Buy the D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs image
 
(based on 68 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Complete Outfit!
Includes: D40x DSLR Camera, AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm and AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm Lenses
PLUS - Bonus Nikon Gadget Bag and 2-Instructional DVDS!

Nikon D40x DSLR Camera Body

Incredible Pictures...Even Easier!

Beauty and passion. Color and motion. Do you see these things in your life? With the Nikon D40x, you will. With its fast responses, vibrant color and unmatched Nikkor lens quality, you?ll always be ready to capture the wonder of life in a big way. And with 10.2-megapixel resolution, you?ll be able to enlarge or crop your pictures without losing image quality. The D40x is small, compact, portable and designed to enhance the entire camera experience, with every feature, button and menu working together for a smooth, seamless performance that brings out the best in you and your images. Why? Because life is a work of art, and your life is a masterpiece in progress. Capture it perfectly, with the D40x.

Welcome to the World of Nikon Digital

Extraordinary Nikon Image Quality The D40x''s high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon''s high-performance 10.2 effective megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image-processing engine, assuring stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon''s Smallest Digital SLR Ever! Beautifully styled, the D40x makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever. You''ll be amazed at the power packed into a camera that weighs just over 16 ounces.

High-Performance 10.2 Megapixel Nikon DX Format CCD Imaging Sensor - Nikon?s DX Format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 24 x 36 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

Fast Startup with Instant Shutter Response - A fast 0.18 second startup combined with split-second shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 3 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 3 Frames per Second - The D40x can fire continuously at a speed of up to 3 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

2.5-Inch, 230,000-Dot Color LCD Monitor with 170-Degree Wide-Angle Viewing - Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts with easy-to-view menus.

3 Colorful Display Options - All new display options: Classic, Graphic and Wallpaper. Carefully designed color schemes help make changing camera settings easier than ever.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL Automatic Flash Control - Nikon''s innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready and brings beautiful exposures in darkened conditions, as well as adding sparkle for fill flash in outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images. In low-light or back-light situations, added illumination from the built-in Speedlight can make the difference between an average snapshot and a dazzling picture.

8 Digital-Vari Program Automatic Shooting Modes - Eight Digital Vari-Program Modes include: Auto Flash-OFF, Portrait, Landscape, Child, Sports, Close Up and Night Portrait; each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results for everyday shooting situations. Each mode considers lighting conditions and possibilities, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, hue, tone, sharpening and more to make creative photography as simple as rotating the mode dial.

In-Camera Image Editing - Highly versatile in-camera editing features through the Retouch Menu include Nikon D-Lighting, Red-Eye Correction, Image Trim, Image Overlay, Monochrome (Black and White, Sepia and Cyanotype) along with Skylight, Warm Tone and Color Balance filter effects. This provides greater creative freedom without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

New Advanced HELP Menu System with Assist Images - The D40x''s newly introduced Assist Images help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting, as well as an advanced HELP Menu for the current item selected. The D40x''s Question Mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item; just press the HELP button beside the LCD monitor to see a context-sensitive HELP page.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II - The D40x''s 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes. The result delivers instantly and precisely determined exposures for each scene, even in challenging lighting conditions.

Fast, Accurate 3-Area Autofocus - The D40x''s advanced 3-Area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise Autofocus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Image Optimization Options - The D40x''s Image Optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening, as well as other image settings, according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: Normal, Softer, Vivid, More Vivid, Portrait, Custom and Black and White, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Up to 520 Images* per Battery Charge - The supplied EN-EL9 rechargeable battery will allow for shooting up to 520 images per charged based on CIPA battery testing standards.

