Buy the FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: FujiFilm
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)

Equipped with 5.1 MegaPixels, a 10x optical zoom and proprietary technology that suppresses camera shake and blur caused by subject movement, the FinePix S5200 offers an excellent entry point into the world of feature-rich cameras without losing its operational simplicity.

Highlight features of the FinePix 5200 include:

Real Photo Technology - Real Photo Technology captures treasured moments just as your eye sees them. Combining the new RP Processor, 5th Generation Super CCD-HR Sensor and Fujinon Lens Optics, the S5200 delivers ultra-high sensitivity with low noise, faster operational speeds and reduced power consumption. This allows you to capture priceless memories of photographs with every nuance of light and color, even in low light situations without a flash.

Fujinon Lens Technology and Zooming - The superb optics of the Fujinon lens collects light and precisely forms the image in conjunction with a 5th Generation Super CCD-HR. Bring your subject closer to you with a 10.0x Optical Zoom (equivalent to a 38-380mm on a 35mm camera). Increase your photo capture ability by utilizing the 5.7x Digital Zoom for a combined 57.0x Total Zoom range. With the Macro mode, the S5200 can focus clearly as close up as 3.9-inches. With the addition of beam assist, the S5200 will be able to focus up to 7.9 feet, even in low light conditions.

Exposure Versitility to the Max - The new S5200 allows the photographers to use full Auto mode, and when they're ready choose from Manual, Macro, Movie, Burst/Continuous and 5 pre-programmed Scene Position Modes (Portrait, Night Scene, Landscape, Natural Light and Anti-Blur). Color control modes allow you to choose from standard, chrome and black and white modes.

Alternative Viewpoints - Whether you use the Electronic Viewfinder (EVF) or the 1.8-inch LCD monitor, you'll get clear, crisp images at 115,000 pixel resolution. The EVF receives images through the lens for a traditional photographic feel. The 1.8-inch LCD delivers clear images in capture or playback mode. Sensing ambient light, the LCD automatically adjusts brightness for optimum viewing indoors or outdoors, with manual control for additional brightness.

Stay Focused - State-of-the-Art system makes auto focusing quicker and more precise than ever with continuous auto focusing mode. AF-Assist Illuminator assures accurate focus on specific areas in low light.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate colors(9), Easy to keep clean(5), Easy to setup(6), Great resolution(9), Large clear LCD(3)
Cons:
Not good in low light(3), Poor in low light(4)
Best Uses:
Art(4), Everyday(9), Fun(6), Low light(5), Outdoors(10)
Describe Yourself:
Beginner(4), Casual user(5), Enthusiast(14)
 
A lot of camera
By Pickles-N-ThingsVerified Reviewer from Auburn, ME on 5/21/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

This is a lot of camera for the money. I am learning all the bells & whistles. Awesome detail.

Images shared by: Pickles-N-Things

Using the zoom

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Macro setting

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera gives you many options
By susiebubVerified Reviewer from Lancaster, S.C. on 5/5/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, I added a lens protector, Strong Construction
Cons:
Small LCD Screen
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

I owned a smaller Fujifilm camera and wanted a better zoom. I like the xd photo card. If you do not know a lot about taking photo's the auto mode will take great pictures. Change to manual and you can set your own settings.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I've made a new friend: Fuji............
By RichieVerified Reviewer from Punxsutawney, Pa. on 4/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

Greetings,
I replaced my K---- with a Fuji Finepix S5200.
In the right hands this camera will more than please the most critical photo-bug. The settings must be learned, as they are super important. I had a few let-downs at first, but soon discovered the mistakes were mine, (Duh) and not the camera's. For the price, I found it hard to accept the high quality 'Fine-pics' it produces. My friend has an expensive, C----, he is rather upset that my new Fuji does so well. I am going to purchase one for my son in the very near future.

Images shared by: Richie

A survivor, on a Pear blossom....

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Sunshine, a bee, in a Pear tree....

