Buy the D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens image
 
(based on 35 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Incredible Pictures....Even Easier!

Beauty and passion. Color and motion. Do you see these things in your life? With the Nikon D40x, you will. With its fast responses, vibrant color and unmatched Nikkor lens quality, you?ll always be ready to capture the wonder of life in a big way. And with 10.2-megapixel resolution, you?ll be able to enlarge or crop your pictures without losing image quality. The D40x is small, compact, portable and designed to enhance the entire camera experience, with every feature, button and menu working together for a smooth, seamless performance that brings out the best in you and your images. Why? Because life is a work of art, and your life is a masterpiece in progress. Capture it perfectly, with the D40x.

Welcome to the World of Nikon Digital

Extraordinary Nikon Image Quality The D40x''s high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon''s high-performance 10.2 effective megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image-processing engine, assuring stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon''s Smallest Digital SLR Ever! Beautifully styled, the D40x makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever. You''ll be amazed at the power packed into a camera that weighs just over 16 ounces.

High-Performance 10.2 Megapixel Nikon DX Format CCD Imaging Sensor - Nikon?s DX Format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 24 x 36 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

Fast Startup with Instant Shutter Response - A fast 0.18 second startup combined with split-second shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 3 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 3 Frames per Second - The D40x can fire continuously at a speed of up to 3 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

2.5-Inch, 230,000-Dot Color LCD Monitor with 170-Degree Wide-Angle Viewing - Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts with easy-to-view menus.

3 Colorful Display Options - All new display options: Classic, Graphic and Wallpaper. Carefully designed color schemes help make changing camera settings easier than ever.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL Automatic Flash Control - Nikon''s innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready and brings beautiful exposures in darkened conditions, as well as adding sparkle for fill flash in outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images. In low-light or back-light situations, added illumination from the built-in Speedlight can make the difference between an average snapshot and a dazzling picture.

8 Digital-Vari Program Automatic Shooting Modes - Eight Digital Vari-Program Modes include: Auto Flash-OFF, Portrait, Landscape, Child, Sports, Close Up and Night Portrait; each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results for everyday shooting situations. Each mode considers lighting conditions and possibilities, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, hue, tone, sharpening and more to make creative photography as simple as rotating the mode dial.

In-Camera Image Editing - Highly versatile in-camera editing features through the Retouch Menu include Nikon D-Lighting, Red-Eye Correction, Image Trim, Image Overlay, Monochrome (Black and White, Sepia and Cyanotype) along with Skylight, Warm Tone and Color Balance filter effects. This provides greater creative freedom without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

New Advanced HELP Menu System with Assist Images - The D40x''s newly introduced Assist Images help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting, as well as an advanced HELP Menu for the current item selected. The D40x''s Question Mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item; just press the HELP button beside the LCD monitor to see a context-sensitive HELP page.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II - The D40x''s 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes. The result delivers instantly and precisely determined exposures for each scene, even in challenging lighting conditions.

Fast, Accurate 3-Area Autofocus - The D40x''s advanced 3-Area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise Autofocus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Image Optimization Options - The D40x''s Image Optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening, as well as other image settings, according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: Normal, Softer, Vivid, More Vivid, Portrait, Custom and Black and White, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Up to 520 Images* per Battery Charge - The supplied EN-EL9 rechargeable battery will allow for shooting up to 520 images per charged based on CIPA battery testing standards.

