Buy the Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera image
 
(based on 47 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Sophisticated Technology for Still Images and Movies.
Whether the action is fast or slow, close up or far away, you'll always get the shot you want with the PowerShot SX10 IS. This camera puts you on the cutting edge of advanced technology, with an incredibly powerful 20x Optical Zoom, 10-megapixel resolution, and new DIGIC 4 Image Processor for high-performance face and motion detection.

Powerful Zoom, True-to-Life Imaging.
Stay close to the action with a 20x Optical Zoom, wide-angle lens and Optical Image Stabilizer. Improved speed and quiet zooming means you never have to miss a shot.
The PowerShot SX10 IS is equipped with a 20x Optical Zoom lens with a focal length of 5.0-100mm (35mm film equivalent: 28-560mm) that allows you to shoot any scene from wide-angle to telephoto. The camera uses a VCM (Voice Coil Motor) for high-speed, quiet, energy-efficient lens movement with precise control. Focal length is conveniently indicated on the lens barrel.

The lens is optimized to fully exploit its zoom length and wide shooting angle in concert with the camera's high 10.0-megapixel resolution. UD glass effectively suppresses chromatic aberration, while enhanced negative refractive power ensures that distortion at the wide-angle is also corrected. Further aberration is controlled with the inclusion of a double-sided aspherical glass-molded lens and ultra-high refraction index lens.

The SX10 IS is equipped with Canon's acclaimed Optical Image Stabilizer Technology that automatically detects and corrects camera shake - one of the leading causes of fuzzy or blurred shots. Even when zoomed in, you can get the steady, crisp, brilliant images you'll be proud to shoot and share. And Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer Technology is convenient to use. It functions perfectly with or without a flash.

Value to Spare.
Powerful 10.0 Megapixel resolution for greater printing and editing.
The PowerShot SX10 IS is equipped with many of the same features as a higher-end camera: an ultra-powerful zoom, eye-popping resolution and advanced picture-improving technology. 10.0 megapixels of resolution give your photography incomparable depth and ensure that any section of any shot can be enlarged and cropped with no loss in quality when you edit the image and even in large printout. It creates crisp, clear 13" x 19" posters.

A Big Vari-Angle LCD Shows Details.

Large 2.5-inch Vari-angle LCD for flexible viewing at nearly every angle, plus a viewfinder for more shooting options.
The camera's 2.5-inch LCD screen gives you the big picture, whether you're shooting, reviewing or showing off your images. This high-resolution screen offers a crisp, clear picture to make shooting, playback and using the camera's menu functions especially convenient. Clear and bright, it also features Night Display for easy viewing in low light. It also has an electronic viewfinder that provides sharp images when you shoot close-up with Super Macro shooting mode.

A World of Advantages With Canon's New Technology.
New DIGIC 4 Image Processor improves Face Detection, adds Servo AF, Face Detection Self-Timer and Intelligent Contrast Correction for greater flexibility.

DIGIC 4 Image Processor
Canon's proprietary DIGIC Image Processors have long set its cameras apart from the competition, and the new DIGIC 4 sets the bar even higher. Faster, more accurate noise reduction delivers better image quality, even at high ISO speeds.

iSAPS Technology is an entirely original scene-recognition technology developed for digital cameras by Canon. Using an internal database of thousands of different photos, iSAPS works with the advanced DIGIC 4 Image Processor to improve focus speed and accuracy, as well as exposure and white balance.

A new Face Self-Timer automatically detects an increase in the number of faces and makes the appropriate adjustments. For instance, to include photographer's face in a group shot, there's no need to rush in. Just put the camera on a stand or tripod, and specify Face Self-Timer, and the camera will wait for the photographer's face to get on-camera before it takes the shot. Motion Detection now tracks moving subjects in a much larger range, and the new Servo AF retains focus on a moving subject after the shutter button is pressed halfway - allowing you to wait for the perfect shot without refocusing. Also, Face Detection and Motion Detection are markedly improved.

