Buy the Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) image
 
(based on 54 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)

Designed with sports photographers and photojournalists in mind, the Nikon D3 introduces an astounding list of brand new features and technologies that make it the most sophisticated and advanced Nikon digital SLR to date. In addition to the new FX-format CMOS sensor, the D3 incorporates Nikon's new EXPEED Image Processing System that is central to the blazing speed and processing power needed for many of the D3's new features.

Images taken with the D3 reflect exceptional overall quality, broad tonal range and depth, along with extremely low-noise throughout its normal ISO range of 200 to 6400. By setting the camera to its built-in options of Lo-1 or Hi-2, the ISO range of the camera can be expanded to the equivalent of ISO 100 or ISO 25,600 respectively, offering unmatched versatility in practically any shooting situation.

The D3 also features an entirely new 51-point auto focus system with Nikon's 3D Focus Tracking feature and two new LiveView shooting modes that allow photographers to frame a photograph using the camera's high-resolution LCD monitor. The D3 uses the world's first Scene Recognition System to greatly enhance the accuracy of auto focus, auto exposure and auto white balance detection in the camera by recognizing the subject or scene being photographed and applying this information to the calculations for the three functions.

Sports, commercial and press photographers are increasingly demanding higher ISO sensitivity, better resolution, wider dynamic range and a familiar depth-of-field in relation to picture angles. With the D3, Nikon is excited to deliver a solution that represents an ideal unification of unsurpassed image quality, high-speed operation and professional durability, without compromise. Nikon fully expects the D3 to positively affect the photographic community in a way that hasn't been seen since the introduction of the Nikon D1.

Nikon's Sensor Formats: FX and DX
Nikon's digital SLR cameras based on its DX-format sensor have been hugely successful and represent an excellent combination of high image quality, size and value. And while the DX-format has been widely accepted by professional photographers and photo enthusiasts around the world, there is an increasing demand among professionals for a digital SLR camera that features higher ISO sensitivity, wider dynamic range and offers the same relationship between picture angle and depth-of-field that were the hallmarks of the 35mm film format.

Responding to this demand, Nikon has developed the D3 as its first digital SLR camera that features the Nikon FX-format CMOS sensor to meet the real-world requirements of its professional customers. The D3 delivers full resolution 12.1 megapixel images at up to nine frames per second when used with conventional AF-Nikkor lenses. When used with DX Nikkor lenses, the D3 automatically switches to the DX-format mode that uses a cropped portion of the sensor to generate 5.1 megapixel resolution images. While in this mode, the D3 automatically masks the portion of the viewfinder that will not be photographed and enables the capability to shoot up to 11 frames per second.

Both Nikon FX and DX-formats provide their own advantages, and Nikon recognizes that both formats are necessary in order to satisfy its diverse customer demands. Based on this recognition, Nikon will strengthen its D-SLR lineup with the addition of the D3 FX-format SLR camera and a broadened assortment of Nikkor interchangeable lenses, while continuing to develop and market high-performance DX-format cameras and lenses.

The Most Intelligent Nikon Ever
The D3 introduces a range of innovative technologies and features that significantly improve the accuracy, control and performance professional photographers can get from their equipment. Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System advances the use of Nikon's acclaimed 1,005-segment sensor to recognize colors and light patterns that help the camera determine the subject and the type of scene being photographed, before an image is captured. This information is also used to improve the accuracy of auto focus, auto exposure and auto white balance detection functions in the D3. For example, the camera can track moving subjects better in all directions and by identifying them it can also automatically select focus points faster and with greater accuracy. It can also analyze scene highlights and more accurately determine exposure, as well as infer light sources to deliver more accurate white balance.

The D3 incorporates Nikon's new Multi-CAM 3500FX auto focus module that features an intelligent array of 15 cross-type sensors and 36 horizontal sensors. These sensors can either be used individually or in groups, with the option for Single Area AF mode and Dynamic AF modes using groups of either 9, 21 or all 51 focus points. The system also features 3D Focus Tracking with automatic focus point switching that takes advantage of all 51 AF points as it uses color and light information to accurately track the subject. Nikon's new Scene Recognition System and improved focus algorithms also contribute to the impressive performance of the new 51-point AF system.

Nikon's new Picture Control System makes it easy for users of all experience levels to select and apply adjustments to how their pictures are rendered and create optimized settings to suit their individual preferences. The same settings produce consistent picture tone, even when using different camera bodies. The Picture Control System offers four basic setting options - Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome. These can be directly modified for easy adjustment and customization of image parameters, such as sharpening, tone compensation, brightness and saturation. Photographers can customize and store up to nine customized options in the D3 and export up to 99 to a CF memory card, enabling photographers to share settings among multiple D3 cameras.

Taking a cue from the popularity of Nikon's D-Lighting technology, the D3 features a new Active D-Lighting mode that, when enabled, provides remarkable real-time highlight and shadow correction with optimized image contrast. Active D-Lighting produces broader tone reproduction in both shadows and highlights by controlling highlights and exposure compensation while applying localized tone control technology to achieve a more pleasing level of contrast across the entire image. And because the advantages of Active D-Lighting are applied as images are captured, image editing time can be shortened.

