Buy the Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black) image
 
(based on 23 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The Coolpix S50 - as Stunning as the Pictures it Takes.

The Coolpix S50 is a feature-packed digital camera combining enhanced imaging quality and performance with an eye-catching wave surface design. The Coolpix S50 boasts 7.2 effective megapixels, a 3x Zoom-Nikkor glass lens and a huge, bright 3.0 inch LCD screen. The Coolpix S50 Digital Camera also utilizes an Optical VR Image Stabilization system, ensuring you'll be able to capture stunningly sharp images.

The Coolpix S50 - exquisite design coupled with superior optics and high resolution with advanced picture taking functions that allow anyone to take great pictures.

Bye-bye blur - Not only does the Coolpix S50 feature 7.2 effective megapixels, allowing you to make superior quality prints in a variety of sizes, it also incorporates advanced technologies which help create new opportunities to take sharper, and more natural looking photos. These technologies include the new Optical VR Image Stabilization, high sensitivity up to ISO 1600, and Best Shot Selector (BSS) which can all be activated by pressing the Anti-Shake Button, conveniently located on the top of the camera. These features allow the S50 to produce shots that are steady, sharp and stunning.

Beauty with brains - Nikon is making it easier than ever to get great-looking pictures with a handy One-Touch Portrait Button that acts as a shortcut to three Nikon In-Camera Image Innovations to correct common photo problems. This system includes Face-priority AF, which was the first system to automatically find and focus on a subject's face, In-Camera Red-Eye Fix, which automatically detects and corrects red-eye, and D-Lighting, an innovation that automatically creates a copy of the image with detail added where necessary, but with well-exposed areas left completely untouched. This cameras also features a huge, bright, high resolution 3.0-inch LCD monitors with a 170-degree viewing angle and an anti-reflection coating, so it is able to facilitate easier composition and high-quality playback anywhere, even in direct sunlight.

Furthermore, the LCD monitors serve as excellent platforms for Pictmotion, which allows you to select your favorite images or movies, as well as music (up to 10 songs) and combine them automatically in-camera to produce audiovisual shows in VGA quality for the ultimate photo-sharing experience.

The Coolpix S50 comes bundled with Nikon's PictureProject software. The PictureProject software is powerful and user-friendly and makes transferring, organizing, editing, and sharing photos a snap.

The Coolpix S50 Features:

  • Slim, All-Metal, Matte-Black Body with an Amazing Point of View
  • 7.2 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches.
  • 3x Optical Zoom-Nikkor Glass Lens provides exceptional images with incredible color and clarity.
  • Optical Vibration Reduction Image Stabilization minimizes the effect of camera shake.
  • Huge, bright 3.0-inch high resolution LCD offers 170-degree-wide angle of view, making it easy to share your pictures.
  • Auto adjusts up to ISO 1600 to keep shooting, even in lower light.
  • One-Touch Portrait Button automatically activates In-Camera Red-Eye Fix(TM) and Face-Priority AF to create stunning portraits.
  • All new Pictmotion creates in-camera slide shows with your music.
Nikon In-Camera Innovations featuring:
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix(TM) automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF - Nikon's face-finding technology that automatically focuses on faces
  • D-Lighting that rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 23 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(9), Easy to setup(17), Large clear LCD(19), Short lag time(11), Simple controls(19)
Best Uses:
Art(5), Documentary(6), Fun(19), Photojournalism(8), Travel(19)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(11), Enthusiast(15)
 
WONDERFUL QUALITY- BUYING ANOTHER
By EricaVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 9/11/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

I love my Coolpix S50. I've had it for about a yar and a half. The picture quality is wonderful and it's so small it is easy to keep available. My camera was stollen on the way home from Chicago earlier this month and I'm buying another. I wouldn't dream of buying a different digital camera.

