Buy the Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens image
 
(based on 61 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The D80 Digital SLR is an impressively featured, high performance camera that incorporates Nikon's latest digital and photographic technologies, and offers advanced features as well as automated operation to satisfy any photographer with the passion to create beautiful photographs and preserve special moments. With a new 10.2 effective megapixel DX Format CCD image sensor and an exclusive high-resolution color processing engine inherited from Nikon's latest professional digital SLR cameras, the D80 can render images with incredible resolution, sharp detail and vibrant color that is unmatched in this class of cameras. And it can shoot these images fast - at speeds of up to 3 frames per second, for up to 100 consecutive shots (in JPEG Normal mode), ensuring that the camera's always ready for the next fleeting moment. Paired with Nikon's 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens providing an 18-55mm focal length range, the lens can be conveniently used to photograph everything from wide angle landscapes to portraits and is well suited for use at parties, on vacation, and other occasions.
  • 10.2 Megapixel Nikon DX Format CCD Imaging Sensor
  • New High-resolution Nikon image-processing engine
  • Instant 0.18 sec. start-up with fast 80ms shutter response
  • Continuous shooting at up to 3 frames per second and up to 100 consecutive JPEG images
  • Up to 2,700 images per battery charge
  • Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II, plus Variable Center-Weighted and Spot Metering
  • In-Camera Image Retouching
  • Built-in Speedlight with Nikon i-TTL flash metering and two-group Wireless Commander
  • 2.5-inch LCD color monitor with 170 degree wide-angle viewing
  • 11-area AF system with Wide-area Center Segment and Auto-area AF functions
  • Seven Digital Vari-Programs plus Programmed Auto with Flexible Program, Shutter-Priority Auto, Shutter-Priority Auto and Manual
  • Image Optimization Functions
  • Large, bright 0.94x viewfinder
  • Built-in Slideshow function with Pictmotion
The D80 works with the efficiency and grace of a fine-tuned instrument, powering up in only 0.18 seconds and capturing a picture with an imperceptible shutter lag time of just 80 milliseconds (0.08 seconds). A new 11-area auto- focus system detects focus with superb precision and can even track a moving subject across the frame, shifting focus instantly and automatically to any of the 11 auto-focus points that detect the subject. The D80's large, bright 0.94x viewfinder affords a remarkable view not found in many digital SLRs, making critical composition easier and more pleasing. The camera's rechargeable battery can last up to 2700 shots on a single charge, while also providing a real-time Fuel Gauge of the percentage of charge remaining in the battery at all times. And like all Nikon digital SLR cameras, the D80 feels solid and substantial while being both compact and comfortable. But more experienced photo enthusiasts will admire the D80 most for its bevy of creative controls and features that make photography with the camera so much more enjoyable and rewarding. Its new Optimize image menu, for instance, offers complete control over the look and feel of your pictures, allowing you to boost saturation and create pictures with vivid color, or shoot black-and- white pictures with a choice of four filtration effects, or even create your own custom look that expresses personal style and creativity. Other creative tools include an all-new image Retouch menu for in-camera image editing, built-in i-TTL flash control with the ability to control up to two remote groups of Speedlights, as well as over 32 Custom settings to customize several attributes of the camera's performance.

Unrivaled Image Quality - At the heart of any digital camera lies its image processing engine - a sophisticated processor that determines, among other things, the overall color rendering and image quality of pictures taken with the camera. One of the key advances developed for the D80 is Nikon's own high-resolution image processing engine that inherits best-of-breed technologies from Nikon's latest professional digital SLR cameras, including color independent analog pre- conditioning and high-precision 12-bit digital image processing algorithms, which combine to produce natural-looking images that benefit from faithful color and tone reproduction. A new dedicated high-performance processing chip greatly accelerates performance on all levels, while also achieving lower power consumption, assuring more pictures per battery charge.