Nikon D40x Key Features, Advantages and Benefits
Feature or Technology Advantage and/or Benefit
Extraordinary Nikon image quality The D40X offers high-resolution image capture, made possible by exclusive algorithms incorporated into the Nikon Image Processing Engine. Additional Nikon technologies are applied to further ensure exceptional image quality and appearance, producing pictures exhibiting exceptional detail, with breathtaking color, across a wide dynamic range of picture-taking conditions.
Easy operation with intuitive controls The D40X was carefully designed to make even first-time digital SLR users successful. The newly designed graphic user interface, help menus, and the ability to leapfrog through menu options work simultaneously to make the D40X truly easier to use. The D40x''s intuitive design and compactness make photography fast, easy and fun!
Smallest Nikon 10.2-megapixel digital SLR ever! Beautifully styled and compact, the D40X makes using a digital SLR camera (and digital SLR picture-taking advantages) easier and more convenient than ever. The most compact Nikon 10.2-megapixel digital SLR ever, the D40xfits the hand perfectly, with a well-balanced design and grip to ensure easy access to controls.
High-performance 10.2-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor Nikon''s DX Format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, ideal for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 20 x 24 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides substantially more freedom for creative cropping.
Fast startup with instant shutter response The D40X offers a power-up time of a mere 0.18 seconds and a near instant shutter response. Instant power-up means that the D40X is ready when the user is ready?as soon as the camera is turned on. Super-fast shutter response allows decisive moments to be captured perfectly, without annoying shutter lag. The D40X is ready to capture life''s events and fleeting moments as they happen.
Shoot at up to 3 frames per second The D40X can fire continuously at a speed of up to 3 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.
In-Camera Image Editing Highly versatile in-camera editing features include Nikon D-Lighting, Red-Eye Correction, Image Trimming, Image Overlay, Monochrome (Black and White, Sepia and Cyanotype), along with Skylight, Warm Tone and Color Balance filter effects. This provides greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.
New advanced HELP menu system with Assist Images The D40x''s newly introduced "Assist Images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting, as well as an advanced HELP Menu for the current item selected. The D40x''s Q icon indicates that help is available for the currently selected item; just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context-sensitive help page.
Fast, accurate 3-Area Autofocus The D40x''s advanced 3-area AF system along with the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras, deliver fast, efficient and precise autofocus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.
2.5-inch, 230,000-dot color LCD monitor with 170-degree wide-angle viewing Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor allows for 170-degree wide-angle viewing, enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well.
3 colorful display options The D40X has three all-new display options; Classic, Graphic and Wallpaper, with carefully created color schemes that are designed to help make changing camera settings easier than ever.
Image Optimization options The D40x''s Image Optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: Normal, Softer, Vivid, More Vivid, Portrait, Custom and Black and White, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.
Built-in Flash with i-TTL automatic flash control Nikon''s innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in flash is always at the ready and brings beautiful exposures in darkened conditions, while adding sparkle for fill flash in outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images. In low-light or back-light situations, added illumination from the built-in flash can make the difference between an average snapshot and a dazzling picture.
Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. Its bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.
Automatic exposure with 8 Digital Vari-Program Modes Eight Digital Vari-Program Modes include: Auto Flash-Off, Portrait, Landscape, Child, Sports, Close Up, or Night Portrait, each of which adjust automatically for optimal results under varied conditions. Each mode considers lighting conditions and possibilities, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, hue, tone, sharpening and more to make creative photography as simple as rotating the mode dial.
Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II The D40x''s 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes. The result delivers instant and precisely determined exposures for each scene, even in challenging lighting conditions.

AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED

The AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED is a versatile zoom lens created for a broad range of consumers ranging from occasional weekend snap-shooters to the avid photo enthusiast. It is an ultra-compact, lightweight standard zoom lens with a 3x zoom range that is ideal for everyday photography. With a popular 18-55mm focal length range, the lens can be conveniently used to photograph everything from wide angle landscapes to portraits and is well suited for use at parties, on vacation, and other occasions.

