Buy the D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens image
 
(based on 23 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The Nikon D200 digital camera is a true high-performance digital SLR, boasting 10.2 megapixels, a large 2.5-inch LCD monitor with 170-degree viewing angle, and outstanding color performance. The Nikon D200 combines brand new technologies with advanced features inherited from Nikon''s venerable D2X professional digital SLR camera, and is packaged with the new .
  • 10.2 megapixel DX Format CCD image sensor
  • Industry-leading image processing for exceptional color performance
  • Large viewfinder with 0.94x magnification:
  • Durable, Magnesium alloy (Mg) body
  • 5fps high-speed continuous shooting
  • Fast SLR response where it counts
  • 11-area Multi-CAM AF System with 7 Area Wide AF
  • Large 2.5-inch LCD monitor with wide angle viewing to 170 degrees
  • New EN-EL3e Rechargeable battery with Fuel gauge function
  • Wireless Transmitter WT-3

The Nikon D200 promises an extremely satisfying shooting experience, with a winning combination of quality, performance, construction and advanced system features. Employing a newly developed 10.2 effective megapixel Nikon DX Format CCD image sensor, the D200 captures images with remarkable resolution and clarity. Its sophisticated 1005-pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II system ensures ideal exposures while an advanced Nikon image processing engine renders images with superb clarity and smooth color gradations. The D200 reacts with lightning speed, powering-up in a mere 0.15 seconds, and firing in an imperceptible 50 millisecond shutter release lag time. It can shoot five frames per second with a drastically shortened viewfinder blackout time of just 105 milliseconds between shots. Its large, bright viewfinder offers 0.94x magnification for comfortable and precise composition while a new 2.5 inch LCD screen provides ultra-wide 170 degrees viewing angle from all directions. With an all new 11-area autofocus system, robust control of Nikon''s i-TTL Creative Lighting System and advanced Wi-Fi image-transmission options*, the Nikon D200 digital SLR is a perfect fit for discriminating photographers and a natural choice for wedding, event and action photographers.

The D200 embodies a host of intelligent technologies that deliver remarkably precise control and accurate automatic features. Equipped with Nikon''s exclusive 1,005 pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II, the D200 seamlessly determines ideal exposures even in complex lighting conditions. Capturing scene elements including brightness, contrast and color content with a unique 1,005-pixel RGB-enabled sensor, this advanced system employs further improved algorithms for even better evaluation of large area highlight and shadow detail. The 3D Color Matrix Metering II light metering system also uses an onboard database of detailed exposure information from over 30,000 actual images against which instantaneous real-time comparisons are made as part of determining exposures. Rather than merely looking at light levels, a complex, yet transparent evaluation of overall scene content takes place, ensuring highly accurate exposures, even in challenging lighting conditions.

10.2 effective megapixel image sensor

The 10.2 effective megapixel image sensor on the Nikon D200 incorporates a high- speed 4-channel data output and a new Optical Low Pass Filter that significantly reduces any incidence of moire as well as color fringing and shifting. Furthermore, 4-channel output allows the D200 to inherit the advanced image-processing engine of the Nikon D2x professional digital SLR that combines color-independent preconditioning prior to A/D conversion with advanced digital image processing algorithms to deliver fine color gradations with smooth, consistent transitions. Photographers can take advantage of the D200''s advanced image optimizing functionality that allows them to fine tune image characteristics such as sharpness, tone, color, saturation, and hue. Photographers can also select from preset options like Normal, Softer, Vivid, More Vivid, Portrait and Black-and-White.

One of the most notable new features of the Nikon D200 is its all new 11-area AF system, convertible to a 7-wide area AF system, both based on Nikon''s advanced Multi-Cam 1000 AF Sensor Module. Not only does this AF system support the photographer with fast and precise auto focus under a variety of shooting conditions, but it also offers a pleasing array of functions for greater flexibility -- allowing an individual area to be selected from either the 11-area AF or 7-wide area AF sensors for Single AF or making use of multiple sensors to enable Dynamic AF, Closest Subject Priority Dynamic AF and Group Dynamic AF.

