Buy the Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens image
 
(based on 41 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Breathtaking digital SLR image quality and easy operation highlight the 10.2-megapixel D3000-Nikon's friendliest D-SLR ever. Compact and capable, the D3000 is compatible with a broad range of world-famous NIKKOR lenses and includes the versatile 3x, 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR with Silent-Wave Motor autofocusing and Nikon VR image stabilization to combat picture blur caused by camera shake for sharper handheld pictures. Special moments are captured faithfully at up to 3 frames-per-second and displayed on a bright, 3-inch LCD monitor. The D3000's split-second shutter response eliminates the annoyance of shutter lag. To further simplify picture-taking in special situations such as portraits, sports, landscapes, and more, the D3000 features icon-identified Scene Modes that deliver beautiful results automatically in otherwise complex situations. Additional Nikon technologies elevate picture quality and guard against picture-taking mistakes. Fast, accurate 11-point autofocus delivers razor sharpness. 3D Color Matrix Metering II and Nikon EXPEED image processing work with an exclusive Scene Recognition System for precise automatic exposures and rich, vivid color. Making the D3000 an even smarter choice are its exclusive Retouch functions for creative fun and the onboard Guide Mode that's ready to lend a reassuring hand to take the pictures you've always wanted.

  • 10.2-Megapixel DX-format Imaging Sensor
    Delivers extraordinary image quality for breathtaking prints up to 20 x 30 inches.

  • Includes 3x 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Image Stabilization Lens
    Legendary NIKKOR optical quality and fast, accurate autofocus means vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail, while VR image stabilization assures your sharpest pictures ever.

  • Nikon's Smallest D-SLR
    Beautifully styled-Ready to go where life takes you.

  • Easy-To-Use-Featuring Nikon Guide Mode
    Intuitive controls and the on-board Guide Mode assist you every step of the way.

  • Split-second Shutter Response
    Eliminates the frustration of shutter delay, capturing moments that other cameras miss.

  • Continuous Shooting up to 3 Frames-Per-Second
    Capture fast action, precious moments and fleeting expressions confidently.

  • 6 Automatic Exposure Scene Modes
    Just set the Mode dial to Portrait, Landscape, Child, Sports, Close-up or Night Portrait for stunning results in otherwise challenging conditions.

  • 3-inch Color LCD Monitor
    Bright, high-resolution, 170-degree wide-angle viewing for easy picture review and sharing.

  • In-camera Image Editing
    The Retouch Menu provides creative freedom, without the need for a computer, offering 13 easy editing functions, including Trim, Red-eye Correction and Soft Filter.

  • Nikon EXPEED Image Processing
    Assures breathtakingly rich image quality, managing color, contrast, exposure, noise and speed.

  • Automatic Image Sensor Cleaning
    Ultrasonic process and exclusive Airflow Control combats the accumulation of dust in front of the image sensor, safeguarding image quality shot after shot.

  • 11-point Autofocus
    Fast and accurate autofocus delivers razor-sharp pictures.

  • 6 Personal Picture Control Settings
    Choose from Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, or Landscape to apply a personal look and feel to your pictures.

  • Active D-Lighting
    Restores picture-enhancing detail in shadows and highlights.

  • ISO sensitivity from 100-1600
    Exceptional results, even in challenging low-light situations.

  • Review Snapshot®
    Avg. Customer Rating:
     
    4.5 stars
    (based on 41 reviews)
    92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

    Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

    Pros:
    Compact(3), Easy to use(36), Excellent in low light(5), Fast / accurate auto-focus(18), Fast shutter speed(26)
    Cons:
    Noisy at high ISO(4), Poor in low light(7)
    Best Uses:
    Everyday photos(6), Family photos(22), Home(3), Landscape/scenery(22), Low light(19)
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual photographer(15), Photo enthusiast(14), Semi-pro photographer(10)
    Was this a gift?:
    No(16)
     