Intelligent Contrast Correction
DIGIC 4 also makes possible the new i-Contrast (Intelligent Contrast Correction) system, which controls the compensation level in pixel units to brighten dark areas while leaving bright areas unchanged for better images where the main subject is dark, and more natural transition. The PowerShot SX10 IS can even use i-Contrast in playback mode to adjust images that were shot without the setting activated.
Red-eye Correction provides three options for removing red-eye from subjects in flash pictures.
1) The Red-eye Correction during shooting actually identifies and corrects red-eye in human subjects as pictures are taken.
2) The SX10 IS can be set to automatically detect and correct red-eye during image playback.
3) You can manually locate any red eyes in a scene during image playback on the LCD screen, and command the camera to remove them.

Life doesn't give you second chances to capture special times. That's why the SX10 IS features ISO 1600 and High ISO Auto settings that reduce the effects of camera shake and sharpen subjects in low-light situations, giving you greater shooting flexibility. ISO can be expanded to 3200 when you select ISO 3200 Special Scene mode.

New Video Format Brings Better Image Quality.
MovieSnap mode lets you capture high-resolution still images while shooting a movie. Improved movie format for longer movie lengths.
With Movie Snap, you'll never miss a perfect still shot just because you're in the middle of shooting a movie. Simply press the shutter to record a high-resolution still.

The PowerShot SX10 IS supports the MOV video format which reduces data volume by approximately 60%. This allows you to record longer movies while maintaining optimal image quality.

Instant Creative Control.
A wide range of shooting modes to capture anything.
Now you're free to concentrate on what really counts - your subject. With the large, simple-to-operate Mode Dial, all you have to do is turn to the setting that best matches the scene you're viewing through the lens. The PowerShot SX10 IS does the rest. It chooses the perfect exposure, aperture and flash. Or, if you want to flex your creative muscles, choose Manual Control and do it all yourself. You've got Special Scenes Modes to handle a wide range of common shooting situations - effortlessly.
With 24 Shooting Modes including 11 Special Scene Modes, you're ready for whatever shot comes your way:

Shooting Modes
Advanced presets for the best possible photos under certain conditions.

Auto
The camera chooses all the settings so you can concentrate on your subject.

P Program
Access advanced exposure compensation features while shooting mostly automatically.

Av Aperture-priority
You define the aperture to either isolate your subject or have clarity throughout the entire picture, and the camera will choose the corresponding shutter speed.

Tv Shutter-priority
You select the shutter speed to stop or blur action, and the camera finds the appropriate aperture. With slow exposure times, Canon's noise reduction system activates to ensure low image noise.

Manual
The ultimate in creative control, you set selecting both aperture and shutter speed manually.

C Custom
Define and store your own settings to achieve the effects you prefer.

Super Macro
Close to almost touching distance to capture the subject detail.

Portrait
The camera sets a large aperture, focusing the subject and artistically blurring the background to make your subject "pop".

Landscape
For front to back sharpness, the camera sets a small aperture.

Night Snapshot
Get natural-looking pictures with brighter backgrounds and subjects lit by flash.

Sports
Ensure highly accurate autofocusing when shooting fast-moving subjects.

Stitch Assist
Build awe-inspiring panoramas by neatly aligning sequential images.

Moviexs
Shoot in high resolution VGA (640 x 480 at 30 fps), QVGA (320 x 240 at 30 fps) for up to 1 hour or 4GB per clip.

Night Scene
For impressive sunset or nightlife shots, the camera properly exposes the background and uses slow-sync flash for the subject.

Foliage
Capture brilliant shots of autumn foliage, greenery and blossoms.

Snow
Shoot clear snow scenes without darkened subjects or an unnatural bluish tint.

Beach
Get clear shots of people at a sunny beach without darkened faces.

Sunset
Capture stunning sunsets with all the dazzle and impact.

Fireworks
Grab brilliant images of skyrocketing fireworks.

Aquarium
Achieve proper flash-free exposure and natural hues at indoor aquariums.

ISO 3200
Expands the user's ability to shoot in dark settings without using the flash.

Indoor
Reduce blur and improve color accuracy when shooting handheld indoors.

Color Accent
Choose to retain a single color in your image while other colors turn monochrome.