Running out of power on the D200 is harder than ever, since in addition to its remarkable capacity of up to 1800 shots per charge, this digital camera also features an intelligent power management Fuel Gauge feature that constantly monitors the battery''s precise remaining power in 1% increments. It also displays the total number of shots taken on each charge as well as overall life of the battery, so photographers can easily tell when to replace a battery.

The D200 is a wireless whiz, and features Nikon''s advanced i-TTL wireless Speedlight control built right into the camera, as well as wireless image transfer over an 802.11b/g Wi-Fi network built into the optional WT-3 Wireless Transmitter (available Spring 2006). The camera''s powerful built-in Speedlight, capable of coverage for lenses as wide as 18mm, features a Commander Mode that can wirelessly control up to two separate groups of an unlimited number of i-TTL speedlights such as the SB-800, SB-600 or SB-R200. The Commander Mode in the Nikon D200 can adjust flash compensation settings for each of the two groups on the fly, making light output control from speedlights placed in hard to reach locations simple and effortless.

Faster - The D200 is faster than any other camera in its class, making its handling exceptionally responsive. The D200 can shoot continuously at up to five frames per second, capturing up to an impressive 37 JPEG images** or up to 22 NEF (RAW) images, making it ideal for action, wedding and event photography. Featuring an industry leading power-up time of 0.15 seconds, the D200 is ready to shoot when the photographer is ready. Its reduced shutter release time lag of 50 milliseconds is nearly undetectable and when shooting in its continuous burst mode of five frames per second, its shortened viewfinder blackout time (between each successive shot) of just 105 milliseconds proves especially useful in keeping an eye on a moving subject.

Stronger - The D200 digital SLR is designed with long term durability, ruggedness and precision in mind. Built on a magnesium alloy chassis and body cover, the D200 combines low weight with high-level durability and protects performance integrity. It also features an enhanced environmental sealing system that helps protect exterior seams from potentially damaging moisture and dust. The Nikon D200''s double-bladed shutter unit is tested to well over 100,000 cycles, ensuring highly reliable performance year after year. The shutter unit also employs a refined mirror balance mechanism that allows the mirror to complete its motion cycle and reach a complete stop with virtually no image degrading mirror bounce.

Nikon is renowned for the distinct usability and handling of its digital SLRs, and the D200 continues this tradition. Photographers handling the camera will immediately notice its large, bright viewfinder with 0.94x magnification that ensures the clearest view possible for precise composition. Viewing excellence is taken further with an expansive 2.5-inch high-resolution LCD that provides an ultra-wide 170 degrees viewing angle from all directions. It also offers the ability to magnify images by up to 400% to enable photographers to closely inspect images for fine details while offering a selectable RGB histogram display, which allows photographers to make better- informed exposure decisions through the viewing of a composite RGB histogram, or a separate histogram for each individual color channel. The D200 also features the largest top LCD panel among cameras in its class to convey maximum information at a glance with easy access to shooting data including shooting mode, battery condition, card information, gridline display, shutter speed, F-stop and number of remaining shots.

Refined menus on the D200 offer a streamlined and visually enhanced view of camera setup and custom setting options. Photographers can access an expanded on-board Help feature to view brief descriptions of every one of the camera''s menu items. The Nikon D200 also features a ''Recent Settings'' menu that reflects the last 14 settings adjusted, offering a quick way to revisit these settings.