    Amazing
    By BK.Verified Purchaser from Rochester, NY on 5/9/2011
    Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
    Continuous shooting, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Manual focus
    What do you do with your digital images?:
    Sell – professional photographer
    Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
    8
    Ease of Operation:
    10
    Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
    7
    Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
    9
    Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
    6
    Overall Experience:
    9
    How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
    Definitely will
    Pros:
    Easy lens changing, Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Great battery life, Large Clear LCD, LIghtweight, Menu display easy to use
    Cons:
    HAVENT FOUND ANY YET
    Best Uses:
    City scapes, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    this camera is amazing, I had read about some issues with it but I have to be honest, I have NOT seen or dealt with any. I love this camera, and would tell anyone looking for a great price on a good camera to buy this camera

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Rugged camera with good quality
    By GMVerified Purchaser from Iuka, MS on 5/4/2011
    Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
    Digital zoom, Fast Auto focus, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Manual focus
    What do you do with your digital images?:
    Save to disk, Use in professional publications
    Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
    8
    Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
    7
    Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
    9
    Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
    9
    Overall Experience:
    9
    How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
    Definitely will
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    Good quality camera and rugged construction

    [2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Can't Stop
    By Dixie from Boston,MA on 3/18/2011
    Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
    Continuous shooting, Digital zoom, Fast Auto focus
    What do you do with your digital images?:
    Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Email to friends and family, Print using a home printer, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
    How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
    Definitely will
    Pros:
    Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Quiet
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    Tell you what I cant stop taking pictures.I love it and I will only use a Nikon

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Love this camera!
    By Jackcmask from Houston, TX on 11/10/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
    Cons:
    Poor In Low Light
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    Yes
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I LOVE this camera, ive had it for almost a year now and I still love it as much as I did the first day that i got it. Its so easy to use!

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    easy to use for an amateur
    By Sports MomVerified Purchaser from Brevard, NC on 10/26/2010
    Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
    Continuous shooting, Fast Auto focus, Image stabilization
    What do you do with your digital images?:
    Email to friends and family, Print using a home printer, Print using an in-store photo service via kiosk or live person, Save to disk, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
    Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
    9
    Ease of Operation:
    8
    Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
    8
    Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
    9
    Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
    9
    Overall Experience:
    9
    How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
    Definitely will
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality, Large Clear LCD
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Sports/Action, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I use this camera primarily to take pictures of my kids playing sports. I really like it because I can take several frames rapidly to capture the action.

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Very good
    By Nick from Pennsylvania pittsburg on 10/18/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD
    Cons:
    Noisy At High ISO
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    Very good camara

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great camera for everyone
    By Chuck MVerified Purchaser from Southington, CT on 10/12/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    On auto, just point, frame, and shoot! Because it's digital, you can look at your photos immediately and keep the ones you want, or shoot some more. Experiment with manual shutter and manual f-stops.

    Images shared by: Chuck M

    Portrait from a candid shot

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Minor adjust with NX-2

    [1 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

     
    nikon D3000
    By judy,Verified Purchaser from Waooingers false, new york on 10/11/2010
    Cons:
    Lcd screen was not workin
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I returned the camera, because I could not use LCD screen to take pictures. The picture would appear on LCD screen AFTER it was taken. It is NOT was I expected after using shoot and point digital camera. Very dissatisfied.

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great for beginers
    By PICB from Smithfield N.C. on 10/9/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Quiet
    Cons:
    Noisy At High ISO, No Viewfinder, Poor In Low Light
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    Could really use higher ISO with less noise
    Overall, alot of features for the $

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great camera for the price
    By happy in azVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 10/9/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality
    Cons:
    Poor In Low Light
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    Nice easy to use camera- no bells and whistles but takes clear, clean shots. Downside is unremarkable flash- not strong enough in most cases unless person/object right in front of you.

