Buy the Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera image
 
(based on 13 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Unleash Your Creativity - The Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera Produces Superior Image Quality with Flexible Control.

The P5000 boasts 10 effective megapixels, a 3.5x Zoom-Nikkor glass lens, an optical viewfinder, and an incredible, bright high resolution 2.5-inch LCD monitor with anti-reflection coating. The P5000 incorporates a new advanced image processing engine, which optimizes low light performance and color reproduction, and Nikon's optical VR image stabilization, which compensates for camera shake.

Designed for the photographer who enjoys a high level of control, advanced imaging technologies and the ability to take creative control of their photography - the Coolpix P5000 will be compatible with system-expanding accessories that will allow you to take your creativity and images to new heights.

High performance and superior image quality are the hallmarks of the Coolpix P5000. With 10 megapixels of resolution, photographers can capture the finest details in their images, as well as have the ability to crop creatively and produce beautiful large prints. The 3.5x Zoom-Nikkor glass lens provides compositional versatility when zooming in for tight close ups or zooming out to capture expansive landscapes.

The P5000 provides optical VR image stabilization, which helps compensate for camera shake to produce sharper images. The VR stabilizes images displayed on the 2.5-inch LCD, which makes it easier to frame and capture images. Another advantage of the optical VR image stabilization is that it helps achieve smoother action in the movie shooting modes of the P5000 and when using the optional TC-3ED Tele converter with 378mm of telephoto performance.

The Coolpix P5000 features a new advanced image processing engine with enhanced noise reduction and an improved signal-to-noise (S/N) ratio that preserves image quality even when shooting at high ISO settings. The P5000 extends the light sensitivity range to ISO 3200*, which makes it possible to capture fast moving subjects with outstanding clarity, even in lower light conditions.

Coolpix P5000 users can take advantage of the new mode dial which provides quick access to a selection of 16 different scene-optimized modes, seven movie modes, Anti-Shake mode and High Sensitivity mode. A turn of the mode dial to Anti-Shake mode activates High ISO and Best Shot Selector (BSS) in addition to VR, which automatically sets the optimal ISO for steady results and will allow users to select and save the best image from up to ten sequential shots. In addition, the mode dial has the choice of Programmed Auto [P], Shutter-priority Auto [S], Aperture-priority Auto [A], and Manual [M] exposure modes for even greater camera control.

The Coolpix P5000 features a new menu interface that makes navigating and selecting images simple, while providing easy access to advanced functions for enhancing and correcting images. This includes everything from the new image optimization settings, which offer a choice of four color filters for shooting with monochrome filter effects, to barrel distortion control, which can correct images when using a wide-angle converter and can display the corrected image on the LCD in real time.

The Coolpix P5000 has three Nikon In-Camera Image Innovations to correct common photo problems. This system includes Face-priority AF, which can automatically find and focus on a subject's face, In-Camera Red-Eye Fix, which automatically corrects red-eye, and D-Lighting, an innovation that automatically creates a copy of the image with detail added where necessary, but with well-exposed areas left completely untouched. Because the P5000 has a 2.5-inch high resolution LCD monitor with anti-reflection coating, viewing the monitor is easy even in bright sunlight. The Coolpix P5000 also features a new optical viewfinder for those photographers who prefer a classic composition aid.

The Coolpix S50 Features:

  • Unleash the Photographer in You
  • 10.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 20 x 30 inches.
  • 3.5x Optical Zoom-Nikkor Glass Lens provides exceptional pictures with incredible color and clarity.
  • Optical Vibration Reduction Image Stabilization minimizes the effect of camera shake.
  • Incredible, bright 2.5-inch high resolution LCD and Optical Viewfinder makes it easy to compose and share your pictures with friends and family.
  • Program, Aperture, Shutter and Manual exposure modes gives you as much control over your pictures as you want.
  • Auto adjusts up to ISO 3200 (5MP or lower) to keep shooting, even in lower light.
  • Available Telephoto and Wide Angle adapters to expand the camera's capabilities along with your own.
  • Hot Shoe for i-TTL-compatible Nikon Speedlights.
Nikon In-Camera Innovations featuring:
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix(TM) automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF - Nikon's face-finding technology that automatically focuses on faces, and D-Lighting that rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 13 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(8), Easy to setup(13), Easy to use(3), Large clear LCD(11), Short lag time(3)
Cons:
Long lag time(3)
Best Uses:
Art(5), Documentary(3), Fun(11), Photojournalism(6), Travel(11)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(10)
 
