Buy the EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera image
 
(based on 13 ratings)
Brand: Kodak
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Click beautiful photographs the way you want with EasyShare Z712 IS Zoom Digital Camera from Kodak. It has an effective resolution of 7.1 MP that enables you to capture brilliant images for up to 30" x 40" prints. Featuring 12X optical zoom lens, it takes you close to your subjects without compromising on image quality while the 4.2X advanced digital zoom enlarges your picture, providing high level of clarity. The large 2.5-inch, high resolution indoor/outdoor color display offers crystal clear and bright pictures even in direct sunlight. The EasyShare Z712 IS has 32 MB internal memory and a SD/MMC card expansion slot that help you start shooting right out of the box. With Kodak EasyShare system, you can share pictures just at click of a button. Compact and stylish, the Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS Zoom Digital Camera is an ideal way to capture and share life?s special moments.

  • 7.1 MP
  • 12X optical zoom lens
  • 2.5 in.in. (6.4 cmcm) indoor/outdoor color display
  • 32 MB internalmemory
  • SD/MMC card slot
  • Optical Image Stabilization

    Powerful zoom, precision optics

  • The all glass 12X SCHNEIDER-KREUZNACH VARIOGON Optical Zoom Lens (36-432 mm) zooms in fast to deliver extraordinary creative performance
  • Fast f/2.8-f/4.8

    Optical image stabilization

  • Capture sharp, steady shots when shooting at long zoom ranges
  • Optical mechanical image stabilization automatically minimizes camera shake to deliver sharper pictures

    Best-in-class click-to-capture speed

  • 0.26-second click-to-capture speed means you can capture that challenging action shot without delay

  • Review Snapshot®
    Avg. Customer Rating:
     
    4.1 stars
    (based on 13 reviews)
    85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

    Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

    Pros:
    Large clear LCD(13), Quiet(8), Short lag time(8), Simple controls(10), Strong construction(9)
    Cons:
    Loud(4)
    Best Uses:
    Art(3), Documentary(5), Fun(13), Photojournalism(5), Travel(11)
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user(6), Enthusiast(5), Photo enthusiast(3)
     
    nice camera could be better
    By wild guy from rockville,MD on 10/4/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
    Cons:
    Loud, Slow Sensor
    Best Uses:
    Fun
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    I got this camera hoping to take some nice shots with a very affordable camera. It worked just fine until I learned it was horibel at focusing things when their are farther from a different object.

     
    problems
    By kel from Tennessee on 9/27/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
    Cons:
    Lemon
    Best Uses:
    Art, Fun, KIDS, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    At times this camera took some amazing photos, especially for the price. So easy to use. BUT, Maybe I have a lemon--many other reviews are good which is why we bought this camera. Without warning it would stop snapping pictures- almost like something inside wasn't making a connection. I've had this camera 9 months, (never dropped or damaged) and have had to send it to kodak service in CT twice to be repaired. When I finally took it to a shop locally, he said he sees the Kodak Z series all the time for a certain "design flaw." The cost to fix it was going to be $190. SO, after spending about $100 to try and get the problem settled, my advice is be sure to buy the warranty if you're going to risk this camera. I will never buy another kodak.

     
    Incredable
    By Mike from Blacksburg VA on 9/10/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    Almost on par with the really nice SLRs for a fraction of the price. In some ways it is better than SLR, few (only one that I know of) SLRs give you the option of LCD display for taking pictures, plus you can take video with this, a huge plus for non-pro photograghers. The image stabilizer on this this is UNREAL, with a steady hand I can take exposures of 1 to 2 seconds without blurring!!!! The ease of use in great as well, with the spin tumb wheel to adjust the manual setting and ISO, and the buttons along the top for focal distance, timer, and flash. Very little lag time from pressing the button till the photo is taken, as well as little lag between photos, and with internal memory it doesn't have to wait on your SD card to be ready. The f stop does only go close down to 8 but that still provides a rather short focal plan. The very high ISO does get grainy but with shutter prioity you can take esposures of up to 16 seconds so you don't really need to use it for artsy shots, and a high ISO give you the option of takeing a grainy action shot in stead of a blury shot or an underexposed shot. The Panorama feature is great as well with the ability to take three pictures and stich them together usually completely seemlessly. Unless you really really want to spend the money on a SLR, or you're planing becoming a Professional, I would buy this camera, it is also much smaller and eaisier to carey around than an SLR. I carry mine around in a Case Logic case that is about 4x4x6 inches, with an extra battery, the battery charger, and USB and TV cables. The video sound and quality is not the greatest but pretty good for a still camera, (can't take video with and SLR) the newer vertion of this camera has better video resilution. One thing to note, don't try running the camera on two AA batterys get LiIon's off[...] (super cheap with charger, 2 batterys for under $10), the camera can run on 3V (the 2 AA's) but is disigned for 3.7V. I love love love this camera more and more everytime I pick up and use something else I'm reminded what a steal this thing is.

