Buy the Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens image
 
(based on 91 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Nikon has introduced its most advanced DX-format digital SLR camera, the D300. Engineered with pro-level features and performance, the 12.3 effective megapixel D300 combines brand new technologies with advanced features inherited from Nikon's newly announced D3 professional digital SLR camera to offer serious photographers remarkable performance combined with agility.

The Nikon D300 Digital SLR Camera is outfitted here with Nikon's 18-200 mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens

Similar to the D3, the D300 features Nikon's exclusive EXPEED Image Processing System that is central to driving the speed and processing power needed for many of the camera's new features. The D300 features a new 51-point auto focus system with Nikon's 3D Focus Tracking feature and two new LiveView shooting modes that allow users to frame a photograph using the camera's high-resolution LCD monitor. The D300 shares a similar Scene Recognition System as found in the D3 that promises to greatly enhance the accuracy of auto focus, auto exposure and auto white balance by recognizing the subject or scene being photographed and applying this information to the calculations for the three functions.

The D300 reacts with lightning speed, powering-up in a mere 0.13 seconds and shooting with an imperceptible 45 millisecond shutter release lag time. The D300 is capable of shooting at a rapid six frames per second and can go as fast as eight frames per second when using the optional MB-D10 Multi-Power Battery Pack. In continuous bursts, the D300 can shoot up to 100 shots* at full 12.3 megapixel resolution.

Nikon's D200 digital SLR camera was a runaway success for because it embodies everything that performance-conscious photographers demanded. With the D300, Nikon has raised the bar with remarkable new features, greater resolution and speed, and even higher image quality. The D300 delivers an unmatched combination of quality, performance and value that's hard for discerning photographers to resist.?

The D300 incorporates a range of innovative technologies and features that will significantly improve the accuracy, control and performance photographers can get from their equipment. Its new Scene Recognition System advances the use of Nikon's acclaimed 1,005-segment sensor to recognize colors and light patterns that help the camera determine the subject and the type of scene being photographed, before a picture is taken. This information is used to improve the accuracy of auto focus, auto exposure and auto white balance functions in the D300. For example, the camera can track moving subjects better and by identifying them, it can also automatically select focus points faster and with greater accuracy. It can also analyze highlights and more accurately determine exposure, as well as infer light sources to deliver more accurate white balance detection.

The D300 incorporates Nikon's new Multi-CAM 3500DX auto focus module that features an intelligent array of 15 cross-type sensors and 36 horizontal sensors. These sensors can either be used individually or in groups, with the option for Single area AF mode and Dynamic AF modes using groups of either nine, 21 or all 51 focus points. The system also features 3D tracking with automatic focus point switching that takes advantage of all 51 AF points as it uses color and light information to accurately track the subject. Nikon's new Scene Recognition System and improved focus algorithms also contribute to the impressive performance of the new 51-point AF system.

Nikon's new Picture Control System makes it easy for users of all experience levels to select and apply adjustments to how their pictures are rendered and create optimized settings to suit their individual preferences. The same settings produce consistent picture tone, even when using different camera bodies. The Picture Control System offers four basic setting options - Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome. These can be directly modified for easy adjustment and customization of image parameters, such as sharpening, tone compensation, brightness and saturation. Photographers can customize and store up to nine customized options in the D300 and export up to 99 to a CF memory card, enabling photographers to share settings among multiple cameras that feature Picture Control System.

Taking a cue from the popularity of Nikon's D-Lighting technology, the D300 features a new Active D-Lighting mode that, when enabled, provides remarkable real-time highlight and shadow correction with optimized image contrast. Active D-Lighting produces broader tone reproduction in both shadows and highlights by controlling highlights and exposure compensation while applying localized tone control technology to achieve a more pleasing level of contrast across the entire image. And because the advantages of Active D-Lighting are applied as images are captured, image editing time can be shortened.

The D300's LiveView feature offers two modes for confirming subjects and composition on the new 920,000-dot, high-resolution 3-inch LCD monitor while shooting. The Tripod mode is designed for precise focus and accuracy when the camera is on a stable platform and the subject is not moving. In this mode, the camera focuses on the subject using focal-plane contrast and any point on the LCD screen can be selected as the focus point for the picture. The second mode, called Handheld mode, allows photographers to use the camera's conventional TTL focusing system, with all 51-points and 15 cross-type points available. When using this mode, the camera activates focusing immediately when the shutter button is pressed, to ensure accurate focus.

The D300 also employs a new self-cleaning sensor unit. Four different resonance frequencies vibrate the optical low pass filter in front of the image sensor to shake particles free and reduce the appearance of dust.

Refined Ergonomics and Usability
The D300 inherits one of Nikon's most streamlined, functional and aesthetically pleasing layouts in a digital SLR camera, designed to enable photographers to take pictures with less fatigue, greater accuracy and comfort.

The camera's viewfinder provides virtually 100 percent coverage so pictures can be framed accurately, while an ultra-high definition 920,000 dot VGA LCD screen on the rear of the camera displays images with vivid color and clarity. Its 170-degree wide viewing angle makes it easy to compose shots using the LCD screen in LiveView mode.

The D300 features rugged magnesium alloy construction and the camera's shutter mechanism is tested up to 150,000 cycles. The 3.0-inch LCD is strengthened with tempered glass and the D300's rubber gaskets and seals protect vulnerable entry points from dust and moisture.

