Buy the Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G) image
 
(based on 53 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Two-Lens Nikon DSLR Outfit!
Includes: Nikon D40 DSLR Camera, AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm and AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor VR 55-200mm Lenses PLUS - Two Bonus Nikon Instructional DVDS -->

Nikon D40 DSLR Camera Body

If you've ever wondered why your vacation pictures don't look as good as those magnificent landscapes and flattering portraits seen in countless glossy magazines, chances are you just haven't found the right camera.

Nikon introduces the new D40 digital SLR camera that's designed to offer you the ability to get higher quality, impressive looking pictures with the press of a button. In a world where digital SLR cameras have become extremely popular among professional photographers, have you have shied away in favor of a compact digital camera? For you, Nikon's D40 is an ultra-compact, lightweight, 6.1-effective megapixel digital SLR camera with simplified new features, exceptional handling speed, and a redesigned, visually-intuitive menu system that brings digital SLR cameras to a whole new level of simplicity.

Less Complication, More Celebration
Isn't it time you switched from simple snapshots to great pictures? If so, then get to know the fun, easy-to-use Nikon D40. Now you can capture spectacular pictures using the type of digital and optical technologies that professionals use, but without the complications and calculations that SLR photography once required. Let Nikon's cutting-edge technology do all the work for you. Just look through the viewfinder and press a button for wonderful pictures you'll be proud of. It's never been easier to capture the moments of your life so beautifully, and that is certainly worth celebrating.

Less Science Fiction, More Magic
It's never been easier to take amazing pictures. Great pictures have never been easier Great pictures used to require complicated and cumbersome equipment along with years of experience. Not any more. The D40 is compact, lightweight and designed specifically for ease of use, yet contains all the top quality, high-performance technologies that you expect from a Nikon digital SLR. And with world-famous Nikkor lenses, you know you have the sharpest and most reliable optical performance available. All in a camera light enough to carry with you everywhere. Beautiful photography has never been easier.

Less Waiting, More Wonder
Speed and accuracy to act on the moment

A fraction of a second can last forever Some of life's most powerful moments are also the shortest: your daughter after her first ballet lesson; your son as he scores the winning goal; your dog catching that first Frisbee. Did you capture the decisive moment? Missing it can be frustrating, but with the D40 those days are over. Just turn it on for a near-instant response (0.18 seconds) and a fast, razor-sharp autofocus. Shoot and voila! Your special moments are saved perfectly.

Less Night, More Light
Let Nikon flash technology illuminate your images

Simply brilliant: Nikon flash technology Light is essential to great pictures. That's why the D40 comes with Nikon's unmatched flash technology. Forget about washed-out, unnatural color. The D40 provides the right light ? even in low-light or backlit situations. Just use Auto mode and Nikon will do the calculations for you. The result: subtle, superb images. For more sophisticated flash photography, try Nikon's external Speedlights. When combined with the D40, the advanced Creative Lighting System turns the darkest situations into dazzling photo opportunities.

Extraordinary Nikon Image Quality - The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1 megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Easy Operation with Intuitive Controls - Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Nikon's Smallest Digital SLR Ever! - At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Fast Startup with Instant Shutter Response - Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Includes 3x 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor Lens - Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second - The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options - Playback images are easy to see, and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: Classic, Graphic and Wallpaper.

High-performance 6.1megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor - Nikon's DX format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

In-Camera Image Editing - Highly versatile in-camera editing features include Nikon D-Lighting, Red-Eye Correction, Image Trimming, Image Overlay, Monochrome (Black and White, Sepia and Cyanotype) along with Skylight, Warm Tone and Color Balance filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

New advanced HELP menu system with Assist Images - The D40's newly introduced assist images help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced HELP Menu for the current item selected. The D40's Question Mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item; just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Fast, accurate 3-Area Autofocus - The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise autofocus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Image Optimization Options - The Nikon D40's Image Optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: Normal, Softer, Vivid, More Vivid, Portrait, Custom and Black and White, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control - Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready and brings beautiful exposures in darkened conditions as well as adding sparkle for fill flash in outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder - A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. Its bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Automatic exposure with 8 Digital-Vari Program Modes - Eight Digital Vari-Program Modes include: Auto Flash-OFF, Portrait, Landscape, Child, Sports, Close Up or Night Portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II - The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an on board database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes

Nikon 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Zoom Nikkor Lens
The new AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED is a versatile zoom lens created for a broad range of consumers ranging from occasional weekend snap-shooters to the avid photo enthusiast. It is an ultra-compact, lightweight standard zoom lens with a 3x zoom range that is ideal for everyday photography. With a popular 18-55mm focal length range, the lens can be conveniently used to photograph everything from wide angle landscapes to portraits and is well suited for use at parties, on vacation, and other occasions.

