Buy the Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue) image
 
(based on 22 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The Nikon COOLPIX S550, is a stylish new camera that elegantly packs high performance and advanced functions into an ultra-compact body. The S550 boasts 10 effective megapixels of sharp resolution, a 5x Zoom-NIKKOR lens, Electronic Vibration Reduction (VR) Image Stabilization and two new modes that enhance portrait photography: Smile Mode and Blink Warning. The COOLPIX S550 will be available in an array of new colors - plum, cool blue and graphite black - allowing consumers to not only express themselves with their photos, but with their cameras as well.

Built on a custom application of Nikon's innovative EXPEEDTM image processing system for enhanced noise reduction and improved the signal-to-noise (S/N) ratio and incorporating the precision optics of a NIKKOR lens, the COOLPIX S550 brings new ease and fun to capturing smiling faces and special moments.

A first for the COOLPIX camera line, the S550 will feature Smile mode, which automatically fires the shutter when the subject smiles as well as a Blink Warning, which displays a warning message when the subject has blinked. In addition to the aforementioned features, the COOLPIX S550 incorporates Electronic VR Image Stabilization technology, which is designed to help produce sharper and clearer images, especially in lower lighting conditions or when capturing moving subjects. It also offers high ISO capabilities (up to 2000), ideal for capturing images in low-light situations. For consumers that might be unsure about the correct ISO settings for their photos, the S550 is equipped with Automatic Sensitivity Control and High-Sensitivity Mode, which selects the optimal ISO setting for the environment and automatically adjusts to reduce blur.

For sharing and composing, the S550 has a bright 2.5-inch LCD monitor, with an anti-reflective coating and protective acrylic panel, easing the composition of photos and preventing scratches and scuffs. Ideal for sharing photos in a group setting, the COOLPIX S550’s LCD monitor features a 170-degree horizontal and vertical viewing angle.

The S550 continues Nikon's tradition of including its unique image innovations in its COOLPIX cameras. The S550 features enhanced Face-priority AF*, which can now detect and focus on up to 12 faces in a single shot; In-Camera Red-Eye Fix, which can automatically detect and correct red eye in a photo; and D-Lighting, which compensates for excessive backlight or insufficient flash in images.

The COOLPIX S550 is compatible with SDHC cards and utilizes the ultra-compact EN-EL10 rechargeable Li-ion battery. The camera comes bundled with the new COOLPIX Software Suite for editing, organizing and sharing images.

Style Comes Standard!
  • 5x zoom that fits anywhere beautifully
  • 10.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches
  • 5x Optical Zoom-Nikkor Glass Lens - Nikkor optics provide exceptional pictures and gets you close to the action
  • Electronic VR Image Stabilization minimizes the effect of camera shake
  • Incredible, Bright 2.5-inch High Resolution LCD makes it easy to compose and share your pictures
  • All New Stylish, All Metal Design slips right into your shirt pocket or purse!
  • Auto adjusts up to ISO 2000 - keep shooting, even in low light
Nikon In-Camera Innovations
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again
  • Enhanced Face-Priority AF - Nikon's face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed

 

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 22 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(15), Easy to setup(19), Easy to use(11), Great picture quality(11), Large clear LCD(19)
Cons:
Long lag time(3)
Best Uses:
Art(4), Documentary(3), Family photos(11), Fun(21), Photojournalism(3)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(12), Enthusiast(4)
 
Perfect for me!
By KatieVerified Purchaser from Cookeville, TN on 1/1/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I use this product for trips, family get-togethers and other everyday things. It is very easy to use and I love all the features on it! It is a great price for the product. I have told several people about how great it is. I haven't found anything wrong with it yet, either. That's the best part.

 
Nice product
By momVerified Purchaser from Iowa on 12/31/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I bought this for my daughter for Christmas. She really likes it. She said that it is easy to use. She likes the quality of the picture.

 
Coolpix S550 it really Cool
By JillVerified Purchaser from Covington, KY on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Small Body Is Great
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

Surprisingly good pictures from such a small camera. Very easy to use. Small body makes it easy to bring anywhere. Only negative is the amount of time the autofocus takes before snapping a picture.

 
love this camera
By hiitsmeVerified Purchaser from PA on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I love this camera

 
compact camera wows
By Skeet the beetVerified Purchaser from Berkeley, CA on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality
Cons:
Does not come with case
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

The Coolpix series has come a long way over the last 10 years. The camera is small and compact yet retains many features one would expect on larger cameras. In-camera editing is simple to use and easy to learn.

 
I'm Luvin My COOLPIX S550
By JosieVerified Purchaser from Portland, OR on 12/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I think this is a great all around camera for wonderful candid shots, travel pics, party pics, anything you want to keep record of: accident, property damage, to prove a case.

It's fun, small, easy to use, has style, great color and I think that's fantastic!