The D80 also benefits from Nikon's exclusive 3D Color Matrix Metering II, to ensure accurate exposures, even in the most challenging lighting conditions. Evaluating, rather than merely measuring or averaging the true content of each scene, input from the system's frame-wide 420-pixel sensor is automatically referenced against an onboard database of over 30,000 scenes from actual photography to calculate final exposure value. Variable Center- Weighted metering and Spot metering centered on the active focus area are also available, as are exposure compensation and auto exposure bracketing. Sophisticated exposure automation combined with options for complete user control help to make the D80 an ideal high-performance digital SLR for passionate photography enthusiasts.

Speed to Burn - One of the hallmarks of Nikon's digital SLR cameras is how fast they operate, not only when capturing images, but also when processing them. The D80 proudly carries this tradition forward. Not only is the camera powered up and ready to shoot in only 0.18 seconds, it also reacts at blazing speeds when the shutter button is pressed. With a minimal shutter lag time of just 80 milliseconds (0.08 seconds), and the ability to shoot 3 frames per second up to 100 consecutive shots (in JPEG Normal mode), the camera is ready to shoot whenever that priceless expression or special moment presents itself. Images shot are processed instantly and recorded rapidly to the inserted SD memory card. Preview images are also displayed near instantly.

The D80's new 11-area auto-focus system also fulfills its role in the overall speed of the camera, delivering fast and precise focus under varying shooting conditions. Adopting a refined version of Nikon's advanced Multi-CAM 1000 AF Sensor Module, this new 11-area AF system with center area wide-frame operation adds effective new focusing options that will instill greater confidence in getting the desired shot. An all-new Auto-Area AF mode measures all eleven focus areas and automatically determines which of them are on the primary subject.

Creativity Comes Standard - The Nikon D80 is designed to inspire creativity at every level. For this reason, the camera includes a wide assortment of features and tools to empower all kinds of users, ranging from the novice to the seasoned pro, to pursue their creative vision, instantly and right from within the camera.

D80 photographers will enjoy the camera's built-in Multiple Exposure mode for unique composite image effects, or the Optimize menu options that closely tailor results to the scene at hand or the intended use of an image or to a custom preference of the photographer. Optimization of sharpening, tone (contrast), color, saturation and hue is controlled by the user-selected choice of Normal, Softer, Vivid, More Vivid, Portrait, Custom and Black-and- White. The black-and-white mode can be customized using red, green, yellow and orange filter effects as well as image sharpening and tone compensation.

The D80 also features an all-new image Retouch menu, with exclusive in- camera editing functions that will certainly keep D80 users engaged when they're not busy shooting. Options within the Retouch menu include:
- D-Lighting: Automatically balances underexposed portions of an image to enhance detail in these areas, without affecting the highlights of the picture.
- In-camera Red-eye Correction: Automatically removes the annoying red-eye effect sometimes caused by flash.
- Trim: Images can be trimmed within the camera to produce smaller files with reduced display sizes for easy sharing or greater efficiency for specific end purposes.
- Image Overlay: Merges a pair of selected RAW files taken with the D80 to create a composite image within the camera as a RAW or JPEG file. This feature is especially useful when trying to create a soft-focus effect with two similar images.
- Monochrome settings: Monochrome settings can be applied to any color image in the camera, to convert it to a pleasing monochromatic picture, either in black-and-white, sepia or cyanotype.
- Filter Effects: Can be used to emulate and apply the effects of a Skylight filter or a Warming filter to any image stored on the inserted SD card. A Customized Color menu within filter effects can also be used to make subtle shifts in color to any image in the camera.

For anyone just beginning to enjoy the added performance and versatility of digital SLR photography, creative shooting is as simple as rotating the Digital Vari-Program mode dial on the camera. The D80 has seven preconfigured program modes to optimize the camera for specific shooting conditions and greatly increase the chances of taking a great photograph. In Portrait Mode, for example, the camera automatically optimizes the color, hue, and saturation levels to capture the most flattering skin tones, softens the focus of the background images to emphasize the face and applies a milder form of in-camera sharpening. Users can choose from Auto, Portrait, Landscape, Close- Up, Sports, Night Landscape or Night Portrait.