The D3's LiveView feature offers two modes for confirming subjects and composition on the new 920,000-dot, high-resolution 3-inch LCD monitor while shooting. The Tripod mode is designed for precise focus and accuracy when the camera is on a stable platform and the subject is not moving. In this mode, the camera focuses on the subject using focal-plane contrast and any point on the LCD screen can be selected as the focus point for the picture. The second mode, called Handheld mode, allows photographers to use the camera's conventional TTL focusing system, with all 51-points and 15 cross-type points available. When using this mode, the camera activates focusing immediately when the shutter button is pressed, to ensure accurate focus.

The Fastest Camera in its Class
The D3 has the fastest reaction times of any camera in its class. Its shutter release time lag is only 37 milliseconds, and its start-up time is approximately 0.12 seconds. It is capable of continuously shooting approximately nine frames per second in full resolution with FX-format, up to 64 consecutive frames in JPEG, Normal compression. For NEF (RAW) files, the D3 can shoot up to 20 or up to 17 consecutive frames depending on whether it is set to 12-bit or 14-bit images. When using a DX-format lens, the camera automatically switches to DX-format mode, adjusting the resolution of the camera to 5.1 megapixels. In the DX-format mode, photographers also have the opportunity to increase the speed at which the camera can take pictures by limiting the auto exposure and going up to 10 frames per second or limiting both auto exposure and auto focus and going up to 11 frames per second.

Refined Ergonomics and Usability
The D3 reflects Nikon's most streamlined, functional and aesthetically pleasing layout in a digital SLR camera, all designed so photographers can take pictures with less fatigue, greater accuracy and comfort.

The camera's viewfinder provides virtually 100 percent coverage for accurate framing, while an ultra-high definition, 920,000-dot VGA LCD screen on the rear of the camera displays images with vivid color and clarity. The 170-degree wide viewing angle makes composing shots using the LCD screen in LiveView mode easy. The D3 also features a unique Virtual Horizon digital level sensor that indicates the camera's alignment relative to the true horizon on the rear LCD screen or in the viewfinder.

The D3 also features two CompactFlash card slots that can be used for consecutive recording (overflow), simultaneous recording (backup), separating recording of RAW and JPEG files or even copying pictures between the two cards. Images can be displayed directly from the camera to a high-definition monitor using the camera's HDMI port and an optional cable.

The D3 is designed for professional use in demanding conditions. The exterior of the D3 is crafted of magnesium alloy and the camera's shutter mechanism is tested to 300,000-cycle releases. The 3.0-inch LCD is strengthened with tempered glass and the D3's comprehensive array of rubber gaskets and seals protect vulnerable entry points from dust and moisture.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 54 reviews)
96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(4), Excellent in low light(3), Fast shutter speed(5), Good in low light(3), Great picture quality(3)
Cons:
Heavy(6), LCD fragile/scratches(4), Loud(11)
Best Uses:
Art(24), Documentary(19), Fun(19), Outdoors(3), Photojournalism(33)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(18), Professional(28), Pro photographer(3), Semi-professional(4)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this camera
By ApophisVerified Reviewer from California on 8/14/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Costume button assignment

Images shared by: Apophis

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
great for fast action
By martial arts guy from san jose on 7/9/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I set my ISO to 64k and turn on the flood lights. Taking action shots of TaeKwonDo people kicking is easy. I don't need a flash because of the Nikon ability to shoot in low light.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Master Piece
By Mark Anthony PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Miami, Florida on 2/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is a beautiful Master Piece. It was highly recommended to me and I would highly recommend it to others. This camera works wonderful in low light and the controls are positioned for comfort either way you shoot horizontal or vertical. It is just simply an amazing camera. Some call it a tank but I refer to it as a hummer, its built to last and gives you everything you need.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I made a room just for it!
By emsVerified Purchaser from honolulu, hawaii on 10/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I use the D3 for professional assigments and i love the sound of the shutter that makes everyone's head turn. I have three Nikon lenses i use with the D3 and i have never met a camera that captures life's moments with such ease.

 
If I Could Stasrt Over...
By D.W.Verified Reviewer from SPARKS, NV. on 9/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, No Comparision, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I HAVE BEEN USING A "PENTAX K-100D. BUT AFTER I HAD AN OPPORTUNITY TO SEE & USE THE NIKON D-3, WELL, I AM JUST AMAZED. IF I COULD START OVER AGAIN IN PHOTOGRAPHY, WELL I DO NOT MAKE ENOUGH MONEY TO BUY THE THE MASTER OF CAMERAS AS THIS ONE IS. BUT, IF I COULD START OVER... I AM SO VERY PLEASED THAT CAMERAS HAVE COME SO VERY FAR.
THANK YOU NIKON.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best at this point in time!
By Photo AlVerified Purchaser from California Desert on 8/28/2008
Pros:
Auto Dynamic Range Featur, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Live View to slow, Non so far
Best Uses:
ITTL CLS Flash Sytem, Photojournalism, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