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Nice photo, thank you!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My new favorite toy
By Big Jim from Sutton, Ma on 4/18/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Grainy High Speed Indoors, Varying Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

My wife got me this camera as a gift and I have to say it has been a lot of fun learning everything about the camera. The only real problem I have with it is its weird lag time. I don't know if it's the same amount of lag each and every time I take a picture because of something the camera is doing or if it's caused by the batteries. (Buy rechargeables made for digital applications or you may regret it) There is a noticeably shorter lag time on this camera than on my last digital camera, so the technology is very much improved. My other complaint is that when taking multiple high-speed shots indoors, the flash is not strong enough to compensate, and it produces grainy results which may or may not be acceptable to everyone.
Now that I've booed the camera, let me say that it has far more than enough good things about it to compensate for my complaints. Its color reproduction is great, it has enough automatic settings to assist even a pro with quick-change necessities, and I love that it has the eyepiece viewfinder, which my last digital camera did not (grrr) have.
The LCD screen is fine, though, and I can't think of any complaints about it offhand. The eyepiece viewfinder, however, could use a wee upgrade so that finer details can be detected without guessing, but it beats not being able to see your LCD in bright sunlight and REALLY guessing.
I also recommend buying a 2GB memory card in case you're like me and want to mess around with all the manual settings without worrying about storage space. Also, the 2GB memory card allows for 29 minutes of video, which is very cool.
The video setting doesn't allow for zooming while recording, but I am guessing it's done to save the batteries. Plus, a lot of amateur videographers get zoom-happy, and this will actually force some folks to look (all gasp) professional.
I got the camera right before a week's vacation to Orlando, and took a bunch of shots that I couldn't have taken with a lesser camera. I have to say that I have been very pleased with the camera and my rating should really be 4.5 stars. Thanks, Honey, for the gift, and thanks, Fuji.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great camera to dabble with
By maconbaconVerified Reviewer from houston,tx on 4/8/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Looks like a pro's
Cons:
Bad indoors, Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

this is a great camera to play around with.
the only thing i was not happy with was the poor performance indoors, it is a great outdoor camera
but it doesnt like artificial light

3/5

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love my camera!
By Future photographer!Verified Reviewer from Carrollton, GA on 3/31/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

I had never used a digital camera before, and this camera was so easy to use!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A camera for anyone!
By superdeb from Phoenix, AZ on 3/8/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great in Low Light, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

This camera has been the best I have ever had. I was able to capture great moments at my company’s last major conference. The pictures came out so great that they could be used in a new company power point presentation. Even with the low light and being 9 rows back form the stage the zoom feature lived up to all expectations and along with the anti shake feature I did not even need my tripod to capture the moments. This is a camera that I would highly recommend to the beginner and the hobbyist a like.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great product
By harvey322Verified Reviewer from charleston,sc on 2/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not good for action shots, Not Good In Low Light, Slow shutter speed
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

grat pictures, easy to learn and use once you learn all controls that are not that hard to learn! needs simpler way to take action shots though. all in all good camera

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent beginners camera
By KC37862Verified Reviewer from Knoxville TN on 2/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

This camera was my introduction into digital photography. Very good choice for those that want a little more than the point and shoots offer.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My Second FinePix Camera
By glassyladyVerified Reviewer from Cleveland, Ohio on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Excellent in Low Light, Great Resolution, Improved Modes, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Flash needs to pop up
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Macro needs, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

This is the second Finepix camera I have owned. The first was only 2 megapixels and unfortunately, I upgraded to another brand. That other brand left me very disappointed. I missed shots, the color wasn't as good as my Fuji and action shots were blurred. I came back to the Fuji FinePix 5200 for all of the reasons that I left the other brand. The colors are terrific, I never miss a shot and my action shots look like a pro (which I am not.) I especially love the Natural Light mode and I've captured shots that I have never been happy with in the past. I am hooked on Fuji cameras forever and promise to never stray to that "other brand" again!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Camera For the Money
By beaumontlive from Beaumont, TX on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