Super easy!
By TravelerVerified Reviewer from TEXAS on 8/11/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

Great Camera! Hard to get lenses for! Noone is stocking anything for the camera! WAS VERY UNHAPPY with this! [...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
OOPS...They Did It Again!
By Mighty MOVerified Reviewer from Norfolk, VA on 8/7/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Hot Shoe, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

I've had my P5000 for several months and I can't be more pleased. I love my DSLR but it can be bulky for some situations where a compact is much more efficient. The P5000's 10 mega pix photos are awesome! I've taken some macros while inspecting engineering equipment at work, and the detail was truly outstanding! I've also taken it on vacation and the sharpness and color reproduction are amazing. I also love the external hot shoe for using my SB-600. Having the ability to bounce-flash with a camera this size opens a whole new world for compact creativity! This is a great companion to a DSLR when you want to get great shots without the extra bulk!

Images shared by: Mighty MO

Pickin' Strawberries

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Emerald River

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great little camera!!!
By John BVerified Reviewer from Long Island, NY on 8/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Family Events, Family Photos, Fun, Quick and easy macro pics, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Ex-professional, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

I really like this camera. I purchased a Coolpix S10 about a month ago because of it's 10x optical zoom and sale price. It broke after about 2 weeks so I returned it and picked up a P5000. Wow!!! What a difference. Giving up the extra zoom was a small price to pay for all of the additional features packed into the P5000.

After owning the camera for less than 1 week, I packed it up and took it off to London with me. I took over 400 shots in 3 days and felt very comfortable using all of the manual setting and features of this little gem. The battery never died on me, so I never needed to use the spare in my bag.

The SB400 flash is a great first accessory for the P5000. Having bounce capability and extra flash punch for fill lighting turned some of my ordinary shots into teriffic shots.

The annoying shutter lag is the only thing that would prompt me consider upgrading to a DSLR.

Even though the camera does not have interchangeable lenses, Nikon makes wide angle and tele adaptors.

In a couple of shots with strong verticals, I noticed a little bowing distortion in the mid-range of the zoom. This was easily fixed in Photoshop.

This camera should satisfy the needs for most serious amateurs. I give the P5000 an enthusiastic thumbs up!

Images shared by: John B

Big Ben

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
WOW!!!
By Joyce AnnVerified Reviewer from Tennessee on 7/21/2007
Pros:
10mp, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Haven't found one yet
Best Uses:
Fun, Taking pics of my kids, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

I am so excited about this camera. I love to enlarge my photos and do so all the time with my D200. I am like most people who am in love with the quality of a SLR and I feel that this little camera comes as close to that quality as you can get. I was in Panama City last year and dropped my D70 on the ground. I did not know until later that night that it had messed the shutter up and would no longer take pictures with the flash. I am going on vacation again this year and was determined to have a small camera so this would not happen again. (Especially to the D200) I have found the perfect mate to the SLR. The P5000 takes absolutely beautiful pictures. I can't wait to use it at the beach!!!