 
EXCELLENT BACKUP CAMERA
By ReaperVerified Reviewer from Colorado Springs, CO. on 8/20/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

Great camera, that can be used in a pinch for photjournalism or documentary. Contrary to one negative feedback, I have not encountered any problems that would interfere with the quality of the inages. The only minor negative comment is that the LCD screen is quite difficult to keep clean, can scratch quite easily. Either NIKON or some other manufacture need to make a clear acrylic protective cover for thescreen. One manufacture, (nameless) makes a very large number of protective devices for a vast array of digital camreas. Though the camera does not really have any holding points for a protective screen, I'm quite sure that this block can be overcome, (I have a design in mind on paper). NOTE: I am licensed/registered in pro photography with numerous organizations. Have been shooting for 40+ years, and all equipment is NIKON from day 1.

 
Great camera!!
By TomVerified Reviewer from Joplin, MO on 8/18/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, No portruding lens
Cons:
Haven't found one yet
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel, Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

I took it to Aruba the week after I bought it. Now I have all the memories.

Images shared by: Tom

Beach from deck.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

One of many beautiful flowers

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
My nine year old niece showed me how
By Mama GVerified Reviewer from Alexandria, VA on 8/17/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup
Cons:
Fingerprints on LCD
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

My hobby just got a technological boost! Until two weeks ago, I was using a totally manual 35 mm SLR camera. Now that I have this sleek little jewel, my enthusiasm for photograhpy is renewed!

 
JUST WHAT WE WERE LOOKING FOR
By TOM AND NIKKI from SOUTH JERSEY on 8/16/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

WE REALLY LOVE OUR NEW CAMERA. WE WANTED SOMETHING NOT TOO COMPLICATED. VERY EASY TO USE. JUST POINT AND SHOOT.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Camera!
By JoshVerified Reviewer from Portland Area, Oregon on 6/29/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

I just got this a couple days ago and I really enjoy it.

Pros:
+Good Battery Life!
+Excellent, Crisp Pictures
+Lots of Options
+Digital Zoom with Movies!
+Lots of bang for your buck!
+Good and big LCD screen
+Comfortable Controls

Cons:
-It's easy to get fingerprint marks on the LCD screen.
That's all so far. Heh. :)

Images shared by: Josh

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Picture of Product

 
Beware of the Brown!!!
By Disappointed from Upstate, NY on 6/26/2007
Cons:
Plastic body
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

Beware of the special edition brown S50!!! If you're expecting an all metal body (as I was) in the special edition brown S50, don't buy this!! It's plastic!!!

I can't at all speak to the actual functionality; I'm returning it immediately!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Delivers what it promises
By PopeyeVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, PA on 6/25/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Image Stabilization, No portruding lens, Short Lag Time, Stylish looks
Cons:
No Viewfinder
Best Uses:
Fun, Indoor Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

In my opinion the S50 is the best point & shoot available in the market. It looks great and delivers on all counts. The S50 is small enough to fit inside your trouser pocket. Nikon has excluded a viewfinder to fit such a large LCD in so small a camera. While handling, you are bound to leave smudges on the screen, but the brightness and super-quality of the LCD makes up for it. Another plus is no protruding lens since Nikon uses the periscope technology. The 3x optical zoom is enough for indoor and casual photography. If you need more bang, why would you choose a point & shoot compact anyway? The VR works great. All in all, a very good camera.

 
You Won't Be Disappointed
By Sam49Verified Reviewer from San Francisco on 6/24/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

Great pictures day or night. With Hi-ISO turned on, pictures taken in low light come out bright and clear. The VR provides clear pictures at full zoom. The movies with sound are clear and smooth. The camera is well built, turns on very fast so you won't miss those great pics. The 3 inch LCD is bright and clear day or night. The only thing else you have to buy is an extra battery...

Images shared by: Sam49

Plane Landing in San Diego

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture Oroject, Picture of Product

 
Dont be Fooled
By Bob the enlarger from Minnapolis, MN on 6/21/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Image quality is low, Poor Operation in Low Light, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

Image Quality is real low, The Bright LCD sort of fools you. Test print off pictures with other cameras in the price range of 250 dollars. Distorted "blurbs" and noise shows up, especially with inside pictures.