1. Love the CLS remote strobe system, once you learn the many uses of this feature.
2. All Nikon Pro cameras keep the controls pretty much in the same locations for easy and fast changes.
3. Live view needs to fuction as easily as all the amerture cameras, rather than having to go thru a menu.
4. I love that all highly used controls are external on a button or knob for fast changes.
5. At present I am using this camera for weddings and personal use.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By KerriVerified Purchaser from Dover, NH on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Frequent error messages
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is a tank!! If you don't have a lot of upper body strength you may not enjoy using it. I use this camera for weddings. It is wonderful in low light and doesn't blow out your highlights. Beautiful color. I do enjoy it more than any other camera I have used. My one complaint is that I get frequent error messages. They don't interfere with the operation but I am going to contact Nikon to see what's up.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon D3
By RonVerified Purchaser from Boynton Beach, FL on 8/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slightly Heavy
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I love my Nikon D3! I have been using Nikon cameras since 1965. I purchased the D100 when it came out, replaced it with the D200 when that came out, and splurged on the D3. Each camera was better than its predecessor. I still have the D200 and I still use it on ocassion, but the D3 just blows it away for clarity, truer colors and faster focusing. I have fun with the continuous shooting sometimes.

Images shared by: Ron

Sunset over the mountain

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Inside a church, taken with available light

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Nikon D3! Are you still thinking?
By JamisonVerified Purchaser from Flushing, NY on 8/19/2008
Pros:
Accurate colors, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, High ISO performance, High quality photo, Picture Quality, Price, Professional quality, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Focus area limitation
Best Uses:
Art, Portraiture, Professional Photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

These are the digital bodies I had before Nikon D3.
Nikon D1x, Nikon D200, and Nikon D2x.
Comparing with all these previous bodies, D3 is on its own standard. You can't compare the quality of the images with previous bodies. The color, sharpness, contrast, having two memory slots, and etc.. It is just an amazing camera which makes Nikon to say that they are a good camera manufacturer. Before, with all those DX format bodies were just lame, which I truely regret buying. One thing I do not like about D3 is the focus areas where they are all concentrated on the mid section. I do use all four corners for different compositions, and I have to shoot wider to have the shot.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best camera yet from Nikon!
By ViaMarieVerified Purchaser from Hollywood, Ca on 8/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast shutter, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Price
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I use this for Art, fashion, portaitures and weddings. Has great low noise levels as promised on a higher ISO. The full frame has long been awaited. A higher megapixal count would be nice and a bit heavy on weight and price but You won't be disappointed.

Images shared by: ViaMarie

Shot in Low light, high ISO with no flash.

Image Thumbnail
 
Review D3
By bobVerified Purchaser from Duluth GA on 8/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

[...]

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon d3 Great camera
By MaxVerified Purchaser from maryland on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Great low light pictures. Crisp pictures, fast action shots are great

 
Great Camera
By TomVerified Purchaser from Lubbock, TX on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great in low light, Long battery life, Low Noise At High ISO, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Bulky, Expensive, Loud, Needs built in fill flash, No sensor cleaner
Best Uses:
Documentary, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Fantastic, almost unbelievable in low light. Imagine no more indoor flash or hand held photos of fireworks. Full frame demands more of lenses than D2x but allows for wider vistas. DX lens are almost useless (12 to 6 mp for similar fov)which limits zoom and increases the size of some lenses (see 14-24mm). I really wish it had a built in fill flash. I seldom need a flash for indoor photos any more. For me, the D700 would probably be ideal. I have gotten over 1500 pix during a week long vacation on a single battery charge.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would but this product again!
By J rockVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Good in low light situations! the advantage is I never have to use a flash to blind entertainers or create a distraction when they are performing on stage.

Images shared by: J rock

Sample phot

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Awesome camera
By eddiromisanVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles , CA on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I used the Nikon D3 in many situations, including very low night condition, such as an indoor circus, where the lighting changed constantly, but the D3 performed well.

 
Simply AWESOME
By bfreedphotoVerified Purchaser from Brooklyn, NY on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Dynamic range, Image quality, Low noise, Speed
Cons:
Heavy, Loud
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Simply the best tool out there right now. This is the camera I've dreamed of.

 
Finally, all the right parts
By billy "digital" diggsVerified Purchaser from Kitty Hawk, NC - Outer Banks on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

After using the former Nikon D1 for several years, I was waiting patiently for their upgrade to stay competitive in the pro world of surfing photography. The wait was well worth it when the first swell came along. In fact, the best barrel sequence ever shot on the Outer Banks was shot on the first day of shooting, a (24) shot sequence with razor sharpness & clarity. The ease of transition from the older D1 model was effortless. Besides the blazing speed, over 9 fps, the most improved element on the practical side is the battery life. Even when shooting in the cold, the one battery lasted easily as long as two to three of the older version lithium. This made the shooting less stressful, knowing there was no threat of loosing juice. Also, with (2) separate memory card slots, all kinds of options opened up.
The exciting thing for me was that all my lenses worked with no adjustments. Faster speed, higher resolution, larger screen, longer life battery, and egonomic style make the Nikon D3 the best ever digital SLR on the market.

