Buy the Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) image
 
(based on 57 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
To satisfy the requirements of passionate and demanding photographers - Nikon Introduces their highly anticipated Nikon D200 digital camera. The Nikon D200 is a high performance digital SLR camera combining brand-new technologies with advanced features inherited from Nikon's venerable D2X professional digital SLR camera. The Nikon D200 digital camera was engineered to incorporate more must-have features than any other camera in its class, enabling photographers to capture images in a way once reserved only for professionals.
  • 10.2 megapixel DX Format CCD image sensor
  • Industry-leading image processing for exceptional color performance
  • Large viewfinder with 0.94x magnification:
  • Durable, Magnesium alloy (Mg) body
  • 5fps high-speed continuous shooting
  • Fast SLR response where it counts
  • 11-area Multi-CAM AF System with 7 Area Wide AF
  • Large 2.5-inch LCD monitor with wide angle viewing to 170 degrees
  • New EN-EL3e Rechargeable battery with Fuel gauge function
  • Wireless Transmitter WT-3

The Nikon D200 promises an extremely satisfying shooting experience, with a winning combination of quality, performance, construction and advanced system features. Employing a newly developed 10.2 effective megapixel Nikon DX Format CCD image sensor, the D200 captures images with remarkable resolution and clarity. Its sophisticated 1005-pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II system ensures ideal exposures while an advanced Nikon image processing engine renders images with superb clarity and smooth color gradations. The D200 reacts with lightning speed, powering-up in a mere 0.15 seconds, and firing in an imperceptible 50 millisecond shutter release lag time. It can shoot five frames per second with a drastically shortened viewfinder blackout time of just 105 milliseconds between shots. Its large, bright viewfinder offers 0.94x magnification for comfortable and precise composition while a new 2.5 inch LCD screen provides ultra-wide 170 degrees viewing angle from all directions. With an all new 11-area autofocus system, robust control of Nikon's i-TTL Creative Lighting System and advanced Wi-Fi image-transmission options*, the Nikon D200 digital SLR is a perfect fit for discriminating photographers and a natural choice for wedding, event and action photographers.

The D200 embodies a host of intelligent technologies that deliver remarkably precise control and accurate automatic features. Equipped with Nikon's exclusive 1,005 pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II, the D200 seamlessly determines ideal exposures even in complex lighting conditions. Capturing scene elements including brightness, contrast and color content with a unique 1,005-pixel RGB-enabled sensor, this advanced system employs further improved algorithms for even better evaluation of large area highlight and shadow detail. The 3D Color Matrix Metering II light metering system also uses an onboard database of detailed exposure information from over 30,000 actual images against which instantaneous real-time comparisons are made as part of determining exposures. Rather than merely looking at light levels, a complex, yet transparent evaluation of overall scene content takes place, ensuring highly accurate exposures, even in challenging lighting conditions.

10.2 effective megapixel image sensor

The 10.2 effective megapixel image sensor on the Nikon D200 incorporates a high- speed 4-channel data output and a new Optical Low Pass Filter that significantly reduces any incidence of moire as well as color fringing and shifting. Furthermore, 4-channel output allows the D200 to inherit the advanced image-processing engine of the Nikon D2x professional digital SLR that combines color-independent preconditioning prior to A/D conversion with advanced digital image processing algorithms to deliver fine color gradations with smooth, consistent transitions. Photographers can take advantage of the D200's advanced image optimizing functionality that allows them to fine tune image characteristics such as sharpness, tone, color, saturation, and hue. Photographers can also select from preset options like Normal, Softer, Vivid, More Vivid, Portrait and Black-and-White.

One of the most notable new features of the Nikon D200 is its all new 11-area AF system, convertible to a 7-wide area AF system, both based on Nikon's advanced Multi-Cam 1000 AF Sensor Module. Not only does this AF system support the photographer with fast and precise auto focus under a variety of shooting conditions, but it also offers a pleasing array of functions for greater flexibility -- allowing an individual area to be selected from either the 11-area AF or 7-wide area AF sensors for Single AF or making use of multiple sensors to enable Dynamic AF, Closest Subject Priority Dynamic AF and Group Dynamic AF.

Running out of power on the D200 is harder than ever, since in addition to its remarkable capacity of up to 1800 shots per charge, this digital camera also features an intelligent power management Fuel Gauge feature that constantly monitors the battery's precise remaining power in 1% increments. It also displays the total number of shots taken on each charge as well as overall life of the battery, so photographers can easily tell when to replace a battery.

The D200 is a wireless whiz, and features Nikon's advanced i-TTL wireless Speedlight control built right into the camera, as well as wireless image transfer over an 802.11b/g Wi-Fi network built into the optional WT-3 Wireless Transmitter (available Spring 2006). The camera's powerful built-in Speedlight, capable of coverage for lenses as wide as 18mm, features a Commander Mode that can wirelessly control up to two separate groups of an unlimited number of i-TTL speedlights such as the SB-800, SB-600 or SB-R200. The Commander Mode in the Nikon D200 can adjust flash compensation settings for each of the two groups on the fly, making light output control from speedlights placed in hard to reach locations simple and effortless.