The D80 also offers creative ways to share pictures, with its built-in Pictmotion slideshow feature, which includes style selections that control transitions and background music. Shows can be enjoyed on the 2.5-inch LCD, or complete with audio on a television when connected via the supplied AV cable.

Creature Comfort - The D80 features refined ergonomics and design, borne from Nikon's extensive experience designing successful SLR cameras for over 50 years. As a result, the camera is incredibly comfortable to use and handle, and incorporates several new features that enhance its usability. The D80 features a large and bright viewfinder with large 0.94x magnification to ensure the clearest view possible for precise composition. Included is a built-in diopter adjustment control knob that also makes it easier to fine- tune the view to match eyesight. The viewfinder's integrated grid display can also be turned on to assist with composition.

A large new 2.5-inch 230,000-dot high-resolution LCD provides an ultra- wide 170-degree viewing angle from all directions. Navigating the spacious preview of your images is easy with a new dedicated Zoom button, magnifying images on screen up to 25 times their original size. A new RGB histogram display aids in evaluating exposures with greater precision. Other playback options include single frame, 4 or 9-image thumbnail display, an improved histogram display and highlight point display. A new menu interface featuring refinements to the carefully chosen color scheme and increased font size makes navigation easier on the eye, easier to understand and easier to use. Menus can be customized to display only selected items using the new My Menu set.

The D80 is slimmer and more compact than its predecessors, and remains true to Nikon's commitment to intuitive operation. The size, layout and operation of all buttons and controls are designed for maximum ease of use.

System Strength - With the D80, users also have complete and seamless compatibility with Nikon's extensive Total Digital Imaging System, and the camera is designed to take advantage of many of the technologies built into Nikon accessories. The D80's powerful built-in Speedlight is compatible with Nikon's Creative Lighting System, and can wirelessly control up to two groups of Speedlights in full TTL mode, taking the guesswork out of multiple flash photography. Compatible Speedlights within the Creative Lighting System include the SB-800, SB-600 and Nikon's Wireless Close-up Speedlight Systems, featuring the SB- R200.

The D80 also offers unprecedented compatibility with Nikon's extensive selection of AF Nikkor lenses as well as new DX Nikkor lenses, which are designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX format digital SLR cameras. Nikkor lenses, famous for optical superiority, add to the D80's ability to deliver outstanding images.

The D80 will also have an optional MB-D80 battery pack available, extending the shooting capability in an ergonomic design that adds shooting stability. Able to run on either one or two EN-EL3e rechargeable batteries or six AA-size batteries, the pack also features an additional command dial and alternative buttons for shutter release and AE-Lock/AF-Lock that make vertical shooting more comfortable.

The D80 is also fully compatible with Capture NX software (available for purchase separately), Nikon's highly versatile and elegantly simple new photo editing solution designed to help photographers tap the full potential of NEF (RAW) images. Featuring an innovative user interface that provides easier access to powerful and visually intuitive enhancement tools, Capture NX's powerful photo image processing and editing tools can also be applied to JPEG and TIFF files to satisfy a broader range of photofinishing needs and applications.

Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX VR Lens

Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens

  • Compact 3x zoom lens covering the most frequently used focal range of 18 to 55mm
  • Vibration Reduction minimizes image blur caused by camera shake, enabling sharper pictures hand-held at shutter speeds up to three stops slower than would otherwise be possible
  • Optical design, optimized for use with Nikon digital SLRs for superior performance
  • Hybrid aspherical lens element minimizes various types of lens aberration
  • High-performance Nikon Super Integrated Coating offers superior color reproduction, while substantially reducing ghosting and flare
  • Nikon's exclusive Silent Wave Motor ensures fast, quiet autofocus operation
  • Rounded seven-blade diaphragm opening makes out-of-focus elements appear more natural
  • Close focusing distance to 0.9 feet (0.28 meters) throughout the entire zoom range
  • Separate zoom and focusing rings ensure responsive operation

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 61 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(39), Excellent in low light(5), Fast shutter speed(28), Good battery life(6), Great picture quality(30)
Cons:
Heavy(6), Loud(3)
Best Uses:
Art(24), Documentary(8), Fun(48), Home(5), Landscape/scenery(21)
Describe Yourself:
Beginner(3), Casual photographer(9), Enthusiast(14), Photo enthusiast(23), Semi-pro photographer(5)
 
great
By NYTVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 1/26/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great hot shoe, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Long battery, Size, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape, Photojournalism, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

the NewYork Times got it for me last week and I love it.

 
great
By starzVerified Reviewer from new york ny on 1/26/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Compact, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Nothing
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I got this camera last week and Ilove it!