Nikon D40x Key Features, Advantages and Benefits
Feature or Technology Advantage and/or Benefit
Extraordinary Nikon image quality The D40X offers high-resolution image capture, made possible by exclusive algorithms incorporated into the Nikon Image Processing Engine. Additional Nikon technologies are applied to further ensure exceptional image quality and appearance, producing pictures exhibiting exceptional detail, with breathtaking color, across a wide dynamic range of picture-taking conditions.
Easy operation with intuitive controls The D40X was carefully designed to make even first-time digital SLR users successful. The newly designed graphic user interface, help menus, and the ability to leapfrog through menu options work simultaneously to make the D40X truly easier to use. The D40x''s intuitive design and compactness make photography fast, easy and fun!
Smallest Nikon 10.2-megapixel digital SLR ever! Beautifully styled and compact, the D40X makes using a digital SLR camera (and digital SLR picture-taking advantages) easier and more convenient than ever. The most compact Nikon 10.2-megapixel digital SLR ever, the D40xfits the hand perfectly, with a well-balanced design and grip to ensure easy access to controls.
High-performance 10.2-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor Nikon''s DX Format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, ideal for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 20 x 24 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides substantially more freedom for creative cropping.
Fast startup with instant shutter response The D40X offers a power-up time of a mere 0.18 seconds and a near instant shutter response. Instant power-up means that the D40X is ready when the user is ready?as soon as the camera is turned on. Super-fast shutter response allows decisive moments to be captured perfectly, without annoying shutter lag. The D40X is ready to capture life''s events and fleeting moments as they happen.
Shoot at up to 3 frames per second The D40X can fire continuously at a speed of up to 3 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.
In-Camera Image Editing Highly versatile in-camera editing features include Nikon D-Lighting, Red-Eye Correction, Image Trimming, Image Overlay, Monochrome (Black and White, Sepia and Cyanotype), along with Skylight, Warm Tone and Color Balance filter effects. This provides greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.
New advanced HELP menu system with Assist Images The D40x''s newly introduced "Assist Images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting, as well as an advanced HELP Menu for the current item selected. The D40x''s Q icon indicates that help is available for the currently selected item; just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context-sensitive help page.
Fast, accurate 3-Area Autofocus The D40x''s advanced 3-area AF system along with the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras, deliver fast, efficient and precise autofocus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.
2.5-inch, 230,000-dot color LCD monitor with 170-degree wide-angle viewing Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor allows for 170-degree wide-angle viewing, enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well.
3 colorful display options The D40X has three all-new display options; Classic, Graphic and Wallpaper, with carefully created color schemes that are designed to help make changing camera settings easier than ever.
Image Optimization options The D40x''s Image Optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: Normal, Softer, Vivid, More Vivid, Portrait, Custom and Black and White, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.
Built-in Flash with i-TTL automatic flash control Nikon''s innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in flash is always at the ready and brings beautiful exposures in darkened conditions, while adding sparkle for fill flash in outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images. In low-light or back-light situations, added illumination from the built-in flash can make the difference between an average snapshot and a dazzling picture.
Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. Its bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.
Automatic exposure with 8 Digital Vari-Program Modes Eight Digital Vari-Program Modes include: Auto Flash-Off, Portrait, Landscape, Child, Sports, Close Up, or Night Portrait, each of which adjust automatically for optimal results under varied conditions. Each mode considers lighting conditions and possibilities, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, hue, tone, sharpening and more to make creative photography as simple as rotating the mode dial.
Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II The D40x''s 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes. The result delivers instant and precisely determined exposures for each scene, even in challenging lighting conditions.

Nikon 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Zoom Nikkor Lens
The new AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED is a versatile zoom lens created for a broad range of consumers ranging from occasional weekend snap-shooters to the avid photo enthusiast. It is an ultra-compact, lightweight standard zoom lens with a 3x zoom range that is ideal for everyday photography. With a popular 18-55mm focal length range, the lens can be conveniently used to photograph everything from wide angle landscapes to portraits and is well suited for use at parties, on vacation, and other occasions.

  • Ideal as a normal lens designed exclusively for Nikon DX format SLRs, this ultra-compact 18-55mm* 3X zoom provides superb versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.
    * For comparative purposes only, the practical picture angle of an 18-55mm lens on a Nikon DX format digital SLR will provide a picture angle equivalent to that produced by a 27-82.5mm lens on a 35mm format camera.
  • New compact rod-type Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-high speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and super-quiet operation.
  • ED glass element achieves minimized chromatic aberration and superior optical performance.
  • Hybrid aspherical element ensures high resolution and contrast.
  • Nikon Super Integrated Coating minimizes ghosting and flare to provide even higher contrast and more vivid mages, even in challenging light conditions.
  • Focus Mode switch enables quick-switching between A (Autofocus) and M (Manual Focus).
  • 7-blade rounded diaphragm for more natural out-of-focus highlights.

Nikon 55-200 mm F/4-5.6G ED AF-S DX Nikkor Lens
The new AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED brings far-away subjects to the photographer without the burden of carrying a large telephoto lens. Zooming in on those elusive action shots at soccer or baseball games will fill the frame with images that would be otherwise impossible to capture. Its impressive zoom range of 55-200mm allows users the versatility to capture everything from razor-sharp candid portraits to sports, nature and even wildlife pictures. Despite its long zoom range, the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55- 200mm f/4-5.6G ED is remarkably compact and lightweight, and proves to be a formidable companion to the instant responsiveness and the impressive speed of the new D50 digital SLR camera.

To ensure outstanding optical performance, thid lens also features Nikon''s exclusive Extra-Low Dispersion (ED) glass to minimize chromatic aberrations, and Silent Wave Motor technology (SWM) for fast, quiet auto- focusing. All of Nikon''s DX Nikkor lenses are optimized for the DX format sensors found in all Nikon digital SLR cameras, making the lens smaller, lighter and with exceptional center-to-edge-to-corner image quality and performance.

  • Versatile and ultra-compact with a powerful focal length range of 55-200mm designed exclusively for Nikon DX format SLRs, this is an ideal 3.6X zoom lens for portraiture, sports or wildlife.
  • An excellent companion to the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED.
  • New compact rod-type Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-high speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and super-quiet operation.
  • Nikon Super Integrated Coating minimizes ghosting and flare to provide even higher contrast and more vivid images, even in challenging light conditions.
  • Two ED glass elements achieve minimized chromatic aberration and superior optical performance.
  • Focus Mode switch enables quick-switching between A (Autofocus) and M (Manual Focus).
  • 9-blade rounded diaphragm for more natural out-of-focus highlights.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 68 reviews)
98% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate colors(3), Easy to use(9), Fast shutter speed(3), Good battery life(3), Good value(3)
Cons:
Slow sensor(4)
Best Uses:
Art(35), Documentary(23), Everyday(3), Fun(51), Outdoors(5)
Describe Yourself:
Beginner(16), Casual user(19), Enthusiast(42), Professional(5)
 
All around high performance
By Kilted PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Gilbert, AZ on 4/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, CHILDREN, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I purchased this to get serious about my photo business. I was new to the DSLR world, but had worked with many film cameras in the past. I was looking for ease of use to get depth of field and control over lighting effects when I purchased this camera, and it has solidly delivered. I've tried other SLRs and while some may offer a few extra whizbangs, this camera's ease of use in any mode has made me fall in love with photography all over again.