Faster - The D200 is faster than any other camera in its class, making its handling exceptionally responsive. The D200 can shoot continuously at up to five frames per second, capturing up to an impressive 37 JPEG images** or up to 22 NEF (RAW) images, making it ideal for action, wedding and event photography. Featuring an industry leading power-up time of 0.15 seconds, the D200 is ready to shoot when the photographer is ready. Its reduced shutter release time lag of 50 milliseconds is nearly undetectable and when shooting in its continuous burst mode of five frames per second, its shortened viewfinder blackout time (between each successive shot) of just 105 milliseconds proves especially useful in keeping an eye on a moving subject.

Stronger - The D200 digital SLR is designed with long term durability, ruggedness and precision in mind. Built on a magnesium alloy chassis and body cover, the D200 combines low weight with high-level durability and protects performance integrity. It also features an enhanced environmental sealing system that helps protect exterior seams from potentially damaging moisture and dust. The Nikon D200's double-bladed shutter unit is tested to well over 100,000 cycles, ensuring highly reliable performance year after year. The shutter unit also employs a refined mirror balance mechanism that allows the mirror to complete its motion cycle and reach a complete stop with virtually no image degrading mirror bounce.

Nikon is renowned for the distinct usability and handling of its digital SLRs, and the D200 continues this tradition. Photographers handling the camera will immediately notice its large, bright viewfinder with 0.94x magnification that ensures the clearest view possible for precise composition. Viewing excellence is taken further with an expansive 2.5-inch high-resolution LCD that provides an ultra-wide 170 degrees viewing angle from all directions. It also offers the ability to magnify images by up to 400% to enable photographers to closely inspect images for fine details while offering a selectable RGB histogram display, which allows photographers to make better- informed exposure decisions through the viewing of a composite RGB histogram, or a separate histogram for each individual color channel. The D200 also features the largest top LCD panel among cameras in its class to convey maximum information at a glance with easy access to shooting data including shooting mode, battery condition, card information, gridline display, shutter speed, F-stop and number of remaining shots.

Refined menus on the D200 offer a streamlined and visually enhanced view of camera setup and custom setting options. Photographers can access an expanded on-board Help feature to view brief descriptions of every one of the camera's menu items. The Nikon D200 also features a 'Recent Settings' menu that reflects the last 14 settings adjusted, offering a quick way to revisit these settings.

Nikon's Digital Imaging System - Like all Nikon SLR cameras, the D200 also offers the advantages of compatibility with Nikon's superior and comprehensive Digital Imaging System. High image quality is assured through compatibility with over 50 outstanding AF Nikkor lenses, including Nikon's DX Nikkor lenses engineered exclusively for use with Nikon digital SLRs and an extensive array of AF Nikkors designed for use on digital and 35mm SLRs. The D200 also offers compatibility with the Nikon Creative Lighting System, enabling high-precision flash photography with SB-800, SB-600 and the Nikon Wireless Close-up Lighting Systems. Outlined below are ground breaking technologies and system features that enable photographers to achieve results not possible with any other system:

New Wireless Transmitter WT-3 (Available Spring 2006) - Nikon is leading the imaging world with wireless image transfer technology via Wi-Fi. The D200 marks the announcement of the Wireless Transmitter WT-3, offering photographers creative new ways to set up their . The new IEEE802.11b/g compatible Wireless Transmitter WT-3 provides fast image transmission with improved security and compatibility with the latest protocols. It also provides alternative buttons for shutter release and AF- start as well as an extra command dial to facilitate more comfortable shooting in vertical format.

i-TTL Speedlight Technology - Nikon's i-TTL speedlight technology is arguably the most robust and advanced speedlight system in the world, and holds limitless possibilities for all kinds of photographers using creative lighting. i-TTL technology built in to the D200 allows photographers to wirelessly control in full TTL, up to 2 groups of speedlights, with any number of individual speedlights in each group. Photographers can shed all cords and cables or the need to ever calculate flash and distance ratios, because the i-TTL system is capable of making all exposure calculations in real time, wirelessly, during the exposure to deliver a perfect flash exposure in any situation. Photographers can even maintain full output control of each group of speedlights from the D200's built-in speedlight. This technology can potentially distill an entire portrait lighting system into a small set of multiple SB800, SB600 or SB-R200 speedlights.

Nikkor(R) Lenses - As a company that built its reputation with the superb quality of its lenses, Nikon's renowned Nikkor(R) brand of optics offer D200 users a tremendous choice of over 50 high quality lenses ranging from highly specialized exotic ones such as the AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED to broad zoom range lenses for everyday photography. The D200 is compatible with DX Nikkor lenses that are optimized for Nikon's digital SLR camera sensors as well as legendary AF Nikkor lenses, delivering outstanding system digital SLR flexibility. This ensures that D200 users will always find a high quality Nikkor lens that's just perfect for their photography.