I love this camera. I have a website and internet radio station. I have to be traveling around to many venues to listen to bands and cover their performances. The pictures I get are great.And I love the video feature. I am able to video bands so that they can have video [...].On occasion, when the picture is a little too dark, the software takes care of that.I would recommend this camera to anyone.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera for Price
By dcecVerified Reviewer from Clayton, NC on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

Everything the ads say. Great camera, easy to use,great zoom!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again and again
By JapmanVerified Reviewer from Glen Burnie, MD on 12/27/2006
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Lightweight, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Auto pop-up flash is slow
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

The FinePix S5200 is a very nice digital camera.
This is my 2nd FinePix owned. I like the S5200
because of the old standard 35mm SLR look. It
take great pictures and I like the feature where
you can switch from Viewfinder/LCD monitor. The 10x digital zoom gives you great clear close up
shots, and I'm very impressed with the overall
picture quality with or without a tripod. I like
Fujifilm products and I would buy another FinePix
digital camera.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I own the 5100
By RyanVerified Reviewer from Nashville, TN on 12/27/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Ability to add filters, Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Complicated Controls, High speedsports pics, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

I own the 5100, which is essentially the same, with only small differences, te main one being the 5100 is only 4.1 mp. But, I have had tremendous success with it, and plan on upgrading to the 5200 or higher soon. I agree with James, the sports setting is slow, and I had to tweak it. Sometimes a fill flash will get it where I want it. I have taken beautiful, clear photos with my Fuji, and I still think it's the best camera out there for the money. Use the filter feature! Durable and impressive looking, pull it out and people think you take pictures for a living.

[20 of 21 customers found this review helpful]

 
Like the FinePix, 3rd. digital Cam owned
By Spikemcm from Chicago Suburb on 11/26/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Excellent for the price, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

You have got to make use of all the control settings, you can set this camera for about any light situation, does have a little fuzziness in 5.1 when used with florescent lightbulbs, I recommend using a florescent filter on the lense. Get some good 55mm filters for it, UV, FDL, Polarized etc. Many cameras you cannot even put filters on, use the feature, you got it. I zoomed in(freehand) on my wife walking our dog 1/4 mile away, it looked real good, nice close-up, could see her sunglasses rims, clothing details, and our big dog panting away.
Took shots of the same area where they were at and of course it photographed much sharper with a tripod, the truck pic below is 1/4 mile away from where we live and it was done freehand using the anit-shake mode, the pic was also resized, as it was in high resolution shot also it was taken in November. Even a little more defined shots with a UV filter on, helped with the haze removal I think. Haven't tried the Polarized filter yet.
I love it's features, quality, and quality of the shots, nice tripoded close-up shots too. You just need to read up on setting it up properly for each shot and using the manual settings if your pictures are not coming out just the way you want.
Mine shots I feel are fine! Pics print up really nice and the video is superb for a still camera I feel. Audio recording is a little low beyond 20 feet when recording video, but like I said its mainly a still camera, not a video camera. But it is handy to have video/audio option in a pinch.
Easy to use, you just have to read a bit and take time to use it properly. I love it, and I have a 35mm SLR also and choose this over that more times than not.
Mike

Images shared by: Spikemcm

Truck 1/4 mi away, telephoto-Fuji S5200 pic resizd

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Hazy Partly Cloudy, Using Product

Closeup of the Big Dog, Popcorn, using Fuji S5200

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Spike, thank you for your excellent review and images.

[35 of 44 customers found this review helpful]

 
You Get What You Pay For
By James from Greenwich, CT on 11/12/2006
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Low-Quality Pictures
Best Uses:
Outdoors

Comments about FujiFilm FinePix S5200 Digital Camera-10X Zoom:

You get what you're paying for. I have had this camera for about one year and have not been impressed with the picture quality anymore than with a compact camera. If you are looking for a camera for sports photography pay the extra few hundred and upgrade to a digital slr. I bought this for sports photography but because of the slow shutter speed I can only take average pictures. Zoom is nice and looks great but true beginner camera.

Images shared by: James

Scenery Sample Photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.