Price and Availability
The D300 will be available from Nikon Authorized Dealers beginning in November 2007 for an estimated selling price of $1,799.95**. With the introduction of the D300, Nikon's current lineup of digital SLR cameras now includes the new D3, D2XS, D300, D200, D80, D40x and D40.
** Estimated selling prices listed are only an estimate. Actual prices are set by dealers and are subject to change at any time.

Nikkor 18-200 mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens

  • Offers broad 18 - 200mm focal range for use in a variety of situations (equivalent to a 27-300 lens in 35mm format)
  • 11x zoom coverage offers a perfect compact and lightweight, one lens solution
  • VR II system offers the equivalent of using a shutter speed 4 stops faster
  • Two ED glass and three aspherical lens elements minimize chromatic aberration,astigmatism and other forms of distortion, while ensuring high resolution and contrast
  • Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC) offers superb color reproduction while minimizing ghosting and flare
  • Incorporates a SWM (Silent Wave Motor) for fast quiet focusing
  • Delivers high-level optical performance designed for use exclusively with Nikon DX format digital
  • Employs a seven-blade rounded diaphragm opening that achieves a natural blur for out-of-focus elements
  • Enables focusing from as close as 20 in. (50cm) from the subject through its entire focal range
  • M/A mode for rapid switching between autofocus and manual focus operation
  • Flower-shaped Lens Hood HB-35 (provided) greatly reduces stray light
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 91 reviews)
99% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(20), Fast shutter speed(17), Great picture quality(19), Image stabilization(16), Large clear LCD(83)
Cons:
Heavy(8), Loud(4)
Best Uses:
Art(63), Documentary(39), Fun(74), Landscape/scenery(14), Photojournalism(55)
Describe Yourself:
Beginner(3), Casual user(6), Enthusiast(45), Photo enthusiast(11), Professional(19)
 
Perfect.
By BeatczVerified Purchaser from Wheeling, IL on 5/12/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This is my first DSLR though I've been working with both the Nikon D40 and Nikon D70 through my High School's yearbook and I honestly love the camera. It's incredibly manual, but still easy to work and the price seems quite reasonable. So long as you have the desire to learn how to work the camera with this lens then you will be just fine.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
More for less
By SteveVerified Purchaser from Dallas, Tx on 3/21/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Although I haven't had this camera and lens for long I have enjoyed having it. The pictures are sharp and clear and have great resolution. The Nikon lens was a big plus for me.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow!
By shuttermommyVerified Purchaser from Waterford, CA on 3/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Love this camera beautiful! Among many things I love the zoom in the review LCD.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
you wont regret it
By k11Verified Reviewer from san francisco,ca on 3/9/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

this was my first SLR all together and when i was researching which one to get i was looking at the d80 and lower but i ended up researching the D300 so much that i realized that this was the one. i had never used an SLR prior to this besides holding it and taking some test shots at a local camera store. i was having a lot of trouble deciding wether or not to buy such an expensive and advanced camera for my first one. i dont regret my decision for one second. i love it and have learned about cameras through this camera. this is a user friendly camera that you can basically shoot anything with. as you grow with it you will learn how to use some of its amazing capabilities

Images shared by: k11

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's just what I wanted
By D TexanVerified Purchaser from Rio Grande Valley, TX on 3/1/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Floral, Fun, Landscape, Nature, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I chose this camera because it forces me to learn more so I can make my own decisions about the results I want rather than having built-in decisions made for me. It is a camera I can grow into and use for many years before again feeling the desire to look for something more. I love the colors it produces and the results I get. I would definitely recommend a Nikon to anyone.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The perfect package
By RGVerified Purchaser from Plano, TX on 2/6/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Had the D70s before and this is a step up in every way. This is a camera that allows you to grow as a photographer. I don't think that I will progress beyond the capabilities of the D300. It is well laid out, the balance is good and if you add the battery pack, takes shots as fast as the D700. I am thrilled with the Nikon D300.I decided that it is better to carry one lens than to try and switch between many. I am able to take advantage of opportunities to zoom in or zoom out and not miss great shots.

 
Love it!
By RenceVerified Purchaser from Chicago, Illinois on 1/27/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I love the features, speed and the quality. I can't ask for more. I am very satisfied with it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love my D300
By antdawg67Verified Reviewer from Rockford, Illinois on 1/27/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Ive had my D300 since July and after about 2 weeks shooting the end of my son's lil league season I was anxious to put the camera thru a real test. We just returned from our xmas vacation at Disney World where I shot over 1500 pics and I couldnt be happier with the fast autofocus and the awesome colors I got with this awesome camera. My only gripe was that the battery messed up on me in the middle of shooting 1 night after I knew I had just charged it. I did some reasearch and found I needed a firmware upgrade and Ive had no problems since. Overall great camera.

Images shared by: antdawg67

Our Disney Resort at sunrise

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

The Swan Resort at Disney

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great camera in tight action
By Mountain DocVerified Purchaser from Greeley Colorado on 1/26/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I use the camera for both landscape images while hiking in our Colorado mountains and for action shots while climbing. I have found the good multi-frame function to be a great tool for working with my daughter at equestrian events. The stop action of the shooting allows us to really analize and improve her performance and the camera is very easy to use under the fast changing conditions of equestrain sports.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
CAUTION....LOW BATT. DEFECT AFTER 4MONTH
By EmVerified Reviewer from San Antonio, TX on 1/20/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
LOW BATT EVEN WHEN FRESH
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I LOVE this camera, but I have recently experienced a "low-battery" malfunction that seems to be a common known problem (goggle the web for this). I have only had my camera for 4months when I noticed a low-batt symbol and the camera stopped taking pictures-even with freshly charged batteries. This clears when you power off and on again, but it happens more and more frequently, and just after only a few shots. Does not seem there is a fix. So it's a hit and miss wether or not you will have this problem. This is my only complaint so far. So...be aware of this.