Nikon''s Digital Imaging System - Like all Nikon SLR cameras, the D200 also offers the advantages of compatibility with Nikon''s superior and comprehensive Digital Imaging System. High image quality is assured through compatibility with over 50 outstanding AF Nikkor lenses, including Nikon''s DX Nikkor lenses engineered exclusively for use with Nikon digital SLRs and an extensive array of AF Nikkors designed for use on digital and 35mm SLRs. The D200 also offers compatibility with the Nikon Creative Lighting System, enabling high-precision flash photography with SB-800, SB-600 and the Nikon Wireless Close-up Lighting Systems. Outlined below are ground breaking technologies and system features that enable photographers to achieve results not possible with any other system:

New Wireless Transmitter WT-3 (Available Spring 2006) - Nikon is leading the imaging world with wireless image transfer technology via Wi-Fi. The D200 marks the announcement of the Wireless Transmitter WT-3, offering photographers creative new ways to set up their . The new IEEE802.11b/g compatible Wireless Transmitter WT-3 provides fast image transmission with improved security and compatibility with the latest protocols. It also provides alternative buttons for shutter release and AF- start as well as an extra command dial to facilitate more comfortable shooting in vertical format.

i-TTL Speedlight Technology - Nikon''s i-TTL speedlight technology is arguably the most robust and advanced speedlight system in the world, and holds limitless possibilities for all kinds of photographers using creative lighting. i-TTL technology built in to the D200 allows photographers to wirelessly control in full TTL, up to 2 groups of speedlights, with any number of individual speedlights in each group. Photographers can shed all cords and cables or the need to ever calculate flash and distance ratios, because the i-TTL system is capable of making all exposure calculations in real time, wirelessly, during the exposure to deliver a perfect flash exposure in any situation. Photographers can even maintain full output control of each group of speedlights from the D200''s built-in speedlight. This technology can potentially distill an entire portrait lighting system into a small set of multiple SB800, SB600 or SB-R200 speedlights.

Nikkor(R) Lenses - As a company that built its reputation with the superb quality of its lenses, Nikon''s renowned Nikkor(R) brand of optics offer D200 users a tremendous choice of over 50 high quality lenses ranging from highly specialized exotic ones such as the AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED to broad zoom range lenses for everyday photography. The D200 is compatible with DX Nikkor lenses that are optimized for Nikon''s digital SLR camera sensors as well as legendary AF Nikkor lenses, delivering outstanding system digital SLR flexibility. This ensures that D200 users will always find a high quality Nikkor lens that''s just perfect for their photography.

Nikon PictureProject and Capture 4.4 Software - The D200 will include a complimentary copy of Nikon''s PictureProject software, a $49.95 value, and an easy-to-use yet powerful software application that provides image transfer, organization, editing, and design functions for JPEG and NEF (RAW) images produced with the camera. PictureProject can also convert NEF (RAW) files to JPEG or TIFF format finished files, as well as save in the original NEF file format. PictureProject is an essential accessory and is compatible with the new D200 and all prior Nikon digital SLR models and Coolpix Models. The D200 is also compatible with Nikon Capture 4.4 software (sold separately), a new version of Capture that has the specifications to open NEF files from the D200 and all other Nikon digital SLR models. This newest version features greatly enhanced NEF (RAW) processing capabilities as well as Nikon Capture Camera Control that allows remote camera operation when connected to a computer via the included USB cable or wirelessly using the new Wireless Transmitter WT-3 (sold separately). This versatility is especially useful when photographers may need to continue shooting with their D200 while simultaneously having someone else edit incoming images.

RAW - The NEF (RAW) files from the Nikon D200 comprise not only the RAW image data captured by the 10.2 effective megapixel image sensor but also a thumbnail image and a Nikon Instruction Set of the cameras settings at the time of shooting. NEF allows the Instruction Set data -- such as white balance, color balance and tone curves and more -- to be adjusted for each recorded image at any time after shooting through the use of Nikon Capture software. Use of Nikon Capture also allows an NEF file to be saved as an NEF, ensuring a record of the original Instruction Set is always preserved, even if several newer Instruction Sets are saved to the file. This ensures that photographers never loose the original settings and image data of an NEF (RAW) file, and reverting back to the original image requires just a few clicks in Capture software.

