Buy the Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black) image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Power Made Simple.

For perfect photos, fast and simple, there's nothing better than Canon's new EOS Rebel XS. With powerful features including a 10.1-megapixel CMOS Sensor, Canon's DIGIC III processor, fast shooting and more, it's a digital powerhouse. With simple, easy-to-use controls, a compact design, a 2.5-inch LCD monitor, and Live View Function, it's a beginner's dream come true.

Outstanding Image Quality: 10.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor with DIGIC III Image Processor.

Auto Lighting Optimizer for highlight/shadow control, and Picture Style settings for in-camera color, contrast, and sharpness control.

Control Images Right in the Camera.
Auto Lighting Optimizer for highlight/shadow control, and Picture Style settings for in-camera color, contrast, and sharpness control.

Auto Lighting Optimizer
The EOS Rebel XS's Auto Lighting Optimizer is yet another image-quality tool that comes to the rescue in tricky lighting conditions. It can actually lighten dark areas of a scene while ensuring that bright areas maintain tonal detail. In addition, it can increase contrast in flat lighting, such as overcast days. It's now available in all shooting modes, including P, Tv, Av, and Manual.

Picture Style Settings
With the EOS Rebel XS's Picture Style technology, photographers can change the look of their digital photographs. Color, saturation, sharpness and contrast settings create noticeable variation in the saved image. Changing a Picture Style setting is almost like a 35mm film user switching from one type of color film to another. In addition to six preset Picture Style settings, Canon offers additional downloadable Picture Style Files that can be installed into your camera for even more imaging options at your fingertips.

High-speed, wide-area 7-point AF with center cross-type sensors.

Professional-Caliber AF. High-speed, wide-area 7-point AF with center cross-type sensors.
The EOS Rebel XS features a high-speed, wide area 7-point AF system. It can focus using One-Shot AF mode, AI Focus AF, AI Servo AF and Manual. The center, cross-type focus point operates flawlessly in lower-light and lower-contrast settings. In Live View Function, the EOS Rebel XS can focus manually, with 5x or 10x magnification for focusing clarity.

Excellent performance with 3.0 fps continuous shooting and burst rate up to 514 Large JPEGs (until memory card is full).

Speedy, Precise Operation. Excellent performance with 3.0 fps continuous shooting and burst rate up to 514 Large JPEGs (until memory card is full).
The EOS Rebel XS operates with such effortless speed that operation is nothing short of intuitive. With instant startup times, speedy autofocus and minimal shutter lag, the EOS Rebel XS is one of the fastest cameras available today. It can shoot up to 3.0 fps (frames per second), in bursts of up to 514 JPEGs or 5 RAW files, so you'll never, ever miss a shot.

Large 2.5-inch LCD monitor with Live View Function.

Shoot the Image Live in the Camera. Large 2.5-inch LCD monitor with Live View Function.
The EOS Rebel XS has a bright 2.5-inch TFT LCD monitor with 230,000 pixels and a viewing angle of 170°. It's perfect for Live View composition or viewing camera settings like AF, ISO, Metering, AF Point selection and flash options. And the maximum brightness of the EOS Rebel XS's LCD monitor is about 30 greater than its predecessor, which is a big benefit when you're using the camera in bright sunlight.

Live View Function
Live View Function enables you to view your subjects directly on the 2.5-inch LCD monitor. It's easy to magnify any part of the scene 5x or 10x for precise manual focus. And now, there are two ways to use Autofocus along with Live View Function in the EOS Rebel XS. You can even choose a grid overlay, perfect for keeping lines in your subject straight in your pictures. In the studio, Live View Function can be used remotely via a computer through the EOS Rebel XS's USB connection, and the included EOS Utility software.

In Live View Function, the EOS Rebel XS has two AF modes: Quick mode, which uses the camera's standard 7-point AF system, and Live mode, which is a contrast-based AF system that reads the sharpness of subjects right from the imaging sensor, and can be overridden by pressing the AF mode selection button. A familiar feature in PowerShot cameras, Live mode AF uses similar technologies to achieve focus, while Quick mode is more appropriate for capturing action or for shooting in low light.

EOS Integrated Cleaning System.