 
Be part of the "BIG Picture"
By Willlride53x11Verified Purchaser from Anthem Arizona on 1/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Simply an Awesome Camera It"s the Solution to Capture those special things in life.

Simple,durable,and most of all its continued value every time I turn it on.

Thanks

Images shared by: Willlride53x11

My First D300 Photos

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
A Perfect Match!
By Gary DeanVerified Purchaser from Pflugerville, TX on 1/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I do sports and travel photography and wanted just one camera and one lens, I found it all in D300 and 18-200mm VR lens. I upgraded from the D100 and several lens. The D300 is amazing it has more features than I'll ever need. Its a professional camera at a great price.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great combo
By travel bugVerified Purchaser from Cincinnati, OH on 12/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Great camera and great lense. Fast to focus and quiet. LCD is as good as it can get

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Semil-Pro Camera
By JackAttackVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I have done family photography with this camera that has given great results. It is a bit more camera than needed for someone only posting on line. If you are making enlargements and lots of flexibility for a reasonable price this is the camera for you.

 
Great combo
By Uncle SkyVerified Purchaser from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 12/22/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

When bought as a kit it saved me several hundred dollars. I like the pro controls and quick handling of the camera. The lens is fast enough for 'road' shots. The lens is the perfect combination of size, weight, and focal length.
Used together, it isn't too heavy to carry nor is it too light for stability.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buyer Beware
By Irish PhotographerVerified Purchaser from Manchester, NH on 12/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This is a great camera for both professional and advanced photographers. [...] Two years ago I purchased the Nikon D200 w/18-200mm lens, this camera has served me well therefore I now have the Nikon D300. [...]

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome
By RobVerified Purchaser from Lakeland, Florida on 11/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Awesome camera.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again and again
By Luigi's Photographer from Tampa FL on 11/5/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I love my camera Nikon D300 I'm professional photographer.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful
By Mom on the runVerified Purchaser from Kentucky on 9/23/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Wonderful camera makes the casual photographer look like a pro!

Images shared by: Mom on the run

Chan

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Camera
By AdamVerified Purchaser from Johnson City, TN on 9/10/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I have yet to find any cons to this camera/lens combination yet. It's not heavy for the size camera it is, will zoom as far as I have needed it to, and the VR is very noticeable in low light and at slow shutter speeds. All in all a wonderful camera.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing...
By MarineWifeVerified Purchaser from California on 8/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I am an aspiring photographer so I wanted something that was going to withstand my "learning" and not take bad photos. I love the fact that the photos are crisp and clear. I am starting my own photography business and being in the military and needing to be able to capture those moments when I have to run and get the shots of a homecoming or deployment just proves how well the D300 is. I have yet to take a "bad" photo due to the camera. It is a little heavy but nothing that you dont get used to.

Images shared by: MarineWife

From about 20 ft. away

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

As fast as Lighting strikes, I was able to get it

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Absolutly amazing!!
By pattyVerified Reviewer from Tacoma on 8/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

best camera i have ever used! best camera for any type of use. nice lil wide angle and great zoom. killer quality NO reason to get anything else![...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great quality and easy to use
By PitVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 8/28/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This camera is very easy to use and also has a great range of functions.
Its has a very good control over brightness.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
D300 very forgiving great camera
By Bird CarverVerified Purchaser from Wall Twp N.J. on 8/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

very very fast great for wildlife photos. I can use nikon lenses that I bought 20 years ago. In camera editing works grate. The beauty of this camra is that you can go from simple point and shoot to dozens of options. With all the options you can fix almost any mistake.

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
D300 - *** Three Star Camera***
By CFK CameraVerified Purchaser from Ada, MN on 8/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I purchased the D300 with the 18-200 mm lens in June 2008. Used the camera for some banquets and lake shots. Then the end July shot the casual photos at a wedding. I am very pleased with the large LCD screen, fast high shooting, convenient Nikon controls, metering system, etc. The camera does seem heavy, but it makes up for it in performance!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I took the Plunge
By D. HanesVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Amazing Color, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Versitile
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I borrowed a D200 for an outdoor track meet and fell in love with photography. I made some sacrifices and went (almost) all out on getting a new camera. This camera was my choice. I didn't know much about shooting when I got started but read some articles and reviews as I started working. In the 2 months I've had the camera and lens, I've shot indoor and outdoor sports action, nature, and documented my vacation. Some pictures I take may seem to be overexposed but somehow, the camera still recognizes the differences in color and contrast when I do my editing in Photoshop.

I've gone back and used some faster lenses for indoor sports and the photos only get better.

Images shared by: D. Hanes

Cropped from a 20x30 flawless poster

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Brilliant Camera!
By VicBVerified Purchaser from Maryland on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Large
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I love this camera. It takes great pictures in nearly all lighting conditions. It is fast, sturdy, and has great battery life. The only drawbacks are its physical size and weight (I use a relatively heavy 18-200mm lens which is not light...). Overall it is amazing. I would buy it again in a heartbeat.

