Buy the Coolpix L12 Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Coolpix L12 Digital Camera image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The Nikon Coolpix L12 Digital Camera - Memories Made Easy & Affordable!

Designed for the casual to intermediate snap-shooter, the Nikon Coolpix L12 combines high-quality design and construction with user-friendly features at affordable price. Sporting 7.1 megapixels, a sharp 3x optical Zoom-Nikkor glass lens, a big, bright 2.5-inch LCD and a lightweight, ultra-portable body style. The new Coolpix L12 camera boasts an impressive battery life, and a higher light sensitivity, which makes it easy to produce better pictures in low light situations.

In addition, the Coolpix L12 also features Optical VR Image Stabilization, which overcomes camera shake to produce clearer, sharper images. The Coolpix L12 also has ISO capabilities up to 1600, which enables you to take sharper pictures in low light situations and facilitates a faster shutter speed, essential for capturing images of fast-moving subjects. Adding to the Coolpix L12's ease of use is a new Anti-Shake button, which simultaneously activates VR, High ISO and Best Shot Selector, assuring that pictures will be steady, sharp, and stunning.

For those who might be new to digital photography, the Coolpix L12 allows you to capture great pictures easily, right out of the box.

The Coolpix L12 features a sleek, stylish finish and a curved grip that contributes to both design elegance and shooting stability. Adding to the cameras' convenient portability, The Coolpix L12 is AA-size battery and SDHC memory card compatible, with 7MB of internal memory. This camera is packaged with a complimentary copy of Nikon's PictureProject Software, which makes it a snap to transfer, organize, edit, and share photos with family and friends.

The Coolpix L12 Features:

  • Minimize Blur, Maximize Fun
  • 7.1 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches.
  • 3x Optical Zoom-Nikkor Glass Lens gets you close to the action.
  • Optical Vibration Reduction/Image Stabilization minimizes the effects of camera shake.
  • Incredible, bright 2.5-inch LCD makes it easy to view and share pictures.
  • Adjusts up to ISO 1600 to keep shooting even in lower light.
Nikon In-Camera Innovations featuring:
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix(TM) automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF - Nikon's face-finding technology that automatically focuses on faces
  • D-Lighting that rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(4), Easy to setup(8), Large clear LCD(7), Simple controls(8), Strong construction(6)
Cons:
Long lag time(7)
Best Uses:
Art(3), Documentary(3), Fun(9), Photojournalism(4), Travel(8)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(5), Enthusiast(5)
 
Memories made easy:the perfect headline!
By EKR: the new nikon fansVerified Reviewer from Prosser, WA on 8/24/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Everything, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Coolpix L12 Digital Camera:

We just bought this camera and we are very impressed with it! We have owned several digital cameras and this camera is by far the easiest to use. We were actually shopping for a lower priced camera but the quality of this one, such as the large LCD screen, picture quality, and ease of use sold us on this camera. This is an excellent camera with a great price! We couldn't be happier!

 
Good value for shaky hands
By Steve the vacationerVerified Reviewer from San Francisco Bay Area on 7/31/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Ease of use, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean
Cons:
Long Lag Time, Poor Macro Mode, Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix L12 Digital Camera:

A recap of the cons...

1) If you use the flash expect a delay during the flash recharge (a long one... 5+ seconds)
2) In Macro Mode you just can not get close enough to the object and keep focus
3) In low light the pictures (when not using the flash or when catching landscapes) have a lot of noise.

Now keep in mind I really like this camera.

1) the Optical Image stabilization works great... my pictures come out clear with no added noise.
2) the camera is super easy to use... didn't even read the manual.
3) The camera in auto mode is very well behaved so most of the time I don't have to play with the controls... just point and shoot... the way it should be.

So the Nikon L12 is not without it's quirks, but overall accomplishes the task of being an easy to use Point and Shoot for your average Joe. If you are a casual shooter or just getting started this is for you. If you want lots of control (such as controlling the ISO settings) this is not your camera.