  • Ideal as a normal lens designed exclusively for Nikon DX format SLRs, this ultra-compact 18-55mm* 3X zoom provides superb versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.
    * For comparative purposes only, the practical picture angle of an 18-55mm lens on a Nikon DX format digital SLR will provide a picture angle equivalent to that produced by a 27-82.5mm lens on a 35mm format camera.
  • New compact rod-type Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-high speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and super-quiet operation.
  • ED glass element achieves minimized chromatic aberration and superior optical performance.
  • Hybrid aspherical element ensures high resolution and contrast.
  • Nikon Super Integrated Coating minimizes ghosting and flare to provide even higher contrast and more vivid mages, even in challenging light conditions.
  • Focus Mode switch enables quick-switching between A (Autofocus) and M (Manual Focus).
  • 7-blade rounded diaphragm for more natural out-of-focus highlights.

Nikon 55-200 mm F/4 5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor Lens w/ Vibration Reduction
    Vibration Reduction: Nikon's VR (Vibration Reduction reduces the effects of camera shake, allowing hand-held shooting at up to 3 shutter speeds slower than would otherwise be possible, for dramatically sharper images.
  • Ed Glass Element: An ED ( Extra-low Dispersion) Glass element minimized chromatic aberration, contributing to superior optical performance.
  • Silent Wave Motor for Fast Quite AF: New compact rod-type Silent wave Motor ( SWM enables ultra-high speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and super-quiet operation.
  • Focus Mode Switch: Enables quick-switching between A (Autofocus) and M (Manual Focus)
  • 9-Blace Rounded Diaphragm: Provides more natural out-of-focus highlights

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 53 reviews)
92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(46), Excellent in low light(4), Fast shutter speed(34), Good battery life(7), Great picture quality(35)
Cons:
LCD fragile/scratches(3), Poor in low light(4)
Best Uses:
Art(19), Fun(40), Home(8), Landscape/scenery(29), Office(4)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(14), Casual user(3), Enthusiast(5), Photo enthusiast(20), Semi-professional(3)
 
Great camera!!
By BrandiVerified Reviewer from Louisiana on 10/20/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I use this to take pictures of all types. Of course I am not a professional, but this camera makes it look like I am!!

Images shared by: Brandi

This is straight from the camera

Image Thumbnail

This one is edited

Image Thumbnail
 
Close up stills and action shots .
By snowboarderdude from Virginia on 10/6/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I needed a simple camera to take kiteboarding action shots and family vacation photos.This thing is great!!

 
Excellent Camera
By Yipper86Verified Purchaser from Flagstaff, AZ on 9/14/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

Super light camera. Beautiful quality photos. Durable camera. Perfect for nearly every occasion. Lots a camera for good price. Great for all skill levels.

 
Love this camera
By Noble Photo from Mansfield, TX on 9/8/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I take this camera everywhere. The image quality is great.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I've done a lot of comparing
By S.ThomasVerified Reviewer from Houston TX on 8/5/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

Everything seems to be great.

 
D40 Great Camera that is easy to use
By Pam the X-Country Mom from Clatskanie OR on 7/7/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

My son is a X-Country runner and I needed a fast camera that could "capture the momment". I ended up being the team mom and almost no other parents brought their cameras after seing the photos I took. I also ended up doing the end of season slide show/video that ROCKED with the the software that came with it. There was no learning curve with it, you just get great shots, every time. My nepher worked for [...] at Janzen Beach and he recommended it to me and I bought it. Thank you Joe B.