Images shared by: VicB

Skyline of Lebanon, 2008

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
A great professional SLR
By ReneVerified Purchaser from Athens, GA on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
a little heavy, Cost
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I just graduated as a photojournalism student, and this camera has great features that are simple to manage and use. The quality of the images are superb. I like how there is a lot of different options for control in the manual settings, but how I can also hand the camera over to a family member or friend (who isn't a photographer) in the automatic settings and they can comfortably make good photos as well.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
D300 18-200 mm vr package a great deal
By ZeemanVerified Purchaser from Cleveland, OH on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I am familiar with Nikon cameras and this takes digital to a new level which is comparable to the Leicas and Nikons I have previously used but with so many more choices and flexibility.

 
D300 - Outstanding
By JimVerified Purchaser from Buffalo, NY on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Range of lens (18-200mm) is excellent. The camera can also handle every one of my older Nikkor lenses including my 35 year old Macro. The lens/camera combo is a little heavy, but after carrying around a Hasselblad system it's really not a problem.
It is, without a doubt, one of the finest cameras I've ever used.

 
Lots of nice staff
By VadimVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

It is my best camera now. I use it all the time and like it very much. Lots of options and sometimes it does not help to find a solution quickly.

[2 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product but to much camera
By PhotonutVerified Purchaser from Mesa, AZ on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not really automatic
Best Uses:
Fun, Grandchildren Family, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

The package works really well but even for a hobbyist the auto features of the D80 would fit much better.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Prosumer Camera!
By Val, an aspiring photojournalistVerified Purchaser from Boynton Beach, FL on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quality Feel, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Very quick at 6 fps
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

An absolute upgrade from my D50. Fast enough to take pictures of my kids running around.

 
This camera is totaly amazing!
By Kenny the buzzardVerified Purchaser from Scranton, PA on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Profesional Features, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

The vivid colors the camera produces.
The internal editing.
Features too many to list.

Images shared by: Kenny the buzzard

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail
 
Simply Amazing
By Outdoor enthusiastVerified Purchaser from Everett, WA on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This camera has allowed me to capture photos I'd only dreamed of before, and I'm just getting started. After two months and about 2000 pics, I'm just getting a handle on the impressive capabilities of the D300.

When the Blue Angels came to town, I had a perfect opportunity to test out the high speed continuous functions, and the brilliant 18-200 (300mm equiv) lens. I was very pleased with the results!

Bumping up ISO to it's highest setting still gives great results, so I've been able to lose the flash for great, natural results. Volumes could be written (and I'm sure will over time) but I think "Simply Amazing" sums it up pretty well! To get any better you'll need to spend a lot more or maybe wait several years - or both?

 
WHAT A CAMERA!
By Snap HappyVerified Purchaser from Pittsburgh, PA on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Thick manual
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This is the best camera I have ever owned. It may be expensive, but definitely worth every penny. There is a really thick manual to read, but I suggest reading it thoroughly to get the best results out of every picture.

 
Smokin' Fast!
By 750AceVerified Reviewer from Centennial, CO on 8/22/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I will be using the D300 for a long time to come. It has already paid for itself and I have only had it since July of 2008! Check out some of my samples at PicTropicals. Also own the 60mm and the ru200's, two sb800's with umbrellas, remote software and some backdrops.

 
Excellent package for beginners!
By BalaVerified Purchaser from NY on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This is a very good package to buy (and getting it from Ritz was a great experience). I got it for myself and my friend and the image quality, the ease of use are clear highlights of this camera.

 
I Love this camera
By RussVerified Purchaser from Alameda, CA on 8/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Home interior photos, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Great camera for grabbing those special shots of grandchildren; interior photos are super; Need patience and learn all the bells and whistles to take best advantage of camera; great lens 18-200mm

Images shared by: Russ

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
This Camera is great!
By BobVerified Purchaser from Chesapeake, VA on 8/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I take lots of nature pictures, especially birds and have yet to get a bad picture.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon Listened to My Needs
By EddyVerified Purchaser from NY, USA on 8/15/2008
Pros:
Color quality, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use and learn, Easy to use white balance, Excellent image quality, Great Pictures, Large and Bright LCD, Small Lag Time, USER FRIENDLY
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Family Photos, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Upgrade from Nikon D70 Handling the camera is easy as most of the needed controls are now as knobs on the camera surface rather then in the Menu. The lens 18-200 is sufficient for most of your needs. Excellent colorful pictures better than I was able to take before. You can easily use the white balance options - to get more realistic colors in the various light conditions.

Images shared by: Eddy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Incredible DSLR!!!
By StarSailorScrapperVerified Purchaser from New Port Richey, FL on 8/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This an incredible Machine!!! It is like having the high priced D3 in a compact DSLR at a great price!! Produces the same image quality as the high end professional cameras..From sports photojournalism to weddings to portraits, this beauty does it all effortlessly. I am so happy with the D300. Nikon has a winner with this one!!

 
Super bargain
By HibbeVerified Purchaser from Stockholm, Sweden on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Allround
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

As a professional photographer I have used many types of cameras, but this is the first priceworthy allround camera I've been completely satified with, especially together with the SB-800 flash.