Version 4.4 of Nikon Capture software offers a flexible, stable and creative workflow approach for any photographer in both professional and personal use through Nikon''s unique approach referred to as the Camera to NEF to Capture Dynamic Link performance. Newly added features for Capture include automatic highlight recovery when using Exposure Compensation at values lower than 0 EV and Black and White conversion support in Tone Compensation.

18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens

  • Offers broad 18 - 200mm focal range for use in a variety of situations (equivalent to a 27-300 lens in 35mm format)
  • 11x zoom coverage offers a perfect compact and lightweight, one lens solution
  • VR II system offers the equivalent of using a shutter speed 4 stops faster
  • Two ED glass and three aspherical lens elements minimize chromatic aberration,astigmatism and other forms of distortion, while ensuring high resolution and contrast
  • Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC) offers superb color reproduction while minimizing ghosting and flare
  • Incorporates a SWM (Silent Wave Motor) for fast quiet focusing
  • Delivers high-level optical performance designed for use exclusively with Nikon DX format digital
  • Employs a seven-blade rounded diaphragm opening that achieves a natural blur for out-of-focus elements
  • Enables focusing from as close as 20 in. (50cm) from the subject through its entire focal range
  • M/A mode for rapid switching between autofocus and manual focus operation
  • Flower-shaped Lens Hood HB-35 (provided) greatly reduces stray light

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 23 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Casual user(3), Enthusiast(16), Professional(8)
Pros:
Accurate colors(11), Great resolution(11), Large clear LCD(12), Nice features and settings(11), Quiet(10)
Best Uses:
Art(8), Documentary(5), Everyday(10), Fun(9), Low light(8)
 
I love this camera!
By HVerified Purchaser from Okinawa on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

This camera goes every where with me. It is easy to use and takes great pictures. It has so many options for creativity. The lens is great because I don't have to get in my childrens face to get a close up of them. I moved up from a Nikon D50 to the D200 and am so pleased with this camera. Well worth the cost. As a side note, I bought the battery pack for it and it really makes taking portrait pictures easier. It distributes the weight more and makes it less top heavy.

 
Superb camera
By NavmanVerified Reviewer from Fargo, ND on 8/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Battery usage, High ISO perfromance
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

I love this camera. High iso not the best but one can usually work around that.

The 18-200 kit lens is awesome.

Recent photos from the race track captured some amazing pictures of cars racing.

Very happy with it.

Big improvement over the D100 which it replaced.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By PhotosbypamVerified Reviewer from Norfolk, Va on 2/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Nature Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

I bought this camera so that I would have a second camera after I had by D70 repaired. Even though the D70 is working fine, I never use it much. This camera has replaced it. I love this camera. Bigger LCD. Well positions controls. Great Pictures. The exposure is more accurate than the D70.

Images shared by: Photosbypam

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great Camera
By PufferfishVerified Reviewer from Cincinnati, OH on 2/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

I've had the d200 for a little over a year now. It is a fantastic camera. The AF is fast and accurate and works great for my sports shots, kids and pets. The skin tones are pleasing enough to use for wedding photography. The colors are great. Messing with the saturation you can get Velvia color, or Kodak NC. The weight is well balanced and helps with hand held shots. VR lenses really shine when paired up with the d200. Snow and rain have not caused any problems.

Images shared by: Pufferfish

d200 natural skin tones, dynamic range

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

d200 saturation

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great Camera
By BJVerified Reviewer from Maryland on 12/8/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

I primarly use my D200 for sports photography and couldn't be happier with it. It's sturdy (heavy) so hand holding is tricky and for best results I use a tripod. I recently shot a wedding with this camera and I was extremely pleased with skin tones and clarity. I think the D200 is a great all around product.

 
LOVE IT!!!
By LisaVette98 from FL on 10/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

I absolutely love this camera. I was going to go cheaper but after reading the reviews I decided to spend a little more and get the D200. I can't believe how easy it is to use. I used to shoot 35mm and then went to digital point & shoot but did not get any satisfaction from my pics. I now can't wait to spend more time using it! It makes me want to schedule more trips/vacations to see what I can make it do!