  • Ideal as a normal lens designed exclusively for Nikon DX format SLRs, this ultra-compact 18-55mm 3X zoom provides superb versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.
  • New compact rod-type Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-high speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and super-quiet operation.
  • ED glass element achieves minimized chromatic aberration and superior optical performance.
  • Hybrid aspherical element ensures high resolution and contrast.
  • Focus Mode switch enables quick-switching between A (Autofocus) and M (Manual Focus).
  • 7-blade rounded diaphragm for more natural out-of-focus highlights.
  • Nikon Super Integrated Coating minimizes ghosting and flare to provide even higher contrast and more vivid images, even in challenging light conditions.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 35 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate colors(8), Easy to use(4), Great resolution(9), Large clear LCD(20), Nice features and settings(7)
Best Uses:
Art(13), Documentary(10), Everyday(8), Fun(25), Low light(5)
Describe Yourself:
Beginner(7), Casual user(9), Enthusiast(24), Professional(5)
 
We love taking pictures now!!
By 3boyztoloveVerified Reviewer from va on 2/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

We bought this camera to go to Hawaii on vacation. It did so well at taking casual shots of our kids playing on the beach, great action shots of dolphins jumping, and amazing close-ups of exotic flowers. We felt like professionals immediately!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera, Great Warranty
By MattVerified Reviewer from Humble, TX on 2/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Upgradable, Versatile
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I use this camera for just about everything. Weddings, family get togethers, concerts, plays, outdoor nature shots, traveling. I went ahead and bought UV lens filters for my camera lenses to protect them from dust and scratches. Whatever you do, buy the warranty with this camera. I had the unfortunate opportunity to use this warranty. I dropped my camera in a river while on a rainforest/waterfall tour in Tobago. Actually, I fell in like a big dummy. Rocks can get slippery. Anyway, Ritz repaired/replaced my camera equipment with no questions asked and it's as good as new! Trust me, I never planned to dunk [$] worth of gear in a river and I'm not a clutz, but sometimes your luck just runs out. It's a great camera and I will say that the lens that comes with it is very nice for 'across the room' distances. You will want to get a 70mm-300mm VR lens, eventually. It makes this camera even better. It's great for those concert shots when you're maybe 30-50 yards away. It reaches out there and puts you on stage with them!

Images shared by: Matt

The Beautiful Rainforests of Tobago

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Pic taken using the D40X

The Argyle Waterfall in Tobago

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Pic taken using the D40X

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
More than I Thought LOVE IT!!!
By Scrapbooking mom!!!Verified Reviewer from Evansville, IN on 2/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Everything I have used the camera for so far has been great. I just switched from a digital point and shoot Lumix and I have always had a problem with adj. the color for the room. Panasonic couldn't even help. We went today to a childrens museum and went in the water area that is darker and my pictures were great and with my other they were either dark or red no matter what I tried. Opened it, charged it, and I was ready to go!!!

 
Great Camera that Takes Super Photos!
By DuqcopVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/29/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Perfect for anyone, Small Lag Time
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Although I'm a casual user, I do know what I like to see in a photograph. I like to experiment with light, color and depth and this camera lets me do it all. I've probably taken 5,000 pictures and the only bad photos were the ones that I screwed up myself.

Images shared by: Duqcop

Chihuly Glass Exhibit

Image Thumbnail

Downtown Pittsburgh Light-up Night

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Everyone can be a pro,
By teddy tanVerified Reviewer from manila, philippines on 1/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Nikon Dx-40 is top of the line at no frills price. I would have given it a five star: perfect camera rating for its real value for money. Except for one slight absence of feature -- you couldn't use its LCD as viewfinder.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't Buy Cheap ....D40X is Awesome!
By ScottVerified Reviewer from Toledo, Ohio on 1/10/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Custom Settings, Fast shutter and focus, Nice features and settings, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not One
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel, Use for any photo event
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I use this camera for everything. I want to take it with me wherever I go because I don't want to miss any photo op. Takes pictures so fast you won't believe it's digital. Blow a pic up to 8 x 10 and it looks fantastic. Don't let cost stop you because for what you get it is well worth the extra [$] over the best point and shoot digital out there. In a couple years you will become dissatisfied with it and buy another that is just a newer version of the same old thing. Besides, the D40X does point and shoot better than a point and shoot does. Believe me when I say this. I've been through several of them and was never completely satisfied. I don't think the D80 is worth the extra few hundred for only a slightly beefier feature set. This is the last camera I will buy for a long long time. Period. I thought that it was built better and had better balance than the Rebel XTI also. I can't say that the feature set is better or not. The XTI is front heavy and felt like it would tilt forward when I tried it out.