 
Great buy!
By JohnVerified Purchaser from Ohio State on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Awesome combination! I bought this camera for my digital photography class at Ohio State and am very pleased with how it has performed.

Images shared by: John

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Top notch 10mp DSLR with a good lens
By DennisVerified Purchaser from Maumee, Oh on 1/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Cons:
Little loud over 800 ISO
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Great DSLR! Once you get past the learning curve, NOT a sharp one, you can take some great shots! This body feels good in your hands, has smartly located controls, and top notch features built in. The lens is a good starter lens. Your not going to super close up macro with it, and your not going to zoom in to the other end of the football field. Nikon makes top notch glass and there is nothing wrong with this lens. As long as you use it in the range its made for.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera for all levels
By AndrewVerified Reviewer from Chattanooga, TN on 1/15/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I have had this camera for about 4 months now and can say that I have had no issues with it at all. As someone who takes a lot of pictures I would say that this camera is easy to learn and comfortable to navigate. The VR lens included takes great pictures as well.

 
Great starter DSLR
By DrPhilVerified Purchaser from Fargo, ND on 1/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

The D80 is a great starter camera. Spend the extra and get this one over the D40 or D60. I would also go for the upgrade to the 18-135 mm lens, rather than the standard 18-55 mm.

 
Awesome Camera!
By E.L.Verified Reviewer from Southern, NH on 1/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I use this camera for taking pictures of nature and the pets. it is a way better investment over the d60 because you dont have the autofocus problem and that could be annoying when picking out lenses such as the 50mm 1.8. The colors are full and captivating.

 
Love this camera
By shaynad103Verified Purchaser from Summersville, WV on 1/13/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I have an 18 month old daughter and this camera is great. I just wish I would have had it a lot sooner for all the baby pics. I would recommend this camera to anybody. I do want to get a bigger zoom lens in time but the 18-55 does good for now. I take at least 20 pics a day and have had the camera for a couple of months and still have not had to recharge the battery.

 
Purchased on 01/02/2009
By tekbandit66Verified Reviewer from Minneapolis, MN on 1/12/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

It was a new year impulse buy when I saw the price at [$] when I saw it online. I walked over to the closest [...] store and double checked the price with the clerk. When he said the same price, I said I'll take it. I think he was in shock cause he asked if I wanted to look at it and I replied with no, I want it. Needless to say, I've been taking pictures as often as I can now and am planning on picking up a 2nd lens, the Nikkor VR 55-300mm lens and with the really great service and knowledgeable staff, I'm planning on going back to that store and purchase it there.So far, I've been very impressed with the pictures this camera takes. I hope to also pick up a D90 or the D300 and keep the D80 as a backup.

Images shared by: tekbandit66

AT&T Tower in Downtown Minneapolis

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Nikon, Downtown, D80, Made with Product, Minneapolis, ATT Tower

 
Great value
By davidVerified Purchaser from Beech Island, SC on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fun, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

all the action you will need.

 
Love This Lens!
By Mary`Verified Purchaser from Fairfax Station, VA on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I like the fact that it is amazingly simple to use! It is easily adaptable to a wide range of situations, and makes great pictures. The autofocus is a wonderful feature for me because I'm now able to capture action shots like I've never been able to get before.

 
I love this camera!
By hurry up hollyVerified Purchaser from Elkland, PA on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I have been using the Nikon D50 for a couple of years and I really liked it, but now that I have the D80....wow! It does so much more and the image quality is way better! I am still learning my way around the D80. I am doing a wedding at the end of the month and can not wait to experiment with all the different features it has.
I just love the in camera editing features and the ability to be creative in choosing for different lighting situations or to shoot in black and white.