 
Nikon D-300
By BobVerified Purchaser from Gaithersburg, Maryland on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Excellent camera - many useful functions that can tailor the camera to virtually any need

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Photographic Tool
By CaddMasterVerified Purchaser from Jamestown, NC on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I am so glad that I waited for the D300 to become available. After trying to decide if I wanted to go with the D200, it was well worth the wait. I had formerly used the Nikon D50 and was thrilled with it for as long as I used it. I knew that Nikon was my first choice, but I also evaluated the Canon 40D as a possible upgrade path. I didn't have a large selection of lenses, so that was not an issue in deciding on Nikon again. The D300 is just a better camera. Sure you'll pay a little more for it than the Canon 40D, but camera performance and quality shots from the D300 were far superior in my tests. The combination of the D300 Body with the 18-200mm lens is phenomenal. It's a complete package. I very seldom have to change lenses. Highly recommended.

 
Couldn't use when i got
By gertrudeVerified Purchaser from Stafford, va on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Couldn't use out of box since at this price you don't get a battery and the discription didn't tell me that so had to turn around and order one and wait. Takes great shots but sometimes can't get to autofocus

 
D300 review
By MisfitVerified Purchaser from Memphis, TN on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Can't say enough about this combo. Its the best deal going. See my other reviews.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Poorly performing focus ring 18-200mm
By LouVerified Purchaser from Western Mass on 8/14/2008
Cons:
Shaky Operation
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Manual focus ring fails to come to precise point of desired focus without excessive manipulation.
Result is potential for missed shots.

If exchange is recommendewd, please advise.

 
It's my new best friend
By HuffmysterVerified Purchaser from Galt, CA on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

It is a great value, doesn't cost a fortune but delivers professional quality. A little heavy but there is a lot to this camera. I love it!

Images shared by: Huffmyster

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Best Camera I Have Ever Used
By SumiceVerified Purchaser from Houston on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Pictures, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, CHILDREN, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Sporting events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I would buy this product again and again

Images shared by: Sumice

Sox Game

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Chicago L

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
fast way to up grade
By R.A.DavisVerified Purchaser from Bend,OR on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, The perfict shoot, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

the best camer is the one in your hand.hold it befor you buy it. if it do not fell good in your hand you will not want to shoot pix.what pix do you shoot,do you need all that cam will do.or will it make it to hard to use. LOOK,ASK,HOLD,THEN GET THE RIGHT CAMERA AND HAVE FUN.
IN THIS CASE PROFESSIONAL INDICATES A LEVEL OF QUALITY,SKILLS AND EDUCATION.NOT MY WORK.

 
Great camera and lense
By SparrowVerified Purchaser from Boise, ID on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I have used the camera and lense combination for everything including rough travel, family photos with fast moving kids and art documentation. The images are clear, well balanced and sharp. I love this camera!

 
Exceptional Product - Greater than antic
By PattyVerified Purchaser from Ft. Lauderdale, FL on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Sop much to learn - Overw
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

There i snothing I cant do with this camera. I just need to learn how to do it. Thr modt complete camera I ever had.

 
Best camera ever
By VinceVerified Purchaser from San Francisco, CA on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

The best picture quality that I have ever seen. Great and true colors, extremely fast to operate.
Perfect position of controls. Beautiful design.

 
Nikon D300 & 18-200mm VR Lens
By Light ImpressionsVerified Purchaser from Walnut Creek on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I thought that maybe my brand new, out of the box, Nikon D300 would be too complicated and too heavy to take with me on my three-week travel to Turkey in May. However, I found the camera easy to use on automatic and the instructions clear and easy to follow for more in-depth use.
The camera quickly became an extension of my body and felt very comfortable day after day. I'm a happy convert from a long history of Canons.

 
Great Buy
By WPhotogVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

The only draw back I really see worth noting is that I wish for less noise at higher ISO and faster frames per sec. But then we're talking about the D3 now. For the price and almost as good as the D3 you can't beat it. This thing is solid and with the lens package a great deal.

 
great!!!! love it
By jamVerified Purchaser from missouri city, tx on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

this is one of nikon's best

 
D300=Best Low Light Ever!
By dVerified Purchaser from Auburn, Ca on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Strong ISO Baby
Cons:
Nothing
Best Uses:
Lack of Light
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

My first use was (5)Safari adventures in Africa.

It takes some use-time for all the many extra thing's-stuff.

I was mailed right on time...happy fellow!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
You have to buy this camera!
By TroutmanVerified Purchaser from Colorado on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I LOVE this camera. I have purchased many cameras over the years, starting with my Canon AE-1 back in 1977, and continuing to evolve as technology, particularly in the digital realm, over the years. I had my analog Canon for many years, and I finally got the bug to get a DSLR, did a lot of research, and purchased the D300 6 months ago. I take it on vacation (have been to Yellowstone, Lake Powell, numerous fishing trips, etc. since I got it) and the quality of the pictures are fantastic. I also purchased the recommended flash for the unit, wow, the indoor pictures are great, and with the auxilary battery adapter, the camera can take 6 to 8 frames a second indoors. The VR lens is phenomal, I have a slight tremor, and all my other cameras resulted in disappointment in missed opportunities - with this camera all of my photos are clear and crisp! There is so much versatility in this camera, I still have a ton to learn, but I find that I am taking spectacular photos right out of the box with it. You have to have this camera!

