Buy the Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black) image
 
(based on 43 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Coolpix Performance - passion made powerful. Close Encounters - The Nikon Coolpix P80.

The new Coolpix P80 combines 10.1 megapixels and an incredible 18x (27mm-486mm) optical Zoom-NIKKOR lens for exceptional image quality and stunning prints as large as 20 x 30 inches. Optical VR Image Stabilization minimizes the effect of camera shake, for sharper images. The incredible, bright 2.7-inch high-resolution LCD and electronic viewfinder make composing and sharing pictures easier than ever. Program, Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority and Manual Exposure Modes give you personal control over camera operation.

Amazing 18X Zoom! (27mm-486mm) Optical Zoom-NIKKOR lens

Nikon Coolpix P80 Key Features

10.1 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 20 x 30 inches. Plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

Amazing 18x Optical Wide-Angle Zoom-NIKKOR Lens provides exceptional pictures. This lens is built on Nikon's proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results. This amazing lens offers unbeatable compositional freedom with its wide-angle (27mm) to super-telephoto coverage (486mm). You can photograph sweeping landscapes and zoom in to capture the action on the baseball or soccer field!

The World's Most Compact Super-telephoto Camera among competing models equipped with an 18x zoom as of March 4, 2008. This gives you the benefits of both a compact camera and a super-telephoto lens.

New EXPEED Image Processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon's comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates the know-how and the technologies acquired throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is customer-tuned for Coolpix and renders natual-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you won't miss that special moment.

Incredible, Bright 2.7-inch High-Resolution LCD and an Electronic Viewfinder make it easy to compose and share your pictures with friends and family. The incorporation of the high-resolution electronic viewfinder enables you to see through the lens in any type of lighting condition.

Optical Vibration Reduction Image Stabilization compensates for camera shake to prevent blur and produce clearer, sharper results in lower light or unsteady conditions. In addition, the benefits of Nikon's VR system extends to faster framing on the monitor as well as smoother action when using the movie mode.

Program, Shutter-Priority, Aperture-Priority and Manual Exposure Modes give you ultimate control over your pictures. The D-SLR-type mode dial on the top of the camera provides quick access to this greater personal and creative control. Now, you can adjust the camera's settings for any type of lighting conditions and get as creative as you want.

Auto Adjusts up to ISO 6400 and lets you keep shooting, even in lower light. With a light sensitivity range of up to ISO 6400 in manual control, this creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions. ISO 3200 and ISO 6400 settings are available at 3MP or lower resolution.

New Sports Continuous Scene Mode for shooting up to 13fps, up to 30 frames, when you set the resolution to 3MP or lower. These high-speed capture settings help you stay ahead of the action, whether it's a swift golf or baseball swing, or the speed of the soccer field. At 13fps, you'll capture all the action.

Nikon Image Innovations include: In-Camera Red-Eye Fix, that automatically looks for and fixes most instances of red-eye; Face Priority AF, Nikon's face-finding technology that can quickly find and focus on up to 12 faces in a group portrait; and D-Lighting which rescues pictures that are too dark for printing by enhancing the underexposed areas of the picture while not touching the properly exposed areas.

High Quality TV Movies with Sound are now just a press of a button away with your Coolpix P80. Record TV-quality movies with sound whose duration is only limited by the space available on your SD/SDHC card. Connect your camera to your TV, and you have instant home movies.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 43 reviews)
93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(24), Fast shutter speed(8), Great picture quality(19), Image stabilization(17), Large clear LCD(35)
Cons:
Slow focus(3), Slow sensor(3)
Best Uses:
Art(14), Documentary(5), Fun(34), Landscape/scenery(7), Photojournalism(8)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(19), Casual user(5), Enthusiast(8), Photo enthusiast(8)
 
Cool Pix P80
By sandwichheadVerified Purchaser from San Antonio, TX on 1/23/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Image Stabilization
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Low Internal Memory
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Still haven't tried all options, yet.

 
this product is well worth the money
By aspiring photographerVerified Purchaser from elk park, NC. on 1/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

this camara is great. It really over exceded my expectations. It takes great pics of the moon and snow. Great for taking movies. An 8gig card will take 2 hours of video. Great for utube vids. A nice panaramic feature assist. Never seen that before on other brands. Really enjoyed so far.