Images shared by: hurry up holly

Experimenting with black and white

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Awsome
By StanleyVerified Purchaser from Alabama on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
SD card not included
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I use it for fast action shots and they come out perfect.

 
Great Equipment, Great Deal
By KevinVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 1/1/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I spent several months researching dSLRs before purchasing the D80 from RitzCamera.com. I could not be happier with my decision. The camera is everything I could ever want from an SLR. It has an incredible "in-the-hand" feel thanks to a rubberized body, it takes incredible photographs, and its capabilities are just what I need, no more, no less. Also, the compatibility with my older Nikkor type D lenses is a major plus. It starts up and captures images very quickly. Coupled with the 18-55mm VR Nikkor lens, this makes for an awesome kit. The lens takes incredible pictures under low-light or small aperture conditions. I performed side-by-side comparisons with my old type D lens of the same focal lengths and was amazed by the results. Pictures that I expected to be blurry based on my 35mm SLR experience came out clean and sharp. Although this camera is larger and heavier than my 35mm SLR, it feels great to hold and use. I still get lost in all the menus and sub-menus, but as I learn to navigate around, all the depth and customization should come in handy. I'm a little disappointed that my SB-50DX speedlight isn't fully compatible with the D80, but I can still use it manually.

 
Excellent deal
By GeneVerified Purchaser from Alliance, Nebraska on 12/31/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

The price was very reasonable and this combination is versatile enough to accomplish most any photo challenge. I will be adding a longer lens in the near future for wildlife photography. Very fast image capture and great resolution.

 
Best price ever
By DonmanVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 12/31/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I have a D40 and decided to get one for my daughter for Christmas. Came across the D80 package(body and two lenses) for barely more than what it cost for the same D40 package and went with it. Yes, I am jealous. The D80 is better in my hand and the key controls are at your fingertips instead of going into the menus. This camera will cover her needs into college. Highly recommended. Only gave 4 stars since it is not for me.

 
Great Camera
By RotilvrVerified Purchaser from Hinsdale, MA on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I'm still learning where all the buttons are. The camera takes great pictures in Auto mode and you have the flexibility to use the manual settings. I love it.

 
Excellent camera, I would recommend!
By Nort 1957Verified Purchaser from Toledo, OH on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Perfect camera. Enough megapixels for just about anything you shoot. I was concidering the D90 but did not need the video. Everything else is almost exactly the same. Excellent for everyone because it is so easy to use. If you don't need the video on the D90, this is the best choice.

 
Perfect for Anyone
By Nort 1957Verified Purchaser from Toledo,OH on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Excellent camera for anyone. It is very easy to use. Most of the features are the same as the D90 except for the video and slightly higher megapixel count. If you don't need the video, I would recommend the D80.

 
Great Camera - would purchase again
By Scrapper KJVerified Purchaser from Mountain City, TN on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

This camera lives up to my expectations. It's a big heavy compared to the Nikon Coolpix 5000 that I am accustomed to, but it's worth the difference. Easy to use, and I haven't taken a bad photo yet. Not familiar with all of the settings yet but I am learning and experimenting. Love the quick shutter speed and reaction time. Would highly recommend!

 
D80 DSLR Camera is awesome
By CPVerified Reviewer from Texas on 12/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I just got the D80 DSLR for Christmas. This is my first real SLR camera. It's easy to use and takes fantastic photos. Impressive so far......

 
Awesome camera
By HiltiguyVerified Reviewer from Gulfport,MS on 12/20/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I love this camera, I'm still learning new things about this camera and it still amazes me everytime I take new photos. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to start out with a good DSL camera.

 
Awesome Camera!
By WeibVerified Reviewer from Lindale, TX on 12/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I love this camera, I would buy it again for sure! It is solid, and performs very well in low light for the price.