Color Swap
Select a color and replace it with a color you specify for special effects.

The Complete Print Solution.

Print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloading, plus ID Photo Print and Movie Print with select PIXMA Photo Printers and SELPHY Compact Photo Printers.
The PowerShot SX10 IS's Print/Share button makes direct printing easier than ever. Simply connect the SX10 IS to a Canon PIXMA Photo Printer or SELPHY Compact Photo Printer or any PictBridge compatible photo printer, press the lighted Print/Share button and print! Also use the Print/Share button to transfer images to a computer (Windows and Macintosh).

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 47 reviews)
94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(12), Easy to keep clean(16), Easy to setup(23), Easy to use(20), Good value(14)
Cons:
Poor in low light(3), Short battery life(5)
Best Uses:
Art(10), Family photos(21), Fun(25), Photojournalism(6), Travel(21)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(9), Photo enthusiast(14), Semi-pro photographer(5)
 
Big things come in small packages
By Shirley the photo girlVerified Purchaser from Kansas on 8/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

This is my first digital camera. It will do amazing things. It's tough, as I take it with me as I work outdoors.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Great Step Up
By NikiVerified Reviewer from Alexandria, VA on 6/30/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Anytime, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I am stepping up from the Canon A80 which I love but started having problems recording movies. The Canon A80 was my first digital camera and it was good but the one thing I dislike about it was the delay to take several pics in a row. Most folks complain that Canon 10SX IS is too heavy but for me it is perfect because I feel as if I have a professional SLR camera in my hands with all of the accessories. It takes great movies, pics and the camera allows me to use 3 different types of flashes (Hot foot) and I think it is great. Since a lot of its control buttons are the same as my Canon A80, all I had to do was learn the new ones. It got great ratings @ Consumer Report's website so I believe I made a great purchase. Oh, I am an amateur camera bluff.

Images shared by: Niki

2009 Caribbean Festival, Washington, DC

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Struttin' Done the Ave

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A view of the viewfinder
By Pam prof. of photoVerified Reviewer from South Florida on 6/10/2009
Pros:
Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Bad lens cap system, Digital viewfinder is bad, LCD contrast excessive
Best Uses:
Art, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Such a disappointment! I expected a wider-angle improvement on its predecessor. Instead, I got a camera with a non-useable viewing system. The pictres are fine,but it is a guess as to what you are going to get. This is especially bad at the telephoto ranges.

 
Love the camera
By JoanVerified Purchaser from Worcester, MA on 6/9/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

The camera has a little weight which I like and it is very easy to use. Canon always has a great product

 
Great Buy
By CMillerVerified Reviewer from Tampabay, Florida on 5/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, NATURE, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I mainly use my camera for taking photos outside. Such as birds, flowers, sunsets... I love how I get clear vibrant photos. I don't like the photo editing software that came with the camera, very limited. Otherwise, it's a great camera.

Images shared by: CMiller

Wildflower

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Tampabay and the Sunshine Skyway Bridge

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Love camera BUT doesn't keep time well
By crazy photo personVerified Reviewer from fremont, ca on 5/3/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Flip out screen, GREAT Macro Pictures, Great Picture Quality, GREAT Super Macro, Great video in low light
Cons:
Doesn't Keep Time
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I mainly use this camera when taking Super Macro pictures and video and when I don't want to lug my DSLR camera around. It's a great little camera that takes wonderful pictures. It's a little slow (that's why I use my DSLR for faster picture taking). But for the price and the type of camera, I just LOVE it.

Images shared by: crazy photo person

Hakone Gardens Flowers

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is one GREAT camera!
By R. IvryVerified Reviewer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 4/20/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Family Photos, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits Landscapes, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

This is my second Canon PowerShot...the first one convinced me to go back into photography again. I find it great for portraits, landscapes, and nighttime (concerts, plays, etc.).

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sells Out Quickly! Get It While You Can!
By BillyBoy!Verified Reviewer from Masontown PA on 4/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Get Your Self A Nice Bag For It! Keep The Small Book With It! Soon,You Will Be Taking Great Pics!!!! LOOK! I Did It!

Images shared by: BillyBoy!