 
Great travel companion
By rabbitVerified Purchaser from Sacramento, CA on 1/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Great Optical Zoom, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Have not found any yet
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Great travel camera for my wife. It is light and user friendly as compared to the D70s we take on land and cruise trips.

 
i would buy this product again i love it
By e leijaVerified Purchaser from mississippi on 1/14/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

i use this camera taking pictures of my 17 month old daughter. this product is easy to use, user friendly, good quality pictures, takes pictures of things moving and the picture turns out good, does not take blurry picures like some cameras, image stablization is great. i do not have any complaints about the product at all. there is nothing that i do not like about this product. it is excellent and i would recommend it to anyone who needs a great digital camera.

 
Nikon Coolpix P80
By Scrapbook LoverVerified Purchaser from Fort Valley, VA on 1/14/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I am just a casual photographer and this was a gift that I love. I can take pictures and everything turns out so clear and with such a great quality. Also you don't have to be a pro to understand how the camera operates.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is an awesome camera!
By photo junkieVerified Purchaser from West Virginia on 1/12/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I love this camera! There are so many features that it will take me forever to get it all the way figured out. So far it has been great! The zoom is awesome, and I love to use the sport mode to get pics of my kids in action! I do have trouble getting it to focus sometimes, but that's probably my fault because I don't know how to work all of the features.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome holiday pictures
By KristyVerified Purchaser from Memphis, TN on 1/12/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

This camera is awesome if you are looking for something better than the "point and clicks" but not as expensive as the SLRs. It takes clear and vibrant photos as long as you remember to open the flash when it's needed. This camera is excellent in taking high speed photos of sports action. I would definitely recommend this camera.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Versitile Camera
By Nanato4Verified Purchaser from Knoxville TN on 1/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Too much lag time
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Thanks to the sports mode, I can catch the shot I need of the grandkids and delete all the unneeded frames leading up to the shot I wanted.
Better lighting in manual mode where I can adjust aperature. In Auto mode, it picks up dust particles and reflects light off them.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love my new P80
By DeirdraVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 1/4/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Great in low light, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Fun, KIDS, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I love my new P80! Three years ago my 35mm died just before Christmas and I ran out and bought the first pocket camera I saw and have regretted it ever since. This camera was easy to use right out of the box. I was able to get great shots of the kids and family on Christmas 24hours after the camera arrived! I have used it out side in harsh winter light and at an evening light festival. The pictures are clear, even indoors with no flash. I don't miss my 35mm anymore!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best CoolPix yet......
By hoboenVerified Purchaser from Austin (Kyle) Texas on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

The 18x zoom is a real plus in composing the picture. Very little cropping if any is needed to attain the desired composition.

Images shared by: hoboen

They love to pose and have no fear of the flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Disappointed
By KateVerified Purchaser from Texas on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Poor quality
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Bought this camera for my daughter for Christmas to take pictures of the grandkids. She opened it for Christmas and a couple of days later the zoom lens no longer moves.[...] What a disappointment.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This has it all
By SusieVerified Purchaser from Tennessee on 12/31/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

This camera is easy to use- I use it for people shots, and general things. It is lightweight, and easy to use. Have not tried out all the functions yet, but am pleased so far with performance.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fabulous Photos, Amateurs Might Hesitate
By Angie the Animal-LoverVerified Purchaser from Memphis, TN on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Cons:
Functions Require Study, High ISO not High Quality, Poor In Low Light, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel, Work-related
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

