Buy the Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The rugged D300S' hallmarks include versatility, speed, agility and exceptional image quality. Versatility is its 12.3-megapixel, DX-format CMOS image sensor, with Nikon EXPEED image processing that captures stunning low-noise stills and extraordinary 24 fps, 720p HD video with sound. Speed is split-second startup and continuous shooting at up to 7 fps-8 fps with the optional MB-D10 grip, which also extends shooting capacity and makes shooting more comfortable. Accurate image review, Live View shooting and Menus come alive on a 3-inch tempered glass-protected, 920k-dot LCD monitor, while image quality is bolstered by a 51-area AF system and Nikon's 1,005-pixel RGB exposure sensor, in concert with the newly accelerated Scene Recognition System-technology that increases exposure and AF accuracy, improves white balance detection, and more. Photographers have preferences, and the D300S offers choices-including Picture Control, Center-Weighted and Spot Metering, user-assignable CompactFlash and SD card slots and an external stereo microphone input. Included is Nikon ViewNX software-ready to process rich 14-bit NEF (RAW) or JPEG files. For more editing power, optional Capture NX 2, with U-Point technology, safeguards image quality and speeds workflow. The D300S' pro-level performance, paired with world-famous NIKKOR lenses, was engineered to exceed the expectations of demanding photographers.

Nikon's D300s. Fast. Precise. Agile. Evolution in Motion.

  • 12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS Image Sensor
    Delivers stunning high resolution, low-noise images with striking detail and tonal gradation.

  • Continuous Shooting up to 7 fps
    High speed shooting and fast response-essential to versatile performance in a wide variety of shooting disciplines.

  • Nikon EXPEED Image Processing
    Drives breathtakingly rich image fidelity, low noise and fast image processing.

  • D-Movie HD Video
    Capture cinematic 24 fps, 720p HD movie clips, enhanced by NIKKOR interchangeable lens quality and versatility-featuring stereo Mic input and AF

  • One-button Live View
    Handheld and Tripod Live View modes, activated with one button, for challenging studio and remote shooting conditions.

  • 3-inch Super-density 920,000-dot VGA LCD Monitor
    Every monitor is factory-calibrated to assure accurate color for critical still image review and Live View or D-Movie shooting.

  • Low Noise ISO Sensitivity from 200 to 3200
    Additional expanded ISO settings of Lo-1 (ISO 100 equivalent) and Hi-1 (ISO 6400 equivalent) extend versatility to match shooting requirements.

  • Fast, Accurate 51-point Autofocus
    Features 4 Dynamic AF modes including 3D Focus Tracking for precise autofocus and razor sharp images.

  • 1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II
    Nikon?s unique RGB metering-the only sensor that also evaluates color information when determining exposures with remarkable accuracy.

  • Scene Recognition System
    Referencing an onboard image database and teamed with RGB metering, SRS enables even more sophisticated determination of exposures and auto white balance, along with faster, more accurate autofocus.

  • Dual memory card slots (CF and SD)
    Assign card functions from a variety of storage options, optimizing available memory and file handling.

  • Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System
    Ultrasonic process combats the accumulation of dust in front of the image sensor, safeguarding image quality.

  • Picture Control
    Select from 4 preset image capture preferences (Standard, Neutral, Vivid an Monochrome, plus 9 user customizable settings) control settings) controlling Sharpening, Contrast, Brightness, Saturation and Hue.

  • Nikon's Active D-Lighting
    Optimize shadow and highlight detail in real time - Selectable values and 5-frame ADL bracketing offer complete control.

  • In-Camera Image Editing
    Exclusive in-camera image editing, featuring Edit movie, D-Lighting, Image Overlay, Monochrome, NEF(RAW) processing and more. Rugged and Durable
    The strength and precision of magnesium-alloy construction with advanced dust and moisture countermeasures is teamed with a shutter with a shutter mechanism tested to beyond 150,000 cycles for real-world reliability.

  • 100% Viewfinder Accuracy

  • Virtual Horizon Graphic Level Indicator

  • Up to 950 shots per EN-EL3e battery charge Shoot as many as 2,950 shots with the body's EN-EL3e battery installed and the optional MB-D10 Multi-Power Battery Pack with an EN-EL4a Rechargeable Li-ion Battery*.
    * based on CIPA standards/guidelines.

  • Review Snapshot®
    Avg. Customer Rating:
     
    4.6 stars
    (based on 15 reviews)
    93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

    Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

    Pros:
    Easy to use(11), Excellent in low light(6), Fast / accurate auto-focus(5), Fast shutter speed(14), Good battery life(6)
    Cons:
    Heavy(3)
    Best Uses:
    Everyday photos(4), Home(3), Landscape/scenery(5), Low light(4), Macro photography(3)
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo enthusiast(5), Semi-pro photographer(8)

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Miss-Fire
    By DisappointedVerified Reviewer from wash dc on 1/8/2011
    Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
    Continuous shooting, Fast Auto focus, High-speed shooting, Low-light shooting, Manual focus, Programmed scene shooting modes
    What do you do with your digital images?:
    Sell – professional photographer
    Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
    5
    Ease of Operation:
    5
    Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
    1
    Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
    5
    Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
    1
    Overall Experience:
    1
    How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
    Definitely will not
    Cons:
    Lag / Shutter Delay
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    Nikon refuses to replace this camera even though they have had it 3x in 2 yrs for 5-6 wks at a time! they (Nikon) keeps "replacing" one thing or another yet the EXACT same issue remains. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER NIKON

     
    Love it!
    By mandebluVerified Reviewer from puyallup, WA on 9/30/2010
    Pros:
    Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance
    Cons:
    Battery compartment desig
    Best Uses:
    Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    This is a wonderful semi-pro camera.