Images shared by: Kilted Photography

Bird on Saguaro

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Dusk

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Best Camera I've ever used!!!
By 13 year old with a DSLRVerified Reviewer from Maple Valley, WA on 4/15/2008
Pros:
3 FPS, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Image overlay RAW, LIghtweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Can only use AF-S lens
Best Uses:
ANYTHING, Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I have used the Rebel XT, D40, D200, and the D40X.
I found the D200 to be to bulky and heavy. The Rebel XT has a super small LCD and is 8MP.
The D40 lacking megapixels and FPS.
And the D40X to be outstanding!
The D40X is the best camera i've ever used.
I found it to be small, lightweight, have a large LCD, extreame clairity and sharpness do to it's 10.2MP, and a exelent 3 frames per second (FPS).

Images shared by: 13 year old with a DSLR

close up with 18-55mm

Image Thumbnail

My brother on a CRF 450R shot with 55-200 VR

Image Thumbnail
 
LOVE THIS CAMERA
By V from Missouri on 4/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Autofocus slow sometimes
Best Uses:
Fun, Pre-Career, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

My husband had been wanting to get me a SLR camera for years because he knew I wanted to get into professional photography. Last May he decided because I had not gotten a Anniversary, Birthday or Valentines gift really in two years that he wanted to get me a really nice camera. After some research we found this one. [...]My husband works in Chicago and last summer I went all over the city taking pictures. My 6 older nieces love when I get it out and start snapping pictures. I hope to eventually take some professional lessons so that I can wein myself off of the presets, plus I can work on that stuff once I am done with school. 18 graduate hours does not leave me much time to play, but when I can I do. If you are in the market for a great camera, especially for a beginner who wants to take great pictures, then this is for you. Once you have it you will never want to live without it. If you buy at a Ritz or Wolfe store and if you get the same thing I did, but have not used...you will get 12 or 14 class coupons to take local classes on how to better operate your camera. I plan to take some this summer.

 
Worth the Investment
By Chris and LauraVerified Reviewer from Rochester, IN on 4/10/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Value for Price, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slight lag with Auto mode
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

My wife wanted to upgrade our digital camera from a point and shoot. We looked around at the various options of point and shoot and DSLR. We live in a rural area and so going to check out cameras is no small feat for us. We stopped by a Wolf Camera and checked out their myriad options. We decided on the Nikon 40X and LOVE IT. The quick response time, color saturation, ease of use, complete compatibility with Mac and Aperture (our digital photography software) is seamless. The two lens package, bag and memory cards are such a bonus for the price. No regrets!

Images shared by: Chris and Laura

Wallace and Wendolene enjoy their new Nikon 40X!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Fabulous!
By PrincessVerified Reviewer from Ft. Benning, GA on 3/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Only shoots thru viewfind
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Right now, I'm using this camera for personal/hobby use, but in a few months, it'll be used for a part-time business. I love most everything about this camera. It is definately well worth the investment. My photos are turning out perfect. My one regret is that you can only use the view finder to shoot the photos. That's just personal preference though. Other than that, it's fabulous! I'd highly recommend this to someone with an interest in 'real' photography!

Images shared by: Princess

Tulips... taken this morning!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

My puppy!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Wonderful digital camera
By Linda DVerified Reviewer from Torrance, CA on 2/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits shots, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Used to have a SLR years ago, then went through the standard point & shoot film to digital and my last digital camera was a step down from being a SLR digital. I had outgrown that and wanted an upgrade. The DVD vidoes helped me refresh my memory about various settings. Went shooting the first weekend and was very, very impressed. The costs was a bit to deal with at first but I got over it as soon as I saw the pics and ease of shooting. The only negative is that my belt buckle scratched the LCD monitor within the first 24 hours of ownership. It's still viewable, just gave you the same feeling of when you get the first ding in your new car. It's a great camera!

Images shared by: Linda D

Enjoying the Good Life at the Park

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Peeking down the neighborhood

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
AMAZING CAMERA!!
By Tylar Preece Photography from Tucson, AZ on 2/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

this is the best camera iv seen
takes very good quality portraits and landscapes and ALL photos

Images shared by: Tylar Preece Photography

Neice

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

A band concert

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Very Nice!!
By bikermanVerified Reviewer from Apopka, Florida on 2/9/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None to speak of
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Great for my family photos, also fun to use for outdoor landscapes. This camera is awesome. Thank you NIKON!!