This camera was a step up for me, the casual photgrapher, from my last, more user-friendly camera; it has a wide variety of functions and settings that allow me to advance my photography to a whole new level. I chose this camera because I work with animals in low-light conditions and wanted a camera to accomodate that, but the high ISO allowed by the camera does not necessarily guarantee better photos, of course. With the flash and adequate lighting, this camera takes fantastic photos, especially for close-ups on small animals and such. Learning the variety of functions allowed was slightly more time-consuming for an amateur to learn and practice. I anticipate becoming a better photographer because of this camera; it will just take a little more time and effort.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Camera
By Lami25Verified Reviewer from Washington on 12/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Strong Construction
Cons:
Some blurry pictures
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I got this camera for christmas. My husband said i could pick the camera i wanted. I thought all this time i wanted a fuji finepix..but when i saw it in the store, it didn't "wow" me. I saw this camera online...and i knew it was the one i wanted to get. Esp, the mp, the big screen...i was in love. The only negative thing, if anything i have to say about this camera was that some of my pix come out blurry..when i was taking pix of my kids opening presents or even when my son was still, holding up his presents, they came out blurry. I don't know if i did something wrong or what, but i was a little disappointed. Im not giving up on this camera though, I have heard a lot of people say "you have to get used to the camera and its features" and what not. It's a beautiful camera...and it's soooo comfortable to hold, even with one hand...it's sturdy and feels good in your hand(s).

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
So a Great addition to my hobby
By Freehand FrankVerified Purchaser from Colonial Heights Virginia on 12/22/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Image Stabilization, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I would recommend this camera to all types of photograhers.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Zoom
By Pictures tell the storyVerified Purchaser from Elgin IL on 12/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Image Stabilization, Lightweight, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Macro Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I love to take very close shots of flowers, butterflies and dragonflies. Nature intrigues me. A great zoom for those close up shots is essential to me. The quick reshoot feature is wonderful when trying to capture a butterfly or an elusive child. As always, Nikon has provided a great product.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
i would buy this product again and again
By kaseyVerified Purchaser from bealeton va on 12/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

easy to use good produc

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera so far. Am happy with it.
By clrapp from Dallas, Tx. on 12/11/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Fun, General Use, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago and am very happy so far with the quality.

I was considering a DSLR, but the price was too high. I think this comes very close, I just can't change lenses. But the zoom length is great on this camera, so I can't imagine needing too much more than what this offers...

Took pics at a parade on Saturday with tons of backlight sunlight. The camera did well when shooting directly into this backlighting... Very happy with this.

The speed is great. Can snap a shot and go to another shot quickly. My old point and click, 8 MP could not do this...

Very happy so far with this camera...

 
A Great Camera that takes great pictures
By RichVerified Purchaser from Dalton, NH on 11/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I use this camera for vacations and snowmobiling and it really takes great pictures and the 18x zoom lens is fantastic for the far away shots. The camera is easy to use and the pictures are great. I would definately recommend this camera to anyone who needs a great camera.

Images shared by: Rich

Mt Washington Hotel in NH

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Handy P80
By Cal FanVerified Purchaser from Bay Area, California on 11/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Histogram at Playback, Lightweight, Optical Zoom, Viewfinder Option
Cons:
Battery capactiy
Best Uses:
Kids Sports, Landscape, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

My children are getting more active, and I was tired of "missing shots" with my pocket Nikon Coolpix when they are in action at T-ball, in the pool, on the ski slopes, etc. So I decided to buy a Nikon P80. Don't get me wrong - I would love to have a high-end SLR. But - I also need something that is smaller and lightweight so that I will actually use it. Not to mention, I would not carry a full-size SLR on the ski slopes. So I settled on the Nikon P80 and I would have to say that the optical zoom was the deciding factor.

I just took a 4-hour digital photography class in Yosemite Valley. The camera was working great, but then I noticed that my battery was being drained. To conserve battery power, I turned off the LCD display and used the view-finder instead. As a result, I was able to take many more photos. In the class we learned how to check the "histogram" for over-exposure. The P80 has this function in the playback mode. So you take a photo, go to playback to check the histogram, and then, if needed, you can modify the exposure and shoot again.

My next purchase will be a second battery to use as a back-up.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I am in love with my Nikon P80.
By VictoriaVerified Purchaser from Gloucester, VA on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

My camera arrived at my job and I neded it within the hour. I was able to easily operate the camera so that I could take pictures on the fly. The software installation was easy. I can't wait to explore all of the features. This the first camera I have ever personally purchased. It goes everywhere with me.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cool camera for average photographer
By TomVerified Purchaser from Ann Arbor, MI on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Quiet
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Good quality camera for every day use. Came up short on my needs, but only because of the limitations on telephoto capabilities.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Quality- Affordable Price
By MoparLHSVerified Purchaser from Nanticoke PA on 11/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Very Lightweight and can be as easy to use as the push of a button or you can change as many setting as you wish for the more experienced photographers.