Images shared by: Scott

Shhhh, Apollo's sleeping!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
There is nothing easier to use.
By JB, new to DSLRVerified Reviewer from San Ramon, CA on 12/19/2007
Pros:
ease of use for strarters
Cons:
small for my hands
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I convinced myself to get a new camera for the Christmas season. I'm really new to DSLR's so I went to Ken Rockwell's site and got some info. Ken was right on the money recommending this camera (thanks Ken). I used this camera right out of the box (until I had to charge the battery completely). While waiting for the battery to charge I watched the Nikon school videos (35 minutes compared to an eternity reading the manual) and was amazed as to the potential of the camera. I drove 40 miles to Treasure Island with my family that night. I took pictures of the San Francisco skyline as my backgound and I was amazed that I was able to make such photos (thanks Bob Krist). I had to take them out to dinner in San Francisco just so that I could take pictures of them and the scenery. The Help button was, well, for a lack of a better word, helpful. I love this function. I cannot wait to take more pictures and experiment. Even the advanced modes are easy to understand even for a not so advanced person like me operating the camera. I initially bought a D80 but when my wife tried to take pictures with it, she found the D80 to be too heavy. I was getting the hang of it having it for 3 days but had to return it so that my wife could also be comfortable using the camera. For a beginner, I had no regrets returning the D80, I thought it was too much camera for me. I should have figured that out earlier but oh well. [...] If you are new to the DSLR scene like me go ahead and get the D40x. I cannot say enough of it (until its price drops next month- like all cameras do).

 
This is too easy to use!!!
By JB new to this. from San Ramon, CA on 12/19/2007
Pros:
All the features
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

BEST FOR: A demanding wife who wants good photos and a new camera. My wife told me that we needed to replace our point and shoot. She was already embarrassed that I would bring a 5 year old paper weight to parties since all our friends would bring their nice tiny point and shoot with them and I would be lugging around a camera the size of a brick. I think she must have dunked it in water intentionally but it the camera died while I was in the process of taking a picture. Needing a camera and having always wanted to take good pictures of my son goofing around and playing sports I decided to get a digital SLR. Well, I went to [@], read tons of advise and this is the gem I got. Believe it or not I got a D80 at first. After tinkering around with the D80, my wife (again) got her hands on it and told me she would not be able to use this since it was too heavy (I told her that she never takes the pictures anyway but that's a different story). I went back to Ritz (love the customer service by the way) and did an exchange with ease. I thought the D80 was too much camera for me anyway.So, I got my hands on the D40X, took it out of the box and started taking pictures with ease (until the battery died and had to fully charge it). I should have dunked my old point and shoot in the water myself sooner if I had known this was how awesome the photos I could take with the D40X. I'm only getting started so the D80 would have been too much camera for me. I watched the Nikon School videos while waiting for the battery to charge. A thirty minute video (was easier than reading the manual) was all I needed to just get me started. I drove 40 miles to Treasure Island to get a photo with the San Francisco skyline at night as a background using the effects and settings demonstrated on the video (son and wife included on the pictures of course) and the photos were amazing. It could not have been easier. I cannot wait for the rain to stop so I could go out and figure out for myself what other photos I can create with the help of this camera. This camera is idiot proof. The help funtions help me out when I need to figure out what the best configuration is for a certain type of shot I need (needless to say is most of the time). It's just a little on the small side for me but the pictures that I take makes more than enough compensation.

 
TOTALY AWSOME CAMERA
By LKVerified Reviewer from PA on 12/15/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
NO PET EYE REDUCTION
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Love this camera. Enlargements are not distorted. Outside or inside these pictures come out great. The only downfall I found is that red eye does not correct pet eye. Wish I would have bought this camera first before wasting money on others.