 
Best Camera for the Money
By shutterbug from Lighthouse Point, FL on 2/7/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

The pics are fantastic with my Epson printer. Would highly purchase this again!!!!!!!!!

 
The D40X is an outstanding value
By PAWSVerified Reviewer from Ocala, FLorida on 1/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Broad menu, Comfortable Controls, Processor same as D80, Strong Construction, USER FRIENDLY, Variety of available lens
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Travel, Wildlife Website
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Purchased this unit because of the long list of available lenses, and the available "body armor" We give it a real daily workout taking pictures in extreme conditions for our wildlife website, [@]I have used the D80, which has exactly the same processor. The only very minor drawback to the D40 is the slightly longer lag, rarely a problem outdoors. THIS IS A GREAT BUY!

Images shared by: PAWS

Mt. LeConte in the Fall 2007

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Baby Eagle - Lake Powell - Panama City Beach FL 07

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
" Light, strong, and superb pictures"
By FreddieVerified Reviewer from Miami Florida on 1/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Light and user friendly, Nikon Schools, Quiet, Strong Construction, Wonderful technology
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Fun, Local competition, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

After owning a Nikon F for many years, I am so impressed with the advancements in this camera. It can do so much and does it with ease. You end up with sharp sharp pictures at an affordable price. Thank you Nikon.

 
So Glad I Bought this
By ericalmVerified Reviewer from jax, fl on 1/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

this is my first experience with a dslr camera, it is so easy to use. I am having a blast learning to use the different settings. This is an all around fun, great camera!

Images shared by: ericalm

South Holston Dam

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Girl loves her Ipod

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
So fun and super easy
By Peggy OVerified Reviewer from Keller TX on 1/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, family pics, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I love nature shots and this camera delivers beautiful shots every time in auto mode. The speed and ease are user friendly for any user. Nikon has taken the intimidation out of this camera.

 
I would buy this product again..love it
By KimVerified Reviewer from Lake, Michigan on 1/13/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Fun and easy, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I love this..I use it every day and it takes wonderful pictures

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon d40x amazing!
By LinVerified Reviewer from belmar, new jersey on 1/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I'm a photographer and i would like to say this camera is amazing! i love it and it also a great price!

 
Great Package
By New Digital owner from Dallas TX on 1/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy to use, Quiet, Trim controls are great
Cons:
Nothing
Best Uses:
Fun, Sporting events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Great package for the price. I was a diehard 35mm SLR and took time to move into Digital. I had the pocket digital, but researched a lot until decided on this outfit. Boy I am glad I did. Super easy to use in auto mode and with very little thought, picking the other settings is easy. Purchased just prior to going to a pro-football game. Charged the battery, attatched the 55-200 and started clcking away in sports mode. I was able to take action shots, crop them and they look amazing. Detail with this thing is awesome. The body is a little smaller then traditional SLR and may become awkward if attaching larger lenses, but for shooting kids sporting events, plays, b-days and holdays this is a great camera. Cant give it 5 stars yet, because still new to me, but getting there

 
Good camera, right of the box (package)
By BillVerified Reviewer from Boca Raton, FL on 12/30/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Out of the box (package) this was a gteat combo for me. It has been over 3 years since I used a SLR. I was back at it and having a great time with this package.

Images shared by: Bill

Outdoors at the Morikami Museum

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
D40X-better off saving for D80
By jkaelaVerified Reviewer from Dallas,TX on 12/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Cons:
Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

This camera seemed too slow for a DSLR. Performed better outdoors, but indoors, not much faster than much current point and shoot camera.

 
Works for me.........
By CluelessnPhoenix from Flagstaff, Arizona on 12/28/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Took it to Greece and Italy this summer. You really can't beat the ease of use. I'm looking for a new lens now.........

 
DON"T THINK TWICE!!!!!!!!!!!
By LindseyVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 12/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Professional Photography, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Do not think twice buy this camera I got the for xmas this year and it is amazing for its size i love and i know you will too!!!!!

 
Great Camera
By Buyit from Tampa, Fl on 12/24/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, LIghtweight
Cons:
What's not to like
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

This camera is great for taking pictures of the kids. Can get lots of shots quickly.

 
D40x SLR - Great Camrea
By KellyVerified Reviewer from Minneapolis, MN on 12/21/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Just bought this today for my husband, he is out to dinner and I am loving his Christmas gift. I recommend this as a gift for any digital photography enthusiast.

Images shared by: Kelly

Image Thumbnail
 
Speechless.
By beginphotoVerified Reviewer from virginia beach on 12/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Picture Quality, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

This Camera is amazing. it takes great picture quality and out does a canon right out of the box. it is a great design and performs well for what i know so far. I believe that it is a little slow, but you get what you pay for.

 
The Pictures She Takes Say it all.
By Fireman KenVerified Reviewer from Cheyenne Wy on 12/12/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Just right size for lady, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
no live view
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Growth of kids, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

It is so easy to use for a lady that loves to take pictures. The results are stunning and what makes her happy is a bonus for me.

Images shared by: Fireman Ken

Looking out my Window

Image Thumbnail

Tags: D-80 just purchased, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
One snap to high quality pictures
By Morgan the Aspiring ArchitectVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 11/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to carry around, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not too much to dislike, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Architectural models, Art, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

The Nikon D40x digital is a great camera. It has great performance and a sleek appearance. Quality is the most important outcome, and this camera creates the most high quality pictures I have ever taken.