My Bird! Sitting On My Shoulder!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

My Son!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Run! And Get This Camera!
By BillyBoy! from Masontown PA. on 4/4/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Hey! This BadBoy Is Sweet! The Winner Between High End SLR's and Point n' Shoots!

Images shared by: BillyBoy!

My Boy Joe! After Dinner! (fine setting)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
More satisfied than i thought i would be
By jaypfizzleVerified Reviewer from Waukegan, IL on 3/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Family Photos, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

It's a great camera. Everything that i've needed to use the camera for, it's given me great results. It can seem a little intimidating at first because it's got a lot of features to figure out. So if you don't have any experience beyond a simple point and shoot, you'll definitely want to read the manual or stick to auto settings; in which you'll still come up with great pictures.
The only thing i didn't like was the speed of the autofocus. Just because i'm used to taking quick shots with my simple point and shoot camera. But considering the size of this camera it's understandable. But you'll definitely want to have the shutter button pressed halfway as you focus on your target in order to save time when you want to catch those split second photo ops.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera, [...]
By MikeyVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 3/7/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality
Cons:
Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

-This is a great camera. I use it for travel and basic family functions. The resolution is outstanding and the camera's functions are a breeze to use. If all else fails, set the camera to "auto" and watch it cruise control you to a great photo.

-My only complaint is the battery feature. The cam still uses double A's which means for the best performance, you need to run out immediately and get yourself a strong charger and rechargeable batteries. It made me realize how long it's been since I bought a pack of duracells for my electronics.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best yet....
By JOHNVerified Reviewer from Haymarket VA on 2/27/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I use it to take photos of my dogs, and geologic formations and processes generally in coastal areas. I teach coastal geology and oceanography. It is reliable camera, easy for me to use, -- I am very comfortable with it.

Images shared by: JOHN

A breakwater promoting sediment accretion,

Image Thumbnail

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
SX10 IS takes great pics in Australia/NZ
By Traveling WilVerified Purchaser from Knoxville, TN on 2/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Complicated at first, Lens cover not easily att, Lens hood can be knocked
Best Uses:
Art, Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I bought the camera to take on a vacation to Australia and New Zealand. I spent a little time studying manual on the plane trip there. Started in Auto then progressed to other settings. Took over 700 awesome pics. It is a big camera in a small package. The lens cover and lens hood come off too easily and can be lost.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
top notch
By efdVerified Purchaser from Chicago IL on 2/9/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Good product for the price.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Point & Shoot Digital Camera
By Lee of RMMVerified Purchaser from Estes Park, Colorado on 2/4/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

My usual camera is a SLR with a variety of lenses and this is a GREAT camera to have along to take quick shots. It's nice to have the flexibility it provides easily at hand. It's with me all the time, times I don't want to carry all the other photographic gear and still know I'm going to get great images. It's a solid camera and provides lots of options. Only downer is I wish it had lithium batteries...the AA just run out of juice too fast.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera, but DO NOT ATTACH FILTERS
By Railroad ManVerified Reviewer from North Port, FL on 1/30/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

[...] the lens is not threaded to accept any filters. I tried, and found you could JAM a 52mm filter into the grooves in the front of the lens,but can not screw the filter on securely. I examined the grooves in the lens under a magnifier - THEY ARE NOT THREADS! I would not risk damaging the lens or losing a filter by jamming a filter on this camera. I still think it is an amazing camera for the money, and seldom need to use filters, so I am pretty pleased with it. It has many features unavailable on other cameras, such as swing-out LCD panel, and the ultra long lens. The speed is good, and the eyepiece viewfinder has the best image I have seen and fills a larger portion of your range of vision than others.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this camera!
By Oaklie from Houston, TX on 1/16/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I bought this camera because I wanted to upgrade, but I could not afford an SLR. So far, this camera has taken great pictures. For those who complain about the lens cap, I bought a lens cap with a string on it really cheap. It is a bit hard to get used to because of all the features, but I am teaching myself one or two at a time. The battery life seems to be really good. I put in the batteries that came with the camera and took over 400 pictures with them. I did buy rechargeable batteries, and I highly recommend doing this.

