Buy the Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens image
 
(based on 46 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The compact 10.2-MP D60 delivers breathtaking picture quality and the versatile handling of a D-SLR, yet is incredibly compact, easy and fun to use.

Real Camera, Real Fun. From automatic fun to creative fulfillment Are you looking for a real digital SLR that's easy to use? Do you want mobility without sacrificing capability? Would you like simple operation and enough features to step forward creatively? If so, then get to know the Nikon D60. Now you can experience the best of both worlds: enjoy one-button simplicity with AUTO, or try many exciting levels of creative control. There is room for everyone to explore the thrill and magic of photography. Have fun, and don't worry - it's a Nikon.

Nikon D60 Features at a Glance

  • Extraordinary 10.2-Megapixel DX-format Nikon Picture Quality
  • Includes AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR (Vibration Reduction) Lens
  • Fast Startup and Split-Second Shutter Response
  • Shoots Continuously at up to 3 Frames per Second
  • Active Dust Reduction System with Airflow Control
  • Easy Operation with Intuitive Controls
  • Up to 500 Pictures per Battery Charge
    Based on CIPA battery testing standards
  • Bright, 2.5-Inch Color LCD Monitor with 170-Degree Wide-Angle Viewing
  • Nikon's Smallest Digital SLR Ever!
  • Automatic Exposure with 8 Digital Vari-Program Scene Modes
  • In-Camera Editing Functions

Extraordinary 10.2-Megapixel DX-format Nikon Picture Quality:
Nikon's high-performance, 10.2-megapixel DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive EXPEED image processing concept provide added cropping freedom and the ability to make larger prints.

Includes AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR (Vibration Reduction) Image Stabilization Lens:
NIKKOR lenses are famous for breathtaking sharpness and faithful color. With Nikon's fast, accurate autofocus and Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization technology built in, pictures are even sharper, free from blur caused by camera shake when shooting hand-held.

Fast Startup and Split-Second Shutter Response:
With fast startup and split-second shutter response, the D60 eliminates the frustration of shutter delay, capturing moments that other cameras miss.

Shoot Continuously at up to 3 Frames per Second:
Capture sports action, precious moments and fleeting expressions at up to 3 frames per second, for as many as 100 consecutive JPEG images.

Active Dust Reduction System with Airflow Control:
Nikon's Active Dust Reduction System activates automatically, along with Airflow Control technology to reduce the amount of dust that reaches the sensor.

Easy Operation with Intuitive Controls:
Intuitive controls and an onboard HELP Menu System with Assist Images make the D60 truly easy to use, enabling everyone to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Nikon's EXPEED Image Processing Concept:
Nikon's original digital image processing concept, EXPEED, comprehensively optimizes pictures, shot after shot.

8 Digital-Vari Program Automatic Shooting Modes:
Eight Digital Vari-Program Modes include: Auto, Auto Flash-OFF, Portrait, Landscape, Child, Sports, Close Up and Night Portrait; each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results for everyday shooting situations. Each mode considers lighting conditions and possibilities, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, hue, tone, sharpening and more to make creative photography as simple as rotating the mode dial.

Nikon's Smallest Digital SLR Ever!
Beautifully styled, the D60 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever. You'll be amazed at the power packed into a camera that weighs just over 16 ounces.

2.5-Inch, 230,000-Dot Color LCD Monitor with 170-Degree Wide-Angle Viewing:
Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts with easy-to-view menus. Auto rotating LCD display provides automatic horizontal and vertical graphic display orientation.

Advanced HELP Menu System with Assist Images:
The D60's Assist Images help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting, as well as an advanced HELP Menu for the current item selected. The D60's Question Mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item; just press the HELP button beside the LCD monitor to see a context-sensitive HELP page.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II:
The D60's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes. The result delivers instantly and precisely determined exposures for each scene, even in challenging lighting conditions.

Image Optimization Options:
The D60's Optimize Image setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening, as well as other image settings, according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: Normal, Softer, Vivid, More Vivid, Portrait, Custom and Black and White, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL Automatic Flash Control:
Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always ready to bring beautiful exposures to darkened conditions, as well as add sparkle for fill flash in outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images. In low-light or back-light situations, added illumination from the built-in Speedlight can make the difference between an average snapshot and a dazzling picture.