 
Easy to Use after years away from SLR
By Sherri the TravelerVerified Reviewer from North Carolina on 11/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Good grip, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
No protective case
Best Uses:
Art, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Easy to use after years away from an SLR. The digital SLR has come a long way since the film SLR. The Nikon DVD makes it easy to understand the camera and refresh the memory on f stops, speed, depth of field. So easy to use. Love it.

Images shared by: Sherri the Traveler

Florida Trail

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
excellent camera
By x10coolVerified Reviewer from nm on 11/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

the best camera I have owned.
I had the camera for a week and taken all most 350 pic's on one battery charge . every thing from the moon to the flowers & tree's , it takes great pic of my four kid's and the full family.

 
great camera
By jonny from hoboken,nj on 11/23/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Shaky Operation
Best Uses:
Documentary, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

greatttt great great camera

 
Great buy!
By PaulVerified Reviewer from Griffin, GA on 11/21/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Bang for the buck, this is it.
Great camera at a fair price.

 
For a New Life
By Andie27 from Jakarta on 11/5/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

it's fantastic product...you can build anything with a new image of the world...thanks nikon...

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Only 1 Problem, the 55-200 zoom
By Slider from Vancouver, WA on 11/4/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, In general ok, Strong Construction
Cons:
barrel turn rough, Shaky Operation, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Maybe it is a general defect in teh 55-200 Zoom, maybe Nikon can check and do a possible improvement and replacement to current owners, other than than love, love the camera, very user friendly

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this camera!!!
By SandVerified Reviewer from Rochester Hills, MI on 10/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

This camera is easy to use. I love the light weight. I have had many digital cameras and this Nikon D40x is by far the best one I've owned!

 
What a Fantastic Camera
By A great investment!Verified Reviewer from Middletown, DE on 10/23/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Lens Change, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Big but that is expected
Best Uses:
Art, Family Family Family, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

The speed of Picture taking is a huge factor when you have 4 energetic children who barely stop for a moment. The Nikon products have been favored in our family for a few years now and the addition of our D40X is sure to add thousands of memories to the digital collection! Well worth the money spent.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I LIKE IT!!!
By tommytVerified Reviewer from Poughkeepsie, NY on 10/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Complicated controls, Price
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I went to Paris last March & decided that my point/shoot just wasn't enough for my newfound enthusiasm for photography, so I decided to upgrade. So far, this camera's been great, I love the pics I've taken w/it. Probably a few too many controls to memorize for the amateur like me but I know I just need to practice more often! Still, I love this camera! Probably paid more than I orig wanted to but I'm more than pleased I did! Now I can't wait to get back on the streets of Paris!

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
PERFECT DONE
By SUCCESSVerified Reviewer from Akinwale Fabunmi, FL on 10/16/2007
Pros:
Easy to Operate, Small Lag Time
Cons:
No comment
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Good for indoor & outdoor, Travel
Describe Yourself:
I can do without a Camera
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

The camera is good and easy to operate as i 've said earlier with the range of it lens, the sharpiness is great and nothing is bad about it. PERFECT.

 
Absolutly Amazing
By JaredVerified Reviewer from Covington, Virginia on 10/7/2007
Pros:
LIghtweight, Stylish, Unique
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Pre-Career
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

This camera is amazing. It has all of the qualities you need, and none yuo dont. It's everything you can want or need. This camera is lightweight, sleek, stylish, and is "easy-to-use".
I have nothing negative to say about it. What can I say, it's simply amazing.

 
very light and takes excellent pics
By bulldawgVerified Reviewer from orlando,fl on 10/7/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Can't take pic from lcd
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

this is a great camera. very light so we added the armor to protect it and it gives a nice feel to it. the only con is not being able to use the lcd instead of the viewfinder to take pics. the pics come out clear and colorful. we are very happy with this camera!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful!
By Erin, PhotographerVerified Reviewer from Crawfordsville, IN on 10/2/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Clarity, Comfortable Controls, Ease of use, Quiet, SHARP IMAGES, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Nothing it's all great
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I was a little hesistant about committing so much $ to a camera. But I'm in the process of starting my own business and it was time for an upgrade. After my first shoot with this camera, I am 100% sold on it! I absolutely love it! It is the best camera I have owned! I look forward to many shoots with this camera, it is wonderful!!

Images shared by: Erin, Photographer

Wonderful Macro

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Picture Perfect

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great pics so far, can't wait to learn
By Andy, Web DeveloperVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, MD on 9/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

This camera has been great so far, only had it a few days. Want to take tons of pictures of my family and of my dogs. Looks great, sleek design, quality is wonderful, if only I can get better @ understanding the controls...I will with time.

Definitely a nice piece of equipment from amateur to semi-pro.