Images shared by: Oaklie

Yellow flower, taken with Macro feature

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Fish in Pond, with clouds

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT CAMERA
By TondaVerified Purchaser from Watertown, Tn on 1/3/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

This Camera Is AMAZING!! I LOVE IT!! It does everything , that I was looking for in a Camera.. Couldn't be Happier!

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Clicking Sound
By SmilesVerified Purchaser from Hillsborough, NJ on 1/3/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use
Cons:
Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Art, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

The camera makes a clicking sound when you slightly rotate it. After calling around too several photo stores I was told this was normal. [...] Not all pictures are clear.

[12 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic 20x zoom, pictures & video
By BABCIVerified Reviewer from NJ on 12/31/2008
Pros:
20x zoom, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Hot Shoe, Strong Construction, Wide angle built in
Cons:
None that I can find
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Family Videos, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Contrary to other reviews, you can put a 52mm UV or polarizer lightweight lens on the end of the zoom. They fit, I have done this with mine.
It takes great pictures and I bought it as a upgrade to the Cannon S5 IS (that you have to use converter lenses to attain what this SX10 IS already has built into it). The only carry over that I can use from my Canon S5 IS, with the SX10 IS, is the Speedlite 430 flash for the external hot shoe and my 52mm UV & Polarizer lenses from another camera. The manual and other reviews state that no lenses can be attached. They are wrong!!! I have numerous step up and step down rings from my other cameras and lo and behold, found that the end of the SX10 IS can take a 52mm ring or in other words a 52mm polarizer or uv lens etc. can be attached to it. This is true because I now can attach them to mine. Also, I do not like the lens cap that came with it., even though it can be attached to the strap. I had another 52mm cap from another camera that was a 52mm with a cord that was attached to it and I put this cap on my new camera instead. Just Google 52mm lens cap with a string and you can purchase one for under 4 dollars. I also use 8gb or larger SD cards and the new 2900 MIH rechargeable batteries (nothing lower than 2900) that last all day. This is the camera that I will be using for a long time. It has everything built into it with no need to carry additional heavy lenses. I highly endorse it. The flip out lcd is another plus.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Areally good camera.
By WadeVerified Purchaser from San Antonio, TX on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Zoom control is difficult to get a slow zoom.The 28mm close up was a major feature in my decision. Secondly, was the ability to add voice notes on every still shots. Travel to different locations requires this feature. Camera has features of SLRs without changing lens. I would sacrafice other capabilities for this conveneice.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
best starter camera on the market
By JeeperJenVerified Reviewer from Houston, Tx on 12/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Family Photos, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

This is a great camera for anyone. I have owned an S3 IS an S5 IS and now the SX10 IS. You could not ask for more from a point and shoot camera. This camera has a full auto as well as many advanced settings. It has been constructed very well. The images are crisp and clear. The SX10 IS is the best choice when shopping for a point and shoot camera!!!

My over all rating is an A+++++++

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Even Better Than I Expected
By KendpVerified Reviewer from Sosua, Dominican Republic on 12/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I wrote a review when camera was new to me, but now after several thousand photos, I can give a better review.

For anyone who would like a DSLR but doesn't have the money for the camera and lenses, this is a great choice. Other than not being able to shoot in RAW, I don't think there is anything that you can't do with the SX10IS that you can do sith an entry level SLR. What I didn't know when I wrote first review:

1. This is a great camera for macro, offering two options: regular and super. With "super" you can almost touch the object with the lens and still get very sharp, clear shots. I am really enthused now about trying more macro photos.

2. It has a bracketing feature that allows you to take 3 shots, one right after the other, one of which is correctly exposed, one is over exposed, and one is under exposed. This allows you to get photos not otherwise possible because a camera taking a single shot only clearly records that part of the scene that is picked up by the expose being used. By itself bracketing doesn't help much, but use it with the HDR software now available, some of which is free and very good, you can lay these 3 photos on top of each other and get the best of all 3 exposures in the final photo. You can get some really spectacular photos this way.

3. The wide angle lens is great, I didn't know what I was missing. And the 20x zoom lets you take phtotos you could only dream about previously.