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    GREAT Camera!!
    By Heather from Plainfield, IN on 10/2/2010
    Pros:
    Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    Ths is a great camera. I would highly recommend this camera. Im not a professional photographer but many professionals that I know use this camera. [...] I did research and this by far was the best bang for your buck.

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Good Choice
    By RTVerified Purchaser from Ft Worth, TX on 10/1/2010
    Pros:
    Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    Could not be happier with the D3000. Easy to operate. The accompanying video is helpful. No problems transferring photos to my pc. I'd recommend this to friends.

    Images shared by: RT

    Playing with different aperture settings

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    This camera is absolutely awesome
    By Ms. NikonVerified Purchaser from Washington DC on 9/28/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Excellent ergonomics, Excellent picture, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Musuems, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    Yes
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I really love this camera and I use it for everything, birthday parties, kids pictures, musuems, sometime I just go outside and take pictures. The quality of the pictures are just like you are right there, its extremely easy to use accurate auto focus.

     
    Solid performing DSLR
    By RennsterVerified Reviewer from New Hampshire on 9/28/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization
    Cons:
    Limited extra lens choice, Noisy At High ISO, No live viewfinder
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Pro Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    Overall a solid performing camera. I shoot mostly motorsports (professionally) and family stuff for fun. Fast enough for race cars and easy enough to use for quick family shots. Definitely recommend a longer lens for sporting events and a better flash if you are serious about indoor shooting.

    Lens choice seem to be limited because you need to buy lenses that have the auto-focus motors in them, unlike the higher end bodies. Still very happy with the camera.

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great Product Great Value
    By RCVerified Purchaser from San Francisco on 9/28/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    This is my frist SLR camera and I could not have picked a better camera. From ease of use, to the actual quality of the camera itself. I have since signed up for the Nikon School which is coming to my area this month, so that I can take full advantage of all the features that this camera offers.

     
    This camera was all I expected!
    By camera pestVerified Purchaser from central Wisconsin on 9/28/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I use this for casual family get togethers and scenic pictures mainly. I find the camera very easy to use.

     
    great lens
    By BusterVerified Purchaser from Vernon,Ct on 9/28/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    everyday photography

     
    Awesome Camera!
    By DavidP from Trenton, New Jersey on 9/25/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
    Cons:
    Poor In Low Light, Short Battery Life
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    This is a great DSLR Camera. Nikon gets better every time.

    [7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great for being new to DSLR
    By KerrieVerified Reviewer from McDonough, GA. on 9/21/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good action in light, Good Image Quality, Guide menu very useful, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
    Cons:
    Poor In Low Light
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    My goal is to become a professional photographer. I'm always taking photos of something. I've used this camear for sports at night & day, group shots, individuals, landscape and casual.

    PROS:
    1. Auto focusing is fast and right on. I've had no problems with it being too slow. You do need to understand how the points in the view finder work to make sure what you want in focus is in focus.
    2. For those new to DSLR, lots of options for picture taking. The Guide menu is great, but also the ? that blinks if changes need to be made is a great way of learning how to set the camera in situations.
    3. Not too heavy or bulky. The VR lens is great to help reduce blur, but even with it, with slow shutter speeds a tripod is needed.
    4. Great camera to grow with and eventually upgrade from. I believe I will have many years with the D3000 before upgrading.
    5. The pop up flash is great. You also can add a separate flash if needed.

    Cons:
    1. doesn't like low light situations such as night football games...although if on field it does do great. This is not the camera itself, but for low light would require a more expensive lens that is capable of gathering more light.
    2. The manual does not explain in detail for those like me that are new to DSLR so I suggest a book on the camera to learn more about it and how to use it.

    Images shared by: Kerrie

    football low light using the 55mm to 200mm VR lens

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    Using the 18mm to 55mm VR lens

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Love it!
    By VonnieVerified Reviewer from Tucson Arizona on 8/19/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
    Best Uses:
    Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    Really love it, only thing is I have to always look through the view finder which is fine. Would have loved to have that on my LCD.