Images shared by: Pam the X-Country Mom

Portland to Coast

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great and Easy
By JenelleVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 5/28/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not one thing
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

The Camera is great!! It's everything that i have ever wanted in a digital SLR. Nikon has always been a great company and they most definatly did not fail with this product. The camera is very fast and easy to use if you do not know how to use SLR's. The product is good for any event or enivorment. I love the fact that if you are uncertain about somthing on the screen you can use the convient question mark and it gives you a brief explaination about it. I have no complaints about this product because i absolutely loved it!!

 
great lens for senic photos
By danieVerified Purchaser from hercules, ca on 5/26/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

this is a great lens for photos from far back, like at a graduation or wedding. this is a great lens.

 
[...] very satisfied
By TopmedicVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 5/20/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Cons:
Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

The d40 was as advertised and I am very satisfied. I can't ask for any more features for a casual photographer. [...]

 
The GODs have demanded the NIKON D40!!!!
By WonderVerified Purchaser from Santa Ana, Ca on 5/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not one thing
Best Uses:
Art, Great all around cam, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

great kit for the price. Comes with everythign you need. The kit lens is good for close and wide for shots. while the 55-200mm is perfect for outdoor travels. Dont waste your money on the 18-200mm. This kit also come w/2 DVDs and a bag which is worth over [$] alone

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera
By softballmomVerified Purchaser from Ohio on 5/14/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

This is a great camera. I have to very active kids seems we are a sporting events all the time.This camera is very good at stopping action and bringing the action up close. With two lenses this is a camera that will be used all the time in our house.(even the teenagers like taking pictures with it.)

 
Best camera for the price
By TopMedic from Chicago IL on 5/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I just got my D40 and I am very satisfied with it. I use it mostly for family photos. I will recommend this to everyone for their first real true SLR camera.

 
Good Starter Camera
By photofun from saginaw, mi on 5/4/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Cheap Feel, Slow Focus, Too light
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

This is good camera for a beginner. It's too light for me, but maybe good for someone just starting out or who just wants a better snap shot than a compact digital. It's decent for snap shots or just playing around, but I would not recommend it for someone who is serious about photography.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great deal
By Trailing ArbutusVerified Purchaser from Great Barrington, MA on 4/21/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

Love the feel of the camera and ease of use. Pictures have been great. I take a lot of close up pictures of flowers for lectures and newspaper column. The pictures are as good as with my old Nikon F and 55mm macro. Only problem is that my nose rubs against the LCD monitor when I use the view finder, leaving skin oil on monitor. Maybe I need a nose job.

 
Simply an Awesome Camera
By Robert S.Verified Reviewer from Olathe, KS on 4/9/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

What a fantastic camera. It feels like I've been taking pictures none stop ever since I received my Nikon D40 camera.

Images shared by: Robert S.

Hot air balloon

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

My attempt at capturing the moon

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Best bang for the buck
By Moose LoverVerified Purchaser from Superior, WY on 4/6/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

This camera is an out of the box, point and shoot. Very easy to use and takes remarkable pictures. I will recommend this to everyone.

 
Feel like a professional
By Kenken momVerified Purchaser from Ga on 3/30/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I just recently bought this product and so far I love it. If you dont have it "GET It"

 
My first DSLR and I LOVE IT!!!
By Boy Scout 507Verified Purchaser from Sand Springs, OK on 3/27/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I am a true photography novice. As such I have enrolled in a digital photography class. After the first class I am taking pictures manually focusing, setting aperture size and adjusting shutter all speed. And it is easy to do. Now maybe my pictures will be good instead of just so-so.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not what I expected!!!
By Dermako from Ft. Worth, TX on 3/26/2009
Cons:
Loud, Slow Focus, Toy like feel, Very entry level DSLR
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Travel, Underwater
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