 
Great Buy!!
By ASH44Verified Purchaser from NJ on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

This is as per my opinion the best DSLR camera for the money. I had thought of buying D40 for sometimes but after hours and hours of research and discussion on forums, I finally thought I will go with D80.Let me tell you that I have absolutele no qualms and am thrilled with my purchase.The picture quality is stunning .The body is light, not Too heavy..perfect for me.The battery life is also exceptional. No cons so far..overall an excellent purchase!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Still a great camera!
By VicVerified Reviewer from Somewhere in Iraq on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I am deployed and I use this camera while running around Iraq. It takes wonderful pictures and has endured so far in this environment. I now see why our CombatCam guys use Nikons. I use it witht he great kit lense from my D60. I would definitely buy this or any other Nikon again.

Images shared by: Vic

Clouds on fire.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
[...]
By sedulousVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Actually I didn't use it after I bought it, because I return it and want to wait up to D90. But D80 is a good choice and my friend has one which is producing good pics. I would recommend a different lens with d80. [...]

 
great package!!
By HVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Macro Photography, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

best package! takes great pictures! colors are vividly real!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great first SLR
By MissyVerified Reviewer from Draper, Utah on 12/14/2008
Pros:
All around great, Bright LCD, Can't say enough good, Comfortable Controls, Great Image Quality, Quiet
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

There is a learning curve only because I am very new to SLR's. This camera on auto mode does an excellent job and I am excited to learn all the buttons and whistles it comes with. I get compliments on the pics I have taken. It is a very exciting camera!

Images shared by: Missy

Close up shots

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

And far away!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
pro like pictures!!
By jonhjohnVerified Purchaser from sacramento,ca on 12/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Out performs all others, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

the D80 lets you take pictures like a pro with out the big budget... i simply love this camera

 
great camea and lens
By jack flashVerified Purchaser from pittsgrove nj on 12/9/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

i bought this camera mainly to get great photos of my 18 month old granddaughter.the camera did not disappoint even the first time i used it to take pictures of her.infact the pictures were the best i ever got of her and it was just the first time using the camera on a baby.I cannot wait to get shots of nature since we live in a wooded setting.

[0 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's close to perfection
By BurnVerified Reviewer from Danville, VA on 12/4/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Easy to use controlls, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Needs a feaure for poor l, Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Fun, I like all the features, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I have not purchased this product but, I have been looking for the best type for me. Maybe this one will be my christmas present because of the features.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Good Product
By MikeVerified Purchaser from Raleigh, NC on 11/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Lightweight, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not a low light lens
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

The 18-55 mm lens is an excellent product for the money. Wish it would go down to 2.0 or 1.5 for low-light shooting. That's a lot to expect, but it is a wish item.

 
Great first digital camera
By LindyVerified Reviewer from Round Rock, TX on 11/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great for beginner, Image Stabilization, Lightweight, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

This is my first time using a digital camera. I got this one because of the short lag time, the bright LCD screen and the BEAUTIFUL quality. I am a novice, yet while in auto I feel like a real photographer. I could not be any happier. I can't wait to learn how to use my camera fully. I would highly recommend this to any beginner photographer.

 
Simply Amazing!!!!!
By Jennifer Sue from Selma, NC on 11/24/2008
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I bought my camera about a year ago and I still love it. I don't go many places without my camera and lenses. This is my first SLR and I am still learning how to use the different settings but it amazes me a little more everytime I learn something new. My friends and family have always loved my pictures but they love them even more now!!!! I am trying to go to school for photography and I know this camera is going to keep amazing me. It is very user friendly and I love that the old and new Nikon lenses will work with this camera. I can't wait to see what kind of pictures I can take in Hawaii in April of 2009.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Deal
By rjVerified Purchaser from SF, Ca on 11/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