 
SWEET!
By flt_mtnVerified Reviewer from Corpus Christi, TX on 7/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Cons:
requires two hands
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

I just got this camera for my job in the insurance field. I had an older smaller Nikon, so getting use to the conrols will be an ajustment. But so far I am impressed.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is my "dream come true" camera
By Scrapbooker10Verified Reviewer from Sedro Woolley, WA on 7/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Scrapbooking, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

This is a great compact camera that you can take control with manual settings, or partial control with aperture priority, or shutter priority, or let the camera take control with program, or automatic settings. I have been waiting for a camera like this since my first digital camera several years ago. I also have the Nikon coolpix 7600 and have been very pleased with the quality of the pictures I get. The P5000 has far exceeded my expectations. I was nervous about ordering it, because I did not get a chance to see it "in person" and play with it first. I thought "well, I can always return it". No Way!!! I can't let go of it. I love that it is a little larger and heavier constructed than my 7600, but, it packs so many features that I continue to fall in love with it every time I use it. I didn't want to go to a digital slr because of the size. I have a Nikon Film camera (N2020) and I love the pictures I get from it, but it is so large, that I seem to use it only for still portraits. I love having the P5000, I can take it anywhere, and it slips right into my purse. I will be continuing to learn about all its features for quite some time!

Images shared by: Scrapbooker10

sample photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

sample photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Just what I wanted
By DavisVerified Reviewer from Weatherford, TX on 6/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Medium Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

Perfect mid-size digital, easy to hold and control, great shooting modes, LCD panel is easy on the eyes, photos are great quality, printing from home or store. I shot 178 photos at one event and battery never showed to go low, love the image stabilizer. Would like more zoom, when you use the overzoom it gets grainy. I am looking into adding the zoom lens also, this was a feature that also influenced my purchase. My daughter has the CoolPix S9, and it is a great camera also, expecially for a teen, I wanted a little larger camera and am really pleased with this one!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
SLR flexability, point and shoot ease!
By Game Dev GuruVerified Reviewer from Chicago, Illinois on 5/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Can overwhelm newbies
Best Uses:
Fun, Quick and easy macro pics, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Nerd
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

I just picked up the Nikon P5000 camera today as a point and shoot alternative to my cumbersome SLR (K-M Maxxum 7D). I love my SLR but I honestly don’t use it as much as I should. I was looking for a camera that I could throw in a pocket and take out with me. Taking out my SLR was an all day affair and I found myself dedicated to taking photos and missing out on other things while engaging in photography.

The P500 is not the smallest camera on the block, but what it packs in features makes its seem tiny. The P5000 has many features (if not all) that seasoned SLR users will find familiar and yet it is easy to use (read the manual newbies) for beginners. One thing I really like about this camera is the macro feature. I found that other small cameras tended to lack in here. They either did not focus well or the shots came out grainy. I spent the better part of the afternoon playing with the macro mode to see how fine a shot I could get. I was impressed.

Long and short, SLR users will feel right at home with the P5000.
New users will be blessed with a full featured camera with plenty of options.
Oh yeah, and with 10 megapixels on tap photo edit gurus will have an endless supply to tinker with. I know I have so far!

Images shared by: Game Dev Guru

Macro shot of Xbox 360 headset.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Macro of statue, approx dist 1.5”

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product, Macro shot

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Completely Satisfied - no regrets here
By Enthusiast of Life from Langhorne, PA on 4/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to use, Options galore, Strong Construction
Cons:
No carrying case
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

Reasons that I purchased the Coolpix P5000: options, options, options.

It is a camera that combines an automated point and shoot option with the ability to take either partial or full control over the shot to capture the shot that I am imagining.

The features provided have a clear purpose with no complications from unnecessary frill.

The option to add more high powered lenses or a hotshoe if I get more involved with photography.