Nikon PictureProject and Capture 4.4 Software - The D200 will include a complimentary copy of Nikon's PictureProject software, a $49.95 value, and an easy-to-use yet powerful software application that provides image transfer, organization, editing, and design functions for JPEG and NEF (RAW) images produced with the camera. PictureProject can also convert NEF (RAW) files to JPEG or TIFF format finished files, as well as save in the original NEF file format. PictureProject is an essential accessory and is compatible with the new D200 and all prior Nikon digital SLR models and Coolpix Models. The D200 is also compatible with Nikon Capture 4.4 software (sold separately), a new version of Capture that has the specifications to open NEF files from the D200 and all other Nikon digital SLR models. This newest version features greatly enhanced NEF (RAW) processing capabilities as well as Nikon Capture Camera Control that allows remote camera operation when connected to a computer via the included USB cable or wirelessly using the new Wireless Transmitter WT-3 (sold separately). This versatility is especially useful when photographers may need to continue shooting with their D200 while simultaneously having someone else edit incoming images.

RAW - The NEF (RAW) files from the Nikon D200 comprise not only the RAW image data captured by the 10.2 effective megapixel image sensor but also a thumbnail image and a Nikon Instruction Set of the cameras settings at the time of shooting. NEF allows the Instruction Set data -- such as white balance, color balance and tone curves and more -- to be adjusted for each recorded image at any time after shooting through the use of Nikon Capture software. Use of Nikon Capture also allows an NEF file to be saved as an NEF, ensuring a record of the original Instruction Set is always preserved, even if several newer Instruction Sets are saved to the file. This ensures that photographers never loose the original settings and image data of an NEF (RAW) file, and reverting back to the original image requires just a few clicks in Capture software.

Version 4.4 of Nikon Capture software offers a flexible, stable and creative workflow approach for any photographer in both professional and personal use through Nikon's unique approach referred to as the Camera to NEF to Capture Dynamic Link performance. Newly added features for Capture include automatic highlight recovery when using Exposure Compensation at values lower than 0 EV and Black and White conversion support in Tone Compensation.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 57 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate colors(22), Great resolution(22), Large clear LCD(31), Nice features and settings(21), Quiet(20)
Cons:
LCD fragile/scratches(5), Loud(3)
Best Uses:
Art(25), Documentary(17), Everyday(16), Fun(25), Low light(13)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(3), Enthusiast(23), Photo enthusiast(4), Professional(26), Semi-pro(3)
 
Fast, Easy, AWESOME!
By tiffndanVerified Purchaser from Harrisburg, PA on 11/10/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Everything, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

It takes sometime to learn....the D200 has many features! However, it is worth the time. Great portraits, very fast camera!

Images shared by: tiffndan

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Work Horse!
By Zaidi Cam-ManVerified Purchaser from Baltimore, MD on 9/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The D200 is a technical workhorse. You have a lab literally in your hands to customize your pictures, even before you upload them into your PC. I like the heft of it in my hand, which reminds me of my old N4004. Over 600 images with a 2GB flash card relieves me of worries I had with my old N4004s of missing that rare shot when I came to the end of my film cartridge. Complaint? The Multi Selector could be more user-friendly, and the LCD protector is hard to remove, causing me to leave it on for fear of scratching the screen.

Images shared by: Zaidi Cam-Man

Interior Design

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Lovin' it!
By Maui GirlVerified Reviewer from Maui, Hawaii on 9/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Am loving the convenience of being able to change white balance, ISO setting, and image quality at the click of a button! Love all of the other bells and whistles as well. Have only one complaint--the design of the port for the shutter release cable. Hard to put that tiny cap on and off and even harder to keep track of when it's off! It's also difficult to seat the cable properly. Has a tendency to fall off too easily. These relatively minor problems are the only reason I didn't give it five stars.

Images shared by: Maui Girl

Protea Reflections

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

plumeria

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good camera with a few disappointments
By MinnieVerified Purchaser from San Francisco,CA. on 9/17/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Shooting images in "Normal" mode produces pale sickly skin tones in the LCD and pale dull skin tones when photos are downloaded to computer.
Shooting photos in Optimize Menu "Vivid" produce wonderful skin tones in LCD but when downloaded to computer the skin tones are bright ORANGE or RED and completely unacceptable. LCD is not true to skin tone. "Normal" and "Vivid" don't offer the perfect balance between too dull and too orange.
I also have problems achieving sharp focus in AF-S mode.
Other than these issues, the camera is fast and fun to use and I like it.

 
Excellet DSLR
By DogpupkusVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PA on 9/15/2008
Pros:
5FPS Continuous Shooting, Assignable Function Keys, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to navigate menus, Many lens compatibilities, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Discontinued
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The D200 is my first DSLR. Many have suggested the D80 as a good beginner DSLR, but I wanted features the D200 had. The D200 is an absolutely amazing camera for anyone wanting to upgrade an obsolete DSLR to. It has a 5 FPS Continuous shooting frame rate, compatible with GPS devices to geomap the location of your photos, image enhancing settings, lots of preset white balance levels, and much more. The D200 is the way to go if you're looking for a semi-pro alternative to your entry level DSLR.