Images shared by: Andy, Web Developer

Our dachshund puppy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

My boss' Lab/Bassett Hound mix

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Just a Novice
By JudeVerified Reviewer from Florida on 9/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to start with, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I received my order. Working full time, attending school, etc. doesn't leave me much time to watch dvd's or read instructions, however, the camera is easy enough to jump right in and start taking pictures. I believe it is a great starting point for anyone who wants to get into photography at their own pace.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Only cameras can judge me.
By candace the menis from raleigh, north carolina on 9/17/2007
Pros:
Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Getting started

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I LOVE WOLF CAMERAS!!! I encourage everbody to buy one!!!!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great place to break into the SLR camp
By Tony GVerified Reviewer from Chelmsford MA on 9/14/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
55-200mm lens
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

This combo offer was a great deal. I have been out of the SLR world for several years and the D40x was where I decided to jump back in at.

I am still playing around with it and getting used to the controls and the menu navigation but so far it seems fairly simple. I would place this camera somewhere between my Pentax K1000se and my Pentax me. You can have total control, or let the camera automate everything for you. My test shots so far have shown me that the D40x is capable of great shots either way. I made a 5mp jump from my Olympus, WOW, what a difference. Crazy sharp & detailed pics. The LCD is WOW bright & sharp, even seems pretty bright even in daylight. The viewfinder is just as sharp & clear. Others here have complained that it is dark, but I don't find it any darker than my old cameras. I will get an eye cup to put on it though just to make it a bit sharper & brighter.

As for any cons... I find the lenses, especially the 55-200 to have a rough feeling when turning the zoom barrel. And the lenses just don't have that solid feel to them. I think in their quest to lighten the lens they compromised function & quality. I think Nikon may of skimped on these made in china lenses. Not what I am used to from my older solid Pentax lenses. The camera itself is a bit smaller than film SLR's. I have small hands and find that my left hand has a hard time finding just the right spot to rest the body/lens in. This really isn't a big deal to me, but I know that it may be to others. The body isn't as solid feeling as my older film SLR's, but I am not as solid as I used to be either ;> Lastly, I do sort of miss having a depth of field preview button. I don't understand why Nikon couldn't put one on? I am sure I will get by without!

Just so you know my knowledge/experience level I have had several cameras over the years, Pentax K1000se, Pentax ME, Pentax p3, Richo & Konica viewfinder cameras and a Rooleiflex large format and lastly an Olympus C5000 "pocket" digital.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera and Service
By PhotoCrazyVerified Reviewer from Gardner, KS on 9/13/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I decided to upgrade from a point and shoot SLR like camera due to the shutter speed.[...]I love this camera, so far I have taken shots of soccer games, our new house we are building, and general pictures and everything turns out great. I love the fact that I can pick a shot and click I take it, unlike my SLR like which was a 50/50 shot at a picture being taken or such long lag times that the opportunity was missed.[...]I highly reccomend this camera for any first time user, it is very easy to use and takes great pictures.

 
A Great SLR Camera for the Biginner.
By Mark_edwVerified Reviewer from Naperville, IL on 9/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Useful features, Very good photo quality
Cons:
Missing dust reduction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

This is a great camera for someone who wants to get into SLR cameras. It's very easy and user friendly for the novice. It's fully automatic for someone who doesn't quite understand all the manually settings yet. Once you learn and pratice all the manual settings, this camera is even better.
This camera does lack a few features that other cameras in the similar class, but I never missed them. This has been a great SLR camera and now I'm ready upgrade into a more professional camera.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic camera for the price range
By GrapesodaVerified Reviewer from SLC, UT on 9/4/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Compact, LIghtweight, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

"This Camera takes amazing pictures. It is very user freindly."

Images shared by: Grapesoda

Sample Photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Sample Photo2

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fanastic camera!
By SteffyVerified Reviewer from Westminster, CO on 8/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I love, love, love this camera. I wanted something more powerful to take great pictures of my son. I got it all in this camera. At first I was intimadated to use it, but that went all out the window after a few hours playing around with it. I can't wait to learn the in's and out's and purchase more lenses. You definately will not be disappointed in this camera!

Images shared by: Steffy

Image Thumbnail

this one is my favorite so far

Image Thumbnail

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Cool, Very Fun, Very Easy
By jjm229Verified Reviewer from Logansport, IN on 8/23/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Capture Moments Vividly, Documentary, Earn to pay for it, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I started with the old standard nothing automatic but since have delved into the digital relam from 1.0 megapixel to 12 megapixel and microsoft paint to photoshop cs, i can control every aspect of my photography from the push of the button to the final editing and prints. This camera is a wonderful addition for shutterbugs at any level who want to begin an adventure in picture taking or earn money shooting weddings or birthdays for friends and family, or even dare i say it express their personal art, with vivid color and complete control to imagine, construct, develop & display!

 
I LOVE THIS CAMERA
By GAPEACHVerified Reviewer from OCILLA, GA on 8/20/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I LOVE THIS CAMERA THE BEST MOVE I MADE. WOULD RECOMMEND THIS CAMERA TO ALL MY FAMILY & FRIENDS.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love NIKON - great camera!
By Wannabe1Verified Reviewer from B.G., IL on 8/18/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Flash a little slow
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

It's what Nikon is best for. I'd buy another one as a spare

Images shared by: Wannabe1

07 4th of July

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

Nature @ it's best

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best camera ever...
By Harlan HilmanVerified Reviewer from Seattle on 8/14/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, the best camera ever
Cons:
dvd training is not good
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

This camera is going to help you to get the brilliant picture with little bit understanding how the camera works. I always recomend this camera to people. [...]

