Buy the SP-550UZ Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
SP-550UZ Digital Camera image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Olympus
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
If you never want to miss the action, get the world''s most powerful digital camera - the 7.1 megapixel SP-550UZ from Olympus. Its new 18x wide-angle super telephoto zoom lens gets you closer to your subject than is possible with any compact digital camera on the market. Dual Image Stabilization eliminates the blurs. And with high-speed sequential shooting and new Pre-Capture technology, you''ll capture fast motion like a pro. Thanks to its Bright Capture feature, you can even shoot in low light without a flash, and it''s easy to preview, shoot and share with the camera''s large 2.5-inch high resolution LCD.

New Feature! - 18x Wide-Angle (f/2.8-4.5, 28-504mm equivalent) - Featuring the world''s most powerful zoom lens, the SP-550UZ offers maximum shooting versatility for travel, sports and everyday use. The 18x super telephoto zoom gets you closer to the action than any compact digital camera on the market, and at the same time, the wide-angle lens gets more into your frame - perfect for shooting indoors, landscapes and group shots. (100x total seamless zoom)

New Feature! - Dual Image Stabilization - The 2-in-1 anti-blur solution. Sensor- Shift Image Stabilization keeps your shot steady by compensating for camera shake (ideal for shooting in low light and zooming in on your subject), and Digital Image Stabilization freezes the action with high ISO sensitivity and faster shutter speeds. These 2 anti-blur technologies combine so you can capture crisp, clear images in any situation.

15fps High-Speed Sequential Shooting - Shoot fast-action sequences like a pro! At the click of a button, you can take several shots in rapid succession to capture every moment of the action. With a burst rate of up to 15fps*, you can freeze moments in time to get the shot you want.
*(1.2MP)

New Feature! - Pre-Capture - Pre-Capture begins working as soon as the focus is locked, automatically archiving five frames in the camera''s buffer memory prior to the shutter release, so you''re sure to capture the perfect shot even if your reaction time is slow.

ISO 5000 - The SP-550UZ offers the highest sensitivity of any ultra zoom (up to ISO 5000) for superior low light and fast-action photography. Combine with shutter speeds of up to 1/2000 sec. to capture fast-action photos, like sports and pets, with ease.

7.1 Megapixels - The SP-550UZ''s high-resolution CCD delivers superior image quality for larger prints without sacrificing detail.

2.5-inch High-Resolution LCD - The large, bright LCD (230,000 pixels) provides easy shooting and sharing of your images with friends and family.

Bright Capture Technology - Keep it bright even in low light! When shooting or recording in low light, Bright Capture allows you to clearly preview your shot on the LCD and capture brighter, more vivid images** - without a flash.
**select scene modes

Full Manual Exposure Control - Provides creative control for advanced users, yet it''s easy enough for any family member to pointand- shoot beautiful images.

30 Shooting Modes - including Movie with Sound Getting the best shot has never been easier. Preset shooting modes optimize the camera''s settings for any shooting situation to ensure you capture a great shot. Select Scene Modes such as Portrait, Landscape, Night Scene, Sports, Beach & Snow, Underwater and more. Records TV-quality AVI movies with sound (640x480/30fps) up to the capacity of your xD card.
* using Olympus H-Type xD-Picture Card

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(6), Easy to setup(10), Large clear LCD(9), Short lag time(5), Simple controls(12)
Cons:
Long lag time(3)
Best Uses:
Art(4), Documentary(3), Fun(10), Travel(9)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(9)
 
SP-550UZ Digital Camera
By SostanDVerified Reviewer from Qubec Canada on 3/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

This Camera is one of the Best 18X Zoom Lots of Extras This Camera is Like AT&T it Reach out and touch ya i mean Long Range Shooting

Images shared by: SostanD

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
I love this camera!!!
By JTventfam from Nashville, TN on 2/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

I was in the market to upgrade to an SLR from my Olympus C-700. I haven't done it before because my old camera consistantly out-performed other people's "better" (more expensive camera. I was getting close to buying an SLR for the zoom features when I came across a review in Backpacker magazine for this camera. It was there number 1 pick and now it's mine! I love it. Easy to use and what a price. My only downer is that now I found out about the 570 UZ with a 20x optical zoom. Oh well, Maybe down the road.