For Capturing Cleaner Images. EOS Integrated Cleaning System.
Photographers who must change lenses in dusty environments will find the advanced Canon EOS Integrated Cleaning System a tremendous time saver. Dust that settles on the sensor surface is removed using ultrasonic vibration. This Self Cleaning Sensor Unit routine is automatically activated whenever the camera is powered on or off. (It can also be manually activated.) A special collar positioned around the sensor collects the loosened dust. Dust particles can also be automatically removed via software. By shooting a plain white subject, the photographer can acquire dust position data that is transmitted along with the image (whether JPEG or RAW). Canon Digital Photo Professional (DPP) version 3.3 or later software can be used to manually or automatically erase the dust spots. It's not one feature, it's a built-in system to minimize the effect of dust in high-resolution digital images.

Self Cleaning Sensor Unit
A key element of minimizing dust is preventing it from clinging to the front surface of the imaging sensor. To combat against this, the EOS Rebel XS features a Canon-designed Self Cleaning Sensor Unit. The low-pass filter at the front of the sensor shakes off dust automatically with ultrasonic vibrations, removing dust from the sensor assembly. The EOS Rebel XS also has a coating on the front surface of the low-pass filter, to increase its resistance to dust sticking to the sensor.

Dust Delete Data Detection
Dust that may still remain on the front of the sensor can also be erased with software included in Digital Photo Professional (DPP) Version 3.3 or later software. A simple test shot of a plain, white object can be taken, using a menu setting. This Dust Delete Data image is analyzed in-camera, and the location and size of any remaining dust is added to any subsequent pictures taken. This data is transmitted along with the image, whether JPEG or RAW, and can be either manually or automatically erased in Canon's DPP version 3.3 and later software. This added software option ensures the cleanest possible image, perfect for printing or archiving.

Canon's lightest and most compact EOS Digital SLR to date.*

Compact Power In Your Hands. Canon's lightest and most compact EOS Digital SLR to date.*
Measuring 4.96 x 3.8 x 2.4 inches and weighing in at under 16 oz., the EOS Rebel XS is indeed the smallest digital Rebel ever produced. Its lightweight and compact design does not, however, leave out controls and displays one would expect from an EOS Digital camera. The EOS Rebel XS has the full array of buttons and controls found on the Rebel XSi, plus a 2.5-inch, 230,000-pixel LCD monitor, which is perfect for composing in Live View mode, or reviewing photos already recorded onto the camera's SD/SDHC memory card.
*As of July 2008

Compatible with compact SD and SDHC memory cards.

Flexible Storage with Memory Cards.
Compatible with compact SD and SDHC memory cards. Compact, inexpensive and available in increasingly large capacities, SD and SDHC memory cards are a perfect complement to the EOS Rebel XS's compact and lightweight body design.

Compatible with over 60 Canon EF/EF-S lenses and most EOS System accessories.

Shooting and Sharing Made Easy - Compatible with over 60 Canon EF/EF-S lenses and most EOS System accessories.

Included with the Rebel XS is the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens. In response to demands of photographers, this standard zoom lens is designed with Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer technology while retaining the compactness and lightness of previous models. Its stabilization allows sharp hand-held shots at shutter speeds up to four stops slower than otherwise possible. It consists of 11 elements in 9 groups and uses an Aspherical lens element to correct aberration for excellent image quality throughout the zoom range and a circular aperture for exquisite rendering of out-of-focus backgrounds. Without a lot of size, weight or cost, this lens expands picture-taking possibilities any time slow shutter speeds are needed. But that's only the start of Canon's completer line-up of lens.

EF & EF-S Lenses
The EOS Rebel XS is compatible with all Canon lenses in the EF and EF-S lineup, ranging from ultra-wide angle to super telephoto lenses. Canon lenses employ advanced optical expertise and micron-precision engineering to deliver unprecedented performance in all facets of the photographic process. Special optical technologies, such as Aspherical, ultra-low dispersion, or fluorite elements are featured in the universally acclaimed L Series lenses. And Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer technology is featured in select lenses to minimize the effect of camera shake. Through Canon lenses, photographers can truly maximize the quality and liberating performance of the EOS Rebel XS.

Flash Photography
The EOS Rebel XS features the acclaimed E-TTL II flash metering system. With any of the flashes in the EX Speedlite line, E-TTL II provides reliable flash output whether shooting fill-in flash pictures in sunlight, or using flash in total darkness. With E-TTL II, the exact same 35-zone metering sensor used for measuring ambient light is also used for flash metering - giving even finer metering command of the image area. If you prefer a broader area for flash metering, there's a menu setting to change to Average flash metering?where the entire 35-zone area is measured evenly for flash exposure.

