Buy the Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom image
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
  • 6.0 Effective Megapixels: for stunning prints up to 16 x 20 inches
  • High Quality 10x Optical Zoom-Nikkor 38-380mm Glass Lens (35mm equivalent): allows you to zoom in on all the action and capture incredibly sharp, clear images plus a 4x digital zoom for a total zoom of 40x
  • Versatile, Swivel Design: excellent for capturing those low angle and above-the-head pictures
  • Incredible, bright 2.5 inch LCD: makes composing easier and sharing your pictures with family and friends, fun.
  • Nikon''s Exclusive Feature System: turns pictures into photographs. Featuring: In-Camera Red-Eye Fix (TM) to remove red-eye in the camera;Face Priority AF to automatically focus on faces for great portraits; and D-Lighting for in-camera repair of dark images
  • 16 Scene Modes; for great Portraits, Panoramas, Landscapes, etc. 4 of the Scene Modes come with Scene Assist to guide you in taking better pictures, automatically.
  • Long Battery Life: shoot up to 290 images with a set of COOLPIX rechargeable AA batteries and up to 450 images with lithium AA batteries
  • Adjustable GUI (Graphic User Interface) with Help Button: allows you to choose between the traditional menu item view or the all new icon view. Press the help (?) button and it will instantly display an explanation for all main menu functions on the LCD.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Casual user(3), Enthusiast(14)
Pros:
Accurate colors(6), Easy to keep clean(8), Easy to setup(9), Great resolution(4), Large clear LCD(8)
Best Uses:
Art(5), Documentary(4), Everyday(6), Fun(8), Outdoors(6)
 
AN AMAZING DIGITAL PRODUCT OF NIKON
By VIJAY KAKARIAVerified Reviewer from INDIA on 12/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, MASCULINE LOOK, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
FEEL PROUD TO OWN
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

FANTASTIC LOOKS.. GREAT RESULTS...;PICTURE QUALITY NATURAL OR VERY NEAR TO NATURAL. MY FRIEND BOUGHT IT ALMOST 8 MONTHS BACK AND NOW I AM BUYING IT AFTER EIGHT MONTHS. MEANS THIS CAMERA IS STILL YOUNG EVEN AFTER 8 MONTHIS WHICH IS RARE IN ELECTRONICS INDUSTRY

 
Very Versatile
By Oscars OriginalsVerified Reviewer from Alaska on 11/5/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

This camera is very handy in every situation, light or dark, lighting exposure can be set, or easy to use settings to reduce blurring. I can walk into any store and get AA batteries. Micro close-ups and distance are easy to handle. I prefer to use it over my other cameras for my website photos. One time my friends were actually fighting over the camera, and handled it roughly, but it withstood damage, except the lens cap. I am pleased with this camera.

Images shared by: Oscars Originals

Alaska Flowers

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product, Made with Product

 
very awesome
By JennVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, Az. on 11/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

I absolutly love this camera. I got it last year for Christmas. It is user friendly and easy to set up. It takes amazing portraits. The zoom is wonderful to get up close and personal with anything you are taking a picture of. It is so easy to use even my 6 year old daughter can take pictures. The software is great at organizing and editing photos. I really recomend this camera for anyone looking to take some amazing pictures.

 
Great Camera
By artfreak from richmond, VA on 10/29/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Great settings, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long time image capture
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

This camera was fun to use and took good quality photos. The swivel comes in handy and the multiple settings for different situations are great. The zoom is exceptionally great and having a camera that runs on AA is the best. The only thing is the images frequently came out blurry.

 
This is the best camera I've ever used!!
By SandyVerified Reviewer from Douglasville, Ga. on 8/12/2007
Pros:
Accurate colors, Awesome Zoom, Awsome night shots, Clear pictures, Comfortable Controls, Easy Features, Easy to Keep Clean, Habit-forming, I added a lens protector, Just plain fun to use, Large screen, Numberous settings, Strong Construction
Cons:
l
Best Uses:
Any Application, Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

I love my camera!!!!!

Images shared by: Sandy

Jeckyl Island Sunrise

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
amazing especially for amateurs
By shinaVerified Reviewer from houston on 8/1/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

i think its a great deal to have such a camera which is handy, non complicated and fun to shoot.. its the one in which you would automatically start shooting everything you see.. infact would want to capture allthat you see.. coz everything that you see can be captured n produced well. i have had the best experience with it. just that it slipped from my hand once and its lens holder is broken and the cam doc says it wud take so much of amount tat i can buy a new one. so the only suggestion is its expensive to maintain in that way.. otherwise it thumbs up!!!

Images shared by: shina

the sky... from a moving car! awesome.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

chex this out.. focus as it shud be

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
This is a good camera the inexpereinced
By JeffVerified Reviewer from Virginia Beach Virginia on 6/15/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
No view finder
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

This camera is an excellent camera for the new or casual user. The zoom and resulation of photos are high quality.(see photos) Although it is hard to use at first it is quick and easy to learn. The only drawback to the camera is that there is no view finder,oly an LCD Screen which makes it extreamly hard to catch quick shots or in lineing up a shot. It has an excellent sunset feature that captures well with little or no editing. I would higly suggest this camera to someone who is begging photography with a serious intrest due to price or as a replacment for a lower model. It is great starter camera.