Images shared by: LK

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
I love this camera
By osograndeVerified Reviewer from Ogden, UT on 12/13/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy to use and learn, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Architectural, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I bought this camera to take architectural photos as well as interior photos of homes. So far it has been great to use. I am just getting started learning how to use it and it has been pretty easy. I love the help feature that explains what certain functions do. The quality of the pictures is excellent and I have not seen anything that I don't like about the camera, other than the LCD screen being a little exposed. Overall it is a great camera and I am excited to continue to learn more about how to use it and all of its features.

 
EASY TO USE - CRYSTAL CLEAR PICS
By Running Care BearVerified Reviewer from Woodbury, MN on 12/9/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Memory card not included
Best Uses:
Children action shots, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I take a ton of pictures of my family and pets inside and outdoors. Shutter speed is so much faster than smaller non-SLR cameras. Pictures print out crystal clear and are easy to manipulate on computer software. I'm not a techie, but even I was able to take the camera out of the box and start taking pictures by the time the battery was done charging. Great camera for the money.

 
THE CHOICE I MADE
By LOCKVerified Reviewer from AROUND PHILA PA. on 11/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
I HAVE NOT FOUND THEM YET
Best Uses:
ALL AROUND, Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I WORKED FOR MANY YEARS WITH NIKON SLR N8008S AND F4 AFTER TAKING A FEW YEARS OFF I HAVE TO CATCH UP WITH THE NEW TECH WORLD STARTED SHOOTING DIGITAL FOR ALL MY JOBS AND THE D40X IS A GREAT CAMERA FOR A OLD PRO GOING HIGH TECH

 
Extremely pleased!
By ShawnVerified Reviewer from East Tennessee on 11/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Ease of use, Good Battery Life, Great Pictures, Value for money
Cons:
None yet
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I am extremely satisfied with this purchase. The camera has exceeded my expectations [...]I am able to take pictures of indoor sporting events without using a flash and the results are impressive.

 
GREAT CAMERA!!!
By Stacey< from Malakoff, TX on 11/28/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I do weddings and family portraits and it is great! Its fast a gives clear pictures.

 
LOVE IT!!!
By PatrickVerified Reviewer from Goochland, VA on 11/18/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

After much research I decided to purchase the Nikon D40X. What a camera!!! My son plays soccer and we bought it just in time for the tournament. We got so many wonderful shots of all the kids. We couldn't ask for a better camera. We also plan to take my daughter's senior portraits ourselves and we can't wait!!! I would recommend this camera to anyone.

 
Best and Easiest SLR I have ever used!
By Mary from Geneva, IL on 11/18/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I bought this camera for my husbands birthday, and the photos we have taken with this camera are professional quality...I took a picture of our little neighbor and our new puppy and people I showed it to thought it was done by a professional (something I definately am not!)...I love this camera so much that I am buying one for my daughter in college too!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Value - Fantastic Performance
By RFamily Photog from Friendswood, TX on 11/14/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Editing capability, Quick response, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Software, Strong Construction, USER FRIENDLY
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Film SLR Convert, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I researched digital SLR's to death and decided I wanted the Nikon D80, but it was cost prohibitive. When a professional photographer friend of mine (who's prof. Nikon is supplied by our employer)bought the Nikon D40X for his personal use, I was sold. This is by far the best value for the incredible quality and ease of use. I was a Film SLR user for many years and was skeptical of the digital quality. This camera exceeds my expectations. Even a first time SLR user can use this camera with ease. The menu is extremely useful. Ready to use right out of the box. I love it, love it, love it and am glad I did not spend the extra money on the D80 so I can by the bigger zoom lens with the money I saved!

Images shared by: RFamily Photog

natural light at arena

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

incredible detail

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
I Love this camera!!!!!!!!!!!!
By KimVerified Reviewer from Sinking Spring , PA on 11/11/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Point and shoot, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Rapid actionsports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Takes pictures one right after another, its great if you have little kids that move around alot, you won't miss the shot.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good pick
By Phyllis from Okeechobee, FL on 9/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I love the camera but as I haven't used a camera like this in a long time, it will take a little time to get learn all the great things it can do. My 15 year old son picked it up and within hours was very proficient on it.