Fast, Accurate 3-Area Autofocus:
The D60's advanced 3-Area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise Autofocus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

In-Camera Image Editing and Enhanced Retouch Menu:
Highly versatile in-camera editing features through the Retouch Menu include Nikon D-Lighting, Red-Eye Correction, Image Trim, Image Overlay, Monochrome (Black and White, Sepia and Cyanotype) along with Skylight, Warm Tone and Color Balance filter effects. New effects and controls include Quick Retouch, NEF (RAW) Processing, Cross Star and Color Intensifier filters. This provides greater creative freedom without the need for a computer for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Stop motion video:
Creates a stop-motion animation from a sequence of images for added creative fun to your pictures.

Up to 500 Images per Battery Charge:
The supplied EN-EL9 rechargeable battery will allow for shooting up to 500 images per charge based on CIPA battery testing standards.

Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55MM F/3.5-5.6G VR Lens
Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55MM F/3.5-5.6G VR Lens offers Nikon's proprietary Vibration Reduction (VR) technology to help consumers snap sharper photos than ever before, even while shooting handheld. Compact and lightweight, this affordable lens is an optimum lens to use with Nikon DX-format digital SLR cameras and is the ideal focal length as a first lens to faithfully capture life's day-to-day moments, or a welcome addition to a Nikon D-SLR photographer's already-established lens assortment.

From family gatherings to sunny vacation beaches, the NIKKOR 18-55mm VR lens produces stunning results with vivid color and incredible sharpness. The 3x optical zoom offers users of Nikon DX-format D-SLR cameras including the D40, D40x, D80 and new D300 with a versatile picture angle perspective ranging from wide angle for dramatic landscapes and interiors, to moderate telephoto that is ideal for flattering portraits.

Beyond the lens' incredible optical versatility is the amazing benefit of Nikon's VR technology, which enables photographers to take substantially sharper handheld pictures at slower shutter speeds than would otherwise be possible. This provides the distinct advantage of being able to shoot more effectively in a much broader variety of challenging conditions. Nikon's VR system affords users the ability to take pictures at shutter speeds up to three stops slower* than they ordinarily could shoot without the image-degrading blur caused by camera shake at slow shutter speeds.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 46 reviews)
93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(8), Great picture quality(4), Large clear LCD(35), Lightweight(3), Quiet(25)
Cons:
Loud(5), None i can find(3), Slow sensor(3)
Best Uses:
Art(20), Documentary(10), Fun(40), Photojournalism(13), Travel(35)
Describe Yourself:
Beginner(11), Casual photographer(5), Enthusiast(15), Photo enthusiast(5), Semi-professional(4)
 
LOVE THIS CAMERA
By Mike from Puyallup, WA on 11/10/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

This camera is my first SLR and I am very happy with it! I spent weeks researching different SLR cameras on the market and found that the D60 was the way to go. Boy was I right!

 
great camera and lens combo
By Billy BobVerified Purchaser from Livonia, MI on 11/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Quiet
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

This is a great product with lots of features to learn to make even more use of it. Coupled with the 4 gig memory card this allows you to take plenty of quality photos without worrying about running out of memory.

 
The Best Camera For The Money!
By HockeygrampyVerified Purchaser from Smyrna, Georgia on 11/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I have always liked and used Nikon products and have owned many over the years. But in switching to a digital SKR, the Nikon remains my absolute favorite camera! Ever!
I recently putchased my D60 just before going to Puerto Rico for a vacation and the results of my photography was absolutely stunning!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon D60
By BeckiVerified Purchaser from West Columbia, SC on 10/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I have never used an SLR or DSLR camera before, and I was pleasantly suprised with how easy it was to use and how many useful and interesting options there were for editing pictures within the camera itself. The filter options are also pretty cool. I was also suprised at how close up you could zoom without having a specific lense for zooming. Overall, I am really happy with this camera, and would definately buy it again. The only con I can think of for this camera was that the software that comes with it is confusing, and my computer does not automatically recognize the file type that the pictures are saved in.

 
Great Camera!
By Serangel4263Verified Purchaser from Lehigh Valley, PA on 10/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

Bought this for sports and family photos and pleased. Previously purchased a different brand of DSLR and returned it. Colors are vivid and shutter speed is great.

Images shared by: Serangel4263

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
perfect!
By ms. rabbottVerified Purchaser from vacaville, ca on 10/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

i just upgraded from a sony and love the nikon d60! i use it everyday and it keeps up w my kids. love it!

