Buy the Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black) image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The Nikon Coolpix S51. Seize the style. Make more of the moment.
  • Slim, All-Metal, Black Body with an Amazing Point of View
  • 8.1 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches
  • 3x Optical Zoom-Nikkor Glass Lens - pro-quality optics provide exceptional images
  • Optical VR Image Stabilization minimizes the effect of camera shake
  • Huge, Bright 3.0-inch High Resolution LCD offers 160-degree wide-angle of view, making it easy to share your pictures
  • Slim, Stylish, All-Metal Design slips right into your shirt pocket or purse!
  • Auto Adjusts up to ISO 1600 lets you keep shooting, even in low light
  • One-Touch Portrait Button automatically activates In-Camera Red-Eye Fix and Face-Priority AF to create stunning portraits
  • All New Pictmotion allows you to create in-camera slide shows with your music
Nikon In-Camera Innovations Makes taking great pictures easy!

VR Optical Image Stabilization - Make camera shake a thing of the past. Incorporating highly effective optical VR image stabilization into its slim, compact dimensions, the Coolpix S51 produces sharper, more satisfactory shots.

ISO 1600 Capability - What''s more, high sensitivity up to ISO 1600 creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural looking photos in lower lighting conditions.

3.0-inch LCD monitor - A large, bright LCD monitor makes it a cinch to compose shots and play them back anywhere. Thanks to its wide 160-degree viewing angle, it''s easy for everyone to gather round and see. And with the advantage of an anti-reflection coating, it allows images to be seen clearly even in direct sunlight.

Wave-surface design - Not only does the Coolpix S51 have the power to take simply stunning pictures, but it''s also exceptionally elegant. Its eye-catching wave-surface design sets a high standard for quality throughout the camera, while its smooth curves and beautiful finish blend operational ease with stylish sophistication.

Pictmotion - Pictmotion lets users select 200 favorite images, and movies, then combine them with music (5 pieces pre-installed, 10 pieces loadable) and visual styles to create an entertaining audiovisual show for enjoyment anywhere. Now offering VGA quality, Pictmotion offers even clearer display when viewed through TV output.

In-Camera Red-EyeFix - This in-camera feature automatically fixes most typical occurrences of red-eye.

D-Lighting - Compensates for underexposed images or insufficient flash by automatically adding light and detail to selected shots where needed, without affecting properly exposed areas.

One-touch portrait button take satisfaction further - Add a touch of genius to your photography. A handy standalone button provides easy, direct access to three unique Nikon image innovations ? Face-priority AF finds and focuses on up to 5 faces, In-Camera Red-Eye Fix for better flash photography, and D-Lighting that corrects exposure after the fact.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
82% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to setup(3), Easy to use(3), Excellent in low light(3), Fast shutter speed(3), Great resolution(3)
Best Uses:
Fun(7), Home(3), Outdoors(3), Travel(8)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(7), Enthusiast(4)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent camera for the price
By LeeVerified Reviewer from San Clemente, CA on 5/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to upload
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

Bought this for my wife and now I use it instead of an Olympus model I paid almost 3 times the cost of this Nikon. Like the size, ease of recharging. Sometimes I get my left little finger in the picture. Operator error. :-(

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would never recommend this camera
By crystal the camera hate from florida on 4/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

this camera i have had for almost a year, and have not liked it all since i have gotten it. it takes pictures way to bright to the point you can not see anyones faces, and also at night time they do not even come out.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not What I Expected
By LucyVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 4/3/2008
Pros:
BID LCD SCREEN, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Cons:
AWFUL PICS WHEN ZOOMED IN
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

After using this camera for 2 mths I am not happy, dont get me wrong it takes great close-up pics but if you want to use the zoom feature it will give you blurry pictures, i am exchanging it today and getting the canon power-shot almost same price..

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
best coolpix
By photomanVerified Reviewer from USA on 2/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean
Cons:
Long Lag Time, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

best for filling the gap between a d40 and an everyday camra with sleek lightwight stye

Images shared by: photoman

traffic light

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best In Class
By yaddam205 from Overland Park, KS on 12/5/2007
Pros:
3" LCD, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Opt Image Stabilization, Small
Cons:
Opt IS rattles, Small zoom
Best Uses:
Fun, Low Light, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

This camera really has taken me by surprise. After impluse purchasing this I read up on it and realized I have got myself a jem. There is really not much competition to this camera. Only the SD850IS really stacks up against this camera, however this is ultra slim sure you lose a bit of zoom but you can't beat a 3 inch screen. Also this camera has face detection and even a handy little button for this mode. Simple and easy to use and great in low light, I can see this camera being a hit among younger people due to its physical size, LCD size, and great quality with the help of VR.

Overall this camera is the best in class for under $200.

Look no more you have found yourself a winner.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
great camera
By tephie from mooresville nc on 11/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Short Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

i took it to my best friends wedding..turns out my pics were better than the photographers

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
THIS IS MY NEW LIFE SAVER!!!
By SNOOPVerified Reviewer from WASHINGTON DC on 11/25/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

THIS IS AN AWESOME CAMERA, THE BEST I HAVE EVER TRIED AND THE LAST AND I HAVE HAD A FEW. MY ENTIRE FAMILY LOVE TO TAKE PICTURES EVEN DOWN TO MY 6 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER. HOWEVER, I ACTUALLY BORROWED IT FROM MY SISTER AND WAS ABLE TO GET SOME GOOD PICTURES FROM A CONCERT I ATTENDED WITH SOMEAWESOME PICTURES. WE WERE CLOSE TO THE STAGE BUT WITH THE CAMERA AND THE VIDEO IT WAS LIKE WE WERE ON STAGE WITH SNOOP DOGG THIS IS AWESOME THE NEXT DAY I CALLED MY SISTER AND SAID WHERE DID YOU GET THIS CAMERA AND I FLEW TO RITA CAMERA IN WASHINGTON DC AND PURCHASED NOW I HAVE MY OWN FOR THE NEXT CONCERT. THANK YOU NIKON FOR SUCH A GREAT PRODUCT I LOVE IT AND I FEEL LIKE A PRO WITH CAMERA WHEN THE BOMB PHOTOS COME UP.
A VER SATISFIED CUSTOMER IN WASHINGTON, D.C.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great
By Gio from San Francisco CA on 11/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Short Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

Easy to use bright pictures. Battery life not great but still good.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Superb functionality...
By Bhaskar from Chicago, IL on 9/28/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

I would like to recommnend this camera to my friends. Get it and feel it...It's simply great.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I feel like a real photographer now!
By cjVerified Reviewer from Memphis, Tennessee on 9/28/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

This is my 2nd digital. First bought an Olympus C-70. Most of the photos I took were blurry; I just never got the hang of it. This camera has not had one blurry photo!!!!!I am absolutely thrilled, and I am recommending it to everyone.[...]!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By StephanieVerified Reviewer from Springfield, MA on 9/24/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Great size, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Shutter Lag
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Coolpix S51 Digital Camera (Black):

I enjoy this camera because it is very easy to use and when reviewing your pictures you have plenty of options on how you would like to view your pictures. I also enjoy putting videos on the tv to show everyone, that is a great tool. I video a lot of dancing and singing and I have been pleased with the results. also, I had a problem with other cameras where I would end up with my finger in the pic and now with the lense on the corner i do not have that problem

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.