Buy the Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black) image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Nikon's Coolpix P6000 - Precise Control. Powerful Photography. Breathtaking digital performance

Nikon's classically compact Coolpix P6000 combines 13.5 effective megapixels with a 4x wide-angle optical Zoom-NIKKOR ED glass lens for stunning prints as large as 20x30 inches. Nikon's EXPEED image processor and Image stabilization make for sharp pictures. The incredible, bright 2.7-inch LCD and optical viewfinder make it easy to compose and share pictures. Get the ultimate in control and creativity with Program, Shutter, Aperture and full Manual exposure modes. The Coolpix 6000 has a Wired LAN port and GPS geo-tagging capability to upload your pictures to Nikon's my Picturetown photo storage and sharing service.


  • 13.5 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 20 x 30 inches.
    Plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements
  • 4x Wide Angle Optical Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens superior optics provide exceptional pictures throughout the versatile zoom range plus two ED Glass elements reduce chromatic aberrations and get you sharp, crisp pictures. NIKKOR optics offers the finest quality glass in the industry which gets you incredible pictures with brilliant colors and sharp details
  • New EXPEED Image Processing ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness.
    Nikon's comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates the knowhow and the technologies acquired throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is customer-tuned for Coolpix and renders natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you won't miss that special moment
  • Incredible, Bright 2.7-inch High Resolution LCD and Optical Viewfinder make it easy to compose and share your pictures with friends and family. The incorporation of the optical viewfinder enables you to see through the lens in any type of lighting condition.
  • Optical VR Image Stabilization compensates for camera shake to prevent blur and produce clearer, sharper results in lower light or unsteady conditions. In addition, the benefits of Nikon's VR system extends to faster framing on the monitor as well as smoother action when using the movie mode
  • Program, Aperture, Shutter, and Manual Exposure modes give you ultimate control over your pictures.
    The D-SLR-type mode dial on the top of the camera provides quick access to this greater personal and creative control. Now, you can adjust the camera's settings for any type of lighting conditions and get as creative as you want
  • Auto adjusts up to ISO 6400 and lets you keep shooting, even in lower light.
    With a light sensitivity range of up to ISO 6400 in manual control, this creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions
  • New Coolpix RAW mode (.NRF) with Windows Imaging Component allows you to take and edit pictures in RAW mode with Windows Vista
  • my Picturetown with Wired LAN view and upload your pictures Anytime, Anywhere.
    Simply connect the camera to your Ethernet cable for your Wired LAN and the camera will automatically upload your pictures to Nikon's my Picturetown photo storage and sharing service. Store up to 2GB for free directly from the camera.
  • New GPS capability automatically tags your pictures with the exact location where you shot that picture.
    Upload them directly to my Picturetown and then you can search on the location where any of your pictures were taken and can view them all at once. A great way to have instant organization of your photos!
  • Nikon Image Innovations include:
    In-Camera Red-Eye Fix, that automatically looks for and fixes most instances of red-eye; Face Priority AF, Nikon's face-finding technology that can quickly find and focus on up to 12 faces in a group portrait; and D-Lighting which rescues pictures that are too dark for printing by enhancing the underexposed areas of the picture while not touching the properly exposed areas
  • Available System accessories such as a wide angle and telephoto converter as well as Nikon speedlights let you expand the capabilities of the camera and allow you to enhance your creativity.
  • High Quality TV Movies with Sound is now just a press of a button away with your Coolpix. Record TV-Quality movies with sound whose duration is only limited by the available space on your SD/SDHC card. Connect your camera to your TV and you have instant home-movies!

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(7), Easy to setup(8), Easy to use(6), Great picture quality(9), Large clear LCD(11)
Cons:
Long lag time(3)
Best Uses:
Art(4), Family photos(6), Fun(8), Photojournalism(3), Travel(9)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(4), Photo enthusiast(7)

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Deaf people can work expect not hear
By Deaf MacVerified Purchaser from Kissimmee, FL on 5/6/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

Very nice to have GPS for iPhoto on my MacBook.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Great compact point and shoot"
By kuecker76 from Stockton,Ca on 5/1/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

Great little camera. Some people dont like batt. life but I have not experienced any issue. I would like to see Nikon offer screen protectors for LCD display. To date Nikon now offers a 1.2 firmware version.

Images shared by: kuecker76

wet flower

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

fly on unbloomed flower

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Gargantuan disappointment
By Underwhelmed from Deep South on 4/29/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Great Picture Quality
Cons:
Flash Not Automatic, Long Lag Time, Short Battery Life
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

I was so excited to get this camera in my hands. It feels great and I was pretty sure I could ignore the cons listed in other reviews. I was even able to get over having to manually lock the battery/memory compartment.