The Canon Speedlite 430EX II is the ideal step-up accessory for powerful flash shooting with the EOS Rebel XS. It has excellent flash power (maximum guide number of 141 ft./43m at ISO 100), and is the perfect way to get great flash pictures when you can't get right up to the subject. The 430EX II is also great for bounce flash, with its tilting and swiveling flash head. It automatically zooms the flash head to cover lenses ranging from 16mm up to 105mm or longer with the EOS Rebel XS. Of course, it works with the camera to provide full E-TTL II automatic flash exposure. And the 430EX II has a powerful AF-assist beam, which allows the camera to autofocus even in total darkness on subjects as far as 32 ft. from the camera.

Software

    Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk (Version 17.0) - The EOS Rebel XS comes bundled with an updated Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk, which features powerful software programs designed to extend the EOS experience to the computer. These include Canon's ZoomBrowser EX for Windows (Version 6.1), ImageBrowser for Macintosh OS X (Version 6.1), Digital Photo Professional (Version 3.3), the totally new Picture Style Editor (Version 1.0), Canon's EOS Utility (Version 2.2), RAW Image Task (Version 2.8), PhotoStitch, and PTP TWAIN Driver. Each application is designed to perfect the captured images and streamline the digital workflow. ZoomBrowser EX v.6.1 and Digital Photo Professional v.3.3 for Windows are compatible with the new Windows Vista operating system.

    Digital Photo Professional (Version 3.3) - is an image processing program that enables high-speed RAW image processing, high-speed previewing for real-time image adjustment and support for sRGB, Adobe RGB and Wide Gamut RGB color spaces. Because it's CMS (Color Management System) compatible, Digital Photo Professional allows for easy image layout and printing in Adobe RGB in conjunction with Easy-PhotoPrint and PictBridge printers. It also features the Dust Delete Data Detection tool for cleaner images.

    EOS Utility (Version 2.3) for Macintosh or Windows - handles the connection between the camera and computer, whenever they're connected via USB. It allows remote controlled shooting from the computer, handles downloading of images from the camera to the computer, and allows seamless linking to either Canon's ZoomBrowser/ImageBrowser or Digital Photo Professional software once images have been copied to the hard drive. Furthermore, it's used to upload settings back into a USB-connected camera.

    ZoomBrowser EX (Version 6.1) for Windows and ImageBrowser (Version 6.1) for Mac OS X - are the easy, user-friendly options for viewing and editing of JPEG and even RAW image files. Both allow viewing of numerous types of images including finished TIFF and BMP files. Both also have a variety of search options for finding images, allow re-naming of single images or batches of files, and offer a variety of options for printing without using a separate image-editing program.

    RAW Image Task (Version 2.8) for Windows/Macintosh - This software is an integrated component of ZoomBrowser EX (Windows) or ImageBrowser (Mac). It allows processing of RAW images from EOS cameras, including the new EOS Rebel XS, with a variety of adjustment possibilities. These options, as well as the overall color, contrast and look of RAW Image Task, closely mimic the characteristics of Canon's in-camera JPEG processing.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(14), Fast / accurate auto-focus(12), Fast shutter speed(11), Good image quality(14), High ISO performance(8)
Best Uses:
Family photos(12), Landscape/scenery(14), Low light(11), Sports/action(7), Travel(11)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(11), Photo enthusiast(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(8), Yes(5)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Camera I've Ever Bought
By LB Amateur PhotographyVerified Purchaser from Washington, MO on 5/17/2011
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, Digital zoom, Fast Auto focus, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Low-light shooting, Macro, Manual focus
What do you do with your digital images?:
Email to friends and family, Print using an in-store photo service via kiosk or live person, Save to disk, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
9
Ease of Operation:
9
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
9
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
9
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
9
Overall Experience:
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

I absolutely love this camera. I took pictures of my little cousins playing at a family party and they turned out really cute. The clarity of the pictures is also really nice. Something I didn't like was that when using the flash, sometimes it would take a while for the camera to be ready to take another photo. But otherwise, I love it.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera, very user friendly.
By happyVerified Purchaser from chicago,il on 5/14/2011
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, Fast Auto focus, HD Video recording, High-speed shooting, Low-light shooting, Night shooting mode
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Email to friends and family, Print using a home printer, Save to disk, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
8
Ease of Operation:
8
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
8
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
8
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
8
Overall Experience:
8
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