 
Love this camera
By sc momVerified Reviewer from South Carolina on 10/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Excellent image quality, Good Battery Life, Great Pictures, Strong Construction
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Low light, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I love this camera. I have thousands of pics of my family, vacations, and just everyday having fun. I am not a pro at all when it comes to cameras but I have managed to figure this one out.I just love having great pics of my family. The camera is easy to use and very durable. The battery last a very long time,I was concerned because we had 2 batteries with our last camera and I was always changing batteries. I will recomend this camera to my friends and recomend they go to Ritz to get one.[...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent!
By BinklebeeVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia, PA on 10/15/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I absolutely adore this camera! I have always loved photography and last week I finally got my dream camera! I did tons of research to find that the D60 sounded like the best option for me. It takes beautiful pictures (even with the 18-55 lens) and I have found that I need to buy more memory cards to keep up with all the pictures I take. I also can't wait to buy some more lenses!
Overall, I think the D60 is great for the beginner looking for something a little more than the D40. I would not hesitate recommending this to everybody!

Images shared by: Binklebee

Sunset over the River

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Fall Mums

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Decent D-slr for beginners!!
By SettiVerified Reviewer from Portland, ME on 10/10/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow auto foucusing
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

ive been using Nikon 35mm SLRs for years now and this is the first D slr I've bought. i produces great photos, but its AF system is really lagging. I will be buying another higher end model soon probably the D300, but this one works fine for most situations.

Images shared by: Setti

Manual Exposure, HIGH ISO, at night

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

close up in daylight. auto.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Hard to Beat This Combo
By InstructorVerified Purchaser from Pampa, TX on 10/7/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

Quick, easy operation.

I use for fun, but also for applications that require getting the picture right now, rather than having to figure out what setting needs to be addressed prior to shooting.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
RECONSIDER BEFORE PURCHASE
By JassonVerified Reviewer from Palm Springs, CA on 10/5/2008
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I have never written a bad review about a product before. Product here being both Ritz and Nikon. I bought my D60 on May 28, 2008. This past weekend (Oct 4, 2008) I started having problems. One shot was fine and then the next one had not only black marks in the picture but dead pixels too. The camera appears to work fine in the auto mode (still has dead pixels, but sans the black marks. [...]

Images shared by: Jasson

gray card shows black marks and dead pixels

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

black marks ( sky, screen left) no it's not dirt

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great camera!
By StormWillow from Bend, Oregon on 9/29/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy to handle, Great picture quality, Long battery life
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I recently bought this camera when I wanted to upgrade from the Nikon D50. I love everything about this camera. It was easy to learn and it's fun! My only complaint is that it's alittle noisey. But that's not enough to make me dislike this camera.

Images shared by: StormWillow

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very fun camera I love it.
By PersonalChefJoeVerified Reviewer from San Diego/TJ on 9/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
No Picture Preview on LCD, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Capture Great Memories, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I would have loved to give it a 4.5, but it wasn't an option. I primarily use it to take fun pictures. All with the default 18 to 55 lens. I am looking at picking up the 70 to 300 AS-f, VR lens as soon as I can. I am off to Colorado later this week to go to another wedding. I am looking forward to going through Canyon county as it is so beautiful. I also need to get a better flash. I work sometimes as a personal chef, and though it would be nice to take better pictures of My Food. But it turns out I have used it for almost everything else but food.
It is a fun camera to use, though it has many settings, for most shots the auto setting is fine.
Have taken probably 3 thousand pictures in the last few months, and quite a few of them turned out nice. It really is an excellent camera. I became the Photographer for my cousins wedding just because I showed up with a camera. I took well over 350 pictures many with the built in flash. I think that most of the pictures came out great. And with a 2 GB SD cards so cheap, you don’t have to worry about not having enough space. Just keep taking pictures. I can fit about 600 shots on one 2GB SD card.
The battery life is also great. In fact if you only take a few pictures here and there it is easy to forget it needs to be charged. (Especially true before you go to the San Diego or Wild Animal Park, don’t forget like me, there are too many missed shots.)
It performs best with lots of light as you would expect, but the VR does help pull off cleaner shots when grabbing a shot indoors or in lower light, but don’t want to risk a flash. You can adjust the ISO manually or let the camera decide. I think it is fun to play around with the settings.
Pros:
1) Easy to use
2) Light weight
3) Nice pictures for an inexpensive Kit lens.
4) Makes you start paying attention to things you never noticed before.
Cons:
1) No pre-display on the LCD before you take a picture. You have to use the eye piece or guess.
2) Slow to focus, some times. In lower light conditions, it will hunt a bit trying to focus.
3) Slow to recover once you take your burst of pictures.