 
Sleek slim stylish awsome
By Kalpesh from Boston MA on 6/14/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

Got it as a birthday gift. Initially was not sure that being so slick this camera can take great pictures, but was taken aback with the results. small size make it very very convninent to carry every where.
I happen to drop it twice on road. they were strong accidents for the camera but it survived with minor scratches. Once when I was shottig and fall from the bicycle , it just struck the groudad battery came out due to impact ...but camera was all fine !!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Camera
By VickeyVerified Reviewer from Aberdeen, MD on 6/13/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

This is my first digital camera, I love it.
It has wonderful features; my favorite feature is the macro zoom. I've taken wonderful pictures of tiny things with great details.
The vibration control is great to use especially if you are a little shaky.
This is a great camera for anyone.

Images shared by: Vickey

Using the macro setting

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Macro Setting

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
great look with great photos
By Sandi from PA on 6/12/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

I needed a compact camera to compliment my D-SLR (also from Nikon)and this was the one. It is a super camera! Would recommend to everyone

 
I LOVE THIS CAMERA!
By Waldo from San Jose, CA on 6/11/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

I just got this camera last week and I can't ever put it down. I love the little scrolling thing instead of having to press arrow buttons because the scrolling is way quicker. The pictures I take with this camera are very nice.

 
Coolpix is a Hot Pick!
By on-the-go mom from jacksonville, fl on 6/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, small, flat & portable
Best Uses:
fits in your pocket, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

I love this camera, wouldn't dream of using any other. Like it so much, am buying another for a gift.

 
Great Camera
By BobVerified Reviewer from Castle Rock, Colorado on 6/7/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
None that I can find
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

This is my third digital camera and by far the best one. I am replacing a Canon with this little gem and love it. Thanks to Nikon for a great, small, high quality camera. Takes clear, wonderful pictures.

 
This camera is beutiful!
By BociferVerified Reviewer from Rexburg, ID on 6/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup
Cons:
Hard to keep clean
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

We just got this camera after owning a Casio Exclim. The Nikon is far superior and looks way better!

 
Very nice, versitile, and compact.
By GmanVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas, NV. on 6/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Battery door flimsy
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

I love the viewfinder, its huge and clear. The photos come out very sharp and vivid with color. The only thing I did not like was the proprietary serial cable and the flimsy access door to the battery and SD memory slot. Other than that I love it.

 
Very Nice Camera
By SamVerified Reviewer from Anaheim, CA on 6/4/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

I have had this camera for about 2 weeks now and I love it. It's very slick looking and takes very nice pictures. I'm no expert, but I have owned several digital cameras and this one, by far produces the best images. The screen is gigantic, you won't even miss the optical viewfinder. The only drawbacks are that this camera's screen is so big that it can be difficult to hold without leaving fingerprints on it. They wipe off easily though. I like the slide show program that's on the camera as well. It's an attention grabber as music plays while the pictures dance around.

 
great compact camera
By realtime from Laurel Springs, NJ on 6/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy to use, Excellent close-ups, Strong Construction
Cons:
Limited optical zoom, Poor battery life
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Macro shots, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

I wanted a compact digital camera that provided high quality photos and was easy to use. I am not dissapointed. I would suggest you buy at least 1 spare battery.

 
NIKON COOLPIX S50 = PERFECTION
By SUE from CHARLOTTE, NC on 5/12/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

This digital camera is the best I have ever owned. The look of the camera itself is amazing. The large screen is definetly a plus. The actual photo quality is very professional. I recommend this camera to everyone (unless you have large hands)!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great little Camera
By EnlightVerified Reviewer from Capitola on 5/2/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

Great little camera for the price. Easy to use and many features to choose from.

Images shared by: Enlight

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
AMAZING CAMERA
By [...] from katy, tx on 3/7/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S50 Digital Camera (Black):

Amazing! i have had many cameras, but this is by far the best one

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.