 
Nikon the master of all SLS Cameras
By dede pixels from fort lauderdale, FL on 9/4/2008
Pros:
Attractive, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Steady gripping, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, School, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I'm a student at Mc Fatter Tech for commercial photography I use a Nikon SLR in my classroom. I think as a beginner in photography Nikon is the best camera to start learning from. The controls and functions were very easy to understand. Its something about handling any camera but the Nikon makes that experience more comfortable, easy, ad fun. I love working with the Nikon brand!!!!!!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to use, fantastic camera
By Ilonyte from Evanston, IL on 3/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Truly a fantastic camera. I have just upgraded from the D70 and I cannot believe the difference between the two cameras. Of course, you can take great pictures with either camera. However, the controls are very easy to get to - so you don't miss a moment when taking photos. As a result, I can adjust white balance and ISO much more easily, resulting in truly beautiful photos of my children (who are not going to wait for me to fiddle around with the menu options on the camera). Also, the construction of the camera is solid, although a little heavy for someone with small hands. However, that's a small price to pay for beautiful photos!

 
Best Camera I Have Owned
By StanflyfisherVerified Reviewer from St. Louis, MO on 12/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Great camera! I use the 18-200 vr lens. That is all I need!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Professional To The Max! I Love It!
By Barnebe Jones from Tustin, Ca on 11/13/2007
Pros:
5FPS, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Nothing
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel, Weddings And Holidays
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This Camera Is Perfect For Me. Its The Right Size, Its Shutter Speed Is Amazingly Fast To Capture What You Want; And The 5FPS Is Good Enough To Make A Picture Movie. I Was Gonna Get A D80 Instead But D200 Has A Lot Of Assesories/Add-Ons including The MB-D200 Battery Grip; The Remote; AC Adapter To Plug In Directly To The Wall. There's Nothing Wrong With It At All. I Use My 55-200mm AF-S VR Lens And Its Pretty Good. Pretty Soon I'll Be Upgrading To A 18-200mm VR Or A 70-300mm VR Or Even Both. The D200 Is Quite Heavy But I Like Big & Heavy Cameras. They Are More Comfortable To Me Because My Hands Are A Little Big.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
My "digital workhorse"
By mac734Verified Reviewer from New York, NY on 10/29/2007
Pros:
Battery Life, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great image quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Noise at high ISO
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Portraiture, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is amazing. It offers great resolution, tonality, and color. Excellent metering and AF capabilities. The built-in flash can be switched to "commander mode" allowing for the control of slave units like the SB600 (without needing the SB800 to act as a master). The battery life is exceptional, and it has a rugged body that is built to last.

My only hangup is that noise levels start to climb when shooting above 800. At 1600, it gets very noticeable. The chip is to blame for this, being half the size of a full frame sensor and cramming in 10MP worth of pixels. I would have been happier if it was around 6 or 7 MP and had better noise reduction instead.

On a side note, I also am grateful for the built-in flash. I've only used it a mere two times before, but both times it saved me when in a bind. The first time, my external flash unit malfunctioned, and the second time, my rechargeables wouldn't charge and AA batteries were scarce (at a reception hall in the NJ countryside, late at night).

All in all, this camera is a great backup for the working pro, or the perfect upgrade for the aspiring amateur. For studio work, there's absolutely no need for a better model. If you're shooting indoor events, sports, concerts, or in some other low-light situation (weddings), I would suggest the new D300 (or better, the D3) for their better noise reduction capabilities.

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
it's so expensive
By samVerified Reviewer from iran on 10/23/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Shaky Operation, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I use this product in Art.
it has high MP, it's important for me.

sorry,I dont have good english.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
We're getting married tomorrow!
By Echolalia from San Francisco, CA on 10/9/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Nothing
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Am seriously in love. I proposed to my D200 and it said YES!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comact and Capable D200 18/200mm Combo
By Apicturemoment from Parma Ohio on 9/24/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Camera has work well in All Conditions!!
Weddings/Travel/ Sports

I am very impressed with the advance features of the D200.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to use and learn
By ChristopherVerified Reviewer from Portland, Oregon on 9/19/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I have had a film SLR for years, but stopped taking pictures because of the cost of developing. For someone who love to take photos, and wants to learn to take better photos the D200 is a great option. It offers more options than the D80 or D40, closer to what the professional models offer, but not at the cost of the professional models.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Whole lotta pro camera
By PeteVerified Reviewer from NB , CT USA on 9/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Shutter sound
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Entusiast -PRO, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This Nikon DSLR camera with the 18-200mm VR offers a wide range wide range of zoom options! I would only recommend getting second telephoto lens, plus a flash, but to start with as is is fine . It does have a learning curve , but that's with any new camera , just read the instructions and visit the Nikon website it has a great learning video there that shows you alott about this camera.Unless you move up to the next or current model of the same, This model is still has alott to offer and I would still recommend it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Camera
By Paradise [...]Verified Reviewer from Honolulu, Hawaii on 8/31/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is well worth the price!

I have owned many different camera bodies as a professional wedding photographer and the D200 outshines them all. The only camera that I have that has any chance of competition with the D200 is the D2XS, but its hefty price tag makes it very impractical for all but the hardcore professional.

When I first received the D200 I noticed a few drawbacks that I was not happy with, like the balance in my hand felt a little off, and the very low shot per battery ratio. But all of this was overcome by simply adding on the optional MB200 battery pack. This way you have twice the battery power for longer photo shoots, and the added height and weight at the bottom of the additional batteries seems to "balance out" the camera nicely.

