Buy the Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum) image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Coolpix S230
  • 10.0 Megapixelsfor stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches. Plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

  • 3x Optical Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens NIKKOR optics provide exceptional pictures and gets you close to the action. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results.

  • New EXPEED Image Processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon's comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development.EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applies optimized technologies to render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you will not miss that special moment.

  • 4-Way VR Image Stabilization:

  • Nikon's Electronic VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake by adjusting shutter speed and ISO setting This produces clearer, sharper results in lower lighting or unsteady conditions.

  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts the shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.

  • High ISO 2000 capability gives you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. This creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions.

  • Nikon's originalBest Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and then saves the sharpest image.

  • Huge, Bright 3.0-inch High Resolution Touch Panel LCD enables easy access to all the camera controls without the conventional buttons to push. The anti-reflection coating that is applied to the Touch Panel enhances viewing even in bright light.

  • Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts the camera settings. Just set the camera to the Scene Auto Selector and the camera changes the settings according to the scene you are photographing, automatically.

  • Nikon's Smart Portrait System:

  • Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and automatically fire the shutter.

  • With Nikon's Blink Proof the camera automatically takes two shots and saves the one in which the subject's eyes are open.

  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.

  • Face-Priority AF is Nikon's face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces in a group portrait.

  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.1 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
55% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(3), Easy to setup(4), Easy to use(9), Large clear LCD(4), Simple controls(7)
Cons:
Poor in low light(4)
Best Uses:
Family photos(4), Fun(7)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(6), Photo enthusiast(3)
 
[...]
By Tk from Pa on 6/12/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

You guys who complain about these lower end cameras need to stop complaining bc this is a great camera for the price. Key is that it is an overall great camera its not the best but it is def not the worst. If you want the best go ahead and spent the [$] on the best. This is a great camera for the price.

 
NIKON COOLPIX S230 PLUM OUTFT W/CASE
By CindyVerified Purchaser from nj on 5/25/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

I have been using this product at parties and its pretty good. The picture quality is a little fuzzy on the screen but I hope the pictures dont print that way!

 
I am not satisfied
By RpVerified Purchaser from Atlanta,GA on 5/25/2009
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light, Poor Picture Quality
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

i don't like this product , how can i returned this. can i take to ritz store personaly for returned.

 
NIkon S230
By KenVerified Purchaser from Battle Creek, MI on 5/24/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

[...]

 
It's loveable!!
By AllieVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PA on 5/20/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

This camera is great! The touch screen is easy to use and the color is also fun!

 
Don't do it...
By SenaitEritreaVerified Purchaser from Denver on 5/20/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use
Cons:
Grainy pictures, Picture Quality, Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

The pictures come out really grainy. I've played around with every single setting possible. Very dissapointed. I always buy Nikon products, and this was the first one that sucked!

 
Nice camera for the price.
By ColinVerified Purchaser from Dallas TX on 5/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

Not bad for the price although have had issues with picture quality... Was able to resolve though by setting ISO to 200 or less. Also stabilization needs to be turned off if taking action shots or pic usually comes out blurred.

 
Fancy but no quality
By GiantrevVerified Reviewer from DC on 5/13/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light, Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

Touchscreen is nice and browsing photos with tip of finger but definitely does not worth [$]with that poor picture quality e.g. inside of building. Do not buy if you intend to take photos inside of building or use flash for more than 3 feet.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Save your money
By Momo2Verified Reviewer from North Carolina on 5/10/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Grainy pictures blurry
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

I received this camera for Mother's Day. I've been frustrated with my old one because the shutter wasn't quick enough to keep up with my 2 year old and her baby brother, so my husband bought this one because we like touch screens and it was 10 MP (my old one is 7). The shutter speed is definitely quicker, but every picture I take is blurry, the screen is grainy, and the movies are also low quality. It's boxed up, ready to go back. We're going to try a Cannon instead.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Grain
By CADreaming from San Diego, CA on 5/8/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

I bought this looking for something to replace our old 4mp cannon. It was intended to be our simple point and shoot. After about 100 test shots, using all the auto features, manual adjustments, and everything else I could think of, I gave up. I did not get one shot. Every picture was grainy. They were so grainy I could not tell if they were also out of focus. To me it seemed like the camera was stuck on ISO 1600. The touch screen worked very well, and I think the concept is great. It's getting harder for me to see small print and tiny buttons, and it was bright, clear and easy to read and follow. The menu's were clear, and even though before I bought it,I thought being able to write or draw on pictures in the camera was pointless, it actually was very creative, and offers some fun options. Maybe I got a bad processor. [...] I like Nikons, but this camera is a bust.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
WoW ! The smile detecter is going off!
By TrilliongemsVerified Reviewer from suburbs,Phila. Pa. on 5/4/2009
Pros:
Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S230 Digital Camera w/Case (Plum):

What I find great about this camera is the ease. Anyone can use this camera, but it still has the features you can use, if you are looking for a camera with extra's. It's a camera I can use professionaly for my work and website, yet let my daughter take it with her on her class trip and feel like I was there with her. With 12 year old girls, a picture is worth a thousand words, really!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.