This is a great camera for those who are just starting to use DSLRs, exceeded my expectations.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT VALUE, GREAT CAMERA!
By CliffVerified Reviewer from Suburban Chicago, IL on 10/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Long battery life, Strong Construction
Cons:
no live view, No video mode
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I bought this camera with the 18-55mm lens kit a little over a month ago and am very happy with the purchase. Although the new D90 was announced when I bought the D80, I found the D80 to be a real bargain. After weighing the pros and cons, I realized I didn't need the video mode nor did I need the live view (I used live view primarily when I shot with my point and shoot Canon S3-IS). I chose the D80 over the comparable Canon XSi because of the second LCD display on the top of the camera and also because the XSi felt too light. The camera has a great "feel" to it- it is well balanced, and the controls are well thought out and well placed. I am a converted point and shoot user learning how to better compose better photos. The Nikon D80 is a great camera for someone like myself and for the semi-pro or pro Nikon user who needs a solid, back-up camera and already has existing Nikon lenses.

 
Best Camera ever!!!
By Soccer MomVerified Reviewer from Wauchula, Fl on 10/3/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Love it! It's so easy to use. The reaction time is great so I never miss that perfect moment.

Images shared by: Soccer Mom

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a great camera
By mlazoreVerified Reviewer from Akwesasne NY on 10/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Nikon makes great camera's a friend has one and i checked it out and i liked it. The camera takes very good pictures and very clear. Sometimes i wish i had one

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera
By Travis from Utah on 9/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

This is my first DSLR and I absolutely love it. Controls are intuitive and easy to reach. Camera has plenty of capability for me to grow into.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
just love it
By ccbVerified Purchaser from chicago il on 9/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

it is a great product
what more can i say i just love it

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera
By windygap2Verified Reviewer from roanoke,va on 9/6/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Good Battery Life, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Bought about about 2 months ago wish I would of held off and bought the D90.I love this camera but the D90 has a few more bells and whisles

 
Beautiful Pictures
By T-ManVerified Purchaser from Ocala, Fl. on 8/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Many complicated features
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Novice looks Pro picture, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Switching from 35mm slr to digital was a breeze. Although still learning the many other features, the auto mode will make any novice look like a professional.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera, great design.
By Dixiecup51Verified Purchaser from Mount Vernon, Ohio on 8/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I have developed a passion for night time and low light photos. I am impressed each time I take it out and the results I get. Camera is also used for other general photography. Old Nikon lens are used on camera and work great, one reason with sticking with Nikon.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera w/ professional features.
By KatherineVerified Reviewer from Illinois on 8/22/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

This camera takes very clear and crisp pictures. Well worth the extra money over the D40 or D60.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great camera
By Jim the digitalVerified Reviewer from Baton Rouge, LA on 8/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I bought the D80 as my first step into the digital camera world. I previously used Leica film cameras, but I became more and more interested in digital photography. I am amazed with the D80. It is a great camera and easy to use. I got the kit with the 18-135mm lens. The pictures are great and I think I made a good choice with the D80 and would recommmend it to photographers at all levels.

Images shared by: Jim the digital

Mobile Bay

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon ALWAYS the BEST!
By RonVerified Reviewer from Colorado Springs, CO on 8/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I moved up from a N80 (35MM) and the controls and operation of the D80 help me get up to speed in a flash. (No pun intended LOL) And the real plus is that all my Nikon AF G or D lens work on this body also..

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love it Nikon is the best
By ScottVerified Reviewer from Roanoke,Va on 7/23/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Long battery life, Quick start up, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

[...]

Images shared by: Scott

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfection
By Maj Brig from Riverside, CA on 7/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