Images shared by: Harlan Hilman

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love It!!!!
By jaynec89 from Warroad, MN on 8/6/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to Operate, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

My pervious camera was a point and shoot so I was apprehensive about using a SLR because they seem so intimidating. But I simply love this camera. It is very easy to use and the picture quality is amazing. I would recommend this camera to anyone. It’s lightweight and small for an SLR. I also love the fact that I can capture a photo exactly when I want it to, not 3 seconds later like my point and shoot camera. I have had the camera for 2 months and I have probably taken 6,000+ pictures. This camera is a must have!

 
I'm sure I'll come to love it....
By StJala PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Gardner, MA on 7/31/2007
Pros:
Fast Startup, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Earn $$ to pay for it, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Coming from a point-and-shoot to this was a bit intimidating. I was taught photography the old-school way from taking the pictures to developing the film and prints....but just couldn't get past trying to take pictures through a tiny view finder. Then came digital and I've jumped back into photography with enthusiasm...I absolutely loved being able to take pictures just simply by pointing the camera instead of pulling the camera up to my eye, squinting into it, trying to find your subject and then make the adjustments you want/need and then snap the picture. I know this can function completely on the Auto setting, but if this is the type of photography you are looking for, save yourself $600 and get a high-end full digital. With all that being said, this really is a "real" photographers camera and I can see the superior quality in the pictures. I'm sure I'll grow to love it and wonder why I ever settled for a full digital.....I hope.

 
Amazing!!
By amceVerified Reviewer from Cuernavaca, Mexico on 7/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

It´s so simple to get amazing photos. We´ve had lots of fun with it.

Images shared by: amce

How fun is this?

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
**MY FIRST SLR**
By A THE MOMVerified Reviewer from NORTH CAROLINA on 7/25/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, KIDS, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, GONNA BE TAKING MORE PICS
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

THE IS MY FIRST SLR, WITHOUT READING THE BOOK, I CHARGED BATTERY AND STARTED TO LEARN. I WAS AMAZED AT THE EASE OF USE AND THE CLARITY OF THE PICS. THIS CAMERA DEFINITELY MAKES ME WANT TO TAKE LOTS MORE PICS THAN BEFORE. I FEEL LIKE THIS WAS MADE FOR ME.

Images shared by: A THE MOM

2 OF MY CATS

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

NEPHEW OF MINE

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Fantastic Camera
By GWDave1997Verified Reviewer from Enfield, CT. on 7/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Picked it up just before going on a camping trip with the Grandson, did not have the time to read all the directions so just settled for the quick setup. Spent time over the weekend reading when time permitted. Bought the SB-600 flash unit along with the package. What a great combination.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love my D40x Nikon Camera!
By Nikon girl behind the best camera from Raleigh, NC on 7/20/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Lightweight and easy held, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
No top status display
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel, Weddingsevents
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I absolutely love the Nikon D40x camera! The pictures are sharp and the camera is easy to hold due to the lightweighted body. The outfit package was a great deal that included lots of extras. I'm just excited to have made this purchase!

 
I Love my new Nikon D40x
By StacyVerified Reviewer from Jordan, MN on 7/17/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I absolutley love my new nikon D40x. I scrapbook for my 2 kids and family and the pictures it takes will make my scapbook memories all the more better. I can't wait to add new lenses, filters, etc. to it and make my memories last a life time. I feel it is excellent quality and it is user friendly

Images shared by: Stacy

My Daughter at her nearball game

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

Taking a close up of my 4 year old son

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome D40x
By Adrianpnoy69Verified Reviewer from Rancho Cucamonga, Ca on 7/16/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I love this camera.. I had a hard time choosing which one to get between the Canon XTi, Sony Alpha 100 and the Nikon D40. I choose this one because of the 10mp which helps out wonderfully when cropping. I thought I wouldnt be cropping so thats why i almost got the D40 but i just got this one just in case i would and guess what I do more cropping than expected. Its a great camera to start off with.. has plenty of features and options to mess around with to... its a great camera and totally recommend it..

Images shared by: Adrianpnoy69

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
So Amazing, Makes a Beginner a Pro!
By SarahVerified Reviewer from Hernando, MS on 7/11/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Everything, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

In 2 days, I have taken over 800 pictures. I have a family of owls on my property and have been trying to photograph the baby for weeks. My point and shoot 4x zoom just wouldn't get it. I couldn't get close enough. This camera is so good I can get awesome pictures even without the flash. It is quiet enough I can get within 20 ft. of the owlet and not scare him off. I took it to the zoo the 2nd day I had it. Absolutely amazing photos. Some of them looked like National Geographic photos - and it's not me, it’s the camera that did that. This is the best camera I have ever owned. Nikon has made a great product. It's lightweight. I carried the camera, bag and 2 lenses around all day at the zoo with no problem. The picture clarity is unbelievable. Inside the aquarium with the flash off - picked up on the tank’s lighting. What you see through the view finder is what you get. It processes pictures quickly. I have a 2G memory card and even with over 600 photos on it there’s no lag time during continuous shooting. If you are reading this wondering like I was if you should buy this camera - YOU SHOULD! You won’t be disappointed.