Over all I really love my D60, and would happily recommend it to someone who is not already a professional.

Images shared by: PersonalChefJoe

Dinner by the Beach? Standard lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Just simply beautiful

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Great Combination!
By Photo SnapperVerified Purchaser from San Antonio, TX on 9/10/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

This is a great camera and lens combination whether you are a professional or beginner! I am a beginner, and I had no trouble learning how to use this camera. It has many options to use to customize your shooting, but the AUTO feature simplifies matters and still produces great photos!

 
Nikon D60
By Nikon Rocks from great lake on 9/8/2008
Pros:
Good Starter Camera, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Fps, ISO Speed
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

This is a good camera. I used it for a second body for weddings, sports, etc that I have photographed.

 
Very Nice Camera!
By JJVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/7/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Loaded with features, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
All around photography, Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I found this camera to be a good starter for the jump from pocket point and shoot to the SLR family. The camera is LOADED with features that will keep anyone satisfied. If you are looking for a good camera that is priced fair and takes GREAT pictures... this one is it!

Images shared by: JJ

Taken with the Nikon D60

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Love it, but need practice!!
By Bridgie 74Verified Reviewer from Northome MN on 9/7/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

It may be a little more than I can handle but am enjoying all of the different features.
Still waiting to try at night time games to see how it does!

Images shared by: Bridgie 74

Lost my first tooth!!!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Throw me high Dalton!!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Has some short commings!
By exjumper58Verified Reviewer from Corinth, TX on 9/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Loud, MH-23 Quick Charger, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

Having some buyers remorse. Didn't check it out enought at the store.
Very slow to recover for second flash shot. The MH 23 Quick Charger works only on 110 Volts. This means you must have a converter when out of the country. Cheap Cannon Point and Shoots have dual voltage chargers.

Images shared by: exjumper58

German vacation at Army expense.

Image Thumbnail
 
Great camera but not what i expected
By dijoe from Escondido, CA on 8/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Getting started

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

Don't get me wrong the camera takes great pictures but for what you pay for you would not expect the camera to sound like that. [...] tried out 2 other D60's and they all made that annoying sound after the picture is taken. Tried a D40 and D80 which did not make that sound. The D80 was out of my price range currenlty so I picked up the D40 so far I have been happy with my Decision....2 thumbs up for Ritz!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great starter camera
By NaloboyVerified Reviewer from Vancouver, WA on 8/23/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Shutter speed
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

Great beginner camera that Iʻve taken some very nice pics with. Happy with the purchase but there are 2 down sides to this camera. The slow shutter speed when flash is engaged and price. If you are on a tight budget get the D40 and use the money you saved on a lens

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera for beginners
By RjVerified Reviewer from Richmond, VA on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

With a package VR lense this camera is real great. This if the first ever SLR of my life time and before I purchase I did a lots of survey that includes price and quality. For a beginner with less price this is awesome deal.

Images shared by: Rj

Butterfly

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Picture of Product, Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Capture life at your fingertips!
By Jonney eVerified Reviewer from Long Branch, NJ on 8/4/2008
Pros:
Auto focus, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Comfortable grip, Easy to use and learn, Excellent image quality, Fun to use, Good Battery Life, Good colors, High quality photo, Strong Construction
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

This camera is able to capture the image I see with my own eyes before I take the photo and makes everything I do more memorable after I create prints from these photos. It's amazing and I could not ask for a better camera! Thank you Nikon for creating a camera that is unlike any other.

Images shared by: Jonney e

My friend Andrew, backside lipslide in NYC

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Andrew, pivot to fakie under verrazano bridge

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
We love this camera!!!!!
By AndreaVerified Reviewer from Pasadena, Maryland on 8/2/2008
Pros:
Beautiful quality photos, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

We use this product to capture our children in their activities and our animals in their surroundings. The camera lets me take multiple shots at once, so it is really cool to get consectutive pictures of my girls coming down a sliding board or running the bases. .,

Images shared by: Andrea

Nice Ride

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Beautiful quality

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great, wonderful, fun, awesom
By I am 911Verified Reviewer from Birmingham, Alabama on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

Love it. This is my first digital camera of this type and I am in awe with the quality of the pictures I have taken. As for now, I am only shooting in auto mode, but I plan on taking the classes and learning a lot more about it.