4. Never again will I get a camera without image stabilization. Makes all the difference in the world if you don't use a tripod for every sot.

I still have a lot to learn about this camera. What I am doing is pick out something it does or make possible, then take photos using that feature. Some may say that this means it is not easy to learn, but how else can you get the most of a camera unless you want to shoot only in the auto mode. If that is the case, then I suggest looking elsehwere. This camera is best for people who are really interested in taking great photos and are willing to spend a little time putting a camera through its paces so that when you are out in the field you will know what to do in order to capture the best shot possible.

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Confused
By HollsVerified Reviewer from Mooresville,NC on 12/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Art, Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I thought "moving up" from a Kodak Easyshare to a Canon SX10IS would be delightful....however, I am not enjoying the camera at all. It is difficult to take a crisp clear non blury picture in a room full of people. It is also difficult for it to focus in low light. I am sure I will not keep this because this camera has taken the enjoyment out of taking pictures....and I love taking pictures. Maybe "moving up" isn't always better it is just complicated.

Images shared by: Holls

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

this was using the action feature

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very much like a DSLR
By contrerc from Mc Allen, TX. on 11/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Great zooming capabilities, i'm a wildlife biologist and really like that feature.

[3 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Hard to use in low light and on auto
By boomerVerified Purchaser from Kansas City, MO on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD
Cons:
Long Lag Time, Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Hard to learn how to use, don't know if I have yet

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great action shots
By proudmomVerified Reviewer from Rochester, MN on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Great Picture Quality, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I bought this camera to take pictures of my sons football games but practiced on a backyard home game with the family. The clarity and color was fabulous! I didn't miss a play. I also photographed my nephews hockey game and the zoom was great! I could see his face from the stands. Again with all the action I didn't miss a shot. The only thing I don't like is the lens cap is hard to keep on.

[3 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very powerful and very hard to learn
By BoomerVerified Purchaser from Kansas City on 11/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD
Cons:
Long Lag Time, Poor Operation in Low Light
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Very hard to learn how to use. Not easy to use in low light as anti shake symbol always on. Takes pretty good pictures some of the time. hard to hold still on high zoom, this is to be expected.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome!!!
By sachin from College Park, MD on 11/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy To Use, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Its a great camera.... it has zoom capabilities in the movie shooting mode...... few people in their reviews said that as there is no thread to hold the lens cap it is a bit of problem... but you can clip the lens cap to the neck strap.....

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tons of features!
By RebeccaVerified Purchaser from Chester, SC on 11/5/2008
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

There are great features on this camera. I'm still learning how to use it. It is a bit big, but I knew that before I got it. If you're looking for a camera that will fit in your pocket or purse, this is not the one for you. I love the color accent feature, and the zoom is great. Even with the zoom at its max, picture quality is fabulous!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon PowerShot SX10
By DaveVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 11/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Easy to use, good instructions, high quality for the price. The zoom telephoto lens up to 510 mm eliminates the need to have to carry around a second lens for long distance shots. It works well with just akaline batteries where previous cameras would drain them down rapidly. The flash has a good range and eliminates any red eye shots. The one drawback, is very minor and that pertains to the lens cap, it doesn't have a separate tie off to hold it to the camera. It has a small cilp to attach to the strap and it gets knocked off easily. All in all, this is a great value and a smart looking camera.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
"I still can't get over all the features
By NewMommyVerified Purchaser from Havelock, NC on 11/3/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

BEST CAMERA EVER! I've had other digital cameras but none of them compare to the Canon. I went to Canon because I have a 35mm Rebel K2 and thought I'd see what they have to offer in digital. It was all that I hoped for. I play around with it constantly taking pictures of my 2 month old. I love the cool features like color swap and color accent. I've not been able to use all the features but I have explored them all! I LOVE THIS CAMERA!

Images shared by: NewMommy

Halloween!