    Images shared by: Vonnie

    Iliana's Photoshoot

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

    St. Augustine Catholic Church

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

    [0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Budget DSLR
    By AMDphreakVerified Reviewer from Memphis, TN on 8/13/2010
    Pros:
    Amazing battery life, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Noob Interface
    Cons:
    Bad Autofocus, Noisy At High ISO, Noisy at Low ISO, Noisy autofocus, No live lcd view, Poor Image Quality, Poor Image Stabilization, Poor In Low Light, Slow autofocus, Small LCD Screen, Tiny Viewfinder, Using it is slow
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I'm an amateur photographer, and I'm slow.I outgrew the feature set in half a year. For [$], I'd expect more. Go with the D5000 or D90 if you know you like photography. This camera is accurately categorized as a "family" camera, for families who barely know photography.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    You look like a tourist..!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    By Nonnahs70 from Byron, MN on 8/5/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Quiet
    Cons:
    no live view
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    We recently took a family vacation and by the second stop my husband told me "you look like a tourist"...
    I had this camera around my neck for 5 days straight. I love it. Easy to use and lightweight. Switching lenses is a breeze. My only complaint is no live view, but I have become very used to that. This is my first DSLR...I would definatly recommend it to anyone.

    [1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    No regrets
    By BusterVerified Reviewer from Vernon,CT on 7/28/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
    Cons:
    None
    Best Uses:
    Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    landscapes,grandchildren,macro
    lightweight,small for D-Slr,easy to use,large 3" screen,

    [2 of 23 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Hate it
    By Former Nikon Fan from Raleigh, NC on 6/22/2010
    Cons:
    Poor Image Quality, Poor Image Stabilization, Poor In Low Light
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I used to own a Nikon Coolpix that cost about the same as this one when I got it. That camara was the best camara EVER...so after 6 years, I thought I would "upgrade" to an DSLR. What a letdown. The zoom is poor for anything 10-15 feet away, the auto feature, which I use the most to grab quick shots, just doesn't cut it. Close ups on plant life is a toss-up as to whether you'll actually get the shot, and there is no LCD view; you must use the view-finder to take shots. Which can be frustrating if you're not wearing your contacts. Overall, it just doesn't do what my former camara did, and I'm discusted with the money I blew.

    [8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Don't Judge a Camera by it's price
    By Nate The Firefighter from Glen Burnie, Maryland on 6/3/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
    Best Uses:
    Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I am 21 year's old with a very long history of doing photography for about 3 years and have took photo's of basically everything you can think off. I have used alot of DSLR's in the past but nothing close to how good this is.Very good camera for it's price. The only down fall with the D3000 is you can not make video's and also it does not have a tilt LCD Screen. I love that the LCD screen is pretty big to me and everything is so clear. Also the automatic focus is completly silent unless you have your ear up to the lens and focus's very quick. I use it in manual mode alot and what I fell in love with is how many options you have. Using Capture NX2 with the great photo's it already makes will make your photo's look beyond perfect. I would say unless you want to make video's which I never did, buy the Nikon D3000.

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    best buy ever, love it
    By JVVerified Reviewer from palm beach county, Fl on 5/14/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD
    Best Uses:
    Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    very user friendly, awesome results, my 16 year old future photo journalist taught me that it was time to upgrade and I'm sold

    [24 of 24 customers found this review helpful]

     
    The Best Camera for the Money
    By SKing StudiosVerified Reviewer from Mesa, AZ on 3/13/2010
    Pros:
    Availability of Lenses, Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good in Low Light, Great Resolution, Large Clear LCD
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I purchased this camera to take high quality photographs of scenes, people, wildlife, etc. to be used later for paintings. I originally intended to use it in the field so I wouldn't have to carry my extremely expensive professional cameras and risk damaging them, but I'm so impressed with the all-around performance and versatility that I now use it for my pro gigs as well. By far the biggest bang for the buck of ANY digital SLR on the market today.