You can't expect it to be a pro camera, it's not going to take great macro shots of plants, or wild animals, concerts at a distance.
It's not designed for that purpose.
At any rate I'm Luvin My COOLPIX S550!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Mixed feelings
By Jimbo102Verified Reviewer from Santa Clara, CA on 12/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Can take time lapse movie, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use
Cons:
Canon SD1100-better pics, Poor elect stabilization, Poor Operation in Low Light, Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I got it based on reviews but compared it in room light to similar priced Canon SD1100. With flash off and just indoor lighting, the S550 took blurry photos with incorrect colors (electronic image stabilization of S550 not the equal of the optical stabilization of Canon SD1100). I took same shots in same light with Canon and all were sharp and had truer colors. I also tried photos of a tv show-Canon did well, Nikon S550 were blurry and unusable.
Pictures in bright daylight were much better and compared well with the SD1100.
However, the S550 can make time lapse movies and it does have 5X optical zoom vs 3X for the Canon and a simpler interface ie 1 button photo review.

Bottom Line: For an all around indoor/outdoor camera, I think the Canon SD1100 does a significantly better job than the Nikon S550 due to better image stabilization and color control.

 
I would buy this product again.
By bertaVerified Purchaser from boston, ma on 12/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I am a new digital camera user and I have been able to use this product with ease.

 
EASY TO USE
By JohnVerified Purchaser from New Iberia, LA on 12/23/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Buttons too small for my
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

This is the most user friendly camera I have used. It is small enough to carry in my shirt pocket so that I can have a camera where ever I go. And the pictures are beautiful.

 
Great camera for the money...
By Casual PhotographerVerified Purchaser from MD on 12/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I bought this camera for my brother and his wife to take pictures of their family and friends since they entertain often. They can't stop raving about it's ease of use and the great picture quality. I would definitely recommend it to my friends...

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
2nd time given as gift
By lensing87Verified Purchaser from Manhattan IL on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Easy Setup, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

Purchased this camera twice to give as a gift and have not heard any complaints. Seems very basic and easy on screen controls to use.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Small package, Big features!
By JennerclanVerified Purchaser from Wis Rapids, WI on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

The Video feature is underrated and should be used more. You will be surprised by the quality and ease with which videos are made.

Images shared by: Jennerclan

Sunset in Key West

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
i love this camera!! its the best!
By Katie the photographerVerified Reviewer from Minneapolis, MN on 10/23/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

There is nothing i don't like about it. the very best camera you can get.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera for what it is intended for
By Deputycoz from New Jersey on 10/4/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I bought this camera for its size, it easily fits in my hand and is light enough to carry around all day when out hiking or in our Jeep. This also fits in my purse so it is always with me and I have found so many opportunities to take pictures that I would not have had before with a bigger and bulkier point and shoot.

Picture quality is good and with 10mp I can enlarge and crop as needed without loosing quality of the pic.

The rechargeable battery lasts a long time, but I do suggest getting an extra battery, I make sure both are charged before I head out and I easily get the weekend out of the batteries, and this was at an event where I took lots of pics.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great looking and functioning camera
By Designer DavidVerified Purchaser from Washington, DC on 9/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Built-in memory, Easy to Keep Clean, size, Strong Construction, Stylish looks
Best Uses:
Fun, Work photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I have only had the camera a short time but so far I love it. I bought it primarilly for taking photos for my job. I love it because it fits easily in my pocket and is not bulky. It turns on fast and recoveries quickly so I am not waiting. Being in construction I was concerned how durable it would be... my initial impression is that its of solid construction.
I look forward to using it more.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
well worth the money
By shaylene082 from Rapid City, SD on 9/5/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

the zoom is great....its not alot...but its definetly better then 3 zoom...and the 10mp is great now i can blow up pictures and crop them in w/ out them gettin granny

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again and again
By ResaVerified Purchaser from Albany, NY on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I have always bought Nikon cameras. They seem to be the best out there. They are user friendly and take a great picture.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good camera, but not perfect
By BernerVerified Purchaser from Concord, MA on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

This is my first camera. It was easy to set up, and I love the look and feel of it, including how light it is to carry around. I found that the LCD screen was almost impossible to see in direct sunlight, so I bought (for $10) a pop-up shade that fits directly on it. This has helped quite a lot. I also bought a little pouch (for $3) to hold it in. The camera has a lag after you click it while it focuses, and then you have to click it again. I don't always like this feature. I also find that the zoom and wide features don't go really far in or really far out. But, I'm probably looking for features that are beyond the amount of effort I'm willing to put in to picture-taking. All in all, it's been a fun, useful purchase.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a Great Little Camera
By ChuckVerified Purchaser from Henderson, Colorado on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

Even though the camera is easy to use it is hard to see the LCD screen when you are in bright sun light. The smoke color screen it has makes it hard to see what you are trying to take a picture of.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
perfect for the purse
By mistyVerified Purchaser from ri on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

this is the camera for carrying,not to big or clumsy.great color and all around picture taking

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
COOL and Compact
By Bobbi W from Walla Walla Wa. on 6/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean
Cons:
Long Lag Time, Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Small enough to use anywh, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

I loved the camera right out of the box.....it is a small camera that carries lots of extra & easy to use features and works great. I have had the camera for a couple of months and would highly reccommend it to all my friends.We put the SD card in our TV SD card slot and enjoy the pictures.

[5 of 29 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cool looking .....
By IshVerified Reviewer from Piscataway NJ on 4/24/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution
Cons:
Inaccurate Colors, Low-Quality Pictures
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Coolpix S550 Digital Camera (Blue):

First thing you notice when you get this is
that ... its not at all light blue.... as they shown in the screen.. it lil dark blue.

I had very high expectation with this camera..
but it failed is many things.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.