Images shared by: Sarah

Simple Beaty

Image Thumbnail

Tags: First Picture, Using Product

The Owlet

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Excellent camera
By EarlVerified Reviewer from Columbia, SC on 7/7/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Upgraded and was not intimidated. Great and easy to use

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
You Need This Camera!!!
By BullittVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 7/3/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
No weather protection
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Had for 4 Days
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Great camera for the price. Good kit lens too.

Images shared by: Bullitt

My Cat Nikon 18-55 DX

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Full Moon 6-30-07 Nikon 55-200 DX VR

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Everything I thought it would be!
By Boca CarrieVerified Reviewer from Boca Raton, FL on 6/27/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

This is a great Camera. It is everything I thought it would be and more. It was like Christmas in June when I got it.
Great quality-Crystal clear photos

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent camera!
By Jennifer ForeacreVerified Reviewer from Lancaster, Pennsylvania on 6/26/2007
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I upgraded to the Nikon D40 after five years of using point and shoot cameras. I chose the Nikon D40 based on its great reviews, extensive selection of accessories, and the chance of using my mother's Nikon D40x and loving the pictures it produced.I got a Nikon D40 bundle - the camera body, two lenses, a Nikon gadget bag and two instructional DVDs for a great price[...]. I have now had the camera for a little over two weeks, and I can't put it down! I've taken close to 2,000 photos, and I have no plans on stopping any time soon. I can't get enough of being able to take shots of my two children - a constantly on the move baby and a busy toddler - and having them come out with no blur, no grain.The camera is very easy to use, it takes pictures of what I want, focuses on what I want it to focuses on, and best of all: it responds instantly!I love, love LOVE this camera. If/when I do upgrade, it'll be to another Nikon - probably the D80!

Images shared by: Jennifer Foreacre

My ten month old son - great details!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Myself and my ten month old son - crisp colors!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This camera really is fabulous!
By carolhamedVerified Reviewer from Lancaster, PA on 6/23/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Can add accessories, Easy to Use, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Complicated Controls, Not all lenses auto, Somewhat difficult menus
Best Uses:
Everyday, Family, Just about anything imagi, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

After reading reviews of this camera in various photography magazines and online sources; I decided to go and check it out for myself at a Ritz store. It has received very impressive reviews that certainly impressed me. I am not a pro by any means, but I am better than just the occasional snap shot. And, as such I wanted better both in and for my camera. I really believe that Nikon has really delivered in this camera. You can achieve truly excellent photos with this camera as an entry level semi-pro DSLR. I have owned an excellent F-series Nikon from 30 years ago and boy, what creative freedom one has with going digital vs. film!
Other than having to manually focus with lenses that are not designated AF-S (which to me is not a big deal), you have a vast array of Nikon lenses, filters, etc that can be used with this camera to achieve any type of photo desired.
I highly recommend this camera to anyone as it is very easy to use and takes gorgeous photos.
My only complaint is that to me (perhaps it's a personal issue) the menus and sub- menus are at times difficult to use.
Bottom line is, I highly recommend this camera to anyone.

Images shared by: carolhamed

Just relaxing

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, With UV filter on

Just a day out at the park

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Also with a UV filter on

 
My first day with my first SLR
By awksedgreepVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 6/23/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Here are some photos from the D40x that I purchased today.

I went to a fireworks show and couldn't seem to force it to take photos in low light. I'm sure there's a setting which would allow me to take pictures of a dark sky, but I couldn't find it.

Anyway, that was the only thing I had trouble doing and it's my first day. I love this thing.

The quality is fantastic.

Images shared by: awksedgreep

Silly boy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Checkers Mate!??

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Thrilled with my new Nikon D40X
By Beth the novice photographerVerified Reviewer from Chattanooga, TN on 6/17/2007
Pros:
Good Value
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I had bought my first digital camera last year and fell in love with picture taking all over again. I wanted to get a better camera so I went to my beloved [...] web site and started doing my research. This camera won hands down for price, for easy to use, for size etc. If [...] says it's a good camera I believe them. I have to say I'm having a GREAT time with it and have not found any negatives to say about it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
D40x 2 lens kit
By Mike the HobbyistVerified Reviewer from Vancouver, WA on 6/4/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Nature
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

Not all AF lenses work in AF mode, Test before buying. Excellent product

Images shared by: Mike the Hobbyist

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lightweight, smaller and great photos
By gozziVerified Reviewer from New Orleans on 5/12/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to use, Good Value, High Quality, Smaller
Cons:
Can't use all AF lenses
Best Uses:
Travelling
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x Digital SLR Two-Lens Bonus Outfit (18-55/55-200) - Includes FREE Gadget Bag and DVDs:

I bought this camera because it is smaller and lighter and I carry it when I travel. Moving from an N70 to this I really appreciated the difference after hiking in the Grand Canyon. However, when I bought the camerra I was not aware that I would have to manually focus the lenses I had for the N70. I love that it uses SD cards which I have from a point and shoot camera. Great camera but be aware of the lenses.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.