    Images shared by: SKing Studios

    Skate Park in B&W

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Macro Example

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Making Me Interested In Photography
    By bssgkmsd08Verified Reviewer from Copperas Cove, TX on 3/7/2010
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good in Low Light, Great Resolution, Great Zoom, Large Clear LCD
    Cons:
    No custom tag on pictures
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Macro Photography, Portrait, Sports/Action, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    First the Con.
    I did not give five stars because nothing is ever perfect.
    And I did not like the fact that you cannot put a custom tag on pictures like the D40.

    Now the Pros.
    I have just recently gotten involved in photography. I did a little research before I made the purchase of my D3000 and I could not be any happier. The mega pixels are really high, which I think is good. Because you can always reduce to save space on your SD card, but you cannot always increase if you want a larger print.

    And the options you have with this unit are phenomenal. And like I said, I am fairly new in the photography world so the controls have to be easy to understand. The controls loaded into this camera are easy to understand and very useful.

    Some cameras just do not feel right when you hold them in your hands. This one felt right as soon as I picked it up. I did not even get it up to my eye and it felt good. That is another key point in buying your camera. Make sure you can physically touch it. Yes you can go online, like I did, and check out all the bells and whistles of the different models and compare different models. But before you commit to buying, you really need to go to a store and physically pick up the models you where comparing. Only then can you make a sound decision. Once you do that, then you can go back home and order online and get those online discounts.

    In my opinion, this D3000 was a really good investment for me (for what I need at this time). The next camera I will buy is an older model by Nikon. The D40. Do some research on it and you will see why.

    Images shared by: bssgkmsd08

    Rusty Barbed Wire

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Shallow River

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Obama May Want Me To Be His Photographer
    By CasperVerified Reviewer from Phoenix AZ on 1/23/2010
    Pros:
    D-Lighting, Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Great Resolution, Guide Menu, In-Camera Red Eye Fix, Large Clear LCD, Quick Retouch
    Best Uses:
    Continuous Shooting, Family Photos, Night Portrait, Portrait, Sports/Action, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    With this Nikon D3000, I could be considered to be the President's professional photographer. This Nikon D3000 was given to me by my brother as a Christmas gift. A Nikon is the quintessential camera for one to own and this particular model is the most user friendly. I want a camera for still photos; not movies. I want a camera that has all the necessary scene modes right there on the dial instead of nervously searching on a menu when the time comes to take an important photo. I want a camera that doesn't weigh a ton and a camera that is not intimidating. Most of all, I want a camera that takes superlative pictures and the Nikon D3000 does just that!

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    LOVING MY NIKON D-3000
    By Mikey3000 from Raleigh, NC. on 1/2/2010
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Good Battery Life, Good in Low Light, Great Resolution, Great Zoom
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I just received my Nikon as a Christmas gift and it's the best camera that I have owned...I love taking pictures and love how all my pictures comes out..One day I will be able to call myself a professional Photographer using the Nikon D-3000..I'm truly loving my Nikon

    [3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Amazing
    By lilasianman316 from glendale, az on 12/30/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good in Low Light, Large Clear LCD, Small / Compact
    Best Uses:
    EVERYTHING
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    absolutely amazing, perfect for beginners

    Images shared by: lilasianman316

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Best Camera For The Price
    By allinkedups2kVerified Reviewer from Washington, NJ on 12/29/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Good Battery Life, Good in Low Light, Great Resolution, Large Clear LCD, Small / Compact
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Macro Photography, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    This Nikon is the best dslr camera to buy in this price range, the picture quality is amazing, and when working with the guide menu, it works just like a poiny and shoot camera. I have used the Nikon D5000, and the Nikon D3000, to me, takes the same quality photos, so if you don't care about having a tilt screen, or the ability to film in HD, then the Nikon D3000 is for you. The new Cannon Rebel xs, does not even compare with this Nikon. I mean, come on people, its a Nikon, that should say it all.