I have a relative that bought a camera of another popular brand and was completely unhappy. With this Nikon I cannot say the same.

The freebies that came with it made the price much more acceptable.

 
Awesome Camera!!!
By DebVerified Reviewer from Woodstock, GA on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Fast shutter, Great battery life, Great Pictures, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Kids Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I just bought this camera last week. It is my first DSLR camera. I used it over the weekend at my sons' sporting events. It was very easy to use and I took awesome action photos. I highly recommend this camera.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome!!!
By Dispatch Dave from Birmingham, Alabama on 7/27/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

This camera was recommended by the salesperson at Wolf. I really like it, right out of the box. Taking pictures in manual mode makes it easy but I will attend the classes to get the knowledge of how to shoot in other modes. This is my first digital SLR of this caliber and it appears that I have made a good choice.
With the current free promotions available, I feel like I really racked up on a good deal.

I did buy the external flash and I would recommend that everyone do the same. Failure to do that may result in you not liking the indoor pictures.

I hope you enjoy yours as much as I do mine.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love my new camera!
By sonyaVerified Purchaser from brockport, ny on 7/25/2008
Pros:
A lot of helpful features, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Pets kids, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I absolutely love this camera. My only complaint is that when looking thru the viewfinder, my nose hits the screen. Would be better with a longer eyecup.

Images shared by: sonya

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Highly Recommend to All
By skksbVerified Reviewer from Baldwin, Georgia on 7/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

This is an awesome camera. Very easy to use. Can't believe the pictures we have taken with this camera. Unbelievable!! This is our 1st DSLR Camera & don't see us buying anything else. Technology will last for years to come. Everyone has been amazed at our pictures we have taken. Already feel like a pro. Amazing what you can do with this camera, and what the camera can do. I used this site & the comments to choose to buy this camera. Very compact & light weight. Highly recommend to all.

Images shared by: skksb

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Picture of Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Picture of Product

 
AMAZING
By Hanna CowartVerified Reviewer from Lakeland, Fl on 7/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photography class, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I use it for photo class and it is amazing! Perfect pictures!

 
MY CAMERA IS THE BOMB!!
By Miss from Hughesville, PA on 7/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I love this camera, ive just upgraded to the Nikon and it is out of this world, lots to learn, but very fast, i love taking pictures of my kids because i usually get the expression i was going for.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
U imagine a picture--D60 turns it to art
By Mark--mtn and road biker enthusiastVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas, NV on 7/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Sporting events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I did some very extensive research before purchasing this product. My choice was between Canon and Nikon. I always wanted a Canon product but they all require a lot of user interaction--cleaning the sensor yourself and knowing how to set-up the camera to get the perfect shot(a job for the pros). Some of the more expensive Nikon cameras are this way too.
That's what turned me on to the D60 after reading about all its features. I had planned on buying the D40x until December when I saw an ad in a photography magazine for the D60.
I couldn't believe it. An awesome Dslr with a self cleaning sensor at 3fps. Perfect! This is the absolute perfect camera for anyone especially the beginner. Very user friendly and loves to take photos.
I use the D60 for everything--family, traveling, and mountain bike pics. I always get good quality photos with this camera.
I do recommend four purchases with this camera. A must:
1. A UV protector filter for each lens.
2. A circular polarizer filter one will do
but I like having one on each lens so I
am not always changing them out.
3. The 55 - 200m VR lens. (Unless you have
the money for the 18 - 200 VR lens, this
is two lenses in one if you think about
it--the 18-55 and the 55-200mm lens).
4. The speedlight-800.
Did I mention I love this camera? It is absolutely awesome. You will not find a better one.