Images shared by: billy "digital" diggs

"S-turns barrel"

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

"covered"

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
NIKON D3 is the apex of the zenith
By BudVerified Purchaser from West Palm Beach on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The D3 is the all in one camera that allows you to capture the largest format digital shots in a 35MM frame and at the highest speed per frame. The comprehensive set of built in features plus an enormous number of lens systems makes NIKON D3 camera uno! A silent motor and quick shutter speed lets you grab many shots in raw and focus on capturing the best action shots. There is no other camera that has it all!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing color and RAW file latitude
By Jeff Turner-Emerging Light PhotographyVerified Purchaser from San Francisco, CA on 8/9/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Excellent color, RAW file latitude, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fine Art Landscape, Fine Art Nature, Travel, Urban
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The biggest surprise was the amazing RAW file latitude when making curve adjustments in CS3. One of the challenges in landscape photography is dealing with the often, wide dynamic range. One can certainly use exposure blending or HDR, but this has its difficulties, particularly when you have movement in the scene, which you almost always have in nature. So, in the field you expose for the highlights and hope that your shadows are not blocked down too much. I have found when applying significant curve adjustments to the shadows of a D3 RAW/Tiff file, there is amazing detail that can be pulled out without the contrast being too flat or there being too much chroma noise...in fact the files are amazingly noise free even up to ISO 800. I rarely have to use noise reduction with a D3 file.

Bravo Nikon!!!

Images shared by: Jeff Turner-Emerging Light Photography

Hoh Rain Forest, Olympic Peninsula, WA

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Zeiss ZF 1002 Makro, Using Product, Made with Product

Sol Duc RIver, Olympic Peninsula, WA

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product, Zeiss ZF 282

 
A lot of bucks, but a LOT of BANG!!!
By Ron A ( Southern Wedding Photography )Verified Purchaser from Greenville, SC on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, DUAL MEMORY CARDS, FAST framerate focus, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Hefty Price tag, Loud, No sensor cleaning
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera was what I have waited for in a Nikon camera. The High ISO with a lot of noise issue has been greatly reduced by the introduction of this camera ; )

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW! The D3 is Fantastic!
By Ralph Auletta (Doc Camera)Verified Purchaser from Fullerton, CA on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Dust Resitant, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Water Resistant
Cons:
Heavy, Loud
Best Uses:
Event Photography, Sports Photography, Wedding photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The D3 is the first FX or "full frame" digital SLR form Nikon and is a great replacement for the Nikon D2X/D2XS. This is even more apparent since they released a D2X picture control software upgrade for the D3. The full 24x36m image or 35mm-sized CMOS sensor and backward lens compatibility enables you to shoot with great older lenses the way they were designed to be used. The old 15mm f3.5 and f5.6 rectilinear lenses once again shine on this camera as a distortionless ultra wide angle which no other 35mm DSLR camera system has today. The 85mm and 105mm are once again "classic portrait" lenses.
The 9 frames per second and ultra high ISO capability is outstanding. The images are sharp and appear to be cleaner and crisper with the new Nikon processing engine.
I recently used the D3 with a Nikon 70-200 2.8 lens during rainy weather in Charlotte, NC at the 2008 Lance Armstrong 24 hours of Booty cycling fund raiser. I was shooting well into dusk with the Auto ISO and Auto White Balance settings on. I used the D2X Mode II Picture Control Mode and I captured outstanding low light, nasty weather shots with beautiful skin tones that made the photos look great!
No umbrella, no camera rain jacket = no problems. The camera and lens was wet, the temperature in the evening was about 80 degrees and the humidity was around 68 percent. Excellent seals!
The menu adjustable "Active D-Lighting is much better in camera than applying it in post -processing for balancing highlight and shadow detail. Clean sellable images all the way to 6400
ISO. On that point, it is better than 35mm film.
The bright large TFT LCD preview screen is Awesome! It also serves as a large preview of your settings control panel with the push of one button, making readin you camera settings at nifgt or in broad daylight a snap, specially for those of us over 45 who normally have to examine small displays and menus with reading glasses. Yu don't have to carry those cheap drugstore magnifiers around anymore!
There are many TECH SPEC sites out there that will give you all the techno-babble. This review is about using the D3 in the real world.
The Upside to the D3 is that it is only 12 megapixels which won't tax your wallet for lots of monster memory cards for shooting an event where you don't have time to back stuff up during the event. The D3 shoots FAST up to 11 Frames per second for JPEGS. The D3 also has two CF card slots which lets you use your old 2 Gig cards as pseudo 4 Gig storage by choosing "Overflow" in the Card Slot 2 menu. If you use a DX lens,the D3 automatically darkens the unused portion of the viewfinder as it goes into DX mode. You can turn this feature off and create nice formal portrait vignettes with your photos in camera!
The only downside, I have found is that it lacks a basic feature that all "PROS" would love; Electronic CROP LINES for 5x7 and 8X10 formats.
The D3 is almost $5000.00 which is a good deal for a camera of its quality, however the selectable 5:4 frame which cuts the shot down to 5.9 megapixels would have been much better served by turning on or selecting crop lines much like the electronic grid in the D300 except selectable. This way you can compose your photo FULL FRAME for a tight 8X10 using the crop lines, yet still leave room at the top and bottom for a clean 4x6, allowing you to think about package shooting.
My Opinion, The camera is fantastic. I will not replace it with the less expensive full frame D700. It is a tireless workhorse built to take beating and give you professional quality results and performance at an acceptable price.

 
A worthy Nikon D3
By Sal the ShutterbugVerified Purchaser from Sterling, Va. on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Nature and Wildlife photo, Sporting events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Friendly user

Images shared by: Sal the Shutterbug

Meadowlarl gardens, Va.

Image Thumbnail

Great Falls, Md.