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    AMAZING camera
    By i from san jose, ca on 12/26/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good in Low Light, Great Resolution, Large Clear LCD, Small / Compact
    Best Uses:
    CLOSE UPS, Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    Camera is very good and has great image quality. The battery life is amazing and has many great features included in the camera. Only thing I recomend is a better lense because the zoom is limited

    [5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great SLR
    By BeezerVerified Reviewer from Littleton, Co on 12/20/2009
    Pros:
    Customizable, Easy to Use, Great Resolution
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscapes
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    In case a mode/feature gets confusing, you can hit the ? key and it explains why/how to use that feature. Takes great pictures in RAW(nef) format

    Images shared by: Beezer

    Loveland Pass, Co

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    Kingston Peak, Co

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    GREAT CAMERA
    By CYNVerified Reviewer from RALEIGH NC on 11/18/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Zoom, Nice Features and Settings
    Best Uses:
    Outdoors
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    THIS IS A GREAT CAMERA. I HAVE JUST PURCHASED IT RECENTLY, BUT SO FAR IT HAS BEEN AWESOME. PERFECT IN EVERY WAY. WELL WORTH THE MONYE AND TIME IT TOOK FOR ME TO DECIDE

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    good camera
    By cpg from sacramento.ca on 11/16/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Great Zoom, Nice Features and Settings
    Best Uses:
    Everyday Photos, Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    nice camera. i use it everyday.

    [9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Worth the Money
    By cyellowVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 11/6/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Nice Features and Settings
    Best Uses:
    Anything, Everyday Photos, Outdoors, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    I love this camera. I have always liked Nikon, and now it really stands true. With the D3000 there is a Guide option bottom that really helps the beginner adjust the camera step-by-step to ensure the best pictures. This camera is a must for anyone wanting to get into photography or already is.

    [6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Awesome Camera
    By melintesart from detroit mi on 10/31/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Great Zoom, Nice Features and Settings
    Best Uses:
    Everyday Photos, Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    this is a simple camera to use, great for beginners and pros as well. takes amazing pics, can compete with high end cameras. awesome job nikon!

    [9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

     
    beutifull camera
    By toddVerified Reviewer from keller tx on 10/30/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Great Zoom, Nice Features and Settings
    Cons:
    None
    Best Uses:
    Everyday Photos, Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    very butifull photos. took some nice photos of the blue angels. and on my trip to hi

    Images shared by: todd

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [26 of 27 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Amazing camera!
    By WendyVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, MD on 10/10/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
    Best Uses:
    Everyday Photos, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    For an entry-level DSLR, this camera really holds it's own. I've only owned it for a short period of time, but almost every photo I've taken has turned out beautifully. I upgraded from a point-and-shoot compact camera and I will never go back. If you're a beginner in DSLR photography, this is a great camera because of it's Guide Mode, which gives you tips and step by step instructions on how to take more advanced pictures, and it has helped me out several times. The 18-55mm kit lens is not the best if you want to really zoom in close on something in the distance, but it's fantastic for close-ups, portraits, or general wide angle shots. If you want to be able to zoom in more you'll have to upgrade to a more high power zoom lens, such as a 55-200mm.

    Images shared by: Wendy

    Image Thumbnail

    Image Thumbnail

    [17 of 19 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Too Good to be True
    By Court from Simi Valley, CA on 10/5/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Great Zoom
    Cons:
    Bulky
    Best Uses:
    Everyday Photos, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D3000 DSLR Camera w/ 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Lens:

    This camera has been great in the time I've owned it. Any time I need to take a picture,I know I can depend on my Nikon, it's amazing. No matter what you;re photographing, the Nikon is the perfect camera for you.

    Powered by PowerReviews
    Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.