For a camera of this price range, I could not be happier.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
AMAZING CAMERA
By SteveVerified Reviewer from Manchester, NH on 8/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Reliable, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
ANYTHING, Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is the most amazing camera. It's quiet. The shutter is amazing. The lag time is almost nonexistent. I love this camera. I have had the D80, I have used my friends' Cannon and there is no comparison what so ever. This is the best camera you can buy for the money.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon D200
By NaminatorVerified Reviewer from La Grande, OR on 8/24/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Wireless Flash
Cons:
Exposed LCD, High-iso noise
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I found the D200 way better than my good old D70. In almost any aspect.
Image quality, resolution are all state-of-the-art!

Focusing is faster, more focus points (even though the center is still the best - not like D2x where every point is as good as it gets). The allignment of these focus points is worse than D2x's. I have gone to the point of not trusting any of those outer points.

I dont really use that much of features the D200 has to offer.
I also found that the dedicated buttons for ISO, QUAL and WB placed on the left and on top of the camera were all pain in the butt. They'd better be placed below LCD screen like those in D2x. Even the D70 feels better and easier to choose these.

Over all, good camera, awesome buy (better be for 2 the price of the D70)!

I gave it 4* because Nikon has now announced the D300, which sounds a LOT better!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Making me a better photographer!
By ManMountainVerified Reviewer from Nashville, TN on 7/31/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Weight
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portrait, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional in trianing
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Wow what can I say about camera that is beautiful, reliable and has the heart of a teacher.
The Nikon 200 has so much information backing up a superb photographic tool. I am truly impressed, and now realize why I have been in love with Nikon cameras since 1965.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Only a D2Xs can give you more
By dep_photoman from Orlando, Florida on 7/23/2007
Pros:
5 frames per second, Feel of true pro quality, Feels great in your hands, Limitless capabilities, Virtually no replay delay
Best Uses:
Portraits, Scenic, Sporting events, Wedding
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

You'll never believe it can be this good taking photographs until you finally have one in your hands and feel the thrill of a truly professional machine.

Images shared by: dep_photoman

Hawaii still life

Image Thumbnail

Nuuanu Pali

Image Thumbnail
 
I love this camera, it is the bomb!!!!!!
By ClickVerified Reviewer from Bartow, Fl. on 7/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I have had the camera for approx. a month. The camera is the bomb. It is so easy to use if you already know how to SLR cameras. I love it!!!!

Images shared by: Click

Great player!!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Sharpest tool in the shed!
By Pet Lover from West Tennessee on 6/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I love the way it feels in my hands and it is very easy to use.

 
Worth every Penny
By Labby from Owosso, MI on 6/25/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Bigger viewfinder
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Out of the box we made freinds; instantly. Has produced award winning pictures for me. It lets me work the camera with ease. Just bought a second body and sold my new Canon 5D. The Nikon system is the best; hands down.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Durability Speed Ergonomics at its best
By JamesVerified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 6/23/2007
Pros:
5 FPS, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Perfect Light meter, Quiet, Rich colors, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Top LCD illumination, Unmatched control layout
Cons:
No top LCD protection
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Hot and Cold Temperatures, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The D200 is Nikon's best DSLR for people who care about being able to acquire the best image. The D200's "three kings" switch group allows you to change ISO, file compression, and white balance at your fingertips, which is great when those settings need to be changed to avoid ruining a shot. Weather seals on this camera are the same as those found in camera bodies that are in the $4000-8000 price range. 2.5" screen is bright and its color reproduction is extremely accurate. 5 FPS framerate is great for sports or trying to capture any sort of action.

ISO in realistic conditions is fantastic up to and including 1600.

If you have the money, don't think twice about buying. If you have money for a camera twice as expensive as the D200, just buy a D200 and spend the rest on nice lenses. The D200 does a good 85% of what any other top-of-the-line "Professional" DSLR does for at least half the price!

If I could have unlimited photographic gear, I would buy a D200 for each lens that I own. It's THAT GOOD.

Images shared by: James

Lakeside Sunset

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Professional Quality @ Consumer Price
By NIKON NUTVerified Reviewer from North Western Suburbs - Chicago, IL on 6/17/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Professional quality, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Hobby, Photojournalism, Portraits, Professional work, Sporting events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

After owning the D50 and D80, I decided to take the plunge, and upgrade to the D200. With the extra MB-D200 module, the overall feel and look is similar to the D2 series.

If you can justify the expense, this unit is well worth every penny

Images shared by: NIKON NUT

Natural lighting @ 1600 just out of the box!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Camera thats simply amazing!
By KunalVerified Reviewer from Long Prairie, MN on 6/13/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great resolution, Rugged, Small Lag Time
Cons:
None at this time
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

All I can say is this camera has it all for my needs. Will never buy another camera for a long time. Ossom pictures in the dark, close ups are ossom.

Images shared by: Kunal

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera!
By Dana from San Jose, CA on 6/8/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to change settings, Easy to use, Intuitive features, Light than expected, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Working toward profession
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I came from using a D70, which I really liked. What I like even better about the D200 is the way it's so easy to quickly changes settings by buttons and the dials. I hate having to use menus, and now I never do while out shooting. It's so easy to quickly switch into single servero from continuous or vice versus. ISO, BW are at your finger tips, as is metering.