[...]I went ahead and ordered the D40 two lens kit from Ritz and all went smoothly. The camera arrived and I eagerly unpacked the box, charged the battery and attached the 18-55mm lens. First impressions were not very good. The camera is light, as are the lens, cheapishly so. The camera had a toyish feel and the 18-55mm lens felt grainy working the zoom in and out. Even so, I am quick to start shooting at everything in sight to test it out. The auto-focus seemed a touch slow and it was. Picture quality was marginal with only about 5 of 100 or so being keepers because of out of focus conditions. Continuous shooting was reasonable to about 5 frames and then it acted like a buffer problem, hesitating and taking off again, but there was no focus to these pictures if anything was moving at all. I suspect a defective lens, but could not really get over the toy like feel of the camera. In all honesty I never even unpacked the 55-200mm VR lens to even try it out. I kept the camera for 2 days before I called to inquire about returning it. To Ritz's credit, everything arrived quickly, undamaged, as advertised and had a hassle free return process.My next thought was the Nikon D90, but this time I was going to drive one before I bought one or I was not going to buy one, period. I went to a local camera shop (Arlington Camera) and this was the place to be. Every camera and lens one could imagine, in one place, no 5 pound security gizmos, people who know what they are talking about and act like they care to match you with the camera you both want and need. It did not take me long to find out the Nikon D series are all plastic and pretty much feel the same in hand. I tried several other brands and found my match and what I thought was a fantastic deal. The Canon EOS 40D with a 17-85mm EFS lens. This setup was perfect for my uses and with the fit, feel and finish of a quality camera. Best of all, this setup is package priced in a kit for [$]. In my opinion, the Nikon D series does not even come close to the Canon EOS line in terms of quality. The optics of the EFS lens shoot miraculously better photographs effortlessly. [...].My suggestion is to go to a “true” local camera shop, hold, feel and drive everything in sight and find what fits you and your needs.

 
Auto focus feature fails
By FMW from Salt Lake, Utah on 3/20/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

The kit came with two lenses. The larger zoom lens auto focus feature failed right after the warranty ended so now it has to be used on manual focus.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic camera, great deal
By KathyVerified Purchaser from Alabama on 3/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I love everything about this camera! Captured great action shots at a recent pro tennis tournament with very little effort. Portraits are nice, too. Very easy to use with great results. Even the zoom shots were crisp and clear.

 
Wonderful package at a great price!!
By Toms wifeVerified Purchaser from Mid Michigan on 3/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I waited a very long time to own a SLR camera and I did a lot of research before I bought my camera. I am very pleased with my purchase. I really like the option of the 2 lenses and the gadget bag. Both lenses fit in the bag as well as well as all the extras. Very pleased with the price.

 
Package
By LanieVerified Purchaser from Mesquite, TX on 3/9/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I love this package deal!

 
just plain good,
By jewelryyesVerified Purchaser from duncan sc. on 3/5/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
LCD could be a little bri
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

i use this in my own bussness. shooting jewelry.
the 18/55 . on manual focus is all i need to get sharp close ups. any one .advanced ,or novice,
can use this camara with compleat ease. the texture and finish feel good in your hands. the settings are right where they should be .the weight is just perfect for me. it,s a solid yet comefortable feel. there is nothing you cant shoot with this camara .Nikon hit the mark on this one .

 
Very nice camera, I really love it!
By rwillsVerified Reviewer from Gladwin, MI on 3/4/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I really love this camera. This is my first digital SLR and I am thrilled with my camera. I did a lot of research on the best price and the camera I really wanted and I am very pleased with my purchase!
I would really recommend this camera package.

 
Nice camera
By KatVerified Purchaser from Portland, OR on 2/27/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I love this camera and it's very easy to use.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
wonderful product
By shutterbugVerified Purchaser from winter haven, florida on 2/21/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

this was the best give ever i enjoy taking photographs and have a dream of starting my own photography business

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
worth every penny!
By jjVerified Reviewer from washington state on 2/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

i love this camera!

Images shared by: jj

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera, easy to use, crisp shots.
By Shootin MemoriesVerified Reviewer from Indianapolis, IN on 2/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I have a good point and shoot (Canon SD880IS), but I wanted something for my daughters sports and for outdoor camping trips. This camera works perfect. I really enjoy taking pictures with this camera. Although the onboard flash is good, I would definitely recommend the SB-400 external bounce flash. It makes taking pictures inside MUCH more crisp.

 
perfect
By payneVerified Purchaser from wisconsin on 2/10/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

exactly what we were looking for. After researching the D60 D90 etc. This was the best bang for the buck!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
good combo
By JayVerified Purchaser from USA on 2/4/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

This is a great entry level DSLR. With the added 55-200 VR lens and gadget bag it makes a great combo for 1st time buyers. Between the 18-55 and 55-200 VR lenses you will have a great range.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Camera!
By WillowsVerified Purchaser from New York on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