Image Thumbnail

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Finest Nikon Digital Camera Ever!
By BobshotsVerified Purchaser from Tillamook Oregon on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Better Noise at Higer ISO, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Dual CF Card Slot, Huge LCD Display, Long battery life, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Starscape Photography, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I use the D-3 for Nature and Travel Photography in a wide range of locations and weather conditions from Desert to Ocean, Dust to Rain and it holds up much better than I do under these conditions! Dust and moisture sealing on this model are excellent.

One reviewer mentiond the build was sturdy enough to pound in your tent stakes and while I truly believe it would hold up to that task I haven't yet made that test and don't intend to...

The lower noise at higher ISO settings allow me to now catch those "spur of the moment" shots at a quality suitable for publication. The D-100, D-200, and D-300 fell short of achiecving this goal for me.

The only improvement that might tempt me to purchase the next generation Nikon Digital Pro Body would be a leap of technology in noise reduction.

Images shared by: Bobshots

Geese At Dawn

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Handheld, Made with Product, Using Product

Milky Way - Mount Hood Wilderness

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Starscape, Low Noise at High ISO, Low Light Photography, Made with Product

 
Finally someone got it right!
By Mr. BillVerified Purchaser from Springfield MA on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great in low light, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Right now... it just doesn't get any better than this. For the first time I am able to get shots I had only dreamed of. If your a pro, this is a no-brainer, but if your not making a living with it, your going to have to really want those shots to a)pay this much for a camera b)lug it around and c)be prepared to spend some money on good glass as well. Had Nikon released the D3 and D700 at the same time, I would have opted for the D700 as I don't need the pro features and build quality. If I shot more outdoor/wildlife/landscape work the build quality and weather resistance would make this the more obvious choice between the two. I do really like have the extra LCD panel down low for ISO and WB. I find it far easier to use in this location compared to on top like the D300 (which I also own) and the D700. If you need the features and you have the money, this is the camera to own. If you want to step things down a notch but want the unbelievable low light shooting capability of the Nikon FX sensor, you should give the D700 a serious look as well.

Images shared by: Mr. Bill

YUK! Cooties.(D3 w/70-200VR 1/60th - ISO200 - f/4)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Unexpected benefits plus all I expected
By HZVerified Purchaser from Plymouth, MI on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

When people with the point and shoot cameras see you coming, they clear the way.
I was concerned about the weight but after using it for a while, it is not an issue- and I am 74 years old.
The image quality is outstanding. After 5 months I am still finding new features.

Images shared by: HZ

453

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Works better than I thought
By RodrickVerified Purchaser from Bear, DE on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Very low noise at highISO
Cons:
Poor WB selector lineup
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Portraiture, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I moved up from the D200 to this and have been pleased every step of the way. I have two D3's and they are excellent at low light with high ISO and low noise. The battery life is great. I keep them almost continuously for a 10 to 12-hour event changing out batteries near the end of the event.
I'm a little disappointed that the WB presets aren't sequenced well from say daylight to cloudy. I basically go through none related WB settings to move between them.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not so good so far...
By GregVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 8/6/2008
Cons:
Poor dynamic range, Shutter died Err
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

After only a few weeks of use, the D3 died, requiring factory repair, which took a month. The D3's reputed light sensitivity is insignificantly better than my D2X. Overall, the D3 feels like a step backward, trading in the line's former reliability for some extra sizzle that doesn't make up for the camera's fundamental flaws.

 
Amazing D3
By LilyVerified Purchaser from Santa Clara, CA on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I started with the Nikon D70 when if first came out and fell in love with taking pictures. I broke my piggy bank and upgraded to the D3 and love it. I love how crisp the images look (I also got the 14-24mm lens but mainly use my 28-70mm 2.8. I love the D3. It is so fast I had to switch the dial from C (continuous) to S (single) because I kept accidentally taking multiple shots. It is great in low light and the LCD is so nice (and I can zoom in to see details). I couldn't ask for more. The only draw back is that is it big and heavy (but you expect that from the solid contruction).

 
Supreme Equipment
By JC0244Verified Purchaser from Randleman, NC on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

A D3 in a smaller body.

 
D3
By BillVerified Purchaser from Washinton on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Professional

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Very fast, great in low light, [...]

 
Low light - full frame
By mystic shooterVerified Purchaser from Connecticut on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Full frame, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I would say it is one of the best business decisions I have made and I would say there hasn't been one negative circumstance affiliated with it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon D3 Surpasses All My Expectations!
By ShutterbugVerified Purchaser from Lambertville, NJ on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Dual Memory slots, Feels great in your hands, Low Light Shooter, Quiet, Shoots Without a Flash, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Well balanced
Cons:
Red Accents on Body
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I love shooting in low light settings. Can't stand using the flash. Not only do I have difficulty getting the right colors to work with a flash, lugging the flash around, red eye, washout, etc. You know them all. Yeah, I could learn how to perhaps use a flash properly, but I really dont want to work with the flash and find it more rewarding and challenging to work with available light. My previous canera was the Nikon D1x. Great camera but limited on speed and pixels. Absolutely had to use the flash. Was dissappointed over and over when not using a flash in low light settings. I also found that at my age, my vision is not that great. The screen for viewing shots was useless to me. I also found that I had to rely on the autofocus much of the time because of my eyesight. I found that I could not rely on the D1x at all for autofocus. I was so disappointed that I found myself carrying the camera less and less. What a crime. I even swithced to a Canon G9 point and shoot. It was brilliant. It focussed perfect - most of the time. It did tell me that it could be done with todays technology which the D1x did not have. So I looked at the Nikon D3, read the reviews, not a single negative review anywhere! Also much of the reviews raved about the low light shooting. Was this the camera for me? I bought it from my reliable go to camera store - Ritz Camera and when I got it I gave it the dark room test. UNBELIEVABLE! It is all that they say and more. If you are thinking of this camera, after you do get it (and you will eventually) you will be asking yourself why it took you so long to order it! [...] I got the best price over any other dealers (even the ones on [...]). [...] Hope that ths helps.