Images shared by: MoparLHS

Cheaseapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
just love it!
By irishVerified Purchaser from Chelsea, al. on 11/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Image Stabilization, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

beautiful zoom pictures, easy to handle and simple to use

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beautiful and Extremely Clear Pictures!
By CynnieVerified Purchaser from Cincinnati, Ohio on 10/14/2008
Pros:
Bright flash, Captures details well, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use and learn, Excellent image quality, Excellent instructions, Light weight, Professional pictures, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Flash delay, Limited video time usage
Best Uses:
Art, Family reunions, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

This is an outstanding camera for the price! I was extremely pleased with the quality of the picures. They were very bright and clear, no matter how unsteady or shaky your hands are. However, the video function is limited to about 20 minutes before it shuts off. Also, there is a delay with the flash, making you think initially that the picture is finished once you pressed the button when actually you must wait several seconds for the flash to complete the picture. Otherwise, I was extremely pleased with my purchase.

Images shared by: Cynnie

Live Flowers from Florist

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Silk Flowers at Home

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice!
By KateVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 10/14/2008
Pros:
Clear Shots, Great Range
Cons:
Battery not great
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I love the camera but was disappointed when the battery stopped holding a charge after only a few months

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Good but could improve
By n/aVerified Purchaser from Bridgewater, MA on 10/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Best Uses:
Art, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Would have prefered a more compact battery charger. The cord assembly is cumbersome. Need to change the battery or develop a simple plug in type charger.

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
NIKON P80 WILL DO IT ALL
By D SquaredVerified Purchaser from Cincinnati on 9/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Extremely long zoom, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Action sports, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I used to be a serious amature photographer, it got to be a drag carrying around a Canon A-1 with a motor drive and a large zoom lens (28-205). This cmaera could handle anything. Then the digital age begun, Everything got better. Smaller lighter cameras, no dark room;do it on your computer. I was spoiled carrying a nice lifgt weight camera around my neck. Even the new digital SLR's are big and heavy compared to the Nikon P80. I have a Canon S2 IS but it only has 12X optical zoom. It works welland did a great job, but I still felt limited by the zoom. Then Nikon P80 came on the scene; a fast Nikon point and shoot with a 18X optical zoom and an electronic view finder. At this point all you can say is it is a Nikon. My first outing was a Pee Wee football game it made these 10 year old boys look like the NFL; clear bright colorful shots. Use continuos shooting and you have your pick of shots that are sports card quality. Set-up was a snap, allthe modes are easy to use. Owners manual is easier to under stand than the Canon. Battery life is pretty good although I would recommned spending $30 on a 2nd battery. For super fast action shots get a Sandisk Extreme III SD chip and this camera will do anything...I might even say as good as a low end SLR, at 1/2 the weight, something you can carry around your neck all day.

My only beef is that it doesn't seem to be as contructed as my Canon. But i still think the NiKon taked better pictures.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice design and easy use
By MikeVerified Purchaser from St. Clair, MN on 9/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Love picture quality, Small Lag Time, Very easy to use
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Use a lot w/ kids activities (soccer, football, baseball, basketball). It takes amazing photos and can zoom in and keep great detail.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best compact camara with macro and zoom
By Serge the carstylerVerified Purchaser from Pittsburg on 9/25/2008
Pros:
Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Nikon is quality.
Nikon gives me the contrast, high resolution.
Nikon gives the exact reading light.
Nikon gives me my standard quality for definition.
Great camera´s takes time to get.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to use with high quality
By Bill the RealtorVerified Purchaser from Washington DC on 9/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lcd Hard To View Outdoors
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Although it is not as small as previous digitals I really like the zoom lens and the ability to easily frame and photograph scenes or people in a distant setting. The quality in the distant photos does not seem to degrade. Also, the lens gives a wide variety of uses. There are several options for taking "very good" photos, but all in all the standard setting has proven to be above average. I have to master the flash. It seems a little spotty but I think that might be a matter of my using the right functions. I also like the choice of shutter settings especially while traveling in a fast TVA train or car. Sometimes it seems slow to get going but I have been able to work around that.. slow means a few seconds!