 
Compact and Capable - D200 18/200mm Comb
By ApicturemomentVerified Reviewer from Parma Ohio on 9/24/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro -Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

Camera worked well in All Conditions...Nature/Sports/Weddings

Great Travel Combo Its compact and capable

Images shared by: Apicturemoment

Boston vs Indians

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

The Moon

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This camera is worth every penny!
By Bonnie the camera buffVerified Reviewer from Monkton, Maryland on 9/21/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Very easy to handle
Cons:
a little heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Capturing nature, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Weekend snapper
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

I have had many cameras in my lifetime and this one is by far the best. My pictures are outstanding and people have asked if I am a professional photographer. That in itself has boosted my ego to continue taking pictures and framing them for fun. If you want a camera that will speak volumes for your subject... this is the camera for you.

 
Fantastic Pro camera !
By Peter D200Verified Reviewer from CT , USA on 9/13/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

If you looking for a Pro camera this is as close as you will, get and you made a good choice! The options and acessories make it a very diverse system . Between the 18-200mm VR and 80-400mm VR or 500mm you will be well served in a two lens set up that covers all your needs.
Besides reading here K Rockwell provides excellent coverage on this Line , a good in depth read. Also Nikon itself provides a Video on how to use and orintate yourself to the controls of this model.

Images shared by: Peter D200

Potrait of a cat

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product, Made with Product

 
just buy it
By luvaulterVerified Reviewer from Eagan, MN on 8/16/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Versatile
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

After doing the research I bought my first SLR and I have had it for two days and I have already traveled and spent about 6 hours over 2 days just taking pictures. I am brand new to SLR’s and all of the features of the camera but the info screen is very easy and helps set up a shot and it takes amazing pictures. I bought the two lens kit and I am glad I did the two lenses compliment each other. Below are some pictures I took with the D40. If you are worrying about the money and of a camera is worth it trust me it is. If I had to do it again I totally would. It is the best camera I have ever had and I am amazed at the quality of photos that I have taken I wish I could upload all 400+

Images shared by: luvaulter

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
WOW !!!!! MORE THEN SAYS IT ALL
By PRAYINGDIVA from MICHIGAN on 7/30/2007
Pros:
BEEN WAITING FOR THIS, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE THUS FAR
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel, USE DAILY FOR MAX VALUE
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

AMAZING QUALITY AND PERFORMANCE

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent camera for pros and amatures
By Penny from Tampa, FL on 5/21/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Color balance is excellen, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Zoom control awesome, Zoom control on image rev
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Architectural, Event Photography, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

originally purchased as a back up to my D1X but now is my preferred tool in my camera bag. It is a real workhorse and images do not require any post production correction which is vital in my profession. I need to be out shooting and not "phiddling with photoshop". In less than 6 months I shot over 10,000 images with no problems at all

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't wait another day
By ChristianVerified Reviewer from Crivitz, Wisconsin on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

If you think that the only thing holding you back from buying the D200 is the price, don't wait another day. The price is higher than some,but still much lower than other. The photos I have taken with camera out weigh the price for sure. Think about the picture you miss everyday with out this camera and the price will not make a differnce. Nice things cost money, the D200 is worth every cent. I am glad That I also bought the 18-200mm Nikon lens too. This lens is incredable! It is as if Nikon Made this lens just for the D200. I bought this camera [...] online in September 06. There is hardly a day that goes by without taking a picture. This camera will turn you from a novice into a photo fan.