Images shared by: Jeff

Lynnheaven River inlet at sunset

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Lynnheaven inlet at sunset

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
amasing
By sam the dancer from greer sc on 6/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

verry easy to use helpfull

 
Dollar 4 Dollar can't be beat!!
By Disco Dave from Lewisville, Texas on 5/25/2007
Pros:
Awesome Zoom, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Microscope Like Zoom, Upclose Photography
Describe Yourself:
Daily Photographer, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Online Web Seller
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

The first and only other digital camera I have ever owned was the predecessor the Coolpix 4800 4.0 megapixel with 8.3 optical zoom and 3x digital zoom and this camera just takes the Awesome 4800 to the next level and just makes daily photography something to look forward too! I thought that I would never be able to match or surpass the awesome functionallity of the 4800 until Nikon just outdid themselves by making the S4 more compact, more versatile, more pixel's, more zoom, more picture feature's, and a larger viewing LCD screen at a price that is unsurpassed by any competitor for the price!! I can not say enough good thing's about this camera and would recommend it to any and all perspective buyer's, from beginner to expert! You will not be disappointed with this fine fine piece of machinery.

 
Great mingle of Stlye and Power
By VJVerified Reviewer from Worcester, MA on 4/16/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, great stuff, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

It is a great camera for everyone. The beautiful style with powered technology beats even the best of Sony and Casio EXILIMS. Highly recommended

 
Not Such A Great Camera
By Love to Take PicturesVerified Reviewer from Canton, Ohio on 3/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Complicated Controls, Low-Quality Pictures, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Outdoors
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

I do not care for this camera. I am very unhappy with the quality of pictures that ir produces. I would not recommend this camera to anyone. I have contacted Nikon about the quality of pictures that it produces and I did not get any results. They told me to send it in but they could not give me a time frame as to how long they would have my camera.

 
Good General Point and Shoot
By tktechVerified Reviewer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 2/20/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
No Anti-Shake, No viewfinder
Best Uses:
Everyday, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

Overall, I like this camera so far. The zoom compared to the small size is nice. However, clear pictures can be difficult when using high zoom without a tripod. I also miss having a viewfinder - the screen can be difficult to see on a bright day outdoors. Good general use camera with zoom.

 
Great Camera
By Rich the CamperVerified Reviewer from Southern New Jersey on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

This camera is simple and sweet. The controls are easy to use and the pictures come out great. It's lightweight and the rotating lense allows creative pictures without rolling around on the ground. I also own an older model of Nikon the 4800. This is by far my favorite. It has most of the features of my older model, but like i said before the lense adds for some cool angles and shots. I strongly recommned this camera to someone who just likes to have a camera on hand for those surprising photo ops.

 
Love it, great for getting outdoors
By Wildman RindyVerified Reviewer from Logan, UT on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Compact, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls, Zoom capability
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

I love this camera, I all ways wanted a digital but could never be satisfied with low power zoom. this camera combines 10x optical zoom in a compact package that you can take anywhere.

 
I really like this camera
By steveVerified Reviewer from louisville, ky on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Screen not good in sun
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

Have had no problems with this camera. Just works.

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the Price; Easy to Learn and Use
By JonathanVerified Reviewer from Tucson, AZ on 12/14/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
10x zoom, Accurate Colors, Minimal Shutter Lag, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls, Support AA Batteries
Cons:
Not Enough Features, No Vibration Reduction
Best Uses:
Everyday, Macro Close Ups, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

This is a great camera for pretty much anybody; from beginners to experts this is a good point-and-shoot camera to have on hand. Fairly compact (smaller than my last camera) The large screen offers a more detailed view of photos; great for shots which have details. I wasn't all that impressed with the photo quality even at the highest setting, many photos that should have come out crystal clear showed signs of slight bluring or ghosting when zoomed in on. One feature that this camera (and all digital cameras) really need is the counter-shake, vibration reduction feature especially with the 10x zoom. Using the 10x zoom anywhere but outside in broad daylight is bound to product blurred photos. It turns out that the coolpix s10 has this feature and although its more expensive is probably worth the little extra. My only delema is that I like the S4 because it support AA batteries which is extremely convenient especially when traveling whereas the S10 uses proprietary Lithium-ION batteries. Overall I think the Coolpix S4 is a good all around digital camera well suited for anybody and everybody who just wants a simple point-and-shoot digital camera.

[24 of 26 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great travel camera
By HobbyistVerified Reviewer from Lehigh Valley, PA on 12/12/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Easy to get started, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
No manual overrides, Not Enough Features
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Travel

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S4 Digital Camera-2.5'' LCD-10x Optical Zoom:

Went looking for a simple, point and shoot digital with a zoom lens. This product really meets that need. Good quality pictures in daylight. Flash is weak and one shouldn't expect too much from it. Cool nighttime setting but use a tripod.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.