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
cool pix P 80 digicam by nikon
By hal5141Verified Reviewer from florida on 9/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

the p 80 isalmost like a lump of clay, you can position it easily, for horizontal as well as vertical shots. It is not ungainly w/ the tele lens in the 18X position, as are some 18X plus digicams. You can turn off the optical viewfinder so no stray light enters the photo when you are shooting w/ the self timer. You can automatically have the date stamped in lower right hand corner of print as you shoot,or you can turn off this feature. no mistakes w/ flash, as it a FAILSAFE unit, and user must turn on the flash, as does not automatically go on, as in some digicams.. a fantstic ASA 6400 is available if so desired( only in Manual mode)- so that tells you that is for the learned and gifted photographer. For the not so professional snap shoot , the auto controls A (AUTOMATIC) and P(programmed)do a good job of sizing up any photo op that isn't really tricky. Trickiest being- fast movement and low light - Once you learn the menus, these type of photo ops can be addressed in a number of ways -- The threaded lens allows for a 34mm filter being attached.A polorizer or UL protective filter are useful in many cases_ if you wish to keep them in place,however, a larger protective lens cap is needed..All in all , this Nikon is a good value for the money-- Great photos are shot by great photographers ,not by great cameras for the most part.The P 80 is a journeyman digicam, not a spectacular digicam- It approachs photography in a CAN DO manner, as long as you are willing to intelligently use it's numerous features when the photo op situation calls for more than mindless snapping away - Lastly , and this is important- it is really fun to use. The 18x optical (427mm when converted to 35mm)when used w/ maximum light and minimal shake is a delight.. Much care in choosing your photo ops for this extreme magnification , will keep you from being disappointed w/ the results . As with all photographic lens, the more magnification in a tele mode produces the need to be aware of light fall off as, you hone in and a anchored platform becomes a must. Miricles can not be adchieved , even by the most expensive equipment ( and certainly the P 80 is NOT expensive for what you get) if there is ight fl off and shake . This is a intelligent digicam that requires a intelligent user Or at least one that has digested the very informative instruction manual that comes w/ the P 80--- hal5141

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I fully recommend the Nikon P80
By MacVerified Purchaser from Upstate New York on 9/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I have just returned from two trips, one in the New England states and one from New York City. I am very pleased with the ease of operation and the quality of the pictures. The zoom was especially good from far distances! I was able to get full frame shots of players at the 2008 U.S. Open from the top of the stadium!! It's excellent in my book!!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I dearly love this camera
By 1st birdVerified Purchaser from Olney. TX on 9/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I am surprised at the clearity of the photos. My wife took a couple yesterday and her hands shake but the pictures showed every blemish on my face, and there are many.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
A RARE PLEASANT SURPRISE!
By Rob L.Verified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 8/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I wanted a full SLR, but did not have time for the education before our trip to Hawaii. I got some poster quality shots! This camera is a great hybrid that allows me to control, but also produces great results on fully automatic and is simple to operate. This product delivered more than I expected. I would buy it again and recommend it anyone

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Deep, Deep, Deep data
By KB the copVerified Purchaser from Victoria, Tx on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lag time is a problem
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

With a 10 mega pixel image you have extremely deep data. You can enlarge the image almost infinitely to get exactly the final image you want. Using the sports setting you can work-around the lag time that is inherent in all electronic cameras. Really a great camera in a small package.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon P80 Makes Perfect...
By RogVerified Purchaser from Maryland on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, LIghtweight
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Perfect sense if you want a "quick to grab" little camera.

Perfect pictures, without really playing with the controls.

Perfect companion for quick trips or long hikes, while not pocket sized - it does fit around your neck without strain - or in a purse for the "quick shot" grab..