Bought this for my daughter for her 16th birthday. A great step up from a digital camera. User friendly, good price, and great quality. She is on her way to being a great photographer!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Versatile for fun or pro.
By Brady BeeVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City on 5/11/2011
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Manual focus
What do you do with your digital images?:
Email to friends and family, Save to disk, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
9
Ease of Operation:
10
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
7
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
8
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
9
Overall Experience:
9
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Probably will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD
Cons:
Poor Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

This is a great camera for most all things normal. Does well in nature with enduring some levels of humidity as well as being great for capturing detailed family photos. While the image stabilization on the XS is no angel, it certainly shouldn't stop you from getting this camera.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it!
By cstrickVerified Purchaser from Georgia on 5/5/2011
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Digital zoom, Fast Auto focus, Image stabilization
What do you do with your digital images?:
Email to friends and family, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
10
Ease of Operation:
10
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
10
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
10
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

This camera is everything I expected and more!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing
By DeeVerified Purchaser from Bowie, MD on 5/4/2011
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Built-in photo editing software, Continuous shooting, Digital zoom, Fast Auto focus, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Low-light shooting, Manual focus, Night shooting mode
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Save to disk, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
8
Ease of Operation:
8
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
8
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
9
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
7
Overall Experience:
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

I use this camera every single day. It is my first DSLR camera and I've heard such good reviews about how it is easy to use and very functional. I love it, I'm not new to digital cameras but as I'm new to DSLR's using this camera really helps me get more familiar with digitals and DLSRs. A couple things I really love about this camera is that it's so clear and crisp. The photos I take inside have low noise and they are not a yellowish or reddish tint. I love the AF and learning to MF from time to time. What is also a big difference and plus to me personally is that I do not need to use AA batteries like I used to with my Fujifilm. The Canon Rebel has a rechargable battery. I haven't gotten to the point where the battery has died on me but charging it doesn't take too long either. I would totally recommend this camera to anyone who is looking to get into photography or wanting to begin using a DSLR. I as a 18 year old teen love it and it's an awesome start!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
So happy with my purchase!
By JillianVerified Purchaser from Mt. Pleasant, Tx on 5/2/2011
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, Digital zoom, Face detection software, Fast Auto focus, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Low-light shooting, Manual focus
What do you do with your digital images?:
Display on digital picture frame, Email to friends and family, Print using an in-store photo service via online upload, Save to disk, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
10
Ease of Operation:
10
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
10
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
10
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
10
Overall Experience:
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

I have been wanting a camera for a few years now. I finally asked for one for my birthday and have used it every day since I got it. (April 17th,2011)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great camera for beginners
By THEO from richmond, va on 3/15/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

this is a great beginner camera, i enjoy using it and the photos come out looking good!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this camera!!
By rchdonato from Portland Or on 1/22/2011
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, Fast Auto focus, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Manual focus
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Email to friends and family, Print using an in-store photo service via kiosk or live person, Save to disk, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
10
Ease of Operation:
10
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
10
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
10
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
10
Overall Experience:
10
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

I love this camera!! It is awesome and so much fun to play with. I get so many comments on how clear my pictures are. I also have a 10 megapixel point and shoot and people can tell which camera I used. Amazing! Buy it!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Takes a splendid shot almost every time
By mohitkrishna from India on 1/3/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Quiet
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

