Buy the Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Panasonic
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Featuring a 12x optical zoom LEICA DC VARIO-ELMARIT lens (equivalent to 36mm to 432mm in a 35mm film camera), the compact DMC-FZ8 is a great camera to take everywhere you go. Shoot beautiful photos anytime you feel the urge, and be sure to bring the DMC-FZ8 along on family trips. With the 18x Extra Optical Zoom** (35mm equivalent: 648mm) feature, you''ve got the power to shoot remarkable close-ups from a long distance, for uses such as bird watching.

New Features

  • 2-speed Zoom
  • Zoom Resume

Intelligent Image Stabilizer - Panasonic''s advanced Intelligent Image Stabilizer cures the blurs two ways. First, the MEGA O.I.S. (Optical Image Stabilizer) minimizes blurring caused by shaky hands, even when zooming. And second, Intelligent ISO Control minimizes the motion blur that can occur when taking shots of kids, pets or other subjects that won''t keep still.

This Intelligent Image Stabilizer system combines with the high-resolution 7.2-megapixel image sensor and high-performance Venus Engine III image processor to deliver clear, sharp beautiful pictures.

  • High Sensitivity Mode ISO 3200
  • Blur Indicator

Full Manual Operation - Adjust the exposure and shutter speed any way you want. On top of full manual control, the DMC-FZ8 gives you a host of functions that make it easy to capture artistic or expressive photos, including a user-friendly Joystick, High-resolution In-line Electronic Viewfinder, and Selectable Auto Focus Area.

New Features

  • 11-point AF
  • Multi AF Area Setting
  • Movable MF Assist
  • RAW Format Compatible
  • Mode Dial - Mode Position Display
  • Scene Mode : SUNSET, PET
  • Two Axis White Balance Adjustment
  • 3-image Capturing in Self-timer (10sec)
  • Built-in Memory 27MB
  • Date Stamp
  • 9-cutout Images from Motion Image

Expanding the fun through Networking - Get together with family or friends and display a slideshow of your photos or a motion image on the large-screen TV in your living room. The big screen lets you see details you didn''t even notice before. You''ll find it easy to print photos at home, too, with the new Direct Printing Mode.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Casual user(8), Enthusiast(12)
Pros:
Easy to keep clean(6), Easy to setup(10), Large clear LCD(13), Short lag time(11), Simple controls(15)
Best Uses:
Art(10), Documentary(4), Fun(13), Travel(16)
 
Definitely recommend this product
By Yamight from Richmond, VA on 10/8/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Clear pictures, Comfortable Controls, Fast shutter speed, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

This camera was fabulous. I was able to catch pictures of my son driving a go-kart. The shutter speed was so fast, it scared me!

 
Great Camera for the Price
By Liezl SartoVerified Reviewer from Long Beach CA on 10/7/2007
Pros:
12x zoom, Accessories available, Battery life is good, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Light weight, Supports RAW files, Wide screen moviesphotos
Cons:
Noise w pics 200 ISO
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

Great camera for the price. Both auto and manual controls. Wide variety of accessories available for the camera.

Images shared by: Liezl Sarto

Taken in a park w/ adjusting exposure

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Great Camera
By PattyVerified Reviewer from Germantown,WI on 10/7/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
family, Family Events, Family Photos, Fun, Pets, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

Great camera for the price. Have taken several pictures using the different scence modes. Still learning about all the modes. Never was really into picture taking, now I am looking forward to taking pictures and looking for more opportunities for picture taking.

Images shared by: Patty

The sun

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Reflection of tree in water

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
USEABLE 48X ZOOM & SAVE IMAGES IN RAW
By Famous1twoVerified Reviewer from PEKIN, ILLINOIS USA on 10/1/2007
Pros:
BEST IMAGE STABILIZER, CLEAR 48X ZOOM, LEICA LENS, SAVE RAW IMAGE, SUPER LIGHT
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, CITY DAY or NIGHT, PHOTOS FOR EBAY, Travel
Describe Yourself:
DIGITAL CAMERA REP, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

I cannot say enough good things about this Panasonic camera. This camera will take a clean photo at 48x Zoom without a tripod. = WOWThe macro mode takes the best closeups i have seen so far also. I have been a digital camera rep. for over 2 1/2 years and i can tell you that in a point and shoot camera this Panasonic is second to none. This camera will also save the phots in RAW format just like an SR and it has most all the same functions. [$]

Images shared by: Famous1two

Bettendorf, Iowa Bridge Overcast Day

Image Thumbnail
 
recommend this camera
By family photographerVerified Reviewer from northeast Iowa on 9/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

I love all the special setting for quick snapshots in different conditions. My friends, one of whom is a semi-professional photographer, are impressed with the quality of photos. I'm still learning all the features.

 
frame pictures with the LCD display.
By Ray from Palm Beach Gardens, FL on 9/2/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Does not use AA batteries, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Great in low light, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

Unlike the more expensive digital SLR's, you are able to use the LCD screen (as well as the viewfinder) to view and frame your shot. You will know exactly what you have in the shot using the LCD to compose the frame. GREAT FOR SOMEONE WITH VISION PROBLEMS.
>>>>DOES NOT USE AA BATTERIES - IT'S RECHARGABLE !!!!