Image Thumbnail

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy it again, Love it
By JanyVerified Purchaser from Anthony, Kansas on 10/31/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
Hard to find n stock
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I Love the zoom on this camera. also the focus is so easy and the pictures are not blurry like my old pictures were.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Deal
By EddieVerified Purchaser from Shalimar, Florida on 10/29/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to use hard to lear, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Family hobby lanscapes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I've had the camera a few days now and love it. However, it is awful hard/slow process for a layman like me to learn some of the more technical operations/capabilities from the documentation supplied.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful.
By DawnVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, Pa on 10/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Landscapes, Macro photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Iam a photography student and I love this camera. It was great when I shot my photos at Love Park in Philadelphia. This camera is so easy to use, from basic zone to fully manual control, it's terrific!!! And here is my proof.

Images shared by: Dawn

Love Park Philadelphia, Pa with b/w mode.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

The vivid blue filter did this to my sky.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
One of the best cameras I've owned
By SrythVerified Purchaser from Poughkeepsie, NY on 10/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Bought the camera to take to my family's first trip to Disney and it was the best money I ever spent!

It has every feature imaginable for those who like to play, and a *very* intelligent 'Auto' setting for an unbelieveable point/shoot capability. You don't have to worry about anything...auto mode takes care of it all! The image stabalization is gold (allows very clear shots even when fully zoomed in). The zoom on this camera is crazy...and with the IS it is very easy to take pictures fully zoomed in. I could go on for hours about the features, but I won't...the camera is awesome!

It's very durable too...dropped it once from a table (~3') onto the ground (concrete!!!) and it took it like a champ!

If you're looking for an extremely high quality camera and don't mind a 'bigger' one, this is your unit! Go check one out in a local retailer; bring your checkbook though (you won't likely leave the store without it :)

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Happy with my purchase
By KadzerellaVerified Purchaser from Milwaukee, WI on 10/24/2008
Pros:
High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

So far I like this camera. The one thing I didn't like was that there was no little string to hold onto the lens cap. That's kind of a pain.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just What I Was Looking For
By KendpVerified Purchaser from Asheville, NC on 10/22/2008
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
All uses for non-pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I'm in first days so can't give detailed report but I can say it is a big step ahead of my Powershot A620, that was a very satisfactory camera. But the 20x was a big inducement since it will help me in kind of shooting I enjoy. There are many more controls than I am used to, and it will take time to make full use of all. But I am already benefitting from such controls as iContrast. Today I was trying to photgraph a waterfall and was frustrated by a shadow in the center. I turned on iConrrast and took the shot. The shadow was gone and the rocks it was hiding were clearly seen. I have also taken photos with the zoom and achieved results far superior to what I was getting with previous camera.

I think there should be threads on end of lens so that I could use filters, such as a polarizer. However, Lensmate is fabricating an adapter that will permit the use of filters. But the absence of threads is one of reasons I gave it a 4 instead of a 5.

This is definitely a camera anyone who wants an advanced non-SLR camera should consider. For me, it seems to be the perfect camera, giving me many of the controls of an SLR but without need to buy and carry lenses.

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent image quality - nice features
By dismalhikerVerified Purchaser from Little Rock, AR on 10/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Great macro capability, Great optical zoom range, Great video quality, High Quality, Twist out LCD view finder, Uses AA batteries, Wide angle - 28 mm
Cons:
Excess noise over 200 iso, somewhat bulky
Best Uses:
Landscape photography, Nature photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I do a lot of nature and landscape photography while hiking, and have been doing so for over 30 years. My other cameras are DSLRs, but I needed a smaller, lighter camera for the trail. Often shots are taken from odd angles (eg., close to the ground), so the twist out LCD on the SX10 IS is very much a plus for me.

At ISO values 200 or less, the image quality is excellent, with minimal noise and negligible color abberations. Above ISO 200, the noise increases and the noise-reduction effects are more noticeable, but not more so than other cameras with similar sensors.

The video quality is excellent. It is possible to zoom while filming video and the image stabilization works well for video.

There is some talk on other sites about the control "wheel" on the back not having "clicks". I think the wheel works fine. No problem.