 
Great Camera Great Price
By erhiancheongVerified Reviewer from Paris on 9/16/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Shutter Noise is Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Depends on Lens, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I know I mared the camera as quiet, and for the most part it is... The only problem with the niose is that the shutter is quite loud. I dont know why Nikon didnt try harder to make a more discrete shutter, Canon's 400D is a lot quieter. But otherwise a great camera... Image quality is super.

Images shared by: erhiancheong

my Brother on the bus

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

General Du Gaulle

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A month later I'm still in awe!!!
By jjradioactiveVerified Reviewer from Kennewick, Washington on 8/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Nikon has done it best!!! I had been shopping for a DSLR for 3 years and hadn't taken the plunge till this one came out. This camera has everything that I have been looking for in a camera. First of all the price is affordable. Having 4 kids price is important but, value trumps all the D40X has it all with the best bang for the buck.Second, It's extreeeeeeemely easy to use. Being new to photography in the SLR realm I find it difficult to take a bad shot with this camera. Indoors the auto settings are dummy proof and the selection of customizable options take this camera to the next tier when compairing it to others in its price range.Third It's a NIKON!!! This camera is built to the standard that all others are judged. You hold this camera in your hands and you know it's a quality product. It's sturdy, it has weight and balance, you know you won't snap something off by pushing the button too hard. (The feel of this one sold me over the Cannon Rebel XTi that was the same price.)And again it's a Nikon. It will take any Nikor F connect lens. (they've been making them for over 50 years) Versus others that have a lens library of maybe 10 years (cannon) and 20 maybe years (sony/konica-minolta)... That was the other point of going with Nikon; the jump to DSLR or SLR your biggest investment is not the camera body, but, your lenses. Granted this camera is going to hold its own for quite a few years because of the way it's made and it being chucked full of features you can actually use. But, there comes a time when you outgrow and want something bigger and better. I know I'll have the lens system that won't be obsolete and will work with the next generation of Nikon and the camera body will still be usable for my kids to learn on.I could go on and on but in the end this one has got the price, features, and overall value above all. [...]

Images shared by: jjradioactive

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
My friends and I are raving about it!
By The photographerVerified Reviewer from Athens, AL on 7/22/2007
Pros:
Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
No VR on std lens
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

I bought this camera based on good results I had with a 21 year old Nikon film camera. I took it on a camping / rafting trip 3 days later and made some incredible shots. It's hard to make a bad picture.

Images shared by: The photographer

Landscape mode

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera! Easy to use and flexible
By TJNavVerified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 6/23/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Was looking for a digital camera to shoot sports. The D40X is great. Very quick startup and fast auto-focus. Bought the 55-200mm Nikkor with Vibration Reduction. What a perfect combination. Nice results with the Auto mode and still very flexible and easy to use manual modes. I highly recommend it!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
smaller package,but bigger features
By bobby charlie from charlottesville va. on 6/9/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Super fast
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Self expression, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

loved it, like it was made just for me,it seemed to be part of my hands every time I picked it up.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best choice I ever made.
By BamaboyVerified Reviewer from Mobile, Ala on 5/31/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Resolution is superb, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Greatest buy ever made. Went from a coolpix 885 (still love) to the d40x(absolutely LOVE) Was intimidated upon opening the box, but the intimidation was unfounded. Simply the easiest Pro style camera I could hope for.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By Sashimi from Tenn on 5/24/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud, Shutter noise scares wild
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Recomend VR lens as others,worth the extra fifty dollars.Takes great pictures,easy to use user friendly menus.Would be nice if the shutter was silent and you did not have to reverse some menus to get to settings