These two items together make an excellent pair. Nikon never disappoints. They always deliver a solid product.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera
By Bigguy from Lumberton, NJ on 7/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, WOW
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I had a Pentax K100D and was looking to upgrade to a better camera. I liked the new K20D but did not like the fact that there was no way to control the noise in the shots! So I looked around and check around with the help of my friends and chose the D80. So far I like the pictures that it takes plus it has in the menu a way to control noise!!!!!! I also like the little things like a bag for your lens to protect it and other features that the camera has. I love Pentax but for the money the D80 is a good choice!!!
I can not wait to become at ease with it.(the learning of the controls). But if you are looking to upgrade from a 6 to a 10 mega pixel camera. I would go with the D80 and if you and afford the D200 or 300 go for it!!!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Dream come true!
By Melissa.....new momVerified Reviewer from Tallahassee, Fl on 7/7/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Clarity, Comfortable Controls, Comfortable in the hand, Easy to use and learn, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I have a one year old who always makes a great shot, this camera makes sure I never miss it. I love the clarity and ease of use. All the functions are so convenient. I had been wanting an SLR for so long but was afraid of how complicated it might be, I am so happy I bought the D80, it is so easy to use and navigate.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love This Camera!!!!!
By kjm72Verified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 7/3/2008
Pros:
Clarity, Easy to use and learn, Excellent color, Excellent image quality
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Hobby, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I am in love with this camera! It is definitely the best in it's class. I have tried every digital SLR in this entry level, affordable class, and have found the D80 to be the best!! I upgraded from the D40x, and my next stop will be the D300. But, the D80 will be just fine until my next upgrade!!! Trust me, I have tried every other camera there is (again, in this class...even the new Canon Rebel Xsi) and this one is unbeatable. Also, I ordered mine here and will be ordering more from this site very soon!!! Thanks Wolf and Nikon!!

Images shared by: kjm72

Flower using 18-55 VR kit lens. Unaltered.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Unaltered, Using 18-55 VR kit lens.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love my D80
By 3R from Houston, Texas on 6/21/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I just got my D80 yesterday (06/20/08) and I used it the next day to take pictures at a karate training class and belt test. The camera was easy to use and it help me take some great shots. The only thing I would do different is I would have gotten the 70-300 mm len instead of the 55-200mm len.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super Sweet, Must Buy.
By jedwa19Verified Reviewer from Baton Rouge, LA on 6/9/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I'm a student in landscape architecture and I mainly use the camera to document sites and use the high quality images to create photoshop renderings for different projects. I had been using a Nikon D40x and then went to the D80, I must say I am extremely happy and would recommend this camera to anyone that truly loves taking photos.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Use it for Pro Work
By Rob the Shutterbug from Richmond, VA on 6/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quick autofocus, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Great for portrait work. Very versitile camera. You can use this on AUTO and get some great results for personal use or bump it up and create great portraits for clients.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent for newbie or pro
By Photography StudentVerified Reviewer from Virginia Beach, VA on 6/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

Good sized screen, Easy to Use, Great Resolution, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Nice Features and Settings

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome
By Mother from Sacramento, ca on 5/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I purchased the camera because I wanted to take pictures of my newborn daughter. I find is easy to use and takes fast pictures so I don't miss anything. I recommended it to everyone.

[12 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Proven the best
By BioDad from Ventura, CA on 5/15/2008
Pros:
Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

As a professional wildlife biologist I have used the D80 for over one year and now I feel that I can give an honest review. This camera continues to amaze me with the quality of the pictures under even the most extreme conditions. I have used the D80 in almost all possible circumstances and have had absolutely no problems.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
great camera
By william from new orleans on 5/13/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

excellent choice. cannot go wrong with it.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
one of the best in it's class
By Fabula Dico from Mpls., MN on 5/13/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Low learning curve, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Home, Macro, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

This is a great semi pro DSLR. It takes great photos without an enormous price. The 18-55 MM lens is good for some applications but it would be a good idea to expand your lens collection as you become more experienced.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best camera !
By MarineWife07 from Ct on 5/12/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I really reviewed the heck outta this camera before I spent the money. After six months of reading every possible review on amateur to pro sites, I knew this was the one for me. I love this camera. There isn't anything I don't like about it, and I haven't come across anything I can't do! And it is definitely way better than the Canon Rebel XT as several of my friends got it and now wish they had bought the Nikon d80! From basic to pro this camera can do it all and just gives you wonderful pictures again and again!!!

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love it!!
By Megan the Cool KidVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 5/11/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Screen too small
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D80 DSLR Camera w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX Nikkor VR Lens:

I am an aspiring photographer and this camera works magic!!

Images shared by: Megan the Cool Kid

I didn't think such a unusual animal was so pretty

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

My works of art

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.