What I am not able to ignore is the fact that the flash has to be popped up manually. This is suprising oversight from Nikon. The lag/recovery time is severly prolonged. You can sense the shots you are missing as you wait to be able to take the next shot. You don't even always get the picture you were trying to capture - it is a few frames later.

I am used to a D80, but wanted something much smaller for casual outings.

The p6000 is an ABYSSMAL DISAPPOINTMENT. It is going back to the store.

Nikon needs to go back to the drawing board and fix these flaws - then we will have a great camera on our hands.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Features, but...
By PBVerified Purchaser from San Diego CA on 4/28/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Family Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

The camera works fine, and my husband loves the GPS feature. But, the package had been previously opened. This appears to have been previously returned or maybe even refurbished. We were quite disappointed, since we specifically purchased directly from Ritz to avoid getting a "returned" or refurbished product! We could have saved money by ordering it from some other website.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Powerful Camera
By FEROCUS from Las Vegas on 2/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Small Size, Strong Construction
Cons:
Cost
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

Easy to use. Incredible pics

Images shared by: FEROCUS

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pocketable and Powerful - Great for Me!
By PhilVerified Reviewer from New Orleans, LA on 1/10/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Pocketable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Optional Battery Charger, Slow GPS Sync
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

Upgraded from a 2 yr old Canon A640. I was convinced that I was going to buy the Canon G10 unitl I saw this camera at the store. It's controls and menus are more intuitive, has a better feel and grip, takes unbelievable low ISO photos, has a strong pop up flash and does not have the bulk of the G10. You need to compare the G10 and P6000 in person before buying one -- they feel totally different in hand -- it's a very subjective call.

The GPS is a cool feature but to me it's secondary. I don't know how useful it will be for my needs.

My only real disappointment was Nikon's decision to include an AC adapter rather than an external battery charger in the box. I purchased the external charger with the camera.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for Up and Coming Photographers
By JimmieVerified Purchaser from Nashville, TN on 1/5/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Family Photos, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

This camera has the right amount of pixels so that pictures can easily be transferred to computers, digital picture frames and great photos no matter what size you end up wanting. Great colors and image control!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
breathtaking images,bungled screen
By mr.pictureVerified Reviewer from tampa,fl on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to Keep Clean, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time, Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

the product is great for use in close ups, especially in nature. it feels sturdy and it works at a click of a button, but at the same time allows you to modify multiple photography variables. only problems are that in low light, there is a lot of noise that you have to work around and the autofocus is mediocre in half of your shooting situations. also, the liveview screen in poor for shooting and reviewing pics due to its low resolutionstill, a good buy.

Images shared by: mr.picture

close up flower in backyard

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

similar image as above in color

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
mighty small camra
By rpt2Verified Purchaser from Santa Fe, NM and Chicago, IL> on 12/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Family Photos, General scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

Good single lens reflex cameras are large for travel and somewhat bulky. This little guy comes close.. It feels solid, and amazingly comfortable in the hand. I have been delighted by the sharp, clear pictures.

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding small frame camera
By Nikon boyVerified Purchaser from Kansas City on 10/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

I have a Nikon D2Xs with a full range of lenses, and take photos across the range of topics. I find the P6000 is a very capable travel replacement for my large frame device. It has a surprising number of excellent features...I had to read the manual cover to cover to gain a full appreciation for the unit. It has great integration with several flash units – particularly the wireless flash units. Nikon needs a better wireless remote control, though. A powerful wireless remote with a range more than 18 feet is needed. Nikon could use a line of transparent skins for the display. I always cover the displays with sheets designed for cell phones – they work well, but nice custom fit skins would be better.

I would recommend the unit to anyone who wants a simple, yet sophisticated, scene grabber. It is easy to hold and use. The menu settings are easy to find and use – even customize. Buy it. You will LOVE it.

[17 of 19 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good, but do a little research
By PhotoJunkieVerified Reviewer from Williamsburg, VA on 9/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

Do a little research and you'll find out that it lacks on the development side. If you only have a Mac computer you might want to hold off on this one,

i.e. COOLPIX Picture Control NRW (RAW) files can only be processed in-camera. NRW (RAW) files are compatible for use in-camera, with ViewNX (Windows version only, available early October 2008) or with WIC-based applications. Capture NX, Capture NX2 and NEF files are not compatible with NRW (RAW) images.

[14 of 20 customers found this review helpful]

 
best camera for years to come!!!!
By joeyluv from Tunkhannock,PA on 9/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon Nikon Coolpix P6000 Digital Camera (Midnight Black):

this camera is one of the best cameras on the market today and will be for years to come!!!!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.