We tested out a lot of cameras before settling on the D40. We're photo enthusiasts who travel a lot, and we wanted something that could handle our rather basic needs and provide beautiful pictures. We borrowed a friend's D60 for a trip just before we bought our D40, and it was very similar but with much higher megapixel and faster shutter...features that were nice, but we found we didn't need. (Plus, the large megapixel size made photo sharing all the more difficult). So unless you're planning to shoot a lot of sports/action scenes or make really large prints (larger than 8"x10"), the D40 is the perfect buy.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is the best camera ever
By sandmanVerified Reviewer from Dallas,Ga on 1/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I've got three girls and my wife loves black & white pictures. this camera makes some great b&w pictures and it saves both pictures b&w and color. This is a great camera.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love my purchase
By Rene the photo galVerified Purchaser from Krum, Texas on 1/12/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I love this camera and the whole package that came with it. The bag is very nice. Will enjoy it for years to come.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome
By DylanVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/9/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I absolutely love this camera. I went from a little point and shoot to this and will use for many years to come. I love the quick shutter speed.

Images shared by: Dylan

Burning Pine Needle Leaves

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Package
By RonVerified Purchaser from Tucson, AZ on 1/5/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

Light as a feather and quite sharp for a kit lens. Prefer over the Canon. It's quite "plasticy" but it didn't cost that much either. 18-55 is a very handy focal range. The VR tele is worth the price over the non-VR version. Great for growing families.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon equipment is great!
By Bob the builderVerified Purchaser from South Georgia on 12/31/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

Having spent twenty years as a photojournalist using Nikons everyday the D40 is great. Though slower than my thirty year old FM's it's fun to use the D40.

I teach technology at a middle school and I use one for the yearbook and it's holding up well with student use.

 
Great Camera but keep in mind
By Malamute manVerified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I have not had many shots with this camera but so far it meets all my expectations. I will say this if you are a mechanically inclinded person you will figure this camera out in a matter of minutes. However I don't feel this has limited me now I can focus on myself behind the camera which is the most important part. Also keep in mind it is not so much the camera body as it is the lenses used and the person behind the camera.
I will be taking this out west to Mt Reiner and Mt Hood next year and will hopefully be taking with me to the Himalayans next year so I did not want 10k dollar set to worry about. I believe I hit the mark with this setup. With all that said bottom line is save your money get the D40 over the D60 or D80. With the money you saved buy a great lens for it, take some classes on how to shoot, and take a trip to someplace that you will want to see in pictures. In the end this is why you bought a DSLR anyways right?

 
Beginner to the DSLR world, Love it!
By Watty'sGirlVerified Reviewer from Sonora,CA on 12/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

We are new to the SLR world, and we love this camera. We chose the D40 over the canon xsi rebel. The nikon felt sturdy, and not made of plastic like the rebel. We have young children, so we need all the protection we can get. We got the camera with two lens kit. If you can pay to get Vibration Reduction on your lens do so. It is amazing the difference between using the 55-200mm without VR and then with it. We used the information to buy the Nikon from a website [@] he is an encyclopedia for camera's. We love our camera and the pictures are amazing.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice camera
By JayhawkjohnVerified Purchaser from Shawnee Kansas on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I take lots of pictures of my kids and nieces and nephews. I'm amazed at some of the photos I've taken. So clear.

 
Great Deal!
By IslandphotogVerified Purchaser from AZ on 8/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

Love the Nikon D40! The kit lense is great. Camera is light enough to carry anywhere. Very user-friendly. Over all best value for a beginner DSLR camera.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
"A good bang for the bucks"
By PreacherVerified Purchaser from Naugatuck, CT on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