 
Greatest Camera Nikon Have ever made.
By KurtzhaoVerified Purchaser from Willimantic, CT on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Have used the camera for more than 5 months and simply love it. high ISO is amazing and AF is dead on. AWB can be finetuned which can be applied to different scene.
Continuous shooting is always a fun. Highly recommended!

 
A bit of a tank
By SailorVerified Purchaser from Cambridge, MA on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Image quality, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
CHILDREN, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is a great camera that takes superb pictures. The speed is not just for sports photographers, it's great for nimble grandchildren too. My only complaint is the weight; I wish it were a pound or two lighter.

 
Love it!
By anowiVerified Purchaser from Orlando, FL on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Love the high ISO capabilities

 
Nikon D3 Digital SLR
By AngelVerified Purchaser from Corning, CA on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The Nikon D3 digital SLR is an amazing camera. I moved to it from a Nikon D1 digital SLR. It is fantastic having a full-frame camera that takes full advantage of the FX lenses I have.

 
Canon Convertee!
By Belken22Verified Purchaser from Orlando, FL on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Changed over from Canon and do not regret it!!

 
Happy Brick
By WillVerified Purchaser from San Diego on 7/28/2008
Pros:
9 FPS, Bright LCD, Strong Construction
Cons:
Big Hand 2 hold, Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Speed a plus, LCD sharp, Heavy enough to use as a weapon, need 2 hands to hold steady. Wide white balance a must that I can't work without anymore. Can not go wrong, even with the D700 coming out.Price is still not a negative.

 
CARRY TO LOOK PROFESSIONAL
By VELAN from Alexandria, VA 22314 on 7/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Shaky Operation, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

IT IS NOT THAT EASY TO EXPLAIN SIMPLY THE BEST I HAVE SEEN IN MY LIFE

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
D3 is proof we have Alien Technology
By NGreenbergVerified Reviewer from Rockville, MD on 5/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
MusicConcerts, Photojournalism, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

3D 51-point AF is AMAZING! High ISO (3200-12,800) render extremely well - equivalent to ISO 1600 on a Nikon D2H.

For concert photography where you can't use flash this will be a stand out.

[8 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
The New D3 compared withe the D300
By StephenVerified Reviewer from North Shore, Massachusetts on 4/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Battery port, Exposed LCD, Memory card port
Best Uses:
Fast Sports, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

There is no doubt that this long awaited D3 35mm full-frame camera is a major step forward for Nikon.
Like many other long-time loyal users from back in the film days, I've been a bit impatient for Nikon to surge ahead of the digital competition. The new FX format will likely become the new standard platform for all future pro-series.

I really wanted to like this camera. I've shot for a few years with the D200 and have been, for the most part, delighted with my results. Early this year, I purchased the new D300 which leaves the older model in the dust...sharper, faster. But how does the D3 compare with the D300?

The fast action sports photographer might find good use from the D3. It's screaming fast 11fps, high ISO capabilities and customizable metering break new ground. But here's the thing, under "normal" conditions, the D300 out-performs the D3 in image sharpness.

I shot stills in my studio on a tripod with identical settings on both cameras using the phenomenal 70-200mm f/2.8 Nikkor lens. I adjusted the zoom to 105mm for the D3. (The smaller DX format of the D300 at 70mm translates to an actual 105mm.) I shot a series of JPGs set to "fine" with all other camera adjustments on default, no tweaking. The images gathered from the D300 were better, much sharper and had a deeper depth of field.

How could this be so? I switched to "camera raw" and shot again, FX against DX. First in 320 ISO and then cranked up to 3200 ISO with no noise reduction. Again the images were sharper with the D300 at the lower ISO, but at 3200, the D3 started to come into it's own. I must say, both had visible noise.

While it may be possible to make numerous adjustments in settings, the D3 straight off was very disappointing, especially given it's steep price tag. I view it as a "special use" camera for the newsman or sports photographer. If you shoot under low-light/fast action conditions it might be just the thing. But considering the D300 results, I'm going to wait for the D3X.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great sports camera
By walker anderson from clayton, NC on 3/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast enough fps, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Couldnt find any
Best Uses:
Art, Skateboard photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

this camera is absolutely perfect for my career. as a skateboard photographer, i need a fast camera with enough mps to have a clear shot without noise. i strongly recommend it to any sports photographer or to anyone who is looking into photography for a career. the interface is put together well, getting around on the menu is easy and selecting modes couldnt be simpler. i dont use the live view very much, but it does help when i have the camera down low to get a good angle for a dud switch flipping a stairset and i cant get my eye to the view finder.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The D3 Digital SLR Camera by Nikon
By Joennas Desreal from Santa Monica, CA on 12/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I think this particular model can add Charisma to photos and flare to your life in its a unique style of contrast and lighting that can set the mood to your Hobby or career!