 
I love my camera
By moniVerified Purchaser from mexico city on 8/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I use my camera fot work, is very practical and great for my job.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good camera, horrible battery life
By plastic surgeonVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This is a fantastic camera, with the best pics I've ever seen from an SLR! However, big negative is the life of the battery. I have had this camera for about 7 months and the battery will not hold a charge for more than a few pictures. I will need to call Nikon to sort this issue out and possibly have them give me a replacement on warranty.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
D300 w/18=200 VR lens is excellent
By AlexVerified Purchaser from Corvallis, Oregon on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I use the D300 for my magazine--both cover shots and inside the mag. Excellent, like I said...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
bout as good as it gets
By ArtVerified Purchaser from Aurora IL on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Low Noise At High ISO, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

this camera lens combination is well nigh perfect. The 18-200 nikor lens is sharp as a tack and had very effective vibration reduction. If it was a tad faster F stop (currently a physical impossibility with the other specs) and if it were not for the one other camera with even better low light sensitivity (Nikon D3) this combination would be a perfect 5 stars. Very good controls. Very fast. Very flexible.

 
PHENOMENAL!!!
By suzyVerified Reviewer from chicago, il on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I love this camera, especially with the d700 coming out i think the price is very reasonable. the manual is huge and obviously i haven't figured out everything (only had it for a couple months) but so far no complaints.. well, the only thing is once i was shooting for like three hours straight and it definitely started to cramp up my hand (a little heavy but what good pro camera isn't?). i also did photos for a dance recital, where flash photography was prohibited. WOOOW is all i gotta say, i cranked the iso up to about 2500 so i could get some decent shots of the dancers in action and it looks incredible! there wasn't even any noise in the pictures.. how's that for quality? i really wrestled with what camera should i get for a while.. i was gonna get the canon 5d and then kept researching. a friend of mine, who is a professional photographer, got the d300 and loved it! gave it a glowing review, looked into it and decided to go with it (the final factor was mostly because there was a lot of complaints about canon's weather proofing). if you're undecided, definitely go with it! i like this lens it comes with but maybe if i had researched a bit more i would have chosen something else but i like it all the same [...]

Images shared by: suzy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Best Camera I've Used
By BobVerified Reviewer from Spokane, WA on 6/22/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great resolution, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Sports Photography, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This is a great camera for shooting just about anything. The 18-200 lens covers almost everything I do. I was able to get some nice "handheld" fireworks photos.

Images shared by: Bob

Fireworks

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Moon - handheld

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
top its price
By LDG24 from Long Island, New York on 6/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

this piece is suitable for a beginner like me.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
D300 Worth every penny!
By jolen1aubVerified Reviewer from Fremont, CA on 6/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, One lens does it all, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Soft default sharpness
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Ideal for indoor ports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Got the D300 3 weeks ago. An excellent upgrade from my Oly E500. Best LCD screen yet. Easy to learn and works very well in low light.
Chose this over the Canon 40D as the D300 gives me the range with a single lens. Although you cannot go wrong with either! The D300 does have a Fast frame-rate and can achieve 8 FPS if need be with the optional battery/grip. Don't care for Auto and preset mode settings which the d300 doesn't have. Impressive auto ISO metering which makes taking great photos in almost any light conditions (ISO 200-6400). Its 51 point AF system is just fantastically quick and versatile!
If I have anything to pick-on, it will have to be the clanking sound of the VR lens when engaged. When the lens's VR switch is turned-on , as you half press and release the shutter button, you can hear a very faint clanking sound from the lens. Although very faint, it does get annoying at very quiet moments (to me anyway). Other than that this DSLR is my cup of tea! Well worth every penny!
If you're in the market for a new DSLR I strongly suggest doing your homework and physically check it out from a local camera store. I'm very please with my purchase at my local Ritz. I still have my Oly E500 (8MP w/ 14-45 mm & 80-150 mm lenses) and will keep it as a back-up.

 
WOW! This DSLR is truly awesome!
By Big Apple CircusVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 6/11/2008
Pros:
Accurate af, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Doesn't Blow Highlights, Great colors, Little noise at high ISOs, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

If you can afford it, this is the camera to get. I use it in a variety of situations, from vacation, to trying to explore my creativity, to just plain out having fun. It doesn't let me down under any circumstance. The controls are intuitive, the color is rich and vibrant, even at ISO 1,600, I could barely detect noise (do low NR at high ISO -you'll get sharper photos with not very noticeable noise from the normal mode), the ADR helps to define more contrast, even with bright lights, AND geez this camera feels solid. It even fixes some distortion from my super wide angle 12-24 lens! Nikon has really outdone itself with the D300. About my only objection is that it is priced a bit high compared to other DSLRs in this space, even though I'm sure it's well worth the extra $$$. Also, Nikon could've given this a FX sensor (asking too much?) -well, then it would be the D3 and $3,300 more expensive. But overall, I tip my hat to the folks at Nikon. BRAVO!

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon just gets better and better!
By JenniVerified Reviewer from Appleton, WI on 6/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction, What lag time
Cons:
Controls take getting use
Best Uses:
Art, Business, Documentary, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I am a all photojournalistic / traditional wedding photographer. I own a couple D200's & D70's, and 1 D100. with each new addition they keep getting better. There is little noise the quality of color is superb. The only reason it received a 4 out of 5 is because of the controls. I think the absolute worse thing Nikon did was move the delete button (again) could they please settle on 1 location!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Class Act, tough to follow
By BevVerified Reviewer from Miami FL on 5/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I loved my D70s and would only give it up when the 'killer camera' came along. This camera definitely has the WOW factor. I instantly could tell the difference in COLOR and quality. I actually took family photos for an anniversary party my first time using the camera and although I messed up my usual few shots, but the ones that came out were outstanding compared to any I had ever taken! This camera is awesome, I LOVE IT! Thank you Nikon!!!