Love it!

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Never Stops Amazing Me
By N8 StudioVerified Reviewer from Michigan on 5/31/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I used to shoot film for about the last 20 years and I have been into digital photography for the last 5 years. My first camera was a Minolta DiMage 7i then I got an Olympus SP350 to take on trips. I knew I was taking a step up when I got the D200 but I really didn't know how much,aside from the ability to change lenses. This camera flat out blows my mind. It is virtually noiseless. I shoot a lot in low light and with my other two cameras ther was always noise in my shaddow areas. It is hard if not impossible to find a situation (short of shooting in complete darkness) where you will get noise. You are good up to about ISO 800! ISO 1600 is a bit grainy but still prints more than fine. The sharpness and color reproduction is something I have never experienced in digital. I will never go back to film after using this camera. If you are into flash at all go for the SB-800. The control you have between the D200 and that flash is unreal! I have not found a situation I could not get exactly what I have wanted with this camera. I do suggest getting the magic lantern guide as there are so many features with this camera it is a little daunting to master. I am in a continuous learning mode. You can shoot just fine in P mode right out of the box and get great results but you are doing yourself a great disservice if you don't learn a little bit more. Take the time and have fun. I hope you have as much fun with this camera as I do.

Images shared by: N8 Studio

hey Shoot What You Love Right?

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Natural Light, Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Camera Ever!
By PatVerified Reviewer from Woodstock GA on 5/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
a little heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
45 plus years, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Shooting low light, over cast and bright lights, this camera performs flowlessly.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth every dollar.
By fglermaVerified Reviewer from Houston, Texas on 4/21/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

When Nikon introduced this camera, I felt I needed to upgrade from the D70 I already used. This is a very good piece of equipment. I enjoy my D70. I am enthused by the feel of the D200. It is a joy to use. I could not be more happy with the feel and controls. My Nikon lenses work well. I am very satisfied.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
pretty sweet
By bobdole from seattle, wa on 4/17/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Loud, Shaky Operation

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

It did meet expectations, i love it!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I Love this camera!!!!!
By Canon for work Nikon for LifeVerified Reviewer from In the club and on the street on 4/17/2007
Pros:
Better than film, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Intelligent, Protected, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
CF cards kind of
Best Uses:
Art, Commercial, Documentary, Fun, Photo-Illustration, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
I use cameras in all aspe, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

First and foremost the point is would I rather pay twice as much for a camera that does nearly the same thing then pay a few hundred more for each lens? Being who I am I went Nikon D200.

It has less noise than 1600 speed film, focuses faster than anything under 3g's, is built better than the 5D, and in many ways it's better the 1d I used for work. I've shot over 180,000 shots on my camera since Dec. '05. and used it as a defense weapon, even shot with a caged bear hitting the lens. Man can my d200 take abuse.

The only thing it doesn't have is a cool marketing campaign. The noise at high ISO is completely workable and unlike Canon's reducable with proper software. However with a Canon noise reduction is done in camera, just like with sharpening, if your reduce in software it doesn't look right. Plus the built in question system is phenominal. Finally the conversion factor works great where most people want their lenses which is telephoto, so this is the -advanced hobbyist-photo enthusiast-professional- camera for everyone..

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lives up to the NIKON reputation
By BosnmateVerified Reviewer from Roseville, CA on 4/11/2007
Pros:
Amazing controls, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction, Vivid colors
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Fun, People Pets, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Having used Nikon 35mm cameras for decades, the shift to digital has been amazing. Any serious amateur photographer should give this a go. More advanced than the coolpix and more compact than the D2X. Perfect compromise.

Images shared by: Bosnmate

Key West at it's best

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Key West at it's best

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best camera i've ever had
By lostforfunVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 4/2/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

My wife got this for me as a I love you gift and I haven't been able to put it down since I got it. From around the house, the flight back to Iraq and now photojournalism with the military, this is far the best camera I have ever used. Super fast start up, quick and sharp focus( I use Nikon 50mm 1.8/ Sigma 18-50mm 2.8/ and Nikon 18-200VR). The controls are all in the right spot for quick and easy use. The in-camera options are great. If anything ever happens to this I'll be getting another one just like. [...]

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
D200 REVIEW
By BORNEOMAN from SAN DIEGO CA on 4/1/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

HAVE HAD IT FOR 9 MOS. NO REGRETS AT ALL. TOOK IT TO ALASKA. FABULOUS PICTURES BLOW UP TO 12X18 SHOWS NO GRAININESS

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love my Nikon D200
By GawVerified Reviewer from Orangevale, California on 3/9/2007
Describe Yourself:
Committed Photographer
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Customizable, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
I wish I had another one
Best Uses:
Children, Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I love how practical it is. It does exactly what I envision. But it also keeps the creativity going.

Images shared by: Gaw

My third child and endless inspiration.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent camera
By dopeyVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 3/4/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is an excellent camera. It incorporates a of of the D2X features but at less than half the price. The performance is excellent; great resolution, speed and accurate metering/colors. This camera is also rugid. The controls are very intuitive; even if yo have not previously used a digital slr. I have previously used a D70 and even though the D200 has a lot more features, I found the controls easier to learn. Overall an excellent value!