[2 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amaizing performance
By BurntwickVerified Reviewer from 29 palms, CA on 12/17/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Ive used it for art and portraits, and some outdoor
and it has performed way beyond my expectations

[17 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
I have a D3 and D300
By John Bair PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Olympia, WA on 12/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Live view a little goofy
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Here is my simple feedback on this:I have owned the following digital Nikon bodies - D40, D70s, D80, D200, D2Xs and now the D300 and D3. I currently use the D40, D2Xs, D300 and D3 for work and play.I have shot 2 assignments in the last week with the D300 and D3. I noticed a great difference with the D3 in the full sensor mode on a 50 f/1.4D (prime) lens. This was primarily noticed during editing on a Imac 24 screen. The image was pulled in during a face touch up with CS3. I quickly realized that as I pulled in the image was not pixelating as quickly as normal, and the details in the stitching of a shirt were smooth. Gone is that haze around the edge of images.For me with weddings and portraits my prime lenses will create more information to work with in editing. I noticed that my D300 with the MB-10 handle and a EN-El4a battery outperforms the D2Xs. In fact, I carry the D3 and D300 on assignments now and will probably convert the D2Xs to infarred.If you have a good supply of AF-S lenses you will enjoy the benifits of the D3. If you have a D2X and mostly DX lenses you will not see a big difference in quality in your images compared to using the D3 with DX glass based on the 1.5X factor.Right now, the D300 seems to be the best buy for what you are getting. If I had to take one of these 3 cameras for weight, price and features only it would be the D300. The live view on both of these cameras is a little goofy and seems problematic - as getting a consistant in focus shot is hard. I also read in a post that the live view has a bug that will need to be fixed with firmware. I decided I will probably never use this feature on either camera.I should have some images posted soon. [...]

[2 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
BEST GETS BETTER, 1 HOT BODY!!!
By MOTOGP2010Verified Reviewer from SEATTLE, WA on 11/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
NOTHING TO EXPOSE
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

PROFESSIONAL LANDSCAPE AND ARCHITECTURE PHOTOGRAPHY, ALL LIGHT CONDITIONS, RAW & TIFF, ONLY WAY TO GO!

[4 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
If you want the best!!!! Get Nikon D3
By icandiVerified Reviewer from Fort Lee, NJ on 11/13/2007
Pros:
Unbeatable Quality
Cons:
No Cons
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I am a photojournalist & use Nikon D2H or Nikon D2X depending on what it is that I am shooting. The D3 is a very exciting camera.
Quality has never been an issue for Nikon. The D3 camera without doubt will be on the highest side of "superb".

[11 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
A long-awaited release is almost here!
By mac734Verified Reviewer from New York, NY on 10/29/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, High ISO noise reduction, Incredible tonality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Demo
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I was lucky to try out a demo at the Photo Expo in NYC a few weeks ago. There, I also saw an image review by sports photographer Dave Black. Let me tell you---this camera is going to rock.

Besides the obvious benefits: full frame, a new (Nikon developed) CMOS sensor, 12MP, 51 point AF, double CF card slots, etc., the most striking feature of this camera is it's incredible noise reduction when shooting at high ISOs. And by "high," we're not talking 800, 1600, or even 3200. We're talking 6400 and up. Shot after shot, there was very little noise. This is because of the chip size; the more pixels crammed onto a smaller chip, the higher the noise.

This camera is going to be critical in the hands of photojournalists, wedding photographers, sports photographers, concert photographers, and anyone else who cringes at the thought of using a flash (and many situations simply don't allow it).

Canon has been outperforming Nikon in the available light/low noise arena, and I believe the D3 will propel this company back into the game.

I did think of one downside when I first heard Nikon went to full frame, thinking anyone who bought those shiny new DX lenses are now limited in their use. But luckily, the D3 is equipped to handle them, though at a lower resolution (I believe around 5MP). It doesn't really matter because the megapixel issue is a myth anyway. A 5MP camera could still give you a print the size of a garage door and you'd never notice the difference.

Before I stray off topic here, I'll conclude with this: try to rent one for your next photo gig, and if you're not blown away at the results, or if you're on a budget, go for the much cheaper (yet still great) D300.

[23 of 24 customers found this review helpful]

 
The D300 Exceeds the Hype
By JakeVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia, PA on 10/21/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Convenient, Quiet, Rugged, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscapes, Macro, Nature, Night, Photojournalism, Sports, Urban
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Amateur
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I was able to test the D3 at the PhotoPlus Expo in New York. I can not even describe how I felt holding the camera other than I was sad I couldn't afford it. Here's why if I had the money I would buy the D3.

First the 12.1-megapixel FX-format CMOS (36x23.9mm) imaging sensor creates gorgeous photographs as I can attest to. There is also a 5.1-megapixel DX-format Crop mode, which I will explain in a minute. The D3 shoots at a lightning 9 fps at full FX (full frame) resolution and up to 11 fps in DX Crop mode. Essentially the DX crop mode crops the photograph with a magnification of 1.5x to increase speed. It's like shooting the D300 at 11 fps only with higher quality and the greater array of features offered by the D3.