 
Awsome Camera !!!!!!!!
By og from ft lauderdale, fl on 5/17/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Bang for your buck...this camera is great. At 10.2 megapixels and 3fps it is all the camera most will need. I also purchased the 55-200 vr lens and sb600 flash...wether indoors in low light or outdoors, this camera takes great pictures. Amazing clarity and color in every shot.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great DSLR!!!
By CourtVerified Reviewer from Virginia Beach. VA on 5/3/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

In the words of Christopher Walken, wowy! wow! wow! wow! This is my first DSLR and I couldn't be happier with it. First of all, I was shocked about how small this camera actually is, at least compared to other DSLRs. However, the menus are somewhat complicated and take time to get use to(but I'm a first time buyer of Nikon and a DSLR, it might just be me so, don't let that scare you). The picture quality is remarkable. I am very impressed by this "small" camera and I would highly recommend it to anyone especially a first timer like myself.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
New to Digital SLR, this is the camera
By Eric in Concord from Concord, NC on 4/30/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Enough Features
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

WOW!. I have been dreaming about a SLR for over a year. At first they were to expensive. Then Nikon came out with the D40. Nice, but only 6.0 mp and would be outdated in that area in 2 more years. Then I went to [...] just brousing and was introduced to this camera by the manager. Oh my Goodness. I took some shoots of downtown Charlotte, and they are crystal clear. I have been using a coolpix 990 by Nikon which was handed down by my dad to me. Now when this camera is set on vivid mode, the pictures are stunning. I also bought the VR 55 - 200mm lense. What a workhorse. I shake when taking pics and holding things and the VR lense makes a crystal clear pic. Spend the extra 50 dollars. I love this camera for the clarity, ease of use, and weight and size. Buy this camera unless going PRO.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing camera!!!!
By GinaVerified Reviewer from Cartersville, GA on 4/29/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Long battery life, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Amazing camera! I appreciate all of the easy to use functions on this camera. I had considerable trouble with other cameras in the past. They would not allow for low light or no flash. I am a fan of natural lighting. With this camera you have much better success getting the clear shot you want. Still, be careful with your movement and use a tripod or monopod if possible. You will be suprised what you can catch even without the stands.

Images shared by: Gina

Lincoln Memorial At Night - No flash - no tripod!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Tulip - Washington D.C.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Good Details, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Nice photo, thank you!
 
Great beginners DSLR. Super easy to use.
By Sierra SharkVerified Reviewer from Bishop, CA. on 4/24/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not enough lens choices
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

For the beginner DSLR user this is as easy as it gets. Smart features. Light weight small size makes it easy to carry and use. Great for shooting auto racing and sporting events.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow, Now that's impressive!!!
By Mike MVerified Reviewer from Mont Vernon, NH on 4/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Pet Shots, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

After looking for a long time, finally a great camera that's easy to use and produces pro results with minimal effort and knowledge.
This camera has exceeded my expectations by leaps and bounds. Great job, Nikon. You have a loyal fan.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
all you could ask for!
By g-force from wales, uk on 4/11/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

compared side by side with other top brands at store, no comparison on clarity of image, my wife new very little about digital cameras, cant keep her off it now, easy to use in basic form and plenty to do with features

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent, brilliant, superb...
By GOTELEK from CA on 3/30/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

An excellent product from Nikon..

EOS 400D: get ready for some serious competition..

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon D40
By KoriVerified Reviewer from Riverside, California on 3/30/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D40x DSLR Camera w/Nikon 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Lens:

Being an avid Nikon user - and I have tried them all - I couldn't be more pleased with this quick little camera. But because Nikon designed it to only be used with AF-S lenses specific for the D40 brings me to the only issue I have is that Nikon needs to release more optional (lenses) for it. Perhaps because it is not as fancy as the DX or the 200 they don't see the need, but I love it. It's light, compact and versitile. I can carry it anywhere and have it ready to go in seconds. I even take it horse back riding to take pics of scenery.

Images shared by: Kori

Thank God I didn't get stung!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Redondo Beach in Flight

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.