It's the camera of choice for serious shooting.
I've used the camera for a couple of local events,
The Memorial Day Parade and a charity race involving rubber ducks...my tendency with any camera is to try different functions under trying conditions; nighttime, inclement weather, and so on. Thus far, the D40 has carried its weight.
No complaints. Thanks for your time.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Purchase
By Photography loverVerified Purchaser from North Canton, Ohio on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, CHILDREN, Fun, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I waited and waited before going digital because I thought the quality of digital was not the same as 35mm. No point and shoot digital could compare with the quality of a SLR camera. I went from a Minolta 35mm SLR to the Nikon D40 and have not been disappointed. The D40 has made me a much better photographer. With the large LCD screen, you get instant feedback on your skills. I take so many more pictures and have really been able to get great shots. The VR 55-200 lens is amazing. My photography has improved greatly with this camera and lens kit. What a fantastic camera for a great price!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera
By melshelVerified Reviewer from Kingsport, TN on 5/29/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I love my D40! I have been using it all the time since Christmas and I have been amazed at the picture quality. It is awesome! The price for the bundle at the time could not be beat. It is well worth a look. The lenses are easy to change out and easy to focus. My kids love to use the camera too! I wish that the screen was a little brighter though.

[1 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Prettey cool camera
By Johntheavsfan from Long Beach,CA on 4/3/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Good Battery Life, Great Resolution, Very light weight
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light, Shutter Lag
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I use this camera to shoot aircraft, not that good for aviation photography, so I have to upgrade to a EOS 40D, but this is great for begginers.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
This camera made our yearbook amazing
By Yearbook EditorVerified Reviewer from Cave Creek, AZ on 3/14/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

We used this camera to capture all the images in our yearbook for 2008. It gave us great images and stood up to the clumsiness of a teenage staff. We had a camera survive being dropped and another survive being hit with a volleyball during a game. The camera made it easy to capture great action shots in our poorly lit gym. Without this camera our yearbook staff would have been unable to produce an amazing book.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Superb Value in a DSLR Package
By Digitized Dave from Rumson, NJ on 3/12/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

Having been a devoted SLR film photographer since the 60's this has been a fantastic introduction to DSLR world thanks to my pro photographer cousin who suggested I try his Nikon D80. The D40 semed to be the perfect entry point for this new world and I have never had so much pleasure from photography since the days of my B&W darkroom. I am always so impressed and content with my purchase every time I pick up the camera. The design, ergonomics, and quality feel brought me back to Nikon (I had a Nikon F in my early days) easily over the competion. I prefer the feel of VR 55-200mm over my original non VR version but still find myself shooting with the 18-55mm the majority of the time. Love this deal!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
something big in a small package
By adrickk from richmond va on 2/26/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I love this camera. I have been taking pics as a hobby for the past 15 years but the last 3 years I have been blessed to do weddings and events. this little camera gives you much for the buck. I love the quality of the shots. would recommended it to everyone

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
I am amazed
By Corn GuyVerified Reviewer from Madison, WI on 1/6/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I've had this camera for about 2 weeks, and am amazed by the amount of technology that is packed into this camera for the price. I have used point and shoot cameras for the last 10 years, after moving to the digital format, from my old 35mm cameras. Finally, after ater buying about 6 different point & shoot cameras and spending over $2500 on them in total, I made a wise choice to move back to the SLR type. I cannot believe the improvements that have been incorporated into this camera, from white balance, ISO settings, flash adjustments, flash power, battery life, etc., etc., etc. I was so impressed with this camera I talked my sister-in law into buying one, and purchased one for a gift for my sister. It cannot do everything a proffesional DSLR can do, but it can handle an awfull lot of situations very well, as well as giving it to my wife and let her turn it on, and point and shoot with great results.

Images shared by: Corn Guy

Just Playing around with My Nikon D40

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera
By Me from Nashville, TN on 1/2/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I received the camera as a Christmas present and found it very easy to use. The pictures are great.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Pictures
By LOGANVerified Reviewer from Fayetteville, GA on 12/31/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Quick Focus, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Parties or events, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

I got the d40 a couple of months ago and i absolutely loveit!!! it is sooooo easy to use!! It can freeze moving objects extremely clearly!!

Images shared by: LOGAN

Kody Playing Frisbie

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Value
By Steve from Suburban Chicago, Il on 12/29/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

Bought this same kit for our daughter for Christmas but with the standard 55-200mm zoom. This kit has the newer and better VR lens. Liked hers so much, got us one.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
best buy
By vince from martinsville,va on 12/27/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Good sized screen, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Office
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D40 Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55mm f3.5-5.6G/AFS DX VR 55-200mm F4-5.6G):

easy to use lens as good as you can get takes professional photos easy to down load
great for the money

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.