 
Coolpix L12 Digital camera
By FLIPPERVerified Reviewer from ALTA LOMA , CA on 7/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Excellant Pictures, Set-up menu very easy, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Easy for youth to use, Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix L12 Digital Camera:

We were looking for a Reputable Brand Name and we finally found this Camera. We are very familiar with all of the features that most small Digital Cameras offer. The Features that sold us were the large screen, ease of operation & it had to be simple enough for our 12 yr old Daughter to use. She went to a Weird Al Yankiovc Concert, and from 40 feet away the pictures that she took looked like a Professional had taken them. My wife & I are very pleased that this Camera performed to our expectations. We give it a 5+

 
Great camera!
By JenVerified Reviewer from MA on 7/12/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix L12 Digital Camera:

I was on the fence about buying a digital camera - call me old fashioned but I loved my SLR - but I ADORE this camera.

I keep it with me all the time and have snagged some great shots. Very durable construction, great image quality and easy to use. I'm hooked!!!

Sometimes takes a few seconds for flash to rebound but it could just be me. Still haven't tweaked it out like I should.

And definitely invest in either rechargable batteries or some lithium ones.......seem to run through them quite quickly :)

Bottom line - a whole lot of camera for a very good price!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice pitures, easy to use
By RogerVerified Reviewer from Colorado on 6/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix L12 Digital Camera:

I was looking for a pair of simple point-and-shoot cameras for making stereo (3D) pictures, and the features on this camera are hard to beat for the price. I bought two, wired the switches together (so both cameras fire from either button), mounted them side-by-side on a bar, and they work great -- nice color with very little fringing, low noise in good light, and the photos can be printed as large as you like (I had one printed 20x30" and it's beautiful). With ISO 3200 and image stabilization, I'm especially impressed with the low-light results with no flash.

Images shared by: Roger

Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Image Thumbnail
 
Great camera, until I killed it 8(
By Mike WarotVerified Reviewer from Hammond, Indiana on 6/7/2007
Pros:
Good Video, Small
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix L12 Digital Camera:

I took a lot of videos with it. Unlike my Nikon Coolpix 8800, the VR doesn't make noise that shows up in the video. It's pretty darned cool to be able to do that. The photo quality is very good as well.

I really enjoyed it because I could always have it with me, in my pocket. I got quite a few photos I would have otherwise missed getting my 8800 out of the backpack, or not have even bothered with.

Unfortuately, I had it, and too many other things in my pocket... and one of them crushed the LCD, effectively making the camera worthless. I threw it out... but should have at least seen what the repair cost would have been. (Oh well...)

It's a fun, simple, small camera with amazing capabilities. I'll miss it.

 
Good Purchase
By Arielle M.Verified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 6/4/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix L12 Digital Camera:

The only problem I've had is the time it takes for the flash to reset. The quality of the shots is great. The quality of the videos is even greater!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I'm impressed.
By marblessVerified Reviewer from Texas on 4/11/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Ease of use, Easy Setup
Cons:
Long Lag Time, No view finder
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix L12 Digital Camera:

We have taken picuters of snow and in bright light and in the house low light and have been very please with the results. We haven't even taken it off the auto settings yet. One shot was of a water fall and the droplets of water were frozen well and a friend that is much more into photography than I am was impressed by that too. It did a good job on faces too.
I did try to get a movie of the snow falling but it was such bad quality that you couldn't see the snow, however there may be other setting with the movies that I could have used. I haven't checked that out yet. The snow did show with the still shots.
It was hard to see the display in bright sunlight and that is why a view finder would be nice.

Images shared by: marbless

This is the water fall photo I spoke about.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
perfect camera
By melly from houston, tx on 4/2/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix L12 Digital Camera:

it is perfect i use it for everything from take pics with my friends to taking it on family vacation and i have never had a problem!!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.