for those, like myself, who suffer from arthritis, and when conditions prevent the use of a tripod. The ability to change lenses is perfect for the user who desires options as their abilities in photography grow. I do not hesitate to recommend this camera to friends. I highly recommend purchasing the 50-200mm lens also.

Images shared by: Deefilly

BB Pouting.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
recently bought my pentax
By mar from texas on 3/15/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

i enjoy my new camera, the employees at the store were very informative. the camera takes great shots. it needs a stronger flash for darker indoor pictures. othrwise i love it.

texas

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I've had mine 3 weeks and I love it
By clogVerified Reviewer from Childersburg, AL on 3/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Instruction Manual
Best Uses:
Everyday
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

I really enjoy using mine. It is much easier to use than the Alpha 100.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great!
By davbid from San Jose, CA on 2/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Enough Features
Best Uses:
Everyday, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

It is great! I've gotten lots of great shots with it!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value for the money
By Jeff the SnapperVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Shake Reduction, Simple Controls, Uses AA Batteries, Wide variety of lenses
Cons:
Small buffer
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

I looked at the Nikon D50 and the Canon Xt before getting this. The things that tipped the scaled in its favor were:

-Shake reduction in the camera body. Any lense you put on this camera will have shake reduction. New lenses, old manual lenses, all of them.
-The ability to take old M lenses and use them straight away brings back some of the old style camera feel, if you enjoy that.
-Uses AA batteries (or CRV3). Don't use Alkaline cells, but use Lithium AA's and get over 1,000 shots per set. Then, use them in another device to get the rest of the power. You can buy AA's anywhere in the world.
-Quite simply some awesome pictures come from this camera. The 18-55 kit lens is a very good lens for all starters.

Cons
-Autofocus on moving sports subjects is a bit slow. Slower than Nikon and Canon, I have found. But, with practice, I have been very successful with football and lacrosse shots.
-The buffer is on the small side. You can only take about 3-5 continuous shots before it is full and then will only take about 1 per second. Most times this is OK, as my bursts are around 3 shots, but if you need a larger steady stream (sports or wildlife), look at either the K10D or another camera. For other applications, this should not matter.

Images shared by: Jeff the Snapper

Twilight skys

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Crocus

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the great photos.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Afordable high quality every day camera
By Alex the VespaVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, old lenses compatibility, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

Remarkable camera. Probably one of the best for advanced amateur photographers. SLR flexibility, plus small and lightweight body, plus shake reduction, plus backward compatibility (a lot of relatively inexpensive lenses with good and superior quality). K100D has some imperfections, such as incorrect automatic white balance in low light and noisy shutter. But it definitely has the best quality/price value if you compare body in combination with set of high quality lens. Nikon D40 is very nice and even chipper (kit or body only) but is limited to use much more expensive AF-S optic. Canon XTi has about the same price but with poor image processing, small and dim viewfinder plus bad kit lens; 10 Mp can not compensate all of these problems. The only problem for building Pentax system is limited availability of accessories in comparison to Nikon/Canon world.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera
By BigAVerified Reviewer from Charlottesville, Va on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Long battery life, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

Over 3000 pictures and batteries still show full. Uses all old Pentax lenses. Better than I expected.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Value and Quality are apparent in the K1
By Long Distance Rider from Eastern Washington on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Long time film SLR guy, Long time Pentax guy
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Easy film SLR transition, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

I have been shooting with a Pentax since I decided on a Spotmatic over a Nikkormat in the late 60's. I have never been disappointed in my Pentax cameras. When I picked up the K100D, the fit and feel in my hands and controls were as intuitive and simple to learn as my old Spotmatic. The picture quality is great. In spite of what you might read in the many "expert" reviews on digital cameras, digital cameras at 6 mega pixels are as far as you will ever need to go. When was the last time you had a 30"X20" enlargement made? One of the things that I think confuses most consumers is some of the so called test data collected in the digital camera review process is collected simply because it can be....the human eye can't see most of the so called anomalies that the data describes. It is data for data's sake, and has little if anything to do with the quality of the pictures your camera will take. Last great thing about this camera....simple battery system, no complicated, read expensive, proprietary battery to buy....everybody sells AA's

[9 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW!!
By go2jr from Chattanooga Tn. on 1/7/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Could use a better flash
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Pentax K100D Digital SLR Camera w/Pentax 18-55 mm Lens:

My first DSLR, much more forgiving than a 35mm film camera, the salesman pointed out that Nikon has more accesories, and they do-if you dont mind the HIGH Nikon price. Thats what I love about this camera, it has all you really need to take great shots, and if you want the extra lenses, they are priced right.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.