Canon 1000D is one of the best DSLR camera available. It gives a splendid shot almost every time and its this that really matters. Canon 1000D is a 10.1 MegaPixel DSLR. Its salient features include Digic III processor (Canon trademark), all shooting modes like Auto, Portrait, Landscape, Close-up, Sports, Night Portrait, No Flash, Program AE , Shutter priority AE, Aperture priority AE, Manual, A-DEP found in a contemporary digital camera, ISO range of 100 - 1600 (in 1-stop increments), shutter speeds of 1/4000 to 30 sec. (1/3-stop increments), real-time evaluative metering with the image sensor, approx. 3 shots/sec (jpg) and approx. 1.5 shots/sec (RAW + JPEG), 2.5" TFT display, 95% viewfinder coverage, 7 AF points (Manual / Automatic), +/-2 EV in 1/3 or 1/2 stop increments & strong inbuilt flash (Guide No. 13). Camera's crop factor is 1.6. 10 MegaPixel is a good resolution for developing A3 size prints and in my opinion, a higher resolution is pretty unnecessary for most non-commercial usage. ISO at 1600 is grainy and photography above ISO 800 is not recommended. Auto focus is not supported in digital display mode, however once you start seeing through the view finder, you may never want to switch back to digital display. More AF points would have been a definite advantage. Continuous shooting speed of 3 shots/sec may not enthuse a sports photographer, but quite OK for capturing cake cutting at a birthday party. Inbuilt flash is powerful. It is the most compact DSLR, easy to hold & carry and comparably light weight. Crop factor of 1.6 is not an issue for the first timers. For others who are upgrading from film SLRs to DSLRs, there might be an initial adjustment problem. Overall, the features of the camera easily cover photographing most real life situations and is highly recommended at the price. I am using this camera with Tamron f2.8 17-50mm XR Di II IF & Canon f4-5.6 55-250 IS.At a higher price, you get can more no. of MegaPixels, higher ISO settings, next level processors, better high speed continuous shooting, movie recording capability, higher shutter speeds for extreme bright conditions, enhanced light metering, better autofocus, bigger LCD display, 100% viewfinder coverage and more viewfinder information. The choice remains with you. Visit [@] for my photos.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love This Camera
By Betty BoopVerified Reviewer from Rhode Island on 10/24/2010
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Continuous shooting, Digital zoom, Fast Auto focus, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Interchangeable lenses, Low-light shooting, Manual focus, Night shooting mode, Programmed scene shooting modes
What do you do with your digital images?:
Create photo albums, mugs, t-shirts using online photo sites, Email to friends and family, Print using a home printer, Upload to online photo sharing sites, Use in personal blogs, web sites, and social media sites
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
9
Ease of Operation:
8
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
6
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
8
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
8
Overall Experience:
8
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy to learn, Fun to learn, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Great looking, Great price vs quality, Great quality photos, Lots of accessories, Quick and Quiet
Best Uses:
Actionmovement, Back lit, Family Photos, Low light, Portaits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

Wish it recorded video

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon EOS Rebel xs digital
By trouble from Blenker Wisconsin on 10/5/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

I just love this camera! I might have to say it is the best I've ever own!

[2 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this camera
By Care BearVerified Purchaser from Pownal, ME on 9/30/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

I have bought a simular camera and I really do not like it. When I bought this camera I fell right in love with it. I would recommend this camera to a friend.

Images shared by: Care Bear

Praying Mantis

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Sunflower

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth it's weight in Gold
By S&S EP from Seminole FL on 9/11/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Quality, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

Gives you quality grade images like the pro's provide, I've used it at wedding, special events, vactions,with a stabilizing lens you can get great actions shots.

Images shared by: S&S EP

Passion Flower close up

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

Batman window dressing image taken in Chicago

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Camera At not so amazing price
By VictoriaVerified Reviewer from Coral Springs, Florida on 8/15/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Cons:
Pricey, Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

I absolutely love this camera, it's one of the best one's I've ever used. It's fast, easy to use, the pictures are clear and they come out beautiful. It can't get any better. The only problem with it (besides the short battery life) would be that it is kind of expensive. I've been saving up all my money for this camera but I still can't get it. I'm trying to get this camera for my daughter since she is doing an honors level photography class at her school, but it's out of our budget. Overall, this Cameras fantastic but the price needs to be lowered.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
EOS rebel review
By Bharath / casual Photographer from Bangalore, India on 8/2/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, High ISO Performance, Large Clear LCD, Quiet, Tilt /Swivel LCD
Cons:
Lag / Shutter Delay, Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

Things I love about this camera is the sensitivity and shutter speed. Wish the pixels were at 12.2 in this one however the 18-55 lens gives breath taking clarity. On the offer it would have been great if an 8GB memory card could be included in the bundle.

[8 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it! Love It1 Love it!
By mmm from Fort Worth, Texas on 6/17/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD
Cons:
None that I would comment
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera Outfit w/ EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black):

i just love this camera. It is very easy to use and handle.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.