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great "200%" Digital Camera!
By Creativf2.8Verified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 3/1/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Best balance of features, Great Resolution, Great seletion of Lenses, Lowest noise for digital, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Battery life, Still pricey over compet
Best Uses:
Everything photographic, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I have used many high quality digital cameras as they developed. I would say that this camera ranks amoung the best because of its professional build and quality features. If you want the ballance of best features for the money this is the camera to get! Although it is a bit pricey compared to some of the competition that has similar resolution and features, I will stick with a brand that has built an entire line of quality accessories for this and future cameras, that will last your lifetime. If you change to a newer model in the future the lenses and flash will still work perfectly. The Nikon DX style lens choices are high quality and the mountable flash accessories provide professional results wheather you want to fill flash or communicate with more than one flash.
I like the camera itself because #1 it produces the best images I have seen for digital, equal to the higher megapixel cameras too. The 10 megapixel resolution is is high enough to get the shot you need for magazine printing quality. I have carefully looked at pixel quality from various cameras in different light conditions and this is one of the best. The dark areas have less noise and the light areas have less areas that are blown out in uncontrolled light situations. If you need to fill flash the subject using the on board flash does a fairly good job, but Nikon's SB-800 AF Speedlight Flash produces remarkable results, (eliminating the possibility of noise and putting you in control).
Outdoor photography is amazing and photographing people can't be beat! The image sensor is sensitive to both light and dark to get the tones you expect with sun and shaddow in an out door setting. With people you get great skin tones with flash indoors or in natural light.
Technically this camera has all the features you need with good placement of all of the controls and buttons. The menu has so many options it will take a bit to learn, but it is worth it because a professional wants this kind of selection. It even gets better because you can put in your custom settings and save them for future similar shooting situations. While auto white ballancing isn't always your best choice, it is better to use the (almost unlimited) array of preset choices in the LCD menu. It is the fastest and most controlled method of changing the white ballance. You can quickly test a shot to get the color you are expecting, wheather you want your image to be neutral, warmer or cooler. Checking your image then quickly scrolling to the histogram and capture info on this camera gives you the ability to make judgements for your next image capture, if variety is needed. Most of the controls are very intuitive and easy to use while taking shots, they don't get in the way. The camera's weak point is the life of the battery. This camera takes twice the power to use as a D50 for example. While you get decent life from the battery, around 200 to 300 shots the D50 gets more than double. Just buy a second backup battery and that would be satisfactory. While you could add the Nikon MB-D200 Multi Power Battery Pack that would also all a lot of weight to carry around. I prefer 2 batteries and change as needed.
There are so many great features that I can say I am very happy with this camera and highly recommend it! You will be happy for years to come.

Images shared by: Creativf2.8

Covered Bridge

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Indoor Portrait with Fill Flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super Camera!
By YoungVerified Reviewer from San Francisco, CA on 2/28/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

A super camera the say the least! It goes where I go. Fast and acurate metering. Its the best camera for the money.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Will have another one if anything happen
By BillVerified Reviewer from Madison NC on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Still looking
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is the best camera I have ever owned and I've a many. The user can be in control or let the camera do the work for you. I have yet to be in a situation where I was limited by the camera as to what could be done.

Images shared by: Bill

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the photo. Very nice!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
a DSLR that FEELS Like a pro model
By Bill BensonVerified Reviewer from Near Pittsburgh PA on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Portraits, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Finally a digital SLR worthy of professional use, both feature-wise and ergonomically speaking. Image quality is great and I love the big viewfinder. 1/250th sec flash sych is nice, although 1/500th (like the D70s) would have been a little better. Overall, awesome piece of equipment!

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well Designed Camera
By tboneVerified Reviewer from Macon, GA on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The D200 is an outstanding pro-sumer body. It is ergonomically designed very well with common controls positioned in intuitive locations. Transitioning from a D70 or film Nikon is easy. I have taken over 5000 frames with this camera in the six months I have owned it and I would certainly buy one again. My only knock on the D200 is that it is still behind the upper end Canon models in high ISO, low light performance in terms of noise. Nonetheless, I am very please with this camera and recommend it to those looking to buy a professional grade body.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
My third Nikon DSLR
By ImagengineerVerified Reviewer from Mooresville, NC on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

My D200 took great shots right out of the box. As I learned about all the features my photography got even better. This camera is loaded with features that give the camera plenty of versatility, but you don't have to use all of the complicated settings to get great pictures. If I have one nit, it would be digital noise at very high ISO settings, but it is certainly tolerable. Most of my pictures are taken outdoors at low light conditions and they look better than anything I took using high speed film. Like any SLR, some may find it a little bulky for travel...but it is and SLR, not a pocket cam.