[2 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not such a great camera after all
By RooVerified Reviewer from Kirkland, WA on 8/20/2008
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I was not impressed with this camera and it was too late to return it - otherwise, I would have taken it back!
Quality of photos isn't what I expected from a Nikon camera.
Disappointed with the shots I've taken.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera-Easy Use!
By CeciliaVerified Purchaser from Candler, NC on 8/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Great taking pictures of our grand kids when you need to get a picture fast! Wonderful outdoor pictures that are so true in color!

[5 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Video Mode Problem with Nikon's P-
By KZ Mike from Federal Way, WA on 8/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD
Cons:
Loud, Low Light Capabilities, Video Focus, Video Quality
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I purchased the P80 about 0 weeks ago for 2 primary reasons. 1] I am an old Nikon F fan and 2] I wanted a digital 'super zoom' that was able to do video clips with zoom, with sound and VR. As expected the Nikon performed very well in most areas, EXCEPT in video mode. My previous/current 'super zoom' is a 4+ yr old Fuji S-602 and has no VR or use of zoom during video recording. The Fuji's video records excellent video quality clips [superior resolution to many dedicated consumer video only cameras]so my expectations for the Nikon [after all it is a Nikon and the Fuji is not] were quite high. . . I am totally 'depressed' with the Nikon's video quality and capabilities. The fact that the new Nikon P-80 is not up to the capability of a 4+ year old competition, Nikon should not have included the feature, wasting the 'purchase effort' of those who wish or need to utilize video in their puchase choice. . . There are many other other camera makes that manage to not have this problem. If Nikon is going to include a feature set, should it not be of the quality befitting the Nikon name?

After returning the first P-80, I received a replacement and had hoped there was a problem with the first camera. The replacement has the same problems as the first. I did do some testing find out if there was any variable in its operation that could be causing the issue. The second camera DOES have the same problem

The Nikon video clips are of be poor qualilty at best. . . the auto focus and auto exposure seem to be hunting contantly and as a result the focus and exposures are 'not right' most of the time. The largest issue I discoverd was once the camera is put in Video mode, the camera starts emitting fairly loud clicking sounds prior to intitiating record and during the video being recorded. As a result, the audio records the clicking sound, which in most cases is louder than the sound one wants on the video. I susupect the clicking sound is a result of the 'hunting' for focus and distance. I have returned the second camera and am still looking. . .

Click sound discovered: The click sound is generated when the 'full time' focusing option is choosen from the video menu. This menu is accessed by turning the 'program knob' to video and pressing the menu button. I believe there is a problem with the full time focusing operation in this camera and hope this info will be passed on to Nikon for a 'fix'.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
This camera makes me look good!
By VPVerified Purchaser from Houston on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Close-ups, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

This camera is great. It's my third Nikon and the best so far. The optical zoom is amazing. I took a picture of baby birds in a nest 10 feet up in a nest and it looked like I was 3 inches away. I used it first thing at a family reunion and didn't have a bad picture in the bunch. Everyone wanted copies of my photos. Some of them are now looking to upgrade to this camera. I'm very happy with this camera.

Images shared by: VP

Nesting Baby Birds

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[10 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best in its league-Nikon Coolpix P80
By rajanVerified Reviewer from Bangalore, India on 7/10/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Compact, Sportive look, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Creativity, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

Small body, large zoom, wide-angle lens, super small macro and manual overrides. It sounds like a hotlist for any photographer wanting a compact.

[20 of 22 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lots of features in one little package
By TerriGVerified Reviewer from Memphis, TN on 6/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup
Cons:
Long Lag Time, Slower to write, Slow to wake up
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix P80 Digital Camera (Black):

I would prefer more of a manual zoom option and some focus override. While the pictures are great, VR is not quite what I'd expected, never having had it in the past. It's slower to write and wake up than my DiMage 7I but something I'm learning to work around. Not wild about the brightness control button on the back right side - I seem to bump it a lot. I miss an autosensor between the screen and EVF. Despite these negatives, I'm learning to love this camera, especially as a step between a Point and Shoot and a DSLR! The Museum setting is GREAT for low light/artifact pictures.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.