Images shared by: Christian

sunset

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the photo. Very nice!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this camera!
By Lana from Half Moon Bay, California on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

I had a Nikon D100. I upgraded to the Nikon D200, and it more than met my expectations! Very ergonomical and rugged. All settings and controls can be accessed easily to meet my shooting requirements.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon D200 - Well Worth The Investment!
By SilvioVerified Reviewer from San Bruno, CA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
NA
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

The Nikon D200 was a great investment! The features are easy to use and the 18-200mm VR lens is a fantastic compliment and take amazing photos under low light conditions. I used this camera to take pictures of fireworks using a 1/25 shutter speed, while holding the camera, and the results were astounding!! I would definitely recommend this camera to others!! Nikon's website also provides outstanding service when submitting questions or to find the latest firmware that is easy to download and install!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The BEST of the best
By mdtorresVerified Reviewer from Caracas, VE on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

I was waiting a long time to be able to buy this camera with the 18-200 Nikkor Zoom as a second camera for my equipment. My first one is a Nikon D70 (a very good camera too).
I am very pleased with this camera, it is better than what I was expecting.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My last camera purchase.
By LedaVerified Reviewer from Western MI on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
LargeBody vs SmallHands
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

This camera is the best purchase I have made. LOVE it. Easy to learn functions, durable body, and perfect multi use lens. The only challenge I have with it is I'm petite, my hands are small, so it's a bit awkward to change setting on the fly due to the size of the body.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Remarkable camera
By Andy from Charleston, WV on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

This is the best all-purpose prosumer digital SLR on the market. It is rugged, easy to handle and generates exceptional images. I suggest using Nikon lenses exclusively for the best function and image quality.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exceeded My Expectation
By BeachVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 1/25/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

I love the size, quality, ease of use and the great features. I particularly enjoy the wireless flash system (I use three flashes). At first I was dissatisfied that the Nikon software that processes RAW files was an added cost. However, I solved that issue by purchasing Photoshop software instead. It is an all around great camera. And, that 18-200 lenses is worth every penny.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Kool Camera
By Sheen from Austin,TX on 12/31/2006
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Complicated Controls, Flimsy Construction
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

This is the best camera eve made

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Finally a affordable professional camera
By SamuthVerified Reviewer from Newberg, OR on 12/18/2006
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

I have used semi-professional digital cameras for years and was excited to see the Nikon D200 become available. The heavy duty construction is immediately apparent when you pick it up. There is absolutely no cheap plastic feel anywhere on the camera or lens, and everything operates silky smooth. This camera has much more ability to capture beautiful photos then I have, but it is so nice to know that I will not outgrow this camera or be limited by it. The menu is extremely intensive in all its options, but very easy to navigate. One extremely nice menu feature is the "recent setttings" tab, it keeps track of all the settings you used recently so you can quickly jump back and use your favorite options without having to migrate thru the menu system. The raw image capture works wonderful when combined with the Nikon Capture Editor. Basically it gives you a second chance to modify the camera settings "after the fact", and correct for color balance and exposure. This has proved to be a life saver in several circumstances. The lens works beautifully, although I don't notice much effect of the VR ability. The zoom ring does have the unfortunate habit of extending itself whenever the camera is facing down, wish it was a bit more stiffer. The total lack of shutter delay is a godsend for action photos, along with the 5 fps capture, and focus tracking. I have taken fast actions photos of moving targets with excellent results. Older nikon lenses work very well, the menu system allows you to tell the camera the focal length and f/stop of the lens. I did find the pictures to be not as sharp as I like, but a simple menu option allowed me to select the degree of sharpness I wanted for my personal preference. Overall, the only drawback with this camera is feeling guilty having such an high quality camera until you remind yourself of the great value for the money you purchased it for.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
the best satisfication ever!!!!
By Martha from chicago, IL on 11/27/2006
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

this is a really great camera. i am very happy with this one and i wouldn't trade it for anything...!!! so i will recomend for you to buy it.

[10 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
It is what they say it is!
By I hate nick names.Verified Reviewer from Dayton, Ohio on 11/21/2006
Describe Yourself:
BA in photography, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera with 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF DX VR Lens:

The camera is what they say it is! It is the best I have used and I have been a Nikon owner and users since the old F2s more than 30 years ago. Would never give it up.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.