Images shared by: Imagengineer

Dancer using only available stage lighting

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Low tide

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Excellent images, thank you.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best value D-SLR on the market
By nojusticeVerified Reviewer from Suffolk, VA on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I use this camera professionally for stock photography, portraits, and personal use. This camera is the most ergonomic and versatile camera on the market, with more options and abilities than you can shake a stick at. The camera feels like it would take a fall without missing a beat, has the "triple crown" of ISO, WB, and file format on top, and manual mode allows you to change both shutter speed and aperture without taking your eyes from the viewfinder.I also love the Commander Mode, allowing me to use my SB600 flash off-camera with a diffuser (Fong Lightsphere II) and placing the flash ANYWHERE I want with direct control from the camera - and I can control as many flashes as I want in three different groups. Amazing.Pair this with the Nikon 18-200mm VR lens, and it is a nearly perfect camera that is suitable for shooting in any situation. While still not professional level fast glass, at $[...] - $[...] for the 18-200 it is a great compromise to $[...] or more for each of the two or more f/2.8 lenses you will need to replace it's range and capabilities. Perfect for travel, vacation, low light, portraits - simply does everything I ask of it.To truly bring out the best possible pictures, I HIGHLY recommend shooting in NEF (RAW) format and post processing in Nikon's Capture NX software. I've tried all of the other options to get the highest quality out of this camera, and while it irks me Nikon kept their secrets of the proprietary file format from Adobe (Photoshop) the difference in quality when using NEF with Capture NX is stunning.I would not recommend this for someone who really wants a point and shoot; if you aren't willing to learn to use the full capabilities of this camera, buy a D40 or a Canon D350. Otherwise, this is the current pinnacle of Nikon's lineup, unless you need a camera to cover a war in the desert (then you need the D2x)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best DSLR in the market for under $[...]!
By Bill from Peoria, IL on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Truely a remarkable DSLR at any price point.

Images shared by: Bill

Alaskian Landscape: Mt. Denali

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Ruth Glacier under Mt. Barille

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Catch the Light Splashes, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the photo. Very nice!

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding
By HighDesertJSVerified Reviewer from Bend, OR on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

With the D200, I got pro features for a pro-sumer price. It's hard to take a badly-exposed image with this thing, and I've used it for landscapes, portraiture, and lots of travel. [...] I will take many, many photos with this bad boy.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Digital SLR I have ever owned
By JorgeVerified Reviewer from Brookeville, MD on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Can't find one
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is worth every penny, Even my 11 year old can use it with great results.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
An execellent digital SLR Camera
By Brad from Ft. Collins, CO on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Perhaps the feature that I value most is the ability to take more than 20 shots without the need to wait for images to be downloaded to memory. I upgraded from a Nikon D100. Many features are the same between the D100 and D200. However it can take some getting used to the D200, common features are often accessed in a different way.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Phenomenal !!!!!!!!!!
By DuncleVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, Arizona on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Highly Reccomended. I use it as my main camera body and I am extremely satisfied. Versital, rugged, diverse and professional, yet allows articulate control of features and images.

Images shared by: Duncle

Beach Sunset

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Saturating, vibrant color, Made with Product

Loverly Portrait Capabilities

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Great skin tone/details

RitzCamera.com Response: Great photo. Thank you.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera for the price.
By john from San Jose, CA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Auto White Balance
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Replaced a D100. The D200 is such a different camera than the D100. Flash exposures are some of the best I have seen from any camera. Auto white balance is not that great. It wasn't very good with the D100 and it is only slightly better with the D200. Hard to find a more rugged camera for the price.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
D200 Digital Camera - Wide Range of ISOs
By Sail GuyVerified Reviewer from Sarasota, FL on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
free lance photographer, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls, very flexible
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The camera is very flexible once you learn how it works. It was a big transition from film because there are so many more features available on digital.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth every penny
By PeterpanVerified Reviewer from Nashville, TN on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
AmateurProfessional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Lacks image stabilization
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is by far the best Digital SLR I have used. The construction is solid. The menus are reasonably easy to use. The extra settings that don't require menus make this much simpler to use if you take the time to learn how to use them. That's not to say this is a point and shoot camera. It is for the serious digital photographer who is ready to take it to the next level. I had the D70 and this blows it out of the water.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Nikon DSLR yet
By TomVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Great pro level camera at a reasonable price. The D200 has most of the same features as the D2x but at less than half the price. Fast enough for most sports, great in the studio and not bad as a carry around camera.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great body, upgrade really worth it
By Fab FotoVerified Reviewer from Winchester, VA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

When I stopped morning the loss of my D100, I moved up to a D200. It was so much better that I would have hated to have the D100 even as a backup. Fast, easy to use, shoots RAW + JPG, 3 histogram preview, etc. Best camera out there for a working pro in my opinion.

[5 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beautiful
By DjlaroseVerified Reviewer from Burlington, Vermont on 1/4/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Review pic takes a second
Best Uses:
I use it for everything

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I love it. I use it as my main camera, and it works excellent with the 70-200 2.8 VR. The only downside is that after you take a picture, the reviewable image takes a few seconds to appear.

[4 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exceeded expectations
By majicleVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, Florida on 12/17/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The D200 is fast,and versatile. The results are extraordinary.

Images shared by: majicle

A Strong Foundation

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Happy with my selection
By ilikemy50cal from Houston, TX on 12/17/2006
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel

Comments about Nikon Nikon D200 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Nice Camera with lots of functions

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.