     
    Great for Beginners!
    By Alia from Foster City, CA on 8/25/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
    Cons:
    Loud
    Best Uses:
    Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    This camera is great for people who are just getting into photography. It was my first real camera and I love it!

     
    best zoom for video thats a camera too!
    By sugar from Chicago Il on 8/25/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
    Best Uses:
    Fun, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    Use it to video my daughters gymnastics and water skiing behind the boat--like the zoom in zoom out feature and sound with it.

     
    Great Camera
    By annamacVerified Reviewer from Grandy, NC on 7/8/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Too small
    Best Uses:
    Fun, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    I bought this camera to snap pics of the family and vacations. I chose this one because I'd like to learn how to take more advanced photos and this camera gives me that option.
    It's shape makes it easy to grip, although it could be a little larger.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Easy IT is!
    By Oicture PerfectVerified Reviewer from Memphis, Tn on 7/3/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quiet, Strong Construction, Takes Great Pics
    Best Uses:
    Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    Easy to use, light wgt. Fun...I've owned an HP, Casio, didn't like my HP too much, enjoyed the Casio but love my Kodak

    Images shared by: Oicture Perfect

    Mime & Praise Dance Concert, taken from a distant

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product, Picture of Product

    Early morning

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product, Picture of Product

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    This is a well kept secret-A must have
    By Sue the picture takerVerified Reviewer from St. Louis, Mo. on 4/3/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    This camera has features of a much more expensive camera. It has image stabilization, 0.26 second click-to-capture speed-a 12x schneider-kreuznach variogon optical zoom lens (36-432mm). It also included a high speed processor chip. The camera has many ISO settings (film speed.)The best feature is picture bracketing to help you take better pic's. The only con to this is manually fstop only goes to 8..but the closeup & the telephoto more than make up for it. Highly recommended. Outstanding picture taking, outstanding color. I use mine all the time.

     
    Good Camera
    By ShannonVerified Reviewer from TX on 3/15/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Loud
    Best Uses:
    Fun
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    This camera takes great photos and its small enough to carry in your purse. The recovery time after a photo is taken is quick, which is important if you are taking photos of children, pets, etc. I am disappointed in the video portion because the sound is very distorted. I've read great reviews on the video though, so I am wondering if something is wrong with my camera. If you wanting it mainly for good photos then this is a GREAT camera with wonderful zoom.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great Camera! Great Price (on ebay)
    By Wess from Moorpark, Ca on 2/28/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Documentary, Fun, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    This was a great cameras that i bought on [@] for [$] new with a 4gb SD card. I love the features of the camera and recommend it to any beginner or intermediate photographer!

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Challenged a SLR
    By RickVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, MD on 2/6/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Loud
    Best Uses:
    Documentary, Fun, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    Was in Lake Tahoe last month and a friend with a big SLR and lenses had me take zoomed pictures because the Kodak did better!

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great camera for the money!
    By jhwaaserVerified Reviewer from Lake Butler, FL on 1/14/2008
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Flexibility, Manual control options, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Lack of extreme wideangle
    Best Uses:
    Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    I photographed motorcycle races professionally for two decades, and have produced hundreds of 8x10 color photos per week in my own darkroom. I wanted a camera with an eye-level viewfinder, preferably SLR (Which this is, as far as I'm concerned--you see exactly what is on the CCD) yet smaller than those big Nikon/Canon SLRs. I have full manual flexibility for exposure, flash and focus, as well as many types of programmed use. Kodak was one of the first companies to tame the contrasty CCDs--they know what a good color photo looks like, and this camera is a great one. This lens goes long enough for anyone, but I would like to see an add-on wideangle device for those rare occasions when I might want it. A casual user can still use this as a point-and-shoot camera, while learning the more serious aspects of photography, so this would be a great first camera for a teen (my first camera in 1949 cost $.55 and a Wheaties boxtop!) Only a very few photographers need anything more than this camera offers. I was disappointed that the lens won't close down beyond about f 8.0, and a couple of other things, but on the whole those things are minor.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    great camera for the price
    By JETHROVerified Reviewer from ST PETE FL on 10/25/2007
    Pros:
    Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Dig vid is a huge plus, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Connot change lense
    Best Uses:
    Fun, Travel
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Kodak EasyShare Z712 IS 7.1MP Digital Camera:

    I REALLY LIKE THE VIDEO FEATURE OF THIS CAMERA. IT TAKES QUALITY PICS FOR THE AVERAGE PHOTOGRAPHER. GOOD PRICE FOR WHAT YOU GET.

    Images shared by: JETHRO

    Image Thumbnail
    Powered by PowerReviews
    Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.