Images shared by: Bev

One of my favorite FIRSTS with the 300

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Beautiful natural details

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Leader Of The Pack
By BreydenVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City, UT on 5/27/2008
Pros:
6-8 fps, Comfortable Controls, Fits perfect in your hand, Pro features and quality, Solid Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This is an amazing camera. I have yet to find anything about it that I don't like. It is worth every penny, and that comes from someone that doesn't have any penny's to spare! I love this camera because it has a nice solid feel and fits my hand perfectly. I have looked at both Canon's line of cameras and Nikon's line. The Canon cameras just do not fit my hand, they are too small in the palm grip. Nikon fits like a glove. The photos it produces are crisp, colorful and vibrant.

I recommend picking one up and seeing how it feels before you make your purchase. Compare it to the competition. In the end, the best camera for you is the one that fits you and feels the best in your hands. If you have smaller hands, then Canon may be the way to go. Both Canon and Nikon manufacture top quality cameras and optics.

Also be aware that this is a large camera, and may not be something you want to heft around at an amusement park unless you are used to large cameras. I use this camera for my artistic expression and take a small point and shoot with me for family outings.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this camera!
By dedicated shutterbugVerified Reviewer from Alabama on 5/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
a little heavy
Best Uses:
sports, scenic trips
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I love this camera & lens! It was a bit on the expensive side (for my budget) but it's my dream camera. Once I learn how to use everything, it will be fantastic. This is my 4th Nikon (although my first digital slr) and it just gets better every single time.

Images shared by: dedicated shutterbug

straight out of the box

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

a rose at dusk

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
I would buy this product again and again
By SuzyQVerified Reviewer from Pikesvile,MD on 5/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This camera is great I use it for Lifetouch Photography. The pictures are beautiful. This is the best camera I've ever used.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better Than I Could Imagine
By BRainsVerified Reviewer from Austin, Tx on 5/7/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Graphics Design, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Got it just before a trip to New Orleans and despite my initial screw ups, managed to bring home some nice tourist shots. Control and settings have a practical, common sense approach to their set up. I'm blown away by the color this camera produces - no more PhotoShop-ping saturation. In fact, vivid setting is too vivid in some situations. Adios Canon-Nikon wins big.

Images shared by: BRains

Tower Of Power JazzFest 2008 18mm f5.6 1/1250

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Larry Braggs JazzFest 2008 200mm f5.6 1/800

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Digital SLR You'll Never Outgrow
By GaryVerified Reviewer from League City, TX on 5/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Although this camera is state-of-the-art, I had it out of the box and was taking some high-quality photos in a matter of minutes. Now, I'll spend the next 10 years really learning all its features.

Images shared by: Gary

Shiloh & His Tennis Ball

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Hibiscus Flower

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
"To Notch Photo Gear..."
By Steve/FauxtografxVerified Reviewer from Dallas, Texas on 4/27/2008
Pros:
Amazing Color Rendering, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Razor Sharp, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Zip Nada none
Best Uses:
Architectural Images, Art, Fun, Phenomenal Landscapes, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I had read reviews suggesting metering issues as well as focus problems esp. where the 12- 24mm super wide is concerned and I am here to say that if a tripod is used when it should be and a sensible shutter speed for hand held work is employed the images to come from the 300 are simply top quality in every way. I've used it nearly every day since received(Feb.) and it just seems to get better daily...but you can't expect any camera this hi-tech to just run on cruise control, sorry, but You'll still need to use your head!

Images shared by: Steve/Fauxtografx

"Excellent Color" That I have to have.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, With polarizer Tripod

Sample In Shopping Mall

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wondeful Camera (out the box)
By Mr. JenkinsVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, Florida on 4/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Straight out of the box the camera has given me great pictures, and shows such an improvement over my old Nikon D70. For anyone wanting to get a little more serious with their photography, or just demand more quality (this camera is for you). I also purchased a Nikon 50mm 1/8th lens that gives the 18-200 VR lens a run for time spent on the camera.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The long wait is over
By MacVerified Reviewer from Puerto Penasco Sonora Mexico on 3/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Worth the wait
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

It took a camera like the D300 for me to give up my D70S. I am absolutly impressed with the performance of this camera. I shoot for 2 different magazines in Sonora Mexico and I am confident that the D300 will not let me down. This is with out a doubt the best choice I could have made.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Absolutely the Best!
By BoompaVerified Reviewer from Fort Worth, TX on 3/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Absolutely None
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Just recieved, charged battery and read instructions while charging. Took some pictures and compared to Sony A100. No comparison. This is the best cameras I have ever owned. Can't wait to go on vacation. Although there is an extensive manual, it's pretty easy to get into. Will fool around with different settings and the like this weekend. Thanks Nikon and Wolf. Also got an 80-400 zoom and a 105 micro in addition to the 18-200 lense that came with the D300.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The D-300 is AMAZING!!
By Ashley W.Verified Reviewer from Fort Myers, Florida on 3/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I love my D-300. I have been shooting for sometime now and was AMAZED when I got my hands on the D-300 for the first time. I have had mine for about 3 months, and it seems like everytime I pick it up I find something new. The two pictures I submitted were both done with my D-300, and as always, they are great.

Images shared by: Ashley W.