My experiences thus far:

I purchased the Coolpix P5000 one month ago, just in time for my trip to Paris. The effort from box to full operation was minimal and the basic fundamentals were easy to learn from the quick user guide. I brought the user manual with for consultation on some of the more advanced operations. My first day in Paris resulted in 150 shots as I familiarized myself with both the camera and the city. The size of the camera is perfect, small enough not to be a burden while walking all day but large enough that none of the operations are awkward and the image displayed on the LCD truly reflects the image you will see on your computer and in your printed shots. I found the auto option to work great with both diffuse light from an overcast day and bright sunny days. At night or with uniquely lit shots that you want to capture the effects of, you must at a minimum adjust the flash setting, but more likely would benefit from using one of the three manual options: aperture, shutter speed or both. To me, this is not a negative but a positive feature since there are many options available that let you get just the shot you are envisioning. The auto conditions tend to really brighten a shot, which is good if that is your goal, for say people pictures. However, if you are trying to capture soft lighting and shadow you have many options available. I must admit that I have not explored the many scene options available (party, fireworks, etc) but if they are anything like the other features built in, they will surely be useful. The vibration reduction (VR) feature is terrific. I used the camera to capture shots while riding on a power boat, but you cannot tell in the shots that I was not standing still on steady ground.

Overall, I am very pleased with this camera and the quality of the images it produces. I just had a handful of the over 500 shots I have already accumulated printed. The 4x6 images are crisp and clear. I had three of my favorite shots printed as 8x10 and framed. The images are spectacular with no detectable distortion. The prints worked so well that I am going to try a larger print of another one of my favorite shots. The software that comes with the camera is easy to use and I have played with some of the images I have taken to see the extent to which a picture can be cropped and remain sharp. I shot several of Seurat’s paintings at the Musee d’Orsay that were fascinating to manipulate. Seurat is the master of pointillism. When you crop the photo to focus on one person in the background you can clearly see the small dots that compose the figure and the facial expressions that can easily be missed when viewing the entire painting. Another shot that impressed me was an image looking over a rock cliff to the sea below, where halfway down was a bird sitting on the ledge. In the actual shot the bird is less than 5% of the shot, but I can crop the shot to make the bird the main focus of the shot with surprising detail and clarity. The bird does become blurry if you try to make him fill the shot, but to me that is asking a lot of such a tiny camera.

Bottom line: no buyer’s remorse, in fact, I am looking forward to getting to know and use this camera extensively.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Versatile and Easy to Use
By LM SchwartzVerified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 4/29/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Compact, Ease of use, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Cons:
LCD Screen hard to clean
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyistenthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

My husband’s fancy digital SLR camera died during a trip to San Francisco. We consulted with a local camera expert and chose this model. It is versatile, easy to use, and the magnesium frame is sturdy enough to withstand heavy use. It performed admirably in all light conditions for macro shots of wildflowers and a hummingbird nest and panoramic scenes. I am very pleased with this camera.

Images shared by: LM Schwartz

Low light macro, HBird nest in rosebush

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Made with Product

Cropped panorama, flower clock Golden Gate Park

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Nice photo, thank you!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great little point & shoot.
By Good looker from Vestavia Hills, AL on 4/11/2007
Pros:
Easy Setup, Easy to use, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lack of necessary accesso
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

Despite the lack of necessary accessories such as a wrist strap and Nikon belt case, the camera is easy to carry in my pocket and is fast to use as a point and shoot. The picture quality is good and the high pixels make croping photos better.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Pixes
By Grandma Paparazzi from Sunshine State on 4/1/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

I have a big hands so it feels small but the pictures, WoW, me !
My last camera was stolen two weeks after I got it. So this is my second camera in three months !

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Powerful Little Camera
By collectbabsVerified Reviewer from SC on 3/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction, Very Compact
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light, slow compared to my SLR
Best Uses:
Family Events, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix P5000 Digital Camera:

I purchased this camera to supplement my Nikon D40 Digital SLR. I wanted a compact camera that packs a punch. I like the 30 fps movie feature. It's very compact, but very solid and has great features. it fits my hand better than the small credit card type cameras because of the small hump for your fingers. I like that it uses my small SB400 speedlight and doesn't make it too top heavy. The hotshoe is a little tight, so it's hard to get the unit on and off. But it's a great point and shoot primary camera, or a awesome supplement to not wanting to carry a big SLR camera.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.