     
    Wow what a great Camera
    By HansVerified Reviewer from Michigan City, IN on 7/6/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    Great camera. It does omuch more than I was hoping for and the quality is wonderful

     
    Best money ever spent
    By In Love with the D300sVerified Reviewer from Charleston WV on 6/14/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
    Best Uses:
    Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    I love this camera, I recently opened a portrait studio, and upgraded from my D90. This was the smartest business move I have made so far. Weather you are taking pictures for fun or as a pro photographer, you need this camera. You will never put it down, you will take so many pictures, and every time you look at them you will amaze yourself

    [9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Terrific Product! Nikon's Best!
    By J FrayVerified Reviewer from Cullowhee, NC on 4/10/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
    Best Uses:
    Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    I am a student photographer at a NC University and I have used other cameras such as the Nikon D300, D2x, D3, and D3s. The D300s is by far the best camera body I have used for the best price. It basically has all of the capabilities of the D3s but half the size and half the cost. I would recommend getting 2 D300s cameras before buying a D3.
    I love it's fast shutter speeds and high iso range. Typically I don't go any higher than 1600, but I have shot above that and the image quality is still clear.
    Great for sports, landscapes, nature, weddings, low light situations, and with it being lightweight and having a built in flash you can also use it as a family camera.

    Images shared by: J Fray

    Western Carolina University's dining hall at night

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    Sunset in Parkway

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    [9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Fantastic!!!
    By pixbyangie from Greeneville, TN on 3/25/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD
    Best Uses:
    Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    I upgraded from a D80 to the D300s. I debated between this and the D90 for several weeks before picking the D300s and I have never had one single regret! I love this camera! It does everything I want it to and so much more! I shoot mainly weddings, engagements and families and have had numerous comments on how great the pictures turn out! Would highly recommend this camera!

    [4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Whata Camera
    By Mr Bob from Ellenton, Fl on 3/10/2010
    Pros:
    Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good in Low Light, Great Resolution, Large Clear LCD
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Indoor Events, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    First DSLR and really pleased.[...] Very pleased with the results especially the versatility of the camera. Can't say enough. One small kink, once you put a good lens on body it does get heavy. But a very small kink considering every thing this camera does. The quality of the pictures beyond words. No lost shots due to shutter lag. What you see is what you get.

    [7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Amazing!!
    By terterrior from AZ on 12/5/2009
    Pros:
    Fast Shutter Speed, Great Resolution, Great Zoom
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Everyday Photos, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    Moved up to this camera to get faster speed to shoot my sons' sports. What an improvement! Amazing pictures with fast continuos shooting speed. Great in varying light as well. Opens a whole new world !!!!!!!

    [5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Incredible!!!
    By StaceyVerified Reviewer from York, PA on 10/13/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
    Best Uses:
    Everyday Photos, Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    If you previously own a Nikon, get this one too. If you are just starting out, TaDa this is the camera for you!! Definitely worth the money!

    [5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    AWSOME
    By Heather from TN. on 10/6/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Great Zoom, Nice Features and Settings
    Best Uses:
    Everyday Photos, Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    LOVE LOVE LOVE

    [15 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Nice work, liked my D60, love my D300S
    By CoachKnow from Maryland to North Carolina. on 9/28/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    I use my D300S mainly for taking photos of basketball games. Works excellent in gym with low light. It is hard to miss a good shot now because this baby is fast.

    Images shared by: CoachKnow

    Dunk at Elite75Prep Showcase 2009

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Image Thumbnail

    [3 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Go For It
    By BlankaVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 9/20/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    Can't go wrong with Nikon

    [11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great camera!
    By andypolandphotographyVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 9/11/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
    Cons:
    Mediocre battery life
    Best Uses:
    Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    I just upgraded from a D200 to the D300s. I bought it specifically to shoot in situations with less available light so I can avoid postprocessing to compensate for noise which was a problem on my D200. So far, I am impressed. Images are crisp up to 1600 iso with very little visible noise in low light. I have not gone beyond that iso yet. I added the MB-D10 grip with a 2nd battery and the camera is quick. My only complaint is that my D200 seemed to have a longer battery life with the MB-D200 grip. I thought about going full frame and buying the D700, but bought this for the crop factor since my main subject is wildlife. The video is just OK. If you want quality HD video, I would buy a an HD camcorder. This is a great camera!

    [10 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

     
    D300s is not just updated... its better!
    By DaveRVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 9/4/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution
    Best Uses:
    Outdoors, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    The D300 was great but the D300s fixed a lot of little things and adds some great features. Quiet mode, Info button, LiveView with usable functionality, and the list goes on. And it is faster! AF is smooth and much quicker than the previous D300... no hunting or "thinking about it," just fast as you could want.

    And the HD video mode is cool too... and it works well, with focusing while recording.

    GREAT CAMERA!

    [7 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

     
    All of my photo friends want my Nikon.
    By Pattie from Greenville, SC on 9/2/2009
    Pros:
    Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Everyday Photos, Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon D300s Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

    I use this camera every where I go

    Powered by PowerReviews
    Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.