The D3 has some phenomenal ISO ranges not offered on any other camera I know. The ISO ranges from 200-6400. However, there's a Lo-1 ISO mode which gives you 100 ISO and Hi-1, which gives you 12,800 ISO, but wait there's more. Hi-2 mode gives you a whopping 25,600 ISO. Is that amazing or what? The D3, like the D300, has 51 autofocus points with 3D Focus Tracking and three Dynamic AF modes. You can group the autofocus points into 9, 21, or 51 points to change where you want to focus. You can also have the camera display only 11 points for rapid control. Nikon had set up colorful mannequins that attendees could shoot with the D3 and D300. I shot about five shots with the D3 on various ISOs from 200, 800, 6400, and 12,800. Let it be known the D3 has an outstanding noise reduction ability at which photographs at 6400 ISO look like 400 ISO. As Mike Corrado explained, "6400 is the new 400."

After shooting these photographs I looked at them on the 3-inch super density 920,000-dot VGA color LCD monitor. A fellow Nikon user looked at the photographs with me from a wide 170 degree angle. The LCD glass is tempered and can weather the elements without malfunctioning. Two live view modes-hand-held and tripod-allow you to see your subject before you capture it.

Nikon's Scene Recognition System has an improved Autofocus exposure with amazing white balance performance performance from Nikon's 1,005-pixel RGB sensor. This means that the D3 and D300 have tens of thousands of photographs built into the camera's memory that can recognize similar scenes and automatically expose them correctly. There are picture control settings for advanced image control, with 4 preset options and 9 customizable settings. Simply store your presets in banks to recall when you're in a certain situation shooting sports, macro, night photography, etc.

Nikon's new Virtual Horizon Graphic Indicator displays a horizon plane on the LCD to help you level your camera perfectly with the horizon. No need for spirit levels anymore. I used this feature to get a perfectly leveled photograph of some mannequins. One of my favorite features of the D3 are the two Compact Flash card slots. You can use the secondary card as an overflow, backup, or duplicate of the photos on the first card. This ensures that even if one card is corrupted, all data is secure on the second card. It also ensures that you won't run out of space to shoot, but also allows you to capture the moment without switching cards, which can make you lose valuable time.

For those professionals in the studio, this feature might interest you. You can shoot photos and review them wirelessly and network up to five D3 and D300 cameras (with otional WT-4A Transmitter and Capture Control pro Software.

At the heart of the D3 is the EXPEED Image-Processing Technology, which easily handles huge amounts of data at rapid speed. Higher photographic detail is enabled with the EXPEED processor. The D3 can now also take advantage of UDMA cards which offer 266x speed and more.

The D3's controls are conveniently placed and easy to access. Under the 3-inch screen there's a small LCD that shows ISO, Quality, White Balance, and Microphone status. You can control these options from there if you wish. It also lights up when the Illumination button is pressed. It's the small features on the body itself that really impressed me and how Nikon was able to place so much control on the body without clutter. Not to mention the D3 body is made of magnesium alloy with seals around buttons and any place where dust or water may become stuck. The D3 is tested to an amazing 300,000 cycles. It also has a self-diagnostic shutter, which can point out an out-of-sync or malfunctioning shutter. It can use older Nikkor lenses, just as the D2Xs does. It also has Auto High Speed sync at up to 1/8000 second.

The only cons I might address would be the diopter adjustment, which you must pull out, adjust, and push back in, but that's not a big deal. No built in flash for the D3 because users will and should have a speedlight. The 25,600 ISO would make up for the flash too. No dust reduction system, but that's okay because I clean my sensor myself. You may have to work out the muscles in your arms because it's a little heavy, which is normal for a camera with this many features and with 9 fps. Other than that, I could not find much else I did not like.

I would recommend this camera to those who are looking for a full frame camera, anyone who wants to be serious about sports, anyone looking for outstanding quality and control, as well as a rugged body, high ISO noise reduction, and a camera that will last years and years to come.

[10 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super camera, Pictures have a real WOW f
By Stan from Castaic, CA on 10/17/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Film set photographer, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I got to use a pre-production model, WOW what a camera, the Canon 1DS Mark II has nothing on this. The pictures are night and day over my D2Xs that I own. I would say all Nikon needs to do is now make a 22mp camera and they will take back the market.
I am going to buy one ASAP

[3 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
I am sure it will rock the World!
By serfreeVerified Reviewer from Riga, Latvia, Europe, the Earth. on 10/2/2007
Pros:
Legendary, strong
Cons:
Only the weight...
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Although I have not it yet... but I will (I hope!)...
Hooorray for the FULL FRAME from Nikon!

Finally it cames true!

Magic is worked for this happening!

We all are happy now!

[3 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best New Camera
By ZedVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 9/27/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, This is a full format
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is going to be one heck of a camera. Can't live without it!

[2 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
Unbelievable
By The CrusherVerified Reviewer from Urbana, OH on 9/6/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

All that I ever dreamed of in a camera and more.

[2 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again and again
By ogisVerified Reviewer from Lithuania on 8/25/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Professional, Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D3 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

nice camera

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.