 
Great camera
By J MaxVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 8/29/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

After using small pocket cameras with limited features this camera seemed a bit large to me but surprisingly light weight. It is complex and has a smaller display than the Lumix DMC-T23K but has 12X zoom and slightly more built-in memory. While it is set up to just point and shoot it also has a host of manual functions that I'm looking forward to learn about and use.

The two photos that I included below were both shot using the zoom function. The photo of Papago Buttes is actually four photos stitched together using the Panorama Maker 3 program which is included with the camera's software package.

Images shared by: J Max

Turtles

Image Thumbnail

Papago Buttes, Phoenix, AZ

Image Thumbnail
 
superb camera well worth the price
By cameronVerified Reviewer from tampa,fl on 8/7/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Sharp desighn, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Weak microphone pick up
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

this camera had the best look,feel and picture i could find in the price range i wanted to pay.very happy!

 
All the bells and whistles
By Icewolf7777Verified Reviewer from Flint, MI on 8/4/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, NATURE, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

The beginner to the pro would like this. The the camera make the decisions on auto or you make all the choices yourself. You are in total control. Crystal clear pictures that my friends think are promo pictures but no it was just me! The more I use it the more I find myself thinking of places to go and take pictures.

Images shared by: Icewolf7777

Detroit Zoo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Bengal Tiger in action

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
AWESOME Camera!!
By DanVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, MD on 7/21/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

Great camera, very easy to use, and the picture quality is amazing. Focusing was a little hard at first but after I got the hang of it every picture turned out great. I've had it for 2 days now and have already taken 500 pictures. I'm very excited to get some new lens for it.

Images shared by: Dan

Angel

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Lexi

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really nice.
By Neocratus from Sarasota, Florida on 7/21/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Little heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

A camera that can be used anywhere.A little bit heavy, but the quality is shadows that.You have a lot of manual control over the shot!That's good.Electronic viewfinder is awsome! big enough!That's it!Happy shoting![...]

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
VERY NICE CAMERA
By Dan from Baltimore, MD on 7/20/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time
Cons:
Focusing
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

AWESOME camera! Great quality, light, easy to use. Uses for all the functions are described in the manual for anyone who doesn't know much. Lag time is amazing, especially with faster SD cards. Focusing is a bit hard at first, I kept getting too close to the objects I was trying to focus on. But overall this is a sick camera!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice camera
By Kim B.Verified Reviewer from Temecula, CA on 6/18/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
no cons
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

So far out of about 100 photos taken, I am very satisfied. Nice camera, easy to use. Good for beginner or advanced.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
like a digital SLR
By deANNAmarie from IL on 6/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Great manual features, Not heavy, Perfect Price for All, Precise focus, Rechargeable battery, Viewfinder
Cons:
Didn't come with a case, No SD card, Overwhelming fuctions
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

I've taken Photography I and II and Digital Photography classes in high school. I lost my first digital camera about three years ago. It had poor MPs, no optical zoom, and a huge shutter lag. I missed taking photographs and I figured that if I'm going to spend money on a camera, that I better get the one I like with all of the special features. I did not want to pay the high price for a digital SLR, so I am very excited that I found this one! With 7.2 MP and 12x optical zoom, I knew this was the one for me. Great color quality and so many features that can be used for different effects. It is so light compared to actual SLRs. Yeah, it is bigger than those pocket sized cameras, but does anyone actually keep a camera in their pocket? Puhleaze. It is worth the extra bulk. Just make sure to purchase the correct SD or SDHC card.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
What a great camera!!
By The Neuro GuyVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 4/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time
Cons:
GREAT CAMERA, None that I can see
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

After ordering and sending back TWO cameras (the Enverio 30GB HD camcorder and the Kodak P880) I found this little gem! The auto settings will work well for the amateur, but the manual settings available make for some truly GREAT snaps! The menu system is very intuitive, if complex. Even with the MANY options you'll soon learn to navigate through them all quickly. I have yet to make prints from my photos, but if the digital form is any indication, should be great!

Images shared by: The Neuro Guy

Whiskey Falls, Redding California

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Interstate 5 Rest Stop

Image Thumbnail

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Superior to any other in its class
By Tina from Seattle on 3/8/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Ameture use, Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8K Digital Camera:

Great Camera for some one with a shaky hand due to the fabulous optical stabilizer which is superior to a digital stabilizer. Also the 12 optical zoom is very handy for catching the action from far away.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.