 
Great camera!
By MichaelVerified Reviewer from Columbus, GA on 12/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Menu Simplicity, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

I've always loved Olympus' products and they've outdone themselves with this camera. Try and find another 18x OPTICAL zoom on a camera for this price. It won't happen. Other cameras may have an 18x DIGITAL zoom but the 18x optical zoom by far surpasses anything else. Anyone can use this camera.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
JUST WHAT I HAVE WANTED
By CowgirlVerified Reviewer from Ramona CA on 8/31/2007
Pros:
UP CLOSE personal
Best Uses:
Art, Brings more into focus, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

I have searched for jsut the right combination of features and this has 90% of them. Now I can do more and less fuss althogh the size is not as convenient as the smaller CYBERSHOTS form SONY (previous camera) more technical application.

 
new owner
By peanuts the picture takerVerified Reviewer from Chelmsford Massachusetts on 8/1/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

It's difficult that this camera can be purchased for this amount of money---worth every penny (actually more) whatever or however a person wants to use this camera--it's the one--has everything & more than a hobbyist would ever use--a serious person this is definetly the camera for you.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
UNBELIEVABLE PRODUCT
By Chuck the sports nut from Hoffman est ILL on 6/15/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, GREAT PICTURE QUALITY, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

It exceeded my expectations in picture quality.
Everybody I show pictures to say they are incredible.I'v been taking pictures of sporting events. The action shots are great.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't bank on it.....
By Proud Navy MomVerified Reviewer from MASS on 6/14/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

THOUGHT this was a better deal, bought a Sony Cybershot DSC-H9 instead. This has 4 AA batteries and sucks them down, at 1st it seemed decent until I got it home and played with it, slow lag times, not a good burst....just not comfortable....

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Makes you look like a Pro
By DVVerified Reviewer from Orlando, Florida on 5/31/2007
Pros:
15 shot in a second, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
15shot don't work on auto
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

For the first time people want my pic. Plus it was so easy to get pro looking shots. I was thinking I may have just got a little [$] camera But after my trip I feel I got a [$] camera for [$]. Next is the TCON-17 Telephoto lens for it

Images shared by: DV

I got it.........

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Ultra Zoom
By PerfectShotVerified Reviewer from Salem, VA on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

I purchased the SP-550UZ as an update to my Camedia C-725 and I LOVE it! I have mainly used it for sports pictures and portraits, but plan to use it exclusively. The options are endless with this camera and I can't wait to learn about all it's capabilities. It was easy to use right out of the box. I love the big LCD and the 18x zoom can't be beat. It is comfortable to use, fits in my bag, and the lens fits through the fence at sporting events. This camera doesn't disappoint!

Images shared by: PerfectShot

Warming Up

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Nice Pictures
By New to DigitalVerified Reviewer from Spring Church, PA on 4/15/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Strong Construction, Versitility
Cons:
Slow to focus
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

This is my first digital camera and I think that it was a good choice. I needed something with a good zoom, but was still easy to use. I read the manual cover to cover, and I realize that I need some more reading material to understand all that this camera can do. It is nice that until I am able to learn more about the manual applications, I am able to take great pictures with the auto shoot format.This camera will let me grow as I learn more about the digital features.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amateurs: Too much; Pros; Too little
By photographyvoice[...]Verified Reviewer from [...] on 3/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time, Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

Would give a 3.75 if allowed (instead of four). [...] Overall a nice camera, just offers more than a novice will need and not enough for a intermediate or pro user. LCD will flare out in bright light situations, making 1/2 the screen too bright while the picture is taken (picture is fine however). Great long zoom, but slow to autofocus resulting in blurry or missed images.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best I have ever used.
By ShakerVerified Reviewer from San Leandro, CA on 3/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

Used a friends for the weekend. Loved it, took photos, movies, panoramic photos. I would prefer a battery like the C50 has. But its great, I'm buying one now.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
great camera
By hollyVerified Reviewer from Ohio on 3/22/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

easy to use right out of box. took great pictures and ease of use.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
this is a perfect point and shoot camera
By shooter from bay city, michigan on 3/18/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Excellent for distance, Stabilizer is great, Superb clarity
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

This is a great point and shoot camera.

I would have loved this camera when I was just starting photography!!

I can honestly say this is my new favorite.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
SP-550 = AWESOME!
By S from WARM AND SUNNY on 2/26/2007
Best Uses:
With WIDE lens EVERYTHING
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Olympus SP-550UZ Digital Camera:

It is THE BEST 28mm WIDE and a 500mm too?!!! WOW!!

LOVE IT!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.