Overall, I really like the Canon SX10 IS and feel that the quality is very high. For me, the only real cons are its size, bulk and weight (because I like to carry it in a belt bag/holster). For most folks it's a great "travel camera", combining relatively small size, light weight, great image quality, incredible zoom range, wide angle lens and good quality video all in one package.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Somany features that I'm still learning.
By widescreenVerified Purchaser from Capital district, NY state. North East on 10/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

Use this product for family, macro and land scapes. Worked fantastic for this fall season. Colors were right on.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Magnificient Camera
By Dr. BillVerified Purchaser from Little Rock, AR on 10/20/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Home and Work, Nature photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I have used many cameras of both the Canon and Nikon line. I still have my EOS1, which I have used all over the planet for nature photography. I am astounded at the ease of use and outstanding picture quality of the PowerShot SX10 IS. The telephoto with image stabilizer is superb. The range of the lens system is fantastic. The software is easy to install and use. The AF is fast and accurate. Whether you just want point and shoot or professionally bracket and tweak, you will not be disappointed. This is a great value!

Images shared by: Dr. Bill

Pups in the setting sun.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Fall in Scranton, PA

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome camera for the money
By jtjtcVerified Reviewer from Vermont on 10/19/2008
Pros:
Affordable, High Quality
Cons:
Nothing
Best Uses:
Family Camera, Sports
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

This is an upgrade from a 5 year old digital Minolta. We have had it for a week. The quality is much better. We love the 20x zoom. No need to have the digital SLR. Looks like we found a perfect camera for us. Love the many modes of the camera and the zoom lens is a bonus. Good value too!

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Another great Canon!
By Hector the InspectorVerified Purchaser from Williamsport, PA on 10/18/2008
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I've been a Canon user for a long time, starting with the F-1, moving to digital with the EOS1D & D30. I wanted a little more compact unit for my travels, and this fits the bill. Learning its features isn't for the faint of heart, however -- READ the manual to get the most out of an excellent camera. Time spent learning will free you from the "Auto" zone and let you get some great shots.

Images shared by: Hector the Inspector

"Macro" shot from less than 2" away.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
the next generation - worth the wait
By Candace, a city girlVerified Purchaser from Wheaton, IL on 10/17/2008
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Keep memories
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

The SX10 is a great replacement for the S3 IS. The increased mega pixels will solve the low light problem and the larger screen on the back makes it easier to see. The phenomenal zoom is valid with the image stabilizer

Images shared by: Candace, a city girl

Chicago birdcage

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
buy this camera,you will be amazed !
By fog45Verified Purchaser from michigan on 10/17/2008
Pros:
Durable, Fast startup, Good Value, High Quality, Retina burning colors
Best Uses:
Big zoom is perfect, Brilliant colors, Fast startup, The IS works perfect, Uncompromised quality, Wildlife pics
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

i bought this to replace my s2IS ,this camera is a quantum leap over the old model.i can find no downside at all. i am soo impressed its hard to describe. the color rendering is more than i could have imagined and battery life is exceptional.the big zoom makes it easier to get that elusive shot of wildlife or just people being themselves. Just a fantastic deal this is money well spent.THANKYOU CANON !!

Images shared by: fog45

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
The BEST CAMERA EVER!!!
By LourieVerified Purchaser from Newport News, VA on 10/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
Not small enough
Best Uses:
FANTASTIC ZOOM, GREAT movies, Great Pictures
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

I love this camera and I have only had it for a week. It takes great movies and superific pictures. The zoom is amazing, especially for the point & shoot kind. I can't wait to figure out all the features and really learn how to use it. This is definitely the way to go it you don't quite want an SLR but want more than a compact digital with little zoom capability. The Zoom is 28-560mm SLR equivalent. The only way to make it even more perfect would be to make it smaller to fit into a purse or maybe even a pocket, but the technology hasn't reached that stage yet. I am sure that Canon will be the first ones to accomplish it though.

[7 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome camera, great functions
By Stewbaby from Jackson, MS on 10/6/2008
Pros:
Durable, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Digital Camera:

This is a great camera. Many of the same functions you expect only in SLR cameras in one nice package. Great fold out screen plus the ability to use the view port in bright sunlight. Action shots are great. Very customizable. A great camera.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.