South Florida Sunset

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Done With My D-300

Kids Baseball Game

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Done With My D-300

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow! What an awesome, sic camera!
By Photo PeteVerified Reviewer from Ventura, CA on 2/22/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
nothing bad about it
Best Uses:
Documentary, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I got the D-300 just before I started school at Brooks Institute. This camera has totally impressed me at all levels of shooting. Last weekend I shot the USATF Cross Country Championships in San Diego and the camera did not let me down once. The quality of the images are insane. There is so much detail in all my photos now that I feel like I am a pro! Thanks Nikon for coming up with such a "Wow" factor camera...I can't wait to get my mits on the D-3!

Images shared by: Photo Pete

A dog at the USATF Cross Country Championships.

Image Thumbnail

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
The D300 is Awesome!!!
By iperceptionphoto from Fayetteville, NC - Salt Lake City, Utah on 2/5/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This camera exceeded all my expectations. The autofocus is the most dynamic focusing system in the digital SLR market to date. Active D lighting is a huge plus for me over digital cameras that I've used in the past. This camera has a good number of features that allow me to save time in photoshop and focus on shooting! The controls all feel natural in my hands. This camera really makes it easier to take better photo's after the composition is squared away in the brain behind the lens. If you can afford it this camera is worth every penny. I can't say that for every camera out there, but no hesitation on the D300. Good job Nikon!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
This Nikon D300 will make you say WOW
By G_ManVerified Reviewer from Lansing, Mi on 2/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Solid, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Boudoir Photography, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

This Nikon D300 is solid like the old Nikon 6006 built like a tank. Once you learn the buttons and menu on the camera it's a blast to take photos with and the results will wow you.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
PHOTOS TAKEN WITH NIKON D300
By albertVerified Reviewer from SACRAMENTO, CA on 1/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I just posted some shots that I took with my new d300. If you are thinking about buying this camera please take a look at my shots. You can click on them to get an enlarged version of what this camera can do. [@]ThanksAlbert

Images shared by: albert

San Francisco photo taken with my D300

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Photo taken with my D300 please see my site

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome
By JimVerified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 1/7/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to handle, Intuitive menu, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Amateur here, used to shoot 35mm years ago, first foray into serious digital to get back into the hobby. WOW! I spent a few hours reading manual and clicking around the living room, just to get a feel for the d300/18-200mm combo, then tried to get a bit more serious outdoors at night, etc. I can't imagine anyone buying this camera and not being thrilled with the capabilities! I am a constant complainer about bad design, poor quality, "why didn't they just do this a little better"....but honestly I can't find one thing about this camera that is not awesome. If, like me, you have an eye for an image and want a professional grade camera to simply get your vision captured, this is the camera for you. I read reviews extensively, and felt very confident that this was the right choice. It was! On my first shoot I immediately began thinking in terms of the image, not the camera, and the camera simply did its job without getting in the way or slowing down / altering the creative process. My first Nikon, after many years of thinking about getting one, and I am TOTALLY pleased! (I shot with vintage pentax me super, superA, and extensive screw mount Asahi lenses for years before I just put it all away). I haven’t shot SLR in 10 years and this thing left me feeling like I shoot all day every day. GREAT JOB NIKON. Nikon web site is fantastic as well, with tons of tutorials, videos, etc. I wish more corporations excelled at this level. Anyhow, someone else said this as well, but just buy it! I've only had it for about 24 hours, but couldn’t' resist sharing my excitement. The 18/200mm lens seems like he perfect all around travel light lens.A few minor negatives (hard to say that, certainly a few more days practice will eliminate most): White balance menu interface seems less intuitive than the rest, a little interesting trying to capture actual color balance, but the scope of options seems incredible. The entire package (lens, body) is NOT small, but I am recalling the Pentax ME body and lenses, which are almost tiny. Still, it is easy to carry and work with. Pricey (for me) but you definitely seem to get what you pay for. [...] it is all that everyone says and more. Go for it!-Jim [@]

Images shared by: Jim

one of my first shots with the d300

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, raleigh at night

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By Poet Dan from Juneau AK on 1/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None at this time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

The Alaskan environment is harsh but this camera can hold it's own. I love it.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Upgraded from D200
By GradyVerified Reviewer from San Francisco on 12/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

An improvement over the D200 (better LCD and crisper colorful photos). I also have the lens that comes with this camera and its a must have for folks who want 1 lens to "do it all". Perfect combination and the way to go in my opinion.

Images shared by: Grady

2007 Porsche Turbo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
impressive
By JJVerified Reviewer from Denver, Colorado on 12/20/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Comfortable in the hand, Intuitive features, Strong Construction
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I have had 35mm SLR's for years and just ventured into the digital SLR market with the D300/18-200mm. I was a little concerned that this camera, with all of it's capabilities, would be difficult to learn and master. Since reading the manual and playing with the camera for a couple of hours I was impressed on how easy it is to use and learn along with the quality of the photographs. I am very happy that I picked this camera over the others on the market.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By P.HVerified Reviewer from Allenton, WI on 12/16/2007
Cons:
None i can find
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

I don't think I could ask for a better camera.Super sharp imagages true to life color.It truely is an excellent camera,I am very glad to have purchaced one.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Incredible SLR Camera
By W.Verified Reviewer from Marietta, Georgia on 12/1/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Fast, Incredible Features, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None really
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

Incredible camera, I use it for hobby, but it gives a real professional edge. It dosnt get much better than this.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't judge a book by its cover
By mannyVerified Reviewer from Antioch, CA on 11/10/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D300 Professional Digital SLR Camera w/ 18-200mm VR Lens:

i like the continues shutter speed...and experiment with the different aperture photography effects..

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.