Images shared by: Mark--mtn and road biker enthusiast

Mexican guitar player--Old Town San Diego

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
First true Digital camera.
By HSJRVerified Reviewer from Florida on 7/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Price, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Sporting events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

Our first "true" digital SLR. After weeks of running back and forth to several stores, taking test shot after test shots. And then Camparing them. (The other camera was a Canon XSI). We settled on the Nikon D60. We found it to be more of a user friendly with the menus and settings. Now we constantly use it. Granted we couldnt take our test in a "controled" enviroment. So we settled on what each store had to provide. But the main thing that we did find was, how easy it was to navigate through the menus on the D60. Nothing against Canon and the XSI. The menus on the XSI where not as plentiful as the D60. In the end we decided on the D60. I would reccommend this camera to someone who is wanting to make that next step up, which is what we did. Went from a sony F717, and a Panasonic (both very good in thier own right). But the D60 is proving to be the right choice to make.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
you dream and nikon draws
By LukeVerified Reviewer from Chicago on 7/9/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

W/ nikon it's just too easy to take a professional picture !

Images shared by: Luke

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow...my camera dreams have been answere
By Beach GrammyVerified Reviewer from Grayton Beach Florida on 7/7/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

Opened package and started taking great photos and this was my first "real" camera. The controls are easy to understand and I love being able to see the settings that camera has suggested for my shot. The battery life is amazing...have been taking pictures for over a month and haven't had to recharge. The manual is easy to read and understand. I was able to take closeup shots of baby birds that had just exited their nest...the color and detail I got was wonderful

Images shared by: Beach Grammy

Close up of my baby bird.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
best begginer dslr ever!!!
By 1311Verified Reviewer from canton ohio on 7/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

i take alot of artsy pictures and this camera is perfect for what i do and ritz is the best place to get it from

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
So in love with my D60!!!
By Kim J from Richmond Va on 6/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I just purchased my camera three days ago and absolutely love it! I am new to the slr world so I have done some major research. I was about to get the 300D but it didn't have auto mode so I got a little scared of that one. I had the canon XSI I didn't like that so I took that back and here comes my little D 60 and I am so happy with the results of my photos. It is so easy to use. And with the classes that ritz offers makes it that much easier. Thanks Nikon...

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Top Flight SLR
By JaysonVerified Reviewer from Carlsbad, CA on 6/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I've owned and used several other manufactures cameras. Point and shoot long zoom, but this is my first DSLR. After extensive research prior to making my purchase I cannot be more happy with my Nikon D60. It's simply amazing!!
- Shutter speed
- Ease of use
Hands down this camera is hard to beat.

Images shared by: Jayson

Oceanside Beach

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Size doesnt matter? Absolutely.
By John the cameraman from Cerritos, Ca on 6/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

It's easy to take around for such a complex camera.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Camera!
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Illinois on 6/23/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use controlls, Great shooting modes, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Everything and anything, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I would suggest a 300mm telephoto lense

[3 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not Great
By MomVerified Reviewer from Arlington, VT on 6/22/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

Good Battery life

At ISO 200 shooting RAW, not bad, but noticed serious banding issues at higher ISO's. Also noticed WB issues in some situations. Bought to use as back up at weddings, but after 2 events can't exchange it now.

Would not recommend it or this retailer.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOOOOVE IT!
By ChristineVerified Reviewer from Dallas, Texas on 6/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I'm into children's photography & this camera takes beautiful pictures. It moves quickly (Perfect for me since most children do, also)
It has high resolution, besutiful color, great tricks & it is quiet & very easy to use. Great for fun or professional use.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
D60 Digital SLR Camera w/AF-S DX NIKKOR
By AndreamatrixVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 6/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

My first SLR. Just feels right. Stunning pictures. Great jump into the world of SLR vs. point and shoot.

Images shared by: Andreamatrix

Rainy Morning

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Make a Wish

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it!
By Mrs. CVerified Reviewer from Connecticut on 6/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

Everything you want in the D80 in a more compact size. It's very quick and takes fantastic photos. I am having fun playing with the in camera editing features!

Images shared by: Mrs. C

"Right Time, Right Place"

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice SLR Great Camera for the $$$
By cccVerified Reviewer from Nashua NH on 6/5/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I am very please with this camera, much better than the D40. Buy it you will not be regret it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bang for you Buck!
By appledwVerified Reviewer from augusta, ga on 6/2/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Everything
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

I use this camera for many different places and times of day. It is very good and high quality.

Images shared by: appledw

Car black&white

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A really nice Camera
By vark of westoverVerified Reviewer from westover, west virginia on 5/26/2008
Pros:
High Quality
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
I like it for sports, The way it holds memory
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D60 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